User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(2,530)

2,530

4 stars

(679)

679

3 stars

(46)

46

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "I love that this product is made to help developers. It's very easy to use. Love that it integrates with almost anything in the software space."

  • "The flexibility of the vmb is super handy. Customise the rows, labels/filters, colours, etc. It looks nice, feels nice and works nice!"

  • "It works great! I use this for all my side projects"

  • Cons

  • "main dislike file size is limited data,non programmers can't use full Overall this tool very good"

  • "Overall the software is good, with a lot of features that are needed, but the big downside is that it's proprietary."

  • "Pull request, issues etc. feature could be better. Good command line app"

Browse GitHub Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 3258 results

August 2019

Alex from Esper Creations, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Highly Intuitive GIT Hosting Solution with a Ridiculous Amount of Community Support

Pros

The best part of this software, in my opinion, has to be the repository insights that comes with the pro version and above. These insights have proven to be extremely valuable when managing larger-scale projects with multiple developers working on the projects. Not only is our project management team able to get live updates on the progress of the project with each commit, but our team is also able to hold each other accountable by seeing their progress via the progress tracking feature and individual commits. Another notable mention for Github is their desktop GUI. This is such an incredibly easy tool to use and it makes the entire GIT experience much easier to understand and maneuver.

Cons

The one issue i had with this software is the repo search functionality. This part of the software can be confusing to learn to be effective with and it takes some time to be proficient with, which can be a hassle for some of our newer members of our project management team.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

With Github being the most widely supported of the GIT repo hosting platforms, it was a pretty easy choice to stick with a solution that has a massive community backing it along with all the core functionality that my team needs. With the high amount of third-party integrations, it was almost a no-brainer to stick with this software simply because of ease of use.

January 2021

Larissa from iFood

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

One of the best code management tools

Very nice tool for students and professionals. I use it daily and is very easy to control code versions for a large team.

Pros

By far one of the best platforms to host any type of code. Once you learn how to use it, it allows you to manage code versions very easily, which is very handy for projects with many collaborators. Also, it has a great DevOps pipeline that are customisable. Github has a really nice engaged community for open source codes, encouraging tech discussion and issue solving. Amazing community support! Besides that, an education/student plan is offered, allowing to have private repositories.

Cons

Not very easy to understand and use at first. Also, I've had problems when I wanted to download a single file from a repository, I either had to download the entire project or copy paste the file I wanted, which was not very handy.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Handles builds better and supports customisation for CI/CD.

August 2019

Sarai from Hachette Book Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

A software you don't really have a choice but to use.

I use github for version control at work. Our code goes up to two different sets of reviewers and this all takes place via github.

Pros

Github is really your only choice for version control. There are other platforms out there but Github has cornered the market. It's free, which is a bonus.

Cons

It's pretty difficult to start using. It's not intuitive at all. Many times, I have merge conflicts and when I go to edit them within github, it corrupts my branch. There are a lot of ins and outs and nuances that aren't easily navigated around when utilizing Github. I frequently get errors that have no documentation or support.

February 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

The standard in repo management

We now have a good distributed code repository that is easy to collaborate with.

Pros

Github provides our team with an effective platform to collaborate on code and also gives us additional security insights into our repos with Dependabot. As it's based on Git we also have portability should we wish to move platform. We can enforce MFA across our organisation which is a minimum product requirement for us, and we also have superb role based controls available.

Cons

There was some concern over how Microsoft would handle the Github acquisition when they originally purchased Github but these concerns around privacy didn't actually surface into anything of concern. Unfortunately in the early days some outages also followed but these too seem to be in the past now.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

We were using VSTS DevOps as it was but preferred the Github interface.

June 2020

Michael from Burkson Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Github keeps code safe

Very positive. Yes, there is a learning curve, but it's worth it!

Pros

I love that I can make changes to code within projects, try out new features, and see if they work without compromising the integrity. Complex projects can be managed with ease. Bug reporting for our team is top notch, and we even use GitHub as a company package repository.

Cons

It can be a challenge to learn, but I like challenges. Once we had a software engineer check in a file with a question mark character as part of a filename, which on many platforms isn't possible to restore. It took some research, but we were able to purge the file and carry on.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

At first, just to check it out. Then, we loved it so much, we stuck with it.

September 2020

Emiliano from Gelonos

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

It's one of the first and also one of the best code management tools

I like it very much, I have used it for professional, freelance and code learning projects.

Pros

- World renowned - Easy to use if you know git - It has student/education plans - They now offer free private repositories - Github actions offer a free tier - Github actions have a repository of ready-to-use code snippets

Cons

- The teams and corporate versions can get quite expensive when your team increases - It doesn't have code indexing / search, only "jump to file"

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Github recently added Actions (which competes with Gitlab CI/CD) and private repositories on the free tier

October 2020

András from Corvus Labs Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Pretty much the go to location if it comes to code collaboration

It is almost like breathing, you usually do it without thinking about it but you better not stop doing it, GitHub works similarly most of the days you need it but barely notice it.

Pros

The UI is quite intuitive, the migration from SVN was well automated, the pricing and the free tier is actually fair.

Cons

Handling of the tags could be improved upon, adding/removing/editing them after the fact. GitHub pages should be included in the free version, bunch of projects had to find a new place for their project when it changed.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Decentralized Source Control seemed to be a bit more efficient, and the world headed towards git and github.

February 2021

Arwildo from Sam Ratulangi University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2021

The best choice to store, find and contribute to a project

I use Github to store and manage my project's version control and to host some of my project code so it can be used by the world.

Pros

Github offers so many amazing projects and can be used as a basis for your project. Comes with integration with Git-CLI so you can commit and push a code to Github from your terminal/console.

Cons

From the last review, I complain about the UI that seems old and there is no dark mode, but now they updated their UI and support dark mode, so there's nothing to complain about.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Github has more big repo and supports dark mode.

September 2020

abuzar from 7-Eleven

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Github : social coding tool for very open source supporter and developer

It one of finest services based on tool git , where almost, all the open source project are hosted. One way or other way , if you are doing some kind of programming , you will end up using github service.

Pros

I feature I liked most is the freedom to host as many private repository I want , until the member contributing is 3 or less than 3. For the public repository , there is no restriction and all features are enabled. The basic stats like number of star marked on project , count of the open issue, last commit in the timeline of open source library hosted , give a huge idea , whether library one is considering to be used , should be used or avoided.

Cons

Git has a learning curve. If one is developer , you have to go through this.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

All other alternative product , one can host 2-3 private project, but GitHub provide you option on free tier to host may private project as one like with some restriction.

January 2021

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2021

Great code versioning platform

Pros

Awesome features, safe and robust repository for versioning software source codes. Nice Devops pipelines with Github Actions.

Cons

None to complain. So far the experience has been pretty good.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Great support and the free private repositories option.

October 2020

Ankit from Univibe Network Private Limited

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

Reduced deployment time by a large extent

Overall, I would say that everyone who has a team of developers working on a product and require collaboration should definitely use this product. After the acquisition by Microsoft, I am very hopeful of increasing the developer community globally. For my organization, this has been the best decision that we took close to 6 years back when we started using this and since then we don't have to worry about the deployments to production servers.

Pros

From the day, my team has started using GitHub for pushing code to production environment, we have reduced our deployment times by nearly 65%. I was introduced to the concept of GitHub few years back but was not sure whether the team will be able to work with it or not, so we started on a trial basis for one project and then my team came back to me and asked me if we can use it for all projects in the company. This had really helped us in version control, control over who pushes what to the production and access control

Cons

Limitations on the number of users in a particular project is one of the cons for the product. Also, one needs to have a Git account to get access to the code is according to me another limitation

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Various features offered by the product which provides collaboration, version control, access control etc

October 2020

Naseeb from abgs

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2020

This is everything you need when you're on the track of being developer.

It's been more than 2 years since i started using GitHub. Being a web developer i find it very useful for all the developers around the world and i'd highly recommend to all the upcoming beginners too. This is a great way of sharing, contributing and gaining knowledge. We can get lots of support from other developers too in case of their repositories. Another main thing is that, we can form a team and work together to contribute on Github. Anyone who are willing to start coding or codes can easily create a free account on GitHub and start contributing and playing around with code world. This is everything a developer needs! Overall, my experience is too good and still i've been contributing toward Github on daily basis.

Pros

Due to it's easiness for using, I think this helps to become Github's biggest strengths. It's super reliable, easy to contribute our projects and share among all. It also contains broad set of features and also provides a clean responsive UI for the interaction. Everything's on top regarding it UI. All out repository files are organized easily. Other user's or developers can simply get help from the existing repositories and can leave issues if they face any problems with their code. Here, developers together can contribute single repository which Github helps in keeping track of each by particular author.

Cons

May be conflict management could be more improved. Sometimes searching repositories becomes hard. Search feature is good but not that great. Notification feature is not good, keeps on displaying even if we click on it.[only if the notification is done as instructed, the notification gets removed]. All the projects are Quoted looking upon the maximum number of code used on certain language. [example: i'll be contributing nodejs project then, it doesnot shows the project is in JavaScript language, instead shows HTML] for such case we have to manually fix it all the time.

September 2020

Gabriel from Pier

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Now it's cheaper & of course better than any competitors

Perfect. Simple UI and pricing is great. You can have a full project, with mangament, CI/CD and code all-in-one place.

Pros

Code review is simply AWESOME. - The editor works perfectly - You can suggest changes - You can co-author pull requests - You have the codeowners option - The discussions have clear UI and can be resolved - It's possible to mark a file as read and check changes between commits!! Other than that, it has the great Github Actions and the SLA is awesome.

Cons

- The option for Mac OS on Github Actions are too expensive - There could be a better package for Github Actions to suits a large CI/CD business - You have to spend credits everytime your branch is outdated with master (just a simple fast-forward), so you have to run all the tests again - even though 99% of the time it won't break, since it's just a head fast forward - No default reviewers for repositories :( - Some minor UIs issues

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Pricing and ease of use

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Ease of use and pricing :)

September 2020

Jason from Graphic Design

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

As a designer who codes...

Great. I used GitHub at my work daily and for at home for personal projects. It was set up & integrated well throughout our suite and comms internally. Personally, I have a repo set up for my personal sit and I wouldn’t ever choose another tool to host my code repository and handle deployments to production code.

Pros

GitHub has grown leap & bounds over the past few years. They have always offered really excellent tools for developers that is well built and very stable. More recently GitHub has put a lot of effort in creating a more intuitive user experience that makes it simpler to use for both beginners and experienced users. As a designer who isn’t the best with code and development but still knows how to setup and deploy code with GitHub there updates over recent years have been very helpful in day-to-day. Integrations & security settings are excellent as well.

Cons

Nothing much to say here. GitHub can be a bit overwhelming for a beginner but IMO they have been addressing this and making it much more comfortable to get started using. I’d like to see more of the same in other areas as well. Solving merge conflicts in GitHub was the only time I was ever frustrated with the tool.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

My first Git tool was BitBucket, I was so new to code then. I don’t remember it well enough to comment on the tool. I switched because I was hired at a new company that used GitHub rather than BitBucket.

August 2020

Matthew from Think Bixby Technologies, LLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2020

It's an industry standard tool for reason

Very simple to set up and use, and being an industry standard most onboarding developers and engineering teams already know how to use it.

Pros

Reliable and consistent version control and code collaboration platform. The team management, issue tracking, visibility/privacy control are all top of the line, and of course the underlying "git" hosting is perfect. Introduction of Github Actions only improves the value of the platform.

Cons

I'd like to see more for project management, e.g. ways to better organize issues by priority, themes ("epics") and create scrum, agile and/or kanban influenced views and planning tools. I've heard some folks express concern with Microsoft's acquisition of GitHub, but I don't understand the concern b/c Microsoft has a solid history of operating business-grade tools, and from the date of acquisition we've only seen more-for-your-money price changes.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

I've worked with team using self-hosted git and subversion. For most cases, I would highly prefer a team simply let Github host it. git is a superior vcs system compared to subversion, and Github.com is the best hosting for git.

June 2020

Chris from BloxTech Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Make development less time-consuming, with GitHub, so long you're experienced with it

GitHub helped us to reduce the hassle with bug identifying and is having good analytics to track the activity of our development team, and that's helping the project management. Collaboration is made a lot easier with GitHub, and the best problem we resolved with GitHub is the integration with automated testing and deploying platforms. The changelog can be managed very easily, which is providing benefits to locate code changes.

Pros

GitHub is a great Source Code Management platform for our company. We've been hassling with finding out where a specific bug occurred, and hassled with manually testing code, but with GitHub, we automated a huge part! Since GitHub is a known platform, there are many integrations, which helps us with testing and notifying, and as well finding at what commit a specific issue occurred! Since it provides a good UI, viewing information and reading code is easy to do from the website, and development can be done easily using the CLI or GitHub's GUI. Most CI/CD solutions are supporting GitHub, so deploying from GitHub isn't a hassle!

Cons

GitHub is pretty advanced. We have thought about letting our Customer Service use GitHub for reporting issues and letting them have conversations with engineers, but it ended up with lots of questions, since GitHub's design isn't that simple.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

GitHub is the most stable platform, and our engineers are the most known with GitHub. Compared with GitLab and Bitbucket, GitHub has the most available integrations into other solutions, and has the lowest pricing. This all made us making the decision to rely on GitHub.

June 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Works seamlessly - I've used it for 4+ years as a student!

It's incredibly useful & seamless. Wouldn't use any other product over this.

Pros

It's incredibly easy to set up & use from a Mac. I store all of my projects in GitHub (I used to store them on Google Drive, but Cloud + Version Control is much better!)

Cons

It would be nice to be able to deploy Jupyter Notebooks to a Github Server where they could be interacted with. I suppose this could be done with the .github.io URL's - but a guide on how to do this would be awesome to advertise.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

GitHub was a more commonly used product.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Version control. Being able to store all past iterations of my projects is so helpful.

May 2020

Andrei from JeFawk Games

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Popular and fast version control service but with less features than the competition

I am still currently working with GitHub due to the smooth Heroko and Netlify integrations that saved us a lot of hassle but for any projects which don't benefit from this I use GitLab (which is slower unfortunately). Being such a popular service it was attacked a few times by hackers which lead to some downtime that luckily did not affect our studio.

Pros

GitHub is home to the majority of the web's open source projects. It was one of the first version control services and it aged pretty well. The service's website speed is probably one of the best around when it comes to repository hosting services and this is very important as through the website all the information about projects can be found. There is a lot of searching and navigating to be done within projects so the speed is a big plus. GitHub also has it's own website hosting service called GitHub Pages which allows people to make their own website. This is great if you are the project owner and would like to link additional information within a look that looks less than a wiki page. GitHub comes with a very easy to use desktop application which is used to manage repositories, both from GitHub as well as the competition's services. Being so popular it has a great deal of integrations into other services, the most important one for me perosnally being the Heroku and the Netlify one. Whatever is pushed to the GitHub repo gets built and sent to Heroku and Netlify. saving up valuable time. These integrations are sometimes available for the competition services too but the steps are much steeper. Another thing that GitHub done right was the monthly progress on the main page showing how many changes were made by the user. This helped with giving people an incentive to keep working every day to have the calendar-like frame green at all times (gamification).

Cons

When I started using GitHub a long time ago (~6 years) the services was very limited if you were a free user. The collaborators were limited and the space was very tiny and on top of everything your projects were not private. This is great for open source developers but for me, I could not allow myself to put game projects up for grabs so I mostly used GitHub for small prototypes. Late came the option for free users to have private repositories and after that Microsoft bought GitHub extending the limitations. Unfortunately even with their newest addition to the space of a repository using Large File Storage (LFS), the competition offers more space and a more streamlined workflow for big projects. Also a lot of features are behind a paywall for GitHub while the competition gives them for free, at a cost of slower website speed however.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Best in class, world-known service

Great! I'd choose them again in a heartbeat. They're easy to use, integrate with almost every tool I can think of and have great customer support. The keep delivering new features lately, and I'm excited for what's coming next!

Pros

This is probably the best hosted Git solution out there. GitHub is the de-facto standard platform for hosting OSS projects, which makes a TON of services integrate with it, and therefore a good solution for private repositories as well. Now with GitHub Actions, the GPR and more coming soon, I think it's the best platform around.

Cons

Pricing is _a bit_ pricey, compared to the alternatives such as Bitbucket (less than half the price per user) or GitLab, which provide various pricing tiers, including a free self-hosted one.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Bitbucket is very slow, especially when doing code reviews (Pull Requests), and has lousy integration with other tools.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Best source code management

We use it on a daily basis, we have about 100+ private repositories hosted on this platform. It has nice workflow for devops to keep the source code clean, unit tested and deployable.

Pros

Github requires no introduction. It is the most popular source code management among opensouce and enterprise customers. It has native integration with almost all cloud providers.

Cons

Charge per user. In our case we outsource 70% of our development to outside contractors. Every time we add them into our account, it is considered as additional collaborator and takes away one seat. It will be hard for us to keep monitoring both internal and external developers on our team to keep the cost under control.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Reasons are mentioned in the previous question.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Most of the developers we hired in the past were not familiar with Assembla and hard time convincing them to use it. It was not as popular as GitHub in the developer community.

January 2020

Adrian from Shopify

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

GitHub is essential if you are a developer

Anything I write or code goes into GitHub, if it's a file I put it on Google Drive, if not it goes on GitHub, simple as that. It means I always have a backup, an up to date version, can roll back and share code very easily. Also, we collaborate daily as an organisation on GitHub and it is essential for us to function :)

Pros

It's very easy to use and fast. Previously I was using another version control software which became very slow. GitHub is super fast and much easier to use. I love the project management feature and KanBan cards and also the fact that it integrates with lots of other tools.

Cons

I think finding personal info could be made easier, e.g. all your comments, comments in a certain timeframe, interactions and conversations. I am a programmer and don't mind manually adding in the flags for searching, but feel a much more intuitive interface could be created to make life easier.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

I was previously using Mercurial on BitBucket and the process became so slow and painful I got annoyed and looked for another solution. Since switching Atlassian cam out and said they were dropping Mercurial as it had low usage on their system, however I think they let the experience get so bad for Mercurial users that they must have lost a lot of them to GitHub permanently, there's no reason to switch back :)

December 2019

Dilanka from Jinasena Infotech (PVT) Ltd.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

A universal level source code management system

Implementation was very organized. It was not easy without proper guidance, but the instructions were generally available over the community and problem solving was also very smooth. Availability over a number of platforms made the choice more strongly recognized. Developers/Programmers could easily adapt to use GitHub as the only version control and source code managing platform with no time.

Pros

The important features available to manage the source code within the Application Development IDE itself made the work more efficient and convenient. GitHub was efficient enough to link the entire platform-based solutions right within the IDE, so the version management, source code control including comments and documentation was made the productivity increased rapidly within the organization.

Cons

The free and generally available version did not secure the source code managed over the platform by allowing users to create private repositories, which is not available in public. However, the paid version managed to provide that facility but it could have been better if the free version at least provides a limited number (at least one) private repository available.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

General availability and a free offering made the choice more strong since the organization was not ready to budget a version management system at first glance.

November 2019

Jonathan from Entertainment

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Best git hosting

Very good for hosting private and public repos. The addition of free private repos is a huge plus!

Pros

Very easy to host a repository and to fork other repositories. It is easy to search other repositories.

Cons

None that I found. My only request would be to be easier to download single files without having to view the file first. If there were checkboxes and a download option that would be great.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I was so happy with GitHub I hadn't looked closely at the most comparable option, GitLab, which requires me to learn a new interface and functionality.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Github has a much better repo interface than Bitbucket in my opinion.

September 2019

Sven from whisp GmbH

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

The #1 code hosting solution

We have been using it for code hosting for both private and public projects for several years, issue tracking etc not so much (mainly because the tracker is quite basic). As GitHub is using git underlying it can be accessed via any git compatible client out in the wild - so there are tons of ways to choose from suiting every developers needs. Github provides many hooks for third party tools, so pushes can trigger all sorts of things like CI builds or posts in your company Slack. Automation and integration is dead simple and super flexible. The company itself is really developer friendly, and you can sense that they are using GitHub themselves. Hosting of open source projects is free and their support and documentation are very helpful. Availability is high - one of the most important reasons when choosing a code hosting service.

Pros

- high availability - built-in code review, wiki, issue tracker, artifact hosting (private beta) - great third-party tool integration - automate everything - uses git - developer friendly company - free for open source projects - mature

Cons

- issue tracker could be more sophisticated - new features could be developed more rapidly (although this has improved recently) - native apps are not up-to-par with competitors, but luckily there are many free alternatives - was bought by Microsoft, I personally would have liked to see them stay independent

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

We've briefly tried out bitbucket and gitlab, but quickly returned to github for it's maturity and high availability. And it seems nowadays every developer is on github so collaboration on open source projects is very easy.

September 2019

Ankush from Zendesk

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Github Review

I use it almost every hour every day and so far I'm glad I've switched from bitbucket to this.

Pros

Usage is well documented like cloning repository using ssh, create a branch, create a repository, etc. Reviewing PR interface is great. You've option to mark the files you've reviewed which is really helpful for gigantic pull requests. Easy integration with IDE like Intellij/Eclipse and you can push your changes directly from the IDEs. Features like squash/merge from UI are really great and saves a lot of time. Jira integration of pull requests is awesome.

Cons

Very limited private repositories for free users, it should give an option like this number of lines of code for the private repository as a limit rather than not providing or limited private repositories. It sometime might get complicated for new users while working on same codebase at the same time like stuck between merge conflicts, rebase issues etc.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

No doubt bitbucket is more flexible (more private repositories for free, cheap) than github but GitHub offers way more features and support for around 150+ programming languages, android/mac/windows client version, better User interface, great documentation which makes you learn things fast.

August 2019

Youness from Insum Consulting

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Feedback about Github & Comparison with Gitlab

A great software ! Very useful, necessary, and i have been using it in our organization for many years, even that we are using Gitlab for most of our projects.

Pros

Very sofisticated, today it gives us more freedom and we are able to use private repositories. Github is the reference of version controls, and we are using it every day ( in our organization, and as well with a couple of open source products ).

Cons

Sometimes it's confusing, I love the simplicity of Gitlab, but it's not really a full comparison, both softwares have their own pros and cons. But i find that Github is sometimes confusing, and the options and how to do simple things are hidden.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I didn't, still i love to use a self hosted version of Gitlab. But since Github is more powerful than Bitbucket ( in all sides, especially when Github gave us the possibility to create private repositories .

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

When github gave the possibility and more flexibility of creating private repositories, i then didn't found any advantage of using Bitbucket, and i switched to Github.

July 2019

Trabelsi from Lds

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Best version control system

We have switched to GitHub enterprise and we realized how it was become easy to browse repository, share and contribute to projects things that wasn’t possible before.

Pros

As a web developer GitHub is built to work perfectly with web projects.it has a lot of features: It’s easy to setup project and add contributors to it. PR system is very complete and it’s easy to follow and request changes from contributors, you can also integrate third party tools to enhance the pull request validation mechanism. GitHub pages make your life easier to deploy your application (mostly the app documentation) by just creating a doc folder in the repo without any extra server setup. These are the features that l’m using daily but GitHub have much more than that (gists,issues tracker,wiki,..) I can spend days talking about it but if you’re looking for a git repository service GitHub is the best choice.

Cons

I didn’t notice any major cons except the learning curve especially if you come from other environment like Svn or TFS.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

GitHub was a full solution and relatively cheaper compared to TFS

June 2019

SI from De La Salle University

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Convenience just a pull away: GitHub, a game-changing tool for developers

Overall, learning Git and GitHub made life as a developer convenient. We transitioned from manually merging our code to using GitHub. Although it required some practice, it was well worth the time. We realized that we were missing out and how our older projects would have been a breeze if we learned about GitHub sooner.

Pros

Knowing git and GitHub boosted the productivity of my team members and I. We were able to cutback on the times we were doing manual version control work rather than actual software development. It has been very useful to the point that it has been integrated into our project work pipeline. It has been very reliable and our team has never encountered problems in uploading and retrieving the code of others. We are able to document any changes to our code and fix conflicting code which made working in a team much more convenient. Our team of 3 uses the free version which allows us to collaborate with each other, set up a public or private repository, document our bugs, and manage our workflow which already is a lot for a free service. Paid options allow for collaboration of bigger teams, analytics, and other advanced features. Aside from that, a GUI version of the application allows you to visually see the changes in the project and simplifies the workflow. Tutorials and documentations on how to use GitHub, for both the GUI and command line versions are available. Most source code editors now even have GitHub integrated and allows you to do the commands without leaving the editor.

Cons

As great as GitHub is, it really takes some time in getting used to, especially for beginners. It has a steep learning curve and you are most likely going to have to use a search engine for the tasks you want to do. GitHub also has an application with a GUI which is relatively beginner friendly, but even then, the Git workflow is really something that requires practice. I personally use the Command Line Interface and the difficult part is knowing the commands to use in which I solved by printing out a cheat sheet.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Best Code Repository Host

My overall expererience is pleasant and satisfying. I have no issues with Github and always liked it. Since almost a year ago they made it so you could have unlimited free private repo's, it's been amazing.

Pros

Github is amazing. I used to utilize Bitbucket a lot but Github was more robust and before the free tier for both was kind of equal. Now Github free offers unlimited private and public repo's where bitbucket only offers like 5. Github also seems to be a lot faster when dealing with branches and commits. Like the connection feels snappier. I can say the same for the website. Now where Bitbucket, the website used to be fast but ever so since the re-design it's a little more on the heavy side. I honestly like Github and I've moved all my code there to be hosted, since it's super secure and super reliable. For as long as I have used it (around 4 years now) I haven't had issues with accessing or uploading my code changes.

Cons

Please, link issue tracking with branches so you can see the branches that you made or the commits that you made for specific issues. Bitbucket/JIRA has this and is a god send for project management Also integrate it with the boards, for instance, a linked issue when closed, it can auto-merge the branch. JIRA/Bitbucket also has this.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Honestly because of how good the free tier is now.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Github for personal and enterprise use

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have enjoyed both. While I think BitBucket has better integration with JIRA, I think the other services offered in GitHub work just as well. They *do* have JIRA integrations which work just fine. Also, if you use GitHub Issues instead of JIRA it works great and they have amazing support for that as well. I would highly recommend GitHub to anyone looking for a git service.

Pros

GitHub is the #1 git service. So much so some people the tool git with the service GitHub. I have used www.Github since 2012 and use GitHub Enterprise at work on a daily basis. The services and integrations with other software suites is top notch. Now that they also support private repositories for free accounts, I've ditched other git services entirely. I love their Markdown parser and how they allow the use of Markdown in everything. It makes it much easier to document code and comment on pull requests.

Cons

It would be nice if their multi-datacenter replication solution was a little bit better for an on-prem installation. Fortunately, they now include GitHub Cloud Service as part of their enterprise license, which might alleviate the struggles of a multi-datacenter installation.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I wasn't the one that made the decision, but I enjoy my/our use of GitHub greatly.

April 2019

Sébastien from Omnívoro

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

A Secure, Reputable and Scalable Solution for All Your Developer's Needs

Because GitHub is a reputable service used by millions of developers, it serves as a great tool to show off your skills to potential employers. I personally got the privilege of getting access to more work opportunities as my experience using the service was taken into account when working remotely with a team. Being uselessly paranoid about potentially losing my files and projects, I feel reassured knowing that my code is being hosted on GitHub while being seamlessly synchronized on a third-party storage service, allowing for a painless retrieval of anything of importance in the worst case scenario. It also serves as a useful backup in case the code base gets messed up locally: it suffices to delete everything and start from scratch by pulling all the data from GitHub. The reverse is also true: if for some reasons a project has diverged too much from local changes being made, it is very simple to rewrite the history of a project by reusing only local references and discarding anything on the other side. Since Git isn't particularly easy to approach for beginners, having all those safeguards and the ability to undo most actions brings peace of mind to the user.

Pros

Since GitHub relies on Git underneath, one can be assured that it uses a strong, open source system behind the scenes. It integrates so well with the command-line that it's the main way I interact with GitHub on a daily basis. All essential actions you may need to perform are also available in the graphical interface on GitHub, making for a convenient experience when on the move as all necessary tools can be accessed either way. It offers security features such as the ability to link SSH and GPG keys, allowing users to verify their commits and secure their identity. The two-factor authentication system is also impressively well thought-out, having various recovery options including security keys, SMS number, recovery tokens, recovery codes and even fallback SMS number. If you often write the same content in form of comments, there is even a feature to have "saved replies", speeding up the interaction process for recurring matters. GitHub is also extremely accessible, offering unlimited private repositories for personal use. Even open source organizations can benefit tremendously without having to spend a dime as it includes by default everything one can need. GitHub is also perfect for students, giving you access to pro features and discounts through their "Student Developer Pack". GitHub Pages is another fantastic aspect of the platform, allowing you to host a website without any hassle, with really quick build time while also ranking very high on search engines.

Cons

Even though all members in a specific organization on GitHub may prove they are all verified students, there is still the need for the educational institution to set up a few steps on their own to approve changes being made, which slows down considerably the initial setup. The search options, although they are powerful, aren't very intuitive and many useful functions are well hidden in the documentation pages. As a regular user, there is no option to freely start collaborating in private repositories before scaling up, which is a feature that's often available on other similar platforms. On that note, the price tag for GitHub is relatively high for the added benefits compared to other solutions. There is a restriction on file size, which cannot exceed 100 Mb. In most instances, this is not an inconvenient, but it will not be an appropriate platform to handle sharing large files when rendering 3D models for example.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

The one and only open source hub for developers to upskill, learn and contribute to community

A must for all developers and interns who wish to make a great future in the field of technology. Outstanding and simply splendid experience!

Pros

The overall platform is really vast and well designed for developers in the software fields (IT/CS) willing to contribute in terms of open source to the entire technology communities. It is really easy to upload our code or related development work, files and projects on to the GitHub platform using version control systems like GIT integrated in the respective IDE's or from the terminal. Using this platform has given me great exposure to others on the same platform as it makes my code public where others can watch, vote and contribute on the same project. Apart from this, we can either have projects marked as private or public based on the type of repository we wish to choose. Being online, we do not need to save backups or worry about loss of projects and code changes as all this is managed through the version controls and commits done via pull requests. Overall, this is the one and only best place for managing code, getting others to contribute on similar lines and more. Users can not only write scripts to push their code, but they also provide a GUI that is useful to upload their code on to the GitHub platform. Approvals from developers and self is managed pretty easily.

Cons

Literally, haven't noticed much cons as this is the top-most platform on my list for the benefits it provides and reduces the overall complexities of managing projects and stuff.

December 2018

Chamath from AdSpark.IO

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

GitHub become a game changer and the source of success to us

The ability that is seen on the GitHub and once the account was created for our project it was all fun for the team members. The future of the big and small projects now point directly to the new development on GitHub. From one point of control, you can supervise the progress and changes made by the team members. It has a friendly cost of operation and can be implemented at any stage of the project.

Pros

My first interaction with GitHub has never been changed and made different following the impact it had on my project. The fact that I was leading a big team that needed to share and update file frequently, GitHub become a game changer and the source of success to us. When asked to use the software for any project any time, I would settle for this with confidence following the following facts I went against the norm to compare the ability of the software and here are some of the reasons it remained on top for me. -Very easy to get started use. -Compatible with many other devices that are needed. -Can be shared in a team simultaneously seamlessly. -Organizes the work depending on the latest changes. -Offers central view of the project leading to easy supervision. -Requires simple device to host and integrates perfectly with the internet. -Has a great collection library to edit your work. -Offers pocket-friendly cost to all users.

Cons

Not all our needs were met with ease following the great expectation that we had. Here are some points to have in mind even after the great ability has been demonstrated. -It works with predefined command. -Requires strict monitoring as changes can be compromised to interfere with the meaning. -Fast and stable internet is a must have for success. -You need technical know-how to manipulate and make changes on the platform.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Essential version control

We've been working with GitHub for at least 5 years as our primary source control hub. We were previously using Bitbucket when GitHub was on a per-repository pricing but the ability to browse the history of a repository conveniently in GitHub won us over when both services moved to the same pricing model.

Pros

Incredibly easy to view the history of a git repository, easy to use web hooks, continuously adding new features.

Cons

Pricing on a per-user basis can be a burden when working in client services. Allowing client users to access a repository in GitHub requires a monthly price for that user even if the relationship does not continue in a retainer.

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Github is a great product for small and medium sized engineering teams

I feel Github has good things going for it. But, Github should find a way to make the information on the profile page of a user valuable for a recruiter. Most developers aren't getting any value by uploading their code on Github and thus missing active users.

Pros

The product was easy to use and easily configurable with existing tools. Even new developers feel at home as they have practiced using Github while learning in colleges and Bootcamps. Github also provides student developer pack which puts them in good standing among them.

Cons

The UI of the app/website seems a little dated. The new mobile app lacks basic features compared to the website like suggesting the name of the person who commented on an issue in the 'assign list'. It makes It very frustrating to assign a PR to a user who commented to work on the issue.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I chose Github over Bitbucket because of the fast speeds in uploading and downloading of the code. I try different projects as part of my job and Bitbucket speeds are just too low.

February 2020

Aleissia from Magic Leap

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Github is the developer community in today's world

If you're sharing code and using Git, Github is likely to be a the preferred place to do it. Even if you're not working on an open source project, developers gain a lot here in the way of their online profiles and rapport. Users can easily share and communicate with each other. Governance can be handled through robust permissions over pull requests and protected branches which makes life a lot easier since we don't have to developer other tools to manage this.

Pros

The Github website is reliable and easy to navigate. Pricing is very reasonable. UI tools are good a available for different platforms. Extra features like issues and build tools are now integrated and quite useful. Nearly all developers are already on the platform making it easy to onboard them.

Cons

There have been a few (not many) painful service interruptions. One of these involved service hooks and caused us some trouble with our build automation.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Github is much more widely used and preferred in our community of developers. Pricing made more sense to our model.

October 2019

Vincent from Systra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Github is the Community for Programmers

I find hub to be best solution of it's kind and I would drop this for any other similar product. Many companies make use of it not just for work but in the recruitment process to allow candidates to upload their test code during interview phases

Pros

The amount of information available is fantastic. There are so many members here that if you were looking to solve a programming problem or just to start developing a new product. You will probably find that some one here has done it or something similar. There are so many open-source project stored here that are in public repositories that if you can't find what you are looking for in your preferred code you will most likely find it written in another code and you get the joy of learning new code or translating the code. It's simple to clone a repository to look over the code offline. It's easy to upload code. It's great to collaborate on projects with others. Start with a free account to make sure you are happy with the solution and give it some time. There is a lot of support available to ensure you make the most of GitHub before spending money. Although one you get into it you will find it great.

Cons

There isn't much I don't like, yes it took a little to get into the swing of it but there is so much books or online support that it doesn't take too long.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

I felt that BitBucket just wasn't as user friendly and there is such a great community feel in GitHub.

November 2019

Tom from BridalLive Software, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Invaluable! So simple and so powerful

Our development process is much smoother after picking up Github. We use gitflow to make versioning easy.

Pros

We love how this product is tightly integrated with our other development products. Setup is a breeze and our entire team loves Github!

Cons

Setting up the public/private key authentication can be tricky, but if you know what you are doing, it shouldn't be a problem :) Also, I miss the 'blame' feature that Subversion had.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

It's almost the defacto solution for versioning now.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

It's more widely used.

September 2019

Daniel from Blanco Martin & Asociados

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

If you develop Github is a must-have

The UI of the software is the best. Collaboration is the problem solved by this software.

Pros

Good UI. It also delivers good virality, knowledge of the whole software ecosystem (open or not open source), ease of use.

Cons

Lack of its own CI features or a good open-source option, as others. The cost should have a small workaround.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Compatibility with Odoo.sh and market standard.

Reasons for Switching to GitHub

Because at the moment I was using the other option, it had not the integration I needed with odoo.sh

January 2018

Ashish from Metacube Software Pvt Ltd

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

best ever git repository hosting service provider

Github is very easy to use git hosting provider server. Github allows easy contributions of code between our project members. Github provides a way to review code before it is merged into master branch. It provides nice interface to view all commit history and allows to easily compare two different commits. Github provide fast searching across all files. I recommend git hub to all developers who are looking for an simple and easy to use source code management and git version control hosting server. GitHub has some of the best documentation around. Github makes easy to contributions to projects within small and large teams.

Pros

GitHub is most popular git version control repository server. Github provides collaboration features such as project read me, wikis, issue tracking, pull requests, commit history, access control to various collaborators. It provides all features of GIt as well as adding its own features. Github provides a feature to compare two branches or two commits called pull request. A code reviewer can review and provide his commits on this. GIthub provides private repository for personal projects. We are using github in our each and every project as source code management.

Cons

If someone is new to GitHub, one of the challenges is getting to grips with the github model, which requires practice and time. It costs to have a versioning repository on GitHub. Github GUI a little confusing to use and it is easy to use its CLI instead. Private repositories are chargeable. Bitbucket comes with Jira integration that is still missing in Github

June 2020

Gilmar from lecture verb app

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

gilmar review of github

overall my experience has been great. in fact i have met a few other like minded people on github. its great place to learn a bit of everything in software devlopment.

Pros

I like GitHub software because I can push my source code of my app directly to my android studio. and from the android studio back to the GitHub, so that if am working on mobile with other developers we can all share and be updated in a unified form

Cons

it's not free, you need to learn the program before you jump to private handling of codes. It takes a little bit of getting used to but after that it's fine. git hub desktop is also not so easy to learn but once you do you be sharing and updating directly from your studio machine. instead of going from GitHub site to software and back again.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

allot more freelancers were on there. who I worked with directly. so it was easy for me to get involved and it was important to too as i work along with deadlines.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Essential for any sort of academia or software work

Pros

If you are doing anything in academia, even if you are a student, or anything related to software engineering you want to use Git. Note that there is a difference between Git and GitHub - Github is where your data is stored. GitHub is also the biggest (to my knowledge) hosting service for Git so most likely it will be your first contact if you work with Git. Fortunately, it's also very good. The interface is easy to use (of GitHub, NOT Git) and as far as I can tell it has no downtimes. I have never needed the support so I can not rate that, but that is just a further indicator for the quality of GitHub, everything is either obvious from the get-go or well documented. Even if you are just writing homework assignments, it's a good idea to back up your work using Git. If you are in the field of software engineering or doing "recreational programming" you might already be familiar with Git. In either case, using GitHub to host your Git projects is an excellent choice.

Cons

Every time I want to add a local, existing project to GitHub I have to Google how to do so. This is not so much GitHub's fault as Git's but there is a guide how to do this hosted on GitHub. However I can never remember where it is on the GitHub page without using Google, so that could certainly be improved. Once the project is hosted on GitHub however there are no issues from my side.

May 2018

moses from self employed

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

It changed the way we code and back up systems in my place of work

Being able to obtain and run entire working projects without even having to learn how git works Being able to backup and restore projects with very simple terminal commands puts me and the rest of the team at ease I have yet to see the site experiencing downtime meaning that I have never had any work delayed because GitHub was unavailable

Pros

I use GitHub mainly for research purposes and the huge availability of code has really supercharged my IT career. There are countless times when GitHub repositories came to the rescue when I was tasked with a coding problem what was technically beyond me. Their internal search engine is world class; you never have to use special search tricks to get what you are looking for. I also love the way they list the repositories; you are able to tell what a specific repository contains without clicking individual results. The download option was also very convenient and useful when I didn't know how to use git; It was easy to download an import a project without having to spend hours and hours poring through tutorials.

Cons

I secretly with that It is possible to compile and run code snippets without having to download them into my computer. Another thing that i don't like is having to open individual class files in new tabs; it would be better if there was a panel on the side that allowed you to select and click through to individual classes/files, sort of how modern IDEs work

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

The best way to interact with Git

Wonderful source control that allows us to code without worrying about things that have changed and caused problems. Easy to go back in your commit history and branch off to fix issues.

Pros

Personal Use: Whenever I want to spin up either an open source project or a home grown personal project I send it up to Github. I don't think there is another brand that has as strong a presence as Github. The amount of vendors that integrate with Github is one of the main reasons I am in Github. Pull requests are easy and the ability to do a code review is key. Professional Use: Our team previously had all of our products in Github in Private repos which worked out great for quite some time. We have recently moved to VSTS but only because of the demands of our stack. It was easy to use and very cheap for our team. I can't think of a more affordable solution. Overall Github has been a cheap easy solution for version controller of personal, open source, and corporate projects.

Cons

Getting used to interacting with Github through the command line can be a bit daunting. With our tools we had we were interacting via a GUI but would occasionally have to step into the command line to get some special operations done. They could also have a better workflow for things like Kanban boards but now that Microsoft has purchased them we may see them move in that direction.

December 2019

Roman from Delivery Hero

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

The best way to manage your codebases.

Use it every day for the last 8 years, the central place for collaboration around sourcecode.

Pros

The most advanced platform for source code management. It has powerful features allowing to customize access policies for admins and simple interface for developers.

Cons

Supports only Git repositories, this is an obstacle if you have old SVN or Mercurial projects that are not going to be migrated to Git.

October 2019

austin from Theta Gang

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Github or bust

I've been a developer on GitHub for almost 5 years. It's amazing how far it's come and how ahead it is compared to alternatives. You would think that alternatives would have a upper hand of executing what Github can't do, problem is, Github doesn't really do anything bad/wrong.

Pros

Everything about github is just so much better than the alternatives out there. I'm looking at you bitbucket. The UI is easier to look at and the UX just makes more sense from a developer's standpoint. There's a reason why developers look at issues of repos on GITHUB and not any other alternative. The community and ecosystem is primarily in Github and they now offer free private repos which was definitely the best move.

Cons

No complaints. I use bitbucket at work, but strictly only use github at home for short-term and long-term projects

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Github has a community. Bitbucket feels too enterprise

February 2020

Chris from Synapse Studios

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Github is where your software should probably live

Great. We love it and will continue to use it because we don't want to manage on-prem Gitlab and because the developer tools are first rate.

Pros

We've been using Github for so long that it's almost hard to recall the dark days before proper hosted version control software. But I _do_ remember them. And they were dark indeed. SVN was a nightmare. Temperamental and difficult. Github made the Git platform accessible, friendly, and safe. Github has added so many extremely useful developer-centric features, that it just works for our flow. We manage pull requests and code reviews through Github. We've built automation and functionality on top of the Github Projects kanban board, further empowering our work. And it just works.

Cons

Nothing, really. Even having been acquired by MSFT, it's still solid software and continues to introduce new features.

October 2019

Binujaya from Sysco LABS Sri Lanka

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

New developers looking to improve

To conclude, this is great software that connects people, mostly developers to work together and improve their selves and their skills by working as a group on a specific code. Plus your code may or may not be visible to others, that is up to you. Overall, this is one of the best or maybe the best developer tools.

Pros

GitHub is a great place for developers and their projects. You can easily save your code privately or publically. The great thing here is that every developer can see your work and vice versa. That means you can help other people and they can help you if you mess something up or if your code is not working. This is a place where you can improve your skills as a developer which is an amazing thing because there are few to no software that offers you something like this. Also, you can work with your friends and colleagues and help each other out.

Cons

I don’t like that it’s not easy to use. It is complicated and if you are new to this job you will probably need a lot of time and education to the software to learn how it works. Another small thing that I don’t like is that if one person in our group doesn’t have the paid version of the software he won’t be able to see the changes that have been done, nor he will have access to the file which means that in order for him to work with us he will need to have the paid version of the software.

November 2017

Steve from Lessonly

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

The best tool for collaborating on code

Github has improved the quality of both my team's code and knowledge of our system and programming in general. Its tools for facilitating code reviews allow my team to share knowledge about our stack and domain while also providing opportunities to vet and improve the code we ship.

Pros

From commenting discussions on individual lines of code, to explicitly requesting code reviews from particular teammates, to integrations with various continuous-integration (CI) and deployment systems, Github is a fully-featured tool for vetting and tracking changes to your codebase. From the moment you push code up, Github can help your team usher changes through code reviews and approval processes, with all the details and history you would expect from a system built on Git. And with a powerful API and webhooks, Github has a wealth of extension points for building integrations to customize your workflow.

Cons

I'd like more granular control over which email notifications I get (specifically the ability to be notified of new comments on a pull request without also being notified of every additional commit). And while the Reviews feature which batches comments into an all-at-once "review" is central to my team's workflow, the inability to leave immediate, one-off comments in the middle of a review is sometimes limiting. Still, these are minor inconveniences in an otherwise powerful and flexible tool.

June 2020

Patrick from Iterable

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Simply the best repository hosting

We use GitHub to host our code and allow engineers to collaborate on it as well as view how the code has changed over time.

Pros

The main reason to use GitHub, IMO, is the pull request and code review feature. Not only does it work great right now showing you the context of the changes you are making and making it easy for others to comment and suggest changes, GitHub continues to invest in this feature and it gets better and better every year. Besides that, I think GitHub just has a very beautiful UI and intuitive UX.

Cons

For businesses who want to use GitHub to host their code on-premise for security reasons, it can be very expensive and buggy. My team and I have experienced a lot of difficulties trying to host it on-premise and caused other teams to experience down time. Sure, it was our fault, but why is it so hard to run GitHub out of the box.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 3,258 reviews