All PostgreSQL Reviews

1-25 of 409 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Juan Manuel

Verified reviewer

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2021

The Ultimate Database Engine

In general, my experience with postgress is more than satisfactory, it is an engine that works very well, it is stable, it allows me to handle large databases with tables of more than a million data without any problem. It has some syntax different from common sql, but they give great functionality (like data parsing)

PROS

Excellent database manager, it has its own program (phAdmin) that gives you a very friendly graphical interface to carry out all kinds of tasks. Postgress is highly scalable and stable, which is why I prefer it over other options

CONS

As against, when the database that is handled is relatively small, when comparing response speeds with other engines, it has a small disadvantage, but its great advantage is noted by having a large database.

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

Migrate for greater product stability and scalability

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Best open-source RDBMS out there

Overall, we have a very productive experience with PostgreSQL. Whenever we need a backend database for any of the apps we deploy, we use PostgreSQL. It never fails us.

PROS

I like how easy it is to set up and deploy a PostgreSQL database. It has a rich ecosystem of tools and a great open-source community behind it.

CONS

I don't have anything I dislike about PostgreSQL.

Reason for choosing PostgreSQL

Out of many open-source tools we deploy, PostgreSQL is the most widely supported DB backend among others. So we decided to use PostgreSQL whenever applicable.

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

For some tools we deployed, we naturally needed to scale up and handle more complex workloads. So we changed our backend database.

Albernes

Verified reviewer

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2018

easy to use and understand

It can operate on platform specifications, including Linux, Windows, Unix. Large storage capacity Good scalability since it is able to adjust to the number of CPU and the amount of available memory optimally, supporting a greater number of simultaneous requests to the database correctly. It supports the types of data, clauses, functions and commands of standard type SQL92 / SQL99 and extended own of PostgreSQL ..

PROS

its graphic environment and considerable savings in operating costs: PostgreSQL has been designed to have a maintenance and adjustment lower than the products of commercial suppliers, while retaining all the characteristics, stability and performance. Stability and reliability: There have been no drops in the database

CONS

That Compared to MySQL is slower in insertions and updates, since it has intersection headers that do not have MySQL Support online: There are official forums, but there is no mandatory help It consumes more resources than MySQL .

Anonymous

201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

The right database for 95% of use cases

Postgres is there for you whenever you need to store and retrieve simple tabular data. Whether that's your app user's name, email, and settings, or the projects and project content that they've created. As long as you're not dealing with over 10k transactions per second, it's cheap to use and extremely easy to set up. Oh, and it's also not great but just okay for advanced searching such as full-text search.

PROS

- Postgres is just soooo reliable, it's hard to corrupt or lose data unless you go in and manually edit or delete the data. - Battle-tested ACID transactions to make sure you only update the data when it makes sense to have saved me so much time. - The SQL interface is easy to use once you've mastered SQL (which it isn't; it's the simplest of all the languages I've learned). - Newer versions even has support for advanced use cases such as arrays and JSON objects. - The best thing is that 90% of the backend software developers know Postgres (or MySQL which is pretty dang similar) so help is never too far away!

CONS

The only real reason to not use Postgres is that it is pretty hard to scale. If your software requires over 10k transactions per second, you're gonna have to put in some serious work make Postgres scale. This is where Postgres becomes a pain to optimize. Postgres provides poor support for identifying the queries that are running really slowly. e.g. you have to install a buggy plugin and then query a funky poorly documented table. Trying to do master-slave replication is also quite difficult as you often run into consistency issues and will have to modify app logic. In these cases, it's better to go with NoSQL obviously.

Reason for choosing PostgreSQL

I picked Postgres over MySQL is not as battle tested and was behind Postgres in terms of JSON object support. I picked Postgres over MongoDB because it's easier to set up, didn't have anyone else on the team that knew how to use it (whereas all 5 of my teammates have Postgres experience), and because Postgres can handle our traffic currently.

Anonymous

501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2022

Java developer on PostgreSQL. A look back after several years.

I have been using PostgreSQL for 6 years in most of the applications I write. It is my default choice for a relational database.

PROS

PostgreSQL is a database that every programmer is familiar with. I value its versatility and universality. It's easy to implement it production-wise with not much scale.

CONS

Great for simple applications, when it comes to scaling/replication problems begin.

Reason for choosing PostgreSQL

PostgreSQL was easier to learn for most team members.

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

I changed jobs and the new job used PostgreSQL.

User Profile

Javier

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2021

One of the BEST Open Source Relational Data Base System

In general, my experience with Postgre has been very pleasant. The systems that I have developed using this software as a data manager have been stable. When I have had technical problems it has been possible for me to find the solutions within its great community

PROS

its compatibility with previous versions makes development very friendly. It is also Open source and free, which allows saving costs in the development of systems. there is a lot of documentation online to find solutions to problems In addition to having a large community

CONS

It's official handler is not friendly. Installation for begginners is not easy. configure advanced functions such as replication It is complicated

Reason for choosing PostgreSQL

Due to what is a software with great performance even though it is free

User Profile

Danilo

Verified reviewer

Internet, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Best database ever!

Best database management system: plenty of plugins (data visualization, backup, performance, etc), easily expandable, incredibly powerful configuration options.

PROS

PostgreSQL is the most flexible database management system out there. It has a lot of plugins (data visualization, backup, performance, etc), which make it very expandable too, incredibly powerful configuration options, etc. It has almost any type of column that your system will ever need.

CONS

I really don't found any PostgreSQL problem until now, so I would recommend that you use it without any fear.

Reason for choosing PostgreSQL

Price and flexibility, besides the experience working with it.

User Profile

Fernando

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Powerful database

We use PostgreSQL as database tool for all our healthcare software products

PROS

PostgreSQL is eaiser to maintenance and to install than other RDBMS like ORACLE. PostgreSQL is open source so is cheaper than other RDBMS. It takes less learrning time than other RDBMS

CONS

We do not have any cons about PostgreSQL

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

PostgreSQL is more simple and cheaper than ORACLE

Ilker

Packaging and Containers, 10,000+ employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2022

IY_Postgre

It's a very good database application. I use it as a hobby

PROS

one of the most successful database applications I have used, its interface is easy and it is nice to open different pages in tab form. I also loved that it included a dark theme.

CONS

Although the code is correct, it says there is an error when the code is run, sometimes I waste time searching for this non-existent error.

Reasons for switching to PostgreSQL

I changed this app to learn too, not because I'm not satisfied with the others

Nuno

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2023

A good DB for any kind of company

PROS

It's a very powerful DB for the price, it has all the features and customization that any db admin needs.

CONS

Without a db admin, the features may be restricted to the basic ones, unless someone researches how to do things

Vin

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2022

Fully tried and tested.

Really well supported by the open source community.

PROS

Easy to setup development wise (Postgres.app), Very well supported by primsa DB. (orm client).

CONS

Cloud pricing tend to be more expensive vs mysql option.

Reason for choosing PostgreSQL

Ease of scaling the system, we can easily without too much cost overhead spin up read replicas to increase performance to our clients.

User Profile

Joseph

Verified reviewer

Civil Engineering, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Agrxis Review on PostgreSQL

I can state with confidence that PostgreSQL has exceeded my expectations as a database management system based on my whole experience with it. I strongly rely on PostgreSQL as a data-driven professional to store, retrieve, and analyze massive volumes of data. PostgreSQL's adaptability and scalability have been crucial in meeting our expanding data demands. The knowledge that our important information is safe thanks to the secure data storage capabilities gives us piece of mind. Additionally, we have avoided possible data loss situations thanks to the backup and recovery tools. One of PostgreSQL's unique advantages is its support for several programming languages, which has enabled us to collaborate easily with other development frameworks. The query performance was identified and optimized with the use of the performance analysis tools, resulting in effective data retrieval. The ability to import and export data has also made it simple to move data between platforms. Overall, PostgreSQL has exceeded my expectations, and I heartily endorse it to anybody looking for a solid and dependable database management system.

PROS

In my experience with PostgreSQL, its adaptability and dependability as a database management system were its strongest points. I like PostgreSQL's broad range of features and capabilities as a data specialist. In order to satisfy the various data requirements of our firm, it has been essential to be able to manage enormous datasets, conduct sophisticated queries, and support advanced data types. The versatility it offers with its support for several programming languages, which enables us to smoothly incorporate PostgreSQL into our current tech stack, is something I personally enjoy. The performance analysis tools have been crucial in improving query execution and system performance as a whole.

CONS

My least favorite aspect about PostgreSQL was the steep learning curve and complexity involved in setting it up and configuring it. I haven't used database management systems for very long, so navigating PostgreSQL's installation and configuration options proved to be a challenge. I had to spend more time and effort learning the many PostgreSQL-specific concepts and settings.

User Profile

Mark

Verified reviewer

Market Research, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

Solid database that won't break the bank and won't let you down

We have never lost data, never paid too much and never looked back. PostgreSQL is at the hear of our organization and our trust has paid off in the long run. Running it on top of a managed stack such as AWS RDS is they way to go as this is the hardest part of using PostgreSQL and you don't want to waste time re-learning what has already been learned. It's worth the cost to use these services in the long run. Rapid prototyping can be done locally and is free so your price to start is always zero!

PROS

PostgreSQL is and always has been one of the most feature rich and solid databases available. Its price / performance / feature set is simply unmatched in the industry today.

CONS

There is a lot of old information on the internet that is no longer relevant to current versions and you must sift through this in some cases to find the modern and elegant solutions. It was touted as "slow" compared to MySQL in the early 2000's and much of that information is wrong due to lack of user experience with the product or no longer the case today.

Reason for choosing PostgreSQL

Stability and price

Arik

Computer Software, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2019

PostgreSQL as application database

We use PostgreSQL as our system database for the software we develop, we find it reliable, robust and with great performance, we use both PHP and C++ to access the dataabse.

PROS

PostgreSQL is a full featured SQL server solution. it is free and open-source, PostgreSQL can be installed on many different platform like Linux, Windows, macOS and other. being open-source if has lots of contribute tools from the open-source community providing wide range solutions, PostgreSQL is also available in the cloud from all the major providers.

CONS

Management is less comfortable and some settings needs to be done in PostgreSQL configuration files, also database schema management tool is not so comfortable, but you can use 3rd party tools for that also

Reason for choosing PostgreSQL

Being free and open-source give us better control over platform selection, it also allow us to give our customers solution at lower costs, as the customer looks at the overall cost of the solution and the need to buy database server license cause the solution to cost much more. scaling is also simpler from license perspective.

User Profile

Alfredo

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2022

Excellent alternative to MySQL when you need more flexibility

I needed a very efficient database that could handle a huge amount of records, views and access for a data-scraping and analysis project. I was able to very easily do this with a combination of python for data processing, tableau for visualization and postgre-sql for the database. It has been running for a few years without any hiccups and with great efficiency.

PROS

User management is very flexible and the query language support many things that MySQL does not out-of-the-box, more inline with oracle database.

CONS

Not as ubiquitous as MySQL so initial setup and admin is slightly more complicated.

User Profile

Muhammad Adil

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed July 2021

PostgreSQL

One of the best open source relational database in the market. Large support of data types make it powerful and lots of storage of less schema data. ACID compliant and lock management support.

PROS

PostgreSQL has a wide support of server operating system e.g. windows, UNIX, Solaris, Linux, FreeBSD, Open BSD and OS X. Large support of APIs like ADO.NET, JDBC, ODBC and native C library which makes it easy to connect with any module. Good support of programming languages as well i.e. C, C++, JAVA, .NET, PHP and Python.

CONS

Wide support from community but some times its difficult to track any issue and get support. Reading speed is bit low as compared to other DBMS. Documentation is only available in English.

User Profile

Pinki

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

2

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2023

Best RDBMS for microservice structure

Its been very good experience to use postgres. Very easy and very effective to manage data. As we have microservice architecture so need lots of database of individual services and with postgres we reduces cost of licensing.

PROS

This is very easy to use and manages. Easy to handle JSON data type and having lots of data type available. Table partitions available for increasing performance.

CONS

Creating store procedure are still very complex and not good as compare to sql server.

User Profile

Wechuli

Verified reviewer

Computer Software, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Best Database System Ever !

Postgres provides everything I need in a Relational Database System, I have been using it for a while and I swear by it.

PROS

- Completely and absolutely free - Open-source, so you can look at the code - Every feature you might want in a database is there - Convenient PostgreSQL admin for the management of DB servers

CONS

- Making replication across several distributed regions can be quite challenging if you haven't done it before.

User Profile

Sanskriti

Verified reviewer

Information Technology and Services, 201-500 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2020

Managing DB with PostgreSQL works fine.

PostgreSQL can process complex queries in relatively less time, and data can be accessed seemingly faster with non-key attributes. Since we deployed PostgreSQL at work we are delighted to see its flexibility and the better performance for our most common use cases.

PROS

Implementing the database in PostgreSQL is quick and efficient. PostgreSQL is much quicker with use-cases. Setting prototypes for development is relatively easier with PostgreSQL. It is a simply a relational database, and stores the data in tables, and supports complex transactions. Accessing data and attribute is faster in PostgreSQL especially when searching for an attribute that is not indexed. So it is great for sorting data in a relatively short period of time.

CONS

PostgreSQL is not flexible to JSON objects, even the nested documents or arrays are not handled with Postgres. It is slow when it comes to processing queries that use nested references, so we had to deal with more complexities at work.

Manasseh

Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY