What are Dynamics RMS users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using Dynamics RMS software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.11

61 Reviews

5
22
4
23
3
11
2
4
1
1
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"It is so user friendly and easy to manage by workload within my store. I would recommend to anyone."
  • icon"Features, functions and integration with ecommerce, banking, and qb financial increasing accuracy and reducing efforts in a secure manner."
  • icon"This is a great product, and it's cost effective. The vendor is very helpful and has good reputation."
  • icon"It is no longer supported and so if the system ever permanently fails/crashes I am in trouble."
  • icon"Some inconveniences during the instalation time and also could be expensive for small companies, some times is not enought efficient."
  • icon"Crashing, crashing, crashing. We've had the software in place for over 7 years and it's been one of the highest areas of complaints from employees because of the frequency of crashing."

Jump to:

Browse all Dynamics RMS Reviews

  • Have you used Dynamics RMS and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

Showing 1 - 25 of 61 reviews

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

November 2018

Best for Retail Management

Microsoft Dynamics RMS is a simple software with many functionalities and a SQL database. However, it is pricey, slow and has a less user friendly interface.

Pros

The software can be used to perform almost every function related to retail management such as inventory management, purchasing, pricing, point-of-sale capabilities etc. The software is also easy to use and can be used by any type of business. It also has a functional SQL database. The software also gives customized options.

Cons

The software can be said to be quite expensive mostly as its used by small and medium business. Also, there are responsiveness issues and the software freezes at times. Furthermore, the software lacks visibility and also the interface is not very user-friendly.

Al

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Computer Networking

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2016

Wonderful but unfortunately Obsolete

Microsoft like many large companies do purchased QuickSell RMS and made it part of their Dynamics line. The software is well written with lots of reporting and connectivity options. It fit well in the "run everything on Windows" environment that existed before Wifi everywhere, smart phones with NFC and chip-and-pin credit card transactions. One license is required per register but manager seats are "free". The Headquarters package isn't required but allows you to manage and report on multiple stores simultaneously. Everything required from sales tax withholding and reports for your accountant are included naturally but you will still need an accounting program. When it comes to features you will be hard pressed to find a more developed package. Microsoft has abandoned development for this platform so I can only recommend that companies already using it continue to use it while it is supported. Others should be looking at a cloud based (possibly e-commerce integrated) solution. PCI compliance will be a function of your credit card processor (device or software) as RMS no longer processes credit card security transactions. Look for processor software that integrates from your merchant bank.

Pros

Runs with SQL Server or (free/included) SQL Express.

Cons

No cloud features, no migration path.

sam

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Free Trial

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2.5

Customer support

out of 5
3.5

Functionality

out of 5

January 2015

MS retail system

Pros

I have been using Microsoft RMS for seven months. Overall, the product is really good. It is better because of the Microsoft partner that I use for support. The software is very flexible, if you know how to use it. Our partner has been able to tweek the software to meet almost every need. We use almost every possible feature. We have a website and ship internationally, four retail stores, open house accounts for customers, use gift cards and transfers from one store to another. We have had a few issues; however, our partner has helped us work out most of them so far and is still working on the few that we have. He has customized this to meet our needs. Out of the box, I don't think we would get the same results.

Cons

It's limited in what it can do. Basic functions are omitted, and if you want something fixed, most of the time they say that cannot be done because it is hard-coded. It crashes once in a while, and even after install, they still cannot get credit voucher to load a year later.

Denis

Company size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Review DRivera Dynamics RMS

In general the tool is a good options to control and manage request of internal users

Pros

It is very easy to set up, easy access with or without internet connection, with this tool We can to have statistic information very fast to take decisions and improve the services

Cons

Some inconveniences during the instalation time and also could be expensive for small companies, some times is not enought efficient

Elizabeth

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2017

I have really enjoyed using MS Dynamics RMS POS but am sad to hear it is no longer supported

Pros

It is easy to use, tracks inventory and sales and pretty much everything I need it to do. It also has great reports.

Cons

It is no longer supported and so if the system ever permanently fails/crashes I am in trouble. I thought I had permanently lost it this past year, but thankfully we were able to get it up and going again on our own.

Marie Kris

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Effective Microsoft Retail Management System

Pros

Easily manage the stock level of the items. As a small enterprises this software is very efficient and effective. Very convenience to small and medium enterprises.

Cons

As of now, the only problem that I see in this software is the price but this is very helpful to us.

gino

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

June 2018

dynamics retail

Pros

Features, functions and integration with ecommerce, banking, and qb financial increasing accuracy and reducing efforts in a secure manner

Cons

Dynamics retail rms is end of like, but is a very stable solution. With end of life new development has been halted.

CYNTHIA

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

March 2019

MICROSOFT RMS

WE CHANGED OVER TO RETAIL HERO A FEW MONTHS AGO AND HAVE FOUND THE RMS PROGRAM WORKED MUCH BETTER FOR US. WOULD LOVE TO SEE RMS RETURN IN PLACE OF RMH.

Pros

WE FOUND IT EASY TO USE AND GAVE ACCURATE REPORTING.

Cons

WE WERE MOSTLY HAPPY WITH ALL PARTS OF THE PROGRAM

Jason

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
2

Functionality

out of 5

August 2017

Only use if you like software crashing

Pros

The software is easy to use for front line staff and is simple to train. Robust reporting capabilities. From the admin side, it does 95% of the things we'd like it to do.

Cons

Crashing, crashing, crashing. We've had the software in place for over 7 years and it's been one of the highest areas of complaints from employees because of the frequency of crashing. The system freezes, won't respond, and then is forced to restart. In retail, checkout speed affects both profitability and customer satisfaction, so adding 2 to 3 minutes of "I'm sorry, my register just crashed..." isn't helpful.

User Profile

Kgaugelo

Verified reviewer

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

April 2019

Dynamics RMS Reveiw

I'm generally happy with it, but since it will be phased out soon, I don't rrally recommend it.

Pros

It's user friendly- very simple to add and delete products, it's easy to search UI. The grey and white lines on the point of sale systems interface make it clear for one to see the items on the screen. The customer panel interface allows one to look at the history of the customers purchases and store credit.

Cons

Loading can take some time. If network fails work can be lost. It needs to be updated a bit, although, it will no longer be in use very soon, so big ups to microsoft for the next upgraded product

Laidine

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Apparel & Fashion

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Great Tool

Pros

This software can be use for small and medium enterprises. It can easily manage the inventories of the business. I can save time using this tool.

Cons

Not good for large businesses but it can improve to use by everyone. Overall I can organize my inventories on time.

Jomarie

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Helpful and Easy to use

Pros

I like this product because it is very helpful in handling and monitoring of inventory. It is easy to set up. Overall this product is so nice and good.

Cons

So far, I can't see any cons about this product because it is very helpful to small and medium enterprises.

Mary Grace

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Easy Managing System

Pros

I like this tool because I can easily manage the stock level of the inventory. Very efficient in handling inventories.

Cons

Good for small and medium enterprises only. But overall very helpful to us. They have a little issue on the features but still works good.

Mardy

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

Manageable Microsoft RMS

Pros

Using this tool I can easily manage and organized the stock level of my business. The features and functions is good and very user friendly.

Cons

A little bit pricey but very helpful for small and medium businesses. Good for reporting of inventory.

Kyle

Time used: Free Trial

4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

November 2011

Naturally Healthy is a new retail store in downtown Philadelphia. We specialize in everything all-natural & organic. Including cosmetics, skincare, shower & bath, aromatherapy, whole food vitamins & supplements, candles, and more. We were looking for a POS system with ease of use, efficient reporting, reliability, and the right price. Because we are a new store and didn't have the experience, time or money to make a bad choice...we needed help narrowing our choices and Software Advice made that happen. Software Advice couldn't have made shopping a POS any easier. Within days all of our choices were calling us to demo their product. After narrowing our search to a handful, a few conversations and demos helped us to decide on Microsoft Retail Management System (RMS). Implementation of Microsoft Dynamics RMS couldn't have been any easier! The software was installed on the hardware before arriving to the store. We plugged the cords and had a 3 hour walk-thru of the entire system and were up and running 3 weeks after purchasing. Training for new employees on Microsoft Dynamics RMS literally takes minutes before they are ringing a customer out. The reporting has been all that we expected. If we had to manufacture a complaint, it would be creating custom reporting isn't as easy as advertised. In conclusion, Microsoft Dynamics RMS is a winner and Software Advice is the right component before making such a big decision.

Catherine

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

December 2018

Love this POS Syste

over all this was the easiest POS system i have ever used in my retail career!

Pros

it is very easy to use, opening in the morning and closing at night everything is right there all in order of the buttons you press so its virtually impossible to not do it right.

Cons

the discount section is small and a bit confusing, i wish there would be a way to categorize it like all 5-50% off in one button and all GWP buttons , i think it would make it a bit easier to navigate during busy times

Mazen

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Building Materials

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2018

Its A Microsoft - Nothing to add

Great Software for a successful business

Pros

fully loaded of features covering all needs of small to large business, reliable and very stable its a pieces of Art

Cons

no observed cons, could be more used friendly by adding help popup window which will make control and handling much better

Mary Love

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

Nice software indeed!

Pros

As a medium-size business, this software really helps in terms of monitoring and scheduling purposes which is efficient in every way.

Cons

Having trouble when multiple tabs are open. Not sure if my PC or just the app is not intended for multi-tasking.

Olivia Marie

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Good for starters

Pros

As a newly entry with this kind of business, this software helps me a lot managing the business when it comes to the operations and some finished goods monitoring.

Cons

So far I don't see or encounter any issue/problem with this application or software and hope it will remain like this for the succeeding days and weeks.

Ela Almira

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Manageable Project Through Microsoft Retail Management System

Pros

l like the most of Microsoft Retail Management System is the reliability of reports and status updates of the existing projects to monitor

Cons

aside from training that highly required to be able to maximize the use or functionality of Microsoft Retail Management System, it's really worth it.

Andrew

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2017

Long in the tooth

RMS is very stable. I've never seen it crash in the 4 years we've had it in our retail store. BUT, it's on track to be discontinued by Microsoft and it shows. They only have made minor tweaks and no serious updates since we got it. The interface is "1980s" in places and some reports you'd expect to be included are not. Times you'd expect to drill down, you can't.

Pros

Super stable Reasonably priced Somewhat flexible Standard SQL database

Cons

Being discontinued Old interface and graphics Marginal support from Microsoft Needs broader selection of standard reports Can't always drill down when you want to

Joshua

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

September 2018

MRMS Review

Pros

Does everything you would expect. Great for moderately sized companies. Tons of functionality and very easy to use

Cons

A little pricey and theres a bit of a learning curve, but other than those things the product is great.

Jesus

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2018

Efficient Inventory Management tool

Pros

using Microsoft Retail Management System play a very important role in keeping stock level of our dentures

Cons

You have to really invest a long period of time for training or learning its features for you to be able to maximize it's functionality

Mohamed

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

Microsoft RMS

it's great but short one.

Pros

great retail management software fit many businesses easy to use and to implement. has a great POS

Cons

dose not has it's back office or native integration with one of Microsoft ERP

Kevin

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2018

I recommend it to everyone

Pros

I have used many other stock control software but this one is the best so far. Not only it lets you monitor your inventory level but as well as sales velocity of the stocks you have.

Cons

I do not have any issue with this product and I can see the effort of the creator in the updates that we install.

Showing 1 - 25 of 61 reviews
Dynamics RMS

Dynamics RMS

4.11/5 out of 61 reviews