Unanet ERP

Unanet ERP Reviews

RATING:

4.37

(57)

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.37

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Unanet is a great tool to track project-specific time. Very easy to assign staff to projects and establish time budgets."
  • icon"I like that I can enter hours in 15 minute increments."
  • icon"Unanet is perfect for a growing company trying to keep overhead and admin staff small. Their customer support is great and they have a wealth of knowledge available online."
  • icon"I can't say that I really have any complaints about this particular vendor."
  • icon"Not easily customizable. In a small org it's hard to have the resources available to populate to the level of detail Unanet requires."
  • icon"It should be titled Paid Leave Accrual start date since that is what its function is."

Browse all Unanet ERP Reviews

  • Have you used Unanet ERP and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 55 reviews

User Profile

Lynn

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2018

Became a Unanet user in 2015, and am still loving it as a total project based accounting solution!

Unanet's ease of use and flexibility has allowed me to be much more productive and timely in delivering reports, processing monthly billings, accounting reviews, month end close, and many more activities!

Pros

Unanet is extremely user friendly! My favorite aspect is the ability to review project performance data in real-time. This functionality makes it easy to provide our customers with data they need to determine project funding, spend plans, run-out dates, and so much more. In my career, I have used several project accounting systems, and Unanet outshines them all in terms of ease-of-use, flexibility, and customer support!

Cons

My one drawback is the absence of purchasing functionality, however, since Unanet is rolling that out soon, I really will not have any "cons" to speak of!

Cathryn

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

Good product for Government Contractors

Timesheet and Expense functions are excellent to use. With the implementation of invoicing, we are able to generate invoices faster and eliminate many possible human errors working with spreadsheets previously. Using an automated system definitely helped us passing a recent Government accounting system audit.

Pros

We utilize Unanet timesheet, expenses and invoicing functions. These functions are very helpful in streamlining our business processes and provide required/validated controls as a Government contractor. There are also many resources available to support users, such as Knowledge Centers, Help files, frequent webinars, Unanet University, etc.

Cons

After using the software for four years (including recent two also on invoicing), I still couldn't troubleshoot certain issues myself and sometimes unsure of certain data flows. Hopefully my confidence grows as I continue using the product.

Reasons for choosing Unanet ERP

Unanet was the software in use when I joined the company, but I believed the cost was one of the determining factors.

Frank

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

October 2019

Very Poor SW Update Test and Verifcation Before Release

Pros

Product is fine as long until an update is release

Cons

Can not trust an update will "work" without extensive problems and loss of past functionality. It recent "update" timeslip functions that a junior SW tester should have determined didn't work (resulting in a quick update) were not found prior to release. MAJOR issue is that Government Cost Plus reports and invoice function DOES NOT WORK. After a week of "so called customer service" - No answer other than it is being worked..... Blogs indicate that multiple users are having similar issues. How can a basic function not be verified before release?!?!?!?

Kathleen

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Great Software

Pros

Unanet is very user friendly and on the off chance you can't figure something out their support team is right there to help you and in a timely manner. Unanet allows you to attach documents to everything so we no longer need to keep track of things in different places. You can attach award and mod docs to the contracts, bank statements to reconciliations, checks and invoices to AP Vouchers and AP Payments. It's a great way for everyone to have access to the things they need.

Cons

Some of the updates they add change the information for my custom reports and you need to make adjustments to get the same information after the update is live. However the system exports a template so you can make the changes easily without having to recreate the whole report.

Reasons for choosing Unanet ERP

Cost was a factor but of all the systems we looked at Unanet housed all the capabilities we were looking for.

Reasons for switching to Unanet ERP

Microsoft was no longer supporting GCS

Ed

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2017

Essential capability for government contractors. Unanet has been key to our success.

Pros

Integration. Unanet combines time/expense, project management, billing, and financials all in one system. No import/export of data between systems. When an employee logs time or expenses, the cost automatically rolls into your billing, accounting, and project management functions. DCAA Compliance. Calculates indirect rates and applies to billing. Enforces DCAA timesheet rules and JTR travel rules. Using this software enabled us to consistently get invoices approved by DCAA in less than 5 days, and got our incurred cost proposal accepted without an audit as "low risk." Report and Invoice Formats. Very customizable in all aspects. I'm told they are much more flexible than competing systems. Two months after we implemented Unanet, we received our first CPFF contract as a small business. If we did not have Unanet, we would have hired at least one more overhead person, and probably several more. Unanet has been a key factor in our business success.

Cons

Learning Curve. With power comes complexity. Unanet is no exception. Rollout was difficult, and there were a lot of setup decisions to be made without a full understanding of the functionality implications. We got the budget version of rollout services; I don't recommend that. Flexibility. Unanet can be too customizable at times. Sometimes I wished they would just say "here is the way to do this" instead of giving so many choices for how to implement some functions. Accounts Payable. Less than fully developed Vendor Invoice reporting, especially lack of ability to link to projects at invoice level. Costs incurred via invoice also do not appear in T&E reports, and now way to budget and control vendor costs.

