Essential ERM Software Reviews

Essential ERM Software Reviews

Find out more:

2

Recommendations

Find out more:

Review Highlights

Overall Rating

4.73

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

5

Customer Support

5

Value for money

5

Functionality

4.5


Pros and Cons

  • icon"It is easy to use and encourages true understand of the risks so you can address the reason the risk exists, not just the consequence."
  • icon"The software is flexible in meeting our needs and growing with us, as well as encouraging collaboration across our organization."
  • icon"Ease of use, flexibility, cost, user interface, support team and the innovative mindset of the developers."
  • icon"Reporting functionality needs to be developed more. KRI functionality missing."
  • icon"Minor issue - Lack of printable /sharable risk event view (when needing to share outside of software, e.g. in a meeting)."
  • icon"The software is harder to use if your organization has an established process or methodology, as the system has limited customization available."

Have you used Essential ERM and would like to share your experience with others?

Write a review

All Essential ERM Reviews

1-22 of 22 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

August 2018

User friendly & supportive team

At this time we are not solving any current problems because the software does not have the capability to provide us with management reports in dollars. Our experience with the software and the people at Tracker Networks has been excellent. Once reports are generated that are useful to the Board, and our regulators, we will be able to cease using an excel spreadsheet for our risk register. Until then we will continue to populate and manage the manual process - so, unfortunately, we are doubling our work effort.

Pros

I like that the software is very user friendly. I can navigate easily. The sorting capabilities are appropriate for our business. Whenever I run into a situation customer service promptly investigates and provides guidance. So far we have been using a risk register designed on a spreadsheet. The Bowtie format has made us think about the root cause and mitigation more specifically rather than a broad view/approach.

Cons

For our business, the Board want us to quantify the risks and impact to the business in dollars. For us to be able to successfully implement using Essential ERM, we need to be able to produce various reports with dollars. ie Top 10 risks; Summary report of all risks; Risk Category; Key Measures Report (which is required for reporting to the regulators).

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Good solution that meets our needs

We have multiple organizations working on a large, multi-year shared program. Tool is used to manage the shared enterprise risks; all orgs have access and use it to review and document progress to mitigations. Also use the tool for other internal risks; the added feature to allow segregation of risks by org or people is helpful.

Pros

Easy to use and onboard my staff. Did not need a lot of education on how to technically use and navigate the software. Functionality to capture the risk with pre, post mitigation and events is helpful for staff to think through what is important to document for a risk. Appreciate the functionality for risk velocity and other prioritization factors; helps focus our regular reviews. Vendor is open to feedback and enhancing the solution.

Cons

Reporting is still improving; hard to change our old habits of presenting risks at a meeting without using the tool in the meeting. Like the trending of how a risk is progressing; expect in time it could be presented differently or available in different parts of the application.

Reasons for choosing Essential ERM

While the insurance tool was free and was a good tool with, it was setup for use by healthcare for risks that are common to delivering healthcare programs; so its features and capability actually became a limitation as they did not support us adding new risk types, categories, etc. We were using MS Excel in meantime. Essential ERM was a very good alternative to the free tool and Excel.

Ahmed

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2021

Comprehensive review

Pros

This program is considered very wonderful for several reasons, firstly that it provides new methods in the ways of managing business and institutions and facilitating communication by providing a suitable software environment to complete businessIt and is easy to use and its intervention in the work is very useful

Cons

There is one thing I did not like that it takes more time than I expected to master it, but after you master it, it will be comfortable to use

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Essential ERM is Fantastic, A Must Use!

Allows me to uncover potential problems before they become real issues. Allowing me to plan, prepare, and be more productive!

Pros

Essential ERM provides a unique outlook on the factors involved with business, clients, and personnel. It allowed me to find issues that I would otherwise have missed, or forgotten about. Not to mention that is super easy to use!

Cons

Despite the lack of issues with essential ERM, since the program worked great, the part I dislike most is that Essential ERM highlights a lot of the issues, mistakes, or problems that have been hidden from me. Highlighting my issues only shows that the way to improve this part I dislike is solely on me now.

Carol

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Management Consulting

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Easy to Implement for ERM Beginners

Using the software gets you out of using spreadsheets, which is a definite plus. The ability to link risks to objectives is important for executives. The support for Essential ERM has been extremely responsive to questions.

Pros

If you don't have any existing ERM processes, Essential ERM is a great way to jump start a consistent method for identifying and managing risks in your organization. It is easy to use and encourages true understand of the risks so you can address the reason the risk exists, not just the consequence.

Cons

The software is harder to use if your organization has an established process or methodology, as the system has limited customization available. Ensure that the way the software is built will fit your organization and its needs.

Reasons for choosing Essential ERM

Pricing and simplicity

Reasons for switching to Essential ERM

Being a GRC product focused on compliance, it didn't fit the needs of the company. The risk features were not robust enough for the methodology and practices in place.

Deryck

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

A great product

Risk management. We have many we have to deal with, as a result of the nature of our operation.

Pros

I found it easy to use, and especially like the way we can integrate it - with our strategy and with our work plans, so it is a living process.

Cons

Truly, I don't find anything missing. We've had great support, the site is fast and reliable and secure. I like the way they stay on top of the ERM trends and keep improving the product.

Reasons for choosing Essential ERM

Easily best value for money.

Reasons for switching to Essential ERM

Immense time saving, and way more logical, and much easier to sort out key risks from the many.

Samantha

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Textiles

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

November 2022

Essential ERM, excellent customer service and flexibility for ERM processes

Fantastic. It is a quality product that was easy to implement and teach to our BUs. Customer service is prompt and extremely helpful.

Pros

The product is easy to use and to implement.

Cons

Would love integration with audit software.

Reasons for choosing Essential ERM

The flexibility to customize the program to our business structure and it was the only software that focused on what I need to risk management. The other software companies focus on audit software first and ERM is an afterthought.

Anonymous

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Easy to use and focused risk management solution

Great team to work with and great tool. The whole process was a breeze, very supportive company.

Pros

It was the perfect solution to increase our risk management maturity. We have a much clearer view of our program and risk profile after we started using the tool.

Cons

There could be some more reporting options and report types, but overall it fulfill our needs very well.

User Profile

Bob

Verified reviewer

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Essential ERM implemented a solution and engaged more like a partner than a supplier.

We wanted to formalize and create a structure for our risk management process that engaged teams across the organization to easily & effectively add/change/delete risk events, and both assess and manage risk. Essential ERM has proven to be a very cost-effective and adaptable tool to achieve our goal. The company understands the needs of the not-for-profit sector and have been very committed to our success.

Pros

The software is flexible in meeting our needs and growing with us, as well as encouraging collaboration across our organization. While Essential ERM does provide great training and support, the software is intuitive and easy to pick-up.

Cons

We are relatively new users, and have not found any issues of concern.

Pat

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

October 2022

Good easy to use Enterprise Riaks Management Application

Essential ERM has created efficiencies in our risk tracking and reporting process.

Pros

Essential ERM is easy to configure and use. Manual processes can be automated to make ERM administration and reporting much more efficient.

Cons

Transitioning from another application or manual risk tracking requires some effort to enter all of the data for the first time. However, the efficiencies after initial configuration and data entry quickly outweigh the effort and time for initial entry.

Carolyn

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

October 2019

Essential ERM software review

Great.

Pros

Methodology - Bow Tie. Voting capability. Risk event views. Reporting views. Ability to see and address gaps

Cons

Big issue - If I have the same action repeated for several risks it shows up as different actions. Minor issue - Lack of printable /sharable risk event view (when needing to share outside of software, e.g. in a meeting)

Peter

Company size: 1 employee

Industry: Government Administration

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

December 2022

Essential ERM - Setting the Standard for Strategic Risk Management

My overall expereiewnce has been excellent. The Executive and Design Team have bene highly repsonsive to our suggestions for platform enhancements. It has been an incredible journey with the team over the past several years with major benefits to the enterprise risk management world.

Pros

The software is based on the Bow Tie Methodology and grounded in the ISO 31000. It's core architecture is tied to strategic objective setting with great features for risk appeptite and mitigation tracking. The Essential ERM design and support team are very progressive, creative and repsosnive to industry developments and client needs.The ability to establish risk portfolios for highly diverse and complex organizations with consolidation is a brilliant feature.The risk profiles of individual projects or intiitatives can also managed within Essential ERM.

Cons

The Essential ERM Team have been highly responsive to requests for improvement in dasboard reporting, voting technology and key risk indicators. The interface capability to industry standard rporting tools such as Power BI has been significantly improved. I can't say at this point I have any major dislikes of the software.

Reasons for choosing Essential ERM

Core architecture - well grounded in staretgic risk decsion making, the Bow Tie Method and ISO 31000 risk management standard.Ease of use and intutiive interface and dashboard.Strong customer support from the Executive, Design and Support teams.A very progressive view of risk management from strategic enterprise , operational and portfolio risk management.

Navin

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Accounting

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

August 2018

Optrimizing Risk information

Trying to get a handle on management risk information from across differing entities in the organization proved to be a challenge. The solution was simple to use, efficient and great at reporting. Made an impact on communicating risk information.

Pros

Ease of use, flexibility, cost, user interface, support team and the innovative mindset of the developers

Cons

Integration with other assurance functions and reporting seems to be evolving and is still new

Steve

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Insurance

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

August 2018

Tracker Business Partner review

The business problems we are solving with ERM is creating engagement with our teams who have responsibility for assessing and documenting risks within our ERM process. Those with little prior experience in SOX or other types of risk evaluation find the tool intuitive, logical and provides the ability to link the outcomes in a more streamlined and visual fashion.

Pros

The Essential ERM Software is an intuitive dynamic tool that takes a relatively complex subject area and allows the user to simplify the process of risk assessment, quantification and tracking of identified risks. this has been a big help to our team as we look to expand the knowledge base and accountabilities of our team as we look to embed ERM into our orgainzation.

Cons

At this point we have not identified any significant issues or challenges with the software. The Trackers team has been great at taking feedback and incorporating changes to the product where it makes sense.

Tom

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4