What are SKYLINE users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using SKYLINE software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

3.61

49 Reviews

5
16
4
17
3
5
2
1
1
10
3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3.5

Customer Support

out of 5
3.5

Value for money

out of 5
3.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"The reports are professional looking and easy to run. Support is very helpful on the rare occasion that we need them."
  • icon"The reports are clear and easy to read, plus being able to create customized reports is a huge asset."
  • icon"I am able to utilize and convert them to excel sheets or PDF's to use the information integrated with other reports that I produce."
  • icon"If you make a mistake sometimes, it will be a little difficult to change it. And update information is not easy."
  • icon"The cherry on the cake: Your support fees get you nothing but excuses and the offer to charge you more to learn what the failed to teach in training."
  • icon"You will get some errors in some time. I sometimes know about all the software being spoiled with Skilin, you need a full time person to deal with errors."

Jump to:

Browse all SKYLINE Reviews

  • Have you used SKYLINE and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 49 reviews

Rosalie

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Review of Skyline

We are a commercial real estate property management company who lease and manage spaces to multifaceted tenants both in commercial and retailed businesses. Skyline is a very highly valued software to help us monitor closely to our day-to-day operations. We could not have done it without Skyline.

Pros

Overall a very well rounded accounting and property management software. Extremely powerful in generating very useful financial reports to our investors and lenders. Skyline offers excellent technical support and had recommended one expert to us whom we are still using to-date. We are very happy customers.

Cons

I don't have anything negative comments to say about Skyline.

Alternatives Considered

Yardi Voyager

Reasons for choosing SKYLINE

Skyline has a friendly user interface setup and easy of use lead to less of a steep learning curve.

Reasons for switching to SKYLINE

We needed a full fledge and complete accounting software that can help us keep track of our many commercial tenants, properties and books.

Judy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Commercial Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Skyline user for over 20 years

Skyline gets the job done quickly and efficiently with limited keystrokes.

Pros

With Skyline, we can easily manage all of our properties, input property/tenant/vendor information, pay bills and invoice tenants.

Cons

Sometimes a field is limited in characters and cannot be customized. For instance, some emails do not fit within the amount of space permited.

Alternatives Considered

Yardi Voyager

Reasons for choosing SKYLINE

After testing Yardi, we determined that Skyline was much more user friendly.

Hovhannes

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

November 2017

Skyline is a disaster

Stay away from this software, we just switched to Yardi Genesis 2.

Pros

This is one of the few softwers that wasn't cloud base, which is what the management of the company wanted ( Now they changed their mind). Also the software had project costing module

Cons

It is very difficult to learn and use. I have used a few property management software, and can tell that there are many unnecessary and illogical steps in Skyline. The Software is very glitchy. You will get 5-10 errors every day. I know all the software malfunction sometimes, with skiline, you need a full time person to deal with the malfunctions. Their Customer Service is a Scam. We had a 3rd party company that Yardi assign us. They overcharged the support hours every time. When we purchased the software, we were told that once we make the initial investment, we won't have to deal with momnthly payments like other softweres offer. We realized it is a good investment to pay lump sum at the beginning and avoid the monthly payments. Come to find out, that there is a update/new release charge every year that is twice as much as the out original investment. We were told we don't have to update, but you lose the support if you are not up to date. And it is impassible to go without support in Skyline.

Debra

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

It's actually fun!

I enjoy coming to work and working in the Skyline Database, its fun and easy to use.

Pros

My first experience with Skyline was 4 years ago. I had never used the software before, the Database was new to me. I reached out to my Skyline Representative and he suggested I sign up for the ‘Skyline Training Classes”. My Skyline representative suggested I utilize the “Skyline Help” line. I ended up calling the “Help Line” at least twice a week for the first few months. They always returned my calls within a day. They were and still are quick to respond, friendly, and knowledgeable. The help I received was great! It was like having my own tutor. I ended up asking for the same person every time I called, and she would call me back. Within a year I was able to operate the database on my own. I still call once in awhile if I have questions, or need help. I am currently on the 2020 version. It is actually fun to use. I really like to multiple screens options; I think it has enabled me to be more time efficient. It is a great system with lots of options. I like the reports. I am able to utilize and convert them to excel sheets or PDF's to use the information integrated with other reports that I produce.

Cons

I did the classes, and found I still needed some explanations once I was using the database on my own. At first it seemed complicated and I was a bit overwhelmed. I had bookkeeping experience which did help me put together some of the processes.

Tish

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Skyline Review 2019

We are very pleased with Skyline overall. The biggest improvement we have seen from our old software is the escalations and recoveries. We were doing them via excel and Skyline has saved us an enormous amount of time. Tech Support is very prompt in responding to our emails and is always very helpful. We have had various Skyline reports designed for us by a consultant for Skyline, who has done an awesome job in being able to meet all of our needs.

Pros

1. Being able to run the escalations and recoveries in PM has saved us hours of time. 2. It is user friendly 3. Tech Support is awesome! They are quick to respond and very helpful. 4. Like the fact that we can call tech support and they can connect remotely to help figure your issue.

Cons

1. Wish it had a manual so we didn't have to bother tech support on all issues we have. 2. The tab and enter keys should be interchangeable 3. Not being able to get a GL on various selected account numbers at one time. Currently they have to be within a range or one specific account. 4. No major conferences to go to so you can network with other who use Skyline. 5. Would rather it be more keyboard driven with shortcuts. 6. Would like to see improvements to the budgeting area regarding the write backs. Maybe this was updated in the new version. I haven't checked it out yet. 7. Being notified when an update is available via an email.

Jackie

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Skyline Property Management Software

Overall, we have had success with Skyline. It is relatively easy to use, but I see so much potential for improvement especially within the Enhanced Budget Module, but this has not been a priority for the company. By making these enhancements, it make them a much better competitor to other rivals such as Yardi, MRI and others that we have looked into.

Pros

It is relatively easy to use with little training required.

Cons

I only wish their online help and tutorials were a better written and included pictures. Sometimes they are hard to follow when reading or are missing steps, but if they had screen shots of steps, it would be more helpful. I also wish they invested more in their budget tool. It does integrate the current tenant rents, but does not allow for the ability to budget for rents that are expiring. The only option is to add speculative information directly into the tenants billing screen and then remember to remove it if it is not approved. The only other draw back is the lack of ability to use the annual CAM reconciliation of expenses. The calculations would be set up in excel and then incorporated into Skyline. It would be more helpful to set up within Skyline on a tenant level basis so that all information is housed within Skyline.

Michele

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Skyline Software Review

Over the past 27 years we have had a positive experience with Skyline. Although changes take time, Skyline representatives have been responsive to our needs and requests. Support tickets are generally answered within a reasonable time frame and support staff is knowledgeable.

Pros

Our company has been using Skyline for 27 years. This software has made major strides in keeping up with the industry. Recent redesign of our escalation spreadsheets has greatly benefited our company by streamlining the billing process and improving how recoveries are billed back to our commercial tenants. The F9 feature has enhanced our reporting and financial statement presentation for monthly operations, as well as, for tax reporting purposes. We are working towards implementing the Facility Maintenance Module to assist with and improve the tracking of our current maintenance calls.

Cons

Our hopes for the future would be for Skyline to implement an Online Residential Application Portal which allows digital signing and an integrated screening process for quick background/credit checks and the ability to track communications by tenant.

Fran

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

software

There are so many steps in everything you do. Like cutting a check, creating a new property, creating a new GL account, etc.

Pros

Easy to use and user friendly and it is not cloud base.

Cons

There are so many steps to create a new property.

Reasons for choosing SKYLINE

The software is not cloud base.

Heather

Industry: Construction

Time used: More than 2 years

3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3.5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2016

Skyline survey

Pros

Once you have Skyline down, it is very easy to navigate and figure out where you need to be for certain tasks.

Cons

My only dislike of Skyline is the fact that it takes a lot to build knowledge of the software with no real help manual or the lack of support from Qualitech.

Tammy

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 6 months

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

January 2017

Skyline Property Management Software

The software is relatively easy to use once you've learned the ins and outs of it. I have been using it for over a year and there are still issues that come up that I need support for. The processes of month end close are cumbersome. When entering a new property into Skyline it is very cumbersome and steps heavy. You have to go to approximately 5 -6 different areas in the program to get a property set up from start to finish. If you close the month there is no way to go back and fix a mistake, not even a description. Preprinted forms are a beast to line up properly.

Jessica

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Great for every level of user

Skyline has been the perfect solution for our small company. With Skyline we have great support and they have helped us through several difficult issues. We cannot speak highly enough about the quality and value of the Skyline Software and the Skyline Support Team.

Pros

The user support team is FANTASTIC. They are kind, courteous and always available to help. They are expert level instructors who really take the time to learn your particular needs in order to teach you how to use Skyline best, making learning the software a breeze. The software itself is very user friendly. It is very easy to learn and in many ways self-explanatory. Starting off with very limited knowledge of accounting in general, I feel I was able to pick it up rather quickly. Data entry is a breeze, there are several safeguards in place to allow you to double check yourself or someone else's work and catching duplicate entries. The reports are clear and easy to read, plus being able to create customized reports is a huge asset. The price point, in comparison to other property management software on the market, is also a huge plus.

Cons

There is no real user manual. The "Skyline Help" within the software is more of an explanation as to what each section does, not so much as to how to use it. Do not expect there to be clear, how-to, bullet point type instructions unless you get them from the user support team. Again, they are a huge asset to Skyline. The sales team is not the most friendly nor the most helpful, but fortunately you only have to deal with them every other year or so.

Mary

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

SKYLINE 2017.1

I have been with the Skyline Property Management program since version 1.5v , which has been for over 30+ years. I've dealt with every aspect of this program; phone support, trainer, sales & marketing and currently an end user. I've seen Skyline grow into an amazing program, which I'm sure will continue. My sales representative is always there to help and support always responds in a timely manner.

Pros

Skyline offers... 1. Reports that are very useful and easy to read. If a custom report is needed, the Crystal Report Writer will help with creating a report to fit your needs. 2. A Lockbox feature that allows you to record a batch or payments for an unlimited amount of transactions. The most I have recorded in one batch was 6,000+. 3. Easy imports and exports of data. 4. ACH Payable is a new add on we just purchased. It's so easy to pay a vendor now without having to cut a check.

Cons

1. The only feature that I would like to see changed is the need to buy user licenses. 2. Would like to see the program or some version of the program directed more toward HOA's and Condominium associations.

Pam

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Skyline Software Review

Pros

The software does a very good job of incorporating the specialized accounting and reporting requirements for the real estate owner/property management industry. The software anticipated what is needed for our industry. The property management, accounts payable and general ledger functions within the software are straightforward and thorough and has good accounting control features. We need, utilize and like the portfolio consolidation feature of the software as well.

Cons

Not being able to get historical rent rolls (as of a certain date). If the software somehow generated a vacancy value that would allow the user to understand gross potential rent versus actual. Also, would like it to be easier to get/write custom reposts.

Joe

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Long-time Skyline user review

I have used this software for 14 years total at two different companies and have found it to be an excellent product. It's a very good value for what you pay.

Pros

After initial setup, it's pretty intuitive and easy to get the information you need from property management/AR. The same thing on running financial statements/GL reports. You can also easily setup multiple charts of account on the GL. There are a lot of property management and GL features you can use depending how detailed you want to get. AP is also easy to use. Overall, it's an excellent value compared to its competitors.

Cons

This biggest drawback is that AP and AR do not hit the GL in real time. You would need to post from these modules first to see them in the GL.

Cheri

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Easy to use and exceptional support!

I have used Skyline and many other software for years. Skyline has always remained consistent, reliable and user friendly. The software support has also been quick to respond and personable.

Pros

Skyline is a real work horse. I have used the software for many years and found that it does everything needed to efficiently run the accounting and tenant management of any size commercial building. It is exceptionally easy to use, making it easy to train others. Skyline has an online or desktop version which makes it easy for any size user.

Cons

The on screen look of Skyline hasn't changed for quite some time. I know that the newest version that is coming out will be better then ever.

Eileen

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Long-time user

Overall, I am happy with Skyline. It has it's quirks, but then all of the property management solutions have them. With our business, we have used and continue to use many different property management systems but Skyline is the one we compare the others too.

Pros

Skyline is a simple property management system that covers the basic needs of the process well. The price point relative to competing platforms is also quite low. It is a great system for companies with simple needs. They also keep improving the product.

Cons

The software can be unforgiving and cumbersome. If you need any customization, you need to get Crystal Reports or Cumulus to accomplish it. The file structure is not SQL based.

Kathleen

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Skyline product review and recommendation

We've been using it for over 20 years and I've been using it for over 14 years. It's continued to improve and we've been happy with the changes made.

Pros

There are probably two things about the software that make it so usable. One is the fact that it is easy to use and the other is the support is great. I've never had a problem getting a quick response to any perceived issue (most of which tend to be lack of knowledge on our part).

Cons

There are always minor things, such as changing the GL date in AP that would be useful to do when you're entering an invoice, instead of going to another screen but that is not something that needs to be done often so it's not a big deal.

Mary

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Easy to use, great functionality

I work with 2 other property management software systems that are owned by the properties institutional owner. Each system has their pros and cons but I do feel that Skyline has been the easiest transition and the easiest for the accountants to learn and work with.

Pros

Skyline is easy to use. My three Property Accountants all work independently on it without issues. It is user friendly, easy to find what you need. The reports are professional looking and easy to run. Support is very helpful on the rare occasion that we need them.

Cons

There are some differences from the past software that we used but they are always seem to be making improvements which is nice.

Hope

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Skyline works for you

SKYLINE is a very user friendly and powerful program that allows me to manage my properties very efficiently. I like that once you put the rent increases into SKYLINE, the system knows when to start the next increase and I don’t have to go back in and change the rent. You can run the reports you need easily and see when leases are coming up for renewal. You can scan your invoices in and see them going back years if you need to. Support staff is responsive if I need it.

Pros

Once you set up your tenants up the program does the rest. I like you can have recurring invoices in Accounts payable and attach invoices to all vouchers so you can look back at them

Cons

Nothing Really negative to say about the system

Wayne

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2019

Easy to Use

Pros

Skyline is a very user friendly software - it contains all the options necessary to run the accounting function of our real estate group without overly complicating the process / menus available. Skyline is also very stable and rarely requires a call to their helpdesk. On the rare occasion we do need help Sklyine is quick to support us.

Cons

The software is perfect for our commercial projects. I wish it could be translated to a complete residential product with all the options that are typical of a residential software.

Alene

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

In use here since 1997. I would not change for any reason.

Overall, excellent. When I was looking for a Real Estate Software Management System in 1997, I spent an extensive amount of time doing research. Skyline was my top choice for multiple reasons.

Pros

It is easy to use. From navigating to different Occupant Information, attaching documents, searching out data.

Cons

For each update, there is a glitch. I know of no software that is exempt. However, the IT people are accessible and extremely helpful.

Reasons for choosing SKYLINE

1) The price 2) Local support 3) Ease of use 4) On-site training in the package.

Donna

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Customer for over 25 years

Pros

The general ledger history is there forever - with the multiyear general ledger I can see how expenses are trending over the years.

Cons

When the platform changed dramatically in 2019 it took a lot of adapting. The menu is not as easy to navigate as it once was & although favorites has been added it doesn't solve the problem. There are too many menu layers to go through to get where you want to be....

DEB

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: Less than 12 months

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Customer Support at its BEST

Never having done this work before it's a good product. It has more capabilities than my company has set up, but I hope to change that in the future.

Pros

Having used this software only a year or so, I found that it is easy to operate for the day to day postings. However, since I am new to this field of work I have made some awful errors on my part that were some doozies. Here's the great part...My customer rep [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] is so awesome that I don't freak out anymore when I have a doozy. She is calm, collected, knowledgeable and kind. I don't worry anymore because I know [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] an pull me through. She's the BEST !!!

Cons

That there isn't some sort of app that my CPM can take into the field.

Ann

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Real Estate

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Great software

Overall, wonderful experience. It does everything we want it to do.

Pros

The software is easy to use and can customize for business needs. It has a lot of options for additional modules and compatibilities for other software options.

Cons

Can time out sometimes and would love to have a more sophisticated budgeting tool.

Reasons for choosing SKYLINE

N/A

Reasons for switching to SKYLINE

I didn’t, before I got there.

Bernadette

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: More than 2 years

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2020

Four stars

Pros

It is wonderful to be able to click on a transaction directly from a report to few the GL coding and description.

Cons

Voiding checks. It would be nice if there was an option to void multiple checks instead of having to do it one at a time.

Showing 1 - 25 of 49 reviews
SKYLINE

SKYLINE

3.61/5 out of 49 reviews
icon5 recommendations
The number of recommendations our advisors have made over the past 30 days. Our advisors assess buyers’ needs for free and only recommend products that meet buyers’ needs. Vendors pay Software Advice for these referrals.