What are Future POS users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Future POS software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

3.57

21 Reviews

5
9
4
4
3
1
2
4
1
3
3.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3.5

Customer Support

out of 5
2.5

Value for money

out of 5
2.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"Almost never broke down or had an issue. Almost perfect with reports and setting up systems."
  • icon"I loved how organized the screen layout was, even though it was a little backwards throughout the menus."
  • icon"I like the fantastic customer service support and the quickness of the system itself."
  • icon"It allows us to do everything we want but the Online Ordering Graphics would be the one thing they could use improvement on but it still has direct integration so no real complaints."
  • icon"In order to program this system to your liking, you had to master the X mods and Z mods, which was the most ass backwards things I've ever seen."
  • icon"This is the most difficult system from front of house usage including order entering and check closing I've experienced in 30 years in the industry."

Jump to:

Browse all Future POS Reviews

  • Have you used Future POS and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 21 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 21 of 21 reviews

User Profile

Christopher

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2017

The restaurant I used to manage used Future POS for years and it always worked great!

Ability to track restaurant transactions, run reports, balance at the end of shifts, etc. Smooth system that is easy for all employees to learn regardless of their position within the restaurant.

Pros

Easy to use and more importantly, easy to teach new staff how to use. Can easily organize menu items by category and color making it simple to find your selections during the busiest of nights. Rarely did the system crash on us and it always helped me balance the registers at the end of the night from the days transactions.

Cons

The overall performance of Future POS was smooth, but like I said it did run a bit slow at times. This rarely happened, but that speaks volumes if this was the only negative comment I had!

Iryna

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2021

Whole world should be using this POS

Great experience. If it would be up to me, I'd have a whole world to use their POS and their Merchant services. They are the best.

Pros

I appreciate that they offer a free online ordering website that integrates with POS, a cash discount program, greatest support over the phone, a free software and a free installation, daily reports, easy refunds.

Cons

There's nothing that I'd not like. I'm totally satisfied with the POS. I have no complaints at all.

Reasons for choosing Future POS

Free POS, cash discount program, free website for online ordering, the best technical support in the world.

Reasons for switching to Future POS

HORRIBLE technical support, they kept me over 40 mins on the phoneline just to verify my account. It's unacceptable.

Maria

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

Don't buy

Pros

That they have 24 hr service to fix simple issues or changes

Cons

Systems constantly freeze up. Systems run slow. Buckle up as soon as you have a busy night. Constant glitches whether it's the screens going blank or amount from checks disappear. Certain functions that I've requested to look into because they make no sense the way they perform and you'll get the answer, we'll escalate it to Future and then you never hear back about it. Always have to follow up with help requests from my "client relationship manager" and basically stalk him to get an answer. And they never make appointments to check up on you every few months as they tell you when you sign up to "make sure you're getting a return on your investment" I definitely lost on this investment.

Response from Future POS

Sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with our software. Could you please provide an email address or phone number so we can contact you directly? You can go to FuturePOS.com and click on CONTACT. Please leave Offsides - Capterra in the subject line.

Replied June 2019

David

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

November 2019

Not up to this era...

Simply don't waste your money, I did it for almost 10 years and they are not keeping up with technology this days. their system is wrong and doesn't work at all.

Pros

Great and easy to work with. Almost never broke down or had an issue. Almost perfect with reports and setting up systems.

Cons

Handheld not up to sales person's speech. Slow and never work up to speed. Costumer service never picked up. Al most never. Sales person didn't care enough but his commission and the sale, didn't know about his product. New Future Pay Credit card processor... HORRIBLE!!!! THEE WORST!!! ETC.......

Dave

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

December 2019

Future POS isn't THAT bad

Overall I put so much time into the smallest tasks that I needed to do, that is my biggest gripe.

Pros

I loved how organized the screen layout was, even though it was a little backwards throughout the menus

Cons

In order to program this system to your liking, you had to master the X mods and Z mods, which was the most ass backwards things I've ever seen. It made the everyday life so complicated, that you were better off spending your time searching for another system.

Anonymous

Company size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

Future POS

Overall it is a good product for the price, however it leaves a lot to still be desired.

Pros

I like the fantastic customer service support and the quickness of the system itself.

Cons

When using the software it categorizes different sections too thoroughly. There should be an ability to quickly get to what you need and that's just not available.

Ashley

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Food & Beverages

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

POS of New England/Future POS Maine

After 45 years in business, we know restaurant POS systems. The Maine franchise of Future POS is the most unprofessional and incompetent company we've ever done business with.

Pros

There is nothing we like about this system.

Cons

The service and support is horrendous. After a full year of using this system, it still does not charge sales tax correctly, the reporting is awful, and menu items charge different prices on different checks. The Future POS support can't or won't figure out why. When we notified Future POS that we could not continue with them and would be switching to PosiTouch, they deleted all of our gift card sales information from the previous year out of spite.

Reasons for choosing Future POS

It was a great sales pitch. Unfortunately the owners did not provide anything they advertised.

Response from Future POS

Sorry to hear that you had a negative experience with our software. Could you please provide an email address or phone number so we can contact you directly? You can go to FuturePOS.com and click on CONTACT. Please leave Allisson's Restaurant - Capterra in the subject line.

Replied June 2019

Jonathan

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Hospital & Health Care

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Ok, but very finicky

Not great. Here on capterra to hopefully find a replacement

Pros

Since I began as the administrator I have wanted to switch software's. When it's working it's decent. But all the conditions must be perfect for that and it's hard to know what that is.

Cons

It is so finicky. All the conditions must be exactly right for this system to work and they rarely are. I support 20 locations running this and it's a constant battle with orders not going through, terminal crashing and general unreliability. The back end set up is so painful and convoluted. I have a hard time with it as an IT professional and am constantly impressed when our dining managers are able to do it, because it's the opposite of intuitive.

WILLIAM

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

Definitely not a Full Service Restaurant system

Terrible system ..I'm a small business owner with only two restaurants and cannot believe that I've got myself into a financial situation as bad as this. I'm in the fourth month and still cannot do simple restaurant functions and can not get any help from the company. The hardware they sold me is unreliable to the extent it requires 10 to 20 restarts a day and at least 5/10 service calls a day. Our U.S. Foods representative recommended this company, and out of the trust for them I went with Future..One of the worst business decisions I have ever made.

Pros

Local Sales team and Service Techs are great

Cons

This is the most difficult system from front of house usage including order entering and check closing I've experienced in 30 years in the industry. Its almost impossible to create new menu items without calling tech support and the reliability of the system is poor at best. Count on calling the support team at least 5 times a day and making excuses everyday to try and keep management, staff, and customers on your side while using such a below average piece of equipment

Lori

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

March 2016

Excellent Customer Service

I've been with FPOS, since the start-up of my business in 2008. They are the only POS system I've known, so I don't have any other brand to compare them to. But, in my opinion it's not the equipment that keeps me with them, although I find it easy to use.... It's the CUSTOMER SERVICE! Carissa is FANTASTIC !!! She is always there when I need her and I know that even if she's on an installation, I can count on the other technical staff for their support. They are knowledgeable, quick, friendly and always go the extra mile. No matter how great the equipment...without excellent people behind it...it's worthless.

Brandon

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Future POS - Finally A Real POS Company!!

Pros

The software has full customization, very easy to use. The updates are constantly revolving and now we have access to EMV payment through the POS

Cons

It allows us to do everything we want but the Online Ordering Graphics would be the one thing they could use improvement on but it still has direct integration so no real complaints

Spencer

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

April 2020

Over Billing

In January 2020 I noticed a discrepancy between my merchant statements and my bank statements that prompted me to look at other months and the result was that I had been over billed totaling over a thousand dollars in just the months that I looked at. When I called to create an open ticket and present them with the information showing the errors, I was quickly given the run around with the issue never being resolved. The tickets are still open and I never received any follow up that I was promised. They work hand in hand with another company called Meridian Star and between the two of them I was signed up for contract that has early termination fees that I was unaware of as well. Bottom line do not use them, you will get billed far more than necessary and they will keep the money.

Pros

There is nothing about this company that I would recommend.

Cons

Read your merchant statements and compare them with your bank statements to make sure you are not being over charged.

Sheila

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

March 2016

Future POS

Future POS has been our system of choice for over a decade at our multi faceted concept restaurants. The adaptability with user friendly menu labeling, easily allows our staff to become familiar quickly with locating items from our menu based upon their category of the customers dining experience. During training this is key in developing customer service with efficiency as well as having the capabilities to prompt the user with the proper functions based on the requirements of the particular items. Once a staff is familiar with the program it becomes second nature to process an order, thereby giving true customer service a genuine expedited experience. Also, as a managerial tool, we have been able to track sales for items that sell exceedingly well versus the items that no longer seem to move as frequently. This has become a tool in menu management and helps us when changes need to be made. The overall program helps to utilize many different reports that can assist managers with multiple tracking needs, including payroll, sales, theft prevention and loss. Their tech support can be rated second to none, offering personal support for growth and development.

JACOB

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Restaurants

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

Did not work out for us

This may be a good system, there is definitely potential once all the kinks are worked out and sales people know what they are talking about before you sign a contract with them and it turns out not true.

Pros

Although confusing, you have a lot of functionality with this system.

Cons

Very difficult to learn the system. The back end reports were terrible from what I am use to. I was told that you would have remote access to the back end of the house, but that was a lie. You can remote into the back of the house but you have to be on the same network, which makes it pointless. The sales director said the guy who told me that didn't know so it wasn't his fault. So he inadvertently lied to get me to sign on and when I found out it doesn't do what he said it was my fault and can't get out of contract. I travel a lot so this feature was very important to me. The system is also supposed to work offline if you lost internet connection, but it didn't for me. In the few times we used it, it crashed twice and lost the open checks on the computer. This made us loose hundreds if not over a thousand dollars in sales because employees had to revert to old system and go off memory and provide discounts because of the wait.

Michael

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Hospitality

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

We have had nothing but problems with this system. Support is poorly trained and unavailable at time

None at all

Pros

Not Much to like about it. Constantly going down. Support is usually new hires that do not understand system especially on non business hours.

Cons

Constant issues with credit card service. System very unreliable. We have had both kitchen printer and receipt printer fail within the first seven months. purchased additional camera sytem that has not worked properly to date.

Roy (Sonny)

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

February 2015

Future POS Review

I have found Future POS to be the best. I use it in my Pizza Shops and I love it. The most important thing to remember about any POS is it giving you a Return On Investment. With all the tools that Future POS has I have to say ABSOLUTLY. When I am not working in the store and one of my managers Comps a meal or does a Paid out I immediately get a text to my phone letting me know who did it, how much, and why. I also get my reports and payroll emailed to me. The tracking of items and modifier are the best. I know that I am getting paid for every item rung up for the price I want to sell it for.

Curt

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

March 2016

If you have a restaurant, this is the ONLY software you need.

Have been using FPOS for over 15 years. No problems. Excellent back end interface allowing for almost limitless possibilities on the front end. Have had many updates, with no issues at all. The reporting, inventory, security and overall back end goes way beyond what most end users will ever need, all while keeping simplicity a high point. Thanks FPOS for making my job easier.

Armando and Angela

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

March 2016

POS system in Mexican Restaurant

We have used Future POS since 2008 and have been very pleased with both the system and the company. The system is easy to use, generates reports in a number of different ways and options, and the staff always responds quickly if we have an issue or need assistance. We would recommend Future POS to anyone who is looking at using a POS system in their restaurant or business.

Bertrand

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

March 2016

Satisfied!

I will have to say that this software is perfect for me. I have been using it for awhile now and I really like it. It has so many great features, very easy to use, customer service is very reliable. I took their maintenance program for peace of mind and I am glad I did! Always a phone call away! Great job Future POS!

Renee

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5

March 2016

Excellent!!

Have always had a great experience with this software. It is very user friendly, and training new staff is a breeze. I have always had great support from the Future POS team, from sales to technical. They have actually adapted the software to work for all areas of our business (not just for food & beverage).

Lisa

Time used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra

2

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

Terrible Customer Service

I am switching from this system as soon as possible. The customer service is terrible and the system consistently fails during busy times.

Showing 1 - 21 of 21 reviews
Future POS

Future POS

3.57/5 out of 21 reviews
icon8 recommendations
The number of recommendations our advisors have made over the past 30 days. Our advisors assess buyers’ needs for free and only recommend products that meet buyers’ needs. Vendors pay Software Advice for these referrals.
PriceDemo