All Muck Rack Reviews

1-23 of 23 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Christine

Verified reviewer

Publishing, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Great for personalized pitches

Muck Rack is great for PR outreach and finding contacts outside of our usual pitching list. I've fostered relationships with media contacts using Muck Rack by referencing specific works or commenting on a subject that the contact cares about, which has resulted in more effective pitching than cold email blasts to an extensive list.

PROS

Muckrack makes it easy to create specific, tailored pitches to appropriate media contacts. It's so helpful that it's not just name, title, and contact info - it provides examples of recent journalism that writer has done, and specific beats that they focus on. This makes it easy to figure out how to pitch them from an angle that will resonate, and connect with media contacts on a personal level.

CONS

The UA could be simplified a little bit - looking at campaign searches can be a bit overwhelming when a bunch of less specific results show up.

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2024

Intelligently designed media database that weaves in coverage in a meaningful way

Of all the platforms out there that do what Muck Rack does, it's the best option. The database results are as good as you can get, comparatively, and the customer service is both responsive and friendly.

PROS

I was initially against the notion of a media database that was intrinsically tied to coverage tracking, but it ultimately makes total sense. Knowing what each reporter is writing about at any given moment is a huge benefit to determine whether they belong on your target list. On the other side of the equation is the ability to find journalists writing about your topic by searching for key words in recent coverage. It's 100% logical, and Muck Rack does it really well.

CONS

The only real complaint I have is that you can't fully customize coverage reports. It would be extremely helpful if I could remove entire sections that are built into the header of the report.

Reasons for switching to Muck Rack

We switched for two reasons: price and quality of results.

Jeffrey

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed September 2023

They Over Promise & Under Deliver

My experience sucks. I am not happy with the product in anyway shape or form.

PROS

The idea that it would be easy to use and easy to reach out to prospects who are looking for my specific type of content creation.

CONS

They say their reach is a lot further than they really have. There are not nearly as many contacts as they say there are. There was a high bounce back rate and never once did anyone ever respond. So even if they were being delivered... Then maybe it was going to spam? The sales people are pushy (which is a compliment to their sales people). But I wish I hadn't gotten lured into a "special". Shame on me. Don't fall for it.

Adam

Medical Devices, 201-500 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Great way to find relevant media outlets

Muck Rack has made it much easier for me to find journalists that cover topics relevant to the products my business offers. I now spend less time searching for the right press contacts and I upset less people because I'm not pitching them stories they have no interest in.

PROS

Muck Rack makes it much easier to find journalists based off what they cover and what their interests are. It's an easy way to save time and make sure your pitches are reaching the right people.

CONS

There is nothing I dislike about Much Rack. It is a great software tool for marketing and PR professionals.

Reason for choosing Muck Rack

Good price point and large database of press contacts.

Reasons for switching to Muck Rack

Muck Rack was much cheaper and offered better data.

Jacqueline

Public Relations and Communications, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2020

Will never switch back!

I have really enjoyed using this platform. The customer service is impeccable and has helped my team multiple times.

PROS

I like that you can create targeted contact lists easily. The contacts are relevant and you can connect with them personally.

CONS

I would like to be able to edit my email body with images. Being able to wrap text would be a game-changer.

Reasons for switching to Muck Rack

The Contacts were not regularly updated on Cision.

Eric

Non-Profit Organization Management, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Muck Rack is the Best in Class

With so many reporters changing outlets and beats, Muck Rack seems to do a great job keeping track of everybody and giving you an accurate glimpse into what they are reporting on now, in real time. That just makes your lists better. I've found their customer service to be really responsive.

PROS

Muck Rack is beautifully designed with the user experience in mind. I've never found it so easy to search for topics, reporters and editors, and to build and manage media lists. They've figured out ways to minimize the number of required steps to complete a process, and to present info in a way that's easy to view and use. They are constantly tweaking with minor, thoughtful improvements that add up for the overall experience.

CONS

I really have no complaints about Muck Rack.

Reasons for switching to Muck Rack

I just found Muck Rack to be better designed, more useful, and better priced than its competitors.

Diana

Non-Profit Organization Management, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2016

A great tool for assisting with outreach to journalists

I love that this software is based around Twitter. This gives you real time information to understand what journalists are talking about as well as seeing what they are sharing, what have they written, how they like to be pitched, etc.

PROS

I like that this software allows for relationship building instead of cold pitching. Journalist can also build a profile on Muckrack and upload articles they've written , and fill out a bio. There is also the capability to search by beat, publication (though not all publications are represented) as well as country. This is extremely useful when trying to connect with foreign media.

CONS

If a journalist you are trying to reach out to doesn't have a twitter page, or doesn't keep their twitter updated it won't help you. Also, not all publications are represented, I have also searched for several journalists' information (knowing definitively they work at said outlet) only to find no information.The other problem I have noticed is in exporting. Some times the tweets don't export you in the reports I create. That's really annoying. A few flaws but overall I would still highly recommend.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2021

Best solution for finding media contacts

PROS

We use this database to find proper reporters to pitch to. They include contacts for all over the world.

CONS

For the most part, Muck Rack does a good job of updating when reporters change jobs but there are times where the emails are old and don't work.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Muck Rack is a great service for boutique public relations firms

From the very beginning I took the demo our goal was to get the service. Muck Rack has saved us so much time. We were wary because we had subscribed to so many services before. We need to keep track of what freelancers are writing about since a lot of print publications have reduced their staff. Their staff is very helpful in working with us to set up alerts and update the contacts.

PROS

We are a public relations firm that specializes in hospitality and lifestyle clients. Most of our contacts are freelancers. Muck Rack was made for us! We can keep up our contacts are writing about and easily pitch our clients to the right person.

CONS

I wish they had a clipping services to go along with the coverage report. Some of our clients still like to see their clips to show their investors, management, etc.

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Simple, fast, easy, basic

PROS

Easily access links and information. It has links to social, articles, and emails that you can gather quickly.

CONS

It is not as descriptive as some competitors and is lacking some more advanced features. It does not have as deep as a database as well, and could use a refresh.

Nancy

Research, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Very useful!

Very helpful tool for doing my job.

PROS

I like being able to look up info on reporters and their work, and developing media lists and sending pitches through them is very simple.

CONS

Sometimes reporters I'd like to reach are not listed or I have trouble with their email addresses.

Madelyn

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used monthly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2017

Unparalleled media database and pr software

Easy access to up-to-date journalist contact information (sometimes even media outlet websites do not have up to date contact info and that's really frustrating), establishing relationships with journalists takes time - by journalists in one place, Muckrack shortens this time by having everything you need in one place. Also, I can create my own media lists for clients in MuckRack and make notes about each journalist (that the jouranlist will not see)

PROS

I love that this software connects you with so many publications and journalists throughout the world. We have clients in many different industries so the variety of publications and journalists is a must have for building brand awareness and doing outreach. You can also email and pitch to journalists directly from Muckrack which is very helpful. Overall, I really like this software and the filters I can use to find the perfect outlet/journalist to reach out to.

CONS

It'd be nice to see the most active journlists/ columnists for each media outlet. Also, it'd be great if the software tracked the number of pitches to each outlet and I could set some kind of "pitch alert" that tells me to followup if they haven't responded.

Ashley

Public Relations and Communications, 1 employee

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

One of the most highly recommended media-monitoring platforms that was a no-brainer decision!

PROS

The best feature outside of the main selling points of Muck Rack is the quick updates they make to the contacts in a media list if there were bouncebacks or missing information. This is a big plus!

CONS

The only update I feel could be improved so far is ensuring that there is at least one contact found in every outlet that can be searched in the search criteria. I've come across a few podcasts located in the outlet's search criteria with no contact available.

Reason for choosing Muck Rack

I chose Muck Rack over alternative products due to their high recommendation from other PR professionals in the space.

Tracy

Public Relations and Communications, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2019

Great Way to Keep Track of Journalists Ongoings

PROS

I love how Muckracj compiles the most up to date information about a journalist. It’s very helpful for publicists in determining what individuals beats are.

CONS

At this moment there is nothing in particular that I dislike. I believe the platform is very helpful!

Criz

Public Relations and Communications, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2020

Excellent tool

PROS

MuckRack is easy to use. I find the interface rather fast.

CONS

Inaccuracies in the contact information. I'd like the lists/export options to be easier to access.

Kaley

Media Production, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2023

Muck Rack for Muckrakers

PROS

It's good for researching prominent journalists, publicists and forging key networking opportunities, but I have yet to take advantage of its features.

CONS

Though it's a trusted name in the field, I fear other competitors like Qwoted may be innovating more on the community and product side...Plus, sometimes wrong info appears on site.

Anonymous

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2018

Muck Rack is my favorite tool for managing today's fast news cycles

PROS

The best part about Muck Rack is how I can manage and evaluate news articles quickly. I can also get a report on the campaigns that my team launches.

CONS

I don't have many negative things to say about this product, it meets all of my business needs and was easy to learn how to use.

Megan

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY