User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(57)

57

4 stars

(89)

89

3 stars

(12)

12

2 stars

(4)

4

1 stars

(3)

3

  • Pros

  • "Interface is intuitive. Plenty of awesome functionality"

  • " The software has such awesome flexibility, the support network and groups are also fantastic! Product releases are often and fantastic, they listen to their customer base. "

  • "I just love the tool because of its social media integration capability, the realistic information which the software provides is just awesome."

  • Cons

  • "I am an aesthetic person. I feel like the UI could use a little sprucing up. "

  • "Doesn't function well with detailed project plans. If you want to push the dates of s project out or adjust a schedule, it's difficult if you have too many tasks"

  • "There are instances of downtime, but they communicate quickly and level set expectations "

Browse Clarizen Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 165 results

January 2018

Peter from Dimension Data

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

SAAS based project management platform, scalable, with team collaboration, great dash-boarding

Pros

ease of use scalable Social Service and Support customizations Updates Adaptability Financial Management

Cons

Cost Agile framework needs attention Reporting Graphs are limited in selection limited amount of Graphs per report Scheduling options are limited to 24 reports , 1 per hour

January 2020

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2020

Full featured - but huge code base

Good. It was a disaster switching to Redbooth, and it was a major upgrade from Basecamp. Maybe it was too big of a jump for a smaller organization.

Pros

It's like the rolls royce of project management systems. Super powerful and hard to really throw stones at the functionality.

Cons

The biggest learning curve because it has specific ways that it manages workflows. It's great. But you need a dedicated team member to just learn and train people on it.

May 2018

Jonathan from ITCA

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

1.0

May 2018

PM tool is not bad, but integrated time/expense/invoice processing did not work.

We got very little benefit from this software, as it did not perform as expected.

Pros

Project management tool is comparable to MS Project. Users that are looking for a subscription PM product rather than purchasing MS Project may benefit from this software, but I am not sure if all PM features are available out-of-the-box at cheaper subscription levels.

Cons

Although the PM tool is comparable to MS Project, it also comes with a level of complication also comparable to MS Project. Full functionality of PM (i.e. including resource management) requires buy-in by all departments/users in the company, and this is difficult to acheive in large or diverse organizations. Our company implemeted this software with the goal of bringing project management together with time reporting, expense reporting, and invoice processing. The purpose of implementing Clarizen was to have a centralized system where we could report project status by including all relevant metrics on the project in a list or detailed view, e.g. planned time vs. actual time, planned cost vs. actual cost, and project manager comments/narrative on goal vs. result. This purpose was never realized. Clarizen underestimated the work effort to develop customizations, which resulted in the time module never being completed, the expense/invoice modules were cumbersome to use, the related approval workflows had many problems, and support from Clarizen management was almost non-existent. We are now taking a different approach. No longer do we believe that one system can handle all our needs, and so we have adopted different systems with some integration between them to try to bring together all project-related data.

August 2015

Peter from Elite Aviation Products

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Aviation & Aerospace

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2015

Clarizen: Perpetual Motion Towards Great

I started using Clarizen 18 months ago to manage multiple complex projects and to corral a pool of shared resources. Out of the gate, Clarion performed well. But what I am most impressed with is the perpetual evolution towards great. Updates are delivered on a regular basis and deliver meaningful improvements.

Pros

At its core, Clarion is a strong project portfolio management tool. The social media element is seamlessly incorporated and has added a valuable dimension to project management. The resource management component is strong and just got stronger with the Summer '15 update. And, most important, Clarizen provides a high-availability SaaS platform. They haven't left me hanging.

Cons

I am still waiting for a mechanism to assign multiple managers to a task. Our projects span multiple shifts. I need a mechanism to allow all shift supervisors to adjust tasks and sub-tasks as needed. The pricing model could be improved. The number of customizations are limited in all except the Enterprise package. We use all three customizations in our package and, at times, turn some off so we can turn others on. Surely a better balance can be reached.

January 2019

Neyda Jose from Paxata

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2019

Fantastic software!

Pros

It is a phenomenal software because it offers great features to carry out a great management of business projects from the handling of mail, schedules and much more, offers excellent support as they answer any questions or problems personally ie go to the company to solve the inconvenience in the best time possible so not be satisfied with this great tool would be inappropriate because unlike other software works very well and provide a perfect orientation thus allowing to understand the operation of the software quickly that is why it is truly useful because through it we have everything in one place.

Cons

It may present some flaws but due to its very effective support it is something for which the use of this great software should not be limited.

October 2015

Jeffrey

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2015

Clarizen's deep set of tools

We've used Clarizen for a few years now, and it's made a huge difference. I came in with project management experience, but many of our managers were just winging it. We moved from a simple time-tracking application to Clarizen's full fledged Project Management. That was a bigger step than most were ready for, but it's come into its own. We have visibility to things we didn't have before, and can make data-driven decisions instead of gut-feeling our way along. I've been able to prove that instinct was not the correct choice in many cases. Clarizen won't tell you what to do, but whatever you want to do, you can probably do it with Clarizen. Other packages I've used gave you a methodology with their software, but Clarizen is flexible, nimble, and robust.

Pros

-Lots of customization -SQL-like API calls -Detailed data -Does what it says on the tin

Cons

-Lack of a canned process for organizations that don't know where to start -I wish it was cheaper :)

February 2018

Nagaraj from Software Quality Center Pvt. Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Good Project Management Software

Pros

Cloud based , good collaborative environment for project management activities like plan and workflow. Cost effective solution.

Cons

Tracking is not easy, need some improvements on functionality. Interfaces development is not easy take long time.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Clarizen as a PMO tool

Overall a positive experience.

Pros

We use Clarizen for Task creation, Task execution , status tracking and reporting. We use this for customer case management especially when it is escalated. Great tool overall.

Cons

While this is a friendly tool, JIRA / Service now is much better with respect to issue tracking. Clarizen could improve there.

December 2019

Lana from General Dynamics Information Technology

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

User friendly product with tons of benefits

In short I would say it’s a great intuitive application to form new profitability reports and to create meaningful collaboration.

Pros

It enables me to make more informed decisions with more efficiency. For me it’s a good application to increase the effectiveness in supporting different work methods to even accelerate execution at the team level as well.

Cons

It’s a great helper to respond immediately and also helps in collaborating with real time information and even to highlight potential issues. I do not find any downside in it.

January 2016

Mohannad from STME

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

1.0

January 2016

Serious and Specialized System

Clarizen is not a generic light tool for simply task scheduling and contact management. It is a serious project management software done by project managers for project managers.

Pros

It profoundly covers all aspects of project management, very customisable, with advanced reporting and custom fields.

Cons

There is always a room for improvement, Clarizen is relatively a new product that needs to build an ecosystem around it. That includes more integrations with other cloud services, 3rd party products in its marketPlace, and faster customer support.

September 2017

Garret from Granicus

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Clarizen has been a solid tool for us when expanding our professional services organization.

Visibility into projects across the entire professional services portfolio. This gave us a better understanding of our teams and how they were utilized.

Pros

The ability to customize Clarizen is one of it's strongest features. While not as advanced as some of the bigger SaaS players like Salesforce, it still provides a robust set of features to allow you to create custom business processes to accomplish your companies goals. They compete pretty well against other companies with much larger teams. Another great feature we use a lot is the expansive and complex WBSs you can have for projects. This allowed us to have a better sense of project flow and visibility to where our projects are at.

Cons

Our biggest struggle comes with the idea that a PSA should be a three legged stool (projects/task management, time tracking/resource management, and project financial management). We can only seem to make two work at a time with Clarizen. Our PMs want some pretty detailed project plans to really understand where tasks are and who is responsible, but when you implement that with time tracking it becomes a nightmare for resources to know where to submit there time entries. As our organization grew, the financials and resource management became more important that detailed project plans so we struggled to find a balance of how detailed our WBSs should be because everything within the project plan was tied to time entries and drove project cost. It has become pretty administrative for some of our PMs.

January 2017

Bill from UHG

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2017

Love Clarizen!

My organization selected Clarizen from a wide array of project management software options just over 2 years ago and we're very happy with our decision. We're a training organization, so slack built into most projects is used up before we get the handoff. This means we must be very efficient and well-coordinated. Clarizen gives us what we need all in a single application. Social, email, file attachment/link to work items... prevent us from checking multiple sources for information. We've customized Work Plans and documentation templates our project managers use to quickly execute tasks. The social functions have replace our Outlook email and we've found that makes projects much more transparent and eliminates hidden agendas that often hit projects. Clarizen support is phenomenal! We have a dedicated expert that currently meets with us every other week and I get quick resolution to any issue posted to their Support Request Center. The dedicated expert has been especially helpful as we're constantly customizing the system to the point that it will soon become the training department's operating system with schedules, timesheets, project plans... everything right in Clarizen.

Pros

All in one; Social, Work Plans, Scheduling...

Cons

The User Guide is useless.

November 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2017

Finally one project management platform that got it all

Pros

One single platform where both project information and customer information meet, thanks to the Salesforce.com integration. This enables salespeople to keep a real-time view on margins and project progress, without them needing to ask a project manager for a status update or a meeting. The information is right there, up to date and accurate.

Cons

You need to make a solid business case and build a real plan to get the budget approved. Most companies have a lot of tools and some work together with others and... but none beat Clarizen if you ask me - it is a "one-stop" to get all information. So do the math to show you can save money by centralizing the tools, and that you can lower the time spent on managing different solutions. It helps if you show dashboards: management likes dashboards (and numbers). Clarizen was not so easy to explain to the whole team, it is a very complete solution. So we decided to "drip-feed" it to the teams.

August 2016

David from Branded3

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2016

Great project management system with good flexibility

Clarizen is a great platform for project management, workflow management and internal communication tracking. The reporting suite is also very good and there seems to be a keen drive to continually improve the product. Customer support throughout setup and launch was excellent with a product specialist available onsite, phone and web-conference to help train our team and customize our environment. Despite some challenging requests our support team and the flexibility of the system allowed to achieve near all our requirements thus far.

Pros

Flexibility/Customisation - the system is extremely adaptable and can be used for a number of functions beyond that which it was designed because of it. Reporting - The reporting suite is excellent but there is still room for improvement in terms of pivots and lining relevant data in reports.

Cons

Support - Although our setup support was great there can be a delay in resolving system bugs but no more than most software services. Caps on custom fields - There are caps on customisation depending on the package you choose and the price hike between them can be quite significant.

November 2016

Leo from Extension Healthcare

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2016

Enterprise grade PSA Solution

As our organization grew we knew need to migrate from our existing PM tool. We initiated an exhaustive search to find the best solution for our business. There are hundreds of "PM" tools out there of various shapes and sizes. We quickly narrowed this down to a handful of potential partners. We found Clarizen to be the best fit for our business. Clarizen accomplished 80% of our requirements out of the box. Because of the solutions extreme flexibility we were able to develop custom workflows to meet the rest of our requirements. Clarizen is scaleable to meet our growing business needs.

Pros

Extremely flexible in all aspects of the solution. The end user can customize the views to best fit his specific work requirements. Sys Admins can configure the system to provide custom functionality. Software updates occur regularly and they provide meaningful enhancements and bug fixes. Support has been great.

Cons

Honestly, not come to mind.

November 2017

Meline from Macadamian

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Definitely, one of the most comprehensive (in good way) system between alike frameworks!

Not only entering timesheets, but also do proper estimations for the project budgeting and resource planning!

Pros

The ability to automatically track the tasks start/end dates if there are dependencies set up as well as when there are vacations or holidays for a person. The automatic smart systems make huge help for any human mistake on those calcualtions and future possible changes. Thanks for this!

Cons

When someone creates a vacation request in Clarizen, it would be good to have a notification mechanism to inform the project manager about it, if the person is assigned to a task of this PM's project(s). Otherwise, only the direct manager of the person is being announced. And if there is no established manual process, the vacation request gets approved without the PM being informed about it. This is really serious problem.

September 2016

Bryan from A-FCI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2016

The "Swiss Army Knife" of Project Management

Working with Clarizen for a few years. Started before the rich reporting capability existed. Using it for Portfolio and Project Management in an Advanced Engineering Product Development team.

Pros

It is Microsoft Project Management on steroids. It gives you the same capability to manage a project but adds features to provide a complete solution. Easy customization to fit each department needs. Resource Management across of projects, Collaboration at all levels, robust reporting module...

Cons

The reporting module provides the capability to easily create dashboards. I have created dashboards for every level and function of the organization. However, it is difficult for a manager to see his staff's dashboard.

December 2016

Brian from Radius Track Corporation

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2016

Full Featured Project Management Software

Clarizen is the foundation of our project management process. It provides a wide range of features and customization to support the needs of our design team, project managers, production, upper management and sales staff. With customized reports, each team member can see the data that is important to them. With customized views estimating can see what is important to them, sales can see that they need and project management can see their information. The dashboards are great to show a snapshot of how many projects are doing. It is obvious the people at Clarizen have put a lot of time and effort developing and refining the project management process. It's a great program to get everyone on your team involved

Pros

The almost unlimited features and options

Cons

There are almost too many choices, it takes a while to really gain a full understanding of how everything works

July 2017

Maria from Macadamian Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2017

This is the best project management tool I've used

Great visibility into my projects.

Pros

The tool offers A LOT of functionality. As I'm not a system administrator, I am not aware of everything that Clarizen can do, but whenever our admins unleash a new feature, I'm always excited by it. The new Android app is super nice/handy to have, especially for logging time. The support is great: we have logged bugs before, and these are generally resolved very fast. I am not blocked for long whenever something like that happens.

Cons

The fact that there are so many features also has a downside. I feel like there is a lot more to discover, and sometimes, things are no consistent. For example, in some views, I can hide the right-hand vertical "space" (or menu) and in others, I can't. I also find that column resizing is quite burdensome, and I have to resize columns in multiple views (it doesn't propagate.)

September 2016

Jonathan from Hendersons

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2016

Effective & Customisable Project Management Tool

Clarizen has moved us from spreadsheet based project management to collaborative, efficient portfolio management. Adopting Clarizen was straight-forward and it was quick to see the benefits. Managing many projects simultaneously across many customers and project types is now possible and manageable. Our development team have a much easier time of knowing what they should be working on in disparate cross-company project teams. The accompanying iPhone and Android apps help ensuring time-sheets are kept updated and communications are not missed. It is hugely customisable in regards to setting up simple forms, workflows with notifications and visual aids. We've been able to recreate our own methodologies in Clarizen. The only issue we have had is reaching the limit of custom fields possible without moving to the unlimited license model. Support has been excellent and dependable.

July 2016

John from Paylocity

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

Highly Recommended

We used Clarizen for our project management. It is easy to learn, user friendly and our employees love it.

Pros

The user friendliness of Clarizen can not be beat. Recently, our company moved to Clarizen for project tracking and the transition couldn't have been easier. Employees rave about the ease of the system.

Cons

If i had to choose, the disconnect between Projects and tasks on the same view. It would be nice to have these without the need of workflows to integrate them.

September 2016

Melissa from Macadamian Technologies

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2016

Improves our business processes and communication

After launching Clarizen in our organization, it was easier than ever before to do resource management and get timesheets in. Therefore the data is more accurate so we can now make sound business decision based on accurate information.

Pros

It's easy to use and to change configuration or customize to best meet your user's needs.

Cons

Cost management is great but could use the concept of effective date to make it easy to use when spanning the fiscal year or promoting individuals.

May 2016

Phil from Xtrac Ltd

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.5

May 2016

A flexible, intutive tool that is packed with features

Pros

Working with Clarizen is always easy, they are incredibly helpful and their Professional Services support is outstanding. Developing a custom timesheet module for our specific needs was never a problem for them and they have delivered far in excess of the original brief. The layout and format of the system is so intuitive we have not needed to undertake lengthy training sessions to our users, almost all have found themselves navigating and operating without issue with only a basic introductory training session.

Cons

The only area where development is still required is the reporting tools. These tools are good, but they are not at the high level that I would want. That said there is significant development taking place that I am aware of and updates are made to improve this area particularly on a regular basis. The tool does have the ability to export almost all data to Excel so if you can't do something within the reporting tools available, you probably can externally.

March 2017

Peter from Edcon

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Information Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2017

Best Online Project Tool

Clarizen is so easy to use, the vast majority of users were up and running within minutes . The powerful social module incorporates item level in context discussions within each project, even to a task level. Flexibility is a strong feature, and the ability to track financial data across the entire project makes the tool a powerful asset in any business

Pros

Interface is intuitive. Plenty of awesome functionality

Cons

More Drag and Drop features would be nice , and possibly Agile standard out the box included

January 2016

Sean from Trinity Mother Frances Hospitals and Clinics

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

January 2016

A mostly positive experience.

We are implementing Clarizen as a project management tool for the entire organization but starting in the Information Technology and Performance Improvement departments. Our goal is to capture all project requests and projects in one place for review, approval, management, and reporting. Clarizen has mostly met our expectations so far. Most of the items that have not met our expectations are minor. We are still early in our implementation so there are still lessons to learn in our journey.

Pros

1. Unlimited email-only users. Resources that infrequently or rarely work on projects can report progress via email without consuming an expensive license. 2. Email and/or API integration with work order systems. Clarizen doesn't charge an expensive license to integrate it with other systems. 3. A modern-looking user interface with an emphasis on social media-like collaboration. 4. Lots of options for charts and graphs for reporting. 5. Can import spreadsheets and MS Project workplans. 6. Lots of training and support webinars every week. 7. Pre-recorded online training via the Clarizen University.

Cons

1. Support seems slow to respond to support requests. 2. There is currently a bug they haven't fixed yet that requires you to keep resetting column widths in reports and dashboards. They don't stick. 3. Their online self-help knowledge base seems new and thin. 4. They don't have a feature I used in other project management software to identify the last (most recent) note, comment, etc. on an item. This can be worked around via user training or some custom workflow programming but it would be nice if they built it in as others have.

December 2018

Bryce from Voice to Venue

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2018

Everything we needed to take our team to the next level

We needed to evaluate how we could best deliver a quick first time to value for our customers on our implementation team.

Pros

Clarizen enabled our team to effectively manage the numerous projects we had while surfacing the insights we needed to make business decisions.

Cons

Like any software that is aimed at solving complex business problems, Clarizen had so many features that it became overwhelming to our team during implementation. When a business has to undergo major changes to their operations, it needs the transition to be as easy as possible. This is more of a critique for most large software solutions as opposed to just Clarizen.

August 2016

Babar from Treehouse Consultancy

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2016

Clarizen makes project management easy

Working on clarizen was a new world for me as I had never used an online project management tool. As most project managers it is hard to move out of the comfort zone which really works, but Clarizen was different. It provided the flexibility of updating projects on the go as well as task assignment to resources and updates to stake holders. Clarizen also helped us to decrease the time to update project status as it was easy to get reminders on updates and also daily status reports on emails for escalation. The social collaboration part is one of the best I have experienced so far on any type of platform for the "working" environment.

Pros

Social Collaboration Customization right down to the fields being used in each and every element.

Cons

I would see that at times the interface due to it's beauty becomes a bit slow.

July 2016

Sean from County of Tulare

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

3.5

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

Clarizen, Versatile and Powerful!

Pros

There are two things I Love about Clarizen. First, their staff, friendly, helpful and fulfilling the companies position of customer success. This couldn't be more important in making Clarizen a valuable tool for my company. Two, configuration! tired of wrapping your companies processes around a a software's functions? We were too, and with Clarizen's customization functions we were able to wrap it around our processes. This made for seamless integration into our ecosystem and simplistic integration into employees daily life.

Cons

There isn't much to say here. Clarizen is a great tool and if leveraged properly will become the best tool in your arsenal.

July 2016

Alan from Adaptive Insights

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

Great tool for collaboration

Great product that allows for a ton of flexibility. It's been great to be able to customize for the specific needs of each team, yet still have all teams in the same product.

Pros

The level to which you can customize, create custom actions and workflows, etc. is the best part of the product

Cons

Implementation can be tricky. Your instance starts with everything turned on, it would be better to start with a minimal instance and turn things on as you need to implement.

August 2015

Brian from Paylocity

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Human Resources

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2015

Clarizen a great Project Management Tool

My team has used Clarizen for a little over a year now. I cannot say enough good things on how well it has done for my team and organizing the implementations of our Software. My team from an employee level up to management are able to use Clarizen to run their individual days and teams. We implement time and attendance software for clients and use Clarizen to organize our Projects with our specific timelines that we have. Clarizen makes it easy for employees to know exactly where they are at with all of their clients and allows management to easily track the progress of their teams.

Pros

Customization. I cannot say enough on how exceptional the Clarizen technical team is with taking our needs and making them happen in the system. One specific example is I formulated a scoring system for incoming clients that based upon how they were going to use our system would be given a "complexity" score so that I could assign higher level clients to my best employees and lower level clients to my lesser experienced employees. Clarizen took my request that I submitted and within a month had the entire scoring system automated and up and running giving me a fantastic tool to use daily.

Cons

Pricing. Clarizen needs to be able to add options on as fixed costs instead of raising the overall monthly rate. My team doesn't use every aspect of the program so when I need more of just one option in the system I shouldn't have to pay for a higher level across the board with more of all their options when I need just one. I am hoping that can change in the future to meet individual client needs.

February 2016

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5.0

February 2016

Intuitive, Flexible, yet Powerful

Clarizen is a great solution, which is proving to be an invaluable tool within our business. Despite having some very strictly defined processes that Clarizen were required to include, all of these were developed efficiently in full collaboration, even ensuring that developments were future proofed to ensure continued use with no requirement to pay out for additional development. The layout and ‘look and feel’ is crisp and clean while virtually everything on the page can be configured to ensure that it best fits the user’s requirements. Before implementing Clarizen it was difficult to get true visibility of how the portfolio of projects sat, where potential conflict of resourcing would occur. With the powerful calendar and resource tools that come as standard in Clarizen it has become easy to see these potential issues earlier, allowing for a more planned response which ultimately benefits our customers and strengthens our brand.

Pros

Flexible and easy to use. Social interaction, with in-context discussion panels for all projects and tasks. Easy monitoring of time submissions. Great (and expanding) set of modules (Apps) that can be deployed to further enhance the solution.

Cons

Reporting tools are still lacking, but this is actively being addressed with regular updates and improvements released.

April 2018

Sharon from Vermont Mutual

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2018

Lots of functionality at the user's fingertips

Project management, resource planning, baseline/planned/actual work comparison

Pros

Basic use is very intuitive. I can add a new user for time tracking, provide a basic tutorial and tips and tricks, and they are all set to be able to report time correctly.

Cons

The table relationships and keys are not obvious so creating a report that includes the data I need to show takes more time than I have.

March 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

This tool helps me to manage my workflow and plan my activities appropriately.

All in all, it is the best time-tracking solution that is quite scalable and flexible. If you're ready to work manually for the time being, it has flexible, scalable and can be implemented very quickly. If you are prepared to work with a few manual steps, for the time being (that hopefully will improve), it is a great value product.

Pros

It has a great interactive interphase and amazing functionality. Its easy to enter and track the time via this software. The planning tools allow me to plan and define my project, its functionality, its feasibility, and the resource available.

Cons

Bit expensive, the level of functionality for lower-amount licences is seemingly poor compared to advanced versions. Reports corresponding to calendar days require manual entry.

June 2017

Yari from Aliancys

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Chemicals

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

3.0

June 2017

Clarizen is a highly configurable and easy to learn application that suits our business needs!

It is really good for indepth project management with a lot of tools available. Can be a pain in the ass to configure when the application need to so specific for your organization. (Recommend to use a IT projectmanager, Clarizen does not provide this or they just leave the project without any reason)

Pros

The massive functionality of designing the software to the specific needs in detail. Generating Reports from all kinds of data to be viewed by manageres and to control projectmanagement on a deeper level. It is a highly manageable application that can be used in all kinds of situations.

Cons

The ability to adapt the softwares permissions on a field level could not be done. Permissions can only be set to action buttons. One property card per module per user profile was for our situation not the best option. The user manual could also be expanded on a more detailed level. Clicking on a question mark icon (linked to the user manual) displayed the exact same information as hovering over it. It was not giving the best information so we had to contact support instead of a simple answer in the user manual.

December 2016

Ryan from Property Solutions

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Clean interface, pretty easy to set up; social aspect excellent

I liked Clarizen's product. I've used other large PM software products and Clarizen's offering was easier to use overall.

Pros

The interface is very clean, it's very flexible and fits with many processes. It was pretty easy for us to customize to what we needed. The social functionality was great, it lead to improved team interaction and teamwork. I really liked that. The reports were good, and again pretty easy to set up. Creating custom fields to report on was easy. Support was good, I think our consultant was very flexible and helped us with things even he wasn't used to; he was very open to our processes and helped us make them happen in the tool. He was very responsive as well.

Cons

Seemed a bit expensive, and for our needs we found that any license except the most expensive was pretty useless. The levels of functionality in the lower licenses didn't help us at all. We ended up getting all licenses at the highest level.

July 2015

Gareth from Hachette UK

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2015

For Enterprise PM and Collaboration Software, there is nothing better.

Experience: We have been using Clarizen now at Hachette UK since 2015 and I must say it has enhanced the way we work dramatically. Gone are the days of having numerous spreadsheets, project plans and SharePoint issues logs, now we have one centralized application for our Programme of Projects, Milestones and Tasks, plus collaborative discussions within Clarizen itself, with a full history. Pros: + Excellent Project & Work Item management. + Powerful Enterprise discussion module which link into everything Clarizen does, from Projects to issues. + A customisation engine to build custom workflows, fields, views and even your own HTML/Javascript front end panels (for your own Forms etc). + Reporting and Dashboards, again with custom reporting. + A best-of-class Customer Services and community and quick responses. + A public product Roadmap which you can contribute to, with regular releases with new functionality. + Rich API for developers to hook into. + Growing community of Clarizen users and an App Marketplace of customisations, built using Clarizens own custom engine. + Collaboration extends to users outside of Clarizen itself (Sharing reports & widgets). Cons: - Clarizen sells Agile support. Yes there is a Team board, burndown charts etc, but the implementation is not good. - The amount of options available can be overwhelming until you have got to grips with the product. - Security groups within Clarizen needs to be out of the box and not a custom workflow. At the moment, there isnt a simple way of creating confidential Projects.

June 2019

Todd from Dorel Juvenile

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2019

Strong PPM with excellent customization

Pros

The core PPM capabilities of Clarizen are very strong, but the biggest game change for us has been the 'custom objects' capability. This feature has allowed us to completely replace a legacy product management tool, running it as an integrated component of our Clarizen setup. Product and Project objects are linked together within a single system so that many business processes (item set-up, pricing approvals, product portfolio management) are happening within the same space as project management for new products.

Cons

Generally speaking, more functionality drives complexity in the user interface, and Clarizen is no different. It results in steeper learning curves vs. less full-featured solutions. Our hope is that Clarizen Go will help us solve this challenge for ordinary collaborators.

October 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

A great SAAS tool to have for your Project Management teams

Pros

Extremely easy to use Easily customizable Price points make sense per user Able to share information to all departments via email High level overview with charts for executives that need to big pictures

Cons

There are instances of downtime, but they communicate quickly and level set expectations

July 2016

Jonthan from CUSI

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

Clarizen for Change, Progress, and Satisfaction

Clarizen allows our project managers to effectively manage and schedule action items to ensure completion dates are met and project dependencies do not go unnoticed. With Clarizen our team excels to meet deadlines and ensure client satisfaction.

Pros

The ability to schedule and create task dependencies, view road maps of project progress, track time per individual project tasks, and report on a managers current work load.

Cons

The ability to learn and grasp concepts for project scheduling and schedule management. PRO TIP: Use templates and other built in task management features to effectively plan and project a projects plan.

June 2018

Jessica from Granicus

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2018

Clarizen was selected as the PSA for my company and I've been the main administrator for a few years

Pros

Customizable User friendly Web access Easy to scale as our company and departments grow Can be customized for various use cases

Cons

Doesn't function well with detailed project plans. If you want to push the dates of s project out or adjust a schedule, it's difficult if you have too many tasks

July 2016

Guy from iMDsoft

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2016

Very good cloud-based project management software

I've been using Clarizen for time reporting and project management. Almost 200 users are required to use it, and while the time reporting module of the system is rather mediocre, the project management capabilities are impressive.

Pros

Highly configurable User friendly Great user experience

Cons

Lacking time reporting module Slow response from customer support (might be days)

January 2016

Jeff from Capstone Production Group

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

2.0

January 2016

It Can Do Just About Anything...*

*...with the right knowledge of programming or significant investment in their custom programming services. If you can think it, Clarizen can probably do it. It's that flexible. That's my all-encompassing endorsement of the app. It's just that good! On the downside, the app can be a little slow at times--mainly slow page loads or inconsistent page refreshing. There are minor oddities and head-scratchers here and there (like it won't load more than 50 items on a page at a time without waiting for a further page reload), but we've been willing to settle for those quirks in exchange for the system's incredible flexibility and powerful tools, configuration, filtering, reporting, etc. One other thing that is of note... we have been using the app for 2 years and have had at least 4 different account reps. And they all have three things in common: they tend to want to only speak with you by appointment, they seem to be in a hurry when they do speak to you, and they are always ready and willing to sell you something without listening very well. So just be prepared for that and demand that they slow down. Tech support is thorough, but slow and sometimes it takes a while to get resolution to issues that aren't life-threatening. All-in-all, we've found Clarizen to be the most flexible, versatile, powerful tool out there. All of the people we've dealt with are likable and eager to help...just not on our terms, which is the place they could improve the most.

August 2016

Joseph from Continental Utility Solutions, Inc.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2016

Excellent PPM

Compared all PPM solutions we have used in the past Clarizen provided a much needed increase in reporting and customization to meet our needs. It allows us to not only track the additional information we need but report on it in a way that make portfolio review much easier that it had previously been

Pros

Modern look and feel, customization, and reporting.

Cons

External collaborator option is too expensive, e-mail tracking and integration for capturing communication customers who are not users in Clarizen is limited

December 2017

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2017

Great tool with tons of potential. Is simple and flexible to meet needs, but room for improvement

Pros

Easy to use and manage. Using reports and dashboards to show major value and insight to senior leadership. End users are able to use the tool itself with little training. Interface is responsive, modern and clean.

Cons

Security model is strange at first, but can be made to work great with some patience and thinking differently. Reporting has some limitations that feel frustrating but can be solved with export to an enterprise data warehouse. Brought in external vendor as solution integrator, but has issues with them delivering over complicated customizations.

July 2016

Bobbejo from Salient Management Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2016

Clarizen more than project management

Clarizen was brought into our company as a project management solution. We quickly learned that it is so much more than that and soon it was in all parts of our company.

Pros

Clarizen is easy to customize and has a wonderful roadmap and gantt chart.

Cons

It is designed for people to go in an update their own work, however, it seems hard to get buy in. Therefore, the PMs still end up doing most of the work.

December 2016

Rich from Humana

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Health, Wellness and Fitness

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2016

Good tool with lots of features

Clarizen is a feature-rich tool that has lots of capabilities and customizability. The negatives I have observed are the omission of some fundamental features like Undo, and some quirks, particularly in adjusting predecessors, cascading updated dates and adding new tasks in the work plan.

Pros

Sharing, resource management, Very powerful reporting tools

Cons

No undo, Workplan can be quirky and often have to refresh the page for updated/correct info to show. Slow.

April 2016

Matt from Belmark inc

Verified Reviewer

Industry: Mechanical or Industrial Engineering

Time Used: Less than 6 months


Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

5.0

April 2016

Very capable, customizable & user friendly

Pros

This product is very capable. This does mean that it can be complex however. There will be a learning curve based on the level of use your interested in using the software for. The vendor has been very helpful in getting us off the ground and holding one-on-one training webinars. We have also found the software to be highly customizable. There have only been a couple of things we'd like to customize that currently isn't an option. The others we've changed to how "we" want to use the software. And, the software is user friendly. It did not take us long to figure out how to start entering projects and tasks. The admin role can be a little overwhelming, but the user role is pretty straight forward.

Cons

The team at Clarizen has been very diligent in their training approach. I'm sure they do so to ensure their clients' success. For us though, it's been too slow. If you know how to use Microsoft Project or other project management software, a lot of the training they will go through is common knowledge.

November 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2018

PM tool for any application

It makes us work collaboratively in a global organization.

Pros

Its capability to be applied for wide applications and the customer support

Cons

The customizations are little tricky even though the syntax are not so complicated

August 2015

Brian from Paylocity

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2015

Great Project Management tool for my software implementation team!

My team has been using Clarizen for a little over a year now and I cannot say enough good things about them. My team implements time and attendance software for companies across the country and using Clarizen as a daily tool to track the progress of those implementations has been great. What I am most impressed about with Clarizen is their ability to tackle new challenges. An example is my team has levels of employees based upon experience. One thing that we wanted to try do and then accomplished in Clarizen is writing a "Complexity" scoring system so that when we entered in new clients and put their information into Clarizen they were given a score based upon certain criteria so that when we assigned new clients to our employees we could assigned the easier clients to the lesser experienced employees and the tougher clients to the more experienced employees. It has worked out fantastically for us and that is just one example of many where we brought an idea to Clarizen and they made it happen. One thing that I continue to stress to Clarizen is a need for better Outlook integration. Whether it is a better streamlined emailing option or calendar enhancements it can be improved upon. Overall we have been very happy with the experience so far, enough so that we have brought a new division of our company onto Clarizen and look to possibly expand it even further in the future.

December 2011

Rachel

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


December 2011

Clarizen - Work and Project Management

The best project management solution for team work! Clarizen's cloud based SaaS software is easy to use, without needing any technical support. It is the best choice for Project Managers who run multiple projects and/or have a team of people working from different locations. Real time visibility means everyone can see exactly what the team is working on, ensuring that time and resources are not wasted. Managers get a full picture of the project, while team members only see what they need to know. Communication is easy with built in email, chat and notes. Everyone's tasks are clearly defined and deadlines are visible, via the Dashboard. A project can be planned, with a time line and milestones, so it is easy to see where you are holding, and which tasks have been assigned to each team member. In general, Clarizen's project management program can help you become more efficient by ensuring that all team members have the same information, and time and money are not being wasted.

Pros

Progress reports and reviews with real time data. Easy collaboration and communication between team members. Great online support team and webinars. Easy to track budget, time and resources from the same home page.

Cons

Clarizen's features mean that if you have a small, simple project that only needs a team of 2 or 3, Clarizen is probably too powerful.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 165 reviews