Better Proposals

RATING:

4.8

(158)

About Better Proposals

Better Proposals is a proposal management software that helps businesses create, share and organize custom proposals and cover pages. The platform includes customizable templates, which allows organizations to design personalized documents with custom logos, colours or introductory video to establish brand identity with clients. The interactive editor in Better Proposals enables enterprises to write, edit or remove content, modify themes and add background images to proposals. It offers a host of features such as password protection, multilingual content, custom domain, content library, user permissions, approval management, and more. Additionally, administrators can define recurring pricing, request digital signatures from clients and receive notifications about s...

Better Proposals Pricing

Starter: $19.00/month/user Premium: $29.00/month/user Enterprise: $49.00/month/user

Starting price: 

$19.00 per month

Free trial: 

Available

Free version: 

Not Available

Better Proposals content editor

Better Proposals Reviews

Overall Rating

4.8

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5

Most Helpful Reviews for Better Proposals

1 - 5 of 153 Reviews

Moses

Management Consulting, 2 - 10 employees

Used less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

Reviewed January 2022

Great customer service

User Profile

Sue

Verified reviewer

Public Relations and Communications, 1 employee

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2020

Landed a $1,650 web design project during my free trial

Overall, my experience with Better Proposals has been positive. I like the product. It was fairly easy to set up and use, without spending a lot of time watching videos or reading help docs. I can say from experience that it works. I think it's a good investment for anyone who dreads writing proposals or who simply wants to streamline their proposal writing process.

PROS

I've been building and selling websites for almost ten years. My weakest point has always been getting a proposal out the door. I never know what to write and I've always been challenged when it comes to pricing my services. Finally this year I decided that I needed to overcome the obstacle of writing proposals, as I knew it was one of the things holding me back from growing revenue in my business. Better Proposals was actually the fourth option that I tried. There are three main reason why I liked Better Proposals. First, it comes with a variety of great templates. As a seasoned freelance professional, I offer a variety of services. I can use Better Proposals for copywriting, PPC campaigns, SEO, etc. Of course you need to customize the templates, but it gives you a solid place to start. Oftentimes, getting started is half the battle! Second, proposals created with Better Proposals have a modern look and feel. When you are selling web design services, it's important for your proposal to have the same level of quality as the websites you create. Proposals are intended to be viewed online, so they look great and are easy to read on all browsers and devices. Finally, I like that it guides your prospects towards digitally accepting your proposal. It's the natural next step. Once accepted, they're prompted to pay your deposit on the spot. I signed on a new client during my Better Proposals trial period! Within minutes I had a 50% down payment on a $1650 website.

CONS

There were a few things that were a little confusing during the set up process. As a result a few things weren't as set up as I would have liked them to be when I sent out my first proposal. I didn't realize this until later and I still closed the deal, so I guess the fact my emails weren't properly customized wasn't mission critical. I reached out later to support and explained what had been confusing to me. The support person agreed that they could improve the directions. She said that she would pass on my input to her development team. I thought that was a good sign. YI like it when companies take their customer's feedback seriously and always try to improve their product. One thing I didn't particularly like is how my proposal looked when converted into a PDF. It seemed like the formatting got kind of funky and things didn't look nearly as nice as they did when the PDF was viewed in a browser. This probably isn't really a big deal, though, as I think people are really getting away from printing everything out. The cost of paper and ink is too high for that. The proposal is always available to be referenced online and it can be shared with anyone that way.

Reason for choosing Better Proposals

And.Co isn't really a proposal specific software. It's more like an accounting and billing platform, that also allows you to create proposals. Therefore, it was too bare bones for me. The proposals don't look that nice and I wasn't convinced it would save me any time in the long run. BidSketch seemed a little dated. Their proposals look nice in PDF format, but when viewed on a phone, they don't look that great. I also didn't like the editor. It seemed clunky and it took too much time to create a single proposal. Proposify seemed more modern than BidSketch, yet I didn't find it that easy to use. I felt like it took me a long time to create a single Proposal. I also think it was more expensive for less features.

User Profile

Lenny

Verified reviewer

Marketing and Advertising, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2018

Hands Down the ABSOLUTE BEST PROPOSAL SOFTWARE, period.

Excellent! The creators of this software really care about their customers, understand video production which is a plus for us considering it's what we do, and the few hiccups we've had with their software we're quickly addressed. Buy it! You won't regret it.

PROS

I like how once a template is created, customization becomes incredibly easy to the point where the end client feels as if you've invested all this time in customization, when it only took a few minutes. It's not immediate, but that has more to do with me being a perfectionist than the software. I also like how I get INSTANTLY notified by email when someone is reading the proposal and to what extent. If they view one page for 20 seconds, I know I have more work to do with that lead. Excellent software.

CONS

That you, on the initial email have to send it through their system. I'd like to have the option of manually sending the traceable link so I can throw it into bitly and shorten it, but maybe there is a workaround I simply have not explored enough yet.

User Profile

Samantha

Verified reviewer

Graphic Design, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed January 2019

Not recommended terrible customer service

The software was good and perhaps they will improve their crashing issues. Even if they did how I was treated was very unethical when I simply addressed valid issues originally in private. Utterly disgusted. I am happy to provide screenshots and emails to verify my claims and validity. I also have charges from my bank. I feel businesses like this should be exposed. I also have messages from others who messaged me regarding their experience. They would not address my issue so I was going to go to my bank. The CEO threatened me and also told me to stop posting on social media. Such an aweful experience.

PROS

It was very good at first and I even referred other paying customers.

CONS

They recently had a crash that caused major issues. In general there were problems but you learn to just give it a try for awhile. I feel management is very unethical on how they handle consumer relations and would not originally address the issue until I complained to go to my bank. I also felt as a consumer I was treated with discrimination and racism.

Vendor Response

Just to add a little non-emotional clarity to this situation. Samantha contacted support and asked for help. The CTO responded because it was late at night and everyone had finished. She gave the answer twice and was told it was "too generic". Samantha then threatened do issue chargebacks and demanded a refund. I (Adam, CEO) took over and said she could have the help she wanted or the refund she's demanded. She continued to react emotionally and was rude and ultimately wasn't listening so we made the decision to refund her everything she's ever paid us and give her a free month to switch to another platform. She wasn't affected by any outage at all. It's a shame both parties have had this experience. Not everyone is a fit for every company and that's evident here. I hope she finds happiness. Adam CEO

Replied January 2019

Nick

Hospital & Health Care, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed November 2023

We've found it great for conversions

We have found it really useful for recruitment of clients and find it helps with conversikns

PROS

Our potential clients can get all the info they need in one place and ability to track opens is really useful to proactively follow up.

CONS

The template editor UX could be better, should be easier to copy sections and columns are hard to work with.

Reason for choosing Better Proposals

We didnt look at other products as it met our needs and was reasonably priced.