User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.0 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(16)

16

4 stars

(11)

11

3 stars

(4)

4

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "I liked the simplicity of the use, I used this for a class to explain how Gantt charts work and it was really interesting to all students."

  • "It's free, so that's a great pro and it has most of what you need."

  • "The greatest benefit: it is a free and open source application having similar functions and features as a paid for MS Project software. "

  • Cons

  • "some tools and errors that the system presents some specifically when you request the help in the system eas is the only thing that I would love to improve your other functions are perfect"

  • "The GUI could be a little more user friendly. The user interface looks a little old and is not as modern as MS Project."

  • "What we least liked about Projectlibre was the large learning curves for newcomers. It took a little while to get the hang of and understand what some of the prompts mean. "

Browse ProjectLibre Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -19 of 31 results

January 2019

Kelvin from BIDCO OIL REFINERIES LIMITED KENYA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

A Cost Effective Project Management Tool.

It is an easy to use and cost effective project management tool.

Pros

Projectlibre is tool that is being used across the entire organization. We use it in tracking of projects and allows us to keep organized when having multiple projects. One thing that makes it our preferred option is that it cost effective and also has a user friendly interface.More to that i like it s hierarchical organization of projects.

Cons

Though the interface is use friendly, i think it is little bit old and need some updating. I also wish the editing and graphics features updated.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Projectlibre Review

Pros

If you can throw away everything you know about other spreadsheet services when you use Projectlibre, it will be easy to pick up and understand. You have to remember that while it looks similar to a spreadsheet, it is an entirely different platform with different purpose and functionalities. Once you get into the hang of it, Projectlibre will make managing projects and resources a breeze. Another pro about this software is that there are tons of help videos and articles online if you ever get stuck.

Cons

What we least liked about Projectlibre was the large learning curves for newcomers. It took a little while to get the hang of and understand what some of the prompts mean.

Reasons for Choosing ProjectLibre

We chose ProjectLibre as our project tracking tool because it has a free, fairly comprehensive version: Projectlibre Open Source.

December 2018

Janette from Faureca

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

Manage time

I like it, graphically is nice and all the functions and tools give the Gantt chart a very simple look.

Pros

I liked the simplicity of the use, I used this for a class to explain how Gantt charts work and it was really interesting to all students.

Cons

Even when it is a simple tool to manage and administrate task in a timeline it will not work for a company, because it is just the Gantt chart with dependencies, so if you are looking for a complete software it will not be helpful.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Free Project Management Software Gets the Job Done

We use it for simple project management timelines. We don't get too in depth with them and will probably buy software if we become a bigger operation.

Pros

This is a free version of software like microsoft project. It has most the same functionality and use.

Cons

It has some known glitches, but that is to be expected it is free, it also isn't as intuitive as some of the paid alternatives are.

Reasons for Choosing ProjectLibre

Don't use it enough yet to buy the alternative

January 2020

Alson from ash+zelkova

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Currently the best software for timeline construction beside MS Projects

Project Libre is the only timeline application we use in our company. It is easily accessible by anyone (being opensource) and the export feature works great too.

Pros

It can basically do everything MS Project can do at the price point of $0.

Cons

The user interface of the software is very dated, it is very clear the software is written for function and not for aesthetics.

Reasons for Choosing ProjectLibre

The price point is the main reason why we went with Project Libre.

January 2018

Carlos from Index

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

A good alternative for low budget planning projects

1) Visual help for Project scheduling 2) Resource administration easiness 3) Timelines for tasks and complete project

Pros

This software lets you manage projects with a reasonable level of complexity, such as having multiple tasks simultaneously, specific task/job completion dates, predeceasing tasks, and resource managing, by providing you with a good set of reports and data views that may vary from a simple lines and columns table, up to a Gantt chart (a tasks & calendar arrange),and ultimately a critical path diagram.

Cons

When entering records for the tasks of the project, the program has an issue when trying to make a correction in a cell (mainly a text one like the task name/description), if you make a "typo", and you try to delete the letter by using the "Back space" key, it may delete the whole line instead of the typo. This is time consuming since it makes you have to start entering the record all over again.

