TOPS [ONE] is a web-based community association management (CAM) solution designed for managing Condos, HOAs and Co-Ops. TOPS [ONE]’s robust workflow automation tools enable businesses to manage their properties and accounting activities.

Unlike the property management software that caters to the variety of users, TOPS [ONE] serves only community associations. The solution provides tools to streamline multiple operations including portfolio management, service request management, account management and reporting. Businesses can define their key performance indicators (KPIs) and keep a track of business valuable information through dashboards.

TOPS [ONE] offers various custom fields to track details like house numbers, parking spots, owner details and more. The real-time alert feature allows sending alerts/reminders to both owner and tenants about the rent dues, payment acknowledgments, maintenance schedules or other activities. Other features include ad hoc reporting, role-based permissions, activity logging and automatic notifications.



73 Reviews of TOPS [ONE]

Overall rating

3.5 / 5 stars

Showing 1 - 20 of 73 reviews

December 2018

Rand from RAND Community Association Management LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2018

user friendly

Very supportive very easy to get answers

Pros

It is awesome

Cons

Billing as to expanding my accounts 3 emails no reply as to change in my contract

November 2018

Mike from PMI West Michigan

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2018

Mike's review

Pros

What I do know about the software it seems to go fairly smooth. It has helps on the page

Cons

When I am stuck and have an issue there is not a quick response from customer service

November 2018

Nina from Trident Real Estate

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

November 2018

Tops One is great but still needs some advance features

My overall experience with Tops One, considering I am a beginner with this software, has been a extensive learning one.

Pros

What I like most about the software is the easy navigation between the functions available. For example, posting payments thru the AR- Cash Receipts provided under the AR-Accounts Receivable tab. It's easy to post a payment on a unit owners account.

Cons

The least I like about the software are: 1) from an accountant perspective and having QuickBooks knowledge doing adjustments and rectifying ledger accounts are a bit confusing. The Debits and Credits seem to work backwards in this software which causes major confusion when making adjustments. 2) Is not having an auto function for bank transaction integration . Currently all deposits made through the bank, the bank provides a text file which we then upload into Tops One (lockbox cash reciepts). For expenses we have to post manually. Quickbooks has a bank integration module which downloads bank transactions into the software which then the accountant can review and post with one click of a button without having to manually input transactions. Having this kind of integration will definitely provide a more realistic and real time bank balances.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

November 2018

Greg's Review

I came into the property management business knowing nothing and tops for sure eased me into the business of it and now I am pretty comfortable with it all.

Pros

Easy to access and learn. Keeps everything organized I need on a daily basis.

Cons

Hard to edit tablets in the soft system. Wish you could do it instead of having to add a whole new one

November 2018

Vicki from ProActive Property Management, LLC

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

November 2018

TopsOne Review

Overall we are very happy with TopsOne. It was a slow start because there were many kinks that needed to be worked out but the IT staff were great and helped us along the way.

Pros

The versatility of the software. There is so much that this software is capable of doing.

Cons

The Cash Receipts option. It gets confused and applies money incorrectly at times. I wish you could edit the batch instead of having to delete and start over.

November 2018

Dana from Great Northwest Community Improvement Association

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

November 2018

Great HOA Software

TOPS ONE has been a great time saver for our large scale HOA, we are able to provide accurate financial billing and information to our homeowners.

Pros

I like the integration with other partners and the user friendly system

Cons

I would like to see more options for customizing the system to our needs

Response from TOPS Software of TOPS Software, LLC

Replied November 2018

Thanks for your kind words Dana! We are so glad that TOPS ONE is saving you time and helping your board and homeowners! Our product team is always available to listen to feedback on how we can continue to improve the software to meet your needs. You can reach out to them via the support tools inside TOPS ONE.

November 2018

Kathy from Aspire Community Management

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2018

Breath of Fresh Air

Like with TOPS Pro, it is an all-in-one solution. It has improved 100 fold by becoming web based with the portals. It was a bit of a learning curve switching from Pro to One but it is still very user friendly. I use it as a selling feature when pitching to potential clients. I love it and have no regrets on my purchase!

Pros

I love that it is cloud based and appealing to the eye. It is easy to add Board members as additional users and control what they can alter. Owners can log in to portals which makes it an inexpensive alternative to websites. I love all the partner integrations that they offer.

Cons

I wish it would further integrate with their partners. I also wish that it would remember some of the ways you like to toggle things instead of having to do it every time you log in.

Response from TOPS Software of TOPS Software, LLC

Replied November 2018

What a delightful review Kathy! Thank you so much for your kind words! We do have much more planned for our industry partnerships in the future, so keep an eye on those product update notices!

November 2018

Chris from Fieldstone Realty Partners

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

November 2018

Antiquated

The joke I have always used about Tops is that it was designed in 1991 and not updated since then. I fear that is too close to accurate.

Pros

It has nearly every feature that one could need for property management. They now have APIs that can be used with outside services which is helpful.

Cons

It is difficult to use and it is clunky. Contacting customer service is a disaster, takes at least an hour, and while they address the issues they will not explain how so that you can avoid the hour plus long call next time it happens (and there will be a next time)

July 2018

Joanna from EnProVera

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

2 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

July 2018

Most of the time the programs features do not work.

There were no benefits except to learn to read reviews before purchasing a product.

Pros

Easy of use when it does work, easy to navigate through. The cloud based is a nice feature as well.

Cons

It is just released before it is ready to be. Features don't work, the accounting is awful and when you try to get customer support you will pull your hair out. I takes over 48 hours to get someone to call you to tell you it's not something they can solve and has to go to Development which never gets solved.

Response from TOPS Software of TOPS Software, LLC

Replied November 2018

Joanna, I am sorry to hear your frustrations. As you said, it is a new product and it is (and will continue) to be improved. In the time since you reviewed, we have made continual updates to the app, addressing many of the issues you mention. We would love to hear an update on your review if you feel your experience has improved!

June 2018

Brett from Prism Realty Management

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

June 2018

Tops One

Well Worth the investment !

Pros

Tops One has been our platform from day one. We find the solution to be easy to learn yet full featured. Support organization is quick to respond! And features roll out all the time.

Cons

Some early issues, that since were able to resolve. Like the ability to add features without action on part.

June 2018

Tiffany from Fairway Village Residents Association Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

June 2018

TOPS One Worth the Effort - Paid off BIG Time!

Now that the pains of set up are over, we are all loving TOPS One. Since it is a new system they still have some bugs to work out; however, I have found the support team to be very responsive. Their enhancement program is nice, it allows you to recommend changes to upgrade the system to better suit your business needs. You will need to have a comprehensive plan in place, starting with the accounting transition and the patience to work through the transition. I learned a tremendous amount during this time and feel like I truly have a solid grasp on the accounting functions and reporting much better than beforehand.

Pros

Love having all property, accounting and resident information at my fingertips. Great for onsite managers. Provides real time reports and transparency of management operations to the board. Paying for itself double fold!

Cons

Set up was far from painless. Would definitely recommend the TOPS One Support Team find a way to assist in the transition by providing a comprehensive preparation plan.

May 2018

Blake from Property Management Inc

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

May 2018

Great Partner - VERY user friendly

Support team is very helpful and knowledgeable about the product. Clean interface, great integrations!

Pros

Accounting is very specific to the industry. Easy to use and understand. Price is extremely fair. Support team has your back!

Cons

The bank reconciliations are a pain at times. It would be great if the bank statements were automatically pulled into the software.

May 2018

Alejandra from Westport realty inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

May 2018

Awesome Accounting Software

Great accounting software

Pros

Super easy to navigate, makes doing bank reconciliations super easy as well as paying out vendors that are owed. Even setting up users is super simple and fast.

Cons

Do not have much that I can complain about, I have had success while using OneSite and hope to continue to use it and always recommend it.

April 2018

Deborah from Villages at Kiln Creek Owners Association

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

April 2018

Our migration from the old TOPS to TOPS One has been a total disaster

Benefits???? We have yet to see any benefit for the upgrade at all. It has been a constant battle with their office to even respond - we still are out of balance, the form letters still don't work accurately and NO ONE from TOPS will even address.

Pros

Only the fact that it is web based - the old TOPS had more features and at least it worked, even though it was cumbersome

Cons

Nothing balances!!!! Form letters don't match A/R - Customer service to resolve issues is NONEXISTENT. The staff seems to be overwhelmed and doesn't know any more than we do !!!

Response from TOPS Software of TOPS Software, LLC

Replied June 2018

Deborah, Thank you for your review, we're sorry your experience has not reflected what you hoped it would be. Our staff works hard to provide a high level of service for all of our clients in a timely manner. We are continuously striving to make our product better, as I am sure you have seen in recent updates (http://www.topssoft.com/blogs/tops-customers/topic/tops-one). Your feedback helps us to learn how to better serve our customers. I encourage you to contact me directly if you would like to speak to a manager regarding your issues. (800) 760-9966 x9713 - Andrea Drennen, CMCA

April 2018

James from HPS

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

April 2018

Do Not Use

RUN AWAY FROM TOPS

Pros

Looks nice and seems easy to use at first glance but does not really work. Search bar was about the only thing that really worked and it took a few weeks before they could make it work.

Cons

Does not work. We spent months unable to run reconciliations or generate form letters from TOPSone. No support or help to resolve basic functionality issues.

Response from Meigan of TOPS Software, LLC

Replied June 2018

James, Thank you for your honest review, we are so sorry that you have had this experience. When TOPS [ONE] was released, we became increasingly aware that the product had its merits, but our processes needed work. We’ve spent the year since its release modifying those processes to better accommodate the product and our clients, as well as making routine updates to reach feature parity with TOPS Professional. One of those updates includes the letters in TOPS [ONE], you can find it and all of our latest updates here: http://www.topssoft.com/blogs/tops-customers/topic/program-updates. We hope that you will reach out to our support team at (800) 599 – 5689 or by creating a ticket at support.topssoft.com to let us do everything we can to resolve your issues with navigating our product. Thank you for your feedback, we are listening, and we are doing everything we can to make the changes necessary to better serve our clients.

March 2018

Beth from Coventry Group Community Management

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

March 2018

TOPS[ONE] exceeds our company's needs

I have always had an extremely good experience with TOPS from tech support to sales to management! I love the product!

Pros

TOPS[ONE] is an easy to use product. It is intuitive and has made the transition from TOPSPro to ONE a pretty smooth process. TOPS has recently upgraded their support and it is excellent. I get quick, knowledgeable help. Training was thorough. New, innovative services are continuously added. TOPS is extremely responsive to customer feedback and requests.

Cons

There are some things that aren't as easy to use as in TOPSPro, but after talking to TOPS, I have found out those things are coming in the 2nd quarter.

March 2018

Stephanie from Cedar Glen Homes

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

March 2018

Not as user friendly as other programs

It's an okay program not good for someone who is not bookkeeping savy

Pros

The community side of this program is great for tracking monthly payments from residents and work orders

Cons

If you do not have a solid bookkeeping background this is not the program for you. Also, the technical support team takes days to address your problems

March 2018

David from 12751 (Premier Property Management Services, LLC)

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

March 2018

Easy to use, easy to train staff on. Great product

To run our company most efficiently.

Pros

It is web based so as long as you have an internet connection you can use it. It is very user-friendly to use, the people at TOPS are without a doubt outstanding to work with. One time we had an issue and TOPS staff spent the time on the phone with us to show us what WE were doing wrong not TOPS ONE.

Cons

We have used several products in the past and I can honestly say TOPS ONE blows them all away. There is not much in the way of bad things to say, with all software there are bugs and things we as users would love to see but the thing about TOPS ONE is they care and listen so if you are looking for something specific just ask, reach out to them talk to them they will accommodate you.

Response from TOPS Software of TOPS Software, LLC

Replied June 2018

David, thank you so much for your kind words! we had a strong vision (http://www.topssoft.com/one/roadmap) when we built TOPS [ONE] to make a product that successfully served ALL of the stakeholders of a community association in one single platform. It is encouraging when customers can intuit and embrace that vision!

March 2018

Marc from Core Community Mangement

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

March 2018

Please read before buying this! what a nightmare!!!

If your goal is to run your office efficiently then I suggest you do not use tops one!! I was so excited after talking to the sales rep about all the cool changes we could make and not one of the promises turned out! I have sent at least 10 emails to ask them when I am getting my training on the compliance and management side of the software and I was told the rep will call me and then after more emails from me i was told some other rep will call me then after another email today they told me the third rep is going to be reaching out to me. That is what inspired the review! I can't believe this company is able to stay in business or are they on their way out and that is why all the issues many companies are having. I also called other companies across Utah and Arizona that use tops and I have asked them if they are having the same problems and I have had every one of the companies tell me they are looking to change! Don't buy this product you will regret your choice. The next step to get back my money/training and misdirected promises would be get a lawyer involved. Sad that they can just be honest and fair to their clients

Cons

One year later and still haven't been fully trained like I was promised they took thousands of dollars from me no problem. I have to pay on time but they don't have to deliver on anything.
The support takes way too long to get answers or they don't have answers
The emails only go out in Tops software's name and you can't customize the subject line if emailed not the scheduler
Many people saying they aren't getting the emails from the software even though it says it was sent
The financials always have mistakes that they can't explain then we have to wait for them to fix them
Annual budget to update is very difficult to do. not user-friendly. you can hide the zeroed line items while updated the budget. good luck!
They say the financial layout is customizable but yet when we ask if we can do things they say well you can't do that!
Our CPA says The default financial isn't set up to the standard of typical financial statement
Unable to delete certain data that they said we could during the demo
The tradition has been a painful process! They said it is easy! it is not!!
They said it works good with a Mac computer but it doesnt! yes it is web based but any docs downloaded or files you need to work with are not MAC friendly
Reports take very long to download! Custom reports are not user friendly
It crashes and times out
It does not have simple commands like putting tables in alphabetical order or descending/ascending order. It also does not imp/exp very good

Response from TOPS Software of TOPS Software, LLC

Replied June 2018

Marc, thank you for posting your review in so many places, we have really got to stop meeting like this! I know that you have spent excessive time with our support team and with Teri Perez, our support manager, and that you have experienced a resolution of many, if not all of the issues listed here. I appreciate that you continue to be a user of TOPS ONE, as a show of faith in our commitment to our clients and their needs. We promise to continue to work hard to win back your love and affection!

February 2018

Carla from Summerfield Master Community

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

February 2018

The worst software I have ever used. There are so many issues with this software.

Cons

The software doesn't work or produce any reports that are correct. All bank postings from Lockbox are incorrect and they don't know how to fix it.

Response from TOPS Software of TOPS Software, LLC

Replied June 2018

Carla, thank you for your feedback. Every bit of constructive criticism we receive helps us to build a better product for our customers.