Stephen

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Civil Engineering

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

First 6 Months

I've used 4 different ERP systems in my 35 year career. Unanet is the most comprehensive with great customization. Good value based on lower cost and more features than other products. All the products have pros and cons. My biggest concern on Unanet is the time for new users to gain comfort using the software. New users are intimidated by the lack of some "out of the box" solutions and quick access to help.

Pros

It has a broad range of capabilities such as Accounting, Project Management, HR and Prospect Management that are all tied together. The software has great capabilities and customization. It operates faster than other packages I've used. A powerful and comprehensive database.

Cons

I find this software to be somewhat "daunting" for new users. Particularly for staff that have never used an ERP system before. It requires considerable training and customized settings before it can be utilized. - On start-up many of the screens are "blank". It requires the user to input data to get started. - No "standard" dashboards. Everything must be customized and set-up from scratch. - Training videos are great, but it requires new users to setup additional passwords to secondary web sites. A bit of a deterrence for staff that already have too many passwords. Should be a direct link. - Multiple places to access information which can be helpful for regular users, but new users get confused where to find information. - Some inconsistency in how data is entered (top, bottom middle of screen/menu). - Needs a few more "out-of-the-box" solutions, dashboards and reports to help new users.

Reasons for choosing Unanet ERP

External cost of product and training. Range of features, customization and dashboards available.

Reasons for switching to Unanet ERP

Need better project management and control of a growing company.

Anonymous

Company size: 201-500 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2019

Highly Recommend Unanet

Pros

I love the real time data you receive from Unanet. When a time sheet is updated, you automatically see the data within your project reports, etc. This allows for managers to view the most up to date data on hours and funding. This also allows for faster completion of time sheets which leads to quicker billing times.

Cons

The learning curve. There was a learning curve coming from another product but we were all able to quickly pick up the system and begin using it.

Reasons for switching to Unanet ERP

Deltek was eliminating their support and updated for GCS Premier.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

Solid Accounting and Project Control Software

Good experience with project budget management, project reporting, corporate accounting, invoicing, accounts payable, time keeping, expense reporting. The integration of all these functionalities has sped up invoicing, reducing days sales outstanding, reduced costs in terms of project budget overruns, and generally made the finance teams’ lives easier.

Pros

Unanet is very intuitive relative to other ERP/project control/accounting software solutions that I have used in the past. It is very easy to navigate to the information you are looking for, and Unanet is robust enough to display it in just about any configuration. It integrates all the most common business functions seamlessly (accounting, invoicing, project reporting, timekeeping, expense reports, etc.), and has greatly expedited our workflows.

Cons

Although Unanet has very robust reporting capabilities, it only gets you part of the way to the goal when it comes to reports and summarization. Most reports are simply a wall of numbers of revenue/cost line item by reporting period, and it takes time to digest that information and/or translate it into a format that works well for presentation to non-financial employees or leadership.

Anonymous

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

User Experience Needs Work, But Reliable

Having used it for over two years, Unanet is pretty reliable.

Pros

Overall, Unanet is a reliable tool for time management from the user standpoint. It's easy to input time off requests, track vacation leave, and manage sick time. I do like that it's easy to upload receipts for expenses and that I can copy my manager on leave requests so he knows when I won't be around. This is web-based and good for remote workspaces like mine. When there is maintenance, Unanet always announces it well in advance so time reporting isn't impacted.

Cons

When it comes to inputting expenses and using specific codes, it's not always self-explanatory and I've had to get detailed explainers from management.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2019

Upgrading to Unanet Financials

We hope to get rid of excel based invoices and move into standardized versions. Unanet financials will also allow us to generate indirect rate statements in real time.

Pros

We were able to upgrade to Unanet Financials from an older accounting software system. As we continue to grow - maintaining fewer systems is a high priority.

Cons

I would like if it were easier to share reports between users.

Arturo

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2017

A great innovative product that is much more than your average project accounting system

Pros

Unanet is a true ERP system that can be used to combine several business units into one. Most project accounting systems are typically only used by accounting departments. However, unlike most systems, Unanet is built to allow access to just about every department in an organization with its role based capabilities. I like the fact that every person in the company is given the capability to create and save their own reports in addition to having personalized dashboards to satisfy specific business needs. The system is only as good as the data it is being fed. That being said, in order to optimize the system's value, its essential that the entire organization buys into the system and utilizes it like a true ERP system.

Cons

Unanet has very strong project accounting reports to manage projects efficiently. However, I would like to see a bit more from the financial side of the system. For example the system does not have a cash flow statement which is essential for most organizations. That being said, I am impressed with the current financials in place as it was just introduced 2015. I believe in a few years the system will be nearly perfect for any organization as in continues to innovate its capabilities.

Ruth

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Professional Training & Coaching

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

November 2019

Unanet Solves Many Requirements

Pros

I like the ease of entering hours worked as well as paid time off. It is easy to view accrued paid leave time making it a simple solution for planning.

Cons

There seems to be a disconnect within certain sections. 1. If a new pay rate is entered and saved in error, it has never allowed the option to delete the error and revert to the original entry. 2. The designation on the People – Profile - Hire Date is misleading. It should be titled Paid Leave Accrual start date since that is what its function is. Our company starts accruals for new hires effective the first day of the pay period they are hired in.

Nabeel

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

March 2018

Unanet is an innovative tool that looks like the future of financial softwares

Unanet is an amazingly powerful software that is way ahead of its competitors in its user-friendliness and its intuitiveness.

Pros

Unanet is an excellent project accounting and financial tools. It is incredibly easy to use and its inherent intuitiveness make this is an extremely powerful tool. It even comes up with cell phone app and can be navigated from virtually anyplace. It seems like Unanet is a more advanced, technological and user-friendly version of its competitors like CostPoint and GCS Premeir.

Cons

Unanet is such a powerful financial tool that there is very little not to like about it. However, still like all softwares, it has its shortcomings and one of the major shortcomings it has is its ability to accommodate complex project setup structures that roll up and consolidate into a higher level. This makes project setups in Unanet very different and challenging and it also greatly affects corporate financial reporting.

Cory

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 12 months

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4.5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2015

Unanet is a great product!

Pros

Our experience with Unanet has been excellent. We are using it to support a DCAA auditable accounting and financial practice and it is working quite well. Its flexibility as to the setup and configuration at the user interface level is outstanding. It truly allows us to create our company policies and procedures and tailor Unanet to those and not vice versa. It is a lightweight interface that is intuitive and well designed. It includes the ability to configure user roles for everyone from a basic timesheet or expense user to a Controller or CFO that oversees the entire financial operation of the business. We have especially enjoyed its ability to export financial data to CSV files, be able to manipulate those exports, and import them into payroll systems, accounting systems, and more. Moreover, it is scalable and cost-effective. It allows you to setup an operation for a startup company and scale it accordingly, including costs, as you grow. It is a 100% tailorable and lightweight ERP. It can implement as little or as much rigor as you desire into your finance and accounting operations. We are excited to further understand and eventually implement Unanet financial as it seems to be on a strong trajectory in its early stages. It is a great product that we highly recommend!

Cons

I haven't found any issues with Unanet that haven't been resolved and/or I can configure it to support for me. It is an incredibly tailorable and well thought out software product.

Nabeel

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2017

Unanet Project Module Review

Overall Unanet operates more like a modern day application than a traditional accounting software. With its great user friendliness and flexibility, the software seems set to keep increasing in popularity.

Pros

The Unanet Project Module is an extremely user-friendly module that redefine the meaning of intuitiveness in regards to the project setups and structure. Anyone with little to no background can pick up this module and start setting up projects and running reports. The module is organized in a neat format and the speed through which changes can be saved and projects updated add great value to the customer

Cons

The Unanet Project Module while having some great features lacks a 'roll up' feature the likes of which are found in competitor software like CostPoint. Due to this lack of functionality, the reports can often not run on Level 1 of a project since the projects below do not roll up under a parent project.

Jenny

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2016

DCAA Compliance with outstanding reporting for Program Managers (PM)

Unanet makes it easy for employees to complete their timesheets, allows notes and includes the audit trail requirements for DCAA Compliance. But what I like best is the way it supports Program Managers, who can get REAL TIME reporting from a huge number of reports and charts. You can also set budget hours at employee level or task level, preventing overruns and labor transfers.

Pros

Easy to import and export - plays well with multiple systems and they've done a great job of keeping it open. Excellent charts and reports for Program Managers (PMs), as well as people in accounting who are doing billing, project reporting, and financials.

Cons

Sometimes I am not sure of the sequence of steps and have to look it up, but it's all well documented in their online knowledge center with many examples, not just the old "a targeted rate is a planned rate."

Eric

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2018

Unanet is a fantastic ERP for project based organizations

Unanet is a great value for the money and I would recommend it to any organization who has project based reporting and accounting.

Pros

Unanet is a fantastic ERP system for project managers. You have instant access to burn rates, project team hours, labor category and cost rate information. Project Managers can track progress, budget, and project profitability in real-time. It has made reporting financial and project information more streamlined, faster, and more accurate to customer and senior management. Also, because it is web-based and accessible anywhere timesheets, expense reports, and approvals can be done from anywhere.

Cons

None, the Unanet team is constantly working with their customers to enhance the product, add new features, and streamline the process.

Jeff

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY