All Bugzilla Reviews

1-25 of 134 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Ruban

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Best software bug tracking software

PROS

Ease of use, all the features are available for the dev and testing team to track bugs. Mail notification, mail notification customisation. Searching and preset search. I literally like all the features in this product.

CONS

UI could be improved a lot instead of the monotonous old UI.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2018

A great, but isolated bugtracker

Creating and finding bugs in a matter of seconds, completely hassle-free.

PROS

Up until about a year ago, Bugzilla was the bug tracking application used in our company. To cut right to the chase: as a user / bug reporter, Bugzilla was a dream to work with. It's a school book example of how great free and open source software can be. The interface is no nonsense. Very simple and clean, everything does what you expect it to do. No need to navigate through different submenus to do even the simplest of tasks. No options hidden behind mysterious hamburger menus or gear wheel icons. The most common things are but a click away. This implies there is no or only minor explanation needed to get started with Bugzilla. Even some of our sales guys were easily and independently filing new bugs or searching for existing bugs, and that's definitely saying something. One of the key aspects of a bug tracker is definitely the performance of its search functionality. This is a point where OTRS definitely scores. Its search is very fast and precise. Usually, jotting a keyword or two in the "Simple Search" is enough to find exactly what you need. For the rare cases where it doesn't, the "Advanced Search" definitely does the job, while really being "advanced" but in no way "complicated". Little secret: even though all data from Bugzilla was copied to our new bug tracker when we made the switch, I still tend to go first to Bugzilla if I need to find an old bug. Simply takes me less time to find what I need compared to our new system.

CONS

I do understand why we moved away from Bugzilla. It is merely a bug tracker. Bugs are meant to be linked to tickets, added to sprint plannings, maybe assigned to epics together with new features. You get the point. Bugzilla wasn't made for that. Our new platform can do it all and more, in one single system.

Nitin

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2020

Best Old Bug management tool ever

Based on my experience Bugzilla is good option for start up business. In Budget with all features in one tool for defect management Easy to learn and understand able for a team. Less Training required

PROS

First up all it's free tool and easy to understand since it mostly focus on bug management . -No manual needed to start up in this tool. -Customized User interface for better user experience - Team can easily fetch bug reports with all details and circulate - Non technical person can also understand and use it without knowing full functionality -Best for small companies who wants to start up with less budget

CONS

-Apart from freeware tool sometimes it was having issues like searching and fetching report issue , getting freeze or suddenly stopped if clicked multiple times. -It could have been better if different features have been offered other than Bug reporting solely like Test cases management. -User interface can be improved with easy understanding of reporting of bugs and there details

Reason for choosing Bugzilla

Licensed tool

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Good option for test case management

Its a great tool, if you have time and resources to install it and maintain it, it will serve you well in all your projects.

PROS

This is free software, that you can create your own server for it, and have total control over it. Configuration, users, permissions, etc. The only limit is the resources you are willing to invest in it.

CONS

Since this is free open source software, you have all the responsibility for maintaining your implementation of it. There is a big community using it, but you won't have direct support.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Bugzilla Review

Excellent experience

PROS

This is the best tool for bug tracking tool. User can search bug easily with multiple search options . All notifications are done via email, so make it very user friendly any update on bug will be notified to concern person or group. Scheduled reporting is another feature which is very useful.

CONS

Nothing much for this section. but this tool have less integrations with other 3rd party tools.like git

User Profile

Muhammad Yousuf

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2021

Best open source bug tracking solution

Bugzilla is best open source solution for tracking issues. I have used it my previous company and was quite satisfied with it.

PROS

Tracking issues in better way is one of the most challenging task in software industry. Bugzilla not only by default provides one window solution for bug tracking but also since it is open source solution i can customize it for my need. Highly recommended if you want to design customize flow for issues tracking.

CONS

Although bugzilla provides all the features to handle tasks and user stories but product name give impression that it is specific to bugs only. This create confusion among new employees and they hesitate in using it for tasks and user stories.

Anonymous

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2018

Track your bugs with Bugzilla

PROS

Bugzilla is an open source tools that I use to efficiently track issues. It comes with tons of useful features like: email notifications and reports & charts It is very customizable flexible. It's also not too difficult to use. Bugzilla gives me the ability to collaborate with my team without setting up meetings and the ease of logging, tracking and closing defects.

CONS

I think the UI could be better improved because the themes that are available online aren't the best. Bugzilla is an old tool so some additional work need to be done so that it can better align with the Agile practice.

Randall

Verified reviewer

Defense & Space, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Great bug tracking tool!

Overall, I had an excellent experience with this tool. It is very easy to setup and use!

PROS

Bugzilla has a simple, intuitive, and easy to use interface. It provides all the standard features you would expect from a tracking tool, such as tracking versions, resolution progress and history, filters, basic and advanced searching, and others. Many aspects of the tool are customizable. It is easy to install and set up, even for novice users. Email notifications are very useful as well when you want to get notified of updates to certain bug tickets.

CONS

Although the interface is made very simplistically, it is a bit visually unappealing to me. The GUI makes it look like software from two decades ago.

User Profile

Olga

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed October 2019

USed to love it

It was helping to keep bugs and all the issues, but it was seriously lacking a lot of functionality that any software company needs. No idea if it's any better today as I've been only using Jira for years by now.

PROS

i didnt know any better and we could only wish for something like Jira :) It didnt exist then, so Bugzilla kind of worked for us, even though it was very buggy in those years.

CONS

It was failing pretty often, not much functionality at all, only some very basic functions. Comparing to Jira today, it was a very beginning of such products.

User Profile

Sahil

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2019

Bugzilla for bugs

I have used it for almost one year and have very good experience for this bug tracking software.

PROS

Bug management software basically used to create and track the bugs in the application . It chart and graphs feature is very useful to see the progress of the bugs.

CONS

It is good but now their is many software who handle the bugs and project in single frame , so we do not need to purchase the software for only bug tracking.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2018

Great at Tracking bugs

Easily track bugs and ability to report bugs on project update. The email notification was great to see status of individual bugs The ease of use was a no-brainer The cost was relatively cheap compared to others in the market

PROS

Bugzilla has been around for years and I have used it on many projects. The ease of use of logging bugs and email notifications sent automatically to preset groups to be aware of bugs. Viewing status of bugs is an ease as assigned bugs get updated by bug owners. Another great tool included with Bugzilla is the reporting matrix, which allows the Test Lead and other Project leads to view all bugs and statuses.

CONS

The GUI is quite old looking but the web app does do what it needs to. There are more superior applications out there with more functionality and depending on what you were intending to use the application for you may opt for something like Jira.

Sharath

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2017

A versatile tool to log and track tickets.

PROS

I find bugzilla easy to use with a good set of options which helped me to log defects and track them. This was extensively used in my previous workplace and the general consensus was positive. The bug status and resolution parameters with a set of APIs made it easy to have a wrapper around it and use it extensively in our automation. The notifications and search filters came in handy more often than I expected.

CONS

The UI has not aged well and looks dated. It needs a refresh which could attract more users. This tool has potential and could be used to track other issues and stories. Could be bettered to fit the agile model.

Varsha

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2019

Easy to work with open source software

PROS

The best part about bugzilla is about it being free and open source which gives smaller companies with limited resources, power to install and maintain their own of bug tracking with bugzilla

CONS

The free version had a lot of limitations when it came to tracking the life cycle of the bugs and at the same time linking it with Agile tracking software was a pain too since we had to keep using soft links everywhere

Bheesam

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2017

Impressive features and functionalities, easy to use with and good gui look and feel

PROS

Feature and functionalities are quite good as compared to this other tool like JIRA. Various queries and number of feature provided are are self explanatory.

CONS

will be good if we can prepare "Help" Tutorial for this for new customer. This is easy to understand in current state but if a link to tutorials videos made user requires no external training

Mohamed

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Bugzilla Review

it is an amazing experience

PROS

Easy to log in and check assigned bugs create new Custom filters export bugs information in excel sheets and other formats change several bugs at once change columns check several bugs info at the same time

CONS

Does not show red marks on required fields

Enrique

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2018

Powerfull tool that's very easy to use

It's really a good software to keep track of bugs filed in a project.

PROS

Extremely easy user interface and feature rich product. Very easy to navigate throughout and quick response.

CONS

Found it difficult to set filters. Also faced some issues with content limit. Video are typically big in size.

Gayathri

Computer Software, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Bug tracking

PROS

1.Tracking the defects are easier 2.Assigning to the developers are easier 3.Uploading files options are available 4.Routing options are available

CONS

1.slow performance 2.It is not connected to timesheet

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2019

Great Web-Based Issue Tracking Tool

Our team members have used for creating the bug and Tracking the Issues to avoid the duplicate effort and to find the list of bugs in the Sprint. It supports the advanced search capabilities to search specific bug.

PROS

Bugzilla one of the great features is avoiding duplicate bug detection & Bug list in multiple formats. whenever the user has created the bug it will send the email notification to who all working on the same project to avoid the duplicate effort.

CONS

User Interface needs to be more robust and user-friendly.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT