User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(24)

24

4 stars

(13)

13

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Very intuitive and well-designed, it contains all of the features you'd expect from a PPM tool, with greater flexibility in reporting and dashboards. "

  • "This software is simple to use and at the same time creates a live picture of the status of projects. The simplicity means that the uptake on it's use is high."

  • "Ease of use Team have become more productive Ease of reporting Visibility of Programme bottleneck Time saving Great customer service"

  • Cons

  • "Some pages automatically save, whilst others are manual. Not sure why there is a difference."

  • "While the interface has improved in the latest version, it still needs some upgrading to keep it in line with competitors. Not as much of an issue once you've become familiar with the product."

  • "Truthfully, there are no aspects of PM3 that can be considered to be Cons."

Browse PM3 Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -11 of 39 results

December 2018

Andy from Summerway Consulting

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Flexible, versatile solution to managing portfolios, programmes & projects

Helping us to standardise our project practices, particularly the reporting process.

Pros

I liked the flexible structure of portfolio, programme and project which was easy to set up and adapt to our various departmental approaches. Lots of reporting options offered as standard, and easy to tweak these to suit our needs. All our portfolio of projects are now in one place where all the PMs can access them – it’s also an advantage that you can access them from anywhere rather than needing to be in the office. Helping us to standardise our project practices and particularly the reporting process. Support and training from Bestoutcome is excellent.

Cons

Because the range of functions and options is huge, it's sometimes easy to forget where the option you need is... however, I'd sooner have the options than a simpler product without them

August 2019

Iain from Red Funnel

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Highly configurable and user friendly

Very positive. The Bestoutcome team have been very supportive through the initial trial to implementation and training. Looking forward to building on the current configuration and putting the system to the test fully.

Pros

Easy to get to grips with. Particularly like how you can select which functions you can switch on/off so you can start small and build on that as maturity and familiarity with the system grows.

Cons

Although you can configure some fields and change them to what you want, it would be useful if you could create additional fields to be able to capture more variety of information in the system.

Reasons for Choosing PM3

Ability to configure functionality and start small was a key factor. Other products were too large/complex for our set up and culture, and often focussed more on project task management rather than portfolio management.

June 2020

Mike from Mikar Services

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Straightforward, comprehensive and clear

Driving consistency in reporting across the change community provides a balanced view of progress and challenges providing clear insight at multiple levels from delivery through to senior management enabling focus on prioritisation for dependencies and support for challenges. From a Project management perspective you don't spend hours feeding information into the system and from a Programme, Portfolio or PMO perspective the output provides clear information regarding progress, trends, dependencies and issue management

Pros

Focus on on top down visibility of core P3 metrics via dashboards that can be shared, without customisation, to senior stakeholders. From a delivery perspective updating is intuitive and efficient and drives consistency from all project and programme managers. Especially like the governance dashboard, an excellent tool to provide a clear presentation of change health and compliance

Cons

PM3 isn't a one for all solution, still requiring planning tools such as MS Project for detailed scheduling, however I've not found a P3 product that does both effectively and efficiently. This is a minor gripe as most PMs are used to using separate planning and reporting toolsets

Reasons for Choosing PM3

Combination of cost, functionality and ease of use

June 2020

Christopher from Chartered Institute of Procurement and Supply

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

Refinement

As a business we are still in the very early stages of using the tool. Initial observations are that it is excellent on some things and other areas need much more work to make the tool intuitive to use. This can be resolved via more updates I'm sure. Support via the help desk and via my account managers has been first class and Best Outcome have shown great flexibility around changes in Licence application during the Covid 19 period when our Programme was put on hold. Management of updates is clear and very thorough with release notes easy to follow.

Pros

The ability to draw a no.of projects together into a Programme and/or Portfolio and to draw in reports form all in selected views. The ability to hold all major project governance in one place e.g risks/issues/ dependencies. Reporting flexibility and range across plans/projects/programmes/portfolio Ease of user control and self configurable access controls

Cons

Plans - Gantt Chart usage - This is clunky at best and not intuitive. Convincing users of Microsoft Project to switch to using the tool has been an on going challenge. An easier import function may help resolve this. Using X to exit the plan. Many users forget and has caused frustrations in plans with joint PM use. Inconsistency of areas with auto save functionality and those where it requires manual save.

