All WorkflowMax Reviews

1-25 of 100 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Toni

Verified reviewer

Consumer Goods

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed July 2014

WorkflowMax is working for us

"WorkflowMax has been like someone turning the light on for our business. We knew our old software wasn’t giving us the information we needed to know whether we had been profitable on each job. Manual costings were so labour intensive we didn't tend to do them very often. Now at the touch of a button WorkflowMax gives us a profitability report on each job which is amazing. We share this information with our staff, who really take ownership of the job to ensure good profitability. This and other reports in Xero help give us the information we need to make decisions within our business. Forgive me if I am starting to sound a little bit evangelical, but the change to WorkflowMax really has had a dramatic impact on our business, and put us back in the driver’s seat, linking through to Xero and giving us all the information we need. Guided patiently by the team at Equation we undertook a seamless transfer over to WorkflowMax and Xero. Bonnie was able to understand our business and how we needed Work Flow Max to work for us. She ensured we set up and customized WorkflowMax correctly to meet these needs. Not only is Peter May Ltd is a canvas fabrication but a marquee and event hire business. Bonnie has set WFM to cater to both sides of our business."

PROS

Good management of jobs, and costs.

User Profile

Marc

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

WorkflowMax Boosted Job Workflow

Huge improvement in our job workflow which means we captured more billable time and expenses.

PROS

Major benifit was the integration with its sister accounting cloud service. All time and project billing info is captured in Workflow and financial data is passed to Xero for accounting... huge improvement in our job workflow.

CONS

It was difficult to configure and setup from an invoicing perspective.

Yara

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2022

Archaic and limited

As the title suggests, it's an archaic program. There was no real "flow" to anything you did within Workflow Max and although it integrated ok with Xero, even that was limited. The Gantt charts were terrible, you had to click on numerous things to get to where you wanted to go within a project, the custom reporting was a nightmare and the tasks and milestones were difficult to set up and super limited.

PROS

It was cheap and integrated ok with Xero

CONS

Not very user friendly, not very customizable, customer service was slow,

Leaine

Verified reviewer

Accounting

Used free trial

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed July 2014

Timesavings for billing and quoting

At Jones Business Solutions we used WFM to move off MYOB Time Billing - conservative estimate that saved around 10-12 hours each month with invoicing. Even better now to have the Tax Practice - previously used an excel template for financials - the combination with WFM, Xero and Spotlight Workpapers is sensational for a small Tax Agency like us. WFM Support is prompt and helpful and we love WFM so much we now regularly implement and support other businesses wanting to get the max out of job costing and reporting. Have tested other similar systems and yet to see something that stands out for a comparable price. We have used since 2011; we operate in a virtual office and users are both employees and contractors.

PROS

Timesavings for billing and quoting Seamless integration with Xero Tax practice version - auto synch with IRD Good functionality with reporting Brilliant for our virtual office

CONS

Work arounds needed for retentions - but to be fair not really designed for construction industry - but it can work Not too much else that is a problem - especially for the price

User Profile

Karen May

Verified reviewer

Accounting, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

WorkflowMax is the best at tracking time and project costs

I was looking for a project management software that I can offer as a business solution to my small business clients and WorkflowMax is the clear winner. It has excellent functionalities at an affordable price and integrates with Xero very well. It is user friendly and their contact supports are also very helpful.

PROS

- Easy to use - Affordable cost of entry - Links well with Xero - Real-time tracking of progress and budgets - Owned by Xero

CONS

- Customizable reports are still limited and basic - Lacks multi-line quotes itemization

Reason for choosing WorkflowMax

Integration with Xero

User Profile

Kara

Verified reviewer

Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2019

Can't Trust the Document Management

Interface is ok, but takes several months to setup and get used to. Also managing tasks for employees for small business is based on larger, long-term projects rather than short design projects. I wouldn't recommend it for small design agencies.

PROS

Integration with Xero is really the biggest benefit... also their estimate-to-invoice system is pretty good.

CONS

You can't trust their document management system to appropriately save emails to the correct folders. It duplicates, stalls and, after a month of waiting for customer support, ended up loosing several months of emails, attachments, images and documents that were supposed to be saved to job folders. Very frustrating. When we asked customer service, they didn't know why and didn't offer a solution.

User Profile

Phillip

Verified reviewer

Internet, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2019

Good UI, however bad support

PROS

I liked that you can time your projects.

CONS

The support is not very good, I reported multiple bugs to the support team, however the response was that they will not fix the problem (the problem is that the timer sometimes records incorrect times). Another problem is that when searching for projects to time under, it only displays the first ten jobs (if you have more to select from, it simply won't display these, therefore you cannot time those particular jobs).

Sarah

Verified reviewer

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed June 2015

Seamless Workflow for On The Road Coaching

As a consultant travelling to my clients I find Workflowmax invaluable. i can use it for leads to jobs to billing. It sends me reminders and I never forget to follow up. I can use it remotely and from my office. I get to track the jobs and status of leads. I can see what time and cost I soend on my clientrs and therefore what I shoudl be charging to make money. Its seamless integration with XERO really helps make themonitoring of my business performance, and therefore my own performance, a breeze. I wouldnt be without it!

PROS

Ease of use and access Reminders

Jeff

Verified reviewer

Higher Education, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

Reviewed March 2016

Great Product for Quoting / Job tracking / Timesheeting

My team have been using WFM for around 4 years now. It took quite a while to harness the full potential of the App, and really we needed 5+ people before it really took off. With 15+ people now using the app to manage weekly quotes, jobs, timesheets, and invoicing, it is a massive timesaver for our company.

PROS

Great timesheeting / job tracking and quote generation abilities

CONS

interface took 2+ years to be updated. The iOS app is still very basic and doesnt allow me to check or add quotes on the go.

Mackenzie

Accounting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2018

Functionality & Reporting

Workflow max helps to solve the issue of effective invoicing of time worked on each client. Workflow max has also helped our firm when it comes to GST time - the way workflow max integrates with Xero makes filing GST returns with Inland Revenue very simple, and lets you easily keep track of GST returns and to make sure that all returns have been filed before the due date.

PROS

- Workflowmax has the ability to let the user create and design their own reports, which can come in very handy for workflow planning purposes. Saves staff all trying to navigate through a single spreadsheet! - This is an effective program to record staff hours, which also allocates your time entries to the jobs you are working on, which helps when it comes time to bill clients. - The tax alerts on the dashboard are a good way to double check tax returns after they have been assessed by IRD, which is a good reminder to check any returns that have been assessed as different as it raises a red flag and makes you look into it.

CONS

The custom reporting can be a bit hard to navigate around, especially for any newcomers to the system.

Phillip

Graphic Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2018

Good product, however timer has bugs

If the support team fixes the timer issue, this would be the project management tool to go with hands down.

PROS

I like how the product has a timer that you can time your tasks against with start and stop timer functionality and see how much time you have spent on your project and each task. I like that it has Xero integration as well.

CONS

I don't like that the timer has bugs where maybe one out of every ten times that you attempt to stop the timer after finishing timing a job, it completely forgets the time that was recorded against it and resets the time to a lower time for some unknown reason. I have contacted support about this issue countless times but have always been pushed away even after following requests to send through supporting testing data.

Keith

Machinery, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2020

Proven Preformer

Fantastic product for the price. used it to meet all requirements of a quality system. custom reports are great. It kept us on track with schedules.

PROS

Basic needs to schedule task. A basic purchase section allowing areas for notes and visibility. Track job progress at an affordable cost for software. Was great to be able to Port data directly into XERO accounting package.

CONS

Quotes and jobs required a lot of retyping.

Nick

Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2022

10 year seasoned user.

We use it because we have to, not because we want to.

PROS

It has lots of features necessary to effectively manage workflow.

CONS

Clunky interface. Antiquated UI and UX does not measure up to current standards. Has not seen any major improvements in over a decade.

Reason for choosing WorkflowMax

It had the best features (10 years ago)

Reasons for switching to WorkflowMax

Lack of features

Ross

Graphic Design, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2018

You lose your running time on down times

Please develop a front end caching for the timer so it would save it for a couple of hours in the browser cache.

PROS

It's great for timing tasks and has a great customer support as well. Easy operation, you can turn it on and off with ease when there are sudden things that happen that needs you to stop your timer on tasks.

CONS

If the site goes down or has a problem when you save your current running timer, there is a high chance that you would lose that data so keep an eye on the numbers.

Kyle

Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2016

Streamlined job processes

PROS

Workflowmax is a fantastic job mangement program that has saved APT a lot of time in book keeping. The software covers our complete workflow from Quoting and Scoping a Job, Managing the Job and Invoicing. The Stopwatch feature for time keeping adds a level of detail which makes it hard for cutomers to argue - everything is recorded in real time. WFM allows document storage and collaboration straight to the job, all emails, files and notes can be accessed by anyone working on the job - no searching for lost information.

CONS

There are a few integrations that are available for WFM (eg Xero) which work really well but It would be great if WFM had Zapier integration.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2017

Great integration, not that great when compared to others

PROS

In a previous role I help with the app integration, i think the features can be good and when used by an SME in an accounting space it fits really well. It's really good for project budgeting and it gives you insights into your business running.

CONS

I didn't find it to be the best and for the price it has there's other competitors doing a better job.

Jon

Construction, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed March 2022

New to WFM

Overall it has been ok but a steep learning curve for us

PROS

Tracking of costs for projects, purchasing and time writing

CONS

Lots of mouse clicks to get around, some terminology confusing for first time users but would have improved with training.

Doug

Defense & Space, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2017

For the money probably the best option out there for production and distribution.

Scheduling an organization for manufacturing. The quote process has been made easier and standardized. Ability to keep everything in one location.

PROS

Easy to navigate, fulfilled all of our needs for the company as far as manufacturing, scheduling, easy to assign two different employees four tasks. Integrates with our current CRM. For the price I believe it's the best quoting software and Manufacturing distribution and organization software out there.

CONS

Not easily customizable. Very time-consuming to set up. And customer service was below average. The video tutorials don't go into depth as far as instructing on customizable features example importing and using customizable quotes.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Excellent for Small to Medium business without IT support

Excellent if you have small, stable staff numbers and no permanent on top IT support. If you're quite tech savvy, it could probably be achieved a bit cheaper.

PROS

Both the desktop version and the app are easy to use and laid out for keeping the majority happy. Integrations are a must these days and the accounting data flow is most desirable to small business and their often long-suffering accounts.

CONS

The pricing structure "per user " is a big turn off for me, particularly for project-based tools, this is due to the massive flux in numbers of users over a short period. It can get costly to get all your project contractors accessing project documents.

Carl

Used free trial

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE