User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(19)

19

4 stars

(13)

13

3 stars

(5)

5

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "For me this is the best issue management software so far. I've used others like Jira, but I really enjoy using Youtrack. Especially the query language is quite cool."

  • "It's very customizable, basically you can do what you want"

  • "It's very intuitive and makes keeping track of engineering tasks incredibly simple no. The search is fantastic also."

  • Cons

  • "Lack of some integrations, I think YouTrack is as good as Jira but need some extra integrations with others useful tools."

  • "Still has some bugs, glitches and UX issues that can be rather annoying at times. Has less integration possibilities with other products than bigger and more known products like Jira."

  • "Our team uses Slack and integration with Slack would be great. Also, the learning curve for YouTrack is a bit high so we would have appreciated guide walkthroughs."

Browse YouTrack Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -13 of 37 results

April 2019

Dayne from Buckland

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

YouTrack helps keep projects on track

The business I work for uses YouTrack effectively to track problems and projects to keep people on task and aware of what their responsibilities are at any given time.

Pros

The thing I like most about YouTrack is that it gives users great tools to stay on track with projects. For example, a user can identify a bug in our processing software and create a ticket. IT can then triage the ticket and assign it to the correct developer to begin the process of investigating the bug and fixing it. That developer can post on the ticket asking for more information or indicating that it's ready for QA testing, etc. Every step along the way is catalogued for future reference.

Cons

I dislike that users (not the IT people, the lay person) cannot edit their own tickets after submitting without IT enabling the option.

August 2019

Silvio from Spaziodati

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2019

Probably the best tool for task tracking

Very nice experience I would definitely suggest it especially to a team that likes to tinker with their tools in order to make them tailored to their needs

Pros

I like the possibility to customize heavily this product. I've been working also on its workflow functionality which I've found very useful and complete. Also the docs are great and exhaustive which is a huge pro often overlooked.

Cons

I really wanted to add custom styling to our kanban board in order to change the colour of the cards from green to red based on their due date but I had no way to do it with the youtrack provided functions so I had to inject a custom script. Would be nice to have this feature!

June 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2020

Excellent tool for tracking product development projects

We are using it to communicate with our overseas development team in order to complete work on our digital learning platform. We use it to track features, bugs, and other user stories, and discuss those stories with the team. It has proven invaluable for this project since we are using an Agile sprint methodology.

Pros

I like the ability to see Agile Boards related to our product sprints. I like being able to add screenshots or videos of bugs easily for our development team to use. I like that if I forget to save my work on a task, when I come back to the task my work is auto-saved and available to continue working on, even if I closed my browser.

Cons

It would be nice if the feature for a particular task was automatically added to a sprint when a sub-task of that feature was added to the sprint. Right now we have to tag the sprint manually for every feature.

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

Holds great promise , allows you to stay on top of things, but leaves a few things wanting

Perfect for small teams to be used primarily for bug tracking, and sprint planning. Easy to setup and use without having to jump through any hoops. The interface and the whole system is rather intuitive which comes in handy especially for companies where teams work on multiple projects at the same time and more often than not each is tied with another project in one way or another. Comes with plenty of integrations so one can customize as needed. Everybody at our company loves this product.

Pros

compared to the various bug tracking softwares, this one is super simple, and easy to set up and get going. The interface is intuitive and helps keep sprints clean and organized. Performance is good as long as the setup has been done properly, else you will experience lags. Best for small teams which don't want to deal with the complexities of using JIRA. Pricing is based on storage so that is really very helpful. you can do custom queries to search for bugs, and my team uses it every day during the agile meetings. It comes in really handy.

Cons

Not cons per say but 1. Features keep changing under your legs. For example, the option to search by `Assigned to me` has altogether disappeared from the main menu. Now you have to specially navigate to find that tag. 2. The url is rather long: mycompanyname.myjetbrains.youtrack.com 3. Comment boxes under tickets look rather medieval.

March 2019

Juan Carlos from Aeria Games Canada

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Games

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Best solution for project management

Pros

-Easy to use -Web based -Free for less than 5 people -Not really expensive on the next point (15 users) -Able to add cards to backlog -Custom status pointers -Sprints are super easy to create and automatically brings the unresolved issues back -Customization of user profile -Easy drag and drop cards on different status columns -Can add images/files/media in cards and can add comments to the same -Simply perfect for scrum

Cons

-Design wise is not really appealing -Can get buggy when multiple people try moving the same card around -Needs to be refreshed from time to time to see changes.

January 2019

Ashi from TriPlay

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Simple and useful but not without some annoying glitches

Pros

It's a web based product, which means that teams in different regions can use it very easily without the use of any VPN connection to a central location. Its Dashboard widgets and agile boards are super useful and easy to use. Many of the fields are super configurable to allow for a very personalized integration.

Cons

Still has some bugs, glitches and UX issues that can be rather annoying at times. Has less integration possibilities with other products than bigger and more known products like Jira.

January 2019

Max from Geenio

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Bugtracker from programmers for programmers

Easy to use for administrators, programmers, project managers and issue reporters. Definitely recommend for small and medium-sized teams.

Pros

- rich support for SQL-like filters and hotkey \ CLI-like interactions - flexible and customizable - easy to use

Cons

- some usage scenarios are not very carefully through through, e.g. when one attaches an image it's hard to copy and insert a markdown link (better if each attachment had something like "+" insert into text button)

May 2019

Aman from NLB Services

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Manage all your projects tickets in one place.

1. It works just awesome for me and fo my team.

Pros

1. The best thing i like the most is that you can set the priorities of your tickets like Critical, Major verify, Major, Normal so a developer can easily find out that on which tickets he/she have to work first. 2. If you are developing a project in a team then you can assign the tickets to the developers so that developer can easily work on those tickets which has been assigned to him/her. 3. After fixing the tickets you can also change the state of those ticket as Fixed and then after support team can easily test it and if it is fixed then tester can easily change the state to veified.

Cons

1. Still i did not find any cons in YouTrack.

February 2020

Martino from spaziodati

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Let's track your task

Pros

It's very customizable, basically you can do what you want

Cons

It's very powerful but... there is a lot of stuff to learn!

June 2019

Jaimyn from National Drones

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Excellent Product

YouTrack is an effective tool for managing our software development lifecycle.

Pros

YouTrack is a nice to use, fully web based issue tracking and project management tool. The configurability is fantastic and allows our software development team to customise it exactly to our needs.

Cons

The user interface (mainly for configuration) is a little confusing at first, but after a while it's easier to get used to.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

Functional work manager

With this software we have finally succeeded in giving a dimension to our work, being able to estimate with an ever more accurate precision the time of realization of the tasks, further raising the level of organization.

Pros

It is a software that allows you to fully customize your work, creating panels that show tasks that meet certain requirements (assigned to you, incomplete, testing ...). The task management is optimal, being able to choose the category, to whom to assign it, forecasting time to finish it, actual time, as well as title, description, comments and many other things. In general it is a complete software and it lacks nothing.

Cons

The main downside of youtrack is the lack of learning facility. It took me a long time to figure out how to use it to the fullest, to take advantage of the enormous potential right away. It has so many features that are often "hidden", there are small links or buttons that you don't notice.

October 2018

Ignacio from MEGAWATTS GROUP CORP

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Internet

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Complete control over your team work.

Is very awesome. It reduce the time needed to organize the team.

Pros

Youtrack isn't the easier tool to use, I must recognize it, but we need to understand that, with all of it's features that is a necessary circumstance. Youtrack can help you a LOT when you are working with groups of people, you will know what are doing, when and who, you can measure the productivity of your team, create goals and many other things. Forget to think that it is only for programming or teams of programmers, you can use Youtrack in every scenario out there.

Cons

Lack of some integrations, I think YouTrack is as good as Jira but need some extra integrations with others useful tools.

June 2019

Purvika from InfiCare Technologies

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Manage your project simply with YouTrack.

1. I used to manage my company projects and the activity of the developer done by on that day on YouTrack.

Pros

1. Manageability of your projects issue is really good that you can manage your or create issues or new functionality to be add as a priority bases. 2. A developer can change the ticket or issue to it's fixed state after fixing it. 3. You can also merge multiple ticket by duplicating it. 4. A developer or any one who is a user of YouTrack can comment below the ticket so the tester can easily known about the ticket.

Cons

1. There is nothing to dislike in YouTrack it is best for my company.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Best issue management so far

Pros

For me this is the best issue management software so far. I've used others like Jira, but I really enjoy using Youtrack. Especially the query language is quite cool.

Cons

I really can't think of any, maybe the settings page, it could use some redesign.

March 2018

Tim from McGee Corporation

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

YouTrack is a very powerful but easy to use issue tracking system.

Pros

The best part of YouTrack is how easy it is to get started. You can opt to run the software on your wn server or subscribe for a cloud-hosted instance. YouTrack is extremely powerful without being hard to use and it is very easy to integrate into your apps. Date-based swimlanes are a really useful feature.

Cons

Overall I do not have any gripes but, for some, the options available can be a bit overwhelming. Fortunately this complexity is shielded from software end users and just has to be managed by the technical support and development staff.

May 2019

Amol from Vacancy Filler

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2019

Useful for bug tracking

Pros

the filters that can be written to get the results and flexibly can filter the results to generate reports in various formats

Cons

the time report charts are not easy to build.

February 2017

Robbie from ITC Compliance

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2017

Great task manager for agile development

We've been using this for a little over a year for all issue and task tracking. It has a basic interface which admittedly could probably do with a little cleaning up but it works great. It provides all the features you need such as comments, time tracking (with different types), git integration and email updates.

Pros

git integration, comments system, time tracking, easy re/assignment.

Cons

slightly dated site styling

November 2018

Craig from myNEXUS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

YouTrack Review

overall good, good toll for defect/enhancement tracking

Pros

*mostly intuitive *multiple projects *ticket linking

Cons

*user profile set up not intuitive *Field set up not consistent

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Steep learning curve but well worth it

Pros

Projects are almost infinitely malleable and customizable

Cons

The solutions are not always right in front of you - a softer UX would help

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

A great agile tool but lack of usabilities

so far we are use this for our agile tool and kanban.

Pros

We use this for our daily tracking task. And i love the concept of this product.

Cons

I think the value of the price and lack of usabilities this web app can be improved more.

March 2019

Walid from Regiondo

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Best tracking system

Youtrack is Software That Make your Work easier.

Pros

Ideas Board , Developement Board , agile proces

Cons

Changing from project to others you need to rework the template

December 2017

Jeff from Rezstream

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2017

Super easy way to log issues with software and track progress!

Makes it easy to get issues filed for our software right when I hear about them.

Pros

I like that I can quickly create an issue for our software and search for other issues related to mine.

Cons

The layout is a little "clunky" so takes a little bit of time to get the "hang of it" in terms of what you need to do to submit the issue.

November 2018

Steve from ExecVision

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

De facto standard for ticketing system

Pros

It's very intuitive and makes keeping track of engineering tasks incredibly simple no. The search is fantastic also.

Cons

The search can be made very accurate when you understand some shortcuts to type into the search area. There was a learning curve with this.

October 2017

Somnath from Coders Club, Jalpaiguri Government Engineering College

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Excellent tool for modern agile software development

Pros

Excellent integration with Git. Customisable according to our needs and easy issue assignment or reassignment.

Cons

The UI can be a bit better so as to help with the steep learning curve. Slightly costly software for small startups.

June 2019

Joey from N/a

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

2.0

June 2019

Youtrack slow and tedious to navigate

What the hey*

Pros

Predictive text. Can be better than a 1990's issue tracker.

Cons

"Youtrack issue" issues: Sand Watch icon has to be the only thing highlighted in order to enter time. Why am I playing a small game of Myst with the new Youtrack Navigation Zone? Boards work funny. Attributes are a pain to update even more so. From a user perspective it's annoying. From an API developer perspective, it's annoying.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2018

Developer-centric tool for user stories and agile boards

Pros

YouTrack is very detailed to manage user stories/cards on boards and customizable for our business needs. There is also a free version to continue using YouTrack till our team grows. Before YouTrack, we were using project management solutions which did not fully meet our needs as we transitioned to lean and agile/scrum.

Cons

Our team uses Slack and integration with Slack would be great. Also, the learning curve for YouTrack is a bit high so we would have appreciated guide walkthroughs.

May 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

May 2018

Possible up and coming competitor in Issue Tracking software.

I'd offer that you give this software a try, but JIRA may ultimately be the winner if you're looking for Issue Tracking software.

Pros

YouTrack looks like it has a bag full of punches for other software in the space like JIRA. The UI is 10x faster than JIRA, although it still isn't the prettiest. The price is cheaper than JIRA and they offer more customizable reports.

Cons

After initial setup, it was kind of hard to set up users and create issues off the bat. Their UI was a little confusing.

September 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2018

Good system for tracking progress

Pros

Easy to add step by step progress Easy to manage my team

Cons

UI isn't pretty, lends itself to be confusing because of the UI

February 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2020

Very useful

We have changed our team structure and the way we work many times over and you track has been accommodate all of our needs.

Pros

You track comes with a lot of built in feature for different types of team setups. It help teams organize the tasks and priorities very well.

Cons

There's a lot of unknown features that aren't apparent easily. I think the power of you track can be made more apparent and it will become and easier tool to use

March 2018

Malachi from Huron High School

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Great Tracker

Pros

The clever search is very useful and it is great for keeping track of projects. One thing that is also very useful is the shortcuts which makes everything easier to use.

Cons

I like all the software by JetBrains and don't have any issue with this one, It is another great software developed by them.

October 2019

Hashini from IFS

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2019

Easy to use as a bug tracking tool

Use this application to track bugs and assign those bugs to the developers.

Pros

we can use this application as a bug tracker and assign to developers on task board when found bugs in applications.

Cons

Do not have a proper tutorials and guidance to use YouTrack.

March 2019

Hang from 23andMe

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Biotechnology

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

1.0

March 2019

there's better options

Pros

it's some how configurable, it's really hard to list what I like the most about it

Cons

nice try JetBrain! YouTrack is part of the JetBrain family, but i don't see the same quality in YouTrack in other software like PyCharm, this is hard to use, and you have to learn new query language to be an advance user

March 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Nice product

Pros

1) Creating dashboard widgets is super useful. 2) It’s easy to use for programmers, product managers and QA people alike.

Cons

A feature for entering how to recreate the problem could be most useful and appreciated.

January 2017

Joshua from Klipfolio

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Perfect for teams of any size

We use it at work and it's great. It's quick, got a lot of keyboard shortcuts, and extremely customizable. We've used it when we had just a few developers and continued to use it effectively as more individuals were added to the team.

Pros

Easy to use, highly customizable, quick to set up, free to try

November 2014

Enrique from NA

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2014

Awesome product, ahead of the competition

sWe tried a lot of issue/project tracking product (Jira + Greenhopper, Pivotal Tracker, LeanKit, among others). YouTrack was firts in all out categories, like: easy to use and administrate, flexible, powerful and reporting system and value (features/cost). We have been using YT 6 months already and no complaints here.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

July 2019

Gets The Job Done But Clunky With Limited Views

Pros

Working with engineering team is effective this way

Cons

Monitoring, tracking and searching for work is difficult.

November 2014

Dan from Straight Bit Interactive LLC

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2014

I'm Addicted

I love YouTrack! I can't live without the Agile Board. The new reports are very helpful. I rely on YouTrack everyday. I have recommended it to many other people.