All Markup Hero Reviews

1-25 of 62 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jeheen Mahmood

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

One of the most polished screenshot + annotation tool

As long as I am working within a browser, this is a must have productivity tool. I can literally save hours everyday buy annotating screenshots instead of typing instructions for my team.

PROS

I really like the way this tool can work with PDFs. This is a new thing. Also, it can create a history trail for all the edits to screenshots, which comes in handy sometimes if I need to rework annotations. Also, I like the way I can arrange the images in my cloud for different groups of people and access levels.

CONS

I would really love to see it as an independent app instead of a browser extension. Being ties to a browser is really restrictive for sich a great app.

Reason for choosing Markup Hero

Markuphero UI/UX is a lot better. I like the features better too.

Reasons for switching to Markup Hero

The windows version of cloudapp has a very ugly and buggy text annotation tool. Markuphero is much nicer.

Vendor Response

Sweet! Thx for feedback. Did you download the app instead of the extension? We have both.

Replied November 2020

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Great tool

A great tool to take screenshots, create markups, edit and share them. It also stores images, allowing users to query history and group them into collections.

PROS

- easy to take screenshots - easy to edit images - easy to share - group images in collections - search for images - It's a Chrome extension. You don't need to install a new software

CONS

- only allows to delete 1 image at a time

Reasons for switching to Markup Hero

- You don't need to install anything on your computer. I use it as a Chrome extension. - The image history is in the cloud and can be consulted from other computers

Vendor Response

We are glad to see you are enjoying Markup Hero and seeing the value of using the Chrome Extension. It's quite nice to keep everything in the browser where you can access your markups from any device!

Replied May 2022

Dulce

E-Learning, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2022

Review

My experience was a great one that really helped.

PROS

The ease of use as I’m not good at using most programs.

CONS

I can’t pin point anything I particularly dislike about the software

Vendor Response

Hi Dulce, thank you for the review. Please contact us at support@markuphero.com if you need any additional help or have any questions.

Replied June 2022

Diamond

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Easy & Quick To Use.

PROS

The scrolling screenshot feature is my go to option!

CONS

When using the Chrome extension, you have to log back in after you do a mockup to associate it with your account.

Reasons for switching to Markup Hero

Previous product was not compatible with Windows 11 upgrade at the time. Had to find a new product that was.

Vendor Response

Hi Diamond, thanks for the feedback. Once you have logged into Markup Hero on your Chrome browser you should be all set for all future screenshots to be associated with your account. Let us know at support@markuphero.com if you need further assistance!

Replied June 2022

User Profile

Divaksh

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Future of Screenshots!!

PROS

1. Universal annotations tool to annotate images, screenshots, URL's, PDF's, Docs, Spreadsheets, Slides, etc. 2. Annotations you make using Markup Hero are not usual annotations, these annotations are layered and editable, meaning that annotation can be edited even after sharing it (link will remain the same but image will get updated). In other words, Markup Hero has the capability for share once but edit repeatedly and go back repeatedly. 3. Layered annotations open all possibilities for real-time collaborative editing. 4. Bloat free editing experience!! You get only the tools that are required and useful. No useless features that are used once in a blue moon. 5. I haven't tried Slack integration but Markup Hero is available as a Drive Add-on and can be installed from the Google Workspace Marketplace. This means Markup Hero can be used directly from Google Drive to create and edit files. This also means that just one click and you are annotating any Google Doc, Google Sheet, Google Slide.

CONS

1. No custom hotkeys 2. No scrolling screenshots 3. No multi-select for annotation objects 4. No custom branding, no custom domain. 5. Tags instead of folders All mentioned stuff is also present in their roadmap. Hopefully, they will release these features soon.

Vendor Response

Thx for feedback! On your comments: 1) releasing in a few days. 2) on roadmap, probably early next year. 3) on roadmap, hopefully by Jan. 4) building now, released by Jan. On the Tags vs. Folders, would love more feedback here as we're trying to decide optimal implementation. Would love to see comments on that roadmap item.

Replied November 2020

User Profile

Kaushal

Verified reviewer

Internet, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Simple & Lightweight Annotation Tool

It's a nifty tool to get create quick screenshot of websites and get immediate feedback from our clients. Apart from images, you can use the tool for annoting pdfs as well. It's a pretty simple / slick markup annotation tool to give / get immediate feedback from team members/ stake holders / clients. We are using it to get immediate realtime feedback from our clients on various design components that we create for their website.

PROS

There is no learning curve whatsoever to use the tool . Person just needs to enter url of the website, upload image/pdf and he/she can straightaway proceed to add markup/ annotation to the image. It has integration with Google Drive & Slack. So once markup is done, you can straightaway share the annotation with your colleagues on your slack channel. The tool is improving daily and I can see blur feature, add image on top of the the markup. I have used quite a lot of tools, but this is the one tool which lets you add image on top of your annoation. It's pretty helpful to show my team members what exactly I want the page to be replaced with. The simplicity of the tool to add markups to your screenshot is worth making it a good tool.

CONS

There are few things which are not quite yet ready on markup hero especially when you are using Insert from url option to create screenshot. I noticed if you have an active popup on the website or animations active on the site , the exact screenshot rendered by the tool are not close to the real site. There is always a workaround to upload the actual image of the website and start with annotation - but I really hope that in future versions it is taken care off. Also hope they introduce steps features on the screenshot along , so that when I try to use the screenshot to onboard a new users or explain process to end user - he/she knows exactly different steps they need to follow using the screenshot.

Vendor Response

Thanks Kaushal, we appreciate your support and feedback! Please contact us at support@markuphero.com if you need any additional help.

Replied July 2022

User Profile

Dan X.

Verified reviewer

Law Practice, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

A must have if you have a team

I was looking for a way to easily and effortless mark up documents and pictures to send messages to my team about changes that needed to be made on documents, videos, pictures, etc.

PROS

I think the arrows and blurs are the features I like most about this software. I also really like that when you make a screencap, it automatically copies the share link, saving me one step.

CONS

I think I like the least is that the canvas is limited to the photo itself; I cannot use the markups outside of the photos, and hard when there is text on the other side I cannot block since I need that info.

Reasons for switching to Markup Hero

I wanted something cloud-based.

Vendor Response

Thanks Dan! We appreciate both your support and feedback.

Replied July 2022

User Profile

Cuong

Verified reviewer

Internet, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

The lightweight handy software I'd like use daily

No doubt, Markup Hero will soon become my new favorite screenshot capture software for my daily use. I feel good to use it right now.

PROS

Markup Hero can be used cross-devices as a web-app based that save my all screenshot on the cloud instead of the local storage. The whole process from taking a screenshot to share is smoothly and super fast. Not many tools can serve me like that and I like it at the beginning. This UX is important for me because I will use it daily.

CONS

I always feel the annotation tools are too basic. I love having curved arrow besides straight arrows only. I hope a spotlight frame to highlight the object of the screenshot as well. I'm too looking forward to seeing the email notification once the screenshot viewed by link shares.

Vendor Response

Great feedback. Curved arrow is on the roadmap and coming soon https://roadmap.markuphero.com. The spotlight idea is a good one, would love to get more feedback on that. Please add to roadmap for voting if you don't mind. And notifications are coming as future part of teams release. Teams are coming out in a month or so.

Replied November 2020

User Profile

Mert

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Simple and strong solution for screenshot & annotations

[SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], one of the [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN], has been really helpful and responsive. I really hope to see Markup Hero at the top of the category soon :)

PROS

Markup Hero helps me and my team quickly take screenshots, annotate, and keep each other updated with our SaaS product development & marketing efforts. I switched to it from MacOS's default screenshot service because: - I often save screenshots and then have to delete them to keep my desktop in order, - It's hard to add annotations, arrows on it, - And it's definitely hard to upload images. With Markup Hero, your screenshots are instantly uploaded and you can add text, shapes, etc in seconds and share them.

CONS

Nothing so far. I know this is a startup yet and the team is working hard to make Markup Hero better.

Vendor Response

Thanks Mert. Glad you're liking the product. We have a ton more to do and are working fast releasing features. And yes, reach out to me personally any time.

Replied September 2020

User Profile

Jay

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2022

Easy to Mark Up Websites

Was an AppSumo deal that we purchased but it's been great so far. We still use it alongside Figma.

PROS

The functionality is very easy to use and user friendly for both the developers and the clients

CONS

Has limiting software features and it really is a one trick pony

Reason for choosing Markup Hero

Adobe was hard for the end users

Vendor Response

Thanks Jay, we are glad to hear that using Markup Hero has been a positive experience for you! We also appreciate your feedback on our features.

Replied June 2022

Erin

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

The Easiest and Most Intuitive Markup Tool!

It's been great from the start. I use the tool almost daily, and it's so reasonably priced! I can't say enough good things and definitely recommend giving it a try!

PROS

I can take a screen cap, mark it up, and send it off in literally less than a minute. It's made collaboration a breeze for all of our team. We can convey ideas quickly and easily between designers, developers, stakeholders, project managers, and execs. I recommend this tool to everyone! It's especially useful for designers who need to convey to developers updates. I'll often screen cap a website or app in development and mark it up for the devs to let them know where we need to adjust CSS. I can point to the element in question, and add an annotation with the new CSS styles to be applied. The devs I've shared these markups with LOVE them, because there is no confusion about what they need to adjust.

CONS

There is so much I love about this tool. I think the one enhancement I would love to see added is a way to expand the artboard/canvas of the screen cap so there is empty space to add notations outside of the screen cap. Then you don't have to cover anything.

Vendor Response

Thanks Erin, we are glad to hear that using Markup Hero has been a positive experience for you! Your feedback is much appreciated!

Replied June 2022

John

Real Estate, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2022

Markup hero is the easiest way to collaborate with colleagues that actually saves you time.

I use markup hero to communicate complex ideas to colleagues and clients. I have had several questions about the use of the software and the support team immediately showed me how I could solve my use-case. I recommend markup hero to everyone and secretly decide to share the link to markups rather than the markups themselves to make people aware of the software.

PROS

I use markup hero for everything from posting pictures on Instagram or my website for marketing to ratelocks for clients and communication with clients. It has enabled me to so easily collaborate with inside and outside sales that I recommend this product to anyone who uses a computer for work ;)

CONS

I wish the signature option would be expanded upon to where I can share a markup with an email address to get their signature without them needing to create an account. Digital signatures are a large part of my job and I believe if people can use markup hero for signatures on documents they would be adding significant use-cases to their product.

Vendor Response

Thanks John, we are glad to hear that using Markup Hero has been a positive experience for you! We also appreciate your intricate feedback. Please contact us at support@markuphero.com if you need any additional help.

Replied June 2022

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

One of the best "small" apps I own

Literally makes my life easier in a way I never imagined for such a "simple" app. I have a feeling one day it will be standard in all operating systems but for now, more than happy with Markup Hero.

PROS

When I first saw this I thought "why would I pay to take screenshots?" but oh boy, is it so much more than that! I literally use it several times a day. It's like it's part of my operating system. I love the speed of it, the ease of annotation (and blurring of private information on screenshots too). So easy and fast to share things with people.

CONS

CNAME setup with SSL is unusually tricky so I've never got around to setting that up.

Vendor Response

We are super happy to hear that you see significant improvements to your workflow when using the Markup Hero. Yes, it's a simple app that provides so many conveniences when used regularly!

Replied May 2022

User Profile

Daniel

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2020

Quick and easy screenshot annotations

Overall, easy to use, easy to start, and easy to finish my work effectively. That's what stands out about this tool. While I do feel there are better tools that provide more features, I can't deny that the results are quick to the point markups that do the job decent. Much is still to be desired, but the approach is in the an effective direction. After all, tools meant to increase productivity should do exactly that, which Markuphero.io does. Free trial was decent enough to gauge the use of this tool so I suggest you at least check it out to see if it works for your workflow.

PROS

Ease of use and deployment. It was easy to get started and just dive in. I liked the desktop/mobile and the pdf/url options. Simple and easy markup tools. The ability to share or download instantly makes it easy to get your edits out and move on with your work.

CONS

Load time and UX was a little behind the easy and simplicity of the UI. Also could use a little more consideration to other file types and organization structure of those files. Different type of annotation tools could help tell different stories or match the nature of the project that's being worked on, such as tool type like markups that better pinpoint areas. Also could use some off-canvas workspace to expand and avoid covering up areas while marking up screenshots.

Reason for choosing Markup Hero

Ease of use, a nice dashboard to manage all of my screenshot markups, quick to get started. Works well for mobile and desktop website design annotations and gives you the option to use a URL.

Vendor Response

Great feedback. Yes, the off-canvas is a must for me too. The crop tool we're releasing this month will let you crop and expand the canvas. Stay tuned!

Replied December 2020

Aryan

Media Production, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

rising star

I have previously used droplr, cloudapp and snagit. While snaggit is undoubtedly the most advanced, it is too complex (and often cumbersome) for daily use. Other too droplr and cloudapp are similar and 'almost' deliver what they promise but being in market for far too long they should have been already developing their product to anothe rlevel but somehow their progress (updates, new features) looks stagnant

PROS

Ease of use for one and more control over annotations as compared to my previous tool

CONS

Having video and video annotations will be a welcome addition but may be be we already have too many other tools for that. For everything else (in images), this is one of the best option

Reasons for switching to Markup Hero

ease of use, better annotation capability

Vendor Response

Thanks Aryan, we are glad to hear that using Markup Hero has been a positive experience for you! We greatly appreciate your support and feedback.

Replied July 2022

Cristian

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

The best tool to help me communicate clearly

It helps me give clear instructions to my teammates and to the freelancers that I work with.

PROS

I love how easy it is to use and the fact that I can add and edit annotations. I also really love the signature feature, it's so convenient and easy to use

CONS

Nothing the tool is amazing and has so many options.

Reasons for switching to Markup Hero

Screenbrush had limited options

Vendor Response

Thanks Christian, we are glad to hear that using Markup Hero has been a positive experience for you!

Replied June 2022

Vic

Graphic Design, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Super useful product

PROS

The key feature I use is the ability to put a website and it takes a screenshot. Even better you can choose desktop or mobile. The mobile feature will rake a long screenshot. This is incredibly useful on its own, I sometimes just do that and download the image for use in presentations. Making markups on top of that is icing on the cake.

CONS

With just about anything there is a learning curve. This was super simple to use but I didn’t really get use at of it until I was stuck and accidentally discovered how useful it was. At the time I couldn’t find videos on how to use, but now I find it incredibly easy.

Reasons for switching to Markup Hero

I thought desktop apps was better, but the first time I started editing on my iPad on the train I was hooked.

Vendor Response

Hello Vic, we thank you for your support and feedback. Please contact us at support@markuphero.com if you need any additional help or have any questions.

Replied June 2022

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

A powerfull every day tool for everyone whatever your business is

i use it every day for quite everything : - docs or screenshot i want to annote for my partners - content i want to enrich for my students (i give training for time to time) - invoices or bills i need to annotate for my accounter .. I use it with Google Chrome. didn't try with Firefox This works smoothly. You can keep an history of all previously annotated document

PROS

No learning curve at all. you log in, you upload your document and ... you start immediately to annotate or crop or ... in less than 5mins Also web app is very quick , no latency. Didn't experience any bugs at all. I didn't try yet to work on several pages document. this is my next move. i got it on AppSumo as a lifetime deal. but even the regular subscription plan is a great deal (4$ /mo)

CONS

no cons. one small request : i'd wish the document keep its original file name once task is done and it's exported so we don't need to rename it again once we download it (all exported marked up documents are named "markupheroxxxxx.pdf"

Vendor Response

Thanks for your feedback! We are glad to hear that using Markup Hero has been a positive experience for you!

Replied July 2022

Munir

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: