User Reviews Overview

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.0 / 5

Value for Money

4.0 / 5

Customer Support

4.5 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(70)

70

4 stars

(33)

33

3 stars

(7)

7

2 stars

(0)

0

1 stars

(0)

0

  • Pros

  • "Building a query is very easy. It's easy to understand the interface, graphs are good and can be easily exported. The dashboards are very useful."

  • "A very high-class product. Integration with other systems is great. The system can analyze a lot of information from many systems at the same time. "

  • "The product is neat and simple to use with a great customer support"

  • Cons

  • "Learning is slow. Initially, it takes time to understand the reports and pattern it finds out of the log. But it's worth learning it. "

  • "As a student I think price is high, but I think value for money is good."

  • "When they first started they had awesome plans and options but it has changed since the beginning. Still great"

Browse Splunk Enterprise Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 109 results

February 2018

David from Paddy Power Betfair

Industry: Entertainment

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Offers more than you think

We've used the software to detect layer 7 attacks, unearth issues we didn't realize were happening and gives us end to end insight into our stack.

Pros

The system is highly intuitive to use. It is faster than other solutions I've used on the market and has a huge library of 3rd party plugins to get more from the system. It is easy to create scheduled searches, dashboards, reports etc. but there are a number of additional plugins (at an extra cost) to help with security, single pane of glass and metric collection.

Cons

It offers challenges for a decentralized working model. Where Splunk is centrally managed, it is easy to ensure that best practices are maintained. Where the system is opened up for an entire department to utilize and on-board their logs, it becomes more difficult. However, with some creative thinking and good process, this issue can be overcome.

December 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Good enterprise system for security SIEM, monitoring and data aggregation and visualizations.

I've used Splunk for over 8 years and it is my go-to SIEM. There are tons of apps and integrations. Good for correlation and leveraging the Common Information Model will make your life much happier.

Pros

The power of it. It's a very good tool that does amazing things. Nothing comes close to it. We used it for full view of data, full transaction. Security appliance consolidation.

Cons

There is a learning curve and a new language you have to learn, but it's intuitive and you can pick it up pretty quickly.

Reasons for Choosing Splunk Enterprise

Better for security and user experience.

December 2019

Joe from GDMS

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Defense & Space

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Splunk Enterprise

I'm continuously impressed by the quality of the software, and the depth of what it can accomplish. Worth every penny!

Pros

After going through the free online training I was able to get this product up and running to consume Linux audit logs. Writing SPL wasn't too difficult, at least for basic scenarios. The regular expression generator is especially helpful!

Cons

The configuration resides across many different levels (default, local, and then again within the apps). Having levels of configuration is a bit of a nightmare to manage.

Reasons for Choosing Splunk Enterprise

We heard many good things about it so we knew it would be successful.

November 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2019

Everything on every point is under your control.

Splunk Enterpise is the best security information and event management tool ever. It allows you to see far most end point of your system, everything stays under control.

Pros

The fature of scrpint/coding your own app inside the Splunk is very useful. I developed a lot of dashboards for our infrastructure, customized alarms, email notfications helps you to see what is happening in the system. It definetely deserves the money our company have had paid.

Cons

When you have a real big infrastructure, Splunk user interface gets a bit slow. Waiting for search results a bit annoying.

Reasons for Choosing Splunk Enterprise

According to our market research, Splunk is the best option. Although Splunk is expensive, we realised that it deserves that amount.

May 2017

Patrick from Denver Water

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

3.0

May 2017

Spunk Review

Pros

It allows me to bring a lot of information into one friendly view. It's a great security audit tool.

Cons

It has limited functionality. It is a very memory intensive system. It does not integrate with Lennox.

June 2015

Andrea from Cerved Group Spa

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.5

Functionality

4.5

June 2015

An excellent tool fol log analysis

Pros

Splunk is a great enterprise-class tool for log analysis and troubleshooting of IT systems. Its graphics capabilities allow you to easily see trends that would otherwise go unnoticed. With a single click, you can retrieve information dating back months ago. Splunk is able to handle any type of input file and this allowed us to get very rapid prototyping cycles. Compared to the competition, it has integrated AD authentication, which fits in perfectly with our corporate security. The software is very fast, even on second-tier hardware.

Cons

The license fee is a little too high. Some sections of the support site contain outdated information. Since the Splunk syntax has changed over the years, it's quite easy to find information that is no longer relevant. The "basic" charting options are somewhat limited, and the "advanced graphic" syntax requires a charting guru.

December 2019

Gaurav from accenture

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

great insights from system logs

We are using extensively to monitor production jobs and production server. We have setup splunk Jobs to continuously monitor space , files on our server. Automatic emails are triggered if space is not available as expected. This helps to take proactive action and avoid production failures. Splunk is also used to monitor files received from various sources. Our jobs requires multiple files to run the process. We have setup splunk jobs to monitor the files and if any file is not available we are alerted using emails

Pros

Various insights are derived from otherwise neglected system and process logs. Library of functions is readily available to read the logs , perform string operations and scan the file. Information can be represented using numerous charts , bars and graphs. Very useful in production monitoring and alerting using email option

Cons

I feel debugging is difficult. drop down or drag and drop functions should be made available because it's difficult to keep track and remember syntax of functions and it's usage.

December 2019

Faraan from NW

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Insurance

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Great for tracking performance and other stats

Splunk is our go to when it comes to setting up alerts for our applications and getting to any deficiencies or problems before they become major

Pros

Love the ease of being able to log various performance statistics for our applications whether it’s documenting response times or any failures

Cons

Some things like figuring out the ways plunk structures it’s queries for search is difficult. Seems like documentation is not very straightforward

December 2019

Srinivas from Proofpoint

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Splunk

Splunk as a whole was a really good solution for log ingestion and search. Query language was quite simply which made it extremely easy to learn.

Pros

Splunk makes log aggregation and log search extremely easy for micro service model architecture. UI feels easy to navigate and the query language is quite simply to learn

Cons

Sometimes log ingestion takes a lot of time , depending upon the method we use to ingest the data. Enterprise version vs on site is also an interesting choice

December 2019

Abhay from Ernst and Young

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Splunk Review

We have good experience. we are using this tool to forward the logs of servers.

Pros

A log forwarder tool which you can use free upto 500MB. No Development work required to provide value. You can create your own queries and event based alerts.

Cons

The software is very powerful but to use those feature you will have to buy the license then you can get all those feature that it has.

December 2019

Trang from FPT Software

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

Complete solution for Log centralization

We use Splunk to collect logs information for our application which deployed in AWS, it collects the application logs directly from Application EC2 and also integrates with CloudWatch, Load Balance and other AWS component to collect AWS logs relate to our Application, we also get the log from AWS billing report to track our spent in AWS.

Pros

Splunk has very strong query language event complex commands like Join, subquery or aggregate which much the same with SQL query with good report UI to display result. Set Splunk system is easy with install Splunk server and its agent in every node then configure logs location to collect. It provides many built-in Apps to collect logs from other popular tools such as AWS, Salesforce, Kafka...

Cons

Splunk query language is quite hard to learn for new user and its query error is too generic for troubleshooting.

February 2018

Gabe from Information Services, University of Oregon

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

A powerful log aggregation solution with immensely useful tools built-in for popular applications.

Pros

- Free to use for small 500MB or less daily ingress, quite nice for small use cases and learning - No development work required to deploy and provide value. - Deployment flexibility: client agents are available to use, or clientless configurations for multiple OS platforms. It's also very easy to deploy, not just flexible. its a very simple affair. - Segmentation of logs: You can create separate instances of of logs to aggregate, based on organization needs. And those instances can have their own individual storage policies to optimize consumption of storage resources. - Configuration design: Thoughtful and mature documentation and design of the application regarding enterprise-class scaling on network storage. -POWERFUL tools: The user interface lends itself to learning more about your organization from the logs you collect, through metrics of trends of the logs being gathered. There are also specific modules/add-ons for popular applications to provide more value and event-based monitoring, all without having to develop in-house dashboards and intelligence of those logs. - Customization: You can create your own queries of logs, and event-based alerts. - Web-based GUI that clean is powerful - Sales/Technical Reps are top notch in fielding questions and evaluating environment for deployment. They were extremely helpful in helping our organization develop procedures and scaling our environment for expansion with our existing infrastructure.

Cons

- Price: This product is not free for more than the minimal use. Pricing can be very expensive, relative to open source offerings. That is the trade-off you pay for not having in-house development of open source offerings. As this product is priced based on gigabytes of indexed logs, it is important to understand the scope of licensing necessary for your environment to determine if it is a good fit for your organization. - Watch your saved queries and hardware resources: Users have the ability to create and save queries. Like in database queries, some are more efficient than others. Large inefficient queries can be very resource-intensive. If you notice slowness in day-to-day queries, or navigation in the UI, or resource use in contention, keep an eye on saved queries and user practices.

February 2018

devaun from Blackdog consulting LLc

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2018

Query your log statements for your production apps in REAL TIME to triage and monitor performance

XRAY vision on your production instances. Every day we code our applications so that we will be splunk friendly with our app log statements. For example "featureX=value" allows you to query for every customer that engaged with featureX.

Pros

Splunk allows us to see exactly what is going on in production! I work on commerce for a fortune 100 company, and we use Splunk to monitor our apps in real time. Splunk gives you the ability to perform queries like you would with SQL against your log statements in real time. You will learn that you can place strategic log statements in your code that allows you to identify situations in production and be proactive at solving them. For example, you can log your customer's session cookie ID, and track any given customer's activity on your website via your app logs. It gives you dials and charting capabilities to monitor even the slightest drops in customer activities due to flaws in code or slowing network calls.

Cons

PRICE. The software is so powerful, and they seem to leverage this in the pricing of the licenses.

July 2019

kalaiselvan from Bahwan cyber tek

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

July 2019

Splunk review

Overall, it is a very good monitoring tool for an support team and developers for doing root cause analysis.

Pros

Splunk Visually represents the logs mainly from production servers in the web UI . People who Usually has no access to logs in production servers, will access the logs through splunk UI with very simplified and friendly search query. It has lot of features like you can query for particular date and time range with specific characters. The search engine is very fast which will bring the query response effectively. we can access all types of logs including XML and JSON. we can create a custom dashboard with custom query for each projects and can relatively trigger the email to the support team in case of any issues. This tool is boon for production support team in any enterprise company.

Cons

Licensing cost is quite higher for enterprise usage. Query response time will be slow when you are searching for relatively longer history(Eg. 3 months old data)

June 2015

Robert from Concanon

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2015

Finding Splunk Before Splunk Finds You

Pros

Splunk is more than a tool or a product, it is a big data platform. Splunk can be used as a simple log aggregator all the way to a Big Data engine to find efficiency in operations of the Internet of Things. Splunk is less about its abilities, and more about your imagination about what you can do with Splunk. That is the beauty of the platform. Splunk shines in providing operational intelligence about systems and processes. Finding out how your systems are operating, how your processes are functioning leads to quick resolution of problems and points to where budgets are best spent.

Cons

Splunk is deceptively easy to set up and use. But like learning to play chess, you can learn the moves in half an hour, but take a lifetime to master. Splunk quickly provides value, but requires imagination and creativity as well as wide ranging knowledge of systems and processes to move to the next level. Not every organization needs that kind of talent to get a great return from Splunk, but the companies who compete and win will.

April 2019

shashank from Miracle Software Systems

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2019

Best Tool for Monitoring Purposes.

As a user of Splunk, we generally used to monitor the log provided by the server clusters belonging to a tool called API Connect. As the logs are stored in Splunk, we tally the transaction count from API Connect tool and filter the log search in Splunk with a particular search query. We can download the logs of particular time and date of API Connect servers in case of transaction count issues. We create a dashboard for all the individual API's transaction count in terms of total transaction count of all API's. In this way, it makes our work easier to find out which API has the highest transaction count. We even use Splunk to know the state of the machine. Reports generated by the Splunk helps us to find out the API with the highest response time. In this way, Splunk makes our work a lot easier as it is very fast and highly secure.

Pros

1) Accepts multiple data formats like CSV, JSON, XML 2) Does the hard work for us i.e converting machine data to a human-readable format. 3) Can create customized alerts to serve our business purpose. 4) Searching on the based on queries is pretty simple. 5) We can create dashboards to analyze and visualize our search results. 6) Can export the log content to our Personal computers. 7) Setting up plugins and integrating with any tool that needs monitoring is pretty easy. 8) Technical support for the Splunk is very quick as they have a dedicated staff for that.

Cons

I did not find any flaws with this software.

July 2019

Mark from ArcelorMittal Dofasco

Company Size: 5,001-10,000 employees

Industry: Mining & Metals

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Great for log analysis

Splunk has been key in sever major issue root causes by analyzing logs and from that being able to build reports and determine causes of issues. In addition being able to trend and look for the data in the many logs is very helpful.

Pros

We use this tool primarily as a repository for syslog messages for infrastructure. It allows us to quickly analyze the logs and patterns to determine issues based on patterns. In addition it alerts very well from text based trigger alerts. These features are very easy to use and dependable.

Cons

I do not have any cons for this software. Mainly as a user it does exactly what I need it to do with no overhead and confusing interfaces.

October 2017

neha from Intuit

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

Great log analysis software

Pros

Integrates with almost all the software seamlessly..where there is a software application that produces log, splunk can be easily integrated. Gives very powerful insights into the logs Alerts can be setup on the logs, and notifications sent out which is great again for managing the health of your application

Cons

The query language, though powerful, has a learning curve. Particularly as one goes towards complex queries. If it could be made closer to natural language, it would be so much smoother to learn. Hope that will happen sometime in future.

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Software is fantastic once you get it fed the data. Setup can be a bear.

Software saves a great deal of time tracking down errors and issues in the network. Was able to spot a security issue using the software we might never have even noticed otherwise.

Pros

Fast consolidation of disparate logs in an easy to search way for troubleshooting. I can find problems within my organization very quickly. Sales team was very responsive in getting me a trial license to estimate my needs.

Cons

Set up takes some time and planning. The Licensing scheme can be pretty expensive and until you've got it up and running it can be hard to estimate how much license you need.

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

A tool that every sys admin needs to have

Pros

I'm not sure from where to start in this case. We use splunk for many things but mostly to analyze the traffic on the network / firewalls. It provides us with a nice overview of what's going on. It makes it very easy to spot spikes on the network and it will provide you also with deep analyzes. For us it's an indispensable tool, probably the best tool we have.

Cons

To search for something is not always easy, however there are a lot of forums online, so finding help is not that difficult.

November 2018

Mark from LDS church

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Excellent logging and troubleshooting tool

As a software quality assurance engineer, I love that I can setup a single dashboard where I can then view the same data from any lane I select from a dropdown. If I see a problem in the Test lane, I can quickly check all of the other lanes for the same issue by simply changing the dropdown value.

Pros

Splunk can give you extreme insights into how your systems and software are functioning. Not only is the search very flexible and powerful, the customizable dashboards give a status report at a glance into trends, problems and performance. You can also set up email alerts when errors occur limiting the need to have Splunk opened on your machine all the time.

Cons

Splunk has a learning curve. They have extensive documentation but it isn't intuitive and some features are buried pretty deep. We have an onsite expert who holds bimonthly meetings to answer questions in a group forum.

January 2018

Biswajit from Oath

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

January 2018

This is the tool every devops should have expertise on!

Made life easier for all SRE/DevOps oncall.

Pros

First of all you don't need to login to your servers. Just configure splunk forwarder on all of your server and have peace of mind. During outages you dont have to panic and just rely on Splunk and be sure that you will have your root cause visible in splunk.

Cons

Kernel huge page issues, Search head clustering, Index clusetering. These features are as good as costly too. For SHC and IC it does need all same config hosts.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

3.0

April 2019

Premium but pricey log management and analytics tool

Having a enterprise-ready centralized logging tool is critical for production success.

Pros

Splunk integrates with almost all popular enterprise software products including VMware, AWS, Azure, etc. Most customers use it primarily to do log analysis but it can also perform data analytics for business reporting. The UI is very straightforward and enables you to quickly search through large datasets using SPL. We were able to quickly locate the source of the issues by using Splunk to triangulate logs from several different components. There is a Splunk Cloud version with a free trial if you are aiming to do some integration work and testing. Finally, like all monitoring tools, Splunk offers AI and machine learning for even better predictive analytics.

Cons

Splunk is expensive and probably not for smaller startup companies. The pricing is tiered and is subscription-based so if you start to ingest a lot of data, look out. It can eat into most of your IT budget and Splunk by itself doesn't handle all the Day 2 operations that are needed.

February 2018

shaik from Loyalty Methods

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

One of the best place to check large amount of the logs information.Every companies best tool.

make our business life easy

Pros

The best thing about this software is i love its UI part and its dashboard where it provides the logs of all the enterprise application every business which has large amount of the transactions being held are required to maintain this tool and its logging and search frequency are very much loved and dash board has very colourful UI and easily understandable

Cons

There is no least about this software but we are looking for some more enhanced featured like optimisation and all

May 2018

mattt from HomeAway

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Transportation/Trucking/Railroad

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Splunk is great for finding things in server logs

Pros

The server logs are all stored in the same location and you can easy subdivide them by application. So different servers or processes or whatever can be in different buckets. This makes troubleshooting easier.

Cons

Sometimes depending on far back you are trying to go the product can be a little sluggish. Beyond that nothing.

October 2018

Shalinee from COVIAM

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

Best thing for monitoring application

good log monitoring tool

Pros

We are using this tool for monitoring our services log. It is easy to monitor the data using this. For each service, you can configure which log file should be shown on the UI(web). On UI, it provides lot of features like finding pattern in logs, doing analysis and generating reports and much more.

Cons

Learning is slow. Initially, it takes time to understand the reports and pattern it finds out of the log. But it's worth learning it.

August 2017

Joevanne from Serta Simmons Bedding LLC

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

2.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

August 2017

Very cool but pricey

Pros

Splunk integrates with many different solutions. They also have pre written apps that contain pre written dashboards and other features. It can inherit logs from many products with just several clicks.

Cons

Pricing model is outdated and can get really pricey really fast. It's very simple to over your daily license.

October 2017

Irfan from Invenio business solutions

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2017

One of the best place where it store massive logs for quick view and helps us in troubleshoot best

A lot of the manual work.got reduced it helped a lot in getting the data from.server

Pros

The best part of it is its UI which has very responsive page and can drag couple of days logs. Best in its performance and versions are being upgraded at regular intervals and its best in delivering the outcomes as required

March 2019

Christian from Partner Hero

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2019

Great Log Manager To Have Fireproof Applications!

With Splunk your platform should be safe and easy to maintain, specially if your are constantly adding features into it thanks to its error alerts.

Pros

User friendly and an awesome dashboard to manage your logs and analyze your apps.

Cons

It can be a little expensive but it's worth.

June 2019

Carlo from Finlombarda S.p.A.

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Splunk Review

Pros

The software includes various configuration possibilities to organize and aggregate the logs of different systems. Very useful tool for monitoring IT infrastructure activities.

Cons

At the moment we have found no negative aspects.

November 2018

Jean from Maila Networks

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Splunk - Log management, analysis and action software

Identify and resolve quickly your operations and security matters with this great application.

Pros

All in one solution to collect logs, analysis, diagnose and report. The application has a nice console where it shows all the necessary information with some very nice graphics and information.

Cons

Free for 500M/day but a bit expensive if you need to collect more, or have the need to have more users logging in.

August 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

3.0

August 2019

Splunk review

Mainly checking code for Fatal errors and application error which does not break in development environment.

Pros

I work at Fintech company and we use Splunk for checking error logs and tracking anything that goes wrong within the system. I like Splunk as it gives exact line number which is breaking the code which makes easier to debug.

Cons

The index should be accurate otherwise viewing logs is not easy.

November 2017

harmandeep singh from New York University

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

November 2017

Perfect for huge infrastructure

Pros

1.Ease of use 2.support ad-hoc query and then analytic. 3. defining field extractor is simple and you can use it to search again. 4. It's a powerful ecosystem

Cons

1., it's slow and maybe make system unresponsive when you search data over long time range, or large amounts of data 2. there are too much CPU cost when index too much items on Windows machine. 3. price becomes high as you scale.

June 2015

Ryan from TiVo

Industry: Public Relations and Communications

Time Used: Less than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

June 2015

Very Powerful and easy to administer

Pros

It very easy to jump in and learn. Installation, configuration, and administration is very easy. Use of the product such as Search/Dashboard can seem daunting at first but is actually very simple. Splunk has very good documentation and community support. I am always able to find answers to my questions by using Splunk Answers and/or the IRC channel.

Cons

Licensing and pricing in general. Managing the license usage can be annoying and paying for more can be costly. There have been quite a few times where small issues with our log intensive systems have caused license violations. Scenarios like this are usually avoidable with small changes to the Splunk configuration but it can be tedious.

May 2018

James from MSP Remote

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Management Consulting

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2018

Wonderful Log Server Software

Pros

This software puts all your logs and events in one centralized location making managing logs easier to manage.

Cons

When they first started they had awesome plans and options but it has changed since the beginning. Still great

November 2018

Nirdesh from Comcast

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Telecommunications

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Awesome tool to check cloud based system logs

Pros

- Can create charts / Graphs / Table for quick results

Cons

- At times it becomes slow, when I use my splunk in multiple windows (i use around 6-7 splunk windows at a time)

February 2019

Chris from EFI

Company Size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2019

Splunk, gold standard in log collection

Pros

Many prebuilt log analysis modules. Competitive advantage over DIY solutions. Easy to setup and administer.

Cons

Your costs can be high in larger installs.

March 2015

Ajinkya from Salesforce

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: More than 2 years


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2015

Good tool for log mining

Pros

Building a query is very easy. It's easy to understand the interface, graphs are good and can be easily exported. The dashboards are very useful.

Cons

I am not sure if I am using the latest version, but the version I use sometimes would expand the text area where the query is written hard to tell if the search is still on or done. Also, sometimes it takes very long for a query to finish execution. I understand it depends on the query itself and also the amount of data, but the tool aims at getting quicker result for a high volume of data.

June 2017

Rakesh from Keypixel Software Solutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2017

Good log monitoring and reporting tool

Pros

The charts and visualizations that you can create in general have a good look and it has the minimum functionalities expected as a user (export, filtering, search, etc), I spent some time trying to understand the interface and functionalities but once I started to load some data and use the search I was able to see the capabilities of the product.

Cons

Splunk is easy to start going but difficult to master with so many features. The query language has many analytical features that requires some learning curve

July 2018

Rafael from holcim

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Electrical/Electronic Manufacturing

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2018

Splunk Enterprise

Pros

A very high-class product. Integration with other systems is great. The system can analyze a lot of information from many systems at the same time.

Cons

Very good product with almost no drawbacks. I believe that the manufacturer may reduce the restrictions for the free version

February 2018

Harish from DXC (formerly csc)

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Financial Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

Thumbs up for error log collection and be able to query on that logs

1) time! (directly proportional to number of servers to manage) 2) graphs gives you lot of information and act quickly.

Pros

1) Querying the logs with ease. 2) Statistics on the logs gives you greater insight into whats happening with your system. 3) Group error logs by type, by server.. etc. 4) Professional interface.

Cons

does what it says, no question about that but learning how to query took some time in the beginning. so, a small learning curve there.

September 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

splunk usage

Pros

troubleshooting IT problems made it easier and faster

Cons

search speed can be slow sometimes based on your query

July 2017

Virat from Capgemini

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2017

Provides excellent insight into logs and events and can be used by Security to work as SIEM.

Ability to provide valuable insights into system and application logs and events to various departments.

Pros

1. Ease of usage of the tool. 2. Ability to integrate with Data sources is mostly seamless 3. Fast - speed with which users can make decision due to statistical coorelations

Cons

The only one I could think of is the overall of the cost of data/ licensing. However in long run it will be able to save money and improve ROI and efficiency.

April 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

April 2019

Great reporting tool

Pros

I like that it's incredibly easy to create reports and dashboards. You don't have to even know the schema of the database it's hooked up to because splunk will guide you through the creation. I've used lots of report building software and Splunk blew me out of the water.

Cons

I wished it would take SQL queries when I first started using it but I got used to their query structure quickly.

May 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 10,000+ employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

4.0

Functionality

5.0

May 2019

So easy to find my data

It makes troubleshooting network issues so much easier. In a matter of seconds you can find all of the data you need to diagnose most of your network issues.

Pros

I love how easy it is to use and to find my data. The search engine is so fast and intuitive.

Cons

This is a powerful tool and it can prepare very detailed graphs and charts. The con is that it takes more training and time to perfect your skills to create these graphs.

October 2018

Gaurav from COVIAM

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

October 2018

amazing tool to look at your application behaviour

best tool to monitor logs of your application

Pros

Main purpose of this tool for us is to monitor the logs of our application. And I can say, it is very good at this. Finding the stats, pattern out of log is very easy. You can run multiple queries job on a single application log. You can monitor job running on your logs like you can kill them, can stop particular job. It's support of sql like queries on logs is just amazing.

Cons

This is a great tool, there is no disadvantage of this product but just mention you need a bit of learning to use it's all the functionality.

June 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

splunk enterprise security

overall splunk is the best tool it provides lt of system information, we have installed splunk on all the servers accross our environment

Pros

Integrating spunk with other tools it is one of the best feature which splunk has. we can pull logs by integrating with other tools.

Cons

Writing a query in splunk is difficult. it should customize the query for users.

July 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

July 2019

Splunk is the go to SIEM software

Splunk is our key resource and first line of defense for our security team when looking at our intrusions against the organization.

Pros

The amount of information and data that you can organize with splunk is it's best feature.

Cons

It will take some time getting used to how create dashboards and reports so that can pull the relevant data out of splunk.

September 2019

Rachana from CSUF

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2019

Excellent product

Very effective for planning and management. We use it very frequently in our work and until now i never had any issues with the software performance or understandability. Has a very good learning curve.

Pros

Ease of functionality and combining it with open source technologies provide a lot of features.

Cons

Nothing that i dont like as of now. I think its pretty good since its easy to understand.

April 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 501-1,000 employees

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

5.0

April 2018

Many Featured Tool

Pros

We first started using Splunk as a log analysis tool like many companies do but we're not getting into a number of other use cases based on how powerful and robust the tool can be for our business. They have a lot of good apps on their marketplace and the visualizations make information for less tech savvy users readily available.

Cons

Starting this tool up and really getting it working takes some time, research and resources just based on the vast number of solutions it can provide. Like other tools that we use, it requires us to have good focus during planning to make sure we're not trying to do too much and instead focus on a few use cases to start.

Displaying 1 - 50 of 109 reviews