All HOA Start Reviews

1-16 of 16 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

The Right Fit for our Association

Overall my experience with HOA Start has been extremely positive. Having researched other offerings out there, HOA Start was by far the best choice, especially for an association like ours with more basic needs than larger associations but needing more than the bare minimum. Others offered either the bare minimum, or were geared and priced toward large & complex associations, or their pricing tiers were based on # of units and generalized assumptions about HOAs which was not reflective of the nature and needs of our specific association.My experience with HOA Start in terms of product quality, support and price/value has been great so far. I must say, being satisfied in all three of these areas is rare these days.

Pros

Even at the low-end 'Starter' level, the set of features available is substantial and allows for a robust website both for the public/member facing side as well as the administrative backend. There is a good range of website templates to choose from and they are straight-forward and simple to set up, edit and maintain. HOA Start has really good help resources and video tutorials, and the support desk has been great and super responsive.

Cons

Not necessarily a con, but it would be nice if there was the ability to customize certain aspects of the template, i.e. set default fonts, specify colors for links, etc.There could be improvements in the invoicing/payment systems. I've run into some limitations and bumps that have required figuring out various workarounds.

Response from HOA Start

Our Specialists work hard for our clients on every plan purchased, regardless of size. We see a lot of the same you speak about with the overlooked options for associations. It's extremely rewarding to receive review like this is. We want you to know that we're thankful and proud. Thank you again for the feedback!

Replied January 2023

Scott

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2022

HOA Start - Easy to Create & Administer our HOA Website with Outstanding Customer Support

As our HOA administrator, I was really surprised how easy it was to get our website configured and 'live' so quickly. I was able to use our existing domain name which was a plus too. Feedback from our homeowners has been overwhelmingly positive where they love the modern look/feel, graphics, ease of use, access to our HOA documents, Contact Us page and how great the website looks on their mobile devices. Your product is great and Customer Support ([SENSITIVE CONTENT]) is amazing as mentioned before.

Pros

The ability to quickly and easily configure our HOA website is where this product shines. Our HOA is on the Starter package, yet this is feature rich with the ability to manage our members, post and expose HOA documents, ACH payments, calendars and the flexibility to create additional webpages as needed. The modern user experience provides our HOA a fresh new look. The fast response from our Onboarding Support Specialist, [SENSITIVE CONTENT], is amazing! He was able to provide some great technical work-arounds for me to create some very nice web pages. I looked closely at the other competition before choosing HOA Start in terms of functionality for the price for our HOA since we are a smaller community. It was a no brainer that HOA Start was the clear Leader in terms of their Web Designs with the features, ease of use and support!

Cons

Because HOA Start is so feature-rich and everything is configurable, there is alot of functionality in this product. I am an IT professional where I needed to reach out to the Support team for clarification on a couple items, like the Households feature for example. Two things that can be improved: 1) making HOA Start mobile enabled (not just viewing website on mobile device), 2) email blast as part of the Starter package.

Reasons for choosing HOA Start

I liked the features and look/feel that HOA Start offered. Pricing was also a consideration as we are a smaller community.

Response from HOA Start

You really may not know how rewarding a review like this is, but we want to assure you that we're thankful and proud to receive it. Our Specialists work hard for our clients on every plan purchased, regardless of size. It goes without saying that it's an easy job when the client comes in ready to succeed. Thank you again for the feedback, and we look forward to working with you!

Replied December 2022

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2022

Arlington HOA

Our experience with HOAStart has been excellent for all of the previously mentioned reasons.

Pros

HOA Start has most of the features we were looking for including ease of setup, excellent customer and technical support, the ability to automate certain functions like ARC reviews, member sign-up and communication with homeowners.

Cons

Documentation was insufficient in some areas but excellent technical and customer support made up for that.

Reasons for choosing HOA Start

It had most of the functionality we needed and the price was right.

Reasons for switching to HOA Start

We had previously had our website on a TOPS system which was practically featureless. While it was based on Wordpress, plugins were not an option so the functionality, particularly with homeowner communications was only slightly better than smoke signals. While there was a homeowner forum, the system could not alert anyone on the board that something had been posted.

Response from HOA Start

We sincerely appreciate you taking the time and providing us this thorough review that allows us to see where we're shining, and where we can make improvements. Customer service means everything to our organization, and we strive to make sure no client is left behind. We have a full development roadmap slated for 2023 with features that will be sure to provide an even better experience to communicate with your members. We again thank you for your trust in us and look forward to the partnership!

Replied December 2022

Sue

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2022

Our first year with HOA Start

We wanted a way to disseminate documents, manage members, communicate and streamline our architectural control process. The first and last are well accomplished. We're still struggling with the middle one. We are hoping to implement online billing and payment this year.

Pros

I like the clean manner in which members and addresses are handled. It's extraordinarily easy if you have learned to get data from your county assessor's database. Members were a bit more difficult at first, because not all have email addresses, which are required. But a question to our contact revealed the magic trick of using @example.com. I like the ease of changing web pages' content, with the preview option to make certain the changes look right. Our architectural control committee is delighted with the ticketing system. They will campaign absinthe any hint of wanting to abandon the software.

Cons

Messaging members is our least favorite part. We do it regularly, and wish we could do more with design. We often send aplain text message, with the graphic version as an attachment, but our older population find this challenging. I was excited to see a page format for a newsletter, but disappointed when it could not be emailed, but just referred to.

Reasons for choosing HOA Start

More emphasis on member management

Reasons for switching to HOA Start

St up by a former board member, not sustainable with no added features

Response from HOA Start

Sue, we greatly thank you for taking the time to help us learn about what we're doing right and where we can improve. We have a full slate of new features arriving in 2023, and we think you'll enjoy many, like the upcoming Mobile App. Our promise to you and all of our clients is that we will keep improving the product, experience and delivering top level support. Thanks again for your trust in us as a vendor!

Replied December 2022

Richard

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2023

Our new HOA website is an overwhelm success - thanks to HOA Starts powerful and easy to use system

I led the team which did the market survey and source selection for our new website system product.Since the selection of HOA Start and throughout a very compressed site creation, review and rollout I have never for a moment had cause to question, or reconsider our choice of HOA Start. I was delighted with the community reaction to replacing our old system with this new website and I was immodestly delighted when last October, a month after going live, the Board named me “Community Hero of the Month”.

Pros

No need to understand HTML or other generalized web tools. Use of more than 20 available templates make it easy to create pages which clearly convey content in a format VERY well suited to that content using a simple but powerful edit panel combined with the automation built into the individual templates.We are also VERY impressed with the support provided. In addition to the VERY extensive online documentation, our onboarding specialist has answered more than 50 individual queries all of them within one working day.

Cons

Key concepts concerning how the automation in the templates and the Admin Dashboard features interact with the site builder tools need to be more clearly explained and given prominence in the documentation.

Reasons for choosing HOA Start

We had a list of 25 key features and we rated the three finalists from our broad source survey on these features. HOA Start was the clear winner. Key positive indicators included:Wealth of tools, including templates and built in automationValue for moneyProfessional presentation by their Marketing team via multiple well organized Zoom calls.

Reasons for switching to HOA Start

Unresponsive webmaster who doubtless was hindered by the shortcomings of the chosen tool to meet the needs of a HOA

Rob

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2023

This software simply works

My team and I agree that our experience was much better than expected. Each of us on the team has an IT background and therefore experienced with various software product upgrades or replacements. The implementation coordination was excellent. [SENSITIVE CONTENT], our coordinator, was able to quickly identify our needs and help guide us through implementation. Always offering best-paths, she was expert at explaining options and the trade-offs that we'd see. That point alone emphasizes why I learned as much as I did as opposed to simply following recommendations from a manual or a coordinator who might not be engaged. The HOA Start process and procedure work flow provided us with clear steps to success.

Pros

The website management and configuration features are not only equal to all of the more expensive products; but it exceeds them in many cases. As a career software developer, I know pain points for users. Good/great products work hard to ease that burden. Work flows, communications, mass-editing...these things matter. We found a great product.

Cons

As a board member on our POA, I would like to have more reporting for my members, especially statistically. In the future, I'd consider adding canned reports that would satisfy the number crunchers.

Reasons for choosing HOA Start

1) Modern, well designed pages to use2) Ease of implementation and ongoing maintenance3) Features for our users4) Cost

steven

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

HOAstart a great choice

Only good things to say. I like that they gave me a trial period to evaluate. That helped our decision. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] is a pleasure to work with for customer support.

Pros

This is the only software project I worked on (and I've done plenty,) where I didn't have to write code. Their templates, widgets, etc are fully configurable where you can put together a decent website without having to code!!

Cons

I would like the ability to define my own templates. You have to use an HOAstart template. However, they give you plenty to work with.

Reasons for choosing HOA Start

They have a great array of options. Their reservation of amenities is really great. None of the others had such a robust reservation system.

Response from HOA Start

I continue to say, we can't do this without feedback, so it's comments like this that help us to see what we're doing right and where we can improve. We appreciate this review and the feedback. Our commitment to our customers will always remain strong to provide the best user experience and feature toolset. We thank you for your faith in trusting us with your project and look forward to continue working together.

Replied January 2023

Edward

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2023

Modern DIY website for any homeowners association.

Our old website was useless. People are engaged in the HOA Start website. We had an event that we charged outsiders to attend. We used the event capabilities to set up the event online and the credit card capabilities to charge people. Would have been a nightmare without the website to assist here.

Pros

It's easy to use, administer and change. Also, it's newer than most of it's competitors out there. Most others I found were 15-20 years old and they looked it. HOA Start is fairly new (a couple years old) and thus state of the art for the industry. Also, we maintain it ourselves as opposed to relying on the website company. therefore, changes happen in hours and are exactly what we want them to be. We control it.

Cons

It wasn't as feature rich as some of the others initially when we got it, but what it has now is plenty for what we need now.

Reasons for choosing HOA Start

The rest were 15-20 year old products. HOA Start was the only one we found out there that was built from the ground up with the newer technologies of today.

Reasons for switching to HOA Start

Existing website was useless.

Response from HOA Start

We appreciate the vote of confidence! You did an excellent job explaining what we're about, and what inspired us to develop this software just a few years back. Our focus is to continue to develop useful, modern features, with an keen eye on customer support and pride in service. We're laser focused to do better for you and all of our clients. Thank you again for taking the time to help spread the word.

Replied January 2023

David

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

Board President

We had a bespoke website for our Homeowner's Association, and they were raising the price. We researched Homeowner Association-specific software, and was delighted to find HOAStart. The ease of use, look and feel are terrific, and we cut our annual costs in half.

Pros

The ease of set-up and forethought that went into the software makes it easy for even a low tech user to create an attractive and very functional website.

Cons

I really don't see a 'con'. We don't use all the features available in the site (like billing), but good to know they're there if we need them.

Reasons for switching to HOA Start

cost and useability

Response from HOA Start

Wow! All we can say to this is a tremendous thank you! Your praise, your comments, they are extremely welcomed and appreciated. We're building something over here that we ourselves would be proud to use, and customer service is our top priority. It really makes us happy hearing you saved money jumping on our platform. Thank you again for your wonderful feedback.

Replied January 2023

jb

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

All in one software

It's been really great, the onboarding specialist are really helpful and responsive, overall we've been very satisfied with the entire system.

Pros

We are able to have a nice website and offer the ability to our residents to stay connected, reserve our club house online and pay for their dues, rental etc all in one place

Cons

The household data import/upload has been a little complex, but the big one for use was the inability to delete it (as an admin) and start over. Granted, a quick email to our onboarding specialist fixed it (he had to do it for us). This feature should be turn one for Admin so that we can "delete and start over" if need be (in case we upload something incorrectly)

Response from HOA Start

Thank you for taking the time to give your thorough detail of your experiences within the product. We're listening and honed in on improving the software, as we continue to develop the platform. The feedback we have been asking for from clients as of late has been amazing, and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time.

Replied January 2023

Denise

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Recreational Facilities and Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

September 2021

An Awesome Team to Support Those of Us Who are Not Tech Experts!

The support is phenomenal and immediate and they never make you feel like they do not have time nor patience to help you (even when you are not catching on very fast). You feel like your team members know you and really care about what you are creating together.

Pros

Ease to work on the admin side and then quickly look at the public side.

Cons

Just need to work with it more to get more automatic in completing tasks I will be doing routinely.

Reasons for choosing HOA Start

Our HOA Management company - Hughes Properties recommended them to us. We called [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and the rest is history!

Reasons for switching to HOA Start

The person we were working with did not return my emails, texts, nor calls sometimes for weeks at a time. I felt like we would never have the promised "New Website" which had been promised months ago but was not even close to ready for launching.

Response from HOA Start

Thank you Denise, we appreciate your feedback! We love seeing communities who really need a solution find what they're looking for. Kudos to your team for putting in the work and continuing to create a website/experience that is valuable for all residents!

Replied October 2021

Dave

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Public Policy

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

December 2022

SAM review

So far it has been very easy to use and performs very well

Pros

Ease of use / customer support. The options are very useful

Cons

Have not utilized all the features yet so hard to tell but one area is the ability to link members with households and make modifications easily.

Response from HOA Start

We value our customers and sincerely appreciate them all. These submissions allow us to see where we're doing well, and help us get better. We're always improving, and its feedback like this that helps navigate where we're most needed. Thank you tremendously for the glowing review, and for choosing us as your provider! We look forward to the relationship.

Replied December 2022

Heather

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2023

Easy to Use HOA Management

So far, it's been good. The team is responsive and helps us figure things out. We are about to fully turn on features and have every confidence.

Pros

Website is relatively easy to update. Very user-friendly.

Cons

The documents - it's easy to upload the documents but I'm still not 100% sure they are all in the spot I want them to be in.

Response from HOA Start

We want to assure you that we're thankful and proud to receive this review. We're continually developing to deliver newer, better features while finding ways to increase ease of use. Our Specialists work hard for our clients on every plan purchased, regardless of size. It goes without saying that it's an easy job when the client comes in ready to succeed. Thank you again for the feedback, and we look forward to working with you!

Replied January 2023

George

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

January 2023

in the beginning....

Pros

Ease of use is a major reason why we selected this product. The tutorials were great!

Cons

At this point nothing comes to mind. As we use this over time, we may want to see some features added as we become more proficient, and the needs of the community expand.

Response from HOA Start

Many thanks for taking the time to review us here, George! In time, as you come to use the software more and more, you'll see a plethora of new offerings available. Our focus is our customers and providing features that not only they can use, but providing a great user experience. We appreciate the opportunity!

Replied January 2023

Jack

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Civic & Social Organization

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra 

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY