What are Project Insight users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Project Insight software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.35

55 Reviews

5
23
4
28
3
4
2
0
1
0
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Can be integrated with other applications like QuickBooks, salesforce and a few others. All reports are easily customizable and you can always change the default as you deem appropriate."
  • icon"Statistics are easy to understand via the graphical chart format. The system is easy to use and have a clean layout."
  • icon"In terms of price is it probably in the mid range so it is suitable for established small to mid size organization. Training and support are easy to get online."
  • icon"The app is useless to us. We use it in a way that the app doesn't really apply."
  • icon"Exporting data can be a mess. Price might be high for the market target of this software."
  • icon"Unfortunately the price was put of our range, and was a little too expensive considering we weren't in a position at the time, to fully utilise every aspect of the product."

Jump to:

Browse all Project Insight Reviews

  • Have you used Project Insight and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 55 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 55 reviews

Anonymous

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Project Insight quick opinion

Has been a great experience implementing the software, the biggest challenge has been internal adoption by the staff, but we are getting there. PI has been very helpful along the way, and they are always responsive and available for questions. We feel this is light years ahead (for our group at least) of MS Project and management loves the visibility into all projects in process via dashboards, reports, etc.

Pros

Love that it is cloud-based, by far easier to use than MS Project, easy to assign tasks to techs in the field and have them update via mobile app, being able to have visibility into all projects in my portfolio. Their implementation assistance was painless and they were very helpful.

Cons

PI still needs to complete their integration with MS Teams, some quirky behavior due to the fact that it is web-based, usually a page refresh is all that's needed to fix UI issues.

Reasons for choosing Project Insight

Cost, features, complexity, support options

Reasons for switching to Project Insight

MS Project was overcomplicated for our needs, and did not offer any good ways to assign tasks to staff and have them be able to update from any platform (laptop/desktop/mobile). Also centralized reporting of all projects being worked on was critical for the "big picture" view for Executives.

Response from Project Insight

Thank you for this wonderful review of Project Insight. We are so happy that our tool is making your life easier and that your team and its leaders are pleased with the great results. Please always feel free to reach out. We pride ourselves on being helpful and personally available to our clients.

Replied June 2021

Tom

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Utilities

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Excellent Portfolio Management

Pros

We have a variety of clients that require small scale and large scale projects. PI offers excellent planning tools to setup projects and forecast staff utilization. We can also plan multi year projects with escalating rates by resource type. This provides a true picture for us to see how we are performing based on quote/budget.

Cons

Configuration of the product can be cumbersome. It does take a while to locate all the add ons you may want and configure them properly. Sometimes reporting doesn't always seem to get you to where you need to go. That being said, a weekly office hour session is offered and has been a big help for us to keep learning and moving forward. You definitely have to use this to know what you don't know.

Reasons for switching to Project Insight

We were looking for a product with more options and tracking. The timesheets and expense tracking are critical to our process.

Response from Project Insight

Hi Tom. Thank you so much for providing an experiences user's perspective of PI. We are so happy that our planning and forecasting tools are working for SL-serco. Thanks for mentioning our weekly "Office Hours" live support time. We are available whenever you need us at https://projectinsight.com/support

Replied June 2021

Kevan

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Pharmaceuticals

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2022

Project Insight - A company and project management tool that delivers.

Overall it has been a positive experience. It's easy to use once you go in and learn where to find things.

Pros

I was searching for a project management tool that would mimic as close as possible how we were currently running our projects. We already had a task list that was being used over and over again for our projects but it was in Excel. I wanted a tool that users would find easy to understand and have a similar look and feel to transition to. The other main component was to find a tool that could handle making updates to our Master Task list, which we do on a regular basis and have an automated way to update the Master task list and then have the system also update the project's task list for projects that were in process.

Cons

Would like it to be easier to build reports on my own. Example: To be able to create a list of specific resources for all projects. The ability to hide and unhide tasks that are Done without having to run a report to hide tasks that are complete but not be able to unhide them dynamically.

Reasons for choosing Project Insight

Project Insight delivered exactly what we needed with their product. We knew there were other things the product could do but the sell was that it could do what we asked for during their demo. They were also very easy to work with and accommodated me with my requests. The folks at Project Insight built what we wanted to see and didn't ask for money up front. The competitor showed us their product but wasn't able to sell it to us because they didn't show us the critical item(s) we were looking for. They said they could build it but once seeing it in PI, our minds were made to go with PI.

Reasons for switching to Project Insight

Many didn't like Jira. That tool is more for software development. Excel was easy and intuitive to use but laborious to update the master task list and make changes to project in progress. No bird's eye view to know what's going on with projects. This tool opens opportunities for not having to update several different documents with the same information.

Response from Project Insight

Kevan, we were so lucky to get to work with you on this project. We appreciate your glowing review. Customers like you are a perk of our work days. As for the reports, please set something up with our customer success team. We have tricks that will make that easier for you to tackle. Support@projectinsight.com and thank you again!

Replied May 2022

Scott

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Wireless

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

PI Review

Pros

One location to track time spent on a project and shared documents

Cons

The app does not allow modifying the start and complete date/time for completing a task. The title page when in a task seems to cut off the complete information if it is tool long, you need to go back to the dashboard to see the complete information

Response from Project Insight

Hi Scott, thanks for leaving honest feedback. The tool uses roles to decide who can edit the scheduling information. You may need to have that role to allow for editing or have your system configured to allow signees to change the dates. You may want to contact your administrator to have those rights. You could contact support also if you need more help or to submit a ticket. https://projectinsight.com/support

Replied June 2021

Miriam

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Project Insight

Not super impressed with the interface, not happy with the requirement to manually enter billing details for invoicing, too much need for manual entry.

Pros

Reporting features, excellent and prompt support staff.

Cons

Manual entry for billing, invoicing, glitches, random bugs that crop up.

Reasons for choosing Project Insight

I was not involved in the final decision making process then.

Reasons for switching to Project Insight

Standard time was outdated and needed more robust reporting features and project managing features.

Response from Project Insight

Hi Miriam. Thank you for taking the time to review PI. We are glad you are enjoying the reporting and support staff aspects of the tool. We also have quite a few ways you can automate your billing that might be of interest to you. If you would like to have any help, please reach out at https://projectinsight.com/support or use our self-help features here: https://projectinsight.com/support/self-help

Replied June 2021

Rania

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2017

Software is intuitive, staff is VERY responsive to requests, and software is customizable.

The ability to see more into project work, manage resource allocation and task completion. Drive projects to completion.

Pros

Project Insight has a robust project management system is highly customizable without impacting back-end table structure. Power users have the ability to create their own forms and add form fields to reports. Consultant is very responsive to requests and is delightful to work with! Videos and online software guides help users become acclimated to software; most recently, the Project Insight team has added AI to assist with reminders for team members (for time entry and other administrative tasks.) Animated figures assist and coach users with software.Project Insight also makes resource allocation simple! Project Managers and Resource Managers are able to quickly see when staff (resources) are overallocated on tasks during a given day or week and are able to shift other resources to that task in order to ensure the task is still completed on time.There is so much I could say about Project Insight - I have enjoyed using it tremendously.The software won the CODiE award for best Project Management solution in 2017.

Cons

This is a difficult question. I suppose that if it would be possible to change the reporting features so you could set up reports in PI the way you can in Excel so export was not necessary, that would be amazing.

Keaton

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Oil & Energy

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Review

It's helped out with project management

Pros

Invoicing, project creation, time entry, good project management tool

Cons

Integration issues and only having one person who can do the integration. Need more users to be able to complete simple tasks

Reasons for choosing Project Insight

Invoicing, project creation, time entry, easy to use and navigate

Reasons for switching to Project Insight

Continuum did not do what they promised

Response from Project Insight

Hello Keaton. Thank you for sharing your positive experience about PI. We are so happy that it is working for you as your project management tool. We are not positive what you mean by "only having one person who can do the integration." We have a whole team of integration specialist to help you get connected to the right tools. Please feel free to reach out to give us more information about your situation. We would be happy to help. https://projectinsight.com/support

Replied June 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

PMO Tool - Project Insight

We have been using project insight for nearly 3 years now, where the support has been excellent.

Pros

Project Insight is a simple and effective tool in managing multiple projects across the business. The tool is easy to navigate and can generate reports, thereby reducing manual work.

Cons

The export functionality can be restrictive at time which some customised featured should be standard.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

Difficult interface

We used this with a third part integration partner, it was really their tool. I just found the overall experience to be a big clunky compared to other agile tools i’ve used.

Pros

This tool had great detail in creation of the tickets or jobs. I liked the customizable fields and the ability to upload videos or images.

Cons

I could only ever get to my projects by hovering over the header and cruising over to the “!” icon. I also wish when you were creating a ticket, the number of the task displayed during creation so I wouldn’t have to go search for it after creating it to know how to reference back.

Kelsie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

December 2021

PI Review

I enjoy PI and am excited to discover new add-ons to better my company's user experience.

Pros

This product is very easy to use. It allows for customization and streamlining systems.

Cons

My least favorite feature is the lack of automatic status changes based on task flow.

TARUN

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Love using project insight

Overall, a very useful software. Very convenient to use on a daily basis to record your time and track your projects. Some improvements such as fast loading while logging into the tool and easier exporting data interface can make it more awesome product.

Pros

The feature of Project insight I use the most is "Time entry grid". It just takes few second to record your time daily on one or multiple projects. Interface is quite user friendly.

Cons

Exporting time entries at the end of the year is a bit complex. I always forget the steps and have to ask some to help me with the process. Also, sometimes the tool takes a lot of time to start.

Response from Project Insight

Hello Tarun. Thank you for taking the time to review PI. We are glad that it is making time entry easier for your team at Clarivate. We are always working on ways to keep our customers delighted. A whole year's worth of timesheets is a lot of data to process. Hopefully, you have been getting the answers you need about that process. If not, please reach out to us at https://projectinsight.com/support

Replied June 2021

svetlana

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2017

project insight

Easy to use PM software that allows getting sufficient details about the project in order to help you manage it better. I would not recommend it as a financial tool, but it is possible to export details in QuickBooks and I believe other financial application which makes it a great addition to your organization if you require a more in-depth project management application.

Pros

it is a user-friendly interface, easy to implement and easy to learn. can be integrated with other applications like QuickBooks, salesforce and a few others. all reports are easily customizable and you can always change the default as you deem appropriate. in terms of price is it probably in the mid range so it is suitable for established small to mid size organization. training and support are easy to get online.

Cons

some naming conventions are not necessarily obvious, which takes the time to get used to, especially when creating reports. not suitable for a financial application, so do not expect to do all your accounting in the projectinsight, it does however offer integration with other apps such as QuickBooks etc.

alex

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Strong Organizational Tool for Project based environment

I have worked with it in 2 organizations. In one we did extensive customization and worked with the PI team who were great. In another organization we use it more as is. In both instances it serves its purpose and performs well.

Pros

I like the simplicity of building a project and managing it across an organization.

Cons

Merging multiple templates into a project flow and having to eliminate the repeating tasks is challenging. It would be nice to be able to make the flow together easier.

Response from Project Insight

Thank you, Alex. We have been so pleased to work with Rapidscale and are glad you have enjoyed the tool at two organizations. Thank you for the feedback about repeating tasks. We are always looking for ways to improve PI. Please feel free to fill out a feature request at https://projectinsight.com/support.

Replied June 2021

Sanjay

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

P.I Entries

Pros

Easy to log in(no bugs or login errors) and light version of it which makes fast browsing.

Cons

Once I submit my Time entry worksheet to my manager, it becomes really difficult to correct the mistakes in the submitted sheet.

Response from Project Insight

Hello Sanjay. Thank you for taking the time to review PI. We are glad you are having a good experience with the tool. As for timesheets, the system is purposely set up to prevent editing once a timesheet is sent to an approver. This prevents errors in the approval process; however there are options that would allow a user to edit their timesheet. Please contact us at https://projectinsight.com/support if you would like to know more.

Replied June 2021

Jennifer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Easy to Use Project Managment tool

Project Insight has allowed better tracking of projects, forecasting, timelines, gantt charts and tracking the employees time.

Pros

I like the integration of projects and sales and invoicing in this software. Clearly robust enough to do capacity and resource management while still meeting all the needs of PMO.

Cons

Need a training manual to learn all features and use the software to it's highest potential.

Response from Project Insight

Hello Jennifer. Thank you for your review of PI. We are glad you are enjoying the robust capacity, resource management, and invoicing features in our tool. We have recently built up our training video library with over 100 video tutorials so that our users can find trainings on every feature. We are committed to helping our customers get up and running. You can also attend our weekly "Office Hours" trainings so bring your specific questions to our team. https://support.projectinsight.net/hc/en-us/articles/360029876751-PI-OFFICE-HOURS

Replied June 2021

John

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Good task management

Pros

It is fairly easy to manage and distribute projects and tasks.

Cons

The app is useless to us. We use it in a way that the app doesn't really apply.

Response from Project Insight

Hi John, Thank you for taking the time to send your thoughts. We are happy you are having a great experience with PI. We would love to hear more about what is missing for you in the mobile app. Right now, we believe it provides the same standard functionality as the desktop experience, but want to be sure it is meeting your needs. If you want to reach out to talk about it, you can connect at https://projectinsight.com/support

Replied June 2021

Natalie

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

March 2015

Ease of use!! Program Management Tool with Great Support from the Project Insight Team!!!

I was first introduced to the Project Insight, Program Management Tool, when I was asked to deploy the tool for the Avaya Corporation in 2013. Avaya is a global company with Project and Program Managers worldwide supporting Global Complex Managed Services. I was asked to deploy the Project Insight, Management Tool worldwide in 45 days. I had never deployed a Program Management Tool and this was a very aggressive schedule. We deployed the tool on 5/31/13 and it was a successful deployment due to the flexibility of the tool and the support from the Project Insight team. The tool is very flexible and the reporting capabilities are strong for operational views, which is our main use for the tool. The tool is very easy to implement as I had never implemented this type of a tool before and my main focus in the past was Program Management not tool deployment. As I mentioned above, due to the flexibility, ease of use with the tool and the support I received from the Project Insight Team with such supportive folks as Wes Kliewer and his knowledge of the tool and the collaboration from Wes contributed to the successful deployment of the tool. Today the Project Insight tool continues to grow across organization within Avaya. The high level of customer support is what you do not see often these days, especially after you have purchased and deployed a tool. It is very obvious the continued customer support and customer focus you receive from all of the Project Insight team, this is a very high priority with them. Thank you all, Project Insight Team!!! We did it together!!!

Hetashree

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

User for time entries management

Pros

All in one Project tracking tool. It's fast and allows to manage different project related data.

Cons

Interface can be more user friendly. Should have few feature automatic eg. after defining last date of project, it can auto-close the project. Auto- Time report every month or quarterly.

Harshita

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Legal Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Time Tracking

I have been using project insight since 6 years and my experience has been terrific and it has really made time tracking quite efficient for me.

Pros

Easy to use, quite efficient in pulling necessary reports, easy to track daily work and hours.

Cons

Everything seems to be working good so far.

Benjamin

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Environmental Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Great Product!

Pros

It is easy to use and keeps track of data very nicely!

Cons

Some of the features can be a little hard to find or make consistent. It takes some time to learn

Response from Project Insight

Thanks, Benjamin, for taking the time to share your experience about Project Insight. We are happy to help with any tips and trick that make learning a new tool easier. Check us our support resources or join us at our live "Office Hours" support each week. https://projectinsight.com/support

Replied June 2021

Brandie

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2017

Great customer care

Pros

PI offers some great report templates to work with and each report can be customized based on the columns you want and the info you are trying to collect.

Cons

There are some navigation issues that could be cleaned up within the application. Also the exporting feature is not very clean right now but I think that is more of a microsoft issue. Makes more work on my end to clean up the reports I download from PI.

Brian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

PI Support is the Best

Project Insight support has been so great. They continue to help find ways to help my company improve through the use of their software that together I know my company will eventually get to the improved level we want to be.

Pros

PI has so many great tools and reports it is excellent to allow users to "deep dive" on their projects to help identify issues and tasks that may need improving.

Cons

Like most users having learned on MS Project, PI is not quite to the level of ease that MS Project provides and becomes cumbersome when changes or additions or unique schedule things are required

Nicholas

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Organization Ease

Pros

Helps keep my team organized. It also helps prioritize tasks and offers insight what other departments are currently working on at any given time.

Cons

The interface could be a bit better. I also find that the task closures can be a bit cumbersome.

Response from Project Insight

Thanks for taking the time to review PI, Nicholas. We are glad our tool is helping your team stay organized and prioritized! As for closing tasks, we like to make that happen with a click of a button. If we can help your process with the task be smoother, reach out to us at https:/projectinsight.com/support

Replied June 2021

Laura

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2021

Easy to learn,

Overall good. Easy to use for the end user, straightforward to log hours/times. Imm sure theres a lot more that I could use it for- but am only using for hours/expense and project tracking

Pros

Time grid and project planning make sense and are easy to use

Cons

There are a lot of similar page names and tabs to the right page took some time to get used to. There are alot of option that I don’t use- and some of them, like expense tracking I do more of and so am more familiar with that. The scroll down on the time grid should automatically keep the heading for the dates It’s hard to constantly rescroll and keep the Info needed where it needs to be!

Response from Project Insight

Hi Laura. Thank you for reviewing Project Insight. We are so pleased to hear that the tool is working for Feist-Roche to track time and projects. If you would like help to prevent the scrolling you referred to, we would be happy to assist at http://projectinsight.com/support

Replied June 2021

Hina

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Another cool application for managing projects and tasks!

Pros

Project Insight helps with managing projects and tasks and help us stay track with our project timeline. Our clients use this tool and are happy with the way it allows them to participate with project team.

Cons

The reporting is great and helps see the visuals on the status of project tasks and timeline. Helps with the project billing details.

Showing 1 - 25 of 55 reviews
Project Insight

Project Insight

4.35/5 out of 55 reviews
icon12 recommendations
The number of recommendations our advisors have made over the past 30 days. Our advisors assess buyers’ needs for free and only recommend products that meet buyers’ needs. Vendors pay Software Advice for these referrals.
PriceWatch Demo