About Hubstaff

Whether businesses are starting up a new team or looking for a better way to manage employees, Hubstaff has everything required to run teams confidently. With the innovative and robust time tracking and task management solution, enterprises can track their team’s time with in-depth timesheets, GPS tracking and project management using the tasks module.

As employees track time with the lightweight desktop, web, iOS and Android applications, enterprises will be able to monitor their activity with time tracking, optional screenshots and app tracking, mouse and keyboard usage and even on-site time with geofences.  

Hubstaff allows team leaders to view detailed reports, send client invoices and even pay employees directly based on their work hou...


Read More

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Linux, Web browser (OS agnostic), Windows 10

1,103 Reviews of Hubstaff

Average User Ratings

Overall

4.59 / 5 stars

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4.5

Ratings Snapshot

5 stars

(730)

730

4 stars

(308)

308

3 stars

(55)

55

2 stars

(6)

6

1 stars

(4)

4

Likelihood to Recommend

Not likely

Very likely

Showing 1 - 5 of 1103 results

July 2020

Ewan from Ewan McKechnie Production / Northern Hawk Media

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

The best solution for integrated task management and thorough time tracking and reporting.

Very happy I moved from Time Doctor to Hubstaff. Huge improvements on all areas and a satisfying product to use. The experience is so good that I find myself wanting to stay with Hubstaff regardless of whether my need for time tracking reduces.

Pros

- Integrated Task Management platform (Hubstaff Tasks) allows for agile style task management that feeds appropriate tasks to user's timers. - Nice user interface - Good reporting functions - Thorough tracking options - Client/project budgets - Very good Customer Support

Cons

- I discovered some bugs during usage (which the developers have ironed out) - Time off / holiday allowance policy function is a great addition, but doesn't allow enough granularity as decimals of hours (or minutes) can't be used.

Reasons for Choosing Hubstaff

Combination of functionality (thorough time tracking and agile task/project management), pricing, user experience and reviews.

July 2019

Dejan from MICE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Productivity booster

It is a great product if you spent some time explaining the advantages to your colleagues. Otherwise, I might be seen as a tool that violates personal privacy and narrowly measures company productivity.

Pros

easy to use, stable desktop app, great visualizations and statistics, many possibilities for integration with another tools

Cons

some functionalities within this product are not fully customizable (e.g. idle time is set to min of 5 minutes), more flexibility would be great (e.g. you can`t enable or disable idle timer or disable manual adding/editing records within specific project/task.

Response from Hubstaff

Replied August 2019

Hi Dejan, Thanks for your feedback! We absolutely agree that it is important to have a conversation with your team in regards to the software and its capabilities to ensure they are on the same page and do not feel that it invades their privacy. We understand that this type of conversation can be difficult and time consuming so we put a guide together to help with the transition https://support.hubstaff.com/transition-your-business-to-hubstaff/ If you have any questions feel free to reach out to our support team and we will be happy to help. Thanks again! Sarah

September 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2020

Great for time management of entry-level employees

Overall experience is positive. I like that they offer a limited free version to get in and test things out before committing. The screenshots help to keep entry level employees on task and efficient, and the billing reporting features work well for independent contractors or agencies alike.

Pros

For most of our salaried positions we don't need to track time as closely. However, with some of our entry level employees we wanted to make sure they were staying on track and have a way to export their time entries to our payroll software Gusto. This accomplishes all of that. This takes screenshots randomly every 10-30 mins to keep our reps accountable. I've also used this as an independent contractor and it's good for proactively showing transparency and generating reports to bill clients as well. You can setup projects and assign tasks to manage projects in addition to the billing/reporting functions. Good for independent contractors and small teams.

Cons

They do offer a limited free version that I used as an independent contractor, but it is buried and not advertised well. I realize it's in Hubstaff's interest to get people on the recurring monthly plan (which I did once we grew), but I feel like they could position it better like Mailchimp does, and talk about how the software "can scale as your company does". The software does in fact do that, but they don't do a good job of presenting that. Another potential con. We give more trust and autonomy to our salaried employees and this might rub them the wrong way if we tried to make them use it. I also wish they'd improve the interface on the native mac app. It looks like Microsoft Lync circa 2005. Functionally, it works, but the interface is dated to be sure.

February 2019

Diane from DemandZEN

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

2.0

February 2019

Constantly Rated As Poor Productivity Even When Working Hard

My overall experience with this software is a very poor one. While I appreciate what you're trying to accomplish with the software, especially for remote employees such as myself, it just isn't working out for me personally. As I said earlier, it's going to wind up costing me my job because the software is telling my management that I'm not working when I am. The software also doesn't account for things like needing a lavatory break or taking our (legally required) paid time breaks. If I were to take my 30 minute paid time breaks every day, my productivity would just sink into the teens. There's also no way to account for meetings or times I am on the phone where I am still being productive and working but since I am not clicking anything or typing it thinks I am sitting doing nothing.

Pros

I like the way Hubstaff is designed. It's intelligent and user-friendly. It's sleek and very polished and up-to-date with modern design standards and as a user I am easily able to access the dashboard and different features and see the differences in productivity from minute to minute, see the screenshots, see the tracking points, etc. From the perspective of direct user experience, it's ace.

Cons

However, my qualms with Hubstaff far outweight its superior design structure. The program, to me, is broken. No matter how hard I work, I have never had a day above 40% productivity - and that only happened once. I am usually rate in the mid to high 20s, even on days when I am busting my butt to get work done. I don't know why I am having these problems with the software, because I know I am working, I know I am getting work done, but why am I being rated so poorly? This software is going to wind up costing me my job, and that makes me furious.

Response from Hubstaff

Replied February 2019

Hey Diane, Sorry you aren't having a good experience. Let me explain how Hubstaff tracks activity, and if you still think you should be getting a higher score, please contact our 24/7 support team at support@hubstaff.com. Your activity levels may be lower or higher depending on your responsibilities. Manual and mobile time tracking can also lower your productivity levels so include a note to your employer letting them know what you were working on. Here is a helpful article about how activity levels are tracked: https://support.hubstaff.com/how-are-activity-levels-calculated/

July 2020

Tia from Secretary Fairy

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Graphic Design

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2020

Best Time Tracking and Invoicing Software

Easy to navigate, easy to learn, many options for invoicing, many options for tasks/clients/projects.

Pros

I use Hubstaff daily to track my clients, tasks, and invoices. They're always there to help and very easy to work with. 100% recommended for any virtual workers!

Cons

Sometimes I need to make adjustments to time entered and it won't allow me. But I've found a work around and I'm sure this will be updated soon.

Reasons for Choosing Hubstaff

I loved the trial and it does everything my business needs.