DATABASICS Time & Expense Software Reviews

DATABASICS Time & Expense Software Reviews

Find out more:

Find out more:

User Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.48

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4.5

  • icon"Receipt imaging and organization was another welcome addition. We extract and interface expense data (weekly) and time sheet data (semi-monthly) from Databasics to our accounting application."
  • icon"So long as we can effectively learn how to do things, most of the validation rules that we'd want to add to our configuration etc could theoretically be done on our own."
  • icon"We set it up and it tracks and provides views to employees with me doing anything. It's a huge time saver and big benefit for our team members."
  • icon"I miss being able to have go between two functions in the application."
  • icon"As an administrator, I dislike the fact that I no longer have physical custody of the database for other analysis or reporting needs."
  • icon"All ad hoc reporting must be done through the embedded Jasper reporting application. This generally meets the needs but is sometimes inconvenient to use."

All DATABASICS Time & Expense Reviews

1-25 of 25 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Catherine

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

Databasics is an affordable yet powerful time and expense solution

Excellent support and an overall positive experience. All time and expense systems will tell you that their software solution can meet your needs. Databasics is the only software that I have worked with in the last 30 years that has met that promise.

Pros

Databasics is a flexible and well designed solution that allows companies to design unique features to meet the needs of the company but comes standard with all of the basics so implementation was straightforward and took little effort. Integration with our business processes was nearly seamless and for those few issues that surfaced, the Databasics support team helped us to identify workable solutions.

Cons

The reporting module can be challenging for some users, however the support team at Databasics has been very helpful in designing reports for us in timely manner.

Reasons for choosing DATABASICS Time & Expense

Databasics was highly recommended from 2 independent sources and the team at Databasics have been working together for more than 10 years. While discussing our needs, it was clear that the staff had worked with other similar organizations and were able to offer several recommendations that helped us make the best decisions during the implementation phase.

Reasons for switching to DATABASICS Time & Expense

Nexonia was not responding in a timely manner to resolve support tickets

Response from DATABASICS

We're so happy to hear you had a great experience. Your review made our day! Our whole team works very hard to keep our customers happy, but we can only do it thanks to amazing customers like you. We love hearing that we're the only one that has kept the promise of meeting all your needs. Thanks again, and we hope to serve you again soon.

Replied July 2022

Jim

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

Senior Director of Global ICT

Overall TechnoServe has had a great experience with Databasics. Their implementation team was excellent and their customer support has been top notch. Our mass global launch of the Time module went off without a hitch and our gradually implementation of the Expense Report Module in our 29 countries of operations has worked well for us. I would highly recommend Databasics to any organization similar to TechnoServe.

Pros

TechnoServe looked for a Time & Expense solution for many years but, due to the complexity of our organizations project based accounting and distributed geography, it was difficult to find a solution that would work for us. With Databasics we found a product that met all our requirements. First of all, Databasics is very flexible. We were able to configure our complicated accounting structure and our diverse geography into the software without customizations. This was a major accomplishment. Secondly, we have been able to seamlessly automate our 1500+ users with our HRIS and we have been able automate our constantly changing accounting dimensions into Databasics making it very easy to maintain. Also by using Databasic's extract routines, we have be able to greatly simplify the loading of Time and Expense data into our accounting system. Finally, with Databasics intuitive UI, it's multiple language capability, and it's simple system administration, the software has been embraced by our end users, our accounting team, and our system administrators.

Cons

I would say the weakest part of Databasics is it's reporting system. Databasics uses a BI tool called Jaspersoft to access the Time & Expense Data. While all the necessary reports are available and complex custom reports can be built using Jaspersoft, the connectivity and cumbersome interface of Jaspersoft is not quite up to the standard of the rest of the application.

Reasons for switching to DATABASICS Time & Expense

It was very difficult to maintain and update the in-house application.

Eric

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

July 2022

Eric Hess - DataBasics Review

Pros

Multi-function One Stop Shop for time, expense, and credit card reconciliations

Cons

It took a long time to get everything up and running. And took even longer to get things running correctly.

Reasons for switching to DATABASICS Time & Expense

Needed an all in one tool

Response from DATABASICS

Dear Eric, it is because of customers like you that we continue to improve as a business! We're happy to hear that you see us as a one-stop shop for time and expense and we'll keep working on improving the time it takes to get up and running without sacrificing meeting your exact requirements through expert configuration. Please let us know if there's anything else you need!

Replied July 2022

jon

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2017

The product works and functions as needed for this organization. Customer support is top drawer.

1. Automated time and expense tracking with solid interfaces to/from various other applications. 2. Improved (over the course of many years) end user time and expense interface. 3. Hosted environment with the database custody proviso. 4. Top drawer customer support

Pros

I like most: 1. Customer Support through the Databasics support website/portal 2. Application stability - little to no downtime 3. Application functionality 4. Ease of administration 5. End user experience We have a 360+ employee user pool who all use the time sheets with a good portion of that total also using the expense reporting. We have used Databasics since version 4x, through the years upgrading to version 5x and now version 6x in the hosted environment. The application is generally easy to use, in most cases, requiring only a brief initial orientation and from there, minimal end user support for the application. Many employees have taken advantage of the mobile application to enter either time or expenses while traveling and this was a welcome functional addition received with version 6x. Receipt imaging and organization was another welcome addition. We extract and interface expense data (weekly) and time sheet data (semi-monthly) from Databasics to our accounting application. We also import and interface organizational data (employee information, accounting structural data, etc...) into Databasics from both our accounting and HRIS applications. While managing these interfaces requires some training, assistance is always available if needed.

Cons

User feedback indicates that the time sheet form could be improved. The one recurring complaint/suggestion sine version 4x is that time sheet lines cannot be drag-n-drop managed for user sorting preferences. As an administrator, I dislike the fact that I no longer have physical custody of the database for other analysis or reporting needs. All ad hoc reporting must be done through the embedded Jasper reporting application. This generally meets the needs but is sometimes inconvenient to use.

Response from DATABASICS

We very much appreciate your thorough review of DATABASICS. Hearing about how it benefits you makes our day! Thank you, also, for your suggestions and feedback concerning reporting and the time sheet. Please continue to reach out if you have questions or concerns. We're thrilled for the opportunity to help!

Replied June 2017

Calvin

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

Great System with some small hangups

Databasics has transformed our company in a good way. Digitizing our expense tracking has been wonderful.

Pros

The flexibility to adapt the system to each client's needs is ideal. The development and support team work their hardest to make the system meet your needs even if they are somewhat unique.

Cons

The end user experience can be rather clunky and not intuitive at times. Requires a lot of training for users who are not very experienced with computers.

Reasons for choosing DATABASICS Time & Expense

Flexibility and Gov't compliance

Lisa

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Alternative Dispute Resolution

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

May 2021

Databasics is great!

Overall, excellent

Pros

The system give the power to the client to configure it over time. So long as we can effectively learn how to do things, most of the validation rules that we'd want to add to our configuration etc could theoretically be done on our own. Nevertheless, the strongest asset of the Databasics service is the support team. Their effectiveness and expediency is extraordinary. If I submit a help ticket I can expect to hear something back on the same day. It is a huge relief that so much of the support is included in the licensing fees, so we don't need to stress about finding the budget for getting minor issues resolved.

Cons

The Jasper reporting system is clunky and sometime our colleagues around the world have trouble accessing it.

Reasons for choosing DATABASICS Time & Expense

We really appreciated the fact that Databasics itself uses Intacct and offered high quality integration with Intacct. The Databasics [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] was present at the final demo and gave us the impression he'd be available to us if we hit any big problems.

Reasons for switching to DATABASICS Time & Expense

The organization grew too out of the old system.

Response from DATABASICS

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review of DATABASICS. We appreciate hearing your feedback on our reporting and I will make to share your feedback with our team. The DATABASICS Team

Replied May 2021

Calvin

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

Great product if you put in the time.

A lot of work to set up correctly, but when it is done, it is a dream.

Pros

Flexibility. Databasics can achieve nearly any scenario you can come up with. Even if its not HOW you envisioned, they can solve a TON of problems.

Cons

Low intuitive GUI for non power users. If you have blue collar employees, they are going to struggle a bit. This is tied to how complex you make your build, but it can be a bit tough to learn.

Reasons for choosing DATABASICS Time & Expense

Flexibility/price

Alicia

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

Great product and customer service!

We recently switched to using the Time product and it's been great to be able to run reports for anything that we need. With their multiple filters for cost centers, project codes, employee, etc we can easily analyze hours for internal and billing purposes.

Pros

The product is so easy to use and they are constantly making improvements to the software. I also love how customizable it is. The customer service is also a huge highlight. They are always willing to help and are super friendly!

Cons

The main improvement I would like to see is the ability to add comments to the attached receipts without having to first save it to my desktop. That would save me quite a bit of time.

Response from DATABASICS

Thank you for sharing your experience with DATABASICS Time & Expense, Alicia! We're so glad to hear that our app was easy and intuitive for you. We've been working hard on improving the user experience of the app and we are so glad that this has been reflected in your experience. Our team is always trying to make sure users have a great time using our product, so we are happy to know that's what happened for you!

Replied July 2022

Tracey

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: International Affairs

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

July 2022

CAII DB Review

DB has the lates technology and experts and we really benefit from both.

Pros

Ease of use for our users, the best service team and system experts

Cons

There are no Cons to report with the functionality of DB

Reasons for choosing DATABASICS Time & Expense

Dynamics better serves our need...we did not switch from another product.

Response from DATABASICS

Hi Tracey, thank you so much for the review! I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying your experience with our app. We are committed to providing an easy experience and it's great to know that we're meeting this goal. Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback with us it's always appreciated.

Replied July 2022

Harvinder

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

May 2021

My review

Pros

Ease of use, features out of the box, reporting tool.

Cons

A bit slow during peak periods but wouldn't say this is an issue with the software.

Response from DATABASICS

Thank you so much for your thoughtful review of DATABASICS. We appreciate hearing your feedback and we will make to sure to share your feedback with our team. The DATABASICS Team

Replied May 2021

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2019

It's very handy

Pros

I love that they have an app for smartphones. It makes things so much easier.

Cons

There have been times it locked up, but it's rare. And less frequent lately.

Response from DATABASICS

Hello there! Thanks for leaving us a review. We are thrilled that you have had a positive experience with DATABASICS Time and the DATABASICS app; our staff will be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. So thanks for your time and we look forward to continuing to work with you.

Replied August 2019

Evelyn

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Consumer Goods

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2021

Databasics Review

Time and Expense overall experience was overall.

Pros

Time and Expense features. The ability to route the expenses and time reports to managers and to be able to have approvals flow seamlessly. The reporting tool - the ability to built custom reports for different needs

Cons

We were not able to link our employee payroll data from ADP to Databasics to update automatically due to the fact that when Databasics was implemented before ADP payroll data, therefore the EMP ID was different. Implementing the update was going to be an extra cost that we had not budgeted for. Initial implementation was easier than later updates and changes due to change of the consulting team from Databasics

Response from DATABASICS

Thank you for your detailed review. We loved hearing about the pros you mentioned, including the seamless approval flows. The team loved reading that. We also appreciate your feedback on linking payroll data from ADP. With all our best, The DATABASICS Team

Replied May 2021

Christina

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Research

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2020

Databasics is a good product.

Databasics was user friendly for our employees.

Pros

Easy for employees to access remotely. Good customer service.

Cons

Sometimes difficult to understand how to make changes in the system.

Response from DATABASICS

Dear Christina, Thanks for leaving us a review. We are thrilled that you loved how easy the software is to use for employees; our team will definitely be happy to read what you wrote. We put customer experience and satisfaction as our priority, and your review reaffirms the hard work we put in every day. We also appreciate the feedback on making changes in the system. So, thanks for your sharing your thoughts and we look forward to continuing to provide above-and-beyond customer service for your organization. With all our best, The DB Team

Replied January 2020

Dyanna

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

June 2017

Time saver, easy to use

Information at your finger tips, easy to use.

Pros

Leave Management has been such a great add for our company. It allows each employee to see how much PTO they accumulate per pay period, how much they used and when they would max out. It makes each employee responsible for managing their own PTO. We can customize it to our needs. We have different accrual rates for length of service, as well as exceptions to the rule. Set them up once, assign them to the employee and it all works! Customer support is amazing and responds very quickly when you need assistance.

Response from DATABASICS

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are thrilled to hear about how leave management is working for you and solving problems. Please continue to reach out with questions or problems. We're always happy to help!

Replied June 2017

Cynthia

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Events Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

June 2017

DB has solved our issues with managing utilization, labor billing and expense reports

HR compliance for hourly employees, time off management, electronic expense reports that seamlessly upload to our financial software, labor utilization by employees, departments and projects

Pros

Integration with Microsoft Dynamics/Solomon Project Controller and Financial Accounting is seamless and easy to manage

Cons

I think the report writing can be a little challenging and output not always pretty but it does work

Response from DATABASICS

Thank you for your review and your feedback concerning report writing. We're happy to help with any problem or provide an answer to any question. We're also thrilled to hear about how useful DATABASICS has been for you.

Replied June 2017

John

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Staffing and Recruiting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT