Spruce Reviews

3.38 / 5 (13)

Our advisors have recommended this product 2 times in the last 30 days

User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5 / 5

Value for Money

3.0 / 5

Customer Support

3.0 / 5

Functionality

3.0 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(4)

4

4 stars

(4)

4

3 stars

(1)

1

2 stars

(1)

1

1 stars

(3)

3

  • Pros

  • "All applications are integrated into the same software"

  • "The support people have been good to work with. The inventory part of Spruce is much easier than Next Gen."

  • "What we like most is the ease of using the software and the ability to go paperless. "

  • Cons

  • "Crystal reports (optional add on) does take some time to get used to and is a little hard to use on initial setup. But overall it offers good reports."

  • "The EDI invoice download does not work, you can't capture customer signatures without a lot of expense. The special order system requires too many steps."

  • "Being a .NET software, customizing and enhancements take a very long time if ever approved. "

Browse Spruce Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - -37 of 13 results

January 2019

Kyle from Carter Bros Lumber Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

January 2019

Very Satisfied

As with any software of this nature it is only as good as the information you put into it. If you do not input purchase orders correctly or receive the product correctly it will not keep your inventory correct or cost correct. The learning curve is not high but you do have to take the time to learn how to use the software and what the different functions will do. As with any software change or upgrade do your homework first and list out your expectations to see if the software you are looking at will meet those expectations.

Pros

Very user friendly. POS works well and is quick to get customer invoiced. The document management built into the software is very good and eliminates the need for paper files. Can easily tag external documents and scan into the software and tag to specific invoices, orders, quotes. Customer support has been great to deal with. They provide a good online help system with videos and documents to explain how to work with the software. There are lots of add on features if you need them. The implementation went very smooth when we switched over from the ECS PRO system we were on. The day we went live we were up and running that afternoon on the ECI Spruce system. The implementation team outlined a course of action over several months to get everything in place and tested before the actual go live date. The key to the success we had was in the planning done by Spruce and on us acting on there advice and getting the training and pre implementation check list done.

Cons

Crystal reports (optional add on) does take some time to get used to and is a little hard to use on initial setup. But overall it offers good reports.

October 2017

Kevin from Rycenga Building Center

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Growing our Business with Spruce

Pros

We went live with Spruce in 2009. Like any software change, we had some bumps in the road. Spruce helped us smooth out the bumps and made the whole process simpler then expected. Their committed staff were there to help and assist. Now, several years later, we continue to learn and utilize existing and new Spruce software features that help our performance, reporting, and bottom line. Their Tech Support have been responsive and timely. Spruce is progressive and cutting edge.

Cons

One of the biggest challenges for us is training the staff for change and the benefits for that change. Educating them to see that one upfront work around may appear to save time but in fact creates several hours on the back side.

January 2020

Katie from Wylaco Supply Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

January 2020

Poor Customer Service

Pros

It has a good inventory system. But if you are coming off anything but another program that your inventory is already in (i.e. a manual system) be prepared to spend a lot of time updating and correcting many things. It could work well for many industries, but you need to be sure yours is one of those (i.e. lumber) and you ask many questions before agreeing to this program. We have made it work for us since we've invested so much money, but it hasn't been easy.

Cons

Customer Service is horrible. You call in and basically get a call center of people who can look up the same things you can look up through their on-line help. Otherwise they have to send you to a support specialist who typically has to call you back. It takes quite a while (days not hours) for them to actually call you back and typically I have to call and raise a fuss to get a hold of anyone. The GL is primitive. There is no easy way to get reports and any information back out of the system. The only way I've found to do this is you have a learn Crystal reports, purchase the product or pay more money to have them write you a report. This is a very rigid program. If you have anything special or any "different" way of completing tasks, you will have to conform to the program. It's very difficult to get the program to conform to you. Also if you have invoice terms rather than statement terms, you will not get a proper statement to send to customers monthly. They consider each invoice the "statement". And if you have discounts on those invoices you cannot change that amount if your customer does not take that discount.

Response from ECi Software Solutions

Replied January 2020

Katie, I'm sorry to read that you feel our support team isn't getting back to you in a timely manner. Our front-line customer service reps do handle the initial calls to hopefully resolve the easy requests and keep our support specialists free to help with the more critical/urgent questions. We are going to reach out to you and review your support inquiries, so that we can understand how/where we can better meet your expectations on response times. We can also discuss your reporting/statement concerns to understand what you need and how to accomplish that in the software. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope we can help you with these issues soon. Your Spruce Team

April 2019

Danny from Berlin G. Myers Lumber Corp

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Spruce review

Spruce has helped our business become much more efficient, especially at the end of the month. What used to take us hours to perform now only takes 45mins to an hour.

Pros

The part I like most about Spruce software is the overall function of the "Point of Sales" portal. For the majority of our team this is the only area they use on a day to day basis. Spruce allows our team members the access and ability to check stock, pricing, purchase orders, customer profile information and much more all from the same screen they use each day when entering orders for our customers.

Cons

The area I like least about Spruce software is the crystal reporting that is used. I know there are hundreds of pre-written reports that are available, but having the ability to create reports and change reports within Spruce would be nice.

August 2017

Sunny from Dakota County Lumber Company

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2017

Happy with our change

Pros

This product is much more user-friendly than our last POS/Inventory management system. We moved from Epicor Eagle. Spruce offers more functionality and is much easier to train new employees on. I am a big fan of the General Ledger module and the ease of use in producing monthly financial reports.

Cons

I am not a fan of the Crystal Reports aspect of the system. It is functional, but a bit cumbersome to have to seek out the proper report, download and run it from outside the system. I hope that Spruce looks into integrating this feature in the future.

September 2017

Richard from Siewers Lumber & Millwork

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Have been a user of the Spruce Software for over 10 years and very satisfied

Pros

The software is very user friendly. Point of Sale, A/R, A/P, purchasing, and inventory control work seamless.The document management system built into the software is very nice. The dashboard module is very helpful to get a quick glimpse of all activity through the day, month or year. Very dependable software and nice people to work with. Just beginning to work with their mobile software and will be very helpful

Cons

No complains just wish we had more time to take advantage of crystal reports and other reports.

December 2018

Dennis from Ontario Building Center

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

1.0

December 2018

Not happy with software

We were using ECI Next Gen which the software worked but customer support was terrible. ECI is discontinuing Next Gen so had to switch to Spruce. The fist problem is Spruce has no Payroll. So we figured out a way to handle that. On Next Gen we could have customers sign the paper invoice they scan it so when we sent out statements our customer got a signed copy so they would who picked up material. So I understood Spruce would do that. Ten I found out the only way to capture a sign in Spruce is through a signature pad like you use when you use a credit card. So I had to buy one for every sales terminal at over 600.00 ea. Then the problem is you can't get signature when you deliver to the job site without buying a android phone for every truck and paying a monthly fee for mobile aps. Also we belong to Orgill to buy hardware now we find out you can't download invoices from Orgill. We have to either hand enter each PO or buy another android phone enter our store items on it then send it I think to excel or something and some how get a PO. Is anyone else having these same issues? We are a lumber yard/ hardware store.. If you are on Spruce and can tell me hoe you handle these problems please call support team Also our support fees almost tripled..

Pros

The support people have been good to work with. The inventory part of Spruce is much easier than Next Gen.

Cons

The EDI invoice download does not work, you can't capture customer signatures without a lot of expense. The special order system requires too many steps.

April 2019

Earl from Grayco

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Good Software

Was a rough start but smooth now. Overall great for inventory and sales, but could use some more details areas on the back end like AR and GL.

Pros

All applications are integrated into the same software

Cons

Being a .NET software, customizing and enhancements take a very long time if ever approved.

April 2019

Eileen from Wood lumber

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

2.0

April 2019

Poor service

Not great

Pros

Windows based

Cons

No feedback from developers when we send in issues with the software

December 2019

Shannon from Noltex Truss

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Construction

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

December 2019

Horrible Software and Support

Spruce was not support responsive. Once we brought our conversion issues to light, with supporting written documentation, we were not serviced, responded to, nor did the Spruce representatives attempt to right the massive errors and lacking experiences.

Pros

Nothing to speak of sadly! We did not receive what was "sold" to us as a solution.

Cons

The user interface is not directly connected to the GL. EVERYTHING is a Journal Entry into the GL. Sadly, not a software for a middle market customer.

Reasons for Choosing Spruce

Truss related features for BDFT management and job tracking management. Spruce did not delivery anything promised. Buyer beware of smoke and mirrors.

Response from ECi Software Solutions

Replied December 2019

Shannon, We are so sorry to hear that you are struggling with your software and disappointed with our level of support. We are researching your account and the specific issues you mention and someone on our management team will reach out to see how we can help. Again, we appreciate your feedback and hope we can resolve your concerns soon. Your Spruce Team

April 2019

Dan from Homco Lumber & Hardware

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Spruce, the software that makkes our Business work

Working with Spruce has been great, every time you work on an issue it is very personal and the follow up makes you feel like Spruce is there just for us.

Pros

The customer service, the ability to work outside the box to solve our specific issues so that Spruce works for US.

Cons

I struggle with this, maybe once something is voided or deleted it is gone, no recovering it.

April 2017

Jeff from Coastal Commercial Window & Door

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

1.0

Customer support

1.0

Functionality

1.0

April 2017

invested - Digital Paper Weight - Horrible follow through

Purchased this software in 2014. Tried for 18 months to implement for over 16 months. We are a specialty supplier, not a hardware or lumber yard, but the Spruce sales person promised they have a robust special order system that would work great for us. Went through demos, each time we asked for a specific task, the response was "we dont have that module loaded, but we do have that feature". Purchased server upgrades they required, never had a working P.O.S The task of setting up Spruce requires full time I.T. & Accounting persons to focus on mapping, and setup, then we find out it does not do all the accounting features that even Quick Books will do. Will not track payroll expenses by department or individual, only as a single line item, and this has to be done as a GL entry. We tried for nearly 2 years to get ECI to honor what Spruce promised, to no avail. I would not buy this product, its a lot of smoke and mirrors and broken promises. Might work if you a lumber yard, but be prepared to speed the software price to implement the package, and they leave it all on you to do it. Over priced, over rated digital Junque.

Pros

Never had full use of the program to run our business.

Cons

Nothing is as they present it to be. Expect to spend hours and hours of time, and a lot of capital to get it running.

April 2019

Patt from Beyers Lumber Co.

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Spruce Software

We have been able to better control our inventory with the daily reports from Spruce. The reports have been very beneficial for management and analysis of the business.

Pros

What we like most is the ease of using the software and the ability to go paperless.

Cons

Using the help section can be a little frustrating.