Reasons for Choosing PM3

Perceived ease of use. Ability to ensure governance of many projects using one tool

Response from Bestoutcome

Replied June 2020

We are improving the Gantt chart functionality as a priority and these improvements are due in July 2020. Some screens cannot auto save as they have manadatory fields which could result in spurious errors if auto saved was used. We are trying wherever possible to make all screens auto save.

June 2020

Sarah from MIAA

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

MIAA - Review of PM3

Overall the experience of using PM3 is a positive one. Bestoutcome are very responsive to queries and always professional. As an organisation we have improved our governance, reporting across a range of programmes is now consistent for all project managers in all organisations. We have saved time as information is only inputted once into the system but is pulled into multiple different reports.

Pros

The product is extremely easy to use and most importantly user friendly. The product can be configured to the users requirements. It is versatile enough to be used across a range of clients. The reporting functionality saves hours of time each month. The integration to our existing business process was easy. Ability to use the whole range of existing reports within the system and if needed commission a bespoke report.

Cons

For our company sadly we cannot use the lessons learned functionality as they are shared across all projects which will breach IG rules (we run projects for multiple different clients so cannot share the details).

Reasons for Choosing PM3

PM3 was the only product that met our requirements and was reasonably priced. The system is easy to use and configure.

November 2019

Natasha from Hertfordshire Community NHS Trust

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Brilliant experience of PM3 - perfect project management software!

We have around 104 projects in total on PM3, around 30-40 of them are live ones. I have had a very positive experience with PM3 and I do really enjoy using it. I think the Best Outcome Team are also very responsive and useful and are always happy to deal with any requests, which also adds to my PM3 experience. We have many projects which are completed and finished, and over the past year there has been an increase in the uptake of staff on PM3. I think there are many useful tabs/functions in PM3 which definitely support staff in completing their projects.

Pros

I really like how PM3 is very methodical and logical and a very easy software to navigate round. You can capture all aspects of your project and it can keep track of all your actions/tasks/milestones as well as notifying users with email reminders. PM3 definitely ensures that your project remains on track and is fantastic in generating a wide range of reports that can be printed/emailed very easily. The layout is very clear and simple and when I first started my role in PMO, it did not take very long for me to come to grips with the system, there are also brilliant user help guides and videos that are available which provide you with lots of new information.

Cons

The only thing I like least about this software is that unfortunately the milestone and task pages are not linked to the actions page which causes users to duplicate information (i.e. milestones that have been completed and closed do not appear as closed on the actions page). However, I understand that these are 2 separate and independent pages and it would not be feasible to join them together, this is only a minor issue and does not cause users problems. Apart from that I see no other fault with the software.

Reasons for Choosing PM3

I was not involved in the decision of buying PM3.

October 2019

Matt from Medicines and Healthcare products Regulatory Agency (MHRA)

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

PM3

Well beyond expectations. Our experienced project managers and project support offices have been able to embrace the tool without any negative impact on productivity and they are starting to see the rewards within days - measurably reduced reporting admin, increase visibility of other projects, increased consistency of approaches. PM3 has obviously been designed by, and for, portfolio managers which makes it instantly more usable than project scheduling tools that have been given a portfolio management wrapper or simple task tracking tools

Pros

Very easy to use Very simple to configure out of the box Highly configurable for project, programme, portfolio membership Allows top-down portfolio management. You so not need to know minute details of projects before adding them and getting value form the tool Provides visibility of projects without having to do much different - project managers do all the same things just in this tool rather than their own dis-jointed files and folders. Flexible and responsive customer support during implementation Available via government procurement frameworks

Cons

The planning function lacks some of the features of Microsoft Project so projects managers with advanced skills find it less useful. The supplier is working on enhancements for the next release. While there well over a hundred pre-configured report formats included none are exactly right for us. It would be good if there was a report-builder tool included. The lack of bulk-upload of pre-exiting documents like RAID logs or project registers increases the workload of transitioning existing projects to the tool.

Reasons for Choosing PM3

Closest match to requirements Price Configurability/flexibility of portfolio membership Easy of use Feedback from reference clients Being on a government procurement framework made selection and contracting easy

October 2019

Abbi from Sheffield Health and Social Care

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

Great for managing projects, programmes and portfolios...I would definately recommend!

