User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(95)

95

4 stars

(82)

82

3 stars

(8)

8

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(2)

2

  • Pros

  • "Easy to navigate and find documents and information, support are exceptional and very helpful in times of need"

  • "Ease of access. Mobile app Great functionality. Good word processing. Simple to navigate. "

  • "Aconex comes handy. Everyone can use it immediately because it is very easy to understand all its function which I believe is what I like the most for this system."

  • Cons

  • "Its Great software, but Some times goes out and other rear times get hanging, and goes out without saving ."

  • "Aconex Field is a little tiresome to use as it tends to crash a fair bit. Overall, still a great software though."

  • "In general everything works very well and it is difficult to find something I work less, but if I could choose, I'd make the interface design more attractive and colourful."

Browse Oracle Aconex Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 189 results

January 2020

Manura from John Keells Properties

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Oracle Aconex for Large Scale Construction

With aconex, its really easy to handle this large scale project. Without aconext it wouldve taken ages to submit approve and construct everything

Pros

The project I'm working in is Cinnomon Life. Which us a 1.2Billion USD Multi Purpose Real Estate Project in Sri Lanka. In this project there are hundreds of Sub-Contractor companies working under the main contractor. Without Aconext I dont know how we couldve handled all the drawings and Documents. Its easy to use. Super easy to store and find documents. You can keep track of everything.

Cons

Since its web based. Speed depends in the quality of the internet connection. Takes a bit of time to download larger files

Reasons for Choosing Oracle Aconex

Because its easy to handle and worth the value

January 2020

Malith from John Keells Holdings

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

Oracle Aconex for Industrial Projects and Professional

Since my organization is using this software, I have been also a user of this more than two years. As an Engineer, everyday I get Aconex notifications to my outlook which is very helpful for me to get an idea of them before opening the Aconex. Since there are thousands of documents and emails, it is difficult for me to memorize everything. Therefore open and read in Aconex is easier than memorizing them. I normally use Aconex to send documents to other organizations since it is a secure medium. I highly recommend Aconex to any organization and professional.

Pros

Oracle Aconex is a sophisticated Software platform to communicate and store documents securely for any scale of a project. Large number of users can be added and use it at the same time is one of the major advantages. Inbuilt Aconex email function which can also be linked in to outlook is an added advantage. One other thing I like most is that the user can preview and verify a document before downloading it. Documents in Aconex can be exported into an Excel sheet saves the time. Workflow function in Aconex allows to check the hierarchy of reviewing the documents. It also allows the user to sort the documents according to date, organization and etc. Those are some of the appreciative features I experienced in this software.

Cons

Expensive License is the major drawback I see in this software. One other thing I noticed is, user has to write the name of the document using exact letters as per the documents name, otherwise, it shows no results found. Like google it doesnt suggest the words while typing.

January 2018

Gina from Turner & Townsend

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Aconex was easy to learn and easy to configure.

Ease of tracking documents in workflow and ease of transmitting documents to and from outside contractors.

Pros

I like the ability to configure the metadata. I also like the search and retrieve tools. Having the workflow/review document feature built in is also a time saver.

Cons

The review documents tool set needs to include a tool to export comments and save as a file. Currently, this procedure must be done outside of Aconex. Also, the workflow process should allow the administrator to add additional people to the workflow after it starts. This should not be a separate workflow within an active workflow that is tied to an active workflow participant (although when a user needs that feature it is useful but not typical). The software also needs a better approach to storing the native file and corresponding pdf file together. Using history is not an effective method (and confusing to typical users) and giving either the native file or pdf file the same document number with a suffix (or some other means of numbering) can also be confusing. Both files should have the exact same document number.

March 2018

Nicole from Chaves & Associates

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

2.0

March 2018

Aconex is sold as a complete Project Management tool, it is far from that.

Pros

This is a Web Based application that can be accessed via any internet connect as well as mobile access. Reports can be set up for individual use or organization use for all users. They are trying to update features in workflows to be closer to Bluebeam. My direct Support contact is very responsive and always willing to help.

Cons

There are several cons, you do not have the ability to do bulk changes to date field and clear the date completely. Workflows does not allow multiple comments per sheets, it bulks them all together as one comment. The comments need to be tracked/closed individually and when its all bulked together that is not possible. There are certain fields that are listed Print Size why can't this be turned off? Mail does not currently have workflows. Mail is hard to run reports, you need to do it from Inbox and sent to get all necessary information. Workflow Comments is only available to vie in workflow, this should be visible in the document registry. Markup tool is not user friendly.

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

effective document management

Users in different locations can work together with this document management system and systematically exchange and upload documents.

Pros

It enables you to classify documents very effectively and make them easier to find at any time. It enables specific users to open certain functions and provide everyone with access to the documents they need for their jobs. At the same time, when the necessary requests are created, the persons concerned must fulfill the duty that they should follow the relevant document.

Cons

Users in different locations may have problems synchronizing due to the Internet problem. If the required permissions are not set correctly, users can access documents that are not authorized or related to them. This could create both mayhem and security vulnerabilityThis could create both mayhem and security vulnerabilityThis can create both chaos and security.

September 2019

Clinton from Essential Airconditioning

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Oracle Aconex: An Industry-Leading Project Management Tool

Oracle Aconex adequately fills our need for project management and communication between various disciplines from project start to close-out.

Pros

+ Well organized layout of information. + Integrated mail system that allows for easy multi-discipline collaboration. + Easy to locate documents and mail with multiple search fields. + Multiple file upload tool speeds up transmittal process. + Central project repository (if multiple projects are facilitated through Aconex). + Keeps all issued documents off local hard drives and onto a central server.

Cons

- Uploading files with the correct document properties manually can be a chore. - Limited view customization. It would be nice to see a mail item on the same page as the inbox. - You cannot right-click on the screen to open an item in a separate tab. - No constraints on document register standards to ensure all disciplines upload correctly. - Sharp learning curve for new users, requiring extensive training.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

One of the most reliable cloud based software for Operations Management

Since Aconex is a cloud-based solution, it is easy for our project team members even those who are remotely located to create, review and upload documentation and other project information from any location on to the software seamlessly. Documentation such as drawings, RFIs, rich 3D models, rendering and reports can be accessed via a real time dashboard and this definitely helps us reduce the time and effort needed for document filing and tracking.

Pros

Oracle Aconex is the Crme de la crme of construction management softwares and allows its users to share documentation via the online portal for sizeable projects in a seamless manner. It is suitable for transmitting drawings, and capable of documentation management, process and workflow automation and helps the user control several aspects of project correspondence for complex projects. We have been able to manage and maintain a workflow within the software and love the tracking feature that accommodates each transmittal submitted.

Cons

It needs training first to be able to use all features and functionalities. There is limited email capability but hopefully this will be addressed in future upgrades. It is best suitable for large construction and engineering projects so not really sure if small scale projects would be managed well through Aconex.

May 2019

peter from Transport Canberra

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Aconex - your valuable tool

It has allowed us to keep greedy contractors under control with proof of communications and directions - it has allowed us to minimise fake claims against our project

Pros

It provides a safe and efficient way of keeping all our records and communications safe - yet recorded for later use if needed. It has allowed us to 'keep the greedy contractors' under control commercially.

Cons

in recent times there has been several outages or slow running - frustrating when you need the system every day

September 2019

Dakshina from Maga Engineering Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Document cloud in virtual space

Oracle aconex is used at waterfront development project where I am involved at. This system helps tremendously to improve the quality and progress of the site.

Pros

Oracle Aconex is the most advanced document controlling system I have ever used. It saves almost all the documents within the project such as material submittals, method statements, shop drawings etc. Server never gets slowed although how much data is stored. Downloading and uploading is very easy. Workflows can be created and assigned to users for reviewing. Helps to track the document review stages.

Cons

Service maintenance should be arranged within a time period of where usage is minimum. When it happens during a busy hour of the day, basically entire project stops for few hours.

August 2019

Robert from Gardner Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Great product

Pros

Ease of access. Mobile app Great functionality. Good word processing. Simple to navigate.

Cons

Simple ability to cut and paste from any external document into a message is not supported. This is a critical feature that could be improved.

February 2018

Antonette from Bird Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2018

Aconex is a great platform and repository of project documentations.

Pros

- Easy to search/find documents especially drawings with the most current versions - The fact that you can see messages from/to other team members is useful when you have large teams especially if a team member leaves the project - Documents and mails cannot be deleted for accuracy of project records - Unlimited project users can be added to use the system once the Organization has registered

Cons

- Expensive - Not widely used by Subtrades/Owners so there is more training required. Other systems such as Procore are more widely used and don't require as much training - The fact that messages/notifications can't be grouped as conversations in Outlook makes reading all of the messages very tedious and time consuming - Tracking & closing of RFI's is difficult due to how the status is recorded ie, if the Engineer responds asking for some additional information on an RFI so that they can respond, the system automatically indicated that the RFI has been responded to; it is not possible to generate report in order to know Organizations the RFIs been distributed to using other mail types - Tracking and generating report for received and issued drawings and packages is difficult, it is crucial to be able to have accurate transmittal information that can easily be generated on a daily basis for document management / project records without having the need to maintain a manual log especially for Contractors managing upstream and downstream flow of information (documents from which Organization and to which Organizations the documents have been issued to with complete document and transmittal details)

November 2017

Kris from Strike

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Solid Project Management Platform

If you're an EPC company it'd be hard to go wrong with Aconex. We ended up selecting another platform, but it was a fierce competition. In the end, we opted for one with more market-ready integrations with other tools that we currently have in place (to avoid more siloes) and that also had a UI/UX that was more intuitive for creating processes and finding files/records (viz. a modular-tool setup). There were other considerations, but bottom line, Aconex is a solid platform that really offers a wealth of value for standardizing and automating key processes. They'll definitely be around for a while.

Pros

- Clean UI/UX experience - Configurable workflows created on front-end by user - Metadata based system allows for rich tagging and organization of files (Document Register) and other types of correspondence (Mail Types) - Views can be saved (and shared) for filtered searches that take place a lot (e.g. RFIs or Pending RFIs) - Mail types offer extreme configurability to formalize/standardize certain types of exchanges between parties that require user input or approval (e.g. Daily Logs, Meeting Minutes, RFIs) - Can pay per user or go with unlimited user option and pay a percentage/fee based on how much company commits to running through Aconex for set period of time; having options are nice though - Reinvest 20% into R&D - Support Central contains outstanding documentation - Great mobile apps with wide-functionality

Cons

- Takes some mental training to know which Register to go look in, whether that's the Document or Mail Register. In my experience, this was because currently, our company stores RFIs as documents/files, whereas Aconex treats them as a Mail Type; so looking for an RFI requires searching in the Mail Register (since it's a type of correspondence) not the Document Register (note: Aconex can also handle RFI process as a document, I believe buy sending it around via Workflows, in which case it *would* be a file located in the Document Register) - Meta data is the smartest way to organize big data however it *does* require a solid tagging system; some companies may not have this (but I'm sure Aconex would assist with this setup) - A few Auzzy-isms are distracting to look over (e.g. Tender vs. Bid) - Has technical potential to integrate with other software/tools through APIs but not many market-ready connections that can be demonstrated - Almost handles entirety of project life-cycle, but a little weak on POs (i.e. not a P2P tool, Procure to Pay) and integrating the Connected Cost tool with other ERPs (note: see previous remark, it *is* technically feasible)

February 2018

Elissa from Hawkins 2017 Limited

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Great to see Aconex continue to improve their products.

Pros

* Always get the latest version of drawings * Can track previous versions of drawings * Nothing can ever be deleted * Being able to view all the mail that has been sent and received from your company * Do not have to save anything on your own hard drive * Reporting tools are very useful * Being able to create excel spreadsheets from Document Register * Can access Aconex from any electronic device which has the internet * Project Directory list * Global Directory list * Mutiple File Upload * Being able to set up Projects how you want. * List of projects to be able to access easily - when invited onto * Organising mail into Types - makes it easier to sort. * Multiple fields to search for documentation and drawings eg. Subject, Date, From Organisation, Recipients etc. * Help instructions and videos are excellent. * Help Desk is excellent

Cons

* Issues with teaching consultants and sub-contractors on how to upload documents into the document register- ie. education * Sometimes time delay in viewing and downloads * Site going down. * Generally happy with the product. * 95% of the time the Aconex Helpdesk are very knowledgeable. However occasionally I have come across someone that is not sure about an answer but all operators have always been very friendly and helpful.

March 2018

Ana Luisa from OHL

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Aconex fully complies with internal needs and also allows the organization to be up-to-date with ISO

The best practices in the documentary field for my daily job.

Pros

Document management is a key aspect for the efficiency and productivity of organizations and ACONEX has been fundamental for the magnitude of the project in which I currently work. Aconex fully complies with internal needs and also allows the organization to be up-to-date with ISO 30300 and the best practices in the documentary field. Documentary management how "the strategies, tools and methods used to capture, organize, store, preserve and disseminate content and documents related to organizational processes, is much easier to achieve with the vital support generated by having Aconex with this tool .

Cons

It is difficult for me to trace - match the documents to each other for topics. While there is a chance to download spredsheets, the is quite limit the report, could be better considering something like dashboard or something similar for all the categories of the documents.

January 2018

Tonja from Hallmark Group

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Excellent collaboration tool

This software is very powerful for collaboration and workflow.

Pros

Aconex is easily to get up and running and is also relatively easy to use. The custom mail form functionality combined with the ability to set automatic distribution lists for different mail types has been a very powerful tool for corresponding on contractual items.

Cons

Aconex is a large company with all users utilizing the same interface. Because of this Aconex is very easy to implement. The down side is that proprietary nomenclature or specific document "Types" may or may not be allowed. In our case, we wanted a general document type for "Meetings" where we use a cascade to further delineate whether the document is a Agenda, Presentation, Handout, Notes etc.. Aconex has a type set up for "Meeting Notes" which we felt was too specific and did not address agendas and other meeting material. Aconex escalated the request to have a Type = Meetings or Meeting Material and our request was denied.

January 2018

Karl A. from Schneider Electric

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Aconex is the best tool I have found for managing documents and mail on medium to large projects.

Pros

I greatly appreciate Aconex's flexibility to adapt to policies and procedures you may already have. It does not force you into one way of doing things but at the same time doesn't require significant up-front configuration to get started. I also like that Aconex is always improving and adding significant and useful new features often.

Cons

The only real con I have is one that can be managed but would be nice to have tighter controls on. Aconex does not offer the ability to restrict the permisison to change the document status (approved, approved as noted, rejected, dfrat, etc.) when superceding with a new version. By default it uses the previous version status for the new version status and if you forget to select a new status you could end up with the draft of the next revision of the document showing as approved in the document register. If you use workflows to approve your documents you can always go back and verify if a document was actually approved by the proper people but to do that requires a few extra mouse clicks.

January 2018

Meredith from Sargent and Lundy

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

After 7 years of use on many projects, Aconex has been the most efficient collaboration tool to use.

Aconex is a good online collaboration tool that aids in the overall maintenance of the day to day running of a project.

Pros

The implementation of using metadata to tag documents, makes searching easy. Searching within the document contents is quite helpful. The new online viewer has made online document reviews a lot easier to process and keep track of. The Mail module is an overlooked plus that assists in keeping all of the project communications in one place. The online training videos have improved a lot and are essential in getting projects up and running.

Cons

The price is high compared to some of the other collaboration solutions and this keeps of from using Aconex more than we do now. Some of the administrative restrictions prevent the organization administrators from being as effective as they need to be (i.e. can't remove users from a project, can't change labels of metadata, can't create and add our own document statuses or document types, dashboard reporting is restrictive and really should offer more). The workflow reporting is limited and doesn't allow much customization. Sometimes our designated Aconex system consultants just quit or disappear and the communication surrounding it all is sometimes non existent.

March 2018

Erac from Trailhead Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

My experience in the document control field for oil and gas spans 12+ years.

Pros

What I like most about this software is how easy it is to use. I also like the quality standards it offers with recording every change that is made within the system. The dashboard has all the relevant information needed to make your daily tasks easy to manage. I also enjoy having the ability to process documentation en masse with the bulk upload function. The drag and drop feature for uploading multiple files is also appealing. Utilizing this software for our document control functions and repository has been the best experience in all my document management software experience.

Cons

I would like for org admins to have the capability to add their own projects into the software module. While I understand that to have the ease of use features on this software, it may be required for Aconex to create the projects in the module, it would be nice if org admins had that ability. But it has not been a real hindrance, since the projects were created fairly quickly once the request was made.

January 2018

Alan Ernesto from Consorcio PMC Talara

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Very Good, but could be better

Fast and very intuitive user experience (if the fields are designed properly by the docuement control team in your enterprise)

Pros

Fast access. Very easy way to look for the documents. Easy to upload new documents. Secure and safe information. 24 hours a day working.

Cons

Improve the module of reviewing documents, it must be without Java, because Java is too slow and have many troubles, maybe you can do the same as you did in the multi upload module. The team that supports our projects must be people who really worked on real projects all over the world, maybe you need to include some Document Controllers that used Aconex for a long time, and includes they in your company. Most of the people in the support team actually didn't know how a real project work using Aconex.

March 2018

Caroline from KPH Turcot, un partenariat S.E.N.C.

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Really easy to use, minimum training required and user-friendly.

Reduce document controller, reducing email communication with large files as well. Centralization for all document control management.

Pros

Aconex is used by all entities involved for our project. This make document control management efficient and productive. The best thing about Aconex is the document register : unlimited size of files, easy access to previous version of a file, link to all transmittal used to exchange the file and, the search is powerful. Easy and fast to update files for all document register that have already received a file.

Cons

Having to ask for a report of our distribution list, we should have this accessibility. The Insights should be editable by the project Management to represent what we should see.

February 2018

Michael from Turner & Townsend

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

A great tool for managing communication and documentation on highly complex projects

Pros

- Allows everyone to be working from the same revision of documents - Captures all communications and documents in one single place - Makes everyone accountable as no information/communications are deleted across the life of the project - Workflow function allows easy tracking of approval and review processes

Cons

- Uptake by project team can be difficult to push - Accountability as a result of communications/mails and documents never being deleted leads to a reluctance from some contractors and design team members to use the software even when mandated - Cost management function in the past has not been on the same level as the document and information management platforms

February 2018

Vladan from Centre for Architectural and Urbanism - C.A.U.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Normal everyday use of programs to read notifications and download necessary files for work.

Pros

A lot of simple organizations and as such is easy to use. For example: a basic screen in the form of a table with all the necessary data.

Cons

There is no table listing all design reviews. For instance: the rows would be entered in the codes - the names of all the designs and the column numbers of the revisions. The dates of the revisions would be entered in the fields of their cross-section. Nevertheless, whether the table will be updated automatically (based on the code and the data of the document itself) or the document controller on the project will do so. This would easily and quickly find the required revision of a document that has huge number on large projects. Second: notes when my tasks are approaching should be on INBOX screen in the form of a light signal - a bright-colored button, because the inbox screen is open for most of the time.

February 2018

Timothy from Pirovich Pty Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Aconex is a great collaboration tool for workflow, document and correspondence management.

- Use from start to finish on the project - Control of tendering module - Clear document review process under the workflow module - Mail correspondence can be controlled under mail types - Continual document register automatically updated on document transmittal

Pros

Users have the ability to create a project from the tender phase through the the completion of the project. There is the ability to create tenders, coordinate correspondence, share and store documentation, and defect management.

Cons

Difficult in getting subcontractors to sign up for a user account. There are also issues for project administrators having the ability to remove temporary / users no longer involved in the project. The mobile app is difficult to use.

January 2018

Andronick from Saudconsult

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

It is the best exercise to upgrade my knowledge and makes it more easier.

I use to manage my documents very well and our client is happy with its performance. helps us to organized our documents before inputting to the system. It changes our way keeping and managing our own files and adopting to non aconex projects.

Pros

Easy to understand and straight forward. Save search helps users to identify easily their documents. Confidentiality of records makes the management feel happy that they can keep the conversation on a level of management.

Cons

Accounts per project location need to be consider. and the Global ID interface must be develop. some administrators of aconex forgot to match the numbering as per project vs the auto generation of document number. some of the columns has no option to sort.

March 2018

Ruzana from Samsung C&T UEM Construction JV Sdn Bhd

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Aconex is easy to use due to unlimited upload and downloads file for official submission.

It helps to reduce times and make works easier.

Pros

The workflow submission is very practical and suitable for project engineering. It reduce paper usage and helps to monitor the progress. The uploads and downloads file is unlimited which is very good for drawing submission in CAD format. It is also summarized the submission status because every submission is reviewed by many trades. Good job Aconex.

Cons

During workflow submission process, there is a bug which appear unidentified codes. It required to refresh page but it will return to the beginning and we have to start all over again. Aconex should fix these issues.

September 2018

Andrew from Cox Architecture

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Consistency makes for efficeincy

Excellent

Pros

The consistent way that each project is set up, makes for a good user experience generally.

Cons

Some PMs dont use the tools properly. It is becoming impossible to work out what your actual tasks really are. RFIs get sent to everyone on the project team. Queries are more like statements, it takes longer to work out what the question really is, than it does to work out the answer. People should think about who they are sending queries to and who is just ccd. Using the please respond by options should mean there is an extra onus on the initiator to close it out, or chase it up.

January 2018

Susan from Ledcor

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Easy to use and great functionality.

Aconex helps us work on a global scale with many clients

Pros

Provides a global platform that allows many user to work together. Easy to add new files to the system. All mail is kept in the Mail module and it can't be erased, so you can't lose any correspondence. Easy to create workflow templates. Easy to run reports on workflows and RFI's. No size limit on the files. It functions like it was advertised and more.

Cons

Have to use the mail form titles that Aconex has pre-loaded into the system. Sometimes can get confused when working in the backend of the system where you might need to make a change.

July 2018

Ann from AECOM

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Excellent Document Management System

I use it daily to upload documents that are transmitted to the Client and Vendor. It will also be used for auditing purposes, reporting and permanent document storage.

Pros

That most Clients and Vendors/Customers are beginning to see the value of this software and will use it making it an easy way to transmit and receive documents. Another great thing about this software is I can log in from anywhere, not just my workplace.

Cons

I am not sure there is anything I don't like about this software. I guess if the system is down is what I may like least but it is usually back up and running in a short amount of time.

January 2018

Hans from Parsons Corporation

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Successfully configured and implemented Aconex on several large programs.

Pros

It is the solid single-point-of-truth for large, complex programs. It integrates information flow (correspondence), documents, packaged deliverables, cost, field inspections and BIM together very well. It span from bid/tender phase all the way through design, construction, test/commissioning and close-out. If implemented properly with industry best practice processes, it can significantly reduce risk on large, complex programs, especially those with multiple contract and technical interfaces.

Cons

Some of the administration features are somewhat cumbersome on implementations with a large number of users, especially at the organizational administration level. As with any software implementation, training and institutionalization is one of the hardest and most important aspects to be successful. There are a few features (like RFI closeout) that make it a little more difficult to institutionalize such that report data remains in tact.

January 2018

Kam from Metrolinx

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Provided easy access to design documentation for review and keeping track of record.

Benefits are many as described earlier. Be able to have a process flow of all projects saving time, reducing cost, be able to identify issues and commenting of design documentation.

Pros

Be able to retrieve documentation easily and support from Aconex is great. It also offered process flow in project delivery which is clear to project teams. The email like within the software is easy to understand for all users and if that person knows how to send an email he or she knows Aconex.

Cons

Cannot think of any. However, the cost of the software might be a little pricey. One improvement that I would like to see with the software is a better tagging routine that is able to tagged files and become searchable. Currently searches are still very rudimentary. The BIM viewver tab should also could be improved adding more features to it or better still have a full feature BIM viewer and could reconize RVT as well as Bently 3D files without having to convert to IFCs.

March 2018

FEBIN from BECHTEL

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Aconex is very much user friendly. easy to maintain

As i am working in a field of Document management . This software will help me a lot in my future job profile.

Pros

As i am frequent user on Aconex. helping me much easiest way to handle the document how i required. Document search and bulk upload option is much easier to handle

Cons

There is still more clarification or home work required on report taking. For example in supplier module, if we required to get a report of Document received date and document return back from supplier/Subcontractor/Designer in one step it is not possible - here we get the result only if we search the document with history. - for one document this option is ok but we need to search large number of document it will take a lot of time to get the actual report

February 2018

Luzviminda from RLS JV

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Convenient and reliable

Aconex is one of the useful tool in document control. If used with full efficiency, we can trace the history of not just the document but the project itself. It already has the workflow and its own transmittal

Pros

We can access anywhere. We can show traceability on the history of each document. We can conveniently create transmittal to transmi the document. The workflow is functional and worl well in the project.

Cons

Like the other software it is also has its downtime, sometimes it is slow, sometime some functionality is not working especially when doing the bulk upload.

February 2018

Steve from Hawkins 2017

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Software works well, however loading issues occur frequently

Collation and capture of specific information is far easier than ordinary email systems.

Pros

Ability to track and locate correspondence is probably the most useful aspect of Aconex, storage of documents is reasonably straightforward.

Cons

Reports cannot be tailored to suit my requirements as they cannot be specific enough. One problem is the RFI trails, once someone has responded there is a danger then as this becomes no longer overdue or outstanding. This is most critical if the response is an automated one. There needs to be a method to reverse it.

January 2018

Zahra from Perkins+Will

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

Large international project with multiple specialties

Used Aconex on a project where the project team were located in multiple time zones and countries - made it easy to share information without worrying about the size of the files.

Pros

1) Internet based, Project material can be access by multiple teams simultaneously from anywhere in the world 2) Ability to upload, share and store large files

Cons

1) The search feature is very particular - could be improved 2) Takes multiple steps to upload and attach files/drawings

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Working with Aconex has made my work to run smoothly without any hindrance

The software benefited me in simplifying my work and making sure that all the data is secured and available and easy to use.

Pros

The most interesting or I like most in this software is the Search engine. Whatever you are finding in the software is very easy to get by only using a specific word related to the item to be searched.

Cons

What I least like in Aconex is when you loose internet connection where you become stranded waiting or hold on what your are doing until the connection gets back. But this is common with all internet dependent software's.

February 2018

Rodolfo Jr from UGL Limited

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

This is a good apps to deal with in organizing docs and monitor workflow approval processes.

Easy to use

Pros

This SW make my project activities easy when communicating, monitoring and organizing materials, documents and workflows. The other good thing about this SW, is that, you can access or login into the apps anywhere and anytime.

Cons

I can only say one bad thing about the SW, is the directory. I know, this depend on the administrator. But the contact details must be the person's unique contact number. You cannot rely in the lists if the default goes to aconex call centre, which cannot assist finding the person.

February 2018

Ashraf from RAMPED, Riyadh Metro Project, Eng. Dep.

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2018

Its Graet Software

Saving a lot of paper works and old method of tracking any Engineering ,design documents, save much space, specially for Mega project like Riyadh metro project, tracking the previous Eng. Design , site , letters, much much documents , you canot track without this great and rich software., really I appreciate this software and strongly recommend, specially for Big /Mega projects like I did.

Pros

Actually Aconex Software is Easy to use , downloading speed is fast, search ability tool is rich,

Cons

Its Great software, but Some times goes out and other rear times get hanging, and goes out without saving .

February 2018

SUBAIR KHAN from Dar Al-Handasah Consultants - Shair & Partners

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

User friendly, easy to access information between parties, no rooms for duplication of docs.

Pros

Speed up the workflow and gives no rooms for duplications of works/ documents for the entire project. User-friendly platform and controlled environment of this software gives everyone involved a distinctive edge. Searching of any documents as well as the reporting features helped me a lot in my career.

Cons

Keyboard short cuts; if the keyboard short cuts are enabled in this software, it will be benefited by document controllers a lot. Required additional search query options to search documents.

March 2018

Michael from NBRS Architecture

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

worked on a number of large complex projects using Aconex and it was very useful.

Pros

I think the best thing about Aconex is the document registry. All drawings in one place and you can see previous versions of the same drawing and how it has progressed. Also being able to see emails on a specific subject and tracking RFIs is a very good option.

Cons

The automatic numbering system of documents is not very useful. I wonder if this option can be changed from within the system. In my company we have a very specific way of naming files so it's not very useful to have automatic naming.

January 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2018

We use Aconex on every major project in the office.

this software has allowed us to achieve better project outcomes by minimising the amount of admin required to track and file project correspondence and coordination.

Pros

The ability to coordinate complex projects across multiple discipline is aided by the use of aconex. The accountability of each of the consultant team is critical in ensuring successful project delivery.

Cons

The most painful process that Aconex has is its document register and performing bulk supersedes through from pre-tender issues to tender documentation.

January 2018

Alex from Fluor

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

5 year user, easy to use, adaptable to project needs.

With automated workflows, I am no longer manually routing documents for review, leaving more time for other tasks.

Pros

I like the multitude of options it provides at a faster speed than most document control software available.

Cons

I least like that there is no out of office function. If someone is on vacation, there is not an automated way to divert any workflows sent to them at that time. If someone leaves the project, there is not an automated way to remove them from existing workflows. I have found work arounds.

February 2018

Mounir Matta - CEng from Lusail Real Estate Development Company

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Safe storage and access to project documentation from anywhere

Pros

1- Fast upload and download of documents from anywhere in the world. 2- Peace of mind by ensuring that all project documentation is archived safely. 3- Regular update and development 4- In-house training to users

Cons

When searching for a subject yields more than one page and I move from one page to another searching for a particular document, I would like to clearly see the current search page highlighted to enable me to go to the next or previous page without losing track.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

The overall use is great for a building site and organising documentation and correspondence.

Being organised

Pros

Documentation and correspondence control. Able to track old correspondence by topic. Able to see who was issued what documentation and when.

Cons

Sometimes unstable to use and crashes. It doesn't go back to the same spot if you go back a page. If you have multiple pages open and you search say architectural in one and hydraulic in another. When you go back to the previously used one it changes to the former format. It doesn't stay on the one it was opened too.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Aconex has cut our document processing time in half and provides easy access from anywhere.

Pros

Unlimited file size, the information/documents is always received and never lost. Easy to search for documents and able to track changes. Support Central is always available and provide excellent assistance. It is cloud based software which is accessible from any location.

Cons

Modules do not interact. Limitations to download multiple files at once. Mail Forms - characters are limited. Bulk Uploads - can't copy file names to Excel without the use of SharePoint.

February 2018

Susan from AECOM

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Aconex is intuitive and user friendly, fast and efficient.

Pros

Aconex is so intuitive that most people do not need formal training prior to using the application. Support Central is very helpful for those who need to use it extensively. From a Document Control perspective, the best feature is the ability to upload and send hundreds of files in a matter of minutes.

Cons

The main improvement I would like to see is that both a native file and pdf can be kept in the one record as opposed to requiring 2 separate records.

March 2018

Mark from Adelaide Central Electrical

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Very reliable and easy program to use.

Online database which tracks projects and correspondence in real time.

Pros

Reliable source of documentation. Easy to track, find and share documents. It's great to have a database that everyone can obtain easily and effectively.

Cons

Could do with a couple extra features to simplify use. Selecting bulk drawings by individually ticking is a real pain and hassle especially when transmitting large amounts of drawings. Also after bulk superseding, there should be a transmit all feature.

March 2018

Vincent from Metrolinx

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Railroad Manufacture

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Daily transmittals.

Saves Time flexible input methods easy to understand easy to train new users unlimited uploads

Pros

Flexibility and convenient to use. I am using Aconex for over 8 years I found it is very flexible and convenient . when ever I faced issues I get immediate help and guidance from Customer Support

Cons

Initially I faced issues . I don't remember what kind of issues. I remember calling the customer support they mentioned there is limitation for that particular request I asked for.

January 2018

Uliana from Metrolinx

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Translation and Localization

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

Great tool

better management of documents

Pros

User friendliness Customer support Different modules Mail module in particular Workflows search

Cons

The fact that if you make a mistake you can not completely hide it. You can superseded it ( which is not helpful because it is still in the system) You can make it confidential, but the user still can see it. You should have an option to be able to hide it and still keep in only on a background to be visible for auditing purposes

June 2018

Mohammed from Hill International, Inc.

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2018

Good software

Pros

easy of finding information for any document or workflow I look for, zip download is easy too to download all files together.

Cons

- The relation between documents and workflows is not practical, you should copy the link or text from documents and go to workflows to find information, there should be a way to do that automatically. - If I'm not in the workflow and want to download documents, there is no way except going to the original mail.

February 2018

Ronan from McIldowie Partners Architects

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

I am an architect, having used Aconex on a number of projects from Tender through to post-completion

Complete construction project document and messaging management

Pros

Very thorough, one-stop-shop for email, document management and defects management. Web interface ensures no need for installation on computers.

Cons

The interface can be hard to navigate for some people. Standardising and formatting for messages is difficult. The need to refresh the document search after superseding has led to old drawings being reissued from our company and other consultants.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 189 reviews