All Kanban Tool Reviews

1-25 of 153 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Isaiah

Verified reviewer

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Kanban Tool user of 5 years

My overall experience has been good, quick setup, customization, and the support group was very responsive to any challenges I experienced with the product.

PROS

When I became a project manager, I originally discovered Kanban Tools and wanted a visual way of tracking small sub-projects with short life cycles. It was easy to set up and adjust to the project's demands.

CONS

Today, I can't think of any cons, as most of them have been worked out. However, I will suggest more ideas to improve Kanban Tools with continued use.

Reason for choosing Kanban Tool

Kanban Tools met my primary goal of visual tracking with the flexibility to adjust the tasks boxes and swim lanes.

Reasons for switching to Kanban Tool

Excel was just too rigid and non-visual. My engineering colleagues were using Excel to track tasks of a project that I despise.

Alex

Information Technology and Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Excellent Light-to-Medium Weight Tool

I love this tool. It's exactly what I need, and customization is a breeze. If you're new to task boards and/or have a smaller, simpler team or workflows, start with this before you dive into the deep end with Atlassian or other products, especially if your focus is more on "seeing the big picture" than keeping a detailed log of work across a large number of team members

PROS

It does everything I need from a Kanban Board out of the box, does so intuitively, and does not get bogged down in optimizations/extra features. However, if you want them, they're easy to implement.

CONS

It feels more like it was designed and documented by engineers rather than sales staff, and its no-frills design is a big selling point for me, but others may disagree. It's "simple out of the box, opt-in to additional features" also means a little more upfront configuration, but I still think it's good design. A few minor nice-to-have features (colored tags, saving multiple filtered views) might be missing or paywalled, but I haven't explored all the possibilities in their documentation yet.

Reason for choosing Kanban Tool

Free out of the box use of swimlanes, expand/collapse swimlanes and columns, easy filters, splitting columns into sub-columns, expanding width of columns to be more than 1-card wide, etc. A lot of the clever visualization ideas I've seen in books like "Making Work Visible" and "Personal Kanban" are possible here that would be impossible or a nightmare to configure in other products I've tried.

Soumalya

Information Technology and Services, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

Kanban Board

Better than Leankit board or other project management tools on licensing and management perspective

PROS

Organized way of managing cards dedicated board and proper lanes More controlled way of Moving cards More scalability to add subtasks and metrics

CONS

Its not very intuitive in designing Should be more user centric on access level

Reasons for switching to Kanban Tool

More robust and scalable

Michael

Education Management, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2022

Excellent Tool for the Size

So far having used Jira for almost two decades, this tool is refreshing in its lightness and simplicity. This is not sacrificed in feature or function just overhead and noise which is appreciated. I find it very helpful for my own personal use and management of family and work projects in parallel to at work tools that are exclusive to enterprise tasks and hard to privatize.

PROS

I like that the interface is clean and fluid. The core features as compared with a much larger tool like Jira is there and functions equally well and, in some cases, better. The product is light, able to maintain a single interface without too many page changes taking you out of the element. It has potential for growth, but it doesn't try to replicate Jira which is a plus.

CONS

There isn't something that I don't like per se, just perhaps unable to test since I am on the free tier. The fact that they have a free tier is a plus. Some of the desired features lacking in free tier feel like they should be included. The function of some powerups are hard to understand as they are not explained. When you do activate them, it is not readily clear how they should work, better onboarding would be welcome. The right column where the calendar, recurring and postponed tasks are located are fixed in size and not fluid, so if you have more in one and less in others, you have a ton of wasted space.

Reason for choosing Kanban Tool

I like the best balance of feature and simplicity with the lightweight approach that fit my personal needs.

Trineka

Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

Excellent

I can't believe how user friendly Kanban Tool is. We have used the physical Kanban board in the past, but using it online is great when one of us is offsite, we can easily check or add to our boards.

PROS

Having completed the Agile Foundation Course a few years ago, the Kanban Tool was a real find. It is quick, effective and good use of both our time. We have a quick 'stand-up' every day to look at the board and what each of us have added. We love the fact it is easy to move tasks around, add check lists, due dates and new boards and assign tasks to each other.

CONS

It may just be a feature I haven't discovered, but I would like to make the actual board wider across the page.

Reason for choosing Kanban Tool

We had completed the Agile Foundation course a couple of years ago and have introduced Kanban throughout the school to other teams. So discovering this online version was a real find!

Reasons for switching to Kanban Tool

Being a school, we were looking to cut costs and were very happy to find Kanban Tool.

Richard

Financial Services, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Kanban Tool For Mortgage Brokerage

I have spent 6 months looking for a cost effective Kanban tool. I have tried multiple CRM systems and Kanban tools throughout all of which have appeared overly complex, daunting and off putting without ever really giving me what I need as a sole trader. Kanbans flexibility, affordable low monthly cost and system functionality is perfect for me as a mortgage broker. I would gladly (and have) recommended this to other colleagues in the industry.

PROS

Easy to Use Quick to Set up Reminders linked to email and outlook calendar Personalisation features allow this to meet the needs of my business Multiple Boards available Future dated reminders for product renewals can be set.

CONS

Email task reminders take you direct to the clients card however sometimes for a client I can have multiple tasks so having the email specific to the task that is due that day would save time reviewing your clients card to establish which task is due on that given day.

Reason for choosing Kanban Tool

Ease of use. Ability to personalise cards ABility to have multiple boards Cost

User Profile

Ryan

Verified reviewer

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2023

Ease of use and functionality

Overall positive so far. It provides me with the fundamental pieces that I need to implement Agile practices into my business to stay on top of things.

PROS

The initial setup was easy as I was looking for a simple Kanban tool that I could integrate into my business quickly and with little cost.

CONS

The navigation was less intuitive than I expected at first, but learning the flow was not difficult.

Reasons for switching to Kanban Tool

While I liked the Atlassian product line, at the time I was not using all the features and needed something slimmer and faster for just the Kanban board.

User Profile

Mariano

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Flexible and intuitive tool

Use in combination with Todoist, combining it through Zapier. This way I have the best of both worlds and I manage the work using few resources.

PROS

Execute well the metaphor of physical panel on the wall with all the power of online tools.

CONS

It is necessary to be organized not to overturn too much information and that the boards do not become unmanageable.

Reason for choosing Kanban Tool

Because he lacks the tools to measure work.

Reasons for switching to Kanban Tool

Trello lacks the tools to measure the progress of the work.

Courtney

Biotechnology, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

Simple and Effective

PROS

The software is easy to use and intuitive. I was able to easily set up a project board for myself and my team to manage several ongoing projects, include the dependencies, and have a quick visual available for team meetings. The software does not feel like it creates additional work just to track work, which is a bonus. Reoccurring tasks stay to the side, not cluttering the board with redundancy. Exporting due dates to the calendar allows for an additional safety check to not miss anything important.

CONS

Reoccurring tasks do not populate to Outlook, would be a great addition. Along the same lines, for reoccurring tasks, the ability to have them occur on a specific day instead of just date (i.e. the 3rd Monday of the month, instead of having to choose 14th of the month).

Reason for choosing Kanban Tool

Kanban Tool has been more intuitive and simple to work with.

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Kanban

PROS

I love this software because I can take control yo my projects without forgets any tasks

CONS

At this moment I can't find something I don't like. Good software for sure

Reasons for switching to Kanban Tool

Collaboration and possibility to see in my phone

Luis

Computer & Network Security, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Pure Kanban

We were using other systems to track our projects, we tried several and our associates didn't identify themselves with any of them, we try it all, time managers, other online tools, none worked until we found out Kanban Tool, since the beginning we fell in love with the tool, they are tracking their work better than ever before, now they don't feel pressured or intimidated by the tools is easy simple take them seconds to track their work and overall we are happy campers.

PROS

The clean and intuitive user interface, it's really easy to feed and get information from the system, the personalization is great to, having your own domain, simplifies integration with internal systems, for us security is very important because we manage sensitive projects for our customers and Kanban Tool complies with our requirements like SSO, 2FA and user roles. The customization features are great too, you can start working with the system out of the box and once you are immerse in the daily activities you can customize the system to fit your needs it has lots of options at your disposal.

CONS

I think small business should have high quality options to start, it would be great that the free version had at least a 4 users for free, but well I understand is a business too

Reason for choosing Kanban Tool

We tried it and it had all we were looking for, like easy creating of tasks, drag and drop, colors, customizations, reminders, we can check from our desktop computers or mobile devices, calendar dependencies, customizations, etc., etc.

Reasons for switching to Kanban Tool

I wouldn't mention other brands because I think everyone is trying their best but for us Kanban Tool is exactly what we needed, easy, fast, neat, efficient.

User Profile

Ibrahim

Verified reviewer

Business Supplies and Equipment, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

Kanban Tool Review

PROS

One of the most valuable aspects of Kanban Tool is the ability to have a consolidated view of everyone's tasks on a single board, which not only streamlines project management but also facilitates the efficient allocation of new tasks as needed. This centralized visibility promotes enhanced collaboration, enables better task prioritization, and simplifies the process of assigning new responsibilities to team members, ultimately contributing to improved productivity and project success.

CONS

While it's effective for task management and project tracking, it can be costly, challenging to access support, and has a steep learning curve.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2021

A great tool for taking the lessons from the software development world into other domains.

PROS

When working as software development manager with multiple teams juggling many priorities and interruptions, I found the Kanban methodology extraordinarily beneficial in helping to organize multiple complex work streams. This affordable Kanban tool provides the same benefits for managing my personal affairs and volunteer organization commitments, by helping me easily break down often daunting/unpleasant epics into manageable chunks and defining the custom workflow I need to most effectively actually progress/accomplish them.

CONS

No shortcomings yet for my use but will update if I uncover any.

Reasons for switching to Kanban Tool

I wanted the benefits of a visual board.

Kyle

Management Consulting, 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Great tool. Better than trello

PROS

I like that I can use it on a touch screen. That is a key feature for me.

CONS

I think the ui could be improved. It is a little outdated.I also want the ability to do reocurring cards every other week or every 3 weeks. I would like to have a card reoccur and also set a due date so many days after it reoccurs.

Reasons for switching to Kanban Tool

Trello didnt work well on a touch screen

Simone

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Effective tool to master your personal and team productivity

The overall experience is fantastic because you can take note of every activity and make it done for sure! Also it's funny to move cards and customize their colour, the visual impact is actually helping your work. Finally a word must be said on Support Service: they are very professional!

PROS

The flexibility in task organisation, swim lanes are fantastic to group related tasks. The possibility to add details, files, checklists, is great! Also remainders and priority&due dates are very useful.

CONS

The software is free only for 2 users, this limitation is quite strict.

Anonymous

10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2017

Very efficient

Kanban tool does what it claims to be best at facilitating smooth team collaboration in an easy, no-nonsense way. Love the new design they've brought out, love the ease of creating new projects, love the maintenance-free time tracking, love their quick support team.

PROS

This is probably one of the 3 easiest to get to know applications I have come across.

CONS

Not the best mobile support, I'm afraid.

Mary Grace

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Efficient Kanban Tool

PROS

I love using this tool because I can easily manage and track the status of my projects. It helps to my team to update their assignments from time to time.

CONS

Limited user for the free version. A little bit expensive but worth it for the organizations to make it better.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2018

I used this with a small startup in the Philippines and it worked well.

An easy visual for a team that spoke two different languages. There were also members of the sales team that had very minimal experience with project management requirements, documentation, and technology as a whole. The visual ease of this tool created less stress and everyone knew what expectations were required yesterday, today, and tomorrow. What held them up, what actions they had that held others in limbo, and of course the ability to celebrate in unison when the team accomplished a goal.

PROS

Language and cultural differences didn't slow down the learning of the team. The visual ease of the tool is phenomenal. Recording important files, checklists, due dates, and handoffs became very smooth.

CONS

There were older execs on the board that still preferred to see a Gantt chart for the integration of different services. This flies against what Kanban was meant to do. There was no easy way to export a report and create a Gantt chart for others. External reporting as a whole is not easy.

Manuel

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

A Must Have Low Cost and Extremely Intuitive Tool To Have

This has been a must have tool for me to organize everything I need to do. Without it, I would be incapable of getting anything done.

PROS

This tool is easy to use and doesn't require any training. The low cost is definitely a plus.

CONS

It isn't extremely sophisticated but I wasn't looking for anything like that anyways so I don't really see that as a negative.

Larry

Entertainment, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE