What are Resource Management users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Resource Management software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.16

63 Reviews

5
28
4
24
3
6
2
3
1
2
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Otherwise looks great, creative graphics, modern look."
  • icon"The design allows to to have deep insight and visibility into resource management in your company. Love the ability to forecast revenue."
  • icon"Capacity resource management is super helpful. The end product & level of analytics that 10k can achieve is very helpful."
  • icon"The schedules should allow you to copy and paste a project or drag and drop when there are multiple people on the same project."
  • icon"Performance and usability are a disappointing lack of logic and systematics produce errors and false interpretation."
  • icon"No out of the box integration to accounting systems (we use Xero)."

Jump to:

Browse all Resource Management Reviews

  • Have you used Resource Management and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 63 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 63 reviews

User Profile

Jose F.

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Great alternative to maximize your team's utilization

Overall we love using 10kft and we have been able to improve our business process thanks to its features. We use it to keep track of where people is allocated on projects and when new projects come to easily see who's available to work on it.

Pros

I love that it's very powerful and supports custom fields. It helps us keep track of our skills database and where those skills can be used best. The analytics are very simple yet powerful, helps us identify the right data on the right time.

Cons

The UI can lag a bit, with the most recent update. It take a bit time to get used to a few workflows to do some things, such as replacing/reassigning an assignment. It has more features than we need.

Reasons for choosing Resource Management

Cost and simplicity. Both alternatives offered much more features, are extremely powerful and comprehensive but ultimately too expensive for what we were looking to solve.

Reasons for switching to Resource Management

We needed API access, AllocateHQ didn't have API access back then.

User Profile

Sadaf

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

Resource Planning and Forecasting done right with 10000ft

The most challenging aspect of managing projects is reporting, especially the most critical assignments in the project which has actually been easier to accomplish with 10000ft. This is the first software I have used that combines project management, time tracking and resourcing altogether, diminishing the need to employ different software for these aspects of the business. We have been successful in realizing data-driven planning such as using the time inputs from all team members to produce real-time budget rather than counting on an estimate as was the norm before; forecasting resource utilization for the remaining part of the project, or even quarterly (and estimate liquidity etc.) and prepare a financial budget for this duration. Overall, I would recommend to medium-sized businesses to take their business to a better direction.

Pros

Setting up project details such as phases, resources, budget etc. does seem a hassle at first, but with the learning curve, it becomes substantially uncomplicated to use. It does take time for the team to get used to noting down the time spent on each project every day, but it is imperative that it is done correctly, so as to generate time and invoice reports that can assist the management to get high-level insights across the business. In addition, 10000ft offers periodic free webinars and case studies, e.g. "Getting More Out Of 10,000ft" which cover key aspects of the software and helpful hints on how to speed up workflow etc. It is also possible to sync our work calendars to assignments and tasks, which is actually quite impressive as we can see which projects are going on, and which assignments would need our urgent attention. The most important aspect for me as a Project Manager is that through this software I can track projects and make changes when required, schedule resources to particular tasks- both current and estimated, (through placeholder assignments), see which team member is over-booked and which one is available. It is also possible to review the actual time spent on assignments and tasks and is a powerful tool for invoicing purposes. This bit of transparency across the board is very functional particularly for the team, which can collaborate accordingly and be accountable for their bit.

Cons

There are currently no provisions for Gantt Charts and graphic representation of elements, which would have helped in better visualisation of data. Would love such an option in the future. Secondly, I feel that the real benefit of investing in such software will come in most handy when it is implemented by the team accurately, so it is essential that they do. It is also pricey for small businesses, wherein project based analytics are not included in the price.

Michael

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Not overly happy with the product

Pros

It lets me see my team's schedule in a way that makes it easy to see where they are and what their availability is.

Cons

Due to the fact that I have used other similar software at other companies, there are a lot of things about this software I do not like. The import is very limited. They finally added bulk project edit but still doesn't allow you to edit the important fields like resource or placeholder. We have a lot of projects and resources so the system is extremely slow, sometimes unusable. The schedules should allow you to copy and paste a project or drag and drop when there are multiple people on the same project. It doesn't show a lot of information when you hover over the scheduled task. You can't set the working time for a 40 hour week because then it won't let you schedule anyone for the non-working day like Saturday and Sunday. I could go on and on.. I have to use this software because it is what my company decided to go with, but if it were up to me I would use another product.

Peter

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Review Source: GetApp

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

November 2015

Exactly what we need - after trialling 10+ apps/services

We've been looking for project budget planning, time tracking and resource allocation planning tools for our agency. We tested 10+ different tools/services. For our needs we found 10K plans the best. It's almost a 100% percent match with our workflow. It's not an end-to-end tool but helps where we struggled the most: resource allocation and budget tracking. It comes through that it has been designed by people who did similar agency type work. The approach / concept is brilliant and most importantly kept simple yet flexible

Pros

Great fit for our processes: * Bidding/planning You can draft a project - it immediately reflected in resource allocation. Or change the resource allocation and it's reflected in the budget. It's immediately visible if your planned allocation is over the budget - so you can cut scope or ask for increased budget. You immediately see if you over allocated people: you can stagger projects or bring in more resources * Tracking The project analysis bars with incurred / forecasted vs. budgeted time & expenses are giving a fantastic one blink overview of a project's status. User experience is one of the best among the products we reviewed. It's especially important for time entry as all people hate to do it. Reporting is great, slice and dice as you wish and drill down even to individual time entry level

Cons

No project cost analytics - calculations/reporting are only based on billing rates. Although you might be able to use your costs instead of billing rates but then you lose some other abilities (eg. pricing) No out of the box integration to accounting systems (we use Xero). It would be great to reconcile expenses to or from Xero. They have an API but it requires custom development to integrate. Some minor usability improvements would help (eg. zooming in / out on resource planning, long project/phase names with people names and allocation info truncated in some zoom level, etc.). But overall still much better as most of the other tools. A bit pricey: USD 15/user/month

Response from 10,000ft

Thanks for the great review, Peter!

Replied November 2015

User Profile

Sparsh

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2021

10,000ft Review

I am overall very much satisfied with the software and Capacity to see booking for colleagues across projects is really good.

Pros

Reports can undoubtedly be made and changed with channels. It is not difficult to add logs and make details under an undertaking.

Cons

The User Interface for planning is cumbersome and little bit hard to use. The looking over is non norm.

Sean

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2021

10,000ft - A Great Software Suite To Manage Project Time

All in all, 10,000ft has been a major benefit to our team so far, allowing us to more closely keep track of project progress, billable hours, and more, which has in turn allowed us to more precisely set goals and allocate resources.

Pros

10,000ft allows project managers and teammates to set goals for time performed on various phases of multiple projects, allowing employees and leaders across the company to make sure they're on pace for success.

Cons

The software can sometimes feel hefty if individual team members have multiple projects on their plates. This can lead to a lot of administrative time devoted to filling in the 10,000ft form that could be used on project phases.

User Profile

Rebecca

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Strong resource allocation, time tracking, and budget tracking

Pros

Versatile and flexible resource allocation tool. Works well for our 50 person creative agency. Ability to assign resources to projects, determine project budgets, see burn rate against project budget.

Cons

Would like more sophisticated reporting visualizations. Time tracking interface is not as good as Harvest.

User Profile

Tausha

Verified reviewer

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Easy to Use, but lacks core functionality

Pros

It's ease of use and mobility. It allows me to easily adjust time for people and pull quick analytics when necessary.

Cons

It doesn't link people's time sheets to the master schedule and it makes it really difficult as our resource manager to know accurately what people are working on.

Miguel A.

Verified reviewer

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

July 2015

Bird's eye view of project budget.

We recently switched our time tracking software with 10,000 Feet simply because it was able to replace numerous independent applications used internally to manage payroll and project budgets. 10,000 Feet provides a true bird's eye view of the enterprise allowing us to properly manage our project resources effectively. 10,000 Feet lets us view complete schedules, and allocate the necessary resources to the corresponding projects, pre-filing fields so that employees do not report time against incorrect projects inadvertently. It also provides real-time metrics to compare how you are billing against your projects: are you over or under budget. All this is effectively done with little or no effort. As a Scrum Master, 10,000 Feet has made my job of resource allocation and tracking extremely easy.

Pros

10,000 Feet provides individual, project and enterprise view of resources, projects, time and budgets. Expenses are also managed and its reporting and filtering capabilities are extremely helpful. It has a high level of flexibility to keep accuracy with your project budgets.

Cons

I would not say there is a con, only that it was so jammed packed with features that it took a little time to get used to it from what I was used to working with.

User Profile

Salvatore

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Easy to use, visually pretty, saves a lot of time

Saves me a lot of complex spreadsheet editing in excel.

Pros

It is very easy to use and I like the simplicity of the reporting. The ability to change from a daily view to a yearly view is essential.

Cons

Perhaps a trade off with easy of use but could do with some more power in places. Although the reporting is beautifully simple, it does mean I have to revert to excel to generate the info I need a lot of the time. Could also do with some support around scheduling conflicts and multiple timeline views.

Chris

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Quick and easy way to schedule resources.

Good control and visibility of resource scheduling for low effort

Pros

It is very well designed. It's fast. Like the name suggests it gives you a high level view of your business for very little effort. Interaction is intuitive - drag the schedule around and zoom in and out so it works at any scale from daily increments to annual. Over utilisation and availability in hours are clearly displayed. Whilst it feels light it does have some depth. Time recording, P&L, custom fields, API integration and pivot table style reporting are there if you want them. Project / stage hierarchy is very handy and tags and filtering are great.

Cons

Not much. Be nice if you could create a new project from the schedule view. It would be good if you could customise colours per project for the schedule view, but colours are reserved for commercial status - confirmed, unconfirmed, leave and non billable. It is a sensible design decision as it saves users from creating project "soup" in the schedule view, but some will want that freedom.

Lucy

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2017

Elevated our internal resource allocation, saving us hours each week

10,000ft Plans was our choice after a vetting process of several weeks and over a dozen different products. We needed something to improve our internal resource allocation capabilities to prevent over- or underbooking while also providing task management and schedule management both at an individual and company-wide level. When the 10,000ft team presented us with their "Schedule" view, we literally "ooh"ed and "aah"ed. It remains the most exciting feature about Plans for us, in addition to the reports and analytics we're able to run on our team's utilization, project budgets, and more. The 10,000ft team is very receptive to feedback on their product (in fact, they often reach out to gather our feedback rather than waiting for us to provide it, which I feel is a sign of a great company), and we have had several suggestions for them that could improve our experience with the tool. Their response is always to be curious to understand the request and to thoroughly consider whether it's a change that makes sense for the tool as a whole. It's also happened more than once that we've mentioned a suggested feature they are already working on for the next update! What we'd still love to see from 10,000ft is a more robust task communication system ("comments" on tasks aren't given enough weight in the interface for us to provide full communication among team members about what needs to happen on any given task, leading us to double-up in chat or email with full details), as well as some additional categorization on analytics. For example, there isn't currently a way to isolate only projects that are over budget or within a certain percentage of maxing out budget; instead we have to scroll the project list to find them, and then analyze one-by-one. There are a ton of other ways to categorize projects that are very useful, though. It bears repeating that this is a company that is eager to learn from its customers. None of our input is cast aside even if it's not the right fit for the product overall, and that means a lot as a customer who depends on this tool. If you aren't getting enough insight into resource allocation, and if you want more insight into your project budgets and employee utilization, Plans is a solid option that has improved our workflow.

Raj

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

Outstanding application that has improved how we run our business.

Pros

Simple but powerful. The design is clever - we looked at many other options in the market and 10kft is a standout on great design. The design allows to to have deep insight and visibility into resource management in your company. Love the ability to forecast revenue.

Cons

The extra features of the Pro version do not justify the cost. The expense function is weak. We had to build a manual interface to our accounting software (QBO) - would have liked this off the shelf.

Response from 10,000ft

Thanks for the thoughtful review, Raj! We love working with your team.

Replied March 2018

Anonymous

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2017

10,000ft is just the tool that I needed to effectively manage teams and projects!

Ease of reporting and visibility into what my team is working on

Pros

The interface is very easy to use and I like the ability to set-up our accounts, projects, and teams. I especially like the reporting functionality and how easy it makes it for me to forecast staffing needs and revenue while reporting on how as a team we are doing in comparison to what we forecast.

Cons

I'd like to be able to assign a custom color to each of my Accounts so that I can better visually see assignments based on that. Other than that, the tool is awesome!

Benjamin

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Revolutionized project tracking

Pros

Coming from excel, this was a warp speed jump that greatly simplified our time and record keeping. The interface is simple and reactive to change. We use it to automatically track bill rates against time spent and fee caps. I can't imagine running our business without it. Customer service is a standout.

Cons

It would be nice if the expense features were more robust. The feature is not built for what we use it for, so it only works ok.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Solid resource management and project budget tracking platform

Pros

Doesn't try to do too many things. What it does do, it does well. Gives managers the ability to understand resource availability well, and gives a clear picture of how projects are tracking on a financial level. People do their timesheets more often than not with this software, which is a big compliment in and of itself.

Cons

Misses some level of granularity in how you can set up project financials specific to your company.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Dramatic change to our daily planning and scheduling, simplified and consolidated our time tracking.

Pros

The custom features to allow us to filter the tool to our unique inner workings as a company. I also love the new project dashboard and the sortable columns.

Cons

I don't care for the amount of clicks it takes to create a booking. I also wish there was more descriptions in the bookings instead of just the hours so that we know what we're booking. I also wish there was a better dashboard for project managers to view all of their resourced bookings on one easy to digest dashboard.

Response from 10,000ft

Thanks for your feedback! Great to hear that you've been enjoying the new project portfolio dashboard. We're heads down working on a sleek new way to add specifics to assignments and keep track of the status of the work itself, which will help you add the level of detail you're looking for when resourcing. Stay tuned :) - The 10,000ft Team

Replied February 2018

Nicola

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Good simple timesheets

This software has proven a good simple way to keep track of our hours.

Pros

We find the software simple and intuitive for keeping timesheets and assigning hours per project and work stage for simple billing.

Cons

The software is fairly standalone and we have to manually input the time data into our invoices. We don’t use the expense feature.

Wieke

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Market Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Very easy to implement & use

Resourcing / scheduling and analysis

Pros

Visual , easy to use. Users are happy with the product Basic features are good. very good for overview of your resources (and planning)

Cons

Reporting limited and not detailed enough. Inability to define/change calculations/formulas. Enhancement of reports builder.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2020

Worst Support I've had to deal with

Pros

This software makes it easy to keep track of budgets and resourcing.

Cons

This software has the worst customer support I've dealt with in a long time. They found a bug with my companies projects and it still hasn't been fixed over a week later.

Mollie

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Our entire company runs off, it revolutionized our billing model

Pros

I love how you can allocate team members to projects. I also love that it got us away from the "timer method" of time tracking. This is much easier for my team.

Cons

The reporting functions leave a little to be desired. Most of all I would love for job costing to be included.

Michelle

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2018

Progess!

Pros

I was leery of the way "insights" and "plans" were initially split up, but I must say - 10000ft hit it out of the park with the reinvention of this software! The program allows for creative, strategic thinking - which a lot of PM software does not.

Cons

There is no native mobile app. It does always work well with certain browsers and occasionally have to remind myself to "save everything."

Gina

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

10,000 ft is a great tool for resource planing ad project reporting. I'd be lost without it!

Pros

All I need in one view! Great scheduling tool. Great for reporting on time used per project. And great for reporting budgets for customers.

Cons

Analytics page won't compartmentilize, can't arrange saved reports into folders. It is a pain when you have many customers with lots of different saved reports. They are hard to find as they are also not in alphabetical order.

Seddik

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

10,000ft Plans

Pros

User Defined Reports Even if you're not buying into the big data trend, you can't discount the value of good reporting. 10,000ft Plans has the high-level dashboard you're used to, and its reporting platform lets users create custom reports based on their own business needs. Allocate Resources Across Projects If your project teams are ever-changing, 10,000ft Plans's ability to view to allocation of resources across projects can save you many headaches. Budgets and Expenses Talk about time savings. 10,000ft Plans cuts down on the need for multiple systems or integrations by allowing users to create budgets and manage expenses within the platform.

Cons

No Customization Options Calling 10,000ft Plans rigid might be a stretch, but its lack of customization options should be noted. It's more than just visual tweaks too. For example, you can't make custom fields to save off data that might be specific to your company's process. Lack of Collaboration Depending on the organization of your company and its projects, collaboration within your PM solution may or may not be important. With that said, if built-in collaboration is a big selling point for you, 10,000ft Plans will most likely fall short of your expectations.

Marissa

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

TTF works great for long term projects

Scheduling and pulling reports

Pros

It is straight forward and easy to use. The analytics allows you to pull reports that are very helpful.

Cons

Flexibility - sometimes its cumbersome to make updates and share with other divisions who have different holidays.

Showing 1 - 25 of 63 reviews
Resource Management

Resource Management

4.16/5 out of 63 reviews
PriceWatch Demo