CAKE is a cloud-based point of sale (POS) solution for restaurants. Primary features include payment acceptance, guest and waitlist manager, online ordering, gift cards and tableside ordering.

It allows users to track real-time sales at different locations, wages, hours and overtime. The reporting module allows owners and managers to drill down into sales reports to find sales by week, day or hour. Payroll reporting helps users calculate wages and overtime and sales can even be compared to labor costs each hour.

Peak hours tracking and customer tracking are also available on-demand in real time. It offers an offline mode that allows users to manage restaurants and accept payments when internet connection is down. It offers integration with PayPal, Xero, Orca, 7Shifts, Quickbooks and Avero.

It supports Windows, Mac and Linux operating systems. It can also be accessed by smartphones and tables. Support is offered via email and over the phone.



240 Reviews of CAKE POS

Overall rating

4.55 / 5 stars

Filters:

Showing 1 - 20 of 240 reviews

January 2019

Peggi from Jams@209 Sports Bar & Grill

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

CAKE review

Great experience. Looking forward to using it with Quickbooks.

Pros

Easy to use. We are able to track sales by individuals.

Cons

I would like to be able to run reports for a full year. Right now you can only do 3 months at a time.

January 2019

Denise from Pirates Lair Cafe

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

Cook and Manager

Pros

I like that we can keep track of items that sell the most. I like that at 1 touch I can see the sales made per worker.

Cons

I don't like that once the waitress sends ticket to kitchen, any mistakes (like price) can't be fixed without voiding the order. I don't like that when I need to use a third party payment per say credit card, that there is no way to include tip in with our sales.

January 2019

Nicole from Gardens and Fields Restaurant

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

January 2019

A User-Friendly POS with few frills

Great, easy to use Point of Sale software. All of our servers did not have an issue picking up the software quickly, with only a few minor errors. Printing in colour was important to our staff, which we were assured would be addressed soon in an upcoming update.

Pros

Overall great, easy to use software. We used to trial period for this software in determining which new POS to purchase.
Customer service was prompt and easy to reach. Never any long waits and very friendly each time we had a question.
Nice clean design that our servers loved.

Cons

Can't adjust prices of items after they have been sent to the kitchen - when you need to offer a discount because of a cooking error or issue throughout service, this makes it a little difficult to adjust specific items and not apply to the bill as a whole (thinking of large groups).
It's built with the end-user in mind... the servers! Which works, but might limit your customization of the software to meet the needs of kitchen/managers. It's a basic software with few frills. For those that have been accustomed to many options and features, it may feel a little lack-luster.
The tablets had difficulty connecting to the main unit, dropped twice in our small restaurant during the trial period; something that had only happened once or twice a month with our existing POS.

January 2019

Sue Ann from Cookie Jar Cafe

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2019

CAKE has saved me so much time!

CAKE allows me to tie all of my business aspects together. My inventory, ordering, and sales and being tied into one program which saves me time and money.

Pros

CAKE's ease of use and customer service makes it outstanding. I have an open line with my rep and any need we come across CAKE does their best to change the programming to fit my needs!

Cons

Cons are minimal. Glitches seem to be very rare and when they do happen they are fixed promptly.

January 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

January 2019

pretty bad in all aspects

Pros

Customer rewards system is good , you can add customers and give them rewards so they can keep coming back

Cons

Brand new system start to freeze , credit card chip reader is not working in the year of 2019 , poor customer support

December 2018

Richard from Harms Way Bar & Grill

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2018

Very Happy

It is an overall help. Easy setup to time saving for the waitstaff and easy reading for the kitchen staff.

Pros

It has worked well for our small bar and restaurant. We love the order pad, it saves the waitstaff so much time and they can connect with more customers.

Cons

The set up to start was alot, menu building, modifiers, and learning everything. But cake university was a great help. Was well worth the time

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied January 2019

Thanks so much, Richard! We love to hear that CAKE Point of Sale and OrderPad have been a great solution for your small bar and restaurant. We understand that there is quite a lot to be setup in the beginning - so happy to hear it was worth it and CAKE University was so helpful! If you need any more help or have questions, you can always call CAKE Support 24/7.

December 2018

Rennie from Restaurants

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

2 of 5

December 2018

Great

Pros

This product was a quick setup and easy to get into place

Cons

I wasn’t sure how I would use this for a larger setup

December 2018

Chris from American Legion

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2018

Post 46

Simplifying our dining operations. Don't have to worry about hand written chits to get lost and misunderstood.

Pros

It is very easy to use. If you have used other POS systems it will be easy to adapt.

Cons

I would like to have some kind of inventory tracker to track purchases and inventory.

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied January 2019

Hi Chris, thanks so much for your kind review! Happy to hear that you've found CAKE easy to use and that it is simplifying your operations. We appreciate your feedback on inventory tracking. Just so you know, we have a stock counts feature built into the POS, but for full inventory functionality, we partner with Orca. You can learn more here: http://market.cake.net/orca/

December 2018

Antonio from Rocky’s NY pizza

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2018

Awesome

I think it solves all the problems that a restaurant might have

Pros

Is there some not to like
It is an amazing system very easy to use

Cons

When you do custome items in the menu there should a way to itemize what is it

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied December 2018

Thanks, Anotnio, for your awesome review! We are so happy to hear that you have found the Point of Sale so easy to use. Thank you for letting us know about your issues with the menu. If you still are having challenges with the menu configuration, please contact support and they will be happy to help you.

December 2018

Scott from Elkins Fristy

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2018

Cake software review

Pros

The software is very easy to use. The customer support is probably one of the best I have talked to. The Cake staff is very friendly and helpful. I would not think of using a different company for my POS needs.

Cons

Some of the previous software updates caused an issue with the POS having to be restarted frequently. I have talked to tech support about the issue and it has been since resolved.

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied December 2018

Thank you so much, Scott, for being such a loyal CAKE customer! We are happy to hear that you have found the Point of Sale easy to use and had such great service from our support team.

December 2018

Jacqueline from Rusty Beagle, LLC

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2018

AWESOME Customer Service

We've had CAKE for almost 2 years and have been very happy with the product. The hardware has been very sturdy and we haven't had any issues with the equipment. We recently added an order pad to our establishment. Our customer success manager, helped us look at our options so that we could select the best equipment for our patio. On opening day for our new patio we had an issue with a power supply for the order pad WiFi access point. CSR drove up a replacement the next day, so that we would be able to be up and running for our busy Friday night. She has been the greatest help with all things related to our POS system.

Pros

Easy to use, cloud based updates so you always have the latest version of software, AMAZING customer service, team take suggestions for features to be added and ACTUALLY applies those suggestions.

Cons

We have been happy with all aspects of CAKE

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied December 2018

Thanks so much for your review, Jacqueline! We love to hear that you have found your CAKE Point of Sale easy to use and have such amazing support from your Customer Success Manager! So great to hear that they went above and beyond to help you guys out with the OrderPad and made sure everything was up and running. We take care of our customers and appreciate your business!

December 2018

Linda from Double Barrel Smokehouse

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2018

Cake is Good

Reports are very intuitive and provide helpful insights.

Pros

Cake POS is easy to use and maintain especially for a restaurant that modifies the menu often. Customer service has always been helpful.

Cons

One suggestion is to solicit feedback prior to making software changes - some of the changes have required work arounds for my restaurant usage model.

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied December 2018

Hi Linda, thanks for the kind words! We try to make our solution as flexible and easy to use as possible, we are glad that you have found it to work well for your restaurant. Thank you for your suggestion about soliciting feedback. We do our best to solicit feedback from customers and design the best solutions for our customers, but we understand that sometimes changes may not work for everyone. If you have any issues or have any feedback you would like to provide at any time, please contact Support or your Customer Success representative. We also have a Beta program as well, that allows customers to test new releases if that is something you might be interested in participating in.

November 2018

diane from sundancers cape cod

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2018

seasonal check up

great experience

Pros

ease of use, my staff was able to be trained very quickly

Cons

no speed screen which I was told has been created

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied December 2018

Hi Diane, thanks so much for the review! Happy to hear that you and your staff found the Point of Sale so easy to use. Sorry to hear that you don't have speed screens working, they should be live for all current customers. Is this is till the case, please contact support as this update should have gone out to all customers.

November 2018

Kim from Crazy Otto's Empire Diner

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2018

The Best POS System Out There

We first started with Cake when they were a brand new company. We've had some issues and the Cake team always listens and is open to fresh ideas. The biggest accomplishment was to be able to remotely handle employee issues. I can manage hours, look at reports and handle everything from the comfort of my own home if I choose. And it's so easy.

Pros

I love everything about this Software. I like that it's easily managed both in house and over the internet. I like the ease of handling customer orders and employee management. But, my favorite thing is the Customer Support is beyond excellent.

Cons

That when an employee is terminated from the system, there is no way to get their information back. If they come back to employment, they must be reentered. If they file a claim, for example, their back information needs to be obtained from Customer Service.

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied December 2018

Hi Kim, thanks so much for your review! We love to hear that your POS has been so easy to use, and that our Customer Support has been so helpful! Also thank you for the feedback about employees that leave but may come back again later. We will pass that on to our Product Team to see if that is something we can address in the future.

November 2018

diane from The Boathouse

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2018

Cake Program

It is very easy to get my yearend taxes done now. When Insurance people needed to see my sales it was so much easier than when I did everything in a book!! It took me days before.

Pros

It is very easy for me to use since I am not usually very computer savvy

Cons

Nothing that I can think of. I never had a POS system before. I only had a cash register so I really love that. It is so easy to see what your employees are doing and what your sales are at any given time.

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied November 2018

Thanks, Diane, for your kind review! We love hearing that the transition has been smooth coming from a cash register and that you have been enjoying all the expanded features that come with CAKE.

November 2018

Tonya from Two Loons

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

November 2018

My Cake

So far I love the product. We added the gift cards which is a real nice seller.

Pros

The ease of sending orders to the kitchen and bar. Love the resports I get at the end of the night.

Cons

I wish it could integrate with my Quickbooks software for payroll and other functions

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied November 2018

Thanks so much for your review, Tonya! We love hearing how easy it is to send orders and view reports at the end of the night. Also good news about Quickbooks - we do offer an integration through Shogo, you can learn more here http://market.cake.net/quickbooks/.

November 2018

Jeffrey from Junior's Bar & Restaurant

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

November 2018

CAKE

Customer service has been great. very timely with call backs, good follow-up, etc. system is easy to use, easy to set up from the admin side. our staff likes it. Most of the major issues we've encountered are in the process of being improved for better functionality, per our requests and discussions with our account representative.

Pros

Ease of use. Ability to access admin features directly from the terminal ( i used to have to go to the main computer to do anything on our old system. stock counts are nice and easy to use.

Cons

a handful of tiny things that annoy me, but nothing major or worth even bringing up here.

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied November 2018

Thanks so much for your kind review! It's great to hear that you've found CAKE so easy to use and that support has been great. As always, we are making improvements to the CAKE Point of Sale system, so hopefully you'll see some of those feature requests coming out soon!

November 2018

Jim from Jimmy's Roadhouse

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

November 2018

Good POS great tech support

A very smooth transition from previous POS.

Pros

The tech support is great! The software is easy to use both for the management and service staff.

Cons

It isn't as flexible as I'd like for custom historical reporting. I'd like to see the "Smart tax" features I've had on other POS systems.

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied November 2018

Thanks, Jim! We appreciate your review and love to hear that you've had great support from CAKE. We also appreciate your feedback about reporting. We are making some large improvements here, and will let our product team know your input.

November 2018

Olivia from Tuck's Inc.

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

November 2018

Thank you Cake

It makes sense, it is simple, it is easy, we are pleased!

Pros

Simplicity of implementation when we first purchased

Cons

Cannot split checks then put them back together, or split one bill up into more than two bills- wastes a lot of time

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied November 2018

Thank you, Olivia! We like to think that CAKE makes it easy, and we are so glad that you agree. Also we just came out with enhanced split check and item functionality, check it out and let us know what you think!

October 2018

Steve from Discount Paper Products

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

October 2018

CAKE POS System Works Perfectly for Us

We have been using the CAKE POS system for a year now and everything is functioning smoothly as designed.

Pros

Ease of setup, ease of use, ease of maintenance, top notch support, and account manager that actually takes interest in our needs.

Cons

I have no cons with using CAKE, everything is working as it should.

Response from CAKE from Sysco of CAKE a Sysco company

Replied November 2018

Thanks, Steve, for your 5-star review! Love to hear that CAKE POS has been working perfectly for you and your needs. Thank you for your business, we appreciate you being a piece of CAKE!