User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(15)

15

4 stars

(12)

12

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Easy to use, fantastic support and many people in the UK construction industry."

  • "Flexibility & Ease of use, the UK Support team is great!"

  • "Best in the market for user friendliness and also customer support. I would recommend everyone to purchase the support."

  • Cons

  • "Some advanced settings are difficult to find and understand where they apply."

  • "Sometimes encounter screen issues, ie what I see on the screen is not correct but becomes corrected by screen refreshing"

  • "Occasionally prone to crash - makes you remember to save regularly. Also the occasional bug, but probably no more than other software"

Browse Powerproject Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -21 of 29 results

April 2020

Kartik from Multiplex Australasia

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

A versatile and powerful planning tool- some thoughts from a long time user

Powerprojects has been our primary planning and scheduling software for many years now and we have found that it integrates very well with other office software in use within the organization. We are excited about the BIM add-on feature now available as we believe this can extend the program functionalities especially at the front end of the projects.

Pros

The best feature within Powerproject is the graphical interface of the program and the output especially compared to comparative softwares. Powerproject allows for multiple options to complete each function and is very strong in its integration with other widely used programs. We find Powerproject to be intuitive and easy to use for beginners and still be scalable to the requirement of established users. We have regularly used the Enterprise licenses on large projects and have found that these greatly aid in collaborative planning and control within large teams. Recent introduction of additional features like BIM integration and site progress tracking modules are now helping planning evolve further and make the software stand above its competitors. The software integrates easily with other business processes within the organisation as the outputs can be read by other softwares.

Cons

Powerproject has a tendency to crash occasionally and hence stability is an issue especially when compared to other program softwares. The option of copying external links while copying and pasting a set of activities from one schedule to another is a funtionality that is missing from the software. Another general weakness of this product is the lack of awareness in the wider market outside UK. This means that we as users have to continually negotiate with other parties around the software to be used on the project. Better marketing of the product in the wider global markets and availability of better reader programs should help in this matter.

May 2020

Monica from Mace Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Invaluable help

Overall really positive experience.

Pros

Very easy to use, the library and code structure is brialliant. The fact that you can reschedule just sections of the proramme or views helps a lot when you have to build a programme. The software is very powerful.

Cons

Not sure if this is feasible but it would be good to have the opportunity to add resources into the bar chart based on the time unit. For example if the time unit is in days, if I move into the bar chart it would be good to be able to allocate the resources on the each days. It could be that I have 10 people on day 1, 8 people on day 2 and so on and the software automatically calculates the overall allocation on the task whilst keeping the break down on the bar chart.

Reasons for Choosing Powerproject

User friendly, very easy to use and it gives a better result when printing and presenting schedule and it helps communication and collaboration.

Response from Elecosoft

Replied May 2020

Hi Monica thanks for the great review. The good news is that your enhancement request is already possible! Take a look in the helpfiles for tips on working with variable resource allocations and how the Resource Usage View can also allow you to work to this level of detail. We also cover this in our Working with Resources training course, though our Support Team can also give you a few pointers. Good luck with your projects!

June 2019

Stephen Olawale from Sunilar Nig.Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

SCHEDULING MADE EASY

it has helped me to be more organised and productive managing three different project at the same time.

Pros

I decided to give this product a trial , firstly free trial version was available, secondly though i had to seek for help to organise my work schedules in order, after scheduling my deliverable I could see an illustrative graph, along timelines for each element of work, it a really good software, it has help me to prepare my material schedules, man power and machineries for every daily element of work, and to identify critical path.it really good for construction

Cons

theproduct is really good just that the pricing structure can be discouraging, but nevertheless the free trial version has being helpful, i would recommend this product to my colleague at work,it is illustrative and good for scheduling.

April 2020

john from Sale Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Powerproject review from Sale Group JW

We use PowerProject for all our delivery programmes and resource schedules. they are widely used across contracting within the construction industry, which alllows us to interface extremely well with our clients progarmming.

Pros

The most useful feature that I use within this product is the logic linking and re-scheduling tools. It provides instant impact assessemnts from a delivery point of view.

Cons

Some of the formatting can be complex to correct if receiving files that in another Contrctors template format.

April 2020

Kyle from ARJ Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

The All Round Planning Software

Starting off my carreeer using MSP to where I am now, PP has changed the way I see programmes as a tool & visual aid.

Pros

Display properties for simplifying complex programmes to display to clients / site staff / subcontractors & ease of use

Cons

When Was using the network license and the VPN / internet would go down. Saving would not be possible and progress would be lost unless you copied and pasted the information captured into a new programme and saved once VPN was back up. Once VPN dropped you cannot save a programme when usin network license

Reasons for Choosing Powerproject

Ease of use

May 2020

Matthew from ISG Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

Powerproject in the Construction Industry

We manage pre-construction and construction activities for major construction, fit out and engineering projects using Powerproject. A dashboard has been developed with Elecosoft to produce very detailed and clear progress reports that are incredibly useful. Critical path analysis and monitoring on projects is the main thread of what we need to do as project planners, and Powerproject does this well. I have personally been usng it for about 20 years and have found it to be a powerful and easy to use software.

Pros

Using Powerproject is very intuetive to use and can easily produce gant charts for printing and PDF's that are clear and look good too. It is a very powerful tool that can accomodate a large amount of project data. It provides good facilities to monitor the progress your project and report the results.

Cons

The thing I like least abouth the software is that as file sizes grow, Powerproject can have glitches such as bar titles changing, rows do not line up with text or the software freezes. Also I experience problems with applying a filter and sort at the same time. It feels like something the software should be capable of.

May 2020

Ian from Capital Consulting International Ltd (CCi)

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Power to the Planner

Being involved with multi-million and billion dollar/ pound disputes, I have to articulate very technical issues and being able to define performance issues from change issues and the resequencing of the forecasted works, I am able to present simple graphics that help the lay person see what is being presented. Taking the complex and making it simple is the beauty of Asta PowerProject with its functionality ease of use it provides me the platform to then present at arbitrations, adjudications and mediations and has assisted me in helping to resolve the deadlock between the parties in dispute. I also use Asta to present seminars on delay and disruption and impact of change.

Pros

The most powerful aspect for me as a delay analyst and Expert Witness is the ability to code the links and customise the presentation to show a clear picture of what is happening to a project as it moves from an as-planned to an as-built aspect. No other software comes close to its functionality and ease of use.

Cons

There are minor issues with annotations when in preview and you zoom in or out can end up in a different position but this is minor. The one aspect of Elecosoft is they always have a listening ear to the customer and always react and adapt the software to meet users needs based upon the reason for a particular request. One was many years ago when I asked them to code links in order to provide the meaning behind the structure and sequence the planner has adopted in the network, be it a resource or safety link aspect.

May 2020

andrew from MACE

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

power project for planning

every day I am planning complex construction programmes and the intuitive style of the software and easy to used interface helps to create clear easy to read programmes which the whole team can understand and then implement.

Pros

Power project is any an easy software to use. I can train a person and within two hours they can produce simple programmes. As Their knowledge and experience of the software expands they will be able to develop more complex programmes and use the tools provided by the software to carry out complex analysis. This is all supported by a very good help line who are responsive and engaging.

Cons

this is a difficult question to answer I have been using the software for 20 + years and nearly all the features that I wanted have been incorporated into new versions as one of the feature of the software is that it is being continually updated through the user groups. I think the BIM features need developing more if I am being really critical

May 2020

Nigel from TENDA Engineering UK Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

A flexible tool for use by all levels of user, from beginner to experienced planner

More and more Clients are requiring full labour and lorry number histograms, as well as cost S-curves at very early project stages. The software is ideally suited to aid this, and with the ability to use coding in User fields/tables once the basic project is constructed, it is possible to automate this process to deal with any number of "what if" scenarios.

Pros

This software allows the production of a presentable gantt chart pretty quickly by practically anyone. Of course this could also be considered a drawback, (a little knowledge being a dangerous thing), but ease of use is a definite headline positive.

Cons

In the past exporting/importing data to or from other software has been flakey to say the least. However in the current version, things are much more accurate, although a good deal of checking is still necessary to ensure all is well after the import/export. To be fair, this could also be due to issues in the other software.

April 2020

Daniel from Interior Solution Consultants Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

If it came in a tin....

I’ve been using powerproject since version 5, so over 20 years. Again it’s never let me down and does more than it needs to on a daily basis.

Pros

The way that elecosoft powerproject can be utilised to demonstrate the same project at differing levels of complexity it’s ease enables my business to cater for all my needs. I’ve programmed projects like batteries power station phase 3 down to the refurbishment of a shower block using powerproject never let me down

Cons

People who have never used it and try and say Microsoft Is better. I know not everybody has it but more should be done to expose people to the benefits of powerproject over other inferior products

Reasons for Choosing Powerproject

It’s the best and it’s what I know my customers need to make planned decisions and run their projects

April 2020

Darren from CANARY WHARF CONTRACTORS LIMITED

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Review

Various types of developments and some very challenging ones

Pros

Ease of use, smooth production reporting

Cons

Sometimes encounter screen issues, ie what I see on the screen is not correct but becomes corrected by screen refreshing

April 2020

GERAINT from Real PM

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

My review.

it very positive but has its quirks that would be good to get rid of.

Pros

The ease of use. It is the closest software to drawing a programme by hand.

Cons

Some functions seem to be disjointed, for example I have never understood - when I want to format the duration column into say week, I have to format the column and then go and amend the table definition? This is similar in baselines- there is a baseline manager and also it needs to be dabbled with in format baseline , ditto histograms there is report and format, cant there be one area for each of these. And it crashes more than other software - freezes etc, fortunately it usually recovers well

April 2020

Tom from McGoff Group

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Construction Industry Standard Software

Pros

Looks great and easy to use - I have given tutorials to site staff and had novices up and running within hours. Huge array of features (many of which I hope to get round to using one day!), easy to reach and helpful support. Industry standard for construction - still don't understand why people use anything else in 2020. Flexible - can be as powerful or as simple as the user requires.

Cons

Occasionally prone to crash - makes you remember to save regularly. Also the occasional bug, but probably no more than other software

April 2020

Andrew from OnePugh3 Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

A Software That Helps Communication to Non Planners

Great simple functionality and presentation options promote planning to non-planners and gets people to actually understand programmes.

Pros

The customisable visual options i.e activity per line, colour coding and different date scales.

Cons

Many of my clients work in Primevera so I often need to export the programme into xer format. I then spend considerable time changing milestones and twerking the xer to match perfectly.

Reasons for Choosing Powerproject

For the reasons above. Asta Power Project is for real planners who add value to projects and not just input into a software.

April 2020

Rob from Laing O'Rourke

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

My Powerproject opinion...

Generally a great piece of project management software enabling one to accurately forecast, analyse and report project position.

Pros

Once the skills to use the software have been developed it is an easy user friendly piece of software that is both powerful and enables the user to present information in a clear and concise manner.

Cons

Calendars have always wound me up, albeit I think they are easier to develop and use on the newer versions of the software.

May 2020

John R from ULCCO-SP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

The Industry Norm

I am familiar with the system after years of use and it meet all our objectives.

Pros

Easy to use, but if you have a problem then Elecosoft are there to assist. There are good reasons why the industry has adopted this software as it go to brand.

Cons

I do not find computers easy to grasp and am sometimes amazed at what the software can do that I did not know about.

April 2020

Stephen from Lakes and Dales Project Planning Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

User Review

The software is the basis of my project planning service.

Pros

Ease of use Good graphics Ease of linking and rescheduling Can be used at a basic level to complex programme modeling

Cons

I find difficulty in using the formulae There are some aspects that are to me appear overly complicated I find difficulties with creating risk profile

April 2020

Edward from C-Sense Planning Limited

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Great product and super user friendly

Excellent and best in class. I recommend it to all our clients all the time.

Pros

Best in the market for user friendliness and also customer support. I would recommend everyone to purchase the support.

Cons

I do find there are still one or two bugs in it which i am surprised are not fixed despite the iterations over the years.

May 2020

Qudus from Adndrew Reid

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2020

A user friendly planning tool

It helps us plan, monitor and control programme effectively

Pros

The user friendliness and capacity to plan and control about 20000 activities. Good interface with BIM also

Cons

Interface with MSP and excel could be improved, similar to P6 primavera

April 2020

Tiernan from PHD Modular Access Services LTD

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Great Product for the Construction Industry

Fantastic!

Pros

Flexibility & Ease of use, the UK Support team is great!

Cons

Some advanced settings are difficult to find and understand where they apply.

Reasons for Choosing Powerproject

Construction focused product and a demo from the local team!

April 2020

Marc from Skanska

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Great software!

Used on a daily basis to assist with the planning of £100m + projects

Pros

Easy to use, fantastic support and many people in the UK construction industry.

Cons

Sometimes suffers from a glitch and crashes.

April 2020

Valentine from DCMS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Feedback

Pros

Ease of use Stable Innovation 4D BIM Presentation

Cons

Not easy to customize Macros not intuitive

April 2020

Michael from nmcn

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

User friendly, intuitive

i find it the most user-friendly of all the planning Softwares. Customer services are second to none. it may not have all the different fancy options but works in a consistent way that is useable, and can be reproduced by all, not just Super Users.

Pros

the software works and behaves as you would expect it to. there is a lot that can be self-learned, rather than searching You-tube for a solution

Cons

Missing elements from the bottom "Bar task and Properties" that would be useful

April 2020

Michael from Mick Flatt Surveying & Estimating Service

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2020

Essential Planning

As a one person QS business working for subcontractors and small developers I am able to provide programmes which allow them to understand their projects. I do not use the programme enough to get the full benefit of it but I do find it easy to use and my clients like the presentations

Pros

Easy to input information to produce the programme. Ability to separate trades and manipulate. Help always at the end of the phone

Cons

Sometime more complicated than I need, not the software's fault.

April 2020

Owen from Morgan Sindall

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Practical, easy to use but with real power

Ive been a user for over 20 years and have found this software to be the best all round product that is miles ahead in the real world

Pros

Its easy to get to grips with and quick to do simple bar charts but there is a lot of power when you need it.

Cons

Baselines in V15 have increased the size of files albeit you can turn off this feature but loose the inclusion of the baselines in your project file

April 2020

Andrew from McGoff Construction

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Industry Standard

Good standardisation of programmes and their presentation. Like the compliance checking.

Pros

Easy to make graphical representations of project programme and interrogate logic. Export data into excel for further processing.

Cons

Functions and menus not always the most intuitive. Fine for the constant or 'power user', but for occasional users it can be a little taxing.

April 2020

George from Insite Contracts

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2020

Powerproject Review

Overall very good. Used for all on site project programming and overall resource projection across the business

Pros

I like the ease of use but find that i use very few of the vast features that are available

Cons

Nothing i don't like about the software however i would prefer access to software across various machines without having to transfer licence

May 2020

Thomas from Namara Pty Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2020

Practical Professional

Far superior to MSPoject in many ways. The comaprison tool is good but needs updating/refresh I use it mainly for delay claims

Pros

Multiple Baselines BIM Comparison Tool Flexible Graphical Reports Options for "Line of Balance" Great import export

Cons

Poor detailed Training manuals/on line help Comparison tool give strange error messages with no clear solution Comparison tool suggests a report set up as if the user understands the technique. sometimes export to MS Project causes a problem, MS project issue needs to be recognised by Elecosoft

December 2018

David from KBR, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

December 2018

ASTA project management software

Pros

It took me a while to figure out who to use it but once you got going it was quite straight forward

Cons

Getting started due to the project I was planning there was a lot involved and did not need a new software to figure out as well.