User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(2,347)

2,347

4 stars

(639)

639

3 stars

(44)

44

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(1)

1

  • Pros

  • "I love that this product is made to help developers. It's very easy to use. Love that it integrates with almost anything in the software space."

  • "The flexibility of the vmb is super handy. Customise the rows, labels/filters, colours, etc. It looks nice, feels nice and works nice!"

  • "It works great! I use this for all my side projects"

  • Cons

  • "main dislike file size is limited data,non programmers can't use full Overall this tool very good"

  • "Overall the software is good, with a lot of features that are needed, but the big downside is that it's proprietary."

  • "Pull request, issues etc. feature could be better. Good command line app"

Browse GitHub Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 3033 results

August 2019

Alex from Esper Creations, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Highly Intuitive GIT Hosting Solution with a Ridiculous Amount of Community Support

Pros

The best part of this software, in my opinion, has to be the repository insights that comes with the pro version and above. These insights have proven to be extremely valuable when managing larger-scale projects with multiple developers working on the projects. Not only is our project management team able to get live updates on the progress of the project with each commit, but our team is also able to hold each other accountable by seeing their progress via the progress tracking feature and individual commits. Another notable mention for Github is their desktop GUI. This is such an incredibly easy tool to use and it makes the entire GIT experience much easier to understand and maneuver.

Cons

The one issue i had with this software is the repo search functionality. This part of the software can be confusing to learn to be effective with and it takes some time to be proficient with, which can be a hassle for some of our newer members of our project management team.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

With Github being the most widely supported of the GIT repo hosting platforms, it was a pretty easy choice to stick with a solution that has a massive community backing it along with all the core functionality that my team needs. With the high amount of third-party integrations, it was almost a no-brainer to stick with this software simply because of ease of use.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Best source code management

We use it on a daily basis, we have about 100+ private repositories hosted on this platform. It has nice workflow for devops to keep the source code clean, unit tested and deployable.

Pros

Github requires no introduction. It is the most popular source code management among opensouce and enterprise customers. It has native integration with almost all cloud providers.

Cons

Charge per user. In our case we outsource 70% of our development to outside contractors. Every time we add them into our account, it is considered as additional collaborator and takes away one seat. It will be hard for us to keep monitoring both internal and external developers on our team to keep the cost under control.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Reasons are mentioned in the previous question.

May 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Github is a great product for small and medium sized engineering teams

I feel Github has good things going for it. But, Github should find a way to make the information on the profile page of a user valuable for a recruiter. Most developers aren't getting any value by uploading their code on Github and thus missing active users.

Pros

The product was easy to use and easily configurable with existing tools. Even new developers feel at home as they have practiced using Github while learning in colleges and Bootcamps. Github also provides student developer pack which puts them in good standing among them.

Cons

The UI of the app/website seems a little dated. The new mobile app lacks basic features compared to the website like suggesting the name of the person who commented on an issue in the 'assign list'. It makes It very frustrating to assign a PR to a user who commented to work on the issue.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I chose Github over Bitbucket because of the fast speeds in uploading and downloading of the code. I try different projects as part of my job and Bitbucket speeds are just too low.

August 2019

Sarai from Hachette Book Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Publishing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

A software you don't really have a choice but to use.

I use github for version control at work. Our code goes up to two different sets of reviewers and this all takes place via github.

Pros

Github is really your only choice for version control. There are other platforms out there but Github has cornered the market. It's free, which is a bonus.

Cons

It's pretty difficult to start using. It's not intuitive at all. Many times, I have merge conflicts and when I go to edit them within github, it corrupts my branch. There are a lot of ins and outs and nuances that aren't easily navigated around when utilizing Github. I frequently get errors that have no documentation or support.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Best in class, world-known service

Great! I'd choose them again in a heartbeat. They're easy to use, integrate with almost every tool I can think of and have great customer support. The keep delivering new features lately, and I'm excited for what's coming next!

Pros

This is probably the best hosted Git solution out there. GitHub is the de-facto standard platform for hosting OSS projects, which makes a TON of services integrate with it, and therefore a good solution for private repositories as well. Now with GitHub Actions, the GPR and more coming soon, I think it's the best platform around.

Cons

Pricing is _a bit_ pricey, compared to the alternatives such as Bitbucket (less than half the price per user) or GitLab, which provide various pricing tiers, including a free self-hosted one.

February 2020

Aleissia from Magic Leap

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Github is the developer community in today's world

If you're sharing code and using Git, Github is likely to be a the preferred place to do it. Even if you're not working on an open source project, developers gain a lot here in the way of their online profiles and rapport. Users can easily share and communicate with each other. Governance can be handled through robust permissions over pull requests and protected branches which makes life a lot easier since we don't have to developer other tools to manage this.

Pros

The Github website is reliable and easy to navigate. Pricing is very reasonable. UI tools are good a available for different platforms. Extra features like issues and build tools are now integrated and quite useful. Nearly all developers are already on the platform making it easy to onboard them.

Cons

There have been a few (not many) painful service interruptions. One of these involved service hooks and caused us some trouble with our build automation.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Github is much more widely used and preferred in our community of developers. Pricing made more sense to our model.

February 2020

Emily from UPenn

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

A Basic Utility

I honestly, like GitHub. I used it a while, the Microsoft bought them out and I had an ethical issue so I switched to GitLab, but I came back. GitHub is simply too universal and easy to use, despite the new owners. As long as they don't implement any additional features behind a pay wall, I will probably continue to use it.

Pros

I really like the collaboration and discovery features for programs. It's nice to get input from others or be able to test your skills by helping out on other projects. It's also great that you can comment on every commit and sub comment, etc. It makes it easy and organized to talk about specific issues in a project. It's also great that it integrates with so many other software options (slack, trello, discord, etc.)

Cons

I wouldn't blame this on the software exactly, but I don't love the hoops you sometimes need to jump through just to submit a commit. Although, there's a good chance this is entirely user error on my part.

March 2020

Tigran from Information Technology and Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2020

Github the best.

Overall it's a great software for companies and for individuals for projects to save code in a safe place and get easily pulled from everywhere.

Pros

This is the most simple and wide used git software all around world. It has has the most popular repos inside it. It has simple ui usage, has a lot of useful features one of them that recently added are dependency bots that are opening PR's to your old repos ti fix security vilnerabilities.

Cons

There are few cons that I can mention here. One of them that GitHub still does not have mobile app or it can’t be downloaded from Play store. The second is that the github servers if falling down time to time.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

As I mentioned above Github is more widely used and more simple than it's competitors.

February 2020

Timothy from Enzyme Labs

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

By far the best code hosting platform

Excellent product that I use daily and will continue to use for many years.

Pros

I've tried all the options out there, and Github makes it easy for both beginner and experienced developers to host their code. I also manage my design resource backups on Github. Now that they offer free private repos, there's really no reason to choose anything else.

Cons

It's sometimes difficult to revert to previous commit dates, and this interface could be improved. The Github desktop app is also limited, and often causes issues that don't occur when using a git terminal command.

March 2020

Shareque from Technoswift

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Github Is Dveloper's Magic Tool

GitHub helps me to back up my projects, its main aim is different which working with team in a collaborative manner and share your code or recourse and merge it without interfering with others code. It allows us to create and maintain branches which is good option, it allows the freedom of doing your work on the development branch while the production branch is live and Testing branch is used by the QA team, so yes its a great option to work with ease.

Pros

Centralizing all the resources related to the same project becomes very easy is Github. It allows us to work on the same project within the same room or remotely and then merge it properly. Maintain old history with all the possible details who made that change with his id, time and all that which help to figure out how to fix the problem and who is responsible for this.

Cons

It forces use a command-based interface that's why some of my colleagues feel uncomfortable using it. Maintaining project large team becomes very hectic if all are working on same module. All the way it's a good option to maintain a backup of each and every change around the whole team.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I choose GitHub over other options is because of its easy to use and gives better security, and most people use this over the world.

May 2020

Andrei from JeFawk Games

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Popular and fast version control service but with less features than the competition

I am still currently working with GitHub due to the smooth Heroko and Netlify integrations that saved us a lot of hassle but for any projects which don't benefit from this I use GitLab (which is slower unfortunately). Being such a popular service it was attacked a few times by hackers which lead to some downtime that luckily did not affect our studio.

Pros

GitHub is home to the majority of the web's open source projects. It was one of the first version control services and it aged pretty well. The service's website speed is probably one of the best around when it comes to repository hosting services and this is very important as through the website all the information about projects can be found. There is a lot of searching and navigating to be done within projects so the speed is a big plus. GitHub also has it's own website hosting service called GitHub Pages which allows people to make their own website. This is great if you are the project owner and would like to link additional information within a look that looks less than a wiki page. GitHub comes with a very easy to use desktop application which is used to manage repositories, both from GitHub as well as the competition's services. Being so popular it has a great deal of integrations into other services, the most important one for me perosnally being the Heroku and the Netlify one. Whatever is pushed to the GitHub repo gets built and sent to Heroku and Netlify. saving up valuable time. These integrations are sometimes available for the competition services too but the steps are much steeper. Another thing that GitHub done right was the monthly progress on the main page showing how many changes were made by the user. This helped with giving people an incentive to keep working every day to have the calendar-like frame green at all times (gamification).

Cons

When I started using GitHub a long time ago (~6 years) the services was very limited if you were a free user. The collaborators were limited and the space was very tiny and on top of everything your projects were not private. This is great for open source developers but for me, I could not allow myself to put game projects up for grabs so I mostly used GitHub for small prototypes. Late came the option for free users to have private repositories and after that Microsoft bought GitHub extending the limitations. Unfortunately even with their newest addition to the space of a repository using Large File Storage (LFS), the competition offers more space and a more streamlined workflow for big projects. Also a lot of features are behind a paywall for GitHub while the competition gives them for free, at a cost of slower website speed however.

January 2020

Adrian from Shopify

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

GitHub is essential if you are a developer

Anything I write or code goes into GitHub, if it's a file I put it on Google Drive, if not it goes on GitHub, simple as that. It means I always have a backup, an up to date version, can roll back and share code very easily. Also, we collaborate daily as an organisation on GitHub and it is essential for us to function :)

Pros

It's very easy to use and fast. Previously I was using another version control software which became very slow. GitHub is super fast and much easier to use. I love the project management feature and KanBan cards and also the fact that it integrates with lots of other tools.

Cons

I think finding personal info could be made easier, e.g. all your comments, comments in a certain timeframe, interactions and conversations. I am a programmer and don't mind manually adding in the flags for searching, but feel a much more intuitive interface could be created to make life easier.

December 2019

Dilanka from Jinasena Infotech (PVT) Ltd.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2019

A universal level source code management system

Implementation was very organized. It was not easy without proper guidance, but the instructions were generally available over the community and problem solving was also very smooth. Availability over a number of platforms made the choice more strongly recognized. Developers/Programmers could easily adapt to use GitHub as the only version control and source code managing platform with no time.

Pros

The important features available to manage the source code within the Application Development IDE itself made the work more efficient and convenient. GitHub was efficient enough to link the entire platform-based solutions right within the IDE, so the version management, source code control including comments and documentation was made the productivity increased rapidly within the organization.

Cons

The free and generally available version did not secure the source code managed over the platform by allowing users to create private repositories, which is not available in public. However, the paid version managed to provide that facility but it could have been better if the free version at least provides a limited number (at least one) private repository available.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

General availability and a free offering made the choice more strong since the organization was not ready to budget a version management system at first glance.

November 2019

Jonathan from Entertainment

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Best git hosting

Very good for hosting private and public repos. The addition of free private repos is a huge plus!

Pros

Very easy to host a repository and to fork other repositories. It is easy to search other repositories.

Cons

None that I found. My only request would be to be easier to download single files without having to view the file first. If there were checkboxes and a download option that would be great.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I was so happy with GitHub I hadn't looked closely at the most comparable option, GitLab, which requires me to learn a new interface and functionality.

September 2019

Sven from whisp GmbH

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

The #1 code hosting solution

We have been using it for code hosting for both private and public projects for several years, issue tracking etc not so much (mainly because the tracker is quite basic). As GitHub is using git underlying it can be accessed via any git compatible client out in the wild - so there are tons of ways to choose from suiting every developers needs. Github provides many hooks for third party tools, so pushes can trigger all sorts of things like CI builds or posts in your company Slack. Automation and integration is dead simple and super flexible. The company itself is really developer friendly, and you can sense that they are using GitHub themselves. Hosting of open source projects is free and their support and documentation are very helpful. Availability is high - one of the most important reasons when choosing a code hosting service.

Pros

- high availability - built-in code review, wiki, issue tracker, artifact hosting (private beta) - great third-party tool integration - automate everything - uses git - developer friendly company - free for open source projects - mature

Cons

- issue tracker could be more sophisticated - new features could be developed more rapidly (although this has improved recently) - native apps are not up-to-par with competitors, but luckily there are many free alternatives - was bought by Microsoft, I personally would have liked to see them stay independent

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

We've briefly tried out bitbucket and gitlab, but quickly returned to github for it's maturity and high availability. And it seems nowadays every developer is on github so collaboration on open source projects is very easy.

September 2019

Ankush from Zendesk

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Github Review

I use it almost every hour every day and so far I'm glad I've switched from bitbucket to this.

Pros

Usage is well documented like cloning repository using ssh, create a branch, create a repository, etc. Reviewing PR interface is great. You've option to mark the files you've reviewed which is really helpful for gigantic pull requests. Easy integration with IDE like Intellij/Eclipse and you can push your changes directly from the IDEs. Features like squash/merge from UI are really great and saves a lot of time. Jira integration of pull requests is awesome.

Cons

Very limited private repositories for free users, it should give an option like this number of lines of code for the private repository as a limit rather than not providing or limited private repositories. It sometime might get complicated for new users while working on same codebase at the same time like stuck between merge conflicts, rebase issues etc.

August 2019

Youness from Insum Consulting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Feedback about Github & Comparison with Gitlab

A great software ! Very useful, necessary, and i have been using it in our organization for many years, even that we are using Gitlab for most of our projects.

Pros

Very sofisticated, today it gives us more freedom and we are able to use private repositories. Github is the reference of version controls, and we are using it every day ( in our organization, and as well with a couple of open source products ).

Cons

Sometimes it's confusing, I love the simplicity of Gitlab, but it's not really a full comparison, both softwares have their own pros and cons. But i find that Github is sometimes confusing, and the options and how to do simple things are hidden.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I didn't, still i love to use a self hosted version of Gitlab. But since Github is more powerful than Bitbucket ( in all sides, especially when Github gave us the possibility to create private repositories .

July 2019

Trabelsi from Lds

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Best version control system

We have switched to GitHub enterprise and we realized how it was become easy to browse repository, share and contribute to projects things that wasn’t possible before.

Pros

As a web developer GitHub is built to work perfectly with web projects.it has a lot of features: It’s easy to setup project and add contributors to it. PR system is very complete and it’s easy to follow and request changes from contributors, you can also integrate third party tools to enhance the pull request validation mechanism. GitHub pages make your life easier to deploy your application (mostly the app documentation) by just creating a doc folder in the repo without any extra server setup. These are the features that l’m using daily but GitHub have much more than that (gists,issues tracker,wiki,..) I can spend days talking about it but if you’re looking for a git repository service GitHub is the best choice.

Cons

I didn’t notice any major cons except the learning curve especially if you come from other environment like Svn or TFS.

June 2019

SI from De La Salle University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Research

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Convenience just a pull away: GitHub, a game-changing tool for developers

Overall, learning Git and GitHub made life as a developer convenient. We transitioned from manually merging our code to using GitHub. Although it required some practice, it was well worth the time. We realized that we were missing out and how our older projects would have been a breeze if we learned about GitHub sooner.

Pros

Knowing git and GitHub boosted the productivity of my team members and I. We were able to cutback on the times we were doing manual version control work rather than actual software development. It has been very useful to the point that it has been integrated into our project work pipeline. It has been very reliable and our team has never encountered problems in uploading and retrieving the code of others. We are able to document any changes to our code and fix conflicting code which made working in a team much more convenient. Our team of 3 uses the free version which allows us to collaborate with each other, set up a public or private repository, document our bugs, and manage our workflow which already is a lot for a free service. Paid options allow for collaboration of bigger teams, analytics, and other advanced features. Aside from that, a GUI version of the application allows you to visually see the changes in the project and simplifies the workflow. Tutorials and documentations on how to use GitHub, for both the GUI and command line versions are available. Most source code editors now even have GitHub integrated and allows you to do the commands without leaving the editor.

Cons

As great as GitHub is, it really takes some time in getting used to, especially for beginners. It has a steep learning curve and you are most likely going to have to use a search engine for the tasks you want to do. GitHub also has an application with a GUI which is relatively beginner friendly, but even then, the Git workflow is really something that requires practice. I personally use the Command Line Interface and the difficult part is knowing the commands to use in which I solved by printing out a cheat sheet.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Best Code Repository Host

My overall expererience is pleasant and satisfying. I have no issues with Github and always liked it. Since almost a year ago they made it so you could have unlimited free private repo's, it's been amazing.

Pros

Github is amazing. I used to utilize Bitbucket a lot but Github was more robust and before the free tier for both was kind of equal. Now Github free offers unlimited private and public repo's where bitbucket only offers like 5. Github also seems to be a lot faster when dealing with branches and commits. Like the connection feels snappier. I can say the same for the website. Now where Bitbucket, the website used to be fast but ever so since the re-design it's a little more on the heavy side. I honestly like Github and I've moved all my code there to be hosted, since it's super secure and super reliable. For as long as I have used it (around 4 years now) I haven't had issues with accessing or uploading my code changes.

Cons

Please, link issue tracking with branches so you can see the branches that you made or the commits that you made for specific issues. Bitbucket/JIRA has this and is a god send for project management Also integrate it with the boards, for instance, a linked issue when closed, it can auto-merge the branch. JIRA/Bitbucket also has this.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Honestly because of how good the free tier is now.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Github for personal and enterprise use

The only other solution for an enterprise level git service is BitBucket from Atlassian. I have enjoyed both. While I think BitBucket has better integration with JIRA, I think the other services offered in GitHub work just as well. They *do* have JIRA integrations which work just fine. Also, if you use GitHub Issues instead of JIRA it works great and they have amazing support for that as well. I would highly recommend GitHub to anyone looking for a git service.

Pros

GitHub is the #1 git service. So much so some people the tool git with the service GitHub. I have used www.Github since 2012 and use GitHub Enterprise at work on a daily basis. The services and integrations with other software suites is top notch. Now that they also support private repositories for free accounts, I've ditched other git services entirely. I love their Markdown parser and how they allow the use of Markdown in everything. It makes it much easier to document code and comment on pull requests.

Cons

It would be nice if their multi-datacenter replication solution was a little bit better for an on-prem installation. Fortunately, they now include GitHub Cloud Service as part of their enterprise license, which might alleviate the struggles of a multi-datacenter installation.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I wasn't the one that made the decision, but I enjoy my/our use of GitHub greatly.

April 2019

Sébastien from Omnívoro

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

A Secure, Reputable and Scalable Solution for All Your Developer's Needs

Because GitHub is a reputable service used by millions of developers, it serves as a great tool to show off your skills to potential employers. I personally got the privilege of getting access to more work opportunities as my experience using the service was taken into account when working remotely with a team. Being uselessly paranoid about potentially losing my files and projects, I feel reassured knowing that my code is being hosted on GitHub while being seamlessly synchronized on a third-party storage service, allowing for a painless retrieval of anything of importance in the worst case scenario. It also serves as a useful backup in case the code base gets messed up locally: it suffices to delete everything and start from scratch by pulling all the data from GitHub. The reverse is also true: if for some reasons a project has diverged too much from local changes being made, it is very simple to rewrite the history of a project by reusing only local references and discarding anything on the other side. Since Git isn't particularly easy to approach for beginners, having all those safeguards and the ability to undo most actions brings peace of mind to the user.

Pros

Since GitHub relies on Git underneath, one can be assured that it uses a strong, open source system behind the scenes. It integrates so well with the command-line that it's the main way I interact with GitHub on a daily basis. All essential actions you may need to perform are also available in the graphical interface on GitHub, making for a convenient experience when on the move as all necessary tools can be accessed either way. It offers security features such as the ability to link SSH and GPG keys, allowing users to verify their commits and secure their identity. The two-factor authentication system is also impressively well thought-out, having various recovery options including security keys, SMS number, recovery tokens, recovery codes and even fallback SMS number. If you often write the same content in form of comments, there is even a feature to have "saved replies", speeding up the interaction process for recurring matters. GitHub is also extremely accessible, offering unlimited private repositories for personal use. Even open source organizations can benefit tremendously without having to spend a dime as it includes by default everything one can need. GitHub is also perfect for students, giving you access to pro features and discounts through their "Student Developer Pack". GitHub Pages is another fantastic aspect of the platform, allowing you to host a website without any hassle, with really quick build time while also ranking very high on search engines.

Cons

Even though all members in a specific organization on GitHub may prove they are all verified students, there is still the need for the educational institution to set up a few steps on their own to approve changes being made, which slows down considerably the initial setup. The search options, although they are powerful, aren't very intuitive and many useful functions are well hidden in the documentation pages. As a regular user, there is no option to freely start collaborating in private repositories before scaling up, which is a feature that's often available on other similar platforms. On that note, the price tag for GitHub is relatively high for the added benefits compared to other solutions. There is a restriction on file size, which cannot exceed 100 Mb. In most instances, this is not an inconvenient, but it will not be an appropriate platform to handle sharing large files when rendering 3D models for example.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

The one and only open source hub for developers to upskill, learn and contribute to community

A must for all developers and interns who wish to make a great future in the field of technology. Outstanding and simply splendid experience!

Pros

The overall platform is really vast and well designed for developers in the software fields (IT/CS) willing to contribute in terms of open source to the entire technology communities. It is really easy to upload our code or related development work, files and projects on to the GitHub platform using version control systems like GIT integrated in the respective IDE's or from the terminal. Using this platform has given me great exposure to others on the same platform as it makes my code public where others can watch, vote and contribute on the same project. Apart from this, we can either have projects marked as private or public based on the type of repository we wish to choose. Being online, we do not need to save backups or worry about loss of projects and code changes as all this is managed through the version controls and commits done via pull requests. Overall, this is the one and only best place for managing code, getting others to contribute on similar lines and more. Users can not only write scripts to push their code, but they also provide a GUI that is useful to upload their code on to the GitHub platform. Approvals from developers and self is managed pretty easily.

Cons

Literally, haven't noticed much cons as this is the top-most platform on my list for the benefits it provides and reduces the overall complexities of managing projects and stuff.

December 2018

Chamath from AdSpark.IO

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

GitHub become a game changer and the source of success to us

The ability that is seen on the GitHub and once the account was created for our project it was all fun for the team members. The future of the big and small projects now point directly to the new development on GitHub. From one point of control, you can supervise the progress and changes made by the team members. It has a friendly cost of operation and can be implemented at any stage of the project.

Pros

My first interaction with GitHub has never been changed and made different following the impact it had on my project. The fact that I was leading a big team that needed to share and update file frequently, GitHub become a game changer and the source of success to us. When asked to use the software for any project any time, I would settle for this with confidence following the following facts I went against the norm to compare the ability of the software and here are some of the reasons it remained on top for me. -Very easy to get started use. -Compatible with many other devices that are needed. -Can be shared in a team simultaneously seamlessly. -Organizes the work depending on the latest changes. -Offers central view of the project leading to easy supervision. -Requires simple device to host and integrates perfectly with the internet. -Has a great collection library to edit your work. -Offers pocket-friendly cost to all users.

Cons

Not all our needs were met with ease following the great expectation that we had. Here are some points to have in mind even after the great ability has been demonstrated. -It works with predefined command. -Requires strict monitoring as changes can be compromised to interfere with the meaning. -Fast and stable internet is a must have for success. -You need technical know-how to manipulate and make changes on the platform.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Essential version control

We've been working with GitHub for at least 5 years as our primary source control hub. We were previously using Bitbucket when GitHub was on a per-repository pricing but the ability to browse the history of a repository conveniently in GitHub won us over when both services moved to the same pricing model.

Pros

Incredibly easy to view the history of a git repository, easy to use web hooks, continuously adding new features.

Cons

Pricing on a per-user basis can be a burden when working in client services. Allowing client users to access a repository in GitHub requires a monthly price for that user even if the relationship does not continue in a retainer.

January 2018

Ashish from Metacube Software Pvt Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

best ever git repository hosting service provider

Github is very easy to use git hosting provider server. Github allows easy contributions of code between our project members. Github provides a way to review code before it is merged into master branch. It provides nice interface to view all commit history and allows to easily compare two different commits. Github provide fast searching across all files. I recommend git hub to all developers who are looking for an simple and easy to use source code management and git version control hosting server. GitHub has some of the best documentation around. Github makes easy to contributions to projects within small and large teams.

Pros

GitHub is most popular git version control repository server. Github provides collaboration features such as project read me, wikis, issue tracking, pull requests, commit history, access control to various collaborators. It provides all features of GIt as well as adding its own features. Github provides a feature to compare two branches or two commits called pull request. A code reviewer can review and provide his commits on this. GIthub provides private repository for personal projects. We are using github in our each and every project as source code management.

Cons

If someone is new to GitHub, one of the challenges is getting to grips with the github model, which requires practice and time. It costs to have a versioning repository on GitHub. Github GUI a little confusing to use and it is easy to use its CLI instead. Private repositories are chargeable. Bitbucket comes with Jira integration that is still missing in Github

October 2019

Vincent from Systra

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Github is the Community for Programmers

I find hub to be best solution of it's kind and I would drop this for any other similar product. Many companies make use of it not just for work but in the recruitment process to allow candidates to upload their test code during interview phases

Pros

The amount of information available is fantastic. There are so many members here that if you were looking to solve a programming problem or just to start developing a new product. You will probably find that some one here has done it or something similar. There are so many open-source project stored here that are in public repositories that if you can't find what you are looking for in your preferred code you will most likely find it written in another code and you get the joy of learning new code or translating the code. It's simple to clone a repository to look over the code offline. It's easy to upload code. It's great to collaborate on projects with others. Start with a free account to make sure you are happy with the solution and give it some time. There is a lot of support available to ensure you make the most of GitHub before spending money. Although one you get into it you will find it great.

Cons

There isn't much I don't like, yes it took a little to get into the swing of it but there is so much books or online support that it doesn't take too long.

November 2019

Tom from BridalLive Software, LLC

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Invaluable! So simple and so powerful

Our development process is much smoother after picking up Github. We use gitflow to make versioning easy.

Pros

We love how this product is tightly integrated with our other development products. Setup is a breeze and our entire team loves Github!

Cons

Setting up the public/private key authentication can be tricky, but if you know what you are doing, it shouldn't be a problem :) Also, I miss the 'blame' feature that Subversion had.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

It's almost the defacto solution for versioning now.

September 2019

Daniel from Blanco Martin & Asociados

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

If you develop Github is a must-have

The UI of the software is the best. Collaboration is the problem solved by this software.

Pros

Good UI. It also delivers good virality, knowledge of the whole software ecosystem (open or not open source), ease of use.

Cons

Lack of its own CI features or a good open-source option, as others. The cost should have a small workaround.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Compatibility with Odoo.sh and market standard.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Essential for any sort of academia or software work

Pros

If you are doing anything in academia, even if you are a student, or anything related to software engineering you want to use Git. Note that there is a difference between Git and GitHub - Github is where your data is stored. GitHub is also the biggest (to my knowledge) hosting service for Git so most likely it will be your first contact if you work with Git. Fortunately, it's also very good. The interface is easy to use (of GitHub, NOT Git) and as far as I can tell it has no downtimes. I have never needed the support so I can not rate that, but that is just a further indicator for the quality of GitHub, everything is either obvious from the get-go or well documented. Even if you are just writing homework assignments, it's a good idea to back up your work using Git. If you are in the field of software engineering or doing "recreational programming" you might already be familiar with Git. In either case, using GitHub to host your Git projects is an excellent choice.

Cons

Every time I want to add a local, existing project to GitHub I have to Google how to do so. This is not so much GitHub's fault as Git's but there is a guide how to do this hosted on GitHub. However I can never remember where it is on the GitHub page without using Google, so that could certainly be improved. Once the project is hosted on GitHub however there are no issues from my side.

May 2018

moses from self employed

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

It changed the way we code and back up systems in my place of work

Being able to obtain and run entire working projects without even having to learn how git works Being able to backup and restore projects with very simple terminal commands puts me and the rest of the team at ease I have yet to see the site experiencing downtime meaning that I have never had any work delayed because GitHub was unavailable

Pros

I use GitHub mainly for research purposes and the huge availability of code has really supercharged my IT career. There are countless times when GitHub repositories came to the rescue when I was tasked with a coding problem what was technically beyond me. Their internal search engine is world class; you never have to use special search tricks to get what you are looking for. I also love the way they list the repositories; you are able to tell what a specific repository contains without clicking individual results. The download option was also very convenient and useful when I didn't know how to use git; It was easy to download an import a project without having to spend hours and hours poring through tutorials.

Cons

I secretly with that It is possible to compile and run code snippets without having to download them into my computer. Another thing that i don't like is having to open individual class files in new tabs; it would be better if there was a panel on the side that allowed you to select and click through to individual classes/files, sort of how modern IDEs work

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

The best way to interact with Git

Wonderful source control that allows us to code without worrying about things that have changed and caused problems. Easy to go back in your commit history and branch off to fix issues.

Pros

Personal Use: Whenever I want to spin up either an open source project or a home grown personal project I send it up to Github. I don't think there is another brand that has as strong a presence as Github. The amount of vendors that integrate with Github is one of the main reasons I am in Github. Pull requests are easy and the ability to do a code review is key. Professional Use: Our team previously had all of our products in Github in Private repos which worked out great for quite some time. We have recently moved to VSTS but only because of the demands of our stack. It was easy to use and very cheap for our team. I can't think of a more affordable solution. Overall Github has been a cheap easy solution for version controller of personal, open source, and corporate projects.

Cons

Getting used to interacting with Github through the command line can be a bit daunting. With our tools we had we were interacting via a GUI but would occasionally have to step into the command line to get some special operations done. They could also have a better workflow for things like Kanban boards but now that Microsoft has purchased them we may see them move in that direction.

November 2017

Steve from Lessonly

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

The best tool for collaborating on code

Github has improved the quality of both my team's code and knowledge of our system and programming in general. Its tools for facilitating code reviews allow my team to share knowledge about our stack and domain while also providing opportunities to vet and improve the code we ship.

Pros

From commenting discussions on individual lines of code, to explicitly requesting code reviews from particular teammates, to integrations with various continuous-integration (CI) and deployment systems, Github is a fully-featured tool for vetting and tracking changes to your codebase. From the moment you push code up, Github can help your team usher changes through code reviews and approval processes, with all the details and history you would expect from a system built on Git. And with a powerful API and webhooks, Github has a wealth of extension points for building integrations to customize your workflow.

Cons

I'd like more granular control over which email notifications I get (specifically the ability to be notified of new comments on a pull request without also being notified of every additional commit). And while the Reviews feature which batches comments into an all-at-once "review" is central to my team's workflow, the inability to leave immediate, one-off comments in the middle of a review is sometimes limiting. Still, these are minor inconveniences in an otherwise powerful and flexible tool.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

The best way to collaborate on code

Pros

GitHub offers to host projects that rely on the Git version control system. While mainly aimed at developers, it works very well for any text-based work. GitHub offers free hosting for all open source repositories (i.e. your code will be visible to the public). The website is extremely easy to use, and has a beautiful, clean interface. When working in teams, the concept of pull request comes in very handy: one developer can "branch off" the main version of the project to work on a new feature. Once the feature is ready, the developper proposes a "pull request", to re-integrate the new feature into the main branch. Contributors to the project can review the code, giving precise feedback on the new feature. I have used this workflow with great success in the context of small teams. Finally, GitHub scores major points in the academic sector by providing Student and Institution accounts with unlimited private repositories, for free ("Student Pack").

Cons

Outside of the free student accounts, the GitHub subscription could be slightly pricy, especially for a small developer. As we come to rely more and more on GitHub to host code, any downtime becomes very critical. In the past few years, there were a couple of instances of GitHub downtime which affected my productivity.

December 2019

Roman from Delivery Hero

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

The best way to manage your codebases.

Use it every day for the last 8 years, the central place for collaboration around sourcecode.

Pros

The most advanced platform for source code management. It has powerful features allowing to customize access policies for admins and simple interface for developers.

Cons

Supports only Git repositories, this is an obstacle if you have old SVN or Mercurial projects that are not going to be migrated to Git.

October 2019

austin from Theta Gang

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Github or bust

I've been a developer on GitHub for almost 5 years. It's amazing how far it's come and how ahead it is compared to alternatives. You would think that alternatives would have a upper hand of executing what Github can't do, problem is, Github doesn't really do anything bad/wrong.

Pros

Everything about github is just so much better than the alternatives out there. I'm looking at you bitbucket. The UI is easier to look at and the UX just makes more sense from a developer's standpoint. There's a reason why developers look at issues of repos on GITHUB and not any other alternative. The community and ecosystem is primarily in Github and they now offer free private repos which was definitely the best move.

Cons

No complaints. I use bitbucket at work, but strictly only use github at home for short-term and long-term projects

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Github has a community. Bitbucket feels too enterprise

February 2020

Chris from Synapse Studios

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

Github is where your software should probably live

Great. We love it and will continue to use it because we don't want to manage on-prem Gitlab and because the developer tools are first rate.

Pros

We've been using Github for so long that it's almost hard to recall the dark days before proper hosted version control software. But I _do_ remember them. And they were dark indeed. SVN was a nightmare. Temperamental and difficult. Github made the Git platform accessible, friendly, and safe. Github has added so many extremely useful developer-centric features, that it just works for our flow. We manage pull requests and code reviews through Github. We've built automation and functionality on top of the Github Projects kanban board, further empowering our work. And it just works.

Cons

Nothing, really. Even having been acquired by MSFT, it's still solid software and continues to introduce new features.

October 2019

Binujaya from Sysco LABS Sri Lanka

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

New developers looking to improve

To conclude, this is great software that connects people, mostly developers to work together and improve their selves and their skills by working as a group on a specific code. Plus your code may or may not be visible to others, that is up to you. Overall, this is one of the best or maybe the best developer tools.

Pros

GitHub is a great place for developers and their projects. You can easily save your code privately or publically. The great thing here is that every developer can see your work and vice versa. That means you can help other people and they can help you if you mess something up or if your code is not working. This is a place where you can improve your skills as a developer which is an amazing thing because there are few to no software that offers you something like this. Also, you can work with your friends and colleagues and help each other out.

Cons

I don’t like that it’s not easy to use. It is complicated and if you are new to this job you will probably need a lot of time and education to the software to learn how it works. Another small thing that I don’t like is that if one person in our group doesn’t have the paid version of the software he won’t be able to see the changes that have been done, nor he will have access to the file which means that in order for him to work with us he will need to have the paid version of the software.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Best repo for open source development

Overall is a great tool to be used for OpenSource or personal projects. I've never used it on a professional environment but just to create personal/open-source projects and collaborate in others. For this purpose I think is the best you can get online for free.

Pros

Well, no need to say that is the most popular repository for open-source projects as almost every open-source or DIY project is hosted there. The reason in my humble opinion is that it offers the possibility to create a complete "site" for your project, not only being limited to a code repository and a readme file, but it also allows to create a wiki, it provides an issue reporting section, good and complete branch management interface, and so on. Personally I do like the releases section, as it allows to publicate together with the downloadable code, all the changes list, bugs fixed and so on, so you can set all needed documentation of each release in there. This is the most important stuff about the public repos and "collaboration sites" it provides. Apart from this, for private use it provides the usual stuff on version controll sites, with te pull request management section, code reviews, comments and so on. As a free repository service I think GitHub provides the best service you can find online.

Cons

Maybe the documentation on GitHub itself is a bit of a mess. Sometimes is hard to find some info on how to do stuff, especially for new users. Once you're used to it, then all goes smooth. Beside that, it lacks the possibility of doing some special git operations, for which you need to go to command line in order to perform them, but besides that minor stuff, it is a great service.

July 2019

Ankit from Lyearn

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Best version control system available

It's awesome.

Pros

* Really easy to setup new repository and get it working. * It has integrations with any popular CI/CD system, which makes it easy to use. * The compare/pull request UI is really awesome and helpful. * I liked the recently introduces security notification and "Used by" feature.

Cons

* This is really a feature request, rather than a con, We wanted branch privileges where no one can merge a specific branch to any other branch. Like the development branch cannot be merged into any other branch. Other branches can be merged into development but not vice-versa. It's possible with git-hooks but would be great to see that implemented in Github.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

Github had a nice UI and every other service provided integration with Github, which was sometimes not available with other providers.

August 2019

Wechuli from Andela

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Best Repo Hosting Product

I have used GitHub for a while and it provides almost everything I need to build software. With the plans to add a CI/CD system, it would become a complete and must-have tool in a Software Developer's life.

Pros

- Free Unlimited Private Repos - A massive online community so any issues you encounter have definitely already been solved - Notification system for Pull Requests and Security Vulnerability on your repos is to notch - Github sites for static page hosting - Fast release of additional features

Cons

- No emphasis or mature support for handling multiple repos which belong to the same project like other source code hosting providers have - No inbuilt CI/CD (Although GitHub is soon rolling out this feature)

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

- More advanced features - Developer community - Developers on the team were more familiar with the platform.

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

A Great Source Code Collaboration Platform

My overall experience with Github is very satisfactory. I have been using Github from last 4 years and using it to the max potential. I applied for Student Education Pack and it helped me with the free package which helped me in my learning. Now, I can help Open Source Communities and and also publish my code for others to contribute to and also to improve upon. Some things can be improved but the overall experience is great.

Pros

Github is an easy to learn and easy to use development platform. It provides a platform to collaborate on other's code and also open our code for collaboration from others, thus helping us making our code/app better. Also, project management is built right into the ui of Github, all the code issues and projects are there right next to projects. Also, Open Source community is largely helped by Github, which lets developers discover new projects and use these new projects as dependencies in their next projects. Thus, helping the developers community to grow. Also, Github offers a great Education plan helping students learn things without the burden of subscriptions.

Cons

Ability to collaborate on private repositories. Only 3 collaborators are allowed in free private repositories (Microsoft made it free just months ago). Pull request UI can be improved to provide more information.

November 2019

Roberto Antonio from Marketing - Brasil Crachás

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

A great version controller

It is a great version manager. I work very well in a team, without having to worry about joining the code I write with that of another person. Each team member can concentrate on their work. We can also learn from the office other projects that other programmers have done. It's great to have an almost unlimited open source library.

Pros

GitHub is a very powerful and very flexible software. It has great documentation on its use throughout the web, so I am always discovering new features. The public projects that are published in GitHub that are there are of great help to improve my performance as a programmer, the community is very active. It's fast and easy to use. With a couple of command lines it is enough to do what I want. It's great to save all the progress of the code, in addition to being able to control the versions by the branches offered by GitHub; If something goes wrong, you just have to go to the right backup. I can use unlimited repositories, so I can keep all my projects for as long as I want. The servers are very good, they work fast and never fall.

Cons

The only thing I don't like about GitHub is that its interface is very outdated and cannot be customized. It is intuitive, yes, but with colors that do not really invite you to use it without the commands.

August 2019

Bhavani from First American

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

The quickest version control tool you can implement in the market.

Overall a great experience moving to Git. Exceptional tool!

Pros

The switching over from TFS to git was a cake walk! The integration with Katalon Studio. Hence the number of tools used reduced phenomenally. Integrated git with Sourcetree so branch management for me was easy.

Cons

Initially developers had issues with the huge commits but then with sourcetree it was lot easier to manage.

June 2018

Saiichi from Self Employed

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Handle your code well, in essentially every context

Most simply, hosting code and using it in various Continuous Integration contexts.

Pros

Github does most everything I want a git repository to do and does it well. Hosts code, allows (and facilitates) collaboration, has integrations that truly add value, has issues/pull requests that make sense, hosts static webpages with little effort, and so much more. Whether you're coding for yourself, within a large company, or involved in open source projects, Github deals with all of your concerns incredibly well (trust me, I've used it for all three use cases). There hasn't been a case where Github has blocked me from doing anything I need it to do, which is much more than I can say for other software. For something as simple as hosting code, Github has managed to do a whole lot more while still keeping it all focused on one thing: writing code.

Cons

The labelling system in Github issues isn't the best. With how incredibly freeform it is, every repository has their own complex system of labels. Projects is a decent feature, but making sense of all the issues a repository has (sometimes hundreds) is just overwhelming. It ends up just being an enormous list to parse and can be stressful to manage or just to search through.

July 2018

Joseric from Maynilad Water Services, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Social Programming that works!

Software enthusiasts rejoice! Say hello to collaborative software programming and goodbye to unsaved work... GitHub helped me to work with more productivity and focused work, not worrying about losing code or keeping up-to-date with my colleagues.

Pros

I am new to this paradigm of being able to "commit" one's code and have versioning you can go back to in time... plus the fact that you can actually work collaboratively on the same project... This is really a wonderful tool for software developers and enthusiasts. The free basic version has enough features to allow you to create a project and experience its wonders for you to decide if you'd get premium. Sharing code, forking one's own version... this works at the heart of my personal Open Source projects and initiatives. The interface if pretty easy to get familiarised with. It is intuitive enough, and easy to master. It also comes easy with third-party app integrations. I use Atom for my software development projects.. and it has easy integration with it. Documentation is a breeze as well. It makes it too easy and collaborative, which makes documenting one's projects... fun. This is something that you'd rarely hear from a software geek! (We hate documenting our work! hahaha). Try this! You'll never go back to saving your code as: code_v1... code_v2... and just commit to Git!

Cons

Well.. nothing really. Maybe just a little concerned about the steep cost of having private repositories for non-pros like me... I mainly use it for personal, non-pro work. But so far, the freemium works for me.

April 2019

Samridh from TSI Incorporated

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Everyone is using it Get on It

Overall it is the perfect code and source code repository for a git platform. Since I use it under the company, I have access to all the paid version access. I love the terminal commands to perform my day to day tasks and creating backup for projects and code is so much easier and most importantly the tracking history is a no brainer go to place for everything.

Pros

As a company we have now completely migrated over to Github from prior platforms such as Visual Studio and Sourcesafe. Github has been the game changer in the software and firmware side for our company and I can confidently say I love it way more than any other thing I have used in the past. It is so much easier to push the code, manage it, have multiple collaboraters and do proper version control. I can see changes from other collaborators and comments added as well much easily and it is a very much useful place when we have multiple software and firmware engineers working on different parts of the code and performing development. Github has a large resourc, really strong search engine and if you are using Git Github would be the platform for you.

Cons

It is not as obvious to use and there is a learning curve at the beginning but I would counter it with every platform would have some sort of learning curve. One has to learn the commands and their model to integrate and make the best use of their system. The file structure and repositories can get confusing at least for me when initially just starting to use it. Basically one has to know what to do it Github and lot of googling on how to's helps a lot.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

Easy and Effective

Pros

It gives an endless flexibility to create and delete branches. Provides option for Developer to create his own branch, make changes, create pull request and tag his lead to review and its very easy to view changes made using pull request. Lead/Reviewer has option to provide his review comments , approve or reject on pull request. Developer will incorporate those comment and resubmit pull request. Closed pull requests also stay forever giving the team a flexibility to view them anytime and know the person who made the change. On the whole GIT is very nice versioning tool that helps members to version, view and track changes.

Cons

Its not a very bad thing but the merging process with various branches sometime gets tedious.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Github continually improves its features

Overall as a team, we have used GitHub to host the git repository. This has ensured secure collaboration, provided clear history about users’ activities and debugging made a lot easier. The ability to work on numerous features at once has proved to be valuable for every user in the team. The only annoying thing has been the overwhelming notifications that are not customizable.

Pros

High compatibility. Github is compatibility with most of the cloud hosting services. Flexibility, Various systems and apps can be integrated into Github through Robust API, i.e. desktop and mobile integration. Provide users with an extensive library collection for editing codes. Github continually improves its features and has the best documentation that you will never run out of content. You can access collaboration and control features like bug trafficking, wikis for projects and task management features. With Github, you will meet thousands of developers and share your experience as the platform allow users to share their code and any other information. Finally, Github offers backup for your code. As a programmer backing up your code is the most critical thing and GitHub gives the user a chance to have their backup online and access it anytime.

Cons

It has a strict command line application that requires technical knowledge to manipulate the platform. Notifications can sometimes be overwhelming and are never grouped in a customizable manner. For users who only work on their side projects, the pricing is a little bit high. Github Repository can only be used by Premium members. File size restriction. The repository can only host up to 1GB data while the file size is limited to 100mb. For success and better experience, you must have stable and fast internet.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2019

Historical and Collaborative

I start using it at school when i had projects in groups, it was the best way we all could work at the same time and keep track of changes. Now I use it in almost all my projects, personal and collaborative.

Pros

Github is an online tool thats gives the oportunity for any developer to generate online portafolios and keep track of code changes in a collaborative way. What I like the most is the symplicity of it, with online a few command in the terminal, all the work gets backed up in the cloud, giving the opportunity for anyone to access, comment and suggest better solutions. Also helps keeping some valuable metrics like downloads, views and changes.

Cons

The simplicity of it, give a tiny gap of tools that could not work. The least I like is the protocol for building a repossitory, the desktop app can crash sometimes o confuse when pushing and the configuration on the PC sometime go off.

Reasons for Choosing GitHub

I choose GitHub because of his large public and the oportunity to be fund. Also it was a solution in the cloud that let me had an online backup of everything in a simple and secure way.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 3,033 reviews