PropertyBoss Software

Find out more:

Find out more:

About PropertyBoss

PropertyBoss is a property management solution for mid-sized to large property managers. The software caters to managers of affordable housing units, apartment complexes, manufactured housing, military housing, residential, self-storage, senior housing, university and student housing and more. PropertyBoss is offered as a web-based or on-premise solution, and is Mac and PC compatible. Features offered within PropertyBoss include property accounting, tenant and lease tracking, budgeting and forecasting and building maintenance. Accounting features include general ledger, accounts payable, gain and loss analysis and more. Tenant and lease tracking features include online payments, vacancy planning, resident screening, unit features and more. Users can utilize the bui...

PropertyBoss Pricing

PropertyBoss pricing starts at $1.25/unit/month. Please contact PropertyBoss Solutions directly for larger unit counts.

Starting price: 

$1.25 per month

Free trial: 

Not Available

Free version: 

Not Available

Close

Image 1 of 6

PropertyBoss Today navigator

Headshot of Software Advice Advisor

Find the right Property Management Software for you.

What key features are most important to you in Property Management Software?

PropertyBoss User Reviews

OVERALL RATING

SECONDARY RATINGS

Ease-of-use

3.5

Value for money

3.5

Customer support

4

Functionality

4

Apply Filters:

Filter reviews by company size:

Sort by

Cindy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

Meets Our Needs

We have used PB for nine years now and have found it to be accurate and reliable. The ability to integrate with QuickBooks allows us to keep accurate property management records and easily incorporate that into business financial information in QuickBooks while satisfying our state real estate commission requirements.

Pros

We began using PB as a standalone desktop version with QuickBooks integration. We recently switched to the hosted version of PB with QuickBooks integration. Being able to access PB remotely is both convenient and has allowed us to expand our business with additional brokers.

Cons

I 'self-taught' myself with PB, but over the last nine years of using it have found it to fairly straightfoward. Sometimes, though, it is not always intuitive to locate a particular screen to alter settings. Otherwise, the most challenging aspect of using the software was setting up the Quickbooks account integration - particularly for accrual based Quickbooks company files.

Response from PropertyBoss Solutions

Hi Cindy, thank you very much for reviewing PropertyBoss! We appreciate your feedback and your partnership over the last 9 years.

Replied May 2020

Glenda

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

Property Boss for Rental Management

We have used Property Boss for several years, they are continually up grading and adding features. The customer service is OUTSTANDING, it is the best part of using the software - The software is fairly easy to use, and makes keeping track of tenants, maintenance & owners pretty seamless. We use the built in accounting (I was VERY happy to give up quickbooks). The add ons include a inspection software, we have decided this does not work for the actual move in & move outs as it takes to long and the pictures are low quality, great for interim inspections though. The resident portals & Paylease options have been a great boon. Overall rating is A- If they would just add some additional accounting features, such as being able to track Mortgages (loan balances, escrow balances, interest paid) and property depreciation, I would be in heaven

Pros

Customer service, ease of use

Cons

Needs additional accounting abilities

Ashley

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2019

Previous 7 year client

Property Boss has some great aspects to the software that I miss in our new system, but overall, we are much happier with our switch. Getting in touch with support at Property Boss is not easy, you have to leave a voicemail or send an email, and you might hear back that same day, or it might be the next day. Our new software, I can have support on the phone in less than 15 minutes. I would recommend Property Boss for those property managers who only plan to manage less than 200 properties, and do not plan to grow. You only have to pay per user, so it can be affordable and get the job done if you are just a very small property management company.

Pros

Property Boss has some good features; it was one of the best when we selected the software 7 years ago. Some positives to this software is the accounting, it is owner-based vs. property based, so when there are not funds on one property coming in, you do not have to transfer funds to pay bills on those properties as all the funds for multiple properties owned by the same individual/company sit on one account. There are also tons of reports you can run for a variety of accounting purposes, our new software system has only a fraction of reports available. I do miss this aspect of Property Boss.

Cons

As I stated previously, Property Boss was an excellent choice for us 7 years ago when we started business. Over the years, they have produced very little updates to the software to stay current in the property management industry. There are little to no communication aspects to this software to track communication with tenants/owners, they do not have the ability to text tenants from the software, you're suppose to be able to email, but our email module would never work. The inspection tool is not really a tool at all, no app on your phone, an extremely outdated look, and probably our biggest reason for finally leaving is that the software is server based, not web based. Our employees were unable to pull up Property Boss from the phones, or any computer. If you do not have the software downloaded to your computer, you cannot access your account. This creates nightmares for after hours maintenance when trying to pull tenant contact info and owner's info. Our biggest reason for finally leaving was the server issues. We were constantly being kicked off of Property Boss while working during the day, and have to stop and reconnect. We even upgraded our internet in our office in an attempt to make the software operate more quickly and stop the constant interruptions, but it didn't help.

Jan

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

May 2020

PropertyBoss user

They are helpful in trying to find us solutions to unique issues, such as management of short term rentals.

Pros

I like the integration of the online application to the tenant applicant database and ultimately to be able to move in the tenant easily.

Cons

Because the software is so robust, one does have to recognize that it will take some time to learn to use it. The beauty of that, of course is that it does a lot of things.

Reasons for switching to PropertyBoss

The old software was sold to another company who stopped supporting it.

Glenda

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2016

Property Managers Review

Have been using this program for years, have added several additional services (resident portals, credit cards & EFT payments, website hosting...) I find it to be versatile and easy to navigate for the basic uses, takes alittle education for the additional features

Pros

Multiple portals General Ledger Multiple Reports Multiple Integrated payments Integrated Website

Cons

Does not track Mortgage escrow or balances (hard to report property taxes or interest) Difficult to search the GL for specific amounts

Julie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2016

Great customer service

My company has used property boss for 10 years. Their customer support is excellent. The updates have made the program much easier to use and streamlined the property management functions.

Pros

Portal features

Cons

Learning curve

Michael

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 6 months

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

November 2016

Good product

Good experience, when we wanted something done we would call.and they would update to fit our need!

Pros

Unit based

Cons

Maintenance software

weston

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Very Arctic

Well this may have been top of the line in the 70’ or 80’s. It moves at dial up speeds. Takes forever and a day to login it may make you cry it’s so slow. I have a pretty nice main frame computer that is a workhorse and is fast and reliable but I was pulling my hair out with this software . I would highly recommend getting training on this software both hands on and every book you can find. This Is difficult to use software not a plug and play.

Pros

There may have been good Intentions behind it’s deve

Cons

It’s like something build for dos it runs slow

Adonis

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

Great tools to market your local property to millions of people!

Creativity and basic knowledge to web design is a plus to fully utilized the functionality of the software.

Pros

This software allows you to reach millions of people to market your local property, move in to your town. This is an industry leading innovative software for property management.

Showing 9 reviews