Lavu is a Point of Sale solution designed for use by restaurants, bars, and nightclubs - from full-service, quick-service, and franchise restaurants, to food trucks, coffee shops, and lounges. Users can choose between bar, restaurant, and quick-service interfaces, each designed for the correlating environment. The system allows users to customize most aspects, including unlimited menu modifiers, custom menu item icons, and layout. Lavu gives establishments the option to implement tableside ordering, supports take-out and delivery routing, and offers rewards and loyalty through an integration with Loyaltree, as well as an in-house program.

In addition to the POS, Lavu also gives users inventory management tools, including low-count warnings and an ‘86 countdown. Employee scheduling, shift-trading, and payroll reports are examples of what’s offered for Employee Management. Lavu offers a host of sales, inventory and expense reports that can be accessed anywhere with an internet connection. Currently being used in 89 countries, Lavu can be translated into any language.

Create menu modifiers with customized pricing.
Create menu modifiers with customized pricing.

Create menu modifiers with customized pricing.

Guest tickets designed for efficiency.

Guest tickets designed for efficiency.

Management controls employee access to functions.

Management controls employee access to functions.

Scroll through open orders.

Scroll through open orders.

Send directions to delivery drivers.

Send directions to delivery drivers.

Upload pictures as menu icons.

Upload pictures as menu icons.

Supported Operating System(s):

Mac OS, Web browser (OS agnostic)



65 Reviews of Lavu iPad POS

Overall rating

3.5 / 5 stars

Write a review

Showing 1 - 20 of 65 reviews

Start your review of Lavu iPad POS

Write a review

Taylor from Bisbee Breakfast Club

Number of employees:  51-200 employees

Ease-of-use

Functionality

November 2018

Best Restaurant Software Yet

Pros

-Love the ease of using an iPad
-Size of the icons
-Different color option icons
- Different categories available
-Ease of table organization
-Ease of checkouts
-Very well laid out
-Easy clock-in

Cons

-Hard signing process, customers complained

Review Source: Capterra

Ben from El Paso Motor Inn

Type of Store:  Restaurant

Number of employees:  11-50 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

August 2018

Terrible Customer Service and Support

Pros

There is nothing positive I can say about this product. Lavu does not care about their clients just their bank account

Cons

There was no support as soon as they received our money. They promised everything and we received nothing. DO NOT CHOOSE LAVU YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED

Review Source

John from Mangia Italian Restaurant

Number of employees:  11-50 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

August 2018

UNBELIEVABLE!!!

But wait there's more! How about the fact that the kitchen printer prints two checks, that no one can seem to fix. Not only does it waste an enormous amount of paper but it is confusing as the checks are not identical and it blows through a ribbon in 3 or four days! Occasionally it will resend an order back yo the kitchen that has already been made, etc... The is no individual item printer assignment either which means that you have to send an entire category instead of just one item to a screen or printer.

Pros

The iPhone app. Really nothing else, really.

Cons

WOW! Where do I begin? Should I start with how they outright lied to me to make the sale? How about sending a completely incompetent tech support personnel company to help me with my network? Maybe I should start with the fact that they billed me today for Quickbooks integration that I DON'T EVEN HAVE!
Let's start with the outright misrepresentation of their product. I specifically asked if they had online ordering and I was told yes we do. After I had purchased the system and went to set it up I asked "Well how do I set up the credit card integration for the online ordering?" Then I was told "Oh we have online ordering but we don't have online payment" WHAT!!? This is 2017 not 1999 what do you mean you don't have online payment? "We had a problem with it and had to take it off line, we should have it back up by Nov."
Well today is 08-21-2018 and guess what I still don't have? You got it - online payment.

Review Source: Capterra

Response: Lavu, Lavu, Inc.

August 2018

Hi John, We are very sorry to hear about the problems you are experiencing. I will have someone from our care team look into this and get back to you as soon as possible. Thank you

Dennis from Rough Diamond Brewery, LLC

Type of Store:  Bar / nightclub

Number of employees:  2-10 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

August 2018

We so regret the day we heard of Lavu

Lavu is a POS and we dont point of sale

Pros

There is nothing we like about Lavu There is nothing we like about Lavu There is nothing we like about Lavu There is nothing we like about Lavu There is nothing we like about Lavu

Cons

This is the worst decision we have ever made........we have had nothing but problems and customer support is sorry.........Our system has given us problems from day one and the only reason we are still with Lavu is because we paid a year in advance and the crooks wont give us our money back

Review Source

Response: Hilary, Lavu, Inc.

August 2018

Hi Dennis, We are so sorry to hear about the issues you've been experiencing. Edgar from our Care team will be reaching out to you today to see if we can find a resolution. We very much appreciate your business and are committed to making things right. Thank you

Lori from Boothbay Craft Brewery

Type of Store:  Restaurant

Number of employees:  11-50 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

July 2018

Lavu has been great for us!

Financial Reports. Time cards/Payroll. Theft of employees. Tip tracking. Busy hours of operation. Training testimonials. All of this is helpful to us.

Pros

Customer service is fantastic! The best support out there, we really feel like they listen to us and are responsive when we need something.

Cons

Initial set up of the hardware was a little clunkier than I hoped. Software was way easier and then we were up and running.

Review Source

joe from Mashcraft Brewery

Type of Store:  Bar / nightclub

Number of employees:  11-50 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

July 2018

Horrible customer service!

I would never recommend this product to anyone. Cost us over huge and despite them never getting the system fully functional.

Pros

Uses hardware for the terminal that can be converted to something else when getting rid of their service.

Cons

Customer service inability to fix problems and no technicians that can be routed within 24-72hrs to get you up an running

Review Source

Response: Hilary, Lavu, Inc.

July 2018

Hi Joe, I am really sorry to hear about the experience you have had with Lavu as a new customer. We strive to provide the best customer service in the industry and are very sorry that you did not receive that level of service from us. If you are willing to call again I encourage you to, so we can do better and make things right for you. The # for support is 855-767-5288. Thank you, Hilary

LinkedIn icon
Verified Reviewer

Number of employees:  11-50 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

July 2018

TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE WITH LAVU

Pros

Absolutely nothing. There is no positive to this POS system and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone I know.

Cons

After purchasing LAVU in April of 2018 , three months have gone by and the LAVU system is still inoperable. It's some of the worst customer service I've seen and that's if you can even get a response from someone. LAVU is a VERY poor choice if you're looking for a POS system and I do not recommend purchasing.

Review Source: GetApp

Response: Lavu, Lavu, Inc.

July 2018

We are very sorry to hear about your experience with Lavu and encourage you to reach out again to our support team so we can try and escalate your case and find the answers you need. Please call us at 855-767-5288. Thank you- The Lavu Team

Duane from Belhurst Castle

Type of Store:  Other specialty retailer

Number of employees:  51-200 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

July 2018

TERRIBLE POS SOFTWARE

Terrible choice of product when it comes to a POS system. Very disappointed and would not recommend.

Pros

No positive about this system. Nothing to say that's positive in terms of it's use or operations.

Cons

POS system as a whole, customer service, poor choice, non-responsive, expensive, inoperable to use.

Review Source

John from Gecko Parks, LLC

Type of Store:  Restaurant

Number of employees:  51-200 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

June 2018

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

If you want to have issues and spend most of your time trying to get your POS working properly then go with these guys. If you like losing money on sales go with these guys. Worst system and customer service out there. The biggest mistake I made in business was choosing Lavu.

Pros

NONE

Cons

First of all, try calling LAVU. It will take you 30+ minutes to get ahold of anyone. I put in 7 POS stations and 6 handhelds with 4 menu boards. It was a good size order. The process started in July 2017 and now we are in June 2018 and our menu boards still don't work and our card readers for our arcade games do not work. They charge me monthly for it and refuse to credit me for items that are not working. They keep sending me messages that their team is working on it and working on the weekends etc. All BS this system as well as the ERS system they recommend is junk. AVOID!!!

Review Source

Josef from Real Estate

Type of Store:  Restaurant

Number of employees:  11-50 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

April 2018

Easy POS without backup.

A simple system, but not for areas with semi frequent internet outages.

Pros

Lavu is a very cost effective and easy to setup POS system on the market. From a server interface it was clear and logical.

Cons

The biggest problem with this system is what happens when the WiFi goes down. It has trouble sending tickets and will not store credit card information for later processing.

Review Source

Joe from Rev Cafe

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

March 2018

Great system, could use a few more basic features that many other systems use.

Pros

Love the ease of use. The customer service has been really good as of late. Would for the most part recommend to any business.

Cons

Need some better basic features:
-Option for end of day report to reconcile as if the credit card tips were given out as cash to the servers, as this is the process for most restaurants.

-Better tip reporting capability for employees. It would be great for it to ask for total tips to be asked when employee is clocking out. There are many reasons for this including tip out, tip pool etc.

Review Source: Capterra

Response: Lavu, Lavu, Inc.

March 2018

Hi Joe. Thank you so much for the feedback. We're glad to hear Lavu is meeting your needs and will strive to keep improving to make your experience even better.

Jamie from Cold Creek Tavern

Number of employees:  11-50 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

February 2018

Not A Fan -Would suggest Pen & Paper

Benefits: It was a band-aid for when I didn't have anything. LAVU has now become an albatross around the neck of our business.

Pros

Generically, the price is what what the draw for me an my small Craft Beer bar. I even recommended it at the beginning to a few other customers, but it was a mistake.

Cons

Not customer support per se, but the fact that when they utter "development team" right there, there is no hope your problem will be solved. None. They now call a problem that needs the development team a "Feature Request" which is the nice way of them saying, "No, we are not going to fix it, ever". A "Feature Request" sounds like you are imposing on them to do something special for you, instead of just fixing the software to work as intended

The back end web software is in shambles and rarely works as advertised. The reporting features give you decent onscreen views, but you cant reprint a ticket that you can see on their backend web interface. The "print layout" for some tables dont work and give random data.

Discounting system is not robust.

Review Source: Capterra

Response: Lavu, Lavu, Inc.

February 2018

Hi Jamie, We're sorry to hear your experience with Lavu has not been positive. We strive to provide the best experience for our customers and would love another opportunity to try and resolve any issues. Please call our 24/7 Customer Care team at 855-767-5288 or email us at support@lavu.com. Thank you, Lavu

Heather from Black Forest Pub & Grille

Type of Store:  Restaurant

Number of employees:  11-50 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

January 2018

A good system but customer support is most often disappointing

Pros

Ease of use
Joshua Maestas from customer service was so incredibly helpful. He took time to listen to the complicated scenario we were trying to resolve. He followed up when and how he said he would. Most of the time our customer service experience is frustrating but he was truly a breath of fresh air.

Cons

Back end reporting; customer service. There are programming bugs and we continuously are told "development is working on it" but never saw any resolution. If it isn't a priority for you and not intended to be fixed then don't tell us it is being fixed.

Review Source

Lianne from St. Martha's

Type of Store:  Restaurant

Number of employees:  11-50 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

December 2017

Other than software issues we like it a lot.

Pros

Set up is easy and logical, et is easy to use and does what we need it to do...and excellent customer support.

Cons

Sometimes you can be on hold for a really long time...have tried the call back option but didn`t get a call back...

Review Source

Rebecca from Fireside Martini and Wine Bar

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

December 2017

Jessica Schell is TREMENDOUSLY helpful and knowledgeable!

Pros

Ease of use. New employees can figure things out quite easily.
Integrates smoothly with Vantiv (Mercury) including their gift program.

Cons

Until just this week, I would have said that the inability to take EMV, Apple Pay, etc. through our current merchant processor was my biggest challenge.
Thankfully for the support staff, I was able to purchase the equipment necessary and will be up and running with our new terminal and it's new features soon!

Review Source: Capterra

Laura from Olympic Pita

Type of Store:  Restaurant

Number of employees:  11-50 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

December 2017

Lavu is easy to use and has fantastic customer service

Pros

INTEGRATION with 3rd party delivery sites via Chowly (so no more manually inputting orders from seamless/ delivery.com/ eat24/ etc. into the POS system), easy to use, good quality hardware, fantastic customer service (anytime I call, the question gets solved the first time; customer service is friendly & very effective; always easily accessible), lots of amazing features (reports, inventory management, employee management)

When I first contacted Lavu, we were only interested in switching POS systems for 1 reason: integration with 3rd party delivery sites. Lavu didn't have the Chowly integration at the time I first contacted them, but 2 weeks later, I got a call from my sales rep saying they were in the process of speaking/ partnering with Chowly. Lavu is a small company (compared to other POS system companies) and all employees work out of 1 building in Arizona. This is a major advantage to me. There is not a lot of red tape, they work closely together (if I have a question for someone in another department, my sales rep would literally walk over to them and ask) and things get done... FAST!

Cons

Nothing to do with Lavu - it's just that apple software (i.e. iPad) is more costly than using Android-based systems (i.e. tablets) but the iPad is MUCH more user friendly

Review Source

Jordan from Hug-Hes Cafe

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

November 2017

The software is great and the customer support is amazing

Pros

I love that it's cloud based and reliable. We had been using a pos that had a "brain" and it was really frustrating how easy the system would completely go down

Cons

I wish it had a device like the clover flex. It's a device that the server can take to the table take the customers order, take credit card payment right there and print the receipt without having to leave the table. All in one device

Review Source: Capterra

Eliecer from Artisan Bakery and Pastries Inc

Type of Store:  Other specialty retailer

Number of employees:  2-10 employees

Ease-of-use

Customer support

Functionality

November 2017

Really good customer service

Pros

Always someone available to help you, price is affordable and meets the needs for my business. The system is easy to understand

Cons

They are not local in my area so I am face to face person. But other than that it’s a great service and worth the money that I paid.

Review Source

Tommy from Tommy v’s pastaria

Type of Store:  Restaurant

Number of employees:  2-10 employees

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

November 2017

Fast and easy

Pros

Organized and clean lay out that is easy to use . Reports are easily accessed and very thouro . The employee time card is great

Cons

This is my first pos system so I don’t have a lot to compare it too. I wanted something easy to use because I’m dumb and this is very easy to figure out. I guess the only thing I don’t like is paying the monthly bill .

Review Source

Kevin from the Productivity Co., Inc.

Type of Store:  Restaurant

Number of employees:  1 employee

Ease-of-use

Value for money

Customer support

Functionality

November 2017

Excellent, fast, easy-to-use system

Pros

Simple, fast order taking with plenty of options. Easy to use on IOS devices. Very reasonable cost.

Cons

Not much not to like. Configuration takes time, but comparable to others. Reporting is a little inflexible, but necessary reports are available and work well.

Review Source

Displaying 1 - 20 of 65 reviews