MyPOS Connect Software

Find out more:

PriceDemo

FrontRunners 2021

Find out more:

PriceDemo

About MyPOS Connect

Designed for independent and enterprise retailers, MyPOS Connect is a cloud-hybrid POS solution that allows businesses to create a POS experience for any retail business function and optimize engagement, sales, purchasing, and inventory management operations for multiple stores. MyPOS Connect is able to operate with and without an internet connection so businesses can run operations without any downtime. Features include a customizable POS UI, customer engagement tools, omnichannel sales support, purchasing tools, multi-store inventory management, and in-depth reporting and data analytics. MyPOS Connect allows businesses to customize every aspect of the POS interface with custom menu boards, modifier and display buttons, different color themes, 300+ parameter setti...
Close

Image 1 of 6

MyPOS Connect POS screen with small window for items sold

MyPOS Connect User Reviews

OVERALL RATING

SECONDARY RATINGS

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4.5

Customer support

5

Functionality

4.5

Showing 1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Philippe-Antoine

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

MyPOS Feedback

We are extremly happy with the system and the integrators (TriCity). The system is very stable, user friendly and we are able to customize pretty much everything that we want. The possibilities are endless. They are at the forefront of the technology.

Pros

There is a long list of features that we love but one of the deciding factor was the cloud base system while having an offline redundancy at the store level. If we lose internet we are able to still conduct our activities.

Cons

The interface isn't the most pretty out there.

Reasons for choosing MyPOS Connect

MyPOS was much quicker than the other system. With the volume of transactions that we do everyday the speed of the system was the deciding factor.

Reasons for switching to MyPOS Connect

The technology of RMS was old and they were doing a big upgrade of their system. The new generation didn't seem to be user friendly. We were anxious that we were not going to be able to run the backend without specialized ressources.

Response from Tri-City Retail Systems

Hi Phil, Thanks for your review and your kind words. It's very much appreciated. I agree with you; the UI is a bit simplistic. MyPOS Connect was designed this way so that users could switch between a PC monitor with a keyboard and a hand-held tablet with out a keyboard - and they would see the exact same screen design. This eliminates training issues when using two different POS form factors. We are always looking to improve the software; so if you have any ideas for how we could improve the UI, without losing this ability to easily switch between form factors, I would love to hear them - or you can always send your design requests to wishlist@tricityretail.com.

Replied July 2020

Alex

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Tobacco

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

My POS Connect

Pros

I love the feature of the import and export when doing counts, POs, and inventory corrections. The amount of field to get nuanced information when searching is perfect.

Cons

The a couple of problems absolutely have arose over the last 6 months but we have worked past them with the help of the support team. Being that we are in tobacco its kind of a drag that Shopify is the standard of website that it would like us to use.

Reasons for switching to MyPOS Connect

Being that we have worked with Tri-City for a number of years we decided to keep with them as they are simply the best. RMS is already a dead software and we are trying to be ahead of the curve.

Response from Tri-City Retail Systems

Hi Alex, Thanks so much for the awesome review! Regarding your Shopify comment, you're right, it is the only "off-the-shelf" eCommerce solution for MyPOS Connect. However, we do have a Web API that will allow you to choose any eCommerce platform you like and then integrate it with our database. Please feel free to reach out to me directly or contact our support team if you would like more information.

Replied August 2020

Trevor

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sporting Goods

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

April 2021

Shooter's Choice MyPOS review

Right out of the gate there were many Con's with features we were told were available but really were not or were added as we went. a credit to the support team for helping work out many of these over time, however the original pitch to our team on why to make the switch was it had many features we asked about up front, but in the end they did not. 12 months ago i would have given this program 1 star as we were not happy and very frustrated, but with the continued support and features added weekly over the past 12 months i feel it's rating has grown, with the ability to get better if features keep getting added. We honestly felt the sales team oversold the product and it was not as advertised at the start.

Pros

Easy of install Customer support local and easily available Past experience with the customer support team with RMS Customizable features and reports when requested (some times at an extra cost) search function Spreadsheet conversions Cloud based - offline sales

Cons

missing basic features with-in the product itself, causing you to have to leave the product screen and go run individual reports to find the answer to you questions. Many of these are very basic stuff we've seen in much cheaper programs, things like product on order, last sale date, last receive date or even a basic product report with-in the product you're looking at without having to go back and into 3 other screens to find your answer. Our web-team struggled hard at the start of MyPOS. They were told the API was ready and could do a lot and it didn't, to put it bluntly it was a horrible. Our team actually helped them implement API 2.0. We've run into many errors that were very difficult to understand along the way, many the DEV team would have to dig into it and get back to us days later, was great support, but very hard to deal with as we almost felt like we were the test run of MyPOS on many occasions. If the DEV team doesn't think your request is important enough then your request is ignored unless you pay a fee to implement the item.

Reasons for choosing MyPOS Connect

2 main reason. Cost and support. We felt we knew the support team from our pervious system and trusted them to give us the same level of support so we stuck with what they knew.

Reasons for switching to MyPOS Connect

Are main reason for making the switch was we were told Microsoft was ending all support for RMS in the coming years as well as the API for online was very poor and we as a company wanted to take the next step in the online world so we made the switch to MyPOS

Response from Tri-City Retail Systems

Hey Trevor, thanks for your input, it's greatly appreciated, although I have to say that this is the first I have heard of your struggles with MyPOS Connect. I want to apologize for any misleading claims during the sales cycle; it's not how we roll. But since I jumped in at the end of your evaluation cycle, I take full responsibility for that. I agree, we did have some challenges launching our API. It needed a lot of tweaking after the initial release. Thanks to you folks and other early adopters of the API, I believe we have ironed out all the wrinkles. And you're right about having to exit from one screen to open another screen. This is a limitation of the UI that we are hoping to solve at some point in the future; even though it has not been a concern for most of our customers. I hope that, in future, you feel comfortable enough to contact me directly if there are any other concerns.

Replied May 2021

CHANNING

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Farming

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

MyPOS Connect review

Excellent support. With so many different on line and delivery companies, not looking for perfect integration but need smoother methods for inputting, tracking orders from external systems...

Pros

License fee grows with you based on number and actual use- helpful for seasonal and small business. Card machine and on line business integrations. Service! Excellent support.

Cons

There are no hints or self help instructions. While this would be difficult to keep current and is part of their business plan to encourage purchase of support, its not overwhelmingly negative.

Reasons for choosing MyPOS Connect

Attentive, local support.

Reasons for switching to MyPOS Connect

Initially, pricing, looking for local service.

Response from Tri-City Retail Systems

Hi Channing, thank you so much for your review and your comments on our service and support. I agree that our user documentation could be improved; we are constantly trying to update the manual but it is a never-ending challenge. Regarding self-help instructions, we recently created a series of screencasts that you can access from the Customer Resource page on our website. They weren't available yet when you had your training, so you might not even know they exist. if you have any other specific ideas about how we can improve MyPOS Connect, please don't hesitate to send them to wishlist@tricityretail.com or email me directly.

Replied July 2020

Amber

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Museums and Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

myPOS Connect

We don't have an online store yet, but are headed in that direction. It is good to know that there is an integrated solution available: MyPOS + Shopify

Pros

Best feature (as compared to our previous system) is Physical Inventory taking. Many of our products are non-inventory (i.e. tickets), and we have a fairly small shop. We hand count on paper when we do our yearly inventory. MyPOS allows you to export your product list to Excel, and arrange the paper count sheets in any order that suits you. You can manually input your QTYs back into Excel and then import the numbers to myPOS. Using Excel saves a lot of time. Our previous system didn't allow flexibility in sorting the list, so entering QTYs after the count was very tedious.

Cons

Our previous system allowed us to have 2 separate programs running: the sales module, and the back office module. We could easily switch between windows, to make sales to customers and then (when there's no customer) do back office tasks. MyPOS Connect doesn't allow that flexibility. My desk is a public facing position, where I do sales + all of the back end work. If a customer wants to make a purchase while I am working in the back end (e.g. creating a PO), I have to close it and navigate to the sales screen when a customer wants to make a purchase. This is the biggest drawback of this program. I feel like I lose a lot of time, navigating between front end and back end, as I try to balance customer service with productivity (in terms of "back office" work).

Reasons for choosing MyPOS Connect

TriCity Retail has been very good to work with. We have been their client 2010. When we needed a new system, they recommended myPOS. They gave us a good demonstration of the product, and we trusted their recommendation. They have given us excellent training, and have been consistently available for helpful advice and customization through out the process. Their human helpdesk is extremely user friendly.

Reasons for switching to MyPOS Connect

Dynamics RMS is at the end of its life. We needed to find a new system, as the newer Microsoft replacement program was not within our budget.

Response from Tri-City Retail Systems

Hi Amber, Thank you for your review and especially for the kind words about our support. I agree with you about the inconvenience of not being able to have two instances of the program running on the same workstation; it means that you must exit out of the POS module to perform back office functions (and vice versa). It's partly a result of how the software is licensed. We will definitely bring this discussion to the developers of MyPOS Connect and see if there is a way to rectify this in a future release.

Replied July 2020

Popular MyPOS Connect Comparisons