Deltek Project & Portfolio Management (PPM)

Deltek Project & Portfolio Management (PPM) Reviews

RATING:

4.22

(29)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.22

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4

Functionality

4

All Deltek Project & Portfolio Management (PPM) Reviews

1-25 of 29 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2018

Increases Quality of Schedules

Pros

This software works best in conjunction with a scheduling software such as Oracle Primavera. It allows us to measure based on industry best practices the quality of schedules.

Cons

Some of the stats given out of the box does not give a good indication of schedule quality. Will need to tweak to fit your organizational needs. May be cumbersome and can take some time to set up correctly.

Joseph

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Acumen Fuse Is Awesome

It is great to handle our scheduling needs.

Pros

The flexibility, customization, and function of the software is top notch. It serves al of our purposes and is so much better than Oracle's versions of the software.

Cons

None. I have no complaints at all. Keep being awesome.

Reasons for choosing Deltek Project & Portfolio Management (PPM)

My management did a trial and I loved it and pushed for it and it is slowly being adopted across the corporation.

Reasons for switching to Deltek Project & Portfolio Management (PPM)

Primavera didn't do schedule health up to par.

David

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

2

November 2019

PM Compass Concerns

PM Compass is unreliable and time consuming. Very poor product. Please improve.

Pros

My division uses Cobra, PM Compass, and wInsight. I like that these software tools provide the required earned value and cost data and reports necessary for the business.

Cons

PM Compass is unreliable, un-user friendly, hard to navigate, poor graphic user interface, and poor reporting tool. It makes providing reliable and accurate data to our organization very difficult. I have been asked by other companies if I would recommend this product to them and I emphatically tell them to look elsewhere. Please improve PM Compass. Thank you

Reasons for switching to Deltek Project & Portfolio Management (PPM)

MPM no longer supported. For PM Compass, we had an internal program.

Jason

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

June 2018

aka GCS Premier with T&E

As a GovCon system's consultant, I've used/fixed/implemented/transitioned from this system numerous times. It was the accounting solution I recommended to all of my clients looking to be DCAA Compliant. I am sad it's no longer being sold/offered from Deltek.

Pros

I loved most things about this system. It was incredibly simple to implement. The interface was simplified so it became very easy to train new users. Projects and the JSR reports delivered enough information to manage programs/contracts. If setup correctly, it was the ultimate in getting your GovCon accounting system approved by the DCAA.

Cons

Unfortunately, the support for this product is supposedly going away. They're moving everyone to a lite/compartmentalized à la carte version of Costpoint now. This system was expensive but affordable in the sense that your average clerk/bookkeeper could be taught how to use it. Costpoint isn't for the faint at heart! :)

NATHAN

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2018

Projeqtor Open source Project Management Platform

I love this platform for projects that require intense tracking of deliverables and project accounting. Project Libra also has a paid cloud version. I would highly recommend this to new firms that are between 1-20 people managing projects.

Pros

Let me start by saying this is clearly the most robust project management platform on the market that falls under open source code. This platform allows you to do project accounting, deliverable tracking, change management tracking, team allocations, time accounting, and crm functions. Being a professional project manager I love the robustness of this platform. All labels are customizable (be careful not to re label something unintentionally). Project Libra does offer paid setup Updates seem to be often even as open source

Cons

The paid setup is incredibly expensive The user interface feels "clunky" and "old" the icons and labels feel like they are straight out of windows 3.1 Open source license prevents companies from charging to sell this software however a means to monetize could be in hosting or supporting on prem deployments (license loophole) Security becomes an issue for the deployment team to handle

Richard

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

Cobra: A powerful tool

Cobra is going to be used with PM Compass as part of our plan for teams to enter ETC data that is going to be used in Contract Reviews.

Pros

Been using Cobra with OPP for 20 years. We currently use OPP 3.4 and Cobra 5.1 but are due to upgrade to latest versions any time now. Cobra is an extremely powerful tool that contains all the data that you need in PM. The trick is getting management buy in of what it’s telling them.

Cons

Restoring backups takes ages. The tool could do with a refresh with the architecture.

Terry

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2016

PPM has a lot of functionality, but a time investment is needed to master it.

Our organization purchased Open Plan and COBRA over 8 years ago. However, we didn't really know much about either application before doing so. The Deltek consultants were very helpful in helping us get each one set up and ready for use. The problem was we didn't start using them on a regular basis or commit resources to them full time, so our knowledge base and expertise didn't evolve. Open Plan proved to be more robust than we needed at the time and we stopped using it. COBRA is used for only specific projects, mainly EVM related, and has provided us some nice benefits. But we still don't have a good handle on all of the functionality, which is holding us back a little. My suggestion is to invest time and resources to these products to get a better ROI.

Pros

Cobra reports are created as Excel files. Easy budget re-calculation, budget import.

Cons

The integration wizard is a little quirky.

Nicole

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: Less than 12 months

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2017

If you're ready...

This software is truly an asset to any company who is willing to put the time, money and resources (human) behind utilizing it to its fullest potential. If you are not ready to completely switch over to this program (leave all other software behind), then do not make the jump!

Pros

If everyone is one board to learn this program, you are in for a real treat.

Cons

Very hard to become proficient at unless you read all online, free resources, and then pay a lot of money to learn the next layer of information at workshops, followed by paying more money for the private consultation to answer follow-up, in-depth questions pertaining to your firms' standard practice.

Tyler

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2019

Deltek tools mostly work just need lots of consultants

Haven’t used other software to really compare besides MPM.

Pros

Helps get EV effort done and Cobra has a good user interface.

Cons

PM Compass user interface is not very good and clunky to navigate. Have issues getting WADs to work in PM compass when using Microsoft project.

Rose

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

I love Deltek

We use both Cobra and Winsight for Budget and EV. We like the functionality of the products to support project execution.

Pros

Cobra is used for budget and scheduling

Cons

Ease of use for users!

Kathleen

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

Cobra for EVM and proposal pricing

Pricing, reporting for research/ space flight instrumentation

Pros

Really great at EVM metrics and pricing baseline/ forecast at WP

Cons

Client server—should web app by now. Process log should be more intelligent and include more specifics

Reasons for choosing Deltek Project & Portfolio Management (PPM)

Industry standard

Mallori

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4.5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2015

Deltek First takes a lot off the IT dept and gives it to administrator

Pros

The updates get implemented automatically without the need to upgrade on-site servers, and the customer service is always very prompt.

Cons

Most times you have to start with the lowest level of help desk before getting bumped up to someone that actually knows what they are doing. It would be nice to have 1 or even a few experts that were assigned to you so you could build a relationship and skip on some of the frustration of having a novice send you something they copied and pasted out of a manual.

Kristen

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Airlines/Aviation

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

November 2016

Cobra 8 Release

The latest version of Cobra has many new features that we have been waiting for, we look forward to the future version releases to see what else is in store.

Connie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Architecture & Planning

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2017

Great for project management

The information available for managing projects is great. There are a lot of new features coming on board that will make this much more user-friendly.

Beverly

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

Ease of Used

Pros

Easy to use, accepted software, training

Cons

not much, it works great. Thank you for asking.

yoganandh

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5