All eXo Platform Reviews

1-25 of 102 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Alex

Verified reviewer

Military

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

Great way to interconnect. Very well put together.

I am able to save time at work

PROS

Love the UI. Big number of add-ons and features. Very reliable. It was very easy to use once I got the hang of it. A little intimidating at first but doesn't take long to get used to.

Junior

Verified reviewer

1,001-5,000 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed December 2014

Everything you need for building a social network niche in on place

I have been worked on a personal project where I intend to create a niche of social network. I looked for frameworks available on the market that could provide a complete infrastructure to run out my business and I found it at eXo. EXO plataform provides all basic features for developing a niche of social network, such as authentication, active streams and others features you can imagine for a social network. Particulary, one of the reasons I have decided by using of eXo is because it is written in Java, basically ( JSP - you can extend to JSF, Juzu ...) and works over portlets, i.e., you can built modules and apply them over your portal. If you are looking for a framework for build a social network I strongly recomends you at least do a trial with eXo before going deep into your project.

PROS

- Documentation; - Active community, I've got answers for all questions I've done at eXo forum; - Customizable portal; - You don't need touch any line of code to launch a social network;

CONS

- Server is too slow during start up, I believe that is due to the amount the packages that it have to load; - No so flexible for extracting data from database. EXO uses JCR (Java Common Repository), i.e., you will need to use an API to extract data

Vendor Response

Thank you for the detailed review! Your feedback is very much appreciated. Let us know on eXo Community when you project is live and make sure to connect with us if you have further questions but it looks like you are already an active forum user :)

Replied December 2014

User Profile

Ashleigh

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

Marvelous software for all sorts of Collaboration.

PROS

Exo Platform is an outstanding software that provides an excellent platform for collaborating for our projects. It consists of powerful and effective tool that helps a lot in our business. It comprises of perfect features and functionality is fantastic. This software gives best solutions for communication problems and provides good opportunity for easier and effective cooperation among the co-workers.

CONS

In the beginning, when we start working on Exo Platform, it service is quite slow. Another issue is that when one wants to extract data from data base, it is not that much flexible. In order to start video conference, it takes long time to understand the issues.

Russ

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed January 2015

Awesome!

I am a huge fan of eXo Platform. The software is the easiest to install and use, from the install/admin side, as well as fluid from the user's perspective. Many of my staff where this has been implemented have an aversion to computers, but they were able to pick up interacting with eXo easily. I would recommend this to anyone who manages an intranet or needs a collaboration suite.

PROS

Easy to use, easy to install

CONS

Plugins/add-ons are limited and can be confusing.

Fabio

Verified reviewer

51-200 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed December 2014

Amazing Social Platform

Very well integrated social collaboration software. Easy to connect with people and contribute information. Platform is feature rich with wikis, social networking, content management and much more.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your posting of this review and for trying out eXo. looking forward to connect with you on our community site!

Replied December 2014

User Profile

Fernando

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2017

great

Collaboration Exchange of information between teams Information for new collaborators Decentralisation of vital data

PROS

Great solution to collaborate, network, and share documents & knowledge with your team thanks to powerful tools such as wikis, dms, forum,

CONS

A little difficult to understand the link between some elements of the pages and some features are not fully functioning.

Kushal

Verified reviewer

5,001-10,000 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed February 2015

Wondefull platform

We started with eXo Cloud, but after a while we needed some customization so we upgraded to the on premise edition. eXo team has been wonderful!

PROS

It awesome. I use this

CONS

Good features and usefull for all.

Òscar

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed November 2014

Your open source enterprise social network

This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity. 2. Document Management Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories. 3. Knowledge Management Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ 4.- Profile Management It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile. 5.- Groups Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles 6.- Search eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base. 7. Add-ons Marketplace Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc. 8.- Mobile Native iOS and Android app. The Cons: We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification). Anyway, It's open sourced so you can extend it easly!

Vendor Response

Hi Oscar, Amazing to read so much details in your review, thank you very much! About gamification, it's a topic we are currently working on so we would love to get your feedback and ideas on eXo community website. Feel free to use the request feature section or open a topic in the discussions forums. Cheers, The eXo Team

Replied December 2014

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2018

A digital collaboration software that builds a social niche

PROS

This platform’s got everything our team needs to build a collaboration and social network niche which can be implemented throughout the enterprise including active streams, authentication, and other features. And this is done without doing a single line of code. The interface portal is very convenient for promoting these functions to all teams and employees an is highly customizable.

CONS

It would great if they started rolling out more tutorials and training programs that could have helped us to understand how easy it was to perform certain functions. The program is easy to use, but customers do appreciate a little hand-holding especially at the start.

Anonymous

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2017

eXo Platform is the best intranet solution: besides all basic features to collaborate and connect.

PROS

eXo Platform is the best intranet solution: besides all basic features to collaborate and connect with your colleagues, you can organize and customize your own dashboard, choose existing gadget and add external one: essential when you need an overwall view of your work and colleagues activity!

Lan

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed February 2015

An interesting and useful platform

In my point of view, eXo is a great solution for both social and portal service demand based on its various features. I must say that it just likes a combination of everything from intranet, social network to blog, wiki,... everything in one. Therefore, with eXo, maybe I dont have to think of any other website since it has covered all what I want and all what I need. However, yes, everything has two sides, perhaps due to such a rich diversity, its processing speed gets troubles and makes people feel uncomfortable when using. I thought that, eXo now should focus more on refactoring its platform so that it can serve customers better. Having many functions is not yet good, but a quick response at least never causes people get mad.

Jean

Information Technology and Services

Used less than 12 months

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2016

Replacing many with a single solution

PROS

The software allows me to replace many solutions with a single integrated nice platform. I like the openness of the vendor is one of the biggest positive point for the choice I've made.

CONS

So far the product has been perfect for my needs, and we're able to replace not only the social network platform, but file archival and search mechanisms.

Hideki

Computer Software

Used less than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2016

Comprehensive tool!

PROS

Comprehensive functionality for the enterprise social tool.

CONS

eXo is a company with creativity and very friendly.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed January 2015

Broad features

eXo offers a great number of features out of the box. The user interface is well designed. It's easy to know what tasks are available under each section. Learning the system and interface is simple process. The "Tribe Pulse" section does an excellent job displaying popular content and other analytic data. This is perfect for checking up on the adoption rate of your intranet.

Vendor Response

Thank you for the detailed review! Your feedback is very much appreciated.

Replied January 2015

Russ

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed January 2015

Amazing

I am a huge fan of eXo Platform. The software is the easiest to install and use, from the install/admin side, as well as fluid from the user's perspective. Many of my staff where this has been implemented have an aversion to computers, but they were able to pick up interacting with eXo easily. I would recommend this to anyone who manages an intranet or needs a collaboration suite.

Dietmar

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed January 2015

Enterprise social media at its best

eXo is a combination of chat, wiki, document store and other powerful solutions. eXo helps to keep in touch with your team and collegues all over the world. Great UI Implementation.

PROS

Open source. Rich collaboration features.

CONS

-

Devang

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2018

Nice Tool

PROS

A good open source alternative for collaboration, members can use it network and do project management

CONS

it's costly and heavy to load, I tried the open source version on my local server and due to the tools used in development it loaded slowly. Also doing any customization is a pain

Daniel

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed January 2015

The best so far

I have been using for company issues, and it has improved greatly our hability to solve problems and comunication!

PROS

Simple use, simple integration and beautiful looking.

Alfredo

Verified reviewer

11-50 employees

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed January 2015

Great Social network Plataform

A great plataform easy and intuitive.

PROS

Easy for upload documents, chats and very intuitive.

CONS

Sometimes slowly, but a fast internet solve this.

Suchita

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

Reviewed January 2015

eXo review

eXo Platform is very useful and handy site. Its the best web collaboration software. Its very easy to chat and do video calls on eXo platform.

Marco Marcello

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed September 2015

Evaluating alternatives

eXo Platform is really a userfriendly software, you only need a few hours to be familiarized with the different tools. I warmly recommend it for your organization!

PROS

Very Intuitive Good Look and feel Very complete integrated communications platform

CONS

I´d want to see more interactions, integrations, with things like CRM, HRMS, ...

Paolo

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2019

My pros and cons for e

I've been working with eXo platform for over a year and a half. I've been discovering its features, its qualities and the points to be improved in order to create a custom portal with customizations. Mostly, I consider it as a very good social platform, with a lot of ready-to-use modules and features, like chat, documents, notifications, web calls. Everything is made up in order to be scaled and configured in different environments and techniques. I enjoyed eXo very much, as I enjoyed its special and very kind team, with whom I still talk on Skype or other instant messages services. Even, the latest updates, version 5, are bringing a lot of features and bug fixing!

PROS

A lot of features, easy to customize and improve. very good social platform, with a lot of ready-to-use modules and features, like chat, documents, notifications, web calls. Everything is made up in order to be scaled and configured in different environments and techniques. very kind team Even, the latest updates, version 5, are bringing a lot of features and bug fixing!

CONS

maybe all the deploying part could be improved, looking for example to other new tools that spend only few seconds in order to deploy or redeploy (modules) the whole app. multitenanting, at least for my experience

Tal

Verified reviewer

Business Supplies and Equipment, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

Fantastic product and innovative collaborative tool

eXo Platform is a relatively new app, that can be helpful for corporation and communication on all different levels. I think, it is best suited for medium to large sized companies, as it has so many functions, most of which is not beneficial for small teams.

PROS

Without a doubt, eXo Platform provides everything you may need to put into action your innovative digital work base or customer experience solution. This app design in a way that it helps you to get real work done, without the platform being the part of the work. Because it is cloud-based, you can easily share any kind of data with your co-workers, which makes collaboration so much easier. If you are looking for a multifunctional social collaboration platform for the enterprise, I suggest you try eXo Platform, as it has an entirely new and sophisticated approach towards collaboration and communication between coworkers.

CONS

This platform is constantly developing, so every week you are faced with different types of updates, which can be annoying. Plus, the app is packed with different functions, some of with you may never use. As a result the interface looks cluttered and not particularly user-friendly. Also, the integration with other applications can be complicated and requires a lot of user experience as well, as blunt luck.

Òscar

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed November 2014

Your open source enterprise social network

This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity. 2. Document Management Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories. 3. Knowledge Management Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ 4.- Profile Management It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile. 5.- Groups Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles 6.- Search eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base. 7. Add-ons Marketplace Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc. 8.- Mobile Native iOS and Android app. The Cons: We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification). Anyway, It's open sourced so you can extend it easly!

Vendor Response

Hi Oscar, Amazing to read so much details in your review, thank you very much! About gamification, it's a topic we are currently working on so we would love to get your feedback and ideas on eXo community website. Feel free to use the request feature section or open a topic in the discussions forums. Cheers, The eXo Team

Replied December 2014

Òscar

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed December 2014

Your open source enterprise social network

This great piece of software build on top of GateIn portal will give you all GateIn features (Content Management, Single Sign-On, LDAP support, etc) and much more. Using eXo Platform we created a secure portal-based site and an intranet that encourages employees in an organization to exchange knowledge, documents, work collaboratively, task management, contact data... All done socially and mobile. Some Features: 1. Microblogging and Activity Streams Activity Stream displays text messages or multimedia content posted by employees , customers, suppliers. It is where you'll find all your company's activity. 2. Document Management Take advantage of version history, rollbacks, votes, comments and more. It lets you store files in a private and secure environment, in other business systems like SharePoint, or in other cloud storage solutions, such as Google Drive or CMIS repositories. 3. Knowledge Management Wikis, Forums, Calendar, Answers & FAQ 4.- Profile Management It's possible to manage and organize all the contacts in your organization in a single directory, together with information on their professional profile. 5.- Groups Create your own collaboration spaces complete with dashboards, discussion forums, wikis, calendars, and documents. Allow any user to create a collaborative space and invite other users to join with different permissions according to roles 6.- Search eXo includes an ElasticSearch based search tool segmented according to the sections and contents in your intranet, indexing other contents published by other systems, making it a federated search tool for your organization's entire knowledge base. 7. Add-ons Marketplace Apart from its native features, you can also integrate eXo with other business applications, productivity tools like BonitaBPM, JasperReports Server, etc. 8.- Mobile Native iOS and Android app. The Cons:

PROS

eXo is an Enterprise Social Network that will improve productivity across the board in all members of the company. It's very feature rich so if you want your organization's knowledge, private, secure and organized then you have to try it!

CONS

We not found any except the lack of a feature found on other enterprise social networks like Yammer (gammification).

Showing 1 - 25 of 102 Reviews