All Coda Reviews

1-25 of 93 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Emily

11 - 50 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed May 2021

Coda is the best!

User Profile

Miguel

Verified reviewer

Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Coda is the ultimate Team unifier

PROS

Before Coda, we used to have several different programs and databases to keep track of our day to day work. Coda has become the one-stop-shop for most things we do that don't require higher processing capabilities (statistics, image analysis, etc.). I really like how several of us can be on a certain document at one time (similar to the Google docs functionality) and all of us can collaborate in real time without having to jump from one application to another.

CONS

We have a lot of data in Coda and I really wished there was a statistical analysis option for our tables and charts. When I say stats, I don't mean high order stats (such as Chi-square tests, T-tests, etc.) but averages and counts based on specific criteria and so forth. Also, though once you know the program it's a breeze to work with, a Doc Maker needs to spend a lot of time familiarizing him/her/themself with the abundance of features Coda has to offer and its language.

Reasons for switching to Coda

We switched over from several programs (Excel, Google Docs, and Excel-like databases) to Coda as the latter was able to give all the functionalities (for the most part) the former programs have individually, in one place.

Blaise

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Unlimited power and agility for 0 to 12$/m/team

Amazing, game changer for the business efficiency, speed, agility.

PROS

Unbelievably powerful, you can build all the most advanced CRM / ERP / project management tools and features you can imagine in a few hours, integrate with the whole universe, and make your ops people (sales,...) save time and be happy. Plus it comes with a Google doc killer that will reshape how efficiently your team works in asynchronous docs, it's game changer.

CONS

People who are not really at ease with Google sheets / zapier can't build as advanced workflows, but it's okay.

Reason for choosing Coda

10 000x more powerful

Reasons for switching to Coda

Notion is beautiful, but is 10000 times less powerful. When you try it for the first time it feels like the future, after Coda it feels like stone age.

Giles

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2020

Slows down over time

Ok... but then it just slowed down and became unusable. We need to get critical company info out of heads and recorded fast. Loading up Coda was slow and they messed with the structure of docs too much to the point where we lost track of what went were. It was simple at first then it became docs, folders, sections, child sections. It feels like they're just bloating it with features now.

PROS

The flexibility to set things up how you want is great but that also comes with down sides after a while. The data table functionality works ok.

CONS

Speed and performance really suffers with time, to the point where it takes 10 seconds plus to open our main doc. Support tried to help but couldn't really do anything to improve it. It's also very easy to accidentally share your entire doc and make it public without realising. I wouldn't keep confidential information in there anymore because of that.

Reason for choosing Coda

Flexibility to get it to work with our own internal development processes.

Reasons for switching to Coda

We thought it would give us more flexibility and power.

Dariusz

Computer Software, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Low-code at its best!

PROS

There's a lot that you can do using just the free version. Paid plans provide useful additions. After spending a little time with the documentation, you can build amazing things.

CONS

The learning curve is a little steep. I have experience with database software and I feel it put me at a disadvantage as I had to let go of some old habits. Some parts of Coda are reminiscent of a classic database while others force you to think a little bit differently.

Reason for choosing Coda

I think one can create a much more diverse project using Coda. Coda's flexibility and ease of automation made me choose it but I have to say i like Notion's visual side a little bit better.

Reasons for switching to Coda

Coda is much more flexible and provides the basic feature set available in Trello.

Daniel

Education Management, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

A couple of weeks and you'll be in love with Coda

2 weeks are all it takes for you to fall in love with Coda. Starting is not the smoothest process, but the power and flexibility it gives us make it totally worth it. The free tier is more than enough for most solo users. Managers will simply want to get the team plan because it is the one app you'll need to put it all together.

PROS

Coda is extremely powerfull. I love the hability to centralize in one document all the data my team uses.

CONS

The one feature that needs urgently to be deployed/improved is the 2-way sync of lookups, but for same table and different tables lookups.

Reason for choosing Coda

Coda is getting better and better at a fast pace. For now, it is the app that has more features per dollar.

Reasons for switching to Coda

Notion is an excellent product, but is way too limited in terms of buttons, connections, integrations, automations.

Steven

Consumer Goods, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Awesome building ground for digital transformation in an SMB

We’ve basically integrated all the customer orders from our contact center with our production and logistics team from a single doc. It’s so versatile. Each week we find more and better ways to build it even further

PROS

The possibilities of use are infinite and even with this, they keep improving and launching new functionalities and improvements every week. It’s amazing how tight the community around Coda is and how much they listen to feedback

CONS

The only con is a limit in their API that has given me some trouble when integrating docs to other apps through Zapier. Once they get to big (too many rows and elements) the API starts failing. Ut’s easy to solve with a netter architecture of the doc and backup automations

Reasons for switching to Coda

Much more powerful and integrated with other apps

Caio

Computer Software, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

Coda is amazing for many things, specially organizing content and making your tasks organized.

PROS

Since I started using coda I was able to organize my tasks and content in a better way, it replaced old document tools and now I have much more flexibility to work with data at work and also for personal stuff.

CONS

Some of the features could be simpler to use, sometimes is a bit complicated to use more advanced features with custom integrations and more complex widgets.

Reasons for switching to Coda

Coda is very superior in terms of organizing documents and tasks than the Google or Office suite.

Sam

Luxury Goods & Jewelry, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Super flexible

PROS

Ability to have your ticket management / to-do list tracking like Trello in the same place as your wiki / knowledge hub

CONS

Sometime a little too technical and messy for end users. e.g. tables not having an out of the box search feature, and the workaround of using another table to act as the search box not being very clean.

Reason for choosing Coda

More features. Their team is also executing really well, continually adding new key features.

User Profile

Matt

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Very cool features, but some bumps along the way

I use Coda for individual notes on smaller projects (block limits prevent me using it for longer ones), giving me a single spot to find my notes from meetings, workshops and creative outputs and organise my thinking far better than I could in our G Suite setup. I also love Coda for user interviews and research, helping my to create views of an interview script for each session, but then to be able to review all the sessions side by side, have the videos embedded etc. Most limitations come from an inability to fully adopt it in my own work enough to justify paying for an account - a lot of my personal use moved to Notion when the introduced pricing strategy killed half of my live documents, and it's just not powerful or reliable enough for me to be able to make a push for it as a team-wide tool yet. This isn't a concern for future users, but the "This doc is too big and will become read only in 14 days" approach to implementing their initially very convoluted pricing strategy was a real pain point and burned a lot of my goodwill. I don't expect them to pivot that dramatically again (from "A doc as powerful as an app" to "A doc for teams"), but that pivot has made me very wary about recommending it to friends and colleagues in case it happens again and half their work gets frozen in a format that's very tough to extract efficiently.

PROS

Coda is, first and foremost, very impressive. It does a lot, especially through their Packs, that can make Coda docs meaningful hubs for projects whether personal or professional. If you can get the buy in from your team or company to make the swap, giving people the tools to create useful tools for themselves is fantastic. The pace of development compared to others in the space (looking at you, Notion) is also very impressive and it feels like almost every other week there's some new feature that I can actually make use of with Coda.

CONS

The main drawbacks for me are the pricing model, especially for individual use, and the maths functions. Pricing: It's very tough to use as e.g. a personal planner with the free product, and it isn't dramatically better at those functions with the paid product than something like Notion. Particularly after Notion made the majority of personal plan free it's just very hard to recommend Coda for individuals unless you have a very specific need for some of their features, as the document size limits can feel very arbitrary, blocking out usage for a lot of hobby users. Maths/Spreadsheet style functions: While a lot exists, and the idea of focusing on column references rather than cell references initially feels nice, in reality it only makes explaining what a formula is doing once it works easier - getting that formula to work is very tough. Documentation is pretty patchwork around maths functions and sometimes you just want to be able to jot some quick table calculations down that might not suit "Rows as distinct entries" style tables, but everything in Coda is set up to deal with continuous and repeated equations within an entry, which is very tough to deal with.

User Profile

Thibault

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Awesome product!

We use coda as a data hub to let the entire team understand where we are and what we are doing. It helped a lot having everyone on the same page.

PROS

I love how it is easy to manage data thanks to view. Very easy to link with external data source. Our entire team processes are now managed with Coda.

CONS

It lacks of export features for graphs.

Reason for choosing Coda

More flexible and better user experience.

Marc

Consumer Goods, 1 employee

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Could be a great product, but Not the best for me

Beyond utilizing the initial document/app I was provided, I found my experience frustrating at best. It’s not Coda’s fault, this product could be perfectly ideal for someone with the right skills, that’s just simply not me.

PROS

The idea of building up an ‘app’ to be exactly what I need functionality-wise, and based off of an all-encompassing spread sheet was very appealing. I would have access to all the info I needed on desktop and mobile.

CONS

Building it out to be what I needed required an ability to code the document in every way, and that’s just not something I’m knowledgeable enough for. Nor do I have the time to figure it out. Even once I did finally build out features, I would easily delete them accidentally. That said, I got some help early on to get everything set up correctly, but again, without knowing how to do it myself, I couldn’t maintain or expand on what I was provided.

Reason for choosing Coda

I was hoping to expand upon my existing Excel document to make the data more accessible (mobile) and more revealing (reports).

Mohamed

Telecommunications, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

Amazing Experience

The whole thing is amazing when it comes to using Coda with all available features, I'm using a lot of things because of my job duties, I create documents with new processes, update the current documents and communicate with the team, and manage the requested tasks for myself and my team and also use Coda on any device makes it a lot easier for the user.

PROS

It is the easiest way to create or update a process workflow and keep track of tasks, also has very a smooth clear view of the tasks dashboard with due dates and who requested the tasks with the task status and the due date.Managing the daily tasks of the team is a great feature as well.

CONS

Sometimes, especially when using low internet speed connections the pages take so much time to load and this might some issues for the users, I recommend creating a special view "lowered web version" for such internet speed.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2022

Want to Code but don't have the skills?

Coda is quite like Notion and one of the challenges is that it's not a household name and people might wonder why they should take the time. I think if you want to learn a tool that will put you ahead of the game in terms of skills competencies, learning Coda and Notion would be a game changerf. The automation features alone are a really valuable skill to learn.

PROS

If you are technical but can't code, this is your super power. It will allow you to build your own applications and customise enterprise systems that work for your organisation. It integrates with a tone of other applications like Google Calendar and zoom.

CONS

It was extremely obivious where the getting started tutorials were. It took quite a while to learn but is actually worth taking the time. I think if someone is looking for an out of the box solution this is not it. However it's worth it to educate yourself on how to use it as the automations and template will claw back that time for you when you get to grips with it.

Reason for choosing Coda

I use both.

Josh

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

I love Coda

I have been using Coda since quite early days in their beta. While it was already showing a lot of promise in the early days, it has completely blossomed and matured since and I now use it daily and have had it implemented for different purposes in two organisations. Highly recommend.

PROS

Vast flexibility and fast performance. Exceptional feature rollout speed.

CONS

Many of the things that have been pain points in the past have since been resolved, with continous new features and a very communicative team. There are still some key missing features such as code syntax highlighting and true markdown support. The pricing can also be either very good value, or rather expensive, depending on how you intend to use it.

User Profile

Katie

Verified reviewer

Events Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2020

Useful product for our internal knowledgebase

Coda is a well-designed platform that has allowed us to centralize all departments into one spot for documentation. Coda has strong support docs and videos that has helped us transition smoothly and continue to learn about new features and ways to use the product better. The new product emails they send out every so often are so informative!

PROS

Coda is a robust software that has helped our company centralize all our internal documents. The platform is quite user friendly, allowing us to really expand the product features to meet our needs as an organization. The support and help documents are quite impressive, we used it to train our entire staff on how to efficiently use the product. They have been responsive to feature requests, and the product has definitely improved in our time using it.

CONS

I still find random bugs quite often that aren't debilitating in completing my work, usually just a nuisance that will slow productivity.

Alessandro

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Best do-it-all software for startups

Excellent

PROS

Coda is our go to software for the management of our daily activities, storage of relevant information and setting up tasks.

CONS

The software is pretty straight forward but still requires some learning as compared to something like Google Drive.

Reason for choosing Coda

Better features, more responsive development team

Reasons for switching to Coda

Coda's functionalities suit us better

User Profile

April

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed October 2022

Coda my love!

50-50, I used to have a love-hate relationship with it, but now our Business Systems Engineer is showing me the good side of Coda.

PROS

How easy it is to customise Coda docs based on the needs of the People & Culture Team! Super love it!

CONS

Formats need to be easily customisable as well, if possible. Like we're currently using Coda to automate our People & Culture ops, and if it is possible to customise formats in the forms as well. Thank you Coda!

David

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: