What are Bugzilla users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Bugzilla software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.14

127 Reviews

5
38
4
70
3
18
2
1
1
0
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Performance is good, better than JIRA. It's easy to automate bug reporting with Bugzilla, it has an API to interact with the system."
  • icon"Best for small companies who wants to start up with less budget."
  • icon"Main benefit of this software is its open source architecture. It carries virtually no cost and very good community support which provides guidance on virtually every aspect."
  • icon"Little difficult to customize as per project needs. Difficult to attach large files while reporting bugs."
  • icon"Reporting is a limitation for Bugzilla. For me, to keep close track of workflows, Bugzilla just fails me and it's why I changed to another system."

Jump to:

Browse all Bugzilla Reviews

  • Have you used Bugzilla and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 127 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 127 reviews

Ramon Israel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2021

Best value for your money.

I really like bugzilla for error management, as a testing company, something it gets hard to merge our internal operation to external operantion´s customers, so far with Bugzilla this task gets very easy.

Pros

It is very scallable. Easy to manage. Easy to deploy. Easy to share to internal team and customers.

Cons

From my experience it was not very easy to install, as it is an open software, I needed to pay for a third party for deployment. So far, this allows it to be very easy and it is quite cheap (250 USD per year for 5GB storage).

Reasons for choosing Bugzilla

Bugzilla is cheaper.

Reasons for switching to Bugzilla

Expensive

User Profile

Ramindu

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Bugzilla: The grandad of modern bug tracking software

Bugzilla has been a part of our organization's roster of bug tracking tools for as far as I can remember, and has always been simple, effective and up to the mark in terms of managing large applications with a large number of issues being reported by an active QA team all day, every day.

Pros

Bugzilla has always been, and always will be one of the best and most well-known bug tracking tools. It is so well-known that it will get used as the basic yardstick against which other newer tools are measured. That being said, Bugzilla provides a simple interface which gets you towards getting your job done, which is to report/fix bugs, in a hurry. The controls are intuitive and self-explanatory. You don't need a huge manual to figure it out.

Cons

Throughout the years Bugzilla has been quite clunky at times with saved bug reports not getting saved, search not working properly etc., but the modern version has next to no issues.

Kshitij

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2017

The best free bug-tracker.

This was the market pioneer for free-ware bug tracking. It is easy to set up and host on your office system. Though the UI has a few things to be desired and you need to circumvent the lack of usability, but some good user training(which you will anyways be giving with process implementation with your team) helps a lot. If you are looking for a free ware tool - esp where you need to start from scratch and have a limited budget, then look no further. Major cons - 1. I felt the UI needs some improvement - alongwith Usability. 2. The other paid tools have good customizability - defining the workflows or even showing proper labels. Overall Bugzilla has a proven track record of being a very good tool - esp for start-ups with less money and/or either a company or a new sub-department within the organization - where the management doesn't want to invest a lot of money. But with good process definition and proper implementation(which will also help in long) these shortcomings can be overcome. Though

Pros

1. Free of cost with updates. 2. Easy of installation. 3. Browser compatible- with most of the varieties of standard ones.

Cons

1. UI design not attractive. 2. Customization difficult.

User Profile

ravi

Verified reviewer

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2018

One of the best tool for tracking issues

A handy tool for beginners, good tracking of the issues and all the emails are sent perfectly for every issue. We have resolved many issues of some of our softwares with it's help. The team is happy with the information tracking on issues.

Pros

We can link so many people to an issue and any findings will be reported to all the people in the email list. The database capabilities are very optimized. I think there is no match to bugzilla when it comes to pricing, an open source alternative to our worries. We have some great login options availaible with bugzilla.

Cons

Weak support with third party tools and low integration is making it fade. However a large community always has answers to your questions, but some questions still goes unanswered.

Ross

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Good, but a bit outdated on-prem issue-tracking solution

Pros

It's a robust issue-tracking suite with all the features you'd need: admin-side control over exposed fields and forms, workflows, good security, watching issues, notifications, etc. Fairly inexpensive if you're willing to go through the trouble of installing and maintaining it on your own servers.

Cons

In a world where everyone is moving towards the cloud, on-prem solutions seem outdated, lack the required level of integrations with other cloud software and require skills that are harder to find for deployment and maintenance. The UI also feels a bit from the 90ies and won't make your developers or QA community particularly happy. Overall, I find that the learning curve of Bugzilla is a bit longer than that of cloud-based systems like Jira.

User Profile

Gagandeep

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

Bugzilla use for bug tracking and its open source tool.

I am using Bugzilla in my day to day activity. Its up to the marks. It can manage my daily activity of bugs.

Pros

Bugzilla is a bug tracking tool. It is an open source project for mozilla. Its best for test case management. We dont need to buy the license for bugzilla. Its completely free. Some of the key features are; Wide range of formats for bug lists. We can track the time. Informative report. Watch other user options. Last but not the least, we can use lot of Add-on.

Cons

UI is not much user friendly like old fashioned and unattractive. And kind of bit slow. Other than that its really good and ofcourse free.

MANJU

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Great tool for bug management and tracking.

Overall, Bugzilla is a great tool for bug tracking and management, and it is available as an open source tool.

Pros

It is an open source tool for bug tracking and management. We can customize as per our requirements. It offers an advanced search option, it is very useful to find required data from the list. We can receive email notifications for the updates in bug. Also supports different type of charts and reports.

Cons

It would be nice to improve the mobile UI, now it is a little difficult to handle. Also, the customization needs an expert support.

User Profile

Darshan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Best tool to keep a track of bug

Bugzilla is the integral part of our devops team, We used in on daily basis to keep a track of bugs being filed

Pros

One of the best open source tools available in market to keep a track on bugs being logged, Track there progress until the fix being applied

Cons

Being a community edition Bugzilla still lags in terms of extensions & API's available for integration with third party tools

Mohamed

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

Bugzilla Review

it is an amazing experience

Pros

Easy to log in and check assigned bugs create new Custom filters export bugs information in excel sheets and other formats change several bugs at once change columns check several bugs info at the same time

Cons

Does not show red marks on required fields

Nitin

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2020

Best Old Bug management tool ever

Based on my experience Bugzilla is good option for start up business. In Budget with all features in one tool for defect management Easy to learn and understand able for a team. Less Training required

Pros

First up all it's free tool and easy to understand since it mostly focus on bug management . -No manual needed to start up in this tool. -Customized User interface for better user experience - Team can easily fetch bug reports with all details and circulate - Non technical person can also understand and use it without knowing full functionality -Best for small companies who wants to start up with less budget

Cons

-Apart from freeware tool sometimes it was having issues like searching and fetching report issue , getting freeze or suddenly stopped if clicked multiple times. -It could have been better if different features have been offered other than Bug reporting solely like Test cases management. -User interface can be improved with easy understanding of reporting of bugs and there details

Reasons for choosing Bugzilla

Licensed tool

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2018

A great, but isolated bugtracker

Creating and finding bugs in a matter of seconds, completely hassle-free.

Pros

Up until about a year ago, Bugzilla was the bug tracking application used in our company. To cut right to the chase: as a user / bug reporter, Bugzilla was a dream to work with. It's a school book example of how great free and open source software can be. The interface is no nonsense. Very simple and clean, everything does what you expect it to do. No need to navigate through different submenus to do even the simplest of tasks. No options hidden behind mysterious hamburger menus or gear wheel icons. The most common things are but a click away. This implies there is no or only minor explanation needed to get started with Bugzilla. Even some of our sales guys were easily and independently filing new bugs or searching for existing bugs, and that's definitely saying something. One of the key aspects of a bug tracker is definitely the performance of its search functionality. This is a point where OTRS definitely scores. Its search is very fast and precise. Usually, jotting a keyword or two in the "Simple Search" is enough to find exactly what you need. For the rare cases where it doesn't, the "Advanced Search" definitely does the job, while really being "advanced" but in no way "complicated". Little secret: even though all data from Bugzilla was copied to our new bug tracker when we made the switch, I still tend to go first to Bugzilla if I need to find an old bug. Simply takes me less time to find what I need compared to our new system.

Cons

I do understand why we moved away from Bugzilla. It is merely a bug tracker. Bugs are meant to be linked to tickets, added to sprint plannings, maybe assigned to epics together with new features. You get the point. Bugzilla wasn't made for that. Our new platform can do it all and more, in one single system.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

Great at Tracking bugs

Easily track bugs and ability to report bugs on project update. The email notification was great to see status of individual bugs The ease of use was a no-brainer The cost was relatively cheap compared to others in the market

Pros

Bugzilla has been around for years and I have used it on many projects. The ease of use of logging bugs and email notifications sent automatically to preset groups to be aware of bugs. Viewing status of bugs is an ease as assigned bugs get updated by bug owners. Another great tool included with Bugzilla is the reporting matrix, which allows the Test Lead and other Project leads to view all bugs and statuses.

Cons

The GUI is quite old looking but the web app does do what it needs to. There are more superior applications out there with more functionality and depending on what you were intending to use the application for you may opt for something like Jira.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

A simple open source tool with essential features

Overall, Bugzilla is a very good open source product which makes it a good choice for new and small businesses. it has most of the essential features to manage bugs and very easy to install, use and manage even for new users.

Pros

Being an open source tool makes Bugzilla am an excellent choice for new and medium-sized businesses. It has very simple, clear, easy to use interfaces which is a very good choice for beginners too. Other than managing defects and tracking them, it offers an array of simple reporting tools and also it allows to manage multiple projects at the same time. Very easy installation.

Cons

Bugzilla lacks customization features. It also lacks detailed reports. When it comes to reporting bugs, it allows attachments, but the attachment size is limited. Project level documentation is absent.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Simple tool for defect tracking

It serves our needs for tracking defects and validation activities for our client development projects.

Pros

The tool is pretty easy to use. Saved filters/searches help keep track of pending tickets. Workflows can be programmed to track the status of a bug through a specified lifecycle.

Cons

Not sure if it's a limitation of the product or the way it was configured, but there don't appear to be role-specific restrictions on who can move a ticket to a specific status. For example - only a tester should be able to close a defect bug, but really any user can close as long as it's an available step in the workflow.

Ian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Awesome Product

Pros

An Open Source project that can be used with the largest software that you plan on developing to keep track of bugs among hundreds of people. Before this software came out in 2011, I was always looking for something more effective to mark and track bugs in my software. Bugzilla is extremely easy to use and at the same functions perfectly for any project that you or your company are working on.

Cons

I haven't found anything wrong with this software besides fighting bugs in mine or other peoples programs.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Good option for test case management

Its a great tool, if you have time and resources to install it and maintain it, it will serve you well in all your projects.

Pros

This is free software, that you can create your own server for it, and have total control over it. Configuration, users, permissions, etc. The only limit is the resources you are willing to invest in it.

Cons

Since this is free open source software, you have all the responsibility for maintaining your implementation of it. There is a big community using it, but you won't have direct support.

Sharath

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2017

A versatile tool to log and track tickets.

Pros

I find bugzilla easy to use with a good set of options which helped me to log defects and track them. This was extensively used in my previous workplace and the general consensus was positive. The bug status and resolution parameters with a set of APIs made it easy to have a wrapper around it and use it extensively in our automation. The notifications and search filters came in handy more often than I expected.

Cons

The UI has not aged well and looks dated. It needs a refresh which could attract more users. This tool has potential and could be used to track other issues and stories. Could be bettered to fit the agile model.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Bugzilla Review

Excellent experience

Pros

This is the best tool for bug tracking tool. User can search bug easily with multiple search options . All notifications are done via email, so make it very user friendly any update on bug will be notified to concern person or group. Scheduled reporting is another feature which is very useful.

Cons

Nothing much for this section. but this tool have less integrations with other 3rd party tools.like git

Varsha

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

September 2019

Easy to work with open source software

Pros

The best part about bugzilla is about it being free and open source which gives smaller companies with limited resources, power to install and maintain their own of bug tracking with bugzilla

Cons

The free version had a lot of limitations when it came to tracking the life cycle of the bugs and at the same time linking it with Agile tracking software was a pain too since we had to keep using soft links everywhere

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Great free alternatives to JIRA

Overall this product has been a great tool for our project management needs.

Pros

BugZilla was easy to set up, very easy to customize, and a nice budget solution to teams wanting to get started with project management.

Cons

The User Interface for BugZilla is not as sleek as other products like JIRA from Atlassian. But, if you can get around that, it has wonderful features and customizability.

Devendra

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Industrial Automation

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2017

Great bug tracking software with lots of customization options

1. Tracking of bugs is made every easy 2. Advanced search option is excellent with lots of options available 3. E-mail alert feature is nice to have and good part is it is customizable

Pros

1. E-mail notification alerts for bug and lots of configuration options for mail alerts 2. Filter options of all bugs made it easy to sort the bugs 3. Almost all options are available to raise a bug e.g. criticality, attachment options etc

Gangani

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Good Issue tracking System

When doing QA , to log tested functions issues i used this tool. When creating an issues at the same time project relevant parties get update at the same time.

Pros

- Can customize the screen ( Issue log in page) - Can generate reports easily - Easy to manage

Cons

When creating an issue, for same category have to log on by one , if can enter multiple entries for 1 issues id it will be grate...

Bheesam

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2017

Impressive features and functionalities, easy to use with and good gui look and feel

Pros

Feature and functionalities are quite good as compared to this other tool like JIRA. Various queries and number of feature provided are are self explanatory.

Cons

will be good if we can prepare "Help" Tutorial for this for new customer. This is easy to understand in current state but if a link to tutorials videos made user requires no external training

Mohamed

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Bugzilla Review

it was an amazing experience working with it and tracking all the bugs.

Pros

Creating and tracking new bugs as it is sending email when anything change in the bug and this is amazing

Cons

some times crash when other people try to change the same bug that i am changing at the same time and this is annoying me.

François

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

Manage your bugs, features and development cycles right here.

We use it daily and in a validated environment, it does support our regulated needs.

Pros

Mature software, good management of bug history, versions, for multiple products, very customizeable as well.

Cons

Automated testing not supported as built-in functions. We managed to do it with an add-on but the graohical interface for this is not intuitive.

Showing 1 - 25 of 127 reviews
Bugzilla

Bugzilla

4.14/5 out of 127 reviews
PriceWatch Demo