TaxCloud

RATING:

3.4

(72)

About TaxCloud

Calculate, collect, and file your sales tax with ease using TaxCloud. Say no to manual filing and let TaxCloud automate it for you. TaxCloud makes sales tax compliance easy for businesses of all sizes. With over 15 years of experience and the trust of 2,000+ customers, you can rely on TaxCloud to handle your tax needs. Stay on top of economic nexus exposure, boost collection accuracy, and lower audit risk with TaxCloud. Automate your tax reporting and filing to guarantee full compliance with all deadlines and audit requirements. As a Certified Service Provider (CSP) approved by the Streamlined Sales Tax™ Governing Board, TaxCloud offers free services within the SST states, including sales tax returns preparation, filing, and remittance, as well as exemption certifica...

TaxCloud Pricing

TaxCloud offers flexible pricing plans to suit businesses of all sizes, each with a free 30-day trial and no credit card required. Free: Ideal for new and smaller businesses needing to monitor Nexus and file sales tax in their home state. This plan is free forever and includes CSV imports, 1 Basic integration, economic nexus monitoring, and return-ready sales tax reports for 1 state. Starter: Perfect for businesses and online marketplace sellers looking for multi-state reporting and filing capabilities. Starting at $19 annually, this plan includes up to 3 Basic integrations, return-ready sales tax reports for all states, single state filing, and email support. Premium: Best for businesses needing real-time tax rate calculations and nationwide filing support. Starting at $79 annually, this plan includes unlimited Basic integrations, real-time tax calculations with address verification, TaxCloud API access, nationwide filing and audit support, SST discounts, and premium support. For detailed information, visit the https://taxcloud.com/taxcloud-pricing/ page.

Starting price: 

$19.00 per month

Free trial: 

Available

Free version: 

Available

Calculate, collect, and file your sales tax with ease
Slide 1 of 5

TaxCloud Reviews

Overall Rating

3.4

Ratings Breakdown

Secondary Ratings

Ease-of-use

3.5

Customer Support

3

Value for money

3

Functionality

3.5

Most Helpful Reviews for TaxCloud

1 - 5 of 71 Reviews

Justin

Music, 2-10 employees

Used monthly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2023

Inexpensive Sales Tax Compliance, Great for Developers

Very positive experience, it's easy to talk to the same people any time you have an issue, and not be bounced around through different employees.

PROS

As the sole developer in a small ecommerce shop, I was in charge of selecting a company to handle our sales tax compliance. I like TaxCloud because they are inexpensive and also because their API is not needlessly complex. Everything is straight forward and we haven't had any problems in the two years we've been using them.

CONS

Nothing in particular, and I don't have any major complaints.

Reason for choosing TaxCloud

Price was one of the main factors, in addition to the ease of integration.

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! So glad to hear your experience with TaxCloud has been positive all around.

Replied June 2023

Brynn

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2019

Calcuates tax great - pray you dont need tech support

I love the ease of which it works when it works. But when you do need help it is virtually impossible to receive it timely.

PROS

The ease of setting up an account and nexus.

CONS

The customer service is horrible. They have been saying since last summer that they are aware of the issue and are working to make it better but we still see that same lack of support. We have tried calling and contacting online but receive no response. The receptionist will not put you in touch with an actual human or escalate the message.

Vendor Response

I connected with the reviewer on this feedback. It appears there was some communication issues between our receptionist and support team that delayed our initial response back to the reviewer. For this we apologize. After two requests, I have not been informed of the issue that has been out there since last summer. We have no record in our service ticketing system that an incident was opened last summer for this client.

Replied March 2019

Anonymous

1 employee

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

1

Reviewed November 2021

stay away from this company

PROS

nothing positive to say. they are the biggest mistake I've ever made for my small business startup.

CONS

they've had technical issues from their end, and despite admitting to it, its been over 1 year and i am still chasing after my refund. They charged over $300 within my first two months into launching my own business as a "late payment fee" eventhough there is nothing wrong with the credit card I've had on file...which suddenly they started charging $10 to this year without me signing off and agreeing to such thing. They are NOT free. I didn't pay a monthly fee last year and suddenly they claim "we sent communication about our policy changes, we now charge $10 a month". An email that most likely landed in junk email because i was complete unaware. I never approved or agreed. and i've barely made any sales due to covid to begin with! This company has been nothing but a HUGE headache, i am so full of regret for ever signing up with them. Waiting on a close to $400 refund...STAY AWAY FROM THEM!

Reasons for switching to TaxCloud

Terrible. Just terrible. They kept slapping me fees left and right even though I've barely made any sales at all. I've been waiting for a refund for over 1 year despite constantly following up.

Vendor Response

We can't speak to the facts behind this review as no business name or name of the reviewer was provided. I'd urge the reviewer to call our customer support and ask to speak with Mark to resolve any open issues. However, regarding the charges the person is referencing all I can say is that our pricing is transparently described at https://taxcloud.com/pricing. You will not find such transparency with our competitors. Regarding the "free" service offering mentioned, it ended on 12/21/20. There were multiple communications made to our clients prior to the change being made. The person is correct that there is now a minimum $10/month fee to keep an account open. Don't want to pay it, an account can easily be cancelled.

Replied December 2021

Mario

Apparel & Fashion, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Sales department was enthusiastic. Software integrated well. Problems caused mayhem with no fix.

The software took a time burden from my shoulders.

PROS

Mostly the software runs seamlessly once it is set up correctly. Helps avoid expensive business costs.

CONS

When there are issues with accounts that need attention the customer support is not there. Trying to get things back on track is not being addressed for their end. While TaxCloud claims to be easy it becomes difficult and frustrating to make corrections. I will consider a different Tax integration system.

Vendor Response

Thanks for the review. Glad to see the positive ratings on overall quality, ease of use and Features/functionality. We apologize that our customer support has let you down. We do our best with limited resources trying to maintain our FREE service offer for small businesses. We do our best to respond to all inquiries within 24 hours and have plans to invest in additional support resources in the near future.

Replied June 2018

David

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

peachtrader

na

PROS

the customer support and responsiveness.

CONS

i dont have any major complaints about taxcloud

Reasons for switching to TaxCloud

cost and abilities of the software

Vendor Response

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! Your feedback is appreciated.

Replied November 2023