All RealPage IMS Reviews

1-25 of 79 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2019

A true game changer for our business

Huge time savings through automation of many investor-related processes. We are able to have staff focus on higher-level analytical as a result. Investors love all-in-one nature of the platform and really like the UX.

PROS

From day one we have really liked ACH distributions, waterfall calculations, CRM/email campaigns. We are very excited about the investor statements and capital call features.

CONS

We were very early clients so the functionality at the beginning wasn't as robust in the beginning as it is now. They are excellent about getting client input as they roll out new features.

Rob

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2021

IMS Review

Overall, IMS is a good product. Though it has its limitations, we are overall satisfied with its performance. They are constantly working at becoming an excellent product/service, but they have a little ways to go.

PROS

I like that the support has a pretty quick turn-around and can usually answer all of my inquiries. I like that there is an email functionality embedded and that investors are generally able to retrieve their documents on the portal seamlessly. I like that they are always looking to improve the system and use feedback well.

CONS

The customization is limited. Certain metrics that we have repeatedly asked for were not implemented. IMS refused to give us a customizable Investment Summary to deliver to our investors. The Investment Summary Statements were one of the main reasons we were excited to use IMS, and the customization of the statements again fell short of our expectations, so we needed to implement a third-party vendor who could grant us our Summary requests.

Reason for choosing RealPage IMS

I joined the company and IMS had already been (somewhat) implemented, so I ran with it.

Brian

Financial Services, 11-50 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed March 2019

IMS Simply Did Not Work for Us

We made every effort to make IMS work for us. We even went so far as to pay for IMS personnel to come to our offices for a few days in order to see if they could really come to undersand what the needs of our family of funds were and how we could best deploy their system in support of our investor relations goals. In the end, we got a lot of lip service and promises for system enhancements, but IMS never delivered. Ultimately, we were compelled to terminate our contract and move to a different platform.

PROS

Price point was at the low end of market.

CONS

Ineffectual support. Platform would freeze or crash frequently. We were told this was due to our fund's "large size", which was, at the time, only 300 investors. System was not intuitive to use.

Vendor Response

We are sorry that you didn┬┐t feel like IMS was the best partner for your firm during our brief engagement, that said, this feedback appears to be quite dated. Your experience indicates that you had left IMS prior to some significant updates to our support structure and capacity. Further, in the last year, we have rolled out extensive fund enhancements that include Commitments and Capital Calls, added additional fund-specific metrics to the dashboards, and improved our reporting abilities with the release of Investor Statements.

Replied March 2019

Robert

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

2

Reviewed May 2021

IMS Bugs

PROS

the functionality of having an org chart as part of the build. the visual helps.

CONS

the system feels cumbersome. it takes a lot to build things out. recently there was/is a bug in the "commitment" feature which rendered it useless. as our company grows this is a critical feature and with it being non-functional it severely diminishes the benefit of IMS to the point of looking at other options. The commitment did not "push" new investors to complete their profile information as it was in the past, or should be and is through other streams within IMS. this resulted in new investors signing blank forms and the entire process having to be rebuilt, and redone. It made our company look very inexperienced in front of our new customers.

Reason for choosing RealPage IMS

pricing and referrals., waterfall functionality at the time was better than juniper square.

Jennifer

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed December 2019

Excellent Data

Due to the data captured in IMS, we are able to more easily provide data to our CPA for K-1 production. This has reduced the spreadsheets we would otherwise have to maintain. The functionality available for investors to complete Subscription Booklets online and obtain proof of Accreditation via VerifyInvestor has also been a huge improvement for us and our investors and has allowed us to raise as much as $27MM in equity in one month (fully complete/accurate paperwork; fully funded). In addition, the type of data we are able to collect at the CRM Contact level as well as at the investing entity level has helped us market to our investors appropriately whether we are doing a 506(b) or a 506(c) type of deal.

PROS

In looking at several products, the most important aspect for me is data. Is the type of data that I need to be able to search on or analyze later available for data capture? I look at functionality next. For us, IMS provides the best data out there for a company who raises Private Equity (we focus on Multifamily real estate). Although the user interfaces and functionality have not been as slick as some of the other products we have seen, upon deep review of those other products, they just do not collect the level of data we need them to. IMS has also been working to makeover their UIs to make them more intuitive and streamlined from a functional perspective. One of the other strengths in this software that I love is that IMS tends to build functionality where, as a sponsor, you can turn certain data or functionality on or off if it doesn't work for your company's processes/procedures. This provides flexibility that allows their multiple sponsors to handle certain processes and displays differently based on their specific needs. I have not seen this offered on other tools to the degree it is available on IMS. This is a great strength in this tool and huge win for the multiple sponsors.

CONS

In the past one of our biggest issues we ran into was functionality deployed that was not fully tested or where existing functionality was not fully regression tested. As a result we would run into bugs. However, this has changed dramatically in the past year. IMS is really taking care to fully test what they deploy.

Dan

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Great tool to for both internal and investor facing purposes

Aside from all the pros mentioned, the experience has been very positive. The support team are very responsive and happy to assist quickly and however they can. Investors who choose to utilize the software like it and believe it adds another layer of professionalism to our investments. Looking back, I do wish I had understood the system more when initially getting our investments uploaded, as I had to end up going back and re-doing many of them, but IMS has grown since our initial partnership with them (I believe we were one of the earlier companies), and I assume the process is more transparent and streamlined. Some of the options/characterizations of the data you provide initially may seem innocent, but can actually have an affect on waterfalls, presentation of data within IMS, etc. I implore new users to maybe get one investment fully up in IMS and learn the system before continuing with the rest of their portfolio.

PROS

Internal Facing: This software provides great internal tools for investment managers to track, promote, and analyze past, current, and future investments. While investment information is kept previously in internal accounting software and Excel files, IMS provides a centralized and efficient platform to track investments and distributions. The waterfall function is very useful in calculating actual distributions to be sent out immediately, and to run "what-if" scenarios for future sales. The document feature allowed you to keep all documentation online for each investor and investment. It is very easy to review investment and distribution history at any level in the LLC structures - whether between two equity partners, or a large group of individual investors. Investor Facing: Allows investors to track their investments like you would log on to an online bank account. Uploaded documents for investors can be sorted by category and/or investment.

CONS

While there is a bulk upload option through the support team, it would be useful to be able to run it internally and for more items than just K-1s. Can be tiresome sometimes uploading individual documents within a large investor group. Still run in to some complications with changes to an existing equity struture. We have been granted the internal power now to make adjustments, but sometime it can still be easiest to just delete a project and re-build from scratch. When this is to be done, investors/investments must be deleted one by one at each level, and once done, any subsequent documentation is also deleted and must be re-uploaded.

Maureen

Hospitality, 10,000+ employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2019

IMS Investor Portal

We had a very manual process quarterly which consisted of updating our allocation sheets in Excel, preparing our investment analysis in Word/Excel, and the mail merge process to send out the package to the investors. This product enabled us to automate our process and have a portal which consists of everything investor-related (from historical information, such as quarterly investor reports and K1s, to having a list of current and potential investors which will enable us to email when a new investment opportunity arises). Overall, I would highly recommend this product. The time we save quarterly along with the investor management, reporting, and analysis we gained from this product is priceless!

PROS

The IMS product has been intuitive from the get-go. My superior and I were impressed with the initial demo and pricing of the product. It was an easy decision to go with IMS! We were fortunate to have been appointed a great implementation manager and the implementation process went smoothly (even though we encountered issues with some of the distribution amounts and ownership percentages, but representative was very responsive and supportive in a daily and timely manner). Customer Support have been helpful so far with some of the password reset, login issues, and K1 upload.

CONS

There are some missing features specific to our company such as having custom tags in creating Custom Email and Statement Templates (right now the selection is only First Name, Last Name, Legal Name, and Prefix), which make it hard to personalize our communication with our investors. We also think a bulk printing feature would be helpful when we print out our quarterly investor statements. Lastly, it would be beneficial if it was made possible to send out email notifications when a K1 document has been uploaded (one of our investors have mentioned this to us as well prior to us having to manually email out investors with this notification).

Angie

Real Estate, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Great system once you learn to use it.

Excellent experience overall.

PROS

In terms of implementation the process was fairly easy. We had few years of data that IMS uploaded in matter of hours. Once implemented, we had few hiccups with the full capabilities of the system; however, IMS did a great job creating learning tools to help with functionality questions. [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] served as our relationship manager. He is very knowledgeable and helped us to align our business needs with the system's capabilities. Uploading K1s and monthly reports is extremely easy and fast. Also, the system allows the creation of monthly and quarterly reports which it has been a fantastic tool to maintain investors informed. The ability to create email campaigns based on deal or as a portfolio is a great advantage the system offers. I would say this is one of the tools we use the most when communicating with investors

CONS

IMS integrates with few accounting systems; unfortunately, Entrata is not in the list of integrations yet. Can't wait for the integration to facilitate data transfer.

Peter

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

Highly Recommended

From the start the IMS staff have been incredibly professional, courteous, responsive, and just nice people. That makes a huge difference.

PROS

The software itself was very easy to use. We had a slightly different need when we started and the staff at IMS was great to respond to our needs. Over the next couple of months we made some modifications that were perfect for our internal needs and for our clients.

CONS

As developers we needed a slightly different project description page for our investors, but IMS made a few changes and worked with us closely to make sure our end product did what it was supposed to.

Reason for choosing RealPage IMS

We took six months to evaluate various groups and programs. In the end, IMS was evolving and kept me informed of programming updates and never forced us into a one-stop-shop platform. Businesses change and we needed a platform that would evolve with us. IMS did exactly that.

Reasons for switching to RealPage IMS

We needed a more flexible and secure system.

Hugo

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

IMS- One Stop Shop

PROS

IMS offers a one stop shop for Investor Management. I provides a comprehensive but streamlined investor portal which even the novice computer user can use. IMS allows us to notify our investors or groups of investment updates at a click of a button without having to email. One of the key requirement we required from the portal were distribution notification which IMS performs flawlessly.

CONS

Not having a customer service manager anymore has been a little annoying. All service request go through there support. I would like to see IMS go back to giving everyone an account manager.

Daniel

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Pleasantly Suprised

Continuing to work on repositioning our administrative platform so that it's; i) Customer facing is more professional, ii) Reduces administrative costs and, iii) distancing ourselves from paper.

PROS

Software 'on-boarding' has gone better than expected and initial response from clients has been good.

CONS

It would be nice if the integration between RealPage accounting platform and IMS was more developed and integrated.

Reasons for switching to RealPage IMS

Functionality, Economics, Features.

Jon

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

Overall a great experience. IMS has been very beneficial for us and for our investors.

A place for investors to log in and view their investments, documents , etc.

PROS

The ability for the investor to have all their information and documents in one place to review. We have received lots of positive feedback from our investors about IMS.

CONS

Docusign is not a very robust system and has been disappointing. The coding abilities are lacking and it has been frustrating using it with its limitations.

Matt

Real Estate, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed December 2020

IMS Review

Great experience. Really like the software and customer service is excellent.

PROS

Ease of use and functionality of the software.

CONS

There's nothing I don't like about this software.

Jasmine

Venture Capital & Private Equity, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2019

Best customer support

I am excited to see the upcoming changes. They are always updating, customizing, and improving their website to better suit our investors.

PROS

I like most that basically any/all of my needs or desires can be met by IMS university, IMS instructional videos, or by the customer support team.They literally do everything in their power to meet our needs. If they can't at the moment, they make a note and follow-up. I know that they are having discussions with other teams about our needs because they always follow up with an update that accommodates to our needs.

CONS

I would say the thing I like least about this software is actually also kind of one of the things I like a lot about it. Although IMS doesn't have exactly what we need, because it doesn't exist yet, I know that I will be able to get a customized framework of what I'm looking for.

Ricardo

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

2

EASE OF USE

2

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed August 2021

Smoke and Mirrors

We present a much better face to investors, looks professional. They don't have to know that the nuts and bolts of the software are not really there.

PROS

The portal our investors see is awesome, looks very professional.

CONS

However, the back office (calculating waterfalls, signing and updating documents) does not work as advertised and we have to do it all manually as before and upload it. It does look a lot better than before, investors have all their info in one place - but the time savings and automation we expected are not there.

Reason for choosing RealPage IMS

Price (big mistake)

Vendor Response

Hi Ricardo, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We appreciate your feedback and are constantly working to improve our platform to accommodate a wide variety of models both typical and atypical. We'll be sure to share your feedback with our Product team. Best, IMS Review Team

Replied August 2021

Patti

Investment Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2018

IMS Platform - Investor Management Services Review

PROS

I like the site. Easy to get what I need. Contacts are easy to find and search. Quarterly distributions are easier.

CONS

Can't see banking info and we have to request it.

Vendor Response

This functionality was updated in a recent release to allow credentialed administrators access to that information.

Replied September 2018

Andy

Real Estate, 201-500 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2019

Great Investor Portal Software

Time saver, keeps the clutter of multiple systems and tracking systems down to 1, allows us to spend less time monthly preparing distributions to investors.

PROS

This software makes tracking numerous portals and deals easy and efficiently. We are able to send out Investor reports and information more effectively than trying to keep a log of every investor and what deals they are apart of and sending multiple emails. Investors in return can login to the portal and view documents and not have to worry about a missed email.

CONS

The only complaint is setting up some of the more complicated calculations for distributions when there are waterfall calculations. We have had to reach out for help a couple times, but we have been provided with great assistance every time.

Drew

Real Estate, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING: