All SimplifyEm Reviews

1-25 of 127 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Michelle

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2022

Best property management software in the market

I have found their support best amongst the software industry. I find it easy to contact them via text, email or phone. I prefer to use either text or phone. Their support team is very knowledgeable and friendly.

PROS

I find it very easy to use. It enables me to stay on top of my rent collections. I found data entry much more easier than other applications I have used. I have just started using their online application, online leases, and tenant screening service. I found it very easy to integrate with my current process. I have been using online rent collections for a while now and it is easy to set it up.

CONS

There is nothing difficult i find with the product. If I have a question, I can watch a video or go to the FAQ and lookup the answer. I find their videos very helpful.

Stephen

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2017

Easy to use property management software

If you aren’t tech savvy and want to save time each month, this software will help you a lot. I like it as it has made property management job easy.

PROS

Simplifyem is a simple and straightforward property management software. Everything is categorized in sections so you’ll never get confused especially if you’re not tech savvy like myself. It’s easy to set everything up and doesn’t take long. There’s a bunch of reports and I love how they’re so easy to run. At the end of the month, I can quickly send out owner statements. I also send out rent receipts to all my tenants in bulk all at once just by a single button so I’m not doing them one by one like how I used to. My tenants also send maintenance requests through their portals which is really convenient because I can just create a work order and assign it to a vendor right away. Customer Service is great! They walked me through on setting up online payments. They even offered to set them up for me at no extra cost. My tenants now pay on time and some don’t need to login each month since they’re setup on automatic withdrawals. This really helps when paying my owners online as well.

CONS

None, software works as expected and the functionality is easy to use which will be of a benefit to non tech savvy users

Chantal

Commercial Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed April 2017

I am on the fence about this software.

PROS

It is easy enough to use expect for the part of managing leases for Ontario, Canada. Easy set up of new properties, landlords and tenants.

CONS

You need to get a 1-800 number so I can call at any time but because I am a Canadian client, I am not able to call the U.S with my phone plan. Emails don't always get conveyed properly. Need to have a choice to the lease information whether you have a security deposit or last month's rent deposit. The latter is missing. This would make our process so much easier. Need to have an auditing trail with your software so mistakes can easily be found. I was once told that I had to pay for your bookkeeper to find an error I made...luckily I was able to find the problem and fix. If a mistake was entered, you should be able to reverse it...your system does not always allow this. Biggest con my clients and I have is that if a tenant is using last month's rent or is late paying their rent for a particular month, your owner statement should show their name at least, even if no $$ is present. This is a MUST and I hope you but this change in your next release.

Vendor Response

Hi Chantal, thank you for sharing your experience with us. We are happy you found the software easy to setup and use. It looks like we could have done a better job meeting your needs as a Canadian user though. Security deposits are currently supported for U.S. situations. Last month rent deposit can be tracked, but it could be handled more smoothly for the Canadian market. Owner Statements show the financials on an owner’s properties and a Rent Roll can also be sent with an overview of paid and unpaid tenant balances. An audit log is something we would like to do in the future, but any transaction can be reversed if incorrect. I will ensure the support team follows up with more information. Users in both the U.S. and Canada are able to reach us at 1 510 790 9066 9-5 PST and speak a live person within a few rings. Emails are also responded to within a few hours in most cases. We have many Canadian users, but we also ensure to clarify we are geared towards the U.S. and will discuss limitations. Before purchasing, these limitations and your phone plan were discussed, and we offered to call when needed by simply emailing support. Over the past few months, a personal support member has promptly called within a few hours and has assisted with one-on-one setup for as much time as needed. We do our best to provide a support experience that is above and beyond what is typically offered and we appreciate your feedback on how we can further improve.

Replied April 2017

Wendy

Real Estate, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2017

A Huge Time Saver!

This is the perfect app for someone who needs a place to track tenant information and leases while keeping a history of past tenants and what work orders and requests have been submitting while consolidating expenses. The tracking of all tenant communication in one place makes so easy to lookup information and avoid any miscommunication and legal issues.

PROS

As a property owner, SimplifyEm has decreased my workload and saved time. I can easily see work orders and expenses at a glance while collecting payments and see all tenant communication in one place. I like how I can set up rent reminders to invoice my tenant every month automatically. This has helped get rent on time every month. SimplifyEm has freed up my time and streamlined my property management tasks into a manageable process so that I spend less time on managing property.

Kimberly

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Does Most of What I want

Their support division is fairly good. They are better at answering emails than the telephone.

PROS

This program was good for multiple properties. Best for keeping expenses in a good place and running general reports. I like that the receipts for each expense can be loaded for easy access

CONS

I wish they had a phone app to add things easier in the field. Also, I wish there were a few more reporting options like one with line items below the general category.

Reason for choosing SimplifyEm

overall the price structure was much more friendly.

Curtis

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed April 2018

Simple yet Satisfying

PROS

This management software was better than I gave it credit for. It was the first software I used before switching to a more robust (read: costly) system. For the price, I think SimplifyEm is the best bang for your buck. While it doesn't seem intuitive at first, It's much easier to work with than some of its more complicated competitors.

CONS

It did not have a standalone app and relied on their mobile website to support my mobile needs. It got the job done, but it wasn't nearly as seamless as it could have been. SimplifyEm also doesn't offer some of the training that other software options offer.

Dana

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

SimplifyEm - First Time User

Overall my experience has been pleasant. In the beginning, I feel like the salesperson and trainer moved very quickly explaining the features and it's hard to retain a lot of the information. However, I've always been able to contact customer service and receive a quick response via email. The customer service is pretty great and again, it is a positive feature for this company

PROS

In the beginning, some of the features were not as intuitive as I thought they should be, but I've always been able to contact customer service and receive a quick response via email. Now that I have been using the platform for a few months, I find it a lot easier to navigate. Not to mention, the price is very affordable especially for someone like me with only a few properties and they have great customer service.

CONS

It would be nice if there was a mobile app available for both iPhone and Android. It's not very easy viewing the website from a mobile phone. Also, it was a little challenging for my tenants to set up. My tenants had a lot of questions and I literally had to search YouTube for videos. It would be nice if a setup video or something is sent when the tenant signs up. Or, if the owner/property manager is trained to walk the tenant through the process

Reason for choosing SimplifyEm

Recommendation and cost

Mary

Commercial Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2017

Good for basic PM software

PROS

Fairly easy to use. They have great customer support and always willing to walk you through issues. Overall it's fairly easy.

CONS

They just have basic reporting. If you want to really analyze your property this is not the software for you.You can get a Rentroll and Tenant Late Report but that's about it. They don't have a vacant listing or make ready status or occupancy percentage. I believe if they can develop better reports - this program would be awesome. Don't get me wrong it is a great simple program. That is why it's called SimplfyEm.

Ronda

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2017

Very unuser friendly

PROS

Reports once we have entered the same redundant thing in many areas of the software. Once you have done all of this it is great to have the individual reports to see how your business is running!

CONS

Not an easy software to get around in. Very redundant. You have to enter the same thing in several places in order for your reports to be correct. Customer support is not good. Very difficult to get a live person that actually understands your issue and in helping to adequately resolve that issue. You wait and wait and wait on a return call. The fees they charge for online rent payments is ridiculously high for the price of the software we already pay for. Their turn around for releasing payment to us is ridiculous. We need quick access to our rent payments in order to pay our owners in a timely manner.

Amara

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed January 2021

Fine basic services but BUYER BEWARE

Was a decent program but we will go with a company that has ethical business practices for our property management needs.

PROS

Simplify 'em was easy to use and integrated well with our property management system.

CONS

The company automatically charged us for 3 ADDITIONAL YEARS after to did not renew our subscription. That's over $300 for a service we no longer needed. BUYER BEWARE.

Logan

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed January 2021

Garbage!

Honestly we regret paying for this software in advance I wish we would have tried it out for a month first then at least gotten out money back. When they did the onboarding, they did it incorrectly which then took a month to fix by myself. By the time the trial ended and we realized we didn't like it, they didn't return any of the money.

PROS

It was online and could be accessed anywhere.

CONS

The process of paying bills takes way too long. The tenant portals failed to link up with the software. You can't add any other income categories other than rent received and late fees.

Reason for choosing SimplifyEm

It was the cheapest

Vendor Response

Hi Logan, Our training & onboarding is free, unlimited, & U.S based. Our onboarding team asks questions to customize the experience. It sounds like the team made recommendations in fixing the account with data entry & that takes time. SimplifyEm provides the ability to pay owners & vendors online or by printing a check. With online payments, it only takes 2 business days, compared to others that take 7. SimplifyEm does not require a merchant account which means it's faster to setup. Tenant portals are one of our most popular features & tenants & property managers love them. It's a convenient way to communicate & pay rent. The income categories follow the IRS income guidelines. SimplifyEm allows users to create sub-income categories under the IRS ones. This makes it easy for tax time & SimplifyEm auto fills these tax reports for you, following the IRS categories. We have a 30 day money back guarantee policy. We are more than happy to issue refunds within the time period.

Replied December 2022

Chad

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed December 2019

No tech support

I have made 5 phone calls and have been told there are 2 escalated repair tickets in the month that this has been happening. Tech support tells me that someone will contact me when they have a solution. 1 month and no solution. This and the massive price increase for next year has made me decide to switch software providers for 2020.

PROS

I thought the software was easy to learn and entering data was easy.

CONS

I have had a software problem for over a month. I can't move tenants in or out and can't edit leases without my browser locking up. I have to close the browser and log in again. The problem doesn't go away when I log back in. I have resorted to using an excel spreadsheet to keep track of leases and dates because the software I am paying for doesn't work.

Reason for choosing SimplifyEm

Cheaper price.

Reasons for switching to SimplifyEm

Massive price increase and lack of tech support.

Vendor Response

Hi Chad, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are known to be easiest to use and known for our customer support. This is our first price increase in 5 years and we are still the most cost effective in the industry. Our price cannot be beat as we start at $10/month for managing up to 10 units. It looks like the issue was misunderstood initially. We are happy to have resolved it. We've noted your feedback and passed it along. Best, SimplifyEm Team

Replied December 2019

Elizabeth

Real Estate, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2017

If you want to wait forever for your money, this is the program for you!

The reason I looked into property managment software was to allow tenants to easily pay rent online and avoid the headache of manual deposits. Unfortunately, this created a whole different and worse problem. Money was not available in the account for 7-10 days. ACH payments really shouldn't take that long to clear!

PROS

Some of the features ae convenient. Customer service team was helpful and polite. Setup was easy and fast.

CONS

Deposits through ACH took 7-10 days to clear. Even with weekends, this length of time is unworkable for most owners.

Vendor Response

Hi Elizabeth, we are happy to hear you found the setup was easy and our support team was helpful! It seems like the online payment process was not clear, so I'm happy to clarify! Although it has never taken 7 or more business days to clear, online payments do take 2 business days to clear, not including weekends or bank holidays, such as Christmas. We are looking forward to the upcoming federal changes to payment processing that will be reducing the clearing period to 1 business day and will be including this as part of our system as it becomes available. Online payments can take more time to process than driving to a bank and depositing rent payments. However, most property managers value online payments for the amount of time saved each month compared to handling paper checks, manually depositing and manually bookkeeping each payment. Online payments also provide an easy way for tenants to automate and send payments, creating a more professional experience. Online Payments are one of our most popular features, which will continue to be enhanced based on feedback like yours!

Replied June 2017

Laura

Real Estate

Used more than 2 years

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2015

I love this software. It keeps me organized and is so user friendly!

PROS

SimplifyEm knows just what I need to organize my rental business . I don't use all it's features, but it is nice to have everything at your finger tips. I get what I need and much more from SimplifyEm.

CONS

There is "nothing" I don't like! The technical support team is fantastic to work with. I don't need support often but if I do need help, they are quick to answer the phone or quick to call me back! The support staff are very professional and polite. The program is very easy to use.

Olga

Real Estate, 1 employee

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed May 2021

Review

It is not an easy going software. I can't get customer support when I need it!!!

PROS

No comment on this. I am just trying to set up the accounts and get support but no one call me back

CONS

Not user friendly. No customer support when I need it!!!

Reason for choosing SimplifyEm

Less expensive

Vendor Response

Hi Olga, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. Our customer support team is known to be easy to reach. We are happy to see that a customer support member called you back the same day and resolved the issue you were having. Thank you for letting us know about your experience, we value your feedback. Best, The SimplifyEm Team

Replied June 2021

Stephen

Construction, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Great product!

PROS

I highly recommend helps us keep try of all rents and Tenants and even lets up set up online billing!

CONS

I do wish it integrated with our accounting software but I am happy with what it does do and will continue using it.

Frances

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Property management made easy

Software advice guided me to three good companies. For the size of our business SimplifyEm seemed the best fit. And their emails were very helpful and non- aggressive.

PROS

It is user-friendly and the cost seems reasonable. Tutorials are available as needed and customer support is always available. Information is easy to enter and to edit, if necessary.

CONS

I may be wrong but it doesn't download into Quicken. We are just getting started with this software so there aren't any defects, if any, that can be mentioned here.

Frances

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY