All Aura Salonware Reviews

1-21 of 21 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Elizabeth

Cosmetics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2020

We love it!

We have been Aura users for a few months now. The features on this system are things that our team has been trying to get into for years. Everyone on the team is super helpful. We are able to do so many things we couldn't before. It is clearly created by salon industry people, as they have skipped a lot of the fluff we had in different systems, while creating value and features where it counts.

PROS

1. We could never utilize online booking because we have different guests book for different amounts of time, but with Aura we are able to adjust each guest individually so all guests have the ability to book their appointments online without screwing up our stylists' schedules. 2. Stylists are able to see all of their numbers on their dashboard from their phones. Previously stylists had to look up reports to view these numbers, and they weren't easy to read, so I was pulling their reports for them. Now they can see their sales, retail percentages, add ons, and several other items quickly on their app dashboard. They are super user friendly. 3. As an owner, I absolutely love their payroll report - I'm now able to do payroll in 30 mins when it previously took me 2 hours. They calculate everything for you - including sliding scales, and are able to adjust per stylist for different levels, etc. It's fantastic.

CONS

1. Although customer service is very quick to answer, they do not have 24/7 customer service to call for immediate needs. 2. Learning curve of getting all our clients onto the app. 3. Although they show how to do everything in training, there is not a demo site or login to practice on while training staff.

Reason for choosing Aura Salonware

They seemed to have all the features we had been wanting/needing, while being incredibly user friendly. They also were super responsive to our needs from the beginning, including the beginning our search for new software.

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

We were experiencing a lot of glitches, as well as being unable to customize aspects of our clients' profiles in order to bring us up to date with options such as online booking. Although online booking is a main component of Mindbody, we were unable to use it due to the inability to adjust guests personally, so we could never roll out online booking before.

Steffan

Cosmetics, 2-10 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2022

Why Aura is the future for the modern salon!

Team has been great. Listened when we need help & always has an open ear to how the software can work better for our team.

PROS

I love the Aurora salon where has empowered my salon to not only go successfully front deskless, but also to raise our retail per client tickets to above $30. The text functionality of Aura is incredible, and has cut down on the amount of calls that we receive to the salon substantially therefore reducing the need for our concierge team to be tied to the phone. The built in review function allows for us to track how our team is doing, boost online reviews, and mitigate negative reviews ever reaching review platforms. The guests love the ease of it being able to text both service providers & the salon concierge. My favorite function is that Aura requires a card when booking and requires the guest to accept cancellation policies and redo policies before booking their appointment. This has saved us from losing countless amounts of dollars on late cancellations or no-shows. The dashboard function makes coaching stylists in monthly meetings easy and is great for visual representation of how they are doing in accordance to their goals. Having a one on one salon success partner through Aura instead of having to wait for hours on end to speak to someone in a support center has made a tremendous difference in the amount of wasted time and frustration when finding resolutions to challenges that we are having in the salon. I love that Aura as a team is here to listen to feedback from owners and find resolutions and implement new programs.

CONS

I'm excited for the future where guests are able to see loyalty points in app, salon scale integration, the ability to send sent campaigns to all clients, booking widget, & review widget.

Reason for choosing Aura Salonware

Because the team comes from a place of never ending evolution. I believe the moment a person or business stops evolving is the moment they start to die.

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

Hated support center, couldn't require a credit card to book, always having outages, outdated archaic software & salon operating systems.

Keith

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

3

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

2

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2023

Unique issues with Credit Card Processing and brutal cancellation fees

We had to stop using it and switch after 3 months because the Credit Card processing terminals would not work consistently and became a huge headache. We opted for the wireless terminals that allow mobile checkout, but they consistently dropped connection through the day resulting in interrupted processed, and the software locking up, then double and triple charges because it was not possible to tell if the charge had gone through. We have gigabit internet, blazing fast wireless and none of our other devices every drop connection. When we tried to get support from Aura tech support, we only got a response that this hadn't happened to them before. Another issue with Aura is that there are two processing companies and portals to deal with. One for card present and one for card not present. It's a bit of a pain. The onboard process was good and the people we dealt with are nice, but the act that they didn't help us with our issue meant we had to change software quick, we had a non-stop stream of clients calling us telling us they had been charged multiple times, which resulted in lots of apologies and lots of time going into the portals doing refunds. When we cancelled we had to pay a $1,000 cancellation fee, two months worth of payments $900 (for a required 60 day cancellation notice) and then a $495 charge from one of the processors because , surprise, we were on a 3 year contract. I'm sure that was buried somewhere in the fine print of the processors paperwork.

PROS

The online booking is better than most and allows stylists bios and images for clients.

CONS

Check-out and appointment scheduling is a bit cumbersome and takes too many clicks, slowing down the process. For us, credit card processing was a nightmare and more expensive than our current option. If you opt for Aura we would recommend not opting for the wireless hand-held processing terminals they offer. We were charged large cancellation fees in spite of the fact that the built-in processing did not work consistently for us.

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

Also quite cumbersome to check out and schedule. Other less than efficient features as well.

Derek

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2021

New to Aura

though there were some problems with integration, the software overall is easy to use and most of the problems have been fixed or are being worked on and troubleshot as we speak. The customer service is top notch and they bend over backwards to make it as easy and smooth as possible.

PROS

Smart booking and self checkin and checkout were the two biggest draws. also the two way texting with guests. integration was ok. mostly problems with the inventory being transferred correctly (still working on this) and not being up and running when we were supposed to go live.

CONS

we mainly had problems with the integration of all of our old data into the new system. client formulas were not correct and inventory wasn't matching up at all.

Reason for choosing Aura Salonware

they were the one that didn't have all the additional costs for the add ons that we wanted. and it was an easy interface for guests to make their experience better and contactless

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

felt like they kept adding services and charging us for them even though the software was able to do it anyway. sick of spending upwards of $700 a month for software that didn't do everything we wanted in one service.

Tiffiny

Consumer Services, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2022

Aura Support

Since bringing on Aura we have worked with a number of people- They have a great Customer Service repin [SENSITIVE CONTENT] currently! Having a key person to go to when changing software programs is essential to the success.

PROS

Ease of use for the client- the customer facing aspect of the system is great

CONS

Having to go to their team for things such as mass pricing updates-wish we could do it

Reason for choosing Aura Salonware

When in the presentation processes Meevo is extremely respectful of the "user" how to and functionality. Aura was extremely impressive in that the entire presentation was about the client experience.

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

cost and functionality

Melissa

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Excellent Customer Service

Aura has the best customer service! They are so fast at replying normally within minutes or hours! I LOVE EVERYTHING about this software and I LOVE that they listen to our wants and make updates so quickly. THAT IS RIGHT THEY LISTEN TO THEIR CUSTOMERS!!! Just go head and get it, you won't be disappointed!

PROS

I love how easy it is to use and the incredible customer service!

CONS

There is a few reports that I would like to see for the punch clock and inventory. But we asked and they are working on getting them for us

Reason for choosing Aura Salonware

Cost and that is was easy to use.

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

Lack of support and not all the sites were linked.

Natalie

Cosmetics, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Grateful for [SENSITIVE CONTENT]!

We have had a great experience with Aura. We are grateful for [SENSITIVE CONTENT] and all of her help switching us over to Aura!

PROS

We really enjoy how intuitive this software is.

CONS

We are looking forward to new features like forms for clients to be able to fill out before booking.

Reason for choosing Aura Salonware

Customer service, no contract, transparent, new and innovative technology.

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

Bigger team, needed more analytics, wanted more user friendly and “upscale” system.

Erica

Cosmetics, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Aura helped turn my business around

The company it’s self is ran by a salon owner, so they really understand what our need is in the industry right now!! I’m forever grateful that I transitioned.

PROS

I love this software! After bouncing between different softwares, I finally found my home with Aura. They literally thought of everything that a salon app needs. They made it easy for my clients to prebook through their mobile apps while taking off the stress from my front desk. Their layout on their visual dashboard and reports make it really easy to read and identify areas of growth in my salon. The revenue I’ve been able to bring in through their automated client reminders has also been a huge blessing. My stylist love it!

CONS

Like any software it takes practice and time to adjust. But, their onboarding and support team are extremely patient and supportive through the transition.

Steven

Cosmetics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2021

It's True Built for Salons by Salons

My overall experience with Aura has been very positive. I cant imagine, considering todays current market a salon without Aura.

PROS

Aura Salonware is truly intuitive. With each new release, updates are added to make my job as a stylist more efficient. Tools like Smart Booking, Client self check in and checkout allow me to move from client to client effortlessly and on time.

CONS

I use Aura Salonware exclusively on my phone. While I actively find ways to spend less time on my phone to be more present, Aura allows me to book clients fast and efficiently.

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

I introduced my salon [SENSITIVE CONTENT HIDDEN] to Aura. The program we used previously was outdated and did not seem relevant to todays current way of doing business within a salon. If your salon uses an outdated software give Aura a call to schedule a demo. You won't be sorry.

Keri

Consumer Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2022

Aura Lover

Great

PROS

We love the state of the art features and the customer support

CONS

They are a newer company and some features could be developed to make guest check out easier.

Reason for choosing Aura Salonware

Ease of use and features

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

Needed features

Christine

Cosmetics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed April 2021

For Salons by Salons

PROS

This software is consistently improving and developing to support what salons need as the industry continues advancing. The team is always really supportive in finding solutions whenever needed. The dashboard has been great for our team to understand their business. Great software overall!

CONS

The benchmarking/reporting piece of the software doesn't lend for customization. We have had some challenges with reports showcasing the proper numbers. We would love to see the dashboard integrate goals for each team member to track their business.

Reason for choosing Aura Salonware

It is for salons, by salons! Simplicity while continuing to innovate.

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

Severe challenges with reporting, booking and reliability.

Naomi

Cosmetics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed March 2022

Good Software

PROS

My staff likes how you are able to access the software from any device at any given time.

CONS

There are some features that may be missing that make it easier for everyday salon usage like editing a transaction after is is processed as long as it is done on the same day.

Reason for choosing Aura Salonware

Our owners decided to make the switch.

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

Our owners decided to make the switch.

Jennifer

Cosmetics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Very User Friendly

Customer service is great and the support is amazing. I get most of my questions answered very quickly and our support rep is almost always available. Weekly meetings once or twice a week with our support rep and they are very responsive to our requests for improved features!

PROS

This is very Stylist/Technician friendly and most important it's very easy for the guests to use! I love that the guests can upload pictures, you can create a in salon loyalty program!

CONS

There are important features missing, for example, not being able to change a ticket after the day is closed, ticket notes aren't available at checkout, some benchmark reports not available yet.

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

Lack of support and technology upgrade was terrible and not user friendly at all.

Stefanie

Health, Wellness and Fitness, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed April 2021

Incredible Support

The support is incredible. They listen to our needs and develop enhancements from there

PROS

The features. We're able to have one platform that sync together for Guests, Providers and Management

CONS

Learning it! We used our previous software for 21 years. It's like getting a new pair running shoes, breaking them in takes time. The old ones were so comfortable even though they caused such pain!

Reason for choosing Aura Salonware

The support and recommendations from others in my industry

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

lack of support plain and simple

Maggie

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed October 2022

Subscribe to Aura

Excellent

PROS

Aura helps to make the job of running my salon easier.

CONS

That I cannot see the entire week of all scheduled appointments at glance, as if looking at a paper Scheduling book.

Reasons for switching to Aura Salonware

Wanted to check out what products were available.

Ronnie

Cosmetics, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by the software vendor to submit an honest review.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2020

Aura is helping us navigate our reopening and grow our salon by 30% even in this Post Covid Market.

PROS

Aura is extremely user friendly, easy to use. The salon wallet our clients have adopted as their favorite feature and keeps our service completely contactless. Other honorable mention features are the Contactless Check In and Check Out, and virtual consultation. The Aura team is great and easy to get a hold of if needed.

CONS

The onboarding process may of been a little longer than desired, but would'nt change it because of the attention to detail the team takes.

Kalena

Consumer Services, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY