What are GitHub users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using GitHub software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.76

4,532 Reviews

5
3,458
4
916
3
63
2
3
1
1
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"It has greatly improved its bug tracking and project tracking mechanisms. It has a number of great add-ons which can help in software quality and maintenance."
  • icon"Another great benefit is that you don't have to invest for the security of the code as that is handled by Github itself."
  • icon"It has integrations with any popular CI/CD system, which makes it easy to use. The compare/pull request UI is really awesome and helpful."
  • icon"I personally was confused by pushes and pulls and was worried I was going to mess things up."
  • icon"A lot of fake and spam results come up with search very hard to filter out actual solution which makes it very time consuming."
  • icon"I hate the web interface and the difficult way to sync with a local client - The paths are confusing at times too."

Jump to:

Browse all GitHub Reviews

  • Have you used GitHub and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 4,441 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 4,441 reviews

Andrew

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: Unspecified

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

April 2021

GitHub Review: Great software service for a version control system

User Profile

Imad

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

The Leading Hosting Software Platform

I'm not too much using GitHub but his year and the previous was the first time I used as a process not just being discovering before ! After that I recognize that GitHub is the leading platform in Software management code, why ? Because Has a massive active users with huge code base and diverse software sharing process.

Pros

It's really easy and powerful to maintain and get productive every day process

Cons

Lean process and rich tools to manage the project

Reasons for choosing GitHub

Because has a large base and so powerful from all sides, for me is not the platform, I'm concerning about Git software tool to manage the code and being share online. Really work fast and every moment I enjoy my experience with it, and for sure how it is immersive because had a large communities code share and it's really useful.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Is not a switch but is just being around and still GitHub my main tool to manage my code !

User Profile

Emiliano

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

One of the best git services out there

We use it to share a repository with a Unity project (games for mobile and PC mostly), and it's really been helpful for us since our struggles to collaborate due to Unity nuances in particular, helped us to learn how to build better code that's maintainable on a team, this things are often overlooked on one-man projects. By Github being free and world renown it's quite easy that colleagues already have an account, thus making it easy for us to give them access for a code review, game-jams or collaborations in general.

Pros

Github is world renown, it's been making my life easier for years. We mainly use with colleagues or friends to work on game development projects, and it's easy to use even for non-coders since they include a Windows and MacOS GUI out of the box, and it's compatible with any git manager out there. They recently added the ability to have free private repositories, which are great.

Cons

The fork and pull request process designed to propose changes on third party repositories seems a bit troublesome to me in particular, but I understand why they did it, and I just got used to it.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

I mainly started coding on Gitlab since they've offered private repositories for free and the paid plans were cheaper, but Github updated their prices and features last year (2020), thus it made me prefer to have everything on one place. Also, Github is more advanced and robust in regards of features and security in general, I feel safer there.

Elian

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Github Review

My experience with Github has been awesome and it continues to be like so. Is very handy and I use it on my daily routine.

Pros

I mostly like the ease of use and in the same time the big hand that Github gives me and my colleagues every day to accomplish our daily tasks and be coordinated with each other.

Cons

To be honest I think that Github is the best code hosting platform and is very hard to find any disadvantage. I use it every day and I am happy.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

Ease of use and the possibility to do a lot of things like project management, task planning, versioning, collaboration, review etc.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Bitbucket was inly focused in versioning and code hosting and did not provide all those functionalities that Github offers.

Anonymous

Company size: 1 employee

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Difficult to Navigate for new users

Sign up and onboarding was easy, however, I find it frustrating to navigate the application on my own, I get overwhelmed by the environment and find myself seeking help

Pros

I was impressed with the thoughtfulness and hard work behind the product, and very fascinated with the brains that developed and programmed the code.

Cons

It is not user friendly, you would need help or dedicate hours to really understand the concept of the application. Thus. Self help is difficult, which can be frustrating for new users hoping to gain a good experience or who were recommended to the application from others.

User Profile

Tsitsi Hazel

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

GitHub Collaboration Review

It is a secure, scalable and reliable tool used to effectively manage version-control of any software, ideal for various types of code. GitHub has a wide range of capabilities and security measures.

Pros

Users can manage their time more efficiently by doing code versioning and code review. Multiple developers can stay in sync with each other and can develop their software products in collaboration with one another. Open Source software products can be created, accessed and improved publicly and developers can contribute to the Open Source project from anywhere in the world. GitHub can be used as a resume as it helps with visibility and reputation building for developers by allowing recruiters to view their interesting projects when applying for job opportunities.

Cons

The intial learning curve can be tricky for new users. Onboarding requires a bit of detail and practise with regards to cloning repositories, creating a fork/ branch, pushing changes to code and raising pull requests when getting started, but once this process is well understood, the product is easy to use.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

GitHub is more widely preferred and used by software developers globally, uses less bandwidth and provides visibility of projects for future version improvements and for recruitment.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

GitHub is a must have for source code versioning

GitHub is part of my daily life as I am a computer engineer and I have to deal source codes. GitHub not only useful for managing version control for the source code or documents, it is also very helpful for sharing code and packages, reporting and solving bugs, and collaboration.

Pros

GitHub is an excellent website for using the git version control system. The most useful feature is that your code will be available online. Therefore, if you had pushed your important changes to the website, you don't need to worry if you make some horrible changes to your code locally or even if you delete source from your computer because you can retrieve the code from GitHub anytime.

Cons

Sometimes GitHub may seem overwhelming because it has so many options and you can do a lot of things with them. It needs moderate level of learning for people to properly use GitHub.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

GitHub is more user friendly as it is based of Git and it has many cool features.

Omar Eduardo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2021

Great for teaching coding classes!

After you get past the steep learning curve, GitHub is definitely a tool that helps you be more efficient. It is an industry standard, and I would consider it a step above all of its other competitors.

Pros

I work as a software engineer for a large consulting company, but as a side job, I teach a programming class. I use GitHub to share with my students all of the sample code and slides that we work on during our classes. To me, one of the most important features is being able to work on my projects on multiple devices, than span across different operating systems. I have a two laptops (one of which is a Mac!) and a desktop computer. With GitHub, I can quickly sync my code and documents between devices and seamlessly pick up were I left off. If I ever make a mistake and need to go back to previous versions of my slides or code, I can quickly restore them with the excellent versioning features. For my students, it is very freeing knowing that every project or problem that we solve during class will be immediately available to them right after class. I helps them concentrate on learning and understanding the programs instead of having to copy everything to their computers.

Cons

The initial learning curve is high... specially if you are new to code collaboration tools. Newcomers usually spend a long time learning the git commands, and how they can solve problems. For newcomers, I would recommend the GitHub Desktop client (even if it is frowned upon by more experienced devs), to get a hang of how the branches, commits, push, pull and operations work.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

GitHub is the most reputable repository tool on the market. It uses industry standards and it is very secure. Also, it supports a wide range of programming languages, so it is ideal to host any type of open source software.

Jonahtan

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

if you are programing you need github

a very good experience; always get what I am after, solutions are easy to get, discussing data and sharing it with the team is so simple, a great way of using it for this type of project management.

Pros

Freesource code, community, serious professional people, great Internet hosting for software development company, very intuitive, easy to share data and coding, cannot recommend it enough. Amazing way for finding solutions to coding issues and easy to find a team to develop projects.

Cons

to be honest, i cannot find any cons for this software/platform, genuinely.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

much easier to use - and the team knew more about Github than any other alternatives

Reasons for switching to GitHub

much easier to use

Arun

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Awesome tool for SCM (Source code management)

A developer friendly tool which is a must for each developer. Supports all possible languages. Helps a lots in code merging and reviewing.

Pros

Developers can work on multiple projects at the same time. Supports CICD pipeline seamlessly. Data is stored on the cloud, so no need to worry about data backup.

Cons

Adding more space for data, Previewing HTML documents and Having a Jupyter app

Reasons for choosing GitHub

Github is universally trusted and provides seamless CI-CD pipeline integration.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Not intuitive yet very reliable

remote developers collaboration post covid is a must even for traditional sofware development companys nowadays

Pros

Once you get the basic knoledge of how to use it, it is extremely easy to use.

Cons

The first times you use it, it is not that easy to figure out "how to" Graphic like interfaces would be a huge plus

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Team preference lead by the senior developers in the team

Saketh Ram

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Best platform for CI/CD and Version controlling

Best VCS platform I’ve ever used

Pros

Ease of use, support of features, availability and reliability

Cons

Sometimes downtime effects performance.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

Peoples choice

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Wanted to experience the demanding features of GItHub

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

Very well organized tool

This have been the savior for many projects

Pros

How easy it is to use and the interface on the website

Cons

How it can be hard to figure out what's wrong if you use SSH encryption

Reasons for switching to GitHub

GitLab was like GitHub but more bugs plus the interface wasn't as clean

Santosh

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Excellent Developer Tool - GitHub

- The overall experience with GitHub is excellent and very satisfactory. The tool has many good features provided OOB for many customers to get go from the initial setup itself.

Pros

- The most important feature that we use at a very critical phase is the version control, creating pull requests for the developers to review the code base continuously, for continuous integration and continuous deployments for merging code and deploying code to production - The tool is very easy to use and navigate without any prior experience - The tool has very good support team to resolve any issues in the process - The tool is very widely used by enterprise companies in the market to manage the code base

Cons

- The pricing could be more reasonable as compared to the other tools in the market - The UI can be more intuitive for the users to work with - The tool can include more features in the tool that could be used by many customers instead of building custom API's and having issues in the workflows.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

- The pricing was less when compared to the other tool we choose. It did not had other integrations we are looking for.

User Profile

Fábio

Verified reviewer

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer & Network Security

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

April 2022

GitHub for devs and for security reviews

Overall, GitHub offers all main features of git in a user friendly website. Everything can be done through the interface, including creating your own static site.

Pros

GitHub is the most well known git implementation. For security reviews, GitHub offers many solid information regarding source code commits. It is easy to search for a new source code change on both command line and GUI, making it easier to detect new changes and potential vulnerable code. It also is easy to understand what was changed to the source code after a security fix, allowing for easy comprehension of the implementation.

Cons

Since it is an implementation of git, the learning curve of more complex commands and features is very steep. The average user will only use the basic features (like git clone, which downloads a copy of the repository to the local machine, or git pull/git commit, which will publish the changes to the remote repository), but when trying to use the more complex features (like merging, purging code, reverting a state) it can be time consuming to learn.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

More developers use GitHub

emil

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

An assortment of undertakings for associating with GitHub

We have proactively expounded a lot on the way that to track down a solid engineer, normal obtaining assets are not exceptionally supportive: top designers don't look effectively for new positions and don't utilize ordinary work sheets or LinkedIn. You should utilize specific destinations to track down top tech ability. So how might one track down a designer nowadays? Programming engineers can be found on the stages where the IT people group shares coding tips, works together and gains from one another.

Pros

Administrator takes your code and changes it into a powerful, dispersed pipeline. You can keep on utilizing your current devices, dialects, foundation, and contents. Official forms a rich DAG structure, however such that regards positive designing and doesn't repress it. You can utilize Prefect's useful API to change scripts with insignificant snares; or you can get to the conceded computational diagram straightforwardly; or any blend thereof. It depends on you.

Cons

GitHub is dead-easy to use in the fundamental list of capabilities. The arrangement is negligible and all forming observes guidelines and so forth We had no issues setting up access for different clients and when private archives opened up even in the complementary plan it was an easy decision. Githubs Actions region large assistance - when set up appropriately and can assist with computerizing errands like sending more than a few servers. It is an exceptionally useful asset, however perhaps more convoluted to arrangement then in other comparative products.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

With regards to working, I focus on my qualities and client stories regardless of anything else. Keeping that in mind, I've set up a progression of pre-run runs to plan and facilitate explicit conditions inside the setting of PI arranging ages and client stories. Accumulation Refinements empowers us to tweak our preparation collectively, and we have the choice of setting off individual client stories to run after the past run. This actually intends that while we'll be working rapidly, we'll have the option to prepare of time.

Dandre

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Law Practice

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Essential to every developer

Overall great experience, for bot myself and my team.

Pros

Github is secure, promotes collaboration and is free for the most part. The core features of git is free and for further more "niche" features you can get enterprise. Github is great to go and check how you dependencies work in projects that you use and to see anything from issues to versions related to the source code

Cons

One (I want to say annoying) thing is that all the repositories is stored in one place. I would love to just be able to separate personal projects with fun projects and shared projects with the use of a folder structure. Also difficult to get a hold of GitHub documentation, i found myself learning trough Youtube videos instead of practicing from a document page (I am sure there is but i could not find it)

Reasons for choosing GitHub

Free to use. Secure and popular.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Licenses are expensive and limits the number of members in our team.

Jakub

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Design

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2022

Github Action solves automation issues

Generally it is ok. The usage is simple. Connection 3rd party apps to GitHub works well but not out of the box. Sometimes there was an encoding issue when using 3rd party apps to push changes - but they were probably client issues rather then GitHubs.

Pros

GitHub is dead-simple to use in the basic feature set. The setup is minimal and all versioning follows standards etc. We had no issues setting up access for other users and once private repositories became available even in the free tier it was a no-brainer. Githubs Actions area big help - when set up properly and can help automate tasks such as deployment over several servers. It is a very powerful tool, but maybe more complicated to setup then in other similar produts.

Cons

The product management additions seemed as a good idea first, but rendered unusable (for us) since it people (devs) tend to use one app for versioning in command line and other apps for tracking and reporting. Comically joining them was not well received. The GitHub desktop app can cause authentification issues for non experienced users.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

Userbase and pricing (can be free) for organizations.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

GitHub seems to be used by a broader userbase. We wanted to fit in easier. Plus the private repos became available in free tier. Until then BitBucket was the better choice. GitHub actions help a lot in CI/CD.

Charles Boampong

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

The best project management tool for software developers.

We're currently building an advanced Learner Management System and the workflow and collaboration via GitHub is so rewarding.

Pros

Our team of web developers live in different geographical locations but GitHub offers us the best environment to meet, collaborate and manage projects. It offers modern tools that help developers to work remotely and yet be more effective and productive than if they were to work in one physical location. It is the number 1 platform that I'd recommend for every web/software developer. The ability to track all the changes you make during the lifecycle of any project and it's flexibility to allow other team members to make their contributions to the project is so cool.

Cons

Not any that's affecting our projects yet.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

It appeared to have more positive reviews.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Someone recommended GitHub to us because of the few hitches that we were experiencing that time.

Masoud

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Secure, innovative and feature rich, a competitor to all other providers

I cannot imagine working without GitHub, to be honest. I appreciate that there are many other alternatives these days but GitHub to me is the industry standard that makes developer jobs a lot easier and manageable.

Pros

When you think about source code management you'd think of GitHub straight away. The security is taken seriously on GitHub and the CLI has made using it super simple and convenient from the comfort of your terminal. The offering of integrations with different DevOps tools is a must-have these days that you'd get out of the box with GitHub. Another important factor that makes GitHub stand out is its reliability which in the entire time that I've used it has always been available and has never been down. GitHub has not stopped innovating new features and improving their services after all these years and it's amazing to see that they offer a new feature frequently.

Cons

I'd love to see a feature-rich mobile app from GitHub to allow managing the repositories easier and more practical on small screen devices.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

I believe GitHub is more reputable between developers and more reliable compared to other competitors.

User Profile

Amitava

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Goto Source control for software developers

Pros

I've been using GitHub for more than 10 years. It is the goto hosted Git service for my personal and enterprise SCM platform. It has pretty much everything you need for software development starting from source code management to issue tracking, project management, build tools (Actions) and online code editor. I also use GitHub CoPilot which is great productivity tool saving at least 30% of my development time every day.

Cons

There are no complains really! I love everything about GitHub.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

Better offerings, free plan is less limiting and better and faster UI.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

I find GitHub much better product, better offerings in terms of features and user experience.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

GitHub - the industry standard but could use some interface help

Overall it's made our work so much easier I can't even explain. Back when we used Subversion for code management, version control was a total disaster. Now we use Git and GH for managing our entirely cloud-based infrastructure, and it's a dream. Git works smoothly with GH, and GH makes our code available wherever we need it: AWS, Slack, wherever. GH is kind of like putting your code on wireless headphones -- now you can walk around wherever you need it, and it's there with you.

Pros

GitHub is the industry default for code management with Git. If you use Git, you probably already know and use GitHub to keep your various repos safe and in the cloud. It integrates with absolutely every DevOps tool and system under the sun. And probably also the text editor you are working in. And probably also the communication tool you are using -- Jira, Slack, whatever. All of them talk to GitHub. Its help pages are the best in the business too. And it seemingly never goes down. We depend on it the way we depend upon electricity being in the wall socket.

Cons

Unfortunately, the UI on GitHub is far from ideal. I use GH every single day, yet I still often find myself struggling to figure out where to find what I KNOW is in there. The Go to File button -- not sure why that is always hard to find. How to pull up a list of all the commits for a particular branch? Why is it that tiny little 'commits' button? It's like there are 3 or 4 different subnavs on the site -- each of which has its own logic, but it's not intuitive which one you should be looking at to figure out what you're supposed to be clicking on. It feels like somebody with real UI chops could figure out how to help GitHub take all the awesome features they have unleashed and put them into a more sensible layout. I hate feeling stupid, yet I often do when looking to find something in GH.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

It felt (and still feels) like these other products are aimed at niche markets that have very particular needs. What we want is something that is powerful, simple, just works, and can integrate wherever we want it. GitHub has solved that for us since day one.

Reasons for switching to GitHub

Once we moved to Git, it was obvious that GitHub was the place to be. Back in those days it was the only real option.

Anonymous

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2022

If home is where your code is, Github is my home

I have used GitHub personally and professionally for over a decade. I use it primarily for work, but I have also used it to contribute to open source projects in my free time. I have found many amazing projects that I use regularly in my work and in my programming related hobbies.

Pros

Git hub gives you options to manage your code. I like that I can use the command line to interact with git, but I can also use the GitHub desktop application, or the plugin for my IDE of choice: Atom, or the plugin for my colleagues' IDE of choice: VS Code, or any number of other apps. The pull request merge workflow is also wonderful in that it allows code inspection and comparison. Minor edits can even be made on the GitHub website and will become part of the regular git history. GitHub actions allow us to do things like run unit tests and check a test build before approving code for merging to the main branch. My absolute favorite part about GitHub is that it allows me to collaborate and contribute to projects that are not directly under my organization's control, but part of the open source community.

Cons

Honestly, there is not much I dislike about GitHub. My biggest complaints about it are more related to the choices my organization has made around using GitHub. I would like to use GitHub for issue tracking and project management, but we have contracts with other paid tools that offer roughly the same functionality. If I had one request for a better user experience it would be to improve the quality and capability to search for code within a specific repository. The feature exists, but it feels primitive and very basic. I want to be able to search through version history and have better search matches (instead of fuzzy matches). Better search tools would make GitHub even more useful.

User Profile

Luis Carlos

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

I can't see myself working without it

I've used GitHub for more than 8 years now. It is my old reliable tool for source control and almost anyone that uses it will probably have the same opinion.

Pros

GitHub is probably the single most important tool in our development team. Everything you can think about source control tools it does it and does it well. We have a lot of integrations hooked to it, so it also helps us with more than source control. Besides of that, it is easy to use and being almost universal at this point it means we usually don't have to train new developers on how to use it.

Cons

Nitpicking here, but the mobile version might improve a bit. I know code review is something you usually don't do on a phone, but some emergency happens from time to time and you just need to approve / request something and those little interactions could be easier. Still, that's the only thing and it is incredibly far from being a deal breaker.

Reasons for choosing GitHub

GitHub is easier to deploy across the organization. Plus, almost everybody already knows how to use it, so it saves a lot of time on adapting to it.

Fayeba

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Media Production

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

The best source controller

We use Github to keep up with our private stage code storehouses, that our group utilizes, just as our open source repos to fabricate the local area, which is a main consideration for us picking Github. In contrast to different contenders, Github has zeroed in on its center contribution of source code the executives and simple joint effort, and along these lines, stayed away from superfluous stage weight. For groups where keeping awake to date with the open source world is a need or a benefit, Github is undoubtedly awesome, given moving issues and repos are incredibly instructive. Local area support is likewise much better with Github

Pros

Commonality is the principal word that rings a bell, for a little, quick yield group. We needed to zero in on conveyance, not the cycle and Github gave what we really wanted - source code the board, cooperation, project the executives the most straightforward, and the least expensive. While its rivals like Bitbucket have tried to focus on the undertaking business sector and spotlight for enormous scope corporate tasks, Github is significantly more little group amicable as there's no additional stuff of sorting out the stage, and rather, we can simply zero in on doing what we came to do. Github activities fit our assemble needs genuinely well, and coordination with arrangements like Netlify for CI-CD was a breeze. Venture the executives is basic and simple. The open source well disposed guideline helps in simple admittance to new and coming code content lined up with our inclinations to investigate and use in our own applications and items, something that needs other SCM items

Cons

A reliable documentation framework like Confluence would be truly useful. As groups develop bigger, they shift to elective arrangements since Github needs more usefulness to oversee assignments and code across the bigger group, which can be changed by getting highlights and working on existing ones. Incorporation backing can be extended rather than keeping it restricted to inhouse items.

Showing 1 - 25 of 4,441 reviews
GitHub

GitHub

4.76/5 out of 4,532 reviews
PriceDemo