All ArcGIS Reviews

1-25 of 501 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Rachel

Education Management, 11 - 50 employees

Used less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

Reviewed October 2021

History teacher heaven!

User Profile

Howard

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2018

ArcGIS, the most advanced GIS tool so far

With ArcGIS I have worked in multiple academic and work exercises, calculating risk indices for loads in the hydrographic basins, housing in inadequate areas, public services coverage in small population centers. I have built models to perform analyzes in several areas simultaneously, saving money and time. we have saved on editing and publication of thematic maps. we built more than 100 geodatabase which has guaranteed the maintenance of consolidated databases, which we have shared with other planner users of the worked areas. In particular it is the best vector software with which I have worked

PROS

ArcGis has developed multiple tools, adapted to the requirements of the users, ranging from the capture of data by means of GPS, remote sensors to a simple load by address of the property, the ESRI developments go from the PC to the data management online through ArcGIS online. The tools for calculating variables, buffer, interconnection, management of geographic projections, selection by attribute, by spatial location, inside or outside the defined polygon, pattern analysis, data conversion with other programs are CAD or GIS. Stresses the fact that the tools were designed with the collaboration of many scientists in the area of geo-statistics such as L. Anselin, P. Zandbergen, D Mcleod, among others. ArcGIS presents the innovation of managing a compilation of data in Geodatabase, which facilitates the management of files, regardless of the raster or vector format, without corruption or loss of components that can alter the performance of the final display of .mxd files ArcGIS online empowers researchers to share data through the ESRI data server, sharing cartographic databases that, in some places in the world where the culture of geographic data is deficient, are therefore highly needed. The design of maps is ArcGIs is very simple with the tools of workflow by means of modelBuilder and the handling of the Layout and the ways of making thematic maps and 3D representations is amazing.

CONS

ArcGIS only works on the Windows system, it is a proprietary software in which you must cancel the license according to the requirements that the project requires, the company or institution where you work, it can be expensive or very expensive if you choose to have all the software extensions . It has a free trial version for 30 days. You need a high performance team for the management of powerful databases, the manipulation of 3D data or satellite images processed in this environment. Its strength is the handling of vector data, the modules for the plot data do not present a wide development

Noam

Media Production, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

A Comprehensive Review of ArcGIS:

Despite its drawbacks, ArcGIS is an incredibly powerful GIS software that is packed with features and is perfect for both experienced GIS professionals and newcomers alike. Its user-friendly interface makes it easy to use and its expansive library of tools and features make it an invaluable tool for anyone working with geographic data.

PROS

Positive Aspect Review: ArcGIS is an incredibly powerful, user-friendly GIS software that has been around for decades. It is packed with features, such as mapping, analysis, data visualization, and much more. It is also very easy to use and is perfect for both experienced GIS professionals and newcomers alike.

CONS

However, ArcGIS can be quite expensive, and its steep learning curve may discourage some users. Additionally, its user interface can be quite complex and unintuitive at times.

Reasons for switching to ArcGIS

ArcGIS is far superior to its alternatives when it comes to mapping, analysis, data visualization, and much more. Its user-friendly interface and expansive library of tools make it a great choice for anyone looking to work with geographic data. Additionally, its powerful analysis and visualization capabilities make it one of the most comprehensive GIS programs available.

Derek

Environmental Services, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed July 2017

ArcGIS - From Bad to Worse

Other people use it, so I have to. Seriously, this software will turn your hair grey.

CONS

I've been using Arcgis for years. It's gone from BAD to WORSE. Probably the slowest, buggiest, most unreliable piece of software out there. What other software locks itself out of it's own maps? Corrupts it's own shapefiles? Takes 10's of minutes to open a single tiny map? etc. Arcgis is like playing a bad round of golf everyday. Yeah there are a few moments that play out ok, but most of the time you'll be cursing at the monitor and wondering how this company is still in business.