June 2019

Max from SparkCognition

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Aims to replace Microsoft Project, for free

We don't pay for Microsoft Project so we have been trying this. It does not really replace MS Project I am told by our PMEs. But it still is a powerful too once you have learned where to set up all your settings and get proficient enough to get what you want done but there is a lot to learn. I have moved on to simpler software like the GanttProject but this is still the gold standard for free, open source project software.

Pros

This software is free! Also, it is very stable and has been around enough to have a good help online and it is easy to import and export.

Cons

There is a steep learning curve. So many different ways to make your project plan, and what resources, and charts and how long the work day is or week etc. And it takes a while to find where all these different features/settings are at.

January 2019

Julio Cesar from Optimissa

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Capital Markets

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

A great option

Pros

The ease of use and that it is a great option to other project management tools in the market.

Cons

The translation of some of the features (I'm a Spanish native speaker) are sometimes kind of "odd".

March 2018

lisbeth from Consejo Federal de Gobierno

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

practical for organization of all the work to be done in a project

Planning of all the activities to be carried out in the execution of a project and thus compare how the project is going with respect to the planned time

Pros

helps to organize and plan all the actions that must be fulfilled, easy economic installation Easy visualization of the tools you can export and import can also be exported to pdf, it is compatible with your Microsoft similar one.

Cons

some tools and errors that the system presents some specifically when you request the help in the system eas is the only thing that I would love to improve your other functions are perfect

April 2018

Andrés from ELI SOLUTIONS INC.

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

An affordable yet complete Project Management tool

I did not have the budget to use MS Project but I needed to use a PM softaware, so I did.

Pros

It allows you to create columns for every piece information you need (deviation rates, resources added, etc) and make your calculations with your dates and deadlines. Basically, you can make your entire Gantt with ease, and offer almost the same experience if you were working with MS Project.

Cons

Its UI is not attractive and sometimes it crashes without any reason whatsoever. Also you need to be familiar with PM terms and tactics or you will be lost using this software. Export capabilities are poor and you are left with the responsibility of understanding where is what if you want the software to work for you.

February 2019

julio from mcp 2010 ingeniería ca

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Programming construction works never been easier

With this software I could present all my projects in the construction industry, such as the construction of the guard house and the garbage room for a building. I could tell my customers how to reach the schedule time of delivery of works, the critical activities during the construction and the relation of advance of construction vs down payments. All the tools allows me to explain clearly and detailed to my customers every cent they invest on the construction work and where is it.

Pros

The easy commands of the software allows me to program construction works, phases, activities and staff associated to each one of them and the Gantt Chart schedule. Also I can calculate, cost and program down payments along with the works advance charts. With the Gantt chart schedule, help me to compare the programed construction works with the real construction execution, allowing me to adjust every day the needs of the work in order to finished the construction work at time or even better, to improve the time for finished the contract.

Cons

I need to implement lot of information about the construction staff hourly cost, I Include others costs like materials, transportation and equipment just to achieve a real value of cost, but I would like if every one of this elements could under the consideration of the developers in order to make a most flexible and adaptable software to construction industry, it will be a big improvement.

March 2018

Louis from LionRT

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Project Libre is extremely useful as a possible software solution alternative to Microsoft Project where unique compatibility is not strictly required.

Download freely and easy to use......if there aren't constraints requiring Microsoft Project implementation......Project Libre will suit quite well to creating new projects across the widest file categories and project types .....at our company we are extremely happy with Project Libre's flexibility and ease of use. It is quite intuitive to operate as well. Project Libre is a welcome software solution as an addition to our operating environment. Project Libre absolutely helped our company organize our file project load, as well as allowing us to use fewer organization software solutions. Keep in mind it is freeware so there is a lack of readily available direct online customer service support however one can access online tutorials quite readily from existing user forums. This user support is most helpful....we would recommend Project Libres use to any company and users interested.

Pros

Extremely easy to use , Project Libre supports a wide variety of tasks including scope, time, and budget needed to create our local projects for company use. The software is supported on all major OS platforms including MAC OS, Linux, and MS Windows.

Cons

Project Libre projects can take some time to load when the project sizes are larger and there is a relative lack of customer support, but we believe that is to be expected when dealing with an open source and freeware software......not much to dislike frankly. Be aware that plenty of curated user community specific online support materials exist and are most helpful.

April 2018

Daniel from Air Force Research Labs

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Excellent alternative to MS Project, more portable and good XML support.

I'm able to do project management tasks, ranging from small quick tasks to extracting the critical path and progress towards milestones of many-thousand line projects, easily and from a variety of computer stations without having an expensive license that is locked to a single machine.

Pros

For anybody learning how to use project management software for school or other uses, starting with ProjectLibre is an excellent choice. The most valuable capability for ProjectLibre is that it performs every task that somebody already familiar with Microsoft Project can, and the more standardized (compared to the varieties and versions of MS Project) interface actually makes it more practically usable. The other major advantage is that all versions of ProjectLibre appropriately handle XML export and import, which cannot be said of many versions of MS Project.

Cons

The only real drawbacks are that it doesn't integrate with many other office utility applications. The real advantage in my daily use of the MS Project offering is that it will interface with MS Project Server, which is only realistically relevant if you're already locked into the MS suite of tools. The UI isn't as polished as high-dollar offerings, and in some cases it requires searching through third-party support documentation to figure out what's actually going on in some situations.

June 2018

Fabiana from 7Q81

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

A good alternative to Microsoft Project for Gantt charts and project management tool

We have been able to share and communicate timelines with the teams and clients. Also, with ProjectLibre we cam estimate critical tasks and dates of the projects.

Pros

Although is an open source free tool, ProjectLibre has many options and is relatively easy to use. I like the ability to change the views from Gantt to WBS or Resource usage. Yo can easily define tasks, predecessors tasks and assign resources. Also, you can configure the calendar and export to PDF making it easy to share with clients.

Cons

Sometimes, when trying to create new tasks, all the diagram mess up and it is almost impossible to relink all the tasks again. Also the interface could improved a lot.

April 2018

Tamoya from eGov

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Great alternative for MS Project

Pros

The greatest benefit: it is a free and open source application having similar functions and features as a paid for MS Project software.

Cons

The GUI could be a little more user friendly. The user interface looks a little old and is not as modern as MS Project.

March 2018

ricardo from Vicepresidencia de la República Bolivariana de Venezuela

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Free Project very useful and friendly to plan.

Pros

What I like the most is the ease of making Work Decomposition Structure Diagrams (WBS) which allows a feasible balance between the different disciplines and locations of the project.

Cons

I don't find anything to the program that I don't like sincerely is a very useful tool for project management which facilitates the planning

March 2018

keiver from consejo federal de gobierno

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

proyectlibre is an open source software, that was born as an good alternative to microsoft project.

Pros

its license is completely free, it is also compatible with gnu / linux, Microsoft and macOS being this very favorable for its users, it is also an excellent program to plan, manage, direct and manage a project since the usability and the interface are usually very similar to the Microsoft project

February 2018

nirmal from GMR Group

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Very useful application for project management

I use it for managing construction projects, found the software very useful and made my task very easy to achieve.

Pros

Its very simple and easy to use, more easy than microsoft project, its very intuitive . Has a number of advanced features which are very useful for project management.

Cons

its cloud support and collaboration features need some improvement. the GUI could be done more user friendly which will make it very appealing.

July 2019

Terran from Utah State University

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Research

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Free alternative software for Linux users

I love how small and compact it is, and with being available on Linux, it's a no-brainer for project managers.

Pros

I love the amount of features packed into Projectlibre. It makes it a great alternative to MS project and is available on linux! It provides everything needed to help plan and organize a project.

Cons

The user interface isn't quite as friendly as MS project, and it can sometimes be hard to find certain features.

March 2018

Maria Nelly from Universidad Central de Venezuela

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Excellent platform for project management.

Pros

What I like most is that you can evaluate the cost of the earned value in a simple and very complete intuitive way.

Cons

what I like the least about this program is that it does not allow you to use the mouse wheel to scroll in the bar diagram you should look at the zoom buttons in the toolbar of rest is very friendly.

February 2020

Tarun from Strategic IT Solutions Inc

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Individual & Family Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2020

ProjectLibre Review

Overall experience has been satisfying with using ProjectLibre replacing the licensed version of MS Project that costs dollars.

Pros

ProjectLibre is a great tool that replicates all features of MS Project to create project management plans

Cons

There is NOT a single feature that I do not like about ProjectLibre. It has all the features that MS Project has.

March 2018

Jason from Colorado Christian University

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

2.0

March 2018

Decent free software for managing projects

Pros

Project Libre provides a pretty close alternative to MSProject for free. It has most features that MSProjeft 2007 has.

Cons

Not a complete replacement and it is missing quite a few features that MSProject has. Has not kept up with MSProject versions and many newer features are missing which makes it much less attractive.

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

February 2020

Projectlibre a good basic alternative

Being a free product it is easy to install and start using it. It gives you classic tip of the day and ideas for everyday use. Allowing to open MS Project files is a great advantage, even though you cannot save your file back to MS Project it is a good option if you receive a file and just want to take a look at it.

Pros

It is compatible with Microsoft Project, which is (in my opinion) the most common project tracking SW. On top of that is free to use, what else would you need?

Cons

As a free product it lacks the polish professional products have. Projectlibre has crashed on me a few times, and that has caused my work to get lost.

March 2018

María Luisa from Colegio Universitario de Caracas (Universidad Nacional Experimental de la Gran Caracas)

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

The free project is a free software that I use very frequently for the management and administration

Improve the management and administration of projects.

Pros

That I can open and use documents that I have worked with Microsoft Project, and at least what I have done as a Gantt chart, tables, costs and tables, I can migrate them to Project Free without any problem.

March 2018

Jean Carlos from Consejo Federal Gobierno

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Projectlibre has made life easier for me, since it has allowed planning at low cost.

Pros

The ease with which we can perform the analysis of resource management through the option histogram, and that allows to see the graph of use of each resource and compare it with its availability, is what I like the most since with that information it can be decided if it is necessary to increase the availability of the resource or redistribute its allocation .

Cons

What I like the least is that I have tried to create a single resource base for several projects and to indicate when I have a resource conflict but I have not managed to carry out this action.

June 2018

Nelevis from Unikemia

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: E-Learning

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2018

Excellent experience using this tool in the management of free software development projects

It is a good free alternative for project management.

Pros

It can be open on Linux, Mac OS or Windows. Also, it has useful Gantt Chart and it is compatible with Microsoft Project.

Cons

Sometimes I have had problems clicking on save because the system has closed without giving me any message about the error.

June 2018

Cesar A from Inversiones SYS

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Open source software for your projects

Pros

Collaboration is the key work when you use Project Libre, you can use this software anywhere you are because you do not have a limited number of users, you can also manipulated the project from many places without any limitation, and I can say that it is almost better than MS Project.

Cons

The older versions were a little unstable, but with the years they have improve a lot and many people all over the world use this software for make and design projects.

March 2018

Ana Karina from Fondo de Compensación Interterritorial

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Free alternative for project management

Pros

The best thing in this software allows you to save the baselines in order to make comparisons between the initial planning and the final realization of the project.

Cons

It is a simple tool offers only the tools necessary to manage a project, and does not allow management of the critical chain method

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

3.0

September 2018

Great free project management tool

Pros

It's free, so that's a great pro and it has most of what you need.

Cons

It's hard to navigate and there is little to no customer support. I had to watch videos by other users to learn how to use it.

September 2018

Gabriela from Stone and Style

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Furniture

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Good experience

I liked the software, once you learn how to use it is easy, but it is a little hard to learn the use.

Pros

It work very good to plan projects. You can keep track of all activities and identify the most important. The features are good.

Cons

It is a little hard to learn how to use it.

March 2018

ricardo from FONDO DE COMPENSACION INTERTERRITORIAL

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

Is a software that facilitates the analysis and management of projects in a simple way.

Pros

Projectlibre allows to export and save projects in PDF version and offers good options for printing reports.