Before PM3, projects and programmes were managed on separate systems and there was no 'one version of the truth' across our organisation. PM3 has helped us to record plans in one place and provides an over-arching portfolio report at the click of a button. The time we save as a PMO collating this information means the software pays for itself. Also, the level of support and customer service provided by PM3 is exceptional as any queries are responded to within hours and any issues found are considered for future releases.

Pros

The milestones plans are clear and easy to use and can be rolled up from project to programme level. Risk/issue management is made easier as everything is visible and only needs updating in one place. The portfolio reporting function and prioritisation matrix means that time spent collating portfolio level reports is significantly reduced.

Cons

At a project plan level, the action log doesn't link to the millstone plan. The inherent risk scores are not included on the risk reports.

August 2018

Mark from Trinity College Dublin

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Higher Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

PM3

PM3 is in use at TCD to manage major capital projects and provide governance, reporting and query facilties for this portfolio. Our experience with the software and its support has been positive and we would definitely recommend it as a cost-effective option for any organisation seeking to manage project portfolios in a consistent and auditable manner.

Pros

Very intuitive and well-designed, it contains all of the features you'd expect from a PPM tool, with greater flexibility in reporting and dashboards.

Cons

While the interface has improved in the latest version, it still needs some upgrading to keep it in line with competitors. Not as much of an issue once you've become familiar with the product.

September 2019

Phillip from NEL

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Why use PM3

I felt that PM3 quickly provided a consistent, professional methodology for multiple project management team members to work together and easily provide reporting at the programme level. This in turn would enable the selection of future projects that were beneficial and profitable to our business.

Pros

Ease of set up Intuitive administration Useful reports available out of the box Worked well from multiple perspectives - customer, Project manager, Portfolio manager and Programme manager

Cons

PM3time need further development to ensure better integration

Reasons for Choosing PM3

it was clear from the start that PM3 was put together by very experienced project/programme managers who understood the time pressures of reporting to multiple, varied audiences with appropriate detail whilst doing the day to day delivery of projects within a PMO environment. For me, PM3 represented a step change in the way we worked as a team for an affordable cost.

August 2018

Coral from Hotels, Restaurants and Leisure

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

Great intuitive tool.Enables us to drive best practice and consistency across the portfolio.

PM3 has helped drive consistency and standards across our portfolio. Following our upgrade to PM3 Cloud, we have also been able to drive efficiencies through the removal of duplication (e.g. Excel RAIDD) and manual reporting.

Pros

Great intuitive tool that enables us to drive best practice and consistency across the portfolio. We use it as the single source for our portfolio of change. It helps our project and programme management teams manage end to end delivery, as well as providing our stakeholders with timely status reporting. The ‘out of the box’ reports have been designed with stakeholders at all levels in mind and the choice is far greater than other project management tool that I have used. The inbuilt governance features are a great fit with our project governance framework and hep provide additional assurance of project control. The Bestoutome team are great to work with. They not only listen, but bring a considerable amount of practical PPM and technical knowledge, experience and expertise. Their support has been invaluable not only in preparing for the PM3 cloud upgrade and on boarding our users, but also the on-going embedding and service support. PM3 is a great tool for any organisation, regardless of maturity.

Cons

Plan lock is a common issue when users finish their session. However, Bestoutcome have built in a flag that tells the user that the plan is locked and who to. Despite training and reminders, some users forget to do this correctly. It will be great if we could have a message appear telling the user that they have not logged out of their session, when exiting said session or logging out of the tool.

September 2018

Lynne from Whitbread

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

PM3 PPM Tool

PM3 is a very user intuitive tool. It is very easy to coach people how to use. There is new functionality which means that you can customise the experience for every different type of user that may require access to the tool, hiding the information they are not required to update and showing that they are.

Pros

PM3 has recently moved to a new cloud based version and it has made the tool even more intuitive for the users. It is a great tool for users and administrators alike as you can make many setting amendments as an Administrator that will apply to the users in real-time. Customisable fields mean that you have the flexibility to build the tool to fit the needs of your business. The way the tool is structured means that the information captured by your Project managers can be easily sliced using the portfolios structure and reported either immediately or at specified times for your recipients.

Cons

You need to think about the structure in tool when planning how you want to report as there are three levels within the reporting structure. This works well for a Project > Programme > Portfolio structure but needs amendment if you need to capture lots of detail around workstreams. However, there is always a work around within the tool that means it can work if you shift everything up a level or consider the levels you want to report at when structuring your tiers in the tool.

November 2018

Adam from Effective Projects Ltd

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

A practical, affordable tool for manging complex project portfolios

I inherited a complex set of projects, every one reporting in a different way and with no visibility of their contribution to programme objectives. PM3 allowed my staff to turn this into a simple well-controlled portfolio with everyone pulling in the same direction.

Pros

A flexible structure of projects, programmes and portfolios allows you to easily group projects to reflect the organisational structures and strategic goals of your organisation. Fast setup out-of-the box, with no complex tailoring of processes, so managers start using the tool productively within a few days. The multi-level tracking and reporting creates valuable status reports with minimum effort. Easily controlled sharing of information across the portfolio means PMs can see what other projects are doing and proactively manage interfaces and dependencies. PM3’s huge range of standard reports has covered every reporting requirement I encountered.

Cons

The breadth of system functions can initially appear a bit daunting to new users and support staff. I understand that unused functions can now be hidden when they are not needed but haven’t yet used that function myself.

May 2019

Colin from Clarity Consulting Associates Ltd

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Continues to impress and deliver

In short, this has been the most beneficial product we have used in the PMO... ever! Bestoutcome have been positive, supportive and responsive throughout. First-class experience.

Pros

Continuous improvement and development of the product to enhance capabilities Only product that links benefit plans to delivery plans Intuitive and has clearly been designed by practitioners as it works the way we do. Unlike other products we have used it comes with over 200 high quality reports so you don’t have to design and build your own. Like the portfolio structure where you can have plans in multiple portfolios which gives you great flexibility to show different views of project information Training and configuration were completed by knowledgeable staff who retained the customer focus at all times Bestoutcome really do value their customers views and welcome suggestions for additional features/functionality Customer service is excellent both in terms of speed of response and the can do attitude of the Bestoutcome team.

Cons

Truthfully, there are no aspects of PM3 that can be considered to be Cons.

June 2020

Nicholas from NEST

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2020

PM3 has been a valuable tool for our business

Our overall experience has been incredibly positive. The consultancy and support we have received really helped lay the ground work for us to implement the tool in the right way. The training design and execution was brilliantly done, and made sure we understood the tool and had the support network in place to ask questions. There are plenty of useful features within PM3 which provides great scalability to other departments and areas of our business, as well as introducing more functionality once we are ready utilise further features within the tool. We were able to be up and running quickly with the tool, and it has become valuable for our portfolio tracking and reporting.

Pros

- Intuitive design - very easy to use and navigate around which has helped us implement the tool quickly, customise the set up for what we need and onboard project teams to use it for reporting and tracking project and programme progress. - Scalability to develop multiple portfolios and manage your work is very well thought out with some useful report templates - Each project plan in the tool captures useful core information to track delivery progress, status, RAID, milestones and tasks

Cons

- Initially there was not a plan on the page solution, but this was quickly developed thanks to Best Outcome's support and has been incredibly valuable! - Agile feature needs developing, but this is new within the tool and I believe the developers are working on adding to the Agile plugin

July 2018

Paul from George Eliot Hospital Trust

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

In my opinion, the best cloud-based PMO and change management platform in the market today

We are now able to drive the end-to-end delivery of all of our service improvement and change programmes consistently, and through robust governance. We will be able to provide executive delivery assurance, and manage each element of our programmes and projects effectively and efficiently.

Pros

From initial discussions and product demonstrations, it was clear that PM3 was an industry-strength portfolio, programme and project management software platform that we could set up, configure and start using quickly and effectively. The product is very configurable and we were able to set it up to our particular specification. The Bestoutcome team were very easy to work with, and because of their expertise working with other clients in health and social care, they were able to help us with our implementation. PM3 is competitively priced and is fairly straightforward to use. Comprehensive reporting is included in the standard platform, and there are also extra plug-ins that can be used with BI tools, such as PowerBI, which we use. We were given detailed initial training, and then further specific training with the service improvement change champions and administrators. Overall, the process from purchase to implementation was simple and hassle-free.

Cons

We have recently completed the initial training, and are now starting to upload our change programmes. To date, we have not found anything negative about the software.

July 2018

Michael from Medical Defence Union (MDU)

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Since its introduction, PM3 has greatly improved our company's ability to track project progress

Pros

Up to date Project information being available all in one place Improved accountability for tasks, milestones and work packages Created better communication lines between PMs and Admin in order to track project progress Introduction of new Resource Tracker has enabled better tracking of availabiity versus demand. Able to assign personnel to the appropriate project depending upon importance and the need to implement any mitigating actions

Cons

Constraints in changing workflow dates Failed to fully replace the need for Microsoft Office tools such as Excel and Project Not always kept informed concerning server upgrades/system updates Can be difficult for PMs to remember certain user functionalities if they have not logged into to the system for a period of time following previous project completions. Can result in re-training.

November 2018

Nipa from West Herts NHS Trust

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

PM3 - PMO

PM3 is a very good tool which fits into my role as a project manager. We have had excellent support from Jack Watson, also quick to email back solutions, and always helpful. I would recommend PM3 to all trust.

Pros

PM3 dashboard easy to read, moving from one module to another easy to understand. I did not have to wait to for information to be saved Easy to delete and amend plans Inputting of finance data very easy Highlight reports easy to read, can also convert into excel format.

Cons

Changing and formatting reports very difficult I couldnt change columns and rows

July 2018

Linda from NHS

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2018

Have used PM3 before in another organisation. The upgraded package is excellent

Pros

Monitor-able information all in one place to allow PMO to see where potential problems are with individual projects and how these may impact on others. Ease of use essential it means that project managers use the system Reports can be emailed to colleagues to allow for accountability to be taken We regularly go through the system in meetings to allow us to discuss progress with project managers live It would be amazing to be able to use this across systems

Cons

Stakeholder management and communications would be a great addition I don't think we are using the system to it's optimum level yet Although we understand that this is a commercial product and the cost isn't that high, we need to think carefully about how many licenses we have in order to be able to afford to continue with it

October 2018

Nick from Medical Research Network

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

PM3 - Transforming our Portfolio Management

PM3 has helped us manage and track our portfolio. It has driven consistency and the project managers like using the tool, definitely a good sign.

Pros

Its really simple, intuitive tool which enable you to "get working" really quickly. We can start start just with the initial functionality required and then we can add more tabs as we need to turn on that functionality. Its great also being able to have reports available without having to consider and create them. We don’t need to waste time writing our own reports as Bestoutcome have already thought of many of the reports I'd want to use. The reports are high quality and it is saving us a lot of time in not having to amend or create highlight reports. Being able to automatically email of reports is also very useful and saves a lot of time. The videos that are available really help when getting to grips with the product and when there is something that needs further explanation, they're very quick to respond.

Cons

We've been using PM3 for about 2 months and we can't think of any drawbacks so far. We're considering how we'll be able to use it in managing IT and line of business projects.

August 2018

Emily from NHS

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

PM3 for Project Management

Prior to PM3, we were using excel spreadsheets, which were taking a long time to complete and didn't transparently demonstrate progress against milestones. It was difficult to understand project progress against programme outcomes as each were reported slightly differently. PM3 has standardised reporting and enabled our performance and delivery to be easily and clearly reported and monitored.

Pros

The PM3 software enables effective and efficient project management, the tools are easy to use and can be accessed in the office or when mobile. Once you've entered your project details and timescales, PM3 keeps you on track, there's enough flexibility in the system to allow you to work how you like but also to keep the project management principles at the core. Its transparent and clearly demonstrates progress against timescales, risks and issues. There's also a number of features which are incredibly useful, such as the decision making log.

Cons

No real points for improvement, the system is intuitive and captures project information.

January 2019

Nick from UCL

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

PM3

PM3 enabled us to get a large programme under control and focus on key milestone delivery resulting in a succesful conclusion to a major strategic project

Pros

The ability to roll up projects into programmes and ultimately BCP's allow levels of detail to remain appropriate to those manage the activities but also allows high level reporting to Board level to be easily achieved. Customer service from the helpdesk is also a major plus with instant responses and high quality advice. The product also continues to evolve and develop to meet customer needs

Cons

The occasional record locking is a bit disruptive but it is only occasional

November 2018

Rita from West Hertfordshire NHS Trust

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Excellent tool, easy to use.

I have been using this software for two years and have really noticed the difference in terms of delivery of our Programmes. The ease of use means the PMO are more productive around reporting period. With a vast range of reports available we are able to report to all stakeholders with ease. The customer service is excellent with Bestoutcome. I would highly recommend this tool to anyone wanting to improve how they manage their Programme/Projects.

Pros

Ease of use Team have become more productive Ease of reporting Visibility of Programme bottleneck Time saving Great customer service

Cons

I have been using the tool for two years and have not experienced any problems with it.

November 2018

Sheena from Whitbread

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

Simple & Effective

I have used PM3 in 2 dfferent companies, it is not too complicated so the Project Managers can use it without issue and the information that is available is invaluble.

Pros

This software is simple to use and at the same time creates a live picture of the status of projects. The simplicity means that the uptake on it's use is high.

Cons

Copying and pasting into the tool can cause problems with formatting

October 2019

Amy from Sheffield Health and Social care

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Great PPP Product!

Very positive experience so far. The support team are always really helpful when we need them, and any little bug fixes are sorted straight away wherever possible. Without PM3 we would not have been able to produce a portfolio report as easily as comprehensive as we now have. Any suggestions for improvement are taken in to consideration for the regular updates that are provided to the system

Pros

The automated reports, you only have to input information once but can link projects to multiple programmes/portfolio's that then pulls all the relevant information through for reporting purposes.

Cons

Some pages automatically save, whilst others are manual. Not sure why there is a difference.

August 2018

Darren from NHS

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Easy to use

Good product with support and training, Ongoing support is good and all staff can access this plus the help guides.

Pros

clean and simple to use, the ability to store all project documents allows staff to remote work as its web based.

Cons

only minor point when trying to update past financial information was a little awkward

April 2019

Christian from Cabinet Office

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Fast Effective Relief from other Project Management Toolsets

Very good, I have recommended PM3 to others and plan to use it again in the future on my next projects.

Pros

Simplicity of use was a key attribute of PM3. Once the team provided the necessary introduction and overview the system was very intuitive and ensured that the important aspects of project management were captured and communicated effectively.

Cons

Nothing. This system saved my programme and ensured it was delivered on time.

August 2019

Sam from NEL

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2019

PM3 Review - NEL CSU

Excellent. PM3 have been very attentive (but not overly so), and the system itself is superb. Both service and product worthy of the 5 star rating given.

Pros

How easy it is to understand; training required was minimal (although the training given and offered was excellent). The system automatically "forces" you to manage your project in a methodical manner and, if used correctly, ensures that all projects meet the bare minimum requirements

Cons

So far I have yet to find anything about the system that I do not like, though if I HAD to put something then it can take a little while to load up reports at times. This is not a criticism however of the system, and could simply be the network connection I am using.

August 2018

Keith from Heartfordshire Community Trust

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2018

The support to get the users up and running excellent. The company know the value of embedding

Portfolio information all in one place. I have recently found if a project /programme manager is changed mid project. it's easy to carry out a handover.

Pros

The system is logically set out and easy to follow. it combines the various facets needed to carry out portfolio management all in one place and the it's not over complicated to use. on PM3 I like the video tutorials, Definition description page, Action Log, Reporting and the way you can alert stakeholders they have a pending actions for them. The software has many more good features. "I have been looking for a package like this for a long time."

Cons

There are a few niggles like entering task on the Gantt chart, you can get a little lost. Remembering to save or refresh can catch you out a little. As a new user I am still getting use to reporting on large projects.

February 2019

Ben from Moorfields Eye Hospital

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Medical Practice

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Great product!

We had a delay in the delivery of our bespoke reporting - other than that it has been great! Very responsive team who make the effort to hold most of our query sessions in person (at our base) and give suggestions on how to make the system work for our own purposes. The system itself is yet to be fully tested for use but will be done so for the 19/20 financial year. So far it seems exactly what we need!

Pros

Reporting - a vast suite of reports to choose from which pull a vast amount of information at the click of a button. We also purchased bespoke reports designed specifically for our needs which are great. Monthly RAG rating functionality - simple click button updates giving a monthly RAG score

Cons

No specific section although it is incredibly vast and arguably quite complicated for project managers to complete

June 2020

Stuart from Ambuscade Consulting Ltd

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Getting control and visibility

Excellent

Pros

The ease of use, the features that the product has lend themselves easily to the environment that we worked in.

Cons

There were a few minor details at the outset that we needed to work with Best Outcome to tailor the product to work more intuitivly with our data sets to make it almost user proof

Reasons for Choosing PM3

Ease of use, aesthetically modern feel to the product and competitively priced

November 2018

Ross from West Hertfordshire Hospitals NHS Trust

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

PM3 @ WHHT

Extensive use for managing CIP and QCP workstreams.

Pros

Ease of use. Very user friendly, excellent support provided.

Cons

Originally issues using Citrix, although this was fixed with the latest version.

October 2019

Russell from MHRA

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2019

PM3 Review

Very good, provides a single source of the truth with a particularly useful means of reporting

Pros

It is a very good portfolio management tool, providing a top down portfolio view ideal for an Enterprise PMO. It is a very good, all round project management tool for PMs to manage projects on a day to day basis

Cons

The strict Business Change Programme (BCP) > Programme > Project structure does not quite suit all scenarios in my organisation, but it has been worked around

Reasons for Choosing PM3

Provided the best overall level of functionality for project use AND EPMO use

January 2019

Joscelyn from Health Education England

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Great project management software

One of the things PM3 has helped us with is to connect up our projects and programmes that are running across the organisation, at local, regional and national levels.

Pros

It's easy to see the connections across the hierarchy from project up to portfolio level, plus the functionality to promote and demote risks and milestones is great.

Cons

Visually the system could look a bit more modern but it works.

June 2020

Chris from RSPCA

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Excellent value for money

The product has enabled us to bring consistency to our processes, improve governance and save effort on things like reporting. The support from Best Outcome, both during set up/take on and afterwards has been excellent too

Pros

The product provides an awful lot of functionality for a very reasonable license fee, having looked at many significantly more expensive products over the years, we're very happy with the slightly reduced feature set vs the very substantial savings

Cons

Some features are a little bit rudimentary

November 2018

David from GfK

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Market Research

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

PM3a usable PMO tool

Understanding the health of a project objectively at any point in time

Pros

IT projects can be very opaque, and that lack of transparency hides a myriad of issues. Too many PMOs and their tools are a heavy overhead to project managers and deliver little of value to the developers just financial summaries to higher levels of management, and a high level view of the health of the project. PM3 is simple to use, and understand, comprehensive, relevant and actionable

Cons

Not very much, it can be adapted to be usable in most contexts so although not explicitly an agile tool, if one understands that even agile projects do have significant milestones it is readily adapted

January 2020

Henry from IOW NHS Trust

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2020

PM3

Pros

Shared access to all projects/programmes etc Access from anywhere Ease of reporting

Cons

The need to refresh regularly as many of the features freeze/do not do what they are required to first time Adding a milestone or task, then it not appearing, refreshing, then having to add it again Character limit not appearing when adding milestones, so you have to guess Names of milestone/task owners not appearing in the Gantt Chart report

September 2018

David from GE Healthcare Partners

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

A great tool for Project Management & PMO in day-to-day operations and strategic management

Pros

No need for clients to allocate limited resources to building MSExcel or spreadsheet-based PMO tools. Very easy to configure to suit a client's local policies and procedures in the public sector (NHS). Also becomes a great trigger point for wider conversations and benefits the organization in their thinking, delivery of change and PPM. Great for PPM where deploying MSProject would be overkill and inappropriate.

Cons

Some of the default tab and field names are not intuitive at first, however this is not a show stopper as localization is very easy.

December 2018

Mike from Arts and Crafts

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Arts and Crafts

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

An easy to use, really useful PPM tool

I recently needed to plan and deliver a 6-month project involving 20 people, and PM3 helped me keep them all informed of what everyone was up to throughout the project, and keep the project on track

Pros

The user interface is excellent, very intuitive and quick to learn. The reports are short, punchy and colourful, especially the high-level Milestone plans

Cons

Nothing really, it does what it says on the tin