Lavu iPad POS software


Lavu is a Point of Sale solution designed for use by restaurants, bars, and nightclubs - from full-service, quick-service, and franchise restaurants, to food trucks, coffee shops, and lounges. Users can choose between bar, restaurant, and quick-service interfaces, each designed for the correlating environment. The system allows users to customize most aspects, including unlimited menu modifiers, custom menu item icons, and layout. Lavu gives establishments the option to implement tableside ordering, supports take-out and delivery routing, and offers rewards and loyalty through an integration with Loyaltree, as well as an in-house program.

In addition to the POS, Lavu also gives users inventory management tools, including low-count warnings and an ‘86 countdown. Employee scheduling, shift-trading, and payroll reports are examples of what’s offered for Employee Management. Lavu offers a host of sales, inventory and expense reports that can be accessed anywhere with an internet connection. Currently being used in 89 countries, Lavu can be translated into any language.

Supported Operating System(s):
Mac OS , Web browser (OS agnostic)

63 Reviews of Lavu iPad POS

Showing 1 - 20 of 63

Start your review of Lavu iPad POS

Click to start
  • Ben from El Paso Motor Inn

    Specialty: Restaurant

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    August 2018

    Terrible Customer Service and Support

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    There is nothing positive I can say about this product. Lavu does not care about their clients just their bank account

    Cons

    There was no support as soon as they received our money. They promised everything and we received nothing. DO NOT CHOOSE LAVU YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • John from Mangia Italian Restaurant

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    August 2018

    UNBELIEVABLE!!!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    But wait there's more! How about the fact that the kitchen printer prints two checks, that no one can seem to fix. Not only does it waste an enormous amount of paper but it is confusing as the checks are not identical and it blows through a ribbon in 3 or four days! Occasionally it will resend an order back yo the kitchen that has already been made, etc... The is no individual item printer assignment either which means that you have to send an entire category instead of just one item to a screen or printer.

    Pros

    The iPhone app. Really nothing else, really.

    Cons

    WOW! Where do I begin? Should I start with how they outright lied to me to make the sale? How about sending a completely incompetent tech support personnel company to help me with my network? Maybe I should start with the fact that they billed me today for Quickbooks integration that I DON'T EVEN HAVE!
    Let's start with the outright misrepresentation of their product. I specifically asked if they had online ordering and I was told yes we do. After I had purchased the system and went to set it up I asked "Well how do I set up the credit card integration for the online ordering?" Then I was told "Oh we have online ordering but we don't have online payment" WHAT!!? This is 2017 not 1999 what do you mean you don't have online payment? "We had a problem with it and had to take it off line, we should have it back up by Nov."
    Well today is 08-21-2018 and guess what I still don't have? You got it - online payment.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Lavu, Lavu, Inc.

    August 2018

    Hi John, We are very sorry to hear about the problems you are experiencing. I will have someone from our care team look into this and get back to you as soon as possible. Thank you

  • Dennis from Rough Diamond Brewery, LLC

    Specialty: Bar / nightclub

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    August 2018

    We so regret the day we heard of Lavu

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Lavu is a POS and we dont point of sale

    Pros

    There is nothing we like about Lavu There is nothing we like about Lavu There is nothing we like about Lavu There is nothing we like about Lavu There is nothing we like about Lavu

    Cons

    This is the worst decision we have ever made........we have had nothing but problems and customer support is sorry.........Our system has given us problems from day one and the only reason we are still with Lavu is because we paid a year in advance and the crooks wont give us our money back

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source

    Response: Hilary, Lavu, Inc.

    August 2018

    Hi Dennis, We are so sorry to hear about the issues you've been experiencing. Edgar from our Care team will be reaching out to you today to see if we can find a resolution. We very much appreciate your business and are committed to making things right. Thank you

  • Lori from Boothbay Craft Brewery

    Specialty: Restaurant

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    July 2018

    Lavu has been great for us!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Financial Reports. Time cards/Payroll. Theft of employees. Tip tracking. Busy hours of operation. Training testimonials. All of this is helpful to us.

    Pros

    Customer service is fantastic! The best support out there, we really feel like they listen to us and are responsive when we need something.

    Cons

    Initial set up of the hardware was a little clunkier than I hoped. Software was way easier and then we were up and running.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • joe from Mashcraft Brewery

    Specialty: Bar / nightclub

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    July 2018

    Horrible customer service!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    I would never recommend this product to anyone. Cost us over huge and despite them never getting the system fully functional.

    Pros

    Uses hardware for the terminal that can be converted to something else when getting rid of their service.

    Cons

    Customer service inability to fix problems and no technicians that can be routed within 24-72hrs to get you up an running

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source

    Response: Hilary, Lavu, Inc.

    July 2018

    Hi Joe, I am really sorry to hear about the experience you have had with Lavu as a new customer. We strive to provide the best customer service in the industry and are very sorry that you did not receive that level of service from us. If you are willing to call again I encourage you to, so we can do better and make things right for you. The # for support is 855-767-5288. Thank you, Hilary

  • Verified Reviewer

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    July 2018

    TERRIBLE EXPERIENCE WITH LAVU

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Absolutely nothing. There is no positive to this POS system and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone I know.

    Cons

    After purchasing LAVU in April of 2018 , three months have gone by and the LAVU system is still inoperable. It's some of the worst customer service I've seen and that's if you can even get a response from someone. LAVU is a VERY poor choice if you're looking for a POS system and I do not recommend purchasing.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: GetApp

    Response: Lavu, Lavu, Inc.

    July 2018

    We are very sorry to hear about your experience with Lavu and encourage you to reach out again to our support team so we can try and escalate your case and find the answers you need. Please call us at 855-767-5288. Thank you- The Lavu Team

  • Duane from Belhurst Castle

    Specialty: Other specialty retailer

    Number of employees: 51-200 employees

    July 2018

    TERRIBLE POS SOFTWARE

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Terrible choice of product when it comes to a POS system. Very disappointed and would not recommend.

    Pros

    No positive about this system. Nothing to say that's positive in terms of it's use or operations.

    Cons

    POS system as a whole, customer service, poor choice, non-responsive, expensive, inoperable to use.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • John from Gecko Parks, LLC

    Specialty: Restaurant

    Number of employees: 51-200 employees

    June 2018

    AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    If you want to have issues and spend most of your time trying to get your POS working properly then go with these guys. If you like losing money on sales go with these guys. Worst system and customer service out there. The biggest mistake I made in business was choosing Lavu.

    Pros

    NONE

    Cons

    First of all, try calling LAVU. It will take you 30+ minutes to get ahold of anyone. I put in 7 POS stations and 6 handhelds with 4 menu boards. It was a good size order. The process started in July 2017 and now we are in June 2018 and our menu boards still don't work and our card readers for our arcade games do not work. They charge me monthly for it and refuse to credit me for items that are not working. They keep sending me messages that their team is working on it and working on the weekends etc. All BS this system as well as the ERS system they recommend is junk. AVOID!!!

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Josef from Real Estate

    Specialty: Restaurant

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    April 2018

    Easy POS without backup.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    A simple system, but not for areas with semi frequent internet outages.

    Pros

    Lavu is a very cost effective and easy to setup POS system on the market. From a server interface it was clear and logical.

    Cons

    The biggest problem with this system is what happens when the WiFi goes down. It has trouble sending tickets and will not store credit card information for later processing.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source
  • Joe from Rev Cafe

    March 2018

    Great system, could use a few more basic features that many other systems use.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Love the ease of use. The customer service has been really good as of late. Would for the most part recommend to any business.

    Cons

    Need some better basic features:
    -Option for end of day report to reconcile as if the credit card tips were given out as cash to the servers, as this is the process for most restaurants.

    -Better tip reporting capability for employees. It would be great for it to ask for total tips to be asked when employee is clocking out. There are many reasons for this including tip out, tip pool etc.

    This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Lavu, Lavu, Inc.

    March 2018

    Hi Joe. Thank you so much for the feedback. We're glad to hear Lavu is meeting your needs and will strive to keep improving to make your experience even better.

  • Jamie from Cold Creek Tavern

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    February 2018

    Not A Fan -Would suggest Pen & Paper

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    Benefits: It was a band-aid for when I didn't have anything. LAVU has now become an albatross around the neck of our business.

    Pros

    Generically, the price is what what the draw for me an my small Craft Beer bar. I even recommended it at the beginning to a few other customers, but it was a mistake.

    Cons

    Not customer support per se, but the fact that when they utter "development team" right there, there is no hope your problem will be solved. None. They now call a problem that needs the development team a "Feature Request" which is the nice way of them saying, "No, we are not going to fix it, ever". A "Feature Request" sounds like you are imposing on them to do something special for you, instead of just fixing the software to work as intended

    The back end web software is in shambles and rarely works as advertised. The reporting features give you decent onscreen views, but you cant reprint a ticket that you can see on their backend web interface. The "print layout" for some tables dont work and give random data.

    Discounting system is not robust.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra

    Response: Lavu, Lavu, Inc.

    February 2018

    Hi Jamie, We're sorry to hear your experience with Lavu has not been positive. We strive to provide the best experience for our customers and would love another opportunity to try and resolve any issues. Please call our 24/7 Customer Care team at 855-767-5288 or email us at support@lavu.com. Thank you, Lavu

  • Heather from Black Forest Pub & Grille

    Specialty: Restaurant

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    January 2018

    A good system but customer support is most often disappointing

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Ease of use
    Joshua Maestas from customer service was so incredibly helpful. He took time to listen to the complicated scenario we were trying to resolve. He followed up when and how he said he would. Most of the time our customer service experience is frustrating but he was truly a breath of fresh air.

    Cons

    Back end reporting; customer service. There are programming bugs and we continuously are told "development is working on it" but never saw any resolution. If it isn't a priority for you and not intended to be fixed then don't tell us it is being fixed.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Lianne from St. Martha's

    Specialty: Restaurant

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    December 2017

    Other than software issues we like it a lot.

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Set up is easy and logical, et is easy to use and does what we need it to do...and excellent customer support.

    Cons

    Sometimes you can be on hold for a really long time...have tried the call back option but didn`t get a call back...

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Rebecca from Fireside Martini and Wine Bar

    December 2017

    Jessica Schell is TREMENDOUSLY helpful and knowledgeable!

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Ease of use. New employees can figure things out quite easily.
    Integrates smoothly with Vantiv (Mercury) including their gift program.

    Cons

    Until just this week, I would have said that the inability to take EMV, Apple Pay, etc. through our current merchant processor was my biggest challenge.
    Thankfully for the support staff, I was able to purchase the equipment necessary and will be up and running with our new terminal and it's new features soon!

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Laura from Olympic Pita

    Specialty: Restaurant

    Number of employees: 11-50 employees

    December 2017

    Lavu is easy to use and has fantastic customer service

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    INTEGRATION with 3rd party delivery sites via Chowly (so no more manually inputting orders from seamless/ delivery.com/ eat24/ etc. into the POS system), easy to use, good quality hardware, fantastic customer service (anytime I call, the question gets solved the first time; customer service is friendly & very effective; always easily accessible), lots of amazing features (reports, inventory management, employee management)

    When I first contacted Lavu, we were only interested in switching POS systems for 1 reason: integration with 3rd party delivery sites. Lavu didn't have the Chowly integration at the time I first contacted them, but 2 weeks later, I got a call from my sales rep saying they were in the process of speaking/ partnering with Chowly. Lavu is a small company (compared to other POS system companies) and all employees work out of 1 building in Arizona. This is a major advantage to me. There is not a lot of red tape, they work closely together (if I have a question for someone in another department, my sales rep would literally walk over to them and ask) and things get done... FAST!

    Cons

    Nothing to do with Lavu - it's just that apple software (i.e. iPad) is more costly than using Android-based systems (i.e. tablets) but the iPad is MUCH more user friendly

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Jordan from Hug-Hes Cafe

    November 2017

    The software is great and the customer support is amazing

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    I love that it's cloud based and reliable. We had been using a pos that had a "brain" and it was really frustrating how easy the system would completely go down

    Cons

    I wish it had a device like the clover flex. It's a device that the server can take to the table take the customers order, take credit card payment right there and print the receipt without having to leave the table. All in one device

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
  • Eliecer from Artisan Bakery and Pastries Inc

    Specialty: Other specialty retailer

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    November 2017

    Really good customer service

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Pros

    Always someone available to help you, price is affordable and meets the needs for my business. The system is easy to understand

    Cons

    They are not local in my area so I am face to face person. But other than that it’s a great service and worth the money that I paid.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Tommy from Tommy v’s pastaria

    Specialty: Restaurant

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    November 2017

    Fast and easy

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Organized and clean lay out that is easy to use . Reports are easily accessed and very thouro . The employee time card is great

    Cons

    This is my first pos system so I don’t have a lot to compare it too. I wanted something easy to use because I’m dumb and this is very easy to figure out. I guess the only thing I don’t like is paying the monthly bill .

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Kevin from the Productivity Co., Inc.

    Specialty: Restaurant

    Number of employees: 1 employee

    November 2017

    Excellent, fast, easy-to-use system

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money
    Pros

    Simple, fast order taking with plenty of options. Easy to use on IOS devices. Very reasonable cost.

    Cons

    Not much not to like. Configuration takes time, but comparable to others. Reporting is a little inflexible, but necessary reports are available and work well.

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source
  • Jurij from Spiral-Ice

    Number of employees: 2-10 employees

    November 2017

    I had an overall excellent experience with Lavu, especially with Jessica Schell

    Ease-of-use
    Functionality
    Quality
    Support
    Value for Money

    control over my business especially financial over view as to what we are doing and where the business is going.

    Pros

    Its easy to use, very user friendly and the good thing is you get a accustomed to the system really face. Definitely a software I would recommend to any start up business and big business that is in the food and beverage industry.

    Cons

    I was not happy so see that the printer options limit you to use only Epson. Not being able to get an Epson, I use a Bixolon, which is provided in the drop down menu but no options what so ever. Having had said that I am not able to add my logo on the receipts since i can´t configure this within the Lavu software I have no option as to leave the receipt without logo!!

    This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
    Review Source: Capterra
Do you use Lavu iPad POS?Write a Review
In just fifteen minutes, the experts at Software Advice can help you narrow down the right software for your organization. Call us for a Free FastStart Consultation: (844) 685-8455