All VWO Testing Reviews

1-25 of 88 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Jamie

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2018

The most comprehensive website testing and optimization tool on the market

PROS

VWO started off as a typical website testing tool, with visual selection tools (i.e. no coding required) to create a range of dynamic A/B and multivariate tests. They started to implement some new functionality and now, they have an advanced and fully comprehensive testing and optimization solution. You can create hypothesis and theories for each test with the top-tier of their product, whilst making observations along the way (during the life of each test). This can help you to better understand what you're doing, what's working and how future tests could be conducted to better the outcomes.

CONS

The basic solution is good but feels somewhat limited in comparison to their top-tier optimization product. However, their pricing for all products is expensive. Their optimization product (full suite of tools) is far too expensive for most businesses and requires a lot of management time - it's not a case of switching on a button and seeing results, the tools only enable you to create tests and track their progress. It's an ideal tool for a larger team of marketers and website testers.

Christopher

E-Learning, 1 employee

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Easy to set up tests and analyze your results

Over the last several years I've run a lot of tests, and it's been pretty good. We've had some good wins. On the other hand, if every successful test really increased our conversions by the percentage amount each test claimed it did, I'd be typing this review on a mega-yacht in the Med right now, so there's something about testing that seems to make it over-state the gains you get. Not sure what the other factors are or why, though I have noticed that if you let a test run long enough, long after you get a statistically significant result from the test, eventually pretty much all tests converge or come darn close to converging (i.e. no difference between version A and version B). That's definitely led to a lot of disappointment over the years, but we did get a few huge wins that really stuck and were verified over the years whenever we'd re-test them or accidentally re-test them (for example by accidentally running the old version of the page for a while and seeing sales drop).

PROS

It's super-easy to set up tests, whether they're tests using the built-in editor to edit individual pages or spilt tests where the test redirects the control page to a different url. Both are good, and the results are easy to understand. The only thing that's funky is you might start a test and get to 95% right off the bat, then later it drops way less than that and you're like "well gosh, you were a lot more sure back then!" But I guess that's the stats talking, not VWO. Overall in testing I've done with VWO, I've discovered that there is way more variance/luck than you might think, and it really is best to run tests a long time, even if it seems like you have a winner quick.

CONS

While goals are easy to set up, it can be pretty tough to analyze certain things, like aggregating lifetime revenue for version A versus version B... You have to manage all the cookies yourself using a third party platform, so we eventually gave up on it because it was so complicated. If you just want to compare revenue at time of conversion, though, you can do it, just need a little help from developer to pass the checkout amount to the VWO tracking code so that it gets recorded by VWO for that version of test.

Vendor Response

Thanks for sharing your detailed feedback, Christopher. Regarding your feedback around stats, we would want to arrange a discussion of yours with our Statisticians and Data Scientists to discuss all the thoughts so that we can gain valuable insights. Let us know at support@vwo.com if you are available for such a discussion and we will be happy to take it forward. And we have also noted down your feedback around making aggregated revenue available. Thanks for your inputs! - Venus from VWO

Replied June 2020

Alessandro

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2021

Don't waste your money. It' better Google Optimize

PROS

The support is kindly even if they were not able to solve the bugs

CONS

A significant part of the users cannot see the a/b test. The deploy function doesn't work properly. At least 10% of the users see alway the old code. Google spider doesn't see the deploy version. So for instance you cannot use to deploy SEO code.

Vendor Response

Hi Alessandro, sorry to know about this issue! Google search console uses low network mobile devices to check for indexing. This can cause VWO smart code to timeout. You can increase the timeout values in the async smart code which should help with both issues. ~Neha from VWO

Replied July 2021

Tree

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Going on 6 years with VWO

We will never use anything else. VWO is awesome and is always rolling out new features to their platform. They offer all of the features you will need for A/B, split URL, and multivariate testing. They even bundle heatmap/clickmap features. If you are considering a split test platform in your organization, don't look elsewhere.

PROS

We run some fairly complex tests with VWO and have always had excellent support from their team, when it comes to implementing custom solutions. The software is very easy to use, well within reasonable pricing, and is so much cheaper than the competition that it's a no-brainer.

CONS

Over the years, there have been a few changes to the site interface. Most of these have been great improvements, however, there have been some changes to the results dashboard that we just weren't a fan of. This isn't to say that it's bad - not by any means. It was just a personal preference.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to know that you have been with us since so long. You can certainly let us know what you did not like in the interface (reach out to us at support@vwo.com). We will share it with the relevant team for consideration. - Venus from VWO

Replied June 2020

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

Fantastic for split testing landing pages

We have solved the ability to find winning variations of landing pages for multiple different businesses with this software.

PROS

I love VWO! This software is excellent for split testing landing pages, which is extremely important for a new product launch where we want to optimize and get the most bang for our buck with the highest converting landing pages. This tool makes it easy to set up split tests and analyze.

CONS

Sometimes I question the split testing ability and have had multiple discussions with VWO about changes some things to make it better for the user / more optimized and haven't seen any changes go into effect.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to know that you like the split testing feature. Our team is constantly working on making suitable enhancements to provide more value to users. And feedback from all our customers is very valuable to us. - Venus from VWO

Replied June 2020

Lakhan

Program Development, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

VWO Feedback

Have a very good experience. After this tool we can do A/B testing more frequently, we can change text, image, change the size more frequently.

PROS

I am using this tool for last 3 years and have very good feedback on this. It's easy to use and help us to increase the conversion.

CONS

Conversion tracking options. It tracks only one visiter for a campaign i.e a visiter come 4 times via a campaign it tracks only one time.

Vendor Response

Thanks for sharing the feedback. We are glad that you liked our platform and had a great experience with optimizing your website using the tool. Regarding your concern about tracking unique conversions, it's true that VWO primarily base itself on the concept of unique visitor tracking. However, if you have any specific requirement of tracking repeated visits, then reach out to us at support@vwo.com and we will be happy to assist. - Venus from VWO

Replied June 2020

Rodrigo

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 201-500 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Great UX testing tool

I'm in charge of setting up tests on several websites and forms that belong to our company, I've been working with VWO since 2015 and it helped us to increase our revenue in the last years. VWO tools also helped us to find bugs on our pages through heatmaps for example, and help our sales team to measure our conversion rate on our forms and pages. In 4 years, we moved from few A/B test monthly scheduled to a full department and team dedicated to improve our User Experience using VWO as main tool.

PROS

There are a lot of functions and tools, some tests are very easy to set, the tool is quite easy to implement and results are quite accurate.

CONS

Sometimes it bugs on some pages, depending on page content and files included, making the results not accurate, and we cannot test to be 100% sure that's going to work.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Glad to know that VWO is helpful to a lot of teams in your organisation. Regarding your other feedback, we would advise to follow a stringent QA procedure using our Live Previews feature across devices, browsers, etc. to ensure campaigns work well. - Venus from VWO

Replied June 2020

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2018

Great tool for site variation testing

We are using VWO to test changes to UI elements on our web, and we like it so far.

PROS

I've been using VWO for months now, and I like it very much. It is easy to set up and there are a lot of different testing options available (A/B, multivariate, split URL, etc.). Their editor is also very powerful and their support was always quick to response and was really helpful.

CONS

I don't like that the script you need to include on your site aren't hosted on some known CDN, which gives your site lower score on sites like WebPageTest. Also, their editor doesn't work well all the time - if you are making some big change on the page, you will sometimes see in the editor that your change is applied correctly, but in the preview the change isn't there - so you need to find a way how to insert it correctly.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2018

Great solution for startups with AB test

PROS

Once setup it's a plug and play growth hacking tool that allows validation of theories.

CONS

Very hard to get running without a developer if you are using React.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2018

Good value, expensive in overall

In general good, it has worked so far for what we need, running into a couple of obstacles on the way but those obstacles would have been also present in other AB testing softwares.

PROS

Compared to other AB testing tools, VWO succeeds in a more reactive visual interface. Many core features are available with some of their starter plans, which only happens with more expensive plans on other AB testing softwares, like user segmentation and geo targeting.

CONS

Still expensive for the value it can provide, many of the really useful tests you can apply require complex behaviors which can be done through VWO but need technical knowledge.

Jacob

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

Great software with a few glitches

Using VWO allows us to run sophisticated A/B tests for our clients and help them grow their business.

PROS

Using VWO you're able to run more sophisticated tests than other, free software. Support is helpful.

CONS

Some of the features in their reporting don't work very well, ie reports with old data and bad graphs for data over time. Seems to have more negative affects on site speed than other platforms.

Vendor Response

Thanks for sharing the feedback, Jacob. We are glad that you liked our platform as well as the service provided by our Support team. Also, we are already working to enhance our reporting and would love your feedback on the same. And we would like to discuss about the site speed issues too as ideally, it should not happen. Please reach out to us at support@vwo.com so that we can discuss this further. - Venus from VWO

Replied June 2020

Sarah

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Great tool for marketing agencies!

At our agency, we mainly use the heatmap, visitor recordings and A/B testing tools to better service our clients. I really like how the reports can easy be shared with the clients and represent the data well.

PROS

The program is very user friendly, specifically the visual editor in the A/B testing tool. It makes it easy for people who don't know coding and web dev to create an A/B test. Additionally, it is great that you can segment traffic very thoroughly throughout all the heatmaps, visitor recordings, and A/B tests.

CONS

The thing that is most frustrating is that we can't store data forever. For example, if we are running a heatmap it only will store data for the last 60-90 days.

Vendor Response

Thanks for sharing the feedback. We are glad that you liked the platform and especially the Insights features. Regarding your concern about data retention for Insights, we have given the maximum duration for 90 days as it has been noticed that businesses usually get to see a trend by analyzing the data for a quarter and can take their decisions accordingly. And you can also download data and store it for future reference. However, we have surely noted your feedback for consideration. - Venus from VWO

Replied June 2020

Michele

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

So easy to use!

Great! It’s an amazing tool.

PROS

I’m not a web developer but a designer. I just have basically html knowledge. VWO doesn’t even require that. I’m able to impress my boss by running A/B tests all on my own without her needing to involve developers. It’s pretty amazing. And if I ever have a question about how to do something, they’re very prompt in answering my emails.

CONS

Sometimes it would be difficult for me to do design the variation. I would click on something, and it wouldn’t act how I wanted it to. Took me a bit of time so get the variation to look exactly how i wanted it to.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Please write to us at support@vwo.com if you have any specific feedback around UI and we will be happy to discuss about the same. - Venus from VWO

Replied June 2020

Marius

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2016

Awesome tool, with a decent learning curve

I've been using VWO for almost 2 years and I'm pleased to see how much progress has been made so far. The learning curve is not very fast in my opinion, but once you get the hang of it nothing can stop you, you'll want to test, test and then test again. It integrates well with many services, the most important for me are MixPanel and Google Analytics. I haven't tried many other A/B testing tools, but I'm very pleased with VWO. Their Heatmaps are great too and give a lot of insights to help you decide on what to test next.

PROS

Lots of features, very complex and integrates with many other services.

CONS

The learning curve is a bit steep, but you'll get the hang of it.

William

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2019

Takes and Implements Feedback

We were able to dramatically increase conversion rate, with not only the tools but their expertise.

PROS

We were able to a part of their beta program where they would roll out the most recent updates to our account. This was a great way to try new features and be able to communicate our feedback to the team.

CONS

It is a little pricey, but we got a lot of value, so no real complaints.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback, William! We really appreciate it. - Venus from VWO

Replied June 2020

Bart

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Powerfull tool and great support

Understand how users navigate on our websites, so we can test hypotheses based on data gaterd by VWO.

PROS

The easy of use and speed to set-up an A/B test.

CONS

The organization of run tests and results could be better.

Vendor Response

Thank you for sharing your feedback! Please write to us at support@vwo.com if you have any specific feedback around UI and reporting, we will be happy to discuss about the same. - Venus from VWO

Replied June 2020

Martijn

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY