All HOA Start Reviews

1-25 of 42 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Matt

Non-Profit Organization Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

User Friendly

It has been a great experience using HOA Start. [sensitive content hidden] has been a great asset when needing help, extremely responsive and follows through with any questions or needs. I appreciate the quick response time overall.

PROS

User Friendly Easy to train team members Easy for our members to use Has great customers service and extremely responsive

CONS

Website struggles to talk to QuickBooks, Boardroom feature is different that how it was originally explained to us.

Reasons for switching to HOA Start

Not what we were looking for in website design.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking a moment to tell us how we’re doing! We appreciate that our software and services give your organization the flexibility needed to manage the membership. We’ll keep working hard to improve the software to make life seamless, so you can spend less time managing and more doing the things you love!

Replied February 2024

Richard

Real Estate, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

One Outstanding year of our new HOA website -

PROS

Great system for building your Community Website. We are celebrating our first anniversary of going live with ours in a community with 2200 members. Key HOA Start (HOAS) elements in our success:We built and administer our whole site with community volunteers. Training interested volunteers is easy with the high level of support from HOAS.Our annual cost of running our website went from $12k/year with another system and a paid webmaster to $1200/year with HOAS.Easy integration with external resources make it possible to extend our site with links directly to applications for specialized functions.The response time to support "tickets" is amazing with a dedicated support agent - on workdays it is in a couple of hours, on weekends and holidays, early the first following workday.We reviewed the whole marketplace before choosing HOAS. Our key evaluation criteria were: system designed for HOA's not property management companies; completeness and ease of access to detailed help files including how to videos; very large number of templates allowing the creation of all kinds of content pages - many of these incorporating high degrees of automation in creating records or notices elsewhere in the system and with members.We are VERY satisfied customersRick KempfWeb Tech lead MountianBrook Village AZ.

CONS

The system for ticket sales is not flexible enough

Reasons for switching to HOA Start

Cost and HOA Start being focused on making a system which HOA's can self administer without a webmaster.

Vendor Response

What a wonderful review! Thank you for being so specific in your journey, and explaining how we fit into that process. We'll keep doing our part to deliver the best product and service, as is possible. We thank you again for your trust in us as a partner!

Replied October 2023

TERRY

Accounting, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2024

Product Not Working as Promised

If I had known that the turn around to fix certain issues would take so long, I would not have purchased the product. I was promised that we would have a good product and so far, I only have questions and headaches because the product has some critical issues.

PROS

It looks to be a very good product when it is working.

CONS

Some of the critical functions are not working and I find the support needs better support from the client.

Debra

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

GREAT SOFTWARE for HOA/POA specific organizations

Overall, it was a great pleasure to work in the software and the build and implementation was actually fun!

PROS

First benefit is the support staff they employ for implementation of the software which is specific to the industry it was designed for alleviating the need for extensive research and website design requirements. Allows residents to access Public Website and Operations software from one location once completely built out. POA staff/Committee Leads easily maintain public website updates and operational software using same program when integrated. Allows POA to share association’s governing documents, news, updates on common facilities and amenities. Owners may access internal documents like meeting minutes once logged in and allows rapid distribution of special announcements via email/text. Another feature is administer Owner/Resident feedback via surveys. HOA Start has advanced HOA Functionality available once built out, ex., Online voting, Billing/collection, amenity reservations, rentals online. Excellent training resources and patient support personnel that did not make me feel stupid.

CONS

There were no cons, each issue I took to support was addressed rapidly and fully to my satisfaction.

Vendor Response

We appreciate that you took the time to write such an informative review! We're so proud of our Service & Support staff, and reading your comments it's easy to see why! Thank you again for your excellent feedback.

Replied November 2023

Tonya

Civic & Social Organization, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2023

Great for our Association

PROS

We were looking for something that offered a bit more functionality than TownSq (more robust survey capability so we could eliminate the extra cost of a separate survey platform, payment interface). HOA Start checked just about all of the boxes. Our White Glove Concierge, [sensitive content hidden], has been very responsive and did a great job setting up the site for us. It's easy to set up new users, change the website header designs to give it a unique look, create custom surveys, send mass mailings, and text homeowners with urgent information. We love that there is a calendar for events, and we've been able to easily categorize and manage folders for the association's documents.

CONS

One big drawback for us is the lack of a dedicated homeowner forum. On TownSq, homeowners were able to post information and converse with each other easily in their own forum, while the Board was able to post information in the announcements section. On HOA Start, the Newsfeed function has to serve double duty as a homeowner forum and place for announcements from the Board. We have to pin the Board items so they won't get lost in the discussion. Also, when you are looking at the member directory, you can't see the members addresses. It shows you their name, phone number, state, role, last login, and active status. It would be beneficial if customers could customize what columns they want to see, or eliminate the phone number column and add the address (especially since the state column is already there).

Reasons for switching to HOA Start

Wanted a unique site for our association, with more functionality.

Vendor Response

We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we're doing and where we can get better. We sincerely thank you for the honest feedback, and we'll keep working hard to deliver the goods.

Replied October 2023

Scott

Automotive, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used monthly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2022

HOA Start - Easy to Create & Administer our HOA Website with Outstanding Customer Support

As our HOA administrator, I was really surprised how easy it was to get our website configured and 'live' so quickly. I was able to use our existing domain name which was a plus too. Feedback from our homeowners has been overwhelmingly positive where they love the modern look/feel, graphics, ease of use, access to our HOA documents, Contact Us page and how great the website looks on their mobile devices. Your product is great and Customer Support ([SENSITIVE CONTENT]) is amazing as mentioned before.

PROS

The ability to quickly and easily configure our HOA website is where this product shines. Our HOA is on the Starter package, yet this is feature rich with the ability to manage our members, post and expose HOA documents, ACH payments, calendars and the flexibility to create additional webpages as needed. The modern user experience provides our HOA a fresh new look. The fast response from our Onboarding Support Specialist, [SENSITIVE CONTENT], is amazing! He was able to provide some great technical work-arounds for me to create some very nice web pages. I looked closely at the other competition before choosing HOA Start in terms of functionality for the price for our HOA since we are a smaller community. It was a no brainer that HOA Start was the clear Leader in terms of their Web Designs with the features, ease of use and support!

CONS

Because HOA Start is so feature-rich and everything is configurable, there is alot of functionality in this product. I am an IT professional where I needed to reach out to the Support team for clarification on a couple items, like the Households feature for example. Two things that can be improved: 1) making HOA Start mobile enabled (not just viewing website on mobile device), 2) email blast as part of the Starter package.

Reason for choosing HOA Start

I liked the features and look/feel that HOA Start offered. Pricing was also a consideration as we are a smaller community.

Vendor Response

You really may not know how rewarding a review like this is, but we want to assure you that we're thankful and proud to receive it. Our Specialists work hard for our clients on every plan purchased, regardless of size. It goes without saying that it's an easy job when the client comes in ready to succeed. Thank you again for the feedback, and we look forward to working with you!

Replied December 2022

Kim

Writing and Editing, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

High quality templates and services for a reasonable price

The demo of their product and services was very helpful. It was so easy to get set up and start working on a new website the same day! There are helpful guides to show/tell you the steps to do things and videos for many tasks as well. There's a guided process with online tech support or - the option I really like - the White-Glove package with phone/Zoom support from a team member who will actually build the site for you! If you're in a hurry to get a website done and don't have the time to do it yourself, this is perfect. Or, if you get stuck along the way, there's always someone to help you move on to the next step.

PROS

Amenity reservations has been one of the key features that board members and residents love for its ease of use. This is a must have! Multiple calendar/event options are great for busy communities who want to organize multiple board/committee meetings and community events. The member dashboard is a great place for residents to see everything at a glance. The online forms and online review/approval for residents and board members is a huge convenience.

CONS

When setting up new pages, it would be nice to have a visual of what the page template looks like to make the best decision.

Reasons for switching to HOA Start

HOA Start has a lot of new features coming out that are beneficial for residents and board members. The ease of use with online form submissions, such as ARC forms, that need to be reviewed and approved by a committee is easier. We're looking forward to seeing the new mobile app coming out this year too, along with a few other features.

Vendor Response

It's always great to start your day with a great feedback on your product. This helps to show us where we're getting it right, and how to keep getting better. We're never content that we've done enough, so while this review is amazing, we're taking the feedback on what we can develop going forward seriously. Thank you again for this review and trusting us with your business!

Replied June 2023

Beverly

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

On Behalf of Our Homeowners

Every interaction I had with this Staff has resulted in solutions that were easy to follow and execute. What surprised me was the personal attention I received because I thought when working with a company of this size customer service starts to become automated and rote; not so with HOA Start!

PROS

I started this position last summer. My first job was to navigate the website. With the written instructions and tips taking the reader from one task to another made setup and training so easy. When I wanted to edit or change a page or feature, the Staff was "on call" so to speak, because their answer to my questions was immediate!

CONS

I would just move the content up the page more rather than have a large picture. That, I am sure, is a design preference that is personal in nature. I could not deduct any points for this at all!

Vendor Response

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we're doing! When we work with customers like yourself, we never really work a day in our life... because you just make it fun. We'll put this feedback to work, so we can make our product and processes even better.

Replied February 2024

Stacey

Non-Profit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Great company to work with

Both Sales and Client Support have been very responsive & accommodating

PROS

They are very open & responsive in their communications and have comprehensive customer support.

CONS

We’ve had zero problems so there are no cons.

Reason for choosing HOA Start

No one could compete with HOA Start’s Features and pricing!

Vendor Response

Thank you kindly for your review! We work hard for our customer, and we always will. Much appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we're doing.

Replied February 2024

Joel

Non-Profit Organization Management, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

A solid choice for homeowner associations.

Overall, we are very satisfied with our first year's experience with HOA Start. They make a great additon to our team.

PROS

HOA Start provides web hosting and website building tools to create a unique landing place where homeowners can communicate with the board and with others, request Architectural Committee review of exterior home improvements, view important HOA documents and learn about the Arlington community and the town's amenities. Support from HOA Start during setup as well as with ongoing questions is quick, straight forward and always helpful. The company continues to add new features to enable our board to do it job better.

CONS

The tagging system allowing database segmentation to enable commmunication with portions of our HOA's population is cumbersome. Streamlining this feature to enable a quick way to communicate wwith residents on a single street, for example, would be helpful.

Reason for choosing HOA Start

Economics, simplicity of use, solid interface and the ability to customize options.

Reasons for switching to HOA Start

The management company went out of business, we decided to self manage and wanted to reate a website and means to communicate with our members.

Vendor Response

We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide honest feedback on your experience with our software, and the team. This allows us to keep our finger on the pulse of the users, and see where we can get better. Thank you for trusting us with the project, and your confidence in our abilities.

Replied June 2023

Hank

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

MHR HOA Website Review

It has been a great experience and we plan on keeping this website up for many years to come

PROS

How professional it looked and ease of access/maneuver

CONS

I really dont have anything that I liked least about this website setup.

Vendor Response

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to recognize our efforts. We love to learn how we’re doing, and it helps to continue to shape future development of the product. Thank you again!

Replied February 2024

Margaret

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2023

HOA Start for Community Associations

Very well organized, step-by-step system for developing a website. Was easy enough for a person with only moderate experience to manage.

PROS

The onboarding process is extremely well designed. There is an extensive library of very helpful articles with clear directions. More importantly, we were assigned an onboarding specialist who walked us through the process. He was readily available, extremely helpful, and patient. We were able to design our website with great results.

CONS

There are a few items we would like to do differently--nothing mission critical. Our onboarding specialist is forwarding our requests to the developers, and we hope that they will continue to improve the product.

Reason for choosing HOA Start

We took the advice of a community member who researched several companies for us. I don't know which other companies he looked at.

Reasons for switching to HOA Start

We felt that the old product was dated. We had trouble posting in HTML, which made it inconvenient. As the webmaster, I was spending too much time developing workarounds for things we didn't like. We also want to incorporate online voting going forward.

Vendor Response

We sincerely thank you for taking the time to review your journey through our Onboarding process. It's always great to read from clients on how we helped to greatly improve a community and webmaster's experience. We'll keep improving the software with our customers in mind. Much appreciated!

Replied April 2023

Migerr

Non-Profit Organization Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2024

Purpose built, highly intuitive application

At Pinehurst #6, our association has been on HOAStart for about a year and it has completely transformed the operational management of our membership. We have an extremely large membership base of around 1500 active households and were apprehensive of the adoption levels but have been pleasantly surprised since our launch in Jan. Within 45 days this year we have surpassed our last year’s online channel payment receipts which in itself is a testament to the ease of use of the application. Transitioning from an excel based system to HOAStart has made our membership management activities so much more palatable. Broadly speaking, we have found the application to be purpose-built platform with a highly intuitive use factor. These in my opinion, are its greatest assets. Walking through our journey with HOAStart we found [sensitive content hidden] and [sensitive content hidden] extremely helpful in articulating the features and functionality of the software without being "pushy". The on-boarding process was a breeze with Jazmin who stepped through this with our team. Chase has been extremely easy to work with. A noteworthy point is the HOAStart team are highly responsive. During the onboarding process Jazmin would respond within minutes at times. The response time from the support desk is also low leading to an expeditious resolution process. Overall, we have been very happy with our choice picking HOAStart. As a SaaS solution it offers a strong technology foundation to service our membership base and grow it further. We currently use only some of the features which sets us up for a broader use of the software and its feature set in the future improving our ROI.

PROS

Purpose built application Highly intuitive SaaS solution Very responsive team Good features and functionality Strong integration with Stripe Online Membership Directory

CONS

It does not have a true mobile app. There is a plan to deploy a mobile friendly version but it will still have to be accessed over a mobile browser

Reason for choosing HOA Start

Lower cost of initial investment and ongoing running cost.

Vendor Response

We really appreciate you taking the time to tell us how we’re doing and where we can get better. We sincerely thank you for the honest feedback, and we’ll keep working hard to deliver the goods.

Replied February 2024

Sue

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2022

Our first year with HOA Start

We wanted a way to disseminate documents, manage members, communicate and streamline our architectural control process. The first and last are well accomplished. We're still struggling with the middle one. We are hoping to implement online billing and payment this year.

PROS

I like the clean manner in which members and addresses are handled. It's extraordinarily easy if you have learned to get data from your county assessor's database. Members were a bit more difficult at first, because not all have email addresses, which are required. But a question to our contact revealed the magic trick of using @example.com. I like the ease of changing web pages' content, with the preview option to make certain the changes look right. Our architectural control committee is delighted with the ticketing system. They will campaign absinthe any hint of wanting to abandon the software.

CONS

Messaging members is our least favorite part. We do it regularly, and wish we could do more with design. We often send aplain text message, with the graphic version as an attachment, but our older population find this challenging. I was excited to see a page format for a newsletter, but disappointed when it could not be emailed, but just referred to.

Reason for choosing HOA Start

More emphasis on member management

Reasons for switching to HOA Start

St up by a former board member, not sustainable with no added features

Vendor Response

Sue, we greatly thank you for taking the time to help us learn about what we're doing right and where we can improve. We have a full slate of new features arriving in 2023, and we think you'll enjoy many, like the upcoming Mobile App. Our promise to you and all of our clients is that we will keep improving the product, experience and delivering top level support. Thanks again for your trust in us as a vendor!

Replied December 2022

Zeke

Commercial Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2023

Easy To Establish, Great Company Support

We have a condo association that took a direct hit from Hurricane Ian last fall. Our communication needs are great and the website has been an important tool keeping everyone up to date, and as a repository for critical information. We were forced to leave our previous host company due to a change in their business strategy. HOA Start was a lifesaver for us since we had to put up a new site in the midst of a stressful recovery from the hurricane. They made it easy.

PROS

User friendly, no problem setting up a comprehensive website in a few days. Customer support is awesome. Any issues or question I had, would receive a response within an hour, sometimes minutes. Real, down-to-earth support.

CONS

I have talked to them about a couple things I'd like to see and they tell me they're working on them.1. Can't post to the Newsfeed from an Iphone2. Member notification when a new post goes up3. Notification to poster in Newsfeed when someone likes or comments on a post4. Would like to be able to have a Search feature in Newsfeed, and maybe the entire site

Reason for choosing HOA Start

Good communications. And I set up a free trial at 2 or 3 of the sites and HOA Start was easiest to use.

Vendor Response

What can we say Zeke, other thank you! It's customers like you that make this job easy!! Think you'll enjoy our new Notification feature coming out in a couple months. May not be everything you want, but it's a good start. At HOA Start, we strive to make this process seamless. Top notch customer service is our daily goal. We don't strand clients and we make sure they are educated with on our software. We all sleep better as a result! :)

Replied May 2023

Josh

Entertainment, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

The best website builder and customer facing software by a long shot

HOA Start has their own modern, mobile friendly website builder. Other competitors in the industry were expecting us to use Weebly or Wordpress as an afterthought, and there’s no integration. Their custom forms creator allows us to have unlimited forms for collecting member data. Sending email/texts straight to my members from 2 click approach is fast and efficient.

PROS

Their Onboard Specialists are included in the cost of the annual software. [sensitive content hidden] was excellent during our build. No setup fee and she spent a lot of time with us. Their training is how you do it. Also, being able to collect money for events and monthly dues for vendors has stopped us from having to chase people down.

CONS

We’d love to see some AI built into this software that would allow us to intelligently respond to member requests, and handle some approval process.

Reason for choosing HOA Start

We knew we had to get off of managing members through excel sheets and Facebook. Being able to collect dues online was a major motivation.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to tell us how we're doing. It's feedback like this that get's us streamlined and focused on continuing our mission to be the ultimate provider in this industry. We started this company with the customer and user experience as the most crucial piece of the puzzle. We're committed and we appreciate your trust in us to deliver.

Replied June 2023

Kate

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2023

HOA Website

PROS

As the new chair of my HOA Communications Committee, it was my job to help bring our 55+ community's website into the 21st Century. After an exhaustive search, I found HOA Start and couldn't be happier. The site is beautiful, intuitive, interactive, budget friendly and so easy to build and navigate. We were assigned our very own Support Rep and [sensitive content hidden] has been amazing - so helpful and supportive. Our community is very proud of our new website and we are getting engagement from residents who swore they would never use a website. We can keep members only content private, while still being able to let prospective residents know how great our community is! Communicating with our residents has never been easier. I wish I could give HOA more than 5 stars!

CONS

Some of the add ons are a bit pricey for us but the included functions are superb!

Vendor Response

We couldn't be more thankful for honest feedback like this. We value every review we get, because it's in that moment we're able to see how the Customer Journey played out. In this case, seems it was a great ride, and that's what we strive for with every project. We again thank you for taking the time to help us understand what we're doing right, and where we can get better.

Replied June 2023

steven

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING: