User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(6)

6

4 stars

(11)

11

3 stars

(0)

0

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Very helpful to track coding day, number of story points completed"

  • "I've long been an advocate of knowing metrics for agile practices; beyond burndown percentages. Jellyfish surfaces this data and helps me prove that teams are becoming more efficient over time. "

  • "Jellyfish really is good at a doing a lot of things. I primarily use it to help track my own velocity and ensuring quality of stories in our backlog. It's great at visualizing those things."

  • Cons

  • "Need more reports that pull the data from JIRA"

  • "It's no con on the part of Jellyfish, but these metrics could be used poorly or abused."

  • "lack of User configuration to create custom reports"

Browse Jellyfish Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -33 of 17 results

December 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Powerful Tool to view your teams

Pros

Ability to get enhanced reports into sprint metrics over the month/quarter

Cons

Sometimes tricky to drill down into how things like carryover are being labeled

December 2020

Michael from Stardog

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

Good software for understanding how Engineering and Product come together

It's been great so far. It was a slow start for us because we also had to transition to using Jira rather than Github issues, but as we've finalized processes, we're starting to have a nice trove of data to help with planning and facilitate discussions amongst engineering leadership and with the product organization.

Pros

I appreciate that it gives a more product-centric view to engineering output. Rather than focusing on reducing engineers down to an abstract number making opaque claims about individual impact, Jellyfish looks more holistically at what engineering is working on, how it ties back to roadmap and higher level goals, and really helps understand where time is being spent.

Cons

The individual developer metrics are not very useful. I would be fine with not having them, but as it is, we don't use them so it's kind of clutter in the interface.

Reasons for Switching to Jellyfish

A variety of reasons, but primarily because GitPrime was focused developer metrics only, most of which were opaque, and failed to provide any insight into the larger picture of how well engineering was performing its role of building a product. Further, it provided little actual insight into how well developers were performing. We found that it's metrics were generally unreliable and their entire model was generated with a biased sample of projects. GitPrime post acquisition by Pluralsight

December 2020

Evgeny from ThriveMarket

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Gets the job done

Pros

Provides data and information necessary to perform my work in a convenient method

Cons

UI isn't intuitive and requires addl. research before using. Navigation isn't intuitive either.

December 2020

Meghan from SessionM

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Plug and Play analytics that custom fit your business

Wonderful customer services, not only supporting our needs, but also providing their own experience to help solve our business use cases. Again, really pleased we have a solution that allows for effort tracking without requiring time tracking. Additionally to reiterate the plug and play reality of this software is wonderful. You have the option to customize to fit your business needs, yet still getting business value data right away just by looking at existing tools.

Pros

The tool allows for allocation of effort spent, allowing a business to understand effort without time tracking. Rolling that data up into business value data points. Additionally, we were able to plug this into our existing ticket tracking system, and begin to see the analytics right away.

Cons

The user experience takes time to learn. The negative is both pro and con because there is SO MUCH data available, its difficult to best know how you'd pack that into an easier UI.

September 2020

Bill from CloudZero

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2020

Jellyfish is a great entry in this crowded space

It's been very good so far. It was easy to setup, easy to start using and within the first week I was using it as the basis of communications and presentations I had to give both to my group and to my leadership.

Pros

I love how Jellyfish has an opinionated view that the metrics that matter for an engineering team should be ones that help you understand what value your organization is working on and shipping, not just what individuals are doing on a given day. That allows me to use Jellyfish in a more strategic way than some of the other tools in this space I've previously tried.

Cons

It's still a somewhat new product, the UI took me a little getting use to because there were so many different types of data and ways to access it. I liked the breadth and depth of data about my organization they had, but I look forward to them tweaking how it's presented in the future.

December 2020

Anvesh from Eagleview

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

Amazing Product for the Organisation productivity

Pros

User friendly, Good team reports, Ease to use.

Cons

Need more reports that pull the data from JIRA

December 2020

Kevin from Nextech

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Jellyfish Review

Overall great experience and helpful tool for managing teams.

Pros

Easy to use dashboards that provide information to manage teams. Love the ability to drill down for details. Well organized.

Cons

Needs better documentation and online help to understand what some of the information is. Would like more features to drill down on code to know what areas of the code base are hotspots, and features to help support forecasting of work.

December 2020

Kaynen from Acquia, Inc.

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Great Software

Pros

Jellyfish really is good at a doing a lot of things. I primarily use it to help track my own velocity and ensuring quality of stories in our backlog. It's great at visualizing those things.

Cons

There is a fairly steep learning curve. I feel as if training is vital to be able to use the product well. I also believe that having consistency across an organization is important as well.

December 2020

Colin from Bluecore

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Powerful agile tool, still incorporating data into my reports

It's good. It has all of the raw data and it's just a matter of getting alignment on using this in our company reporting.

Pros

I've long been an advocate of knowing metrics for agile practices; beyond burndown percentages. Jellyfish surfaces this data and helps me prove that teams are becoming more efficient over time.

Cons

I think a lot of this is on me, I'm not incorporating data from Jellyfish into my professional goals/OKRs. There is a long process of buy-in at my company and this is slowing a greater embrace of Jellyfish data.

Reasons for Choosing Jellyfish

You can hack this in Looker, but it's a good chunk of work.

December 2020

Jonathan from Agari Data

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Very insightful

Pros

Jellyfish provides visibility into almost anything that can be measured or counted about my teams' output, as recorded in Github and Jira. All these different measures have to be taken in context to be of any value, but Jellyfish supports building a picture by offering quick navigation into and across different metrics and ways of aggregating them.

Cons

It's no con on the part of Jellyfish, but these metrics could be used poorly or abused.

December 2020

Pedro from Salsify

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

The most complete Engineering Analytics tool

My experience has been great os far. The product is very useful and the customer support is brilliant.

Pros

This engineering analytics tool closes the gap between engineering and the executives because it makes the translation of the engineering activity into business metrics/language. That is super helpful for any company to understand its operation efficiency and where to improve.

Cons

Although the product is quite complete I would like to have more indicators (business and engineering).

December 2020

Ibi from Parallel Wireless

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Using Jellyfish for SW Release Program Management

Satisfied user

Pros

JIRA Issues, Epics, etc. data mining and ease of use

Cons

lack of User configuration to create custom reports

December 2020

Chad from Absorb LMS

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Great product to keep a pulse on the team

Pros

- The high-level project overview provides insight into where the team has been focusing their efforts - Provides a deep-dive into metrics for individual contributors paving the way for constructive feedback

Cons

- In comparison to competing products it is missing some IC metrics (risk, churn, impact etc.) - the tool is more focused on throughput metrics, and doesn't analyze code commits to determine the "fuzzier" context.

December 2020

Luis from Fuze

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

Gives you what you put in to it

Pros

Easy to partition raw data and splice it into useful formats once you get over the initial setup hurdle.

Cons

Easy to forget that the results you get are heavily skewed by the way your teams work with Jira. You get what you put in to it, and if you don't keep that in mind, you'll make decisions based on wrong assumptions. This is more a critique of the philosophy of the product than the product itself though.

December 2020

Alan from Mojio

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Get visibility to your engineering

Pros

The integration into GitHub and JIRA work well to give a high level view and well as the ability to deep dive on organization work. I particularly like the ability to see allocation per projects/areas.

Cons

Sometimes the detail get too detailed too fast. High level is great but it feels like the product could do with a mid-level of insights.

December 2020

Joseph from Nextech System

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2020

Love the idea behind it

Pros

Love the idea behind it. Great way to help evaluate how teams and individuals are performing in comparison to each other.

Cons

Would like easy dashboards to compare teams and team members to each other

December 2020

Narendra from Acquia

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Amazing software

Pros

Very helpful to track coding day, number of story points completed

Cons

Software is slow and laggy. Takes lots of time to load.