All CardBoard Reviews

1-25 of 170 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Tahmineh

Verified reviewer

Biotechnology, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2019

Good if you have a team that work from different places

I did enjoy using this platform. It has been helping our team to plan i the real time and it has been really easy for me because a lot of our directors work from home and my boss travels a lot. We also need to present and see presentation from other companies all around the world which has been done easily with CardBoard

PROS

What I really like about it is ti's simplicity. It helps you to map out your projects and share it conveniently by easily changing the theme and looks.

CONS

Some Functionality can be improved. It totally worked for our needs but some people may find it too simple for complicated projects.

Vendor Response

Thank you Tahmineh for the review!

Replied October 2019

User Profile

Anna

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Like digital post-its

PROS

- Allows you to keep your story map and edit it ongoing, unlike having it on the wall where it often has to come down and all you have left is a photo - Great for distributed teams

CONS

- The lmitations are only those of doing anything on a screen, you can't step back and see the bigger picture

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

A great product if it's the only thing you were using.

I was attempting to bootstrap some existing teams so that they could start doing more end to end thinking about their products as we were designing and building them.

PROS

I liked that it was very easy to use. Almost everything was very click and drag, which made it really easy to onboard new users who were new to story mapping. I also really appreciated that it let me share a story map across multiple locations. I work with teams in SF and Seattle. A physical board is a nice idea but just not possible with the way that we are distributed.

CONS

I had some challenges with user management. I work in a large enterprise so adding users individually was a bit of a pain and it was challenge to move users from regular viewer to user or admin roles on multiple boards. I also found that bulk moves of cards was difficult. If I wanted to pick up several cards and put them between two existing rows that wasn't really possible without spending 8 or 10 minutes rearranging the other cards around it to keep the map coherent. Also our org runs on-prem JIRA and I had no way to connect JIRA and confluence together, which made it nearly impossible to keep the two in sync. This is ultimately why I stopped using the product.

User Profile

Sean

Verified reviewer

Entertainment, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2018

Functional But Not Robust

It was functional, but it felt like there were too many obstacles in the way to be an efficient replacement for index cards and a camera. I can see it being useful for other teams but not for ours.

PROS

The learning curve was short, so picking up CardBoard and using it was fast. Creating cards and laying them out was easy.

CONS

The cards, as displayed, were much too small. In order to even include all of the information that a User Story requires for one side of the card much of the text was hidden. The back was always hidden. The grid layout was much too rigid, I had hoped for the ability to overlap cards. If these features were present they were not obvious. Laying out cards initially was easy, but the UI resisted efforts to move cards very far (especially using a touch interface). If I needed to move a card to a different part of the board it was almost easier to delete and recreate it than move it.

User Profile

Animesh

Verified reviewer

Insurance, 10,000+ employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Story map layout !

Cardboardit was my favourite online post it notes but then I found Mural :) . It gave me much more than cardboardit. But that said , cardboardit was there when Mural wasn’t and pioneered the way !

PROS

The one thing I really love is the fact that I could map out anything I want ! Any flow and which way. The multiple colours definitely help In segregating . I’ve used it as a Kanban board , for story mapping and even for roadmapping to an extent . Multi talented

CONS

Lack of templates is something that bugs me at times. With a tool like cardboardit people could cod what not and use it for what not . I think it’s capable of much more.

User Profile

Gerry

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2018

Ok but needs work, especially with integrations (previous version)

PROS

Easy to create cards, add details There are few user story map tools out there, this is one of the better ones

CONS

Jira integration is awful, mostly didn't work, and can only have two colors of cards.

User Profile

Doug

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2018

Numerous features make CardBoard a viable tool for User Story Mapping

We used CardBoard for traditional Story Mapping exercises when building an initial product backlog as part of user story workshops. The need for this tool diminished as teams fell into a more regular backlog refinement meeting cadence. For initially decomposing epics/features into user stories this was a decent virtual tool for remote team participants. For co-located teams we find more tactical physical story mapping with sticky notes to be far more engaging.

PROS

Numerous features to support multiple 'thinking-styles' when capturing the user story journey (colors, annotations, grid design, etc.). The integration with VersionOne was a key element for us when using any digital story mapping tool.

CONS

Encountered a few bugs or hiccups when collaborating with remote participants.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review!

Replied October 2018

User Profile

Taddes

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

CardBoard - An easy to use and efficient mockup software!

Overall, I had a great experience using CardBoard and will continue to use it in the future.

PROS

I felt that the program was very easy to use and intuitive. It was easy to create complex mockups in a short amount of time. There were many customization elements that helped accent certain parts of the design and make it easy to understand layout

CONS

Not really any cons, but I think adding some additional features in terms of custom geometric shapes, lines and text would be great. That said, it's not necessarily needed when dealing with simple mock up drawings.

User Profile

Matt

Verified reviewer

Design, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Great Software!!! Super useful just not sure if it's worth the money

I use Cardboard for my UX process. It helps me clarify ideas and create workflows. It helps me solve problems for my users at work and is beneficial because of that

PROS

I liked how it helped me spell out my user story maps and user flows without having to buy a huge whiteboard. It saved me space and time because of these reasons. I like the ease of use and how intuitive the software was.

CONS

The pricing, I wasn't sure I would use it enough to make it worth the cost. If there was a unlimited free version that would give me one or two boards a month that would be nice.

User Profile

Luis Humberto

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Great Application

It has been great... I've created the story maps for the epics that my team is working on (I'm the Product Owner) and it was awesome that they were able to understand the roles and everything.

PROS

Very easy to use by adding the "post it" notes and moving them around.

CONS

The shortcuts are not "windows" standards, so it takes some time to get use to them. Also, the limited "configuration" about its integration to JIRA. it might work great for some users, but does not work for story maps.

Kevin

Hospitality, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

An elegant, focused piece of software

We use CardBoard for release-slicing and roadmapping, as well as for the overall purpose of user story mapping. It plays well with others and is easy to use. Software that is this well-done is extremely hard to find these days. I highly recommend this software.

PROS

Web-based, so it's everywhere you need it to be.

CONS

I would like a project-based pricing model, rather than a community one. Sometimes what I need is one board for a group of people who will never work together again.

Bud

Transportation/Trucking/Railroad, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Cardboardit Works

I've been using it for years. It was probably one of the first electronic story board mapping tools available. It now has a different UI with added bells and whistles. I don't necessarily need them all, but it's nice to see that it's being improved.

PROS

It's great to have a way to keep your sticky notes in an electronic format versus on a wall falling off after a few weeks. We use it to create simple story boards for multiple use cases and can share with distributed teams.

CONS

The copy paste functionality is horrible. Previously, you could copy a series of cards and then paste to quickly create different use cases/jouneys in the same board. It would create a copy directly over your original layouts. You could then move the duplicates where ever you wanted and quickly update. Now, when you paste, it shifts everything down and I have to spend 10 minutes shifting individual cards back up. That's my only main problem with the tool.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review!

Replied October 2018

Jason

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

simple and fast

I've used this to do live training on storymaps and it's flawless. In a world of bloated tools, this is a gem!

PROS

It's simple and fast. Very easy to create story maps, journeys, and it's easy to slice the map into different chunks.

CONS

I suppose if I had to nitpick, a 'collapse' option for 'epics' would be handy, especially when you get into huge storymaps...although that would take away the free-flowing nature of the interface.

Daniel

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Cardboard is a great tool

I have found using the tool has been unrivaled when doing things like card mapping. I have also found it useful to use during retrospectives.

PROS

I enjoy how easy it is to use. The dev team has integrated great features over the years.

CONS

While a lot of the features are great. There are times I wish it just remained a simple light weight tool.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Love it

I love it.

PROS

This is very easy to use. I enjoy the interface but there are some small hurdles getting set up. Nothing that would slow you down.

CONS

The initial setup of the board is a little tough. It would be nice if there were more templates which showed different ways to use the software after picking a theme or something.

Dhayashini

Banking, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2018

Review from Dhaya (LendKey)

It's been great so far! Love all the recent changes that were made too.

PROS

Ease of use! It's very easy to create digital story maps. We use story maps for all our projects.

CONS

- There's no ability to create folders. Since we create many story boards across the organization, there's no way to organize.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

CardBoard Review

I tested a few story mapping tools and CardBoard came out on top in my tests. Just need to get budget approval now and I'll be able to start using it.

PROS

I really like the UI and the ease with which cards can be created and moved around - two of the most important things in story mapping. I wasn't able to convince my Jira admin to set up the integration but from the videos I saw it looks to do exactly what I'm looking for.

CONS

I didn't like trying to rearrange all of the cards when one card in a column pushed out a bunch of others. There was a lot of multi-select drag and dropping of all other cards to fill the extra column rather than it disappearing once empty.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review! Let us know if there are any steps we can take to assist you in the approval process!

Replied October 2018

Ruchir

Human Resources, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

Cardboard use at ADP

Great experience. Some improvement needed. Also, it would be great if it can offer integration with Rally and other product management tools.

PROS

Gives product managers a great tool to create and manage product maps quickly and seemlessly.

CONS

Creating a new map or a thread is a bit cumbersome, especially when swimlanes and columns have to be inserted or removed.

Jams

Education Management, 10,000+ employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2018

Integration with JIRA does not work in the long term

Dissappointing. The lack of a sync we can use makes it only marginally better than powerpoint or visio.

PROS

The ability to document system requirements and share them with remote teams and stakeholders.

CONS

the integration with JIRA is two way and syncs ALL cards. We have systems that have been live for several y ears and have tens of thousands of stories. We can't use the sync. It would be great if we could use CardBoard to document a new epic and then import them into JIRA without maintaining the link or having a two-way sync.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used monthly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

It's a great software to mapout your epics and big initiatives so as to have a full picture

It helps to collaborate across teams in multiple geographies easily and efficiently.

PROS

Its easy to use and provide a virtual story board to collaborate easily and efficiently across locations. It also helps to ensure important use cases are not missed. Provides an easy way to export and share it too.

CONS

The integrations with other product managers's products where individual stories from the story board can be exported and detailed user stories can be created for engineering is lacking or not easy

LoriAnne

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY