PawnMaster

PawnMaster Reviews

RATING:

4.03

(19)

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.03

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4

Customer Support

4

Value for money

4.5

Functionality

4


Pros and Cons

  • icon"The ease of navigation through the system. New employees figure the system out without any problems."
  • icon"Customer service talks with great respect and courtesy. The reports are very useful and specific to certain info."
  • icon"The ease of use and the ease of being able to make a new person run with it pretty much right from the get go."
  • icon"This is not the only time we have had trouble with their customer service."
  • icon"This happened before, I gave up and called after 2 days of waiting. I hate it when they give me the run around from tech to tech."

Have you used PawnMaster and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All PawnMaster Reviews

1-19 of 19 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Roger

Verified reviewer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Banking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

April 2019

The bets Pawn Shop Software in the USA

We have been running Pawnmaster for 4 years now and have to say we LOVE it

Pros

Ease of use and EXCELLENT customer service!

Cons

Some parts are a little un-intuitive but nothing to worry about.

Jeni-Lei

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2017

Best decision I ever made for my #goldenballs! Don't waste $ trying to polish any other old system.

Increased productivity and employee efficiency, customer retention, continued business revenue and growth, peace of mind being able to access customer support. Going home an hour earlier at night because I'm not stuck doing paperwork that the system now keeps me compliant on. BTW this survey doesn't list my Industry. I am a PawnBroker so I'm not just Retail, I'm not just a Lending or Financial Institution, I'm not just Firearms or Jewelry, I'm not just.... I have the biggest #goldenballs and my industry sports three of them because our history is rich and listed in scrolls before Christ. My class, My Industry, is Pawn Broker.

Pros

Customer Support ... I knew when I first saw the software it is what I wanted my little shop to have but I didn't think I was big enough nor could I afford it. Now I know I should have started with PawnMaster because my business would be more than just a little shop with big dreams. Over 28 years with trying to get three different systems to run my business and keep me competitive was a waste of money. Had I purchased PawnMaster this old girl wouldn't be trying to learn new tricks but at least the trick is easy to use and the spotters (Customer Support) can handle my flips. Every week we implement a new Feature or Functionality that put us one step closer to moving ahead of not just the pawn competition but the retailers too. Quality- I haven't had a single issue with the software and they even worked with me to help it work on some of my old equipment. Ease of Use -- Each of us has a different learning curve but their Customer Support helped me set up the system with the features I needed for my business. This means that my employees weren't flying blind trying to figure out how things worked and if they had a question Customer Support was right there. Value for Money- Put a price on being more efficient, put a price on customer retention and incentives with the rewards program and many other Features. Looking forward to expanding and growing my revenue and business with the Quality Support system of PawnMaster and the DataAge team!

Cons

I have to be here to run it, LOL, just kidding. I haven't found a real down side yet. I am thankful the sales representative didn't give up on me even after over a year of calling. I am thankful they helped me find options and funding to get the system and make it work for me. The downside has been my stubbornness at not accepting that the change would save and make me money. The thing I like "least" about this software is that some people reading this will still not be convinced that my #goldenballs aren't just trying to con them.

Response from Data Age Business Systems

Jeni-Lei -- Thank you for the wonderful review. I've loved getting to know you through the course of your onboarding. You never fail to make me laugh so don't be a stranger! I hope you can make that trip down to see your BFF soon and of course, fit us in here at Data Age too. :)

Replied August 2017

mike

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

February 2018

not user friendly

all I wanted was a free Godex jewelry label printer as compensation for 6 months of trouble and financial loss. I felt I was done wrong by being pushed around, the printer would have made me feel appreciated as a new customer. Everyone, keep a eye out for my youtube video about all my system's problems.

Pros

customer service talks with great respect and courtesy. The reports are very useful and specific to certain info. Thats all I have for Pros.

Cons

Im surprised my mouse has not wore out. It is increadable how many clicks you have to make in order to do something. It takes me 10 clicks of the mouse just to upload to the DOJ. Log in log out is a pain when you have to find something in the system.I had 6 months of issues in the beginning. I went through every upper level tech. Lost a few amount trying to get the settings right. I asked multiple times for a free printer as compensation, and they said that couldn't be done. Whenever they fix a problem, you have to watch that they didn't accidentally change things. One time they fixed my system, later on that day I noticed the ticket writing fee was lower.The data transfer came with a lot of bugs. One time, I had 4 people working on a problem and the final outcome was an "ANOMALY", no one knew what happened. Callbacks are 50/50, many times I had to call them back and see what was going on. My account manager doesn't always respond to my emails, not that he responds late, he just doesn't respond at all. Unless your computer is dead in the water, good luck on an immediate callback. I put in a request for a small fix, tech called, the line was disconnected. Waited for an immediate callback and nothing. Today is Saturday, I will have to wait another few days before I call back. This happened before, I gave up and called after 2 days of waiting. I hate it when they give me the run around from tech to tech. If the first tech doesn't know, he passes it off to someone else. Then I have to start all over explaining what the problem is. I went through 4 techs one day, all scratching their heads. In the end, I had all four together on the phone trying to figure out what was wrong. That is when I had the "ANOMALY."

David

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Consumer Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2021

Pawn Master

Without PawnMaster we would not have survived the past 25 years. The ease of use of the reports available are unbelievable. With just a couple keystrokes, I can access anything needed. I would recommend PawnMaster to any Pawnshop new or old. Tech support is stellar with friendly techs to help and solve any issue quickly. With the ease of using PawnMaster your business will strive.

Pros

This software is so easy to learn and use. Very easy to access all my files and reports. In 25 years we have not found a single problem with this system. Employees find it very easy to their jobs without mistakes.

Cons

For us, we found no problems with the software over the years. If anything arose, a phone call was all that was need.

Reasons for choosing PawnMaster

My cousin used to help install PawnMaster when it first came out in Seattle to the local shops. He said he looked at other software but said you can't beat PawnMaster.

Lori

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

January 2019

Great software

I trust Pawnmaster. I do not understand how some stores function in this day and age with not using software. As long as we have our store we are staying with Pawnmaster

Pros

The report menu and management menu are a huge help. There is quite a learning curve and we still are learning everyday what we to use to help run our store but customer service and the online tutorials are a great help. A big advantage is you can pick and choose what best fits your store operation when setting up your software and always contact Pawnmaster if change is necessary in the future.

Cons

Some areas of the software need work as far as user friendly - with not being a computer tech savvy person it can be overwhelming making sure you are doing the function correctly but again the customer service we have found is very helpful but a bit slow to respond some days.

Tami

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

Can not say enough great things!!

Will not do business with any other software company . Best ones for our needs in a nut shell!

Pros

We have been with Data Age since 2004 and have never once regretted our decision to go with this top notch company! Everyone from sales to technical support all the way up to the Owner himself are nothing short of amazing!! I can not stress enough how much we appreciate the way these folks do business!!

Cons

Windows 10 updates wreak havoc with Pawnmaster but it is not Pawnmaster's fault. They do correct the problems after any update that interferes with the way their software operates which is all they can do.

Jeff

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2019

PawnMaster Pawn Software

I would recommend this software to any Pawn business who is looking for a software product that will make you successful by supplying the software functionally you need to make your store process sales, Layaways, Pawns/Loans, Inventory efficiently.

Pros

Great Pawn software that has all the functionality needed for running a successful Pawn Business. Great team and support to work with and is always very responsive and supportive.

Cons

Build on the great Pawn foundation to continue to work on cross store functionally that supports multi unit stores better in the future.

Mike

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2017

Great over all, helps organize inventory, and money.

Pros

Allows us to view past sales with each . View edit and change things and keeps full records. of everything done. Such as if we edit a price because it not in season , and then bring it back up while in season, you can see the history of the price changes.

Cons

if i am doing something and i click wrong thing, i hate having to long in each time to do something, like to back up and then send police report to leads online, i have to log in back up, then log in again to do report, then log in again to send police report. wish i can do multiple things from one log in.

Response from Data Age Business Systems

Mike, Thank you for the great review!

Replied September 2017

Shawn

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2017

Overall good experience. From Len to the rest of the team, response is great.

See previous comments. Better overall understanding of our business.

Pros

Ability to track our inventory better and overall tighten up the ship in regards to our business. Bar code price labels really spruce up our professional image. Scanning DL's in saves tons of time in identify and logging in customers.

Cons

Has frozen up a couple times so far which causes us to have to close out the program and re-open it. Drop down menus don't always take selection first time. Windows 10 updates disrupt camera and printer drivers.

Response from Data Age Business Systems

Thank you for the review, Shawn! We look forward to many years of success together.

Replied September 2017

Nadya

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

September 2017

Awesome

Overall would definitely recommend to anyone in need of this kind of software.

Pros

easy to use, fast software, does not take forever in load time, updated frequently so it's true to inventory

James

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

February 2017

Must have for any pawn shop

I have using pawn master sobe the early 90s, the customer support is top notch and it's easy to learn/teach. It provides excellent inventory control as well as keeping track of pawns. Adjustable rate tables and access to forms. The reports allow you a comprehensive view of what's working and what's not. I can't imagine using anything else.

Pros

Ease of use and gentle learning curve

Cons

The only cons would be nitpicking and are easily worked around (cost may be a factor for small shops)

Roger

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2017

We have been using Pawnaster for 2.5 years now and could not be where we are today without it!

Pros

Ease of use and PMs outstanding customer service. PM is always ready and able to help us with any questions we may have

Cons

Some parts are a little not intuitive. These are few and far between, just a small few areas........

Response from Data Age Business Systems

Thank you for the wonderful review, Roger! We are so thankful for our savvy customers like you. If you ever get stuck on something, our team is always here for you!

Replied September 2017

Nancy

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2017

Top notch customer service! Always available immediately to help!

Pros

The ease of navigation through the system. New employees figure the system out without any problems.

Cons

small hiccups on occasion , they are always fixed immediately. Mainly the issue i have is selling firearms is different when it is a sale or a layaway

Response from Data Age Business Systems

Thanks, Nancy for your kind words! We love having A Pawn USA as a customer. Can't wait for our next visit!

Replied August 2017

Tim

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

May 2019

PAWNMASTER

PawnMaster has streamlined the way we run our store. From inventory to balancing the books this program does it all. Major time saver to say the least.

Pros

The ease of use and the ease of being able to make a new person run with it pretty much right from the get go!

Cons

I personally have not found a con with it yet with what we do with it.

Jeff

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

EASE OF USE

2.5

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

2.5

September 2016

PawnMaster/Data Age

Pros

The Software is fine. it works fine. You can probably find better Pawn Software on the market and you can probably find worse. The customer service is very bad.

Cons

I have used PawnMaster for 8 years and the tech support is absolutely horrible as is there customer service and it has consistently stayed that way. Last Problem....We have called 4 times trying to get an update over the last month, they never called back. Finally talked to someone 3 days ago about the update. Told him I was paying once my credit card cycled and he said okay. No worries. Call tech support and they will give you the update. We call. They don't return the call. Today we try again. They tell me I have until a certain day to pay the bill, Oct 5th. Today is Sept 28th and they won't give updates until I pay the bill. The bill was not late. This is the first I have been told of that, by anyone at data age. Very Frustrating. This is not the only time we have had trouble with their customer service. The product is okay, I am sure there is better software on the market and probably worse software as well. What makes me not recommend the company is the customer service.

Dustin

Company size: 11-50 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY