All HiveDesk Reviews

1-25 of 26 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Jeff

Verified reviewer

Printing, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Perfect for Our Business

Our experience with Hivedesk has been stellar and in fact we have recommended it to many of our clients as well. We have a large contracted services footprint and many clients have asked us how we manage it and we have told them of Hivedesk. We love the ease of use and simplicity of the client and interface.

PROS

It is extremely easy to use and very user friendly and intuitive. My work from home staff never have an issue with it, it has never affected our system or our operation and works quietly and reliably in the background. As the work from home manager, I find the reporting easy to generate. We don't need a complex system and Hivedesk gives us the information we need without a lot of clutter to effectively manage our remote staff.

CONS

There are only a few minor issues. One, when installing, the client itself is easy to install but you usually have to update your Java on almost every new install. Hivedesk does provide a link to update Java when needed which is nice, but it has to be done on most installs. Secondly, while there response through the intercom message system is fast and very effective, it would be nice if they had a live support or customer service number.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Crucial to managing a team of hourly remote workers.

PROS

Hivedesk allows us to manage remote workers in multiple time zones and locations. One of the challenges with having remote workers is you don't have the same ability to see they are actually working as you do with in office workers. We use a number of hourly freelance workers and Hivedesk gives us screenshots shots and activity rates to ensure they are working the hours they are billing us for. Its not something we monitor all the time, but rather use as a tool when we think there is a performance issue.

CONS

We have had the occasional setup issue, but this is usually resolved quickly.

MATHEW

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

Value for money product

PROS

Tracking developer's time and productivity. Also the random screenshots.

CONS

The speed at which the reports are generated is very slow. Overall admin reports can be improved.

Luis

Computer & Network Security, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Tracking time with HiveDesk

We have been using HiveDesk for more than two years, they have improved the features and interface to make it more user friendly.

PROS

It is a great tool to tracking time, it is affordable and easy to implement.

CONS

Some features are not easy to find, like changing work sessions.

Dave

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Keeps Honest People Honest

In today's world, remote work is a given. We use this software to handle those challenges. We tried a lot of the competitors and for many reasons hivedesk won. Plus, team loves their support. Fast and attentive.

PROS

We love hivedesk. It allows us to track peoples use and find areas of weakness. Their price level is perfect for us and we love their reporting.

CONS

The one report I want they don't have. We have a request in, but we have not gotten it. Outside of that, very impressed with solution!

Andrew

Financial Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Excellent Program

I often work remotely and the program allows me to easily check my employees hours for the week and address any concerns. If employees active time is low I can determine why by the screenshot feature and address with the employees any concern I have about their work product.

PROS

This software is fantastic for tracking hours. It also does a great job of determining how active employees are with their work with the active time feature. It has other features that allows you to check in on your employees (in house or remote), if needed.

CONS

No negative feedback. The program provides everything promised and more and is easy to navigate!

Raul

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2019

HiveDesk Review

Good.

PROS

Able to track remote resources, view screenshots and create timesheets in one place.

CONS

Had situations where sessions or session comments are not being logged. Although we receive support for this issue the resource still have the same issue occasionally. We wish logged hours would be against tasks as opposed as against projects. We wish there would be reports using tasks as opposed as projects.

Keileigh

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2019

Hive Desk

PROS

Affordability and user friendly. A great option for thr cost

CONS

Support takes a while to respond if needed

Ryan

Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Reliable, accurate and effective solution for remote employees

It's an effective and reliable solution for remote workers. I have not had to worry about anything since setting it up.

PROS

Accuracy Ease of use Flexible with Useful Options Pricing

CONS

I would say that it would be useful to have the full list of screenshots for a session open in lightbox right from the project page, rather than clicking into the session first.

Ashlee

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2023

Hivedesk Review

PROS

Ease of monitoring employee productivity.

CONS

I have not found any Cons to Hivedesk thus far.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed February 2019

Hivedesk

PROS

It is easy to use and it has functionality that we need. Customer support is great.

CONS

Inability for the admin to move hours from project to another. It is difficult to zoom in and out the snapshots. When a user runs a report to verify his time, it is not possible to sort by time. WE had a lot of problems with the client app.

Annette

Online Media, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Finally found something I like

My subcontractors love it, I love it It’s a win/win for all of us.

PROS

It is very intuitive and easy to navigate

CONS

I would appreciate a 1099 feature so that all I have to do is hit a button and it would calculate the form and have it filled out with my subcontractor’s information and total paid for the year.

Patrick

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed November 2020

A contender in the crowded space of employee work management

One of the first employee tracking software I ever used and I compare all the latest programs to HiveDesk. It is a definite contender in this space.

PROS

Easy to use as the most important thing for time tracking is making sure that the program keeps track at a click of a button.

CONS

Lots of resistance from co-workers when this time of software is introduced and the whole taking pictures of your screen doesn't really show much if your co-workers aren't programmers and spend all day looking at a CRM.

Bryan

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Useful aplication

It works it is not my favorite but i have tried quite a few other products and hive desk works for me it is better than some of its competitors for sure

PROS

I actually use it alot staff and i use it everyday and it gets the job done

CONS

It is resource heavy my computer seems to be slower when it is running. Also the website is so annoying it logs you out like every 5 minutes of inactivity so everytime i work on it generating reports i have to log back in between format my report in excel then generating another report on hivedesk

Karina

E-Learning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Excelent experience

It helped me a lot in my small business because it helped me see when they were working and the screenshots of their computer helped me a lot to show my supervisor what they have been working on etc.

PROS

It is very easy to use, I don't have to explain much to my workers about how to use it and when I add tasks my works get a notification right away.

CONS

I wish I could get a notification whenever they are connect or check in or when they check out. Maybe a chat online between workers would be good

Mike

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Consulting Management Use

PROS

Easy to use. I can use it to bring in client feedback so the team can use it. I like that I can put the project links into our dashboard on Google Sheets

CONS

Their is no overall dashboard that makes it easy to see at a glance the health of projects. There is no tracking of progress on tasks. Ideally would want it to be a hybrid of project management with the task details that Basecamp already has.

Steven

Legal Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Great Software!

PROS

The ease of signing up and implementing the software.

CONS

Having to set up "groups" to put people in - it would be easier if you could just add staff members to the software without having to set up an entire group.

Brook

Executive Office, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY