All MakeShift Reviews

1-25 of 113 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Don

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Makeshift review

I really like the software because of it's ease of use, particularly with the mobile app and really don't have any issues with it.

PROS

The mobile app is every easy to use and allows our associates to see their schedules and changes plus it allows them to contact other associates for shift changes. It is also very easy to create our weekly schedules.

CONS

The only issue I have with the software (which might be on our IT's side) is when an associate asks for vacation time in Makeshift it does not integrate into ADP like the schedule does.

Vendor Response

Hi Don, thank you for your feedback! We are glad to hear your team has found value in our mobile apps. ADP does not allow us to input time off into their system, however we do offer the ability to sync time off from ADP into MakeShift for scheduling purposes. If you'd like to learn more, please reach out to us at support@makeshift.ca and we would be happy to assist!

Replied October 2021

Susan

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2022

Makeshift in Strathmore

Overall experience is very good from the product itself, to the online support.

PROS

Integration was fairy easy, we had lot's of support. Features are easy to use and customize to what our company needs.

CONS

One of the features I would like to see changed is when an employee puts in their availability it shows up on their schedule but if a shift is requested on this day it does not reflect their availability and hours outside of the availability are still scheduled in. I have also found shifts have been put into the wrong schedule from that employee that requested and was granted the shift.

Vendor Response

Thank you so much for your feedback Susan! If you have any difficulties with your schedule, please feel free to reach out to our support team at support@makeshift.ca so we can investigate and correct the issue!

Replied September 2022

Rhon

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2022

Difficult communication for overtime

Overall good, except with above

PROS

It's easy to see what shifts are open and who's working them

CONS

When you bid on a shift, you should be able to leave a note with it if there's a special circumstance like only available partial shift or if it would be overtime. This inability is beyond annoying when you have to email a scheduler first before bidding in special circumstances

Vendor Response

Hi Rhon, thank you for your feedback. We will be sure to pass along your comments to our product team for future enhancements to our product! If you have any other comments, please feel free to reach out to support@makeshift.ca.

Replied September 2022

Jennifer

Recreational Facilities and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

5 stars!

I've had a great experience using MakeShift. The program is very easy to use and any technical issues are dealt with very quickly.

PROS

Very easy to use. Employees love the flexibility of being able to request days off and to switch/pick up shifts with their co-workers. The system has saved our Managers hours of work put in to scheduling and rectifying scheduling conflicts.

CONS

As an admin on the account, I don't have the ability to view the posted/dropped shifts in the same way a regular user on the app has. Having this ability would allow me to anticipate shortages.

Vendor Response

Hi Jennifer, thank you so much for your review. We're glad to hear that you've had a great experience and that your managers have been able to save hours of work! We appreciate your feedback regarding our shift exchange functionality and will let our product team know!

Replied October 2021

Christy

Recreational Facilities and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

From a Recreation Perspective

Great overall and easy to use.

PROS

Easy to schedule staff, love that you can copy schedules to other weeks, payroll download is clear and easy to understand, on site clock in and out feature as we have various work sites, can have different sites, jobs, shift templates.

CONS

Would like that is the staff clock in early or out late that there was a quick way to have it match the shift time for hours worked/payroll. Say the shift is 9 to 1 and they clock in at 8:45 and out at 1:05 the timesheet shows 4.25 hours instead of the 4 they were scheduled for.

Vendor Response

Hi Christy, thank you for your comments! We do allow you to round clock in and outs to the scheduled start and end time. If you would like instructions on how to do so, please reach out to support@makeshift.ca!

Replied September 2022

Diane

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Makeshift Empolyee Scheduling

PROS

Easy to update employee schedule, and keep track of daily requirements for staff

CONS

none that I can mention or think of at this point in time

Reason for choosing MakeShift

Ease of use by administration and staff

Vendor Response

Hi Diane, thank you for your comments and review!

Replied September 2022

Joanne

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Health care worker Alberta review of Makeshift

Love this tool, use it daily.

PROS

Very easy to use. I love using the 'dashboard' feature for a snap shot of exactly who is scheduled to come in for any given shift and what our needs are.

CONS

When using dashboard - I would like a quicker way to forward to a date that is further out than a week or two. It would be nice to be able to advance without clicking for each day in between. Also, it would be nice to be able to see highlighted when we are over or under our baseline.

Reasons for switching to MakeShift

We were directed to as all rural sites were moving to makeshift.

Vendor Response

Hi Joanne, thank you for your review! That is a great idea for our dashboard, and we will be sure to pass along your comments to our product team!

Replied September 2022

stacey

Medical Practice, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2022

Makeshift review

PROS

The most impactful part of makeshift for our hospital is that employees can see there schedule and request without calling the staffing office or contacting the unit. they are able to switch shifts and request trades in the app. we are also able to send announcements and individual messages if need be.

CONS

I would really like to be able to see the history or shifts that have been removed from employee's schedule and also be able to re enable a trade if you accidently decline and forgot the dates

Vendor Response

Thank you for your detailed comments Stacey! Shift audits and histories are available - if you would like more information, please feel free to reach out at support@makeshift.ca!

Replied September 2022

Ashley

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

MakeShift saves so much time

We love working with MakeShift. The customer support is super helpful and incredibly responsive.

PROS

Our company switched to MakeShift a year ago and I wouldn't go back if you paid me a million dollars. Makeshift has made scheduling so much easier and quick! You can build out templates and schedule people out for months or even years. Employees love having their schedules at their fingertips and the ease of trading shifts makes life easy.

CONS

I wish we could drag and drop schedules for several people at one time.

Reason for choosing MakeShift

I was not part of the decision process.

Reasons for switching to MakeShift

The former program was not user friendly.

Vendor Response

Hi Ashley, thank you so much for your kind words! We are so happy to hear that you find so much value in MakeShift!

Replied October 2021

Peeka

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Makes working from home easier!

Makeshift has been great in helping me transition to a "work from home" world. I love that I can clock in and out of work with the ease of tapping a screen. Brilliant.

PROS

So easy to clock in and clock out of work from anywhere. I can see all the hours I have worked whether it be in the past, or same day. So easy to use this software!

CONS

I wish the app would automatically load in the classic view when I log in from my phone.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review Peeka! We are glad to hear that MakeShift has helped make transitioning to work from home easier!

Replied September 2022

Matt

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2021

Great Product

I have enjoyed the product, and it is the best software I have used for scheduling to date.

PROS

I like the ease of schedule making and the seamless mobile integration.

CONS

I feel that the availability feature could be changed to reflect suggested or soft requests.

Reasons for switching to MakeShift

Change in ownership.

Michelle

Entertainment, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Easy Peazy

You are able to clock in from your phone with ease. As a user, I can keep up with my hours, see what my paycheck will be before it is direct deposited. I'm able to see my checkstubs and download or email them. I get my W2's very quickly and can print or share them. This app is fairly user friendly as well.

PROS

Clocking in by either opening the app or quick clock

CONS

Before the update, it was not so user friendly. Since the update, it is better.

Vendor Response

Thank you for your comments Michelle! We hope that we can continue to improve with each update!

Replied September 2022

anne

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Best Program.

Quick, easy, and accurate

PROS

I am very impressed with this program. It let's me know ahead of time what I am doing, say, next month. I can plan better that way.

CONS

The switch feature is not very good if you need to know right away.

Vendor Response

Hi Anne, we appreciate your feedback and review! Thank you!

Replied September 2022

Ryan

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Makes Scheduling a Breeze

PROS

The integration with ADP is a huge upside. Simple to import employees to the correct locations/departments.

CONS

Past and new employees with the same email will delay an import, but it's easily taken care of by our rep.

Reasons for switching to MakeShift

The integration with ADP.

Vendor Response

Hi Ryan, thank you for your review!

Replied September 2022

Taylore

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

My Review

PROS

Its just an easy app to keep track of my shifts and easy to schedule people in

CONS

Not much to say here. There is not much that I dont like. Overall a good app

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review Taylor! We are glad to hear that MakeShift is meeting your needs!

Replied September 2022

Lorne

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

I love using MakeShift!

PROS

Its easy to use and easy to train our store managers on how to use the software.

CONS

I would like to see a different layout on the schedule view. I believe there are ways to make the scheduling even easier by allowing your templates to already have a designation attached to it.

Vendor Response

Hi Lorne, thank you for your feedback and review! We also offer the ability to view your schedule by position requirements. To learn more, please contact us at support@makeshift.ca and we would be happy to assist.

Replied November 2021

Marlee

Hospital & Health Care, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Vista Care

PROS

It’s easy to install and it is user friendly to staff. This updates on the spot and staff are able to access 24/7

CONS

What we utilize this for I have no complaints

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review Marlee!

Replied September 2022

claire

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2021

Great for checking schedule

PROS

great for checking schedule and posting open shifts.

CONS

It is good for scheduling purposes, checking on schedule, posting available shift. Notification is fast. Easy to use.

Vendor Response

Hi Claire, thank you for your review!

Replied October 2021

Tiffany

Hospital & Health Care, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Overall Good App

It's been great

PROS

Ease of use for even the most un techy staff memebers

CONS

That there is no color coding available for the shift templates.

Vendor Response

Hi Tiffany, thank you for your review!

Replied September 2022

Marianne

Hospital & Health Care, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Survey Review

No complain, easy to use esp for an older person like this

PROS</