User Profile

Israel Jose

Verified reviewer

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2018

ArcGIS is a leading tool for managing, analyzing, creating and integrating geological/spatial data

PROS

Built using standards such as COM, XML, and SQL, ArcGIS can be easily integrated with the structure of the information system and data of any organization or individual. Given that GIS extends to new applications and new user communities, ArcGIS also solves the challenges of offering and receiving data and related GIS services to users around the world. The versatility and easy to use allows ArcGIS to be used in a variety of areas: from land cadastre, geodesy, cartography, geography, and telecommunications, to geology, ecology, management of water resources and subsoil, oil and gas industry, and even remote sensing. Its technology of Geodatabase allows you to effectively store heterogeneous data and easily use them in complex projects and systems. In the geodatabase, users can define rules and relationships within the repository that define the behavior of spatially interconnected geographic (or geological) objects and object classes and ensure data integrity. With the help of ArcGIS it is possible to prepare qualitative cartographic products with all necessary elements of marginal design. Also, you can quickly create a realistic virtual 3D scene based on spatial data, using digital terrain models. With a lot of possibilities for processing of both raster and vector data, and its strong functions for map algebra, editing, and spatial analysis, together with the latest data models and control make the ArcGIS family of software products ones of the leaders among GIS software.

CONS

I have been using ArcGIS for almost 10 years and I can testify that this software is difficult to study, a very complex program for a simple user, the program is only for those who take the professional level, so, to exploit the full potential of ArcGIS (for example processing of multispectral and hyperspectral images, geostatistical studies and so on) you need to dedicate time, endless hours of study. Other con that I see, is the high price taking into account the purchase of any additional modules, it is a very expensive program, but, once and again, the potential is almost limitless once you get to dominate all its functionalities.

User Profile

Joseph

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Agrxis Review on ArcGIS

My capacity to analyze and interpret geographical data has significantly improved because to ArcGIS, a superb geospatial platform. I have been able to gather insightful knowledge and make wise decisions because to its potent geospatial analysis and mapping skills. The variety of tools and functionalities offered is astounding, and the user interface is simple to use. Particularly helpful features of the platform are its interaction with different data sources and its ability to produce unique geographical applications. Overall, ArcGIS has been a crucial tool for my geospatial projects and has significantly increased my productivity while using spatial data. I wholeheartedly endorse ArcGIS to everyone involved in geospatial analysis and mapping.

PROS

I'm really amazed by ArcGIS and all of its features. ArcGIS has surpassed my expectations in every way, from its robust mapping and geospatial analytic tools to its sophisticated location tracking and data visualization capabilities. The platform has become an indispensable tool for my job thanks to its user-friendly design, large library of geographic data, and smooth connection with several devices and systems. My decision-making process has been greatly enhanced by the capacity to produce personalized maps, conduct in-depth analysis, and communicate insights with stakeholders. In addition, ArcGIS's extensive community and support resources have been crucial in guiding me as I've explored new features and overcame obstacles. Overall, ArcGIS has evolved into a crucial tool that allows me to fully utilize geospatial data and produce outstanding outcomes for my projects.

CONS

Thus far, my experience with ArcGIS has been very positive and I have not encountered any issues or concerns.

User Profile

Chanchala

Verified reviewer

Research, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Science of Where – Definitely it is in ArcGIS!!

ArcGIS is a geospatial software that facilitates viewing, editing, and analyzing geographic data. ArcGIS consists of several features such as ArcMap, ArcCatalog, ArcGIS Pro, ArcScene & ArcGlobe. This software is used by a wide range of users from multidisciplinary sectors.

PROS

ArcGIS is a powerful software that can use to analyze locational-based data. The Arc Toolbox has a variety of tools including spatial analyst, spatial statistics, geocoding, data management, conversion, cartography tools, etc. Those tool sets can be used for spatial analysis, mapping, field operations, data collection, and preparation. I’m using ArcGIS for raster and vector data visualization and analysis. Especially for landslide vulnerability assessment, landslide hazard and risk zonation mapping, landform mapping, and different types of data management activities. ArcGIS supports different types of data formats including ESRI shapefiles, GeoTIFF, Images, CAD files, KML, Excel data files, etc. The important thing is ArcGIS provides a data conversion facility using a conversion toolset. The ArcGIS model builder provides automation of our analysis process and it reduces the time consumption. This is a good platform for map-making and map layouting. There are many toolbars that support map preparation, such as advanced labeling, data frame tools, layout, etc. And there is another option called the Data-Driven Pages toolbar, that allows us to create a multi-page map series from a single map document. There are many options in ArcGIS that you can find to solve your problems, related to geographic data.

CONS

The license version of ArcGIS is very expensive and it needs a considerable amount of memory and storage space to function properly.

User Profile

Ahmed

Verified reviewer

Architecture & Planning, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2023

Great possibilities in the ArcGIS program

When you see the results of your work after completion, you will realize that it was worth every minute you worked on it

PROS

What I really liked most about this program is its great ability to carry out tremendous tasks in a completely professional manner, which makes you literally dispense with other programs.

CONS

What bothers me most about it is that it requires specific specifications in order for it to work perfectly, but it must be said that it works on moderately efficient devices, and it sometimes has some problems while working, which can lead to the program stopping on its own and restarting it again.

Minolalaina Derasoa

Civil Engineering, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2023

ArcGIS feature

Web-based GIS capabilities: ArcGIS Online and ArcGIS Enterprise enable users to create, share, and collaborate on maps and applications in a web-based environment, making geospatial data more accessible and shareable.Licensing restrictions: ArcGIS has a complex licensing system, which can be restrictive and confusing for some users, particularly when managing multiple users or installations.

PROS

Comprehensive GIS platform: ArcGIS is a powerful and versatile Geographic Information System (GIS) platform that supports a wide range of geospatial tasks, such as mapping, analysis, data management, and visualization.

CONS

Cost: ArcGIS can be relatively expensive, especially for smaller organizations or individual users. The pricing structure may not be affordable for everyone, particularly when considering additional extensions or add-ons.

Reason for choosing ArcGIS

Comprehensive feature set: ArcGIS offers an extensive range of tools and functionality, catering to users with diverse needs and requirements. The platform supports various geospatial tasks, such as mapping, analysis, data management, and visualization.

khaled

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2023

ArcGIS review from a long time use of it.

Over ALL experience is really great and useful with this software I really like it and I can always update my works without any problem, it is a real time saver for me.

PROS

most of what I like about it is that I always can update and modify DATA easily without the need of recreating the whole project.

CONS

I do not like much the paid features for it is so expensive for me so I can not use it and enhance my work.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2023

ArcGIS for Non-Profits

PROS

Its the best GIS Software you can possibly use. It has every app and every thing you could ever need. As long as you can pay for it

CONS

Nothing. Its perfect, there isn't anything that it can do.

Adam

Government Administration, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

ArcGIS is the best GIS software on the market

PROS

Ease of use, the quality of product and the quality of the output.

CONS

It does take some time to learn how to use some of the specialized editing tools but if you need to make a quick map, it’s super easy.

Joseph

Environmental Services, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Leader of the Pack

I've regularly used ArcGIS since it was ArcView 3.1, for about 20 years I guess.

PROS

ArcGIS leads the pack with functional tools like ArcMap, one of its most popular in spatial analysis. The tool-pack within ArcMAP allows users to convert layers to new formats, analyze data using a several geoprocessing tools, merge layers together and truly begin understanding landscape patterns. It has also been used to help forecast or predict after filtering layers or attributes within a layer to learn a unique set of characteristics that predict occurrence of a species or phenomenon, such as bank erosion. With the software, the user can subscribe to ESRI news to learn more about the broad applications of the product. And because it is so widely known, users can easily find tutorials and classes to learn the product. Recently I sought help from customer support and I will say, they are relentless at helping to diagnose the problem.

CONS

There are a lot of competitors for ArcGIS, though none seem to do everything that ArcGIS does. Rather than spending time waiting for the software to open, recognize our network license, and load the base maps, I can usually find an answer to my question using Google Earth or something similar. The high level of functionality comes at a cost. In addition to the memory hungry aspects of ESRI, the user interface can be a little intimidating. There are many tools and ways to layout the interface. Sometimes it can be confusing to know where the tools are and how to access them. While the interface is customizable in some ways, the geoprocessing tools cannot be added to the interface (or I haven't figured out how) and toolbars need to be loaded each time. For example, when I'm creating a shape file, I have to continuously ask the software to open the window for creating features. I'm sure this is great for some people who don't like machine learning or having their computer assume too much of their needs. But for me, I love that and would really like to see some of these customizable elements become more user friendly. Not only would that make things a bit more efficient on my end, but it might also make the experience less daunting or confusing.

Alka

Telecommunications, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

Impactful for geospatial operations and cartography

Overall experience has been great- as I have been using this software for more than 2 years now. It is one of the leading software in the GIS industry as of today and is surely going to reach heights with its new feature releases every year. Comes really handy for both coders and non- coders as it has its own built in python modules and packages which can be used inside ( through built in tools/ python window) or outside the app using independent python IDEs.

PROS

Wide variety of tools available for spatial analysis and mapping - with minimum fuss as help is available for each tool. They also have a variety of license options available which can be customized based on your needs.

CONS

Customer service is only available if you have maintenance license (with ArcGIS desktop)- that needs to be renewed each year. It makes the overall cost of the software high, making it difficult for small to medium businesses to have this at their disposal.

Reason for choosing ArcGIS

It has good support in terms of usage of tools (A vast help topic exists for each license level and each tool it offers)- which was a big time savior when you need to pick tools based on your specific analysis requirements.

Jayaprakash

Architecture & Planning, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2021

One-spot software platform for all the geo spatial dolutions

As a enterprise user of the ArcGIS for more than 6 years, i would recommend this product for enterprise level professional geo-spatial mapping and analysis tasks

PROS

Both Desktop and browser based ARCGIS software platform enable GIS users to create, edit, visualize, analyse and share their spatial contents effectively. Especially , recent versions of ArcGIS desktop versions (10.5 and above) consist of several spatial and statistical analysis tools which can simplyfy the spatial mapping and analysis in an easy manner. ArcGIS online is a web based solution for spatial mapping which contain almost all the features available in the desktop versions and it is great option for performing the tasks without installing any sofware.

CONS

Great features of the ArcGIS comes with considerable amount of cost. Cost is the only drawback in using this software

Reason for choosing ArcGIS

This is the leading and stable geo spatial software available in the market with numerous supporting platforms and forums

User Profile

Russel

Verified reviewer

Oil & Energy, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Expensive, But Extremely Useful

I am able to export database information from my other oil and gas lease tracking software, manipulate that data, and create informative maps so that the decision-makers have an easier job. It really does make life easier for everyone.

PROS

Easy and fairly quick to make a map. It's also great at fine-tuning details in your maps. I've never found it necessary to use a third-party software to make a map that looks professional. Of course, GIS is not only about making maps. It's also about manipulating the data behind the maps. ArcGIS is very good, and gives you most of the tools that you need to get the job done.

CONS

The software is expensive, maybe prohibitively expensive for a small company. When the company decides to overhaul the software, it almost seems to ignore current users by completely redoing everything, including current workflows. ESRI is currently trying to get users to migrate to ArcGIS Pro, which is very different from the current full-featured software, ArcMap.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

ArcGIS the best

ArcGIS can use to setup boundaries for rainfall catchments. So that it helps to run rainfall-runoff models and predict whether flood can occur or not. So that, ArcGIS plays a major role as a supporting software for hydrological modeling softwares like HEC-HMS & Mike 11.

PROS

ArcGIS is one of the best software that most civil engineers used atleast once in their life. It can easily download from internet. ArcGIS having user friendly interface wich beginner also easily handle the software too. Best thing about it is we can setup catchment boundaries of any specific area by easily using Digital Elevation Map(DEM). Using this we can easily get information about ground elevation, soil type of the area and much more information about the specific area that we concern about.

CONS

ArcGIS uses some amount of storage usage within the computer. Also it use some memory in the computer too. Also to setup boundaries, you must aware about the software quiet extent.

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT