Insight is a salon and spa management solution that offers online booking, staff management and automatic notifications within a suite. The product is available both in cloud-based and on-premise deployment options.

Insight allows users book and confirm appointments online via automated text messages and emails. The system also enables users with customer engagement by recording client preferences, tracking products purchased, service and appointment history and by rewarding loyalty points.

Insight's marketing tools include automated text messages and email campaigns, blogs and newsletters. Users can also track customer birthdays, anniversaries and referral sources.

Insight also allows users to track sales and staff performance by storing contact and employment details, setting up work schedules and restricting data access with administrative controls and passwords.

Other features include inventory management, time tracking, payroll management, reporting, online payment processing and services management. Pricing is subscription based for cloud and one-time for on-premise version.



135 Reviews of Insight

Overall rating

4.5 / 5 stars

Showing 1 - 20 of 135 reviews

October 2018

Amy from Salon Tuscan

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

3 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

October 2018

Don't do it, they nickel and dime you!

I'm just not happy with how expensive it has become to run as a small business owner. Just really be aware of the cost for all the add ons and no refunds what so ever when you need to cancel due to high cost! Definitely do your research, there are much better salon software brands out there! So happy we finally made the move and saved money with so much more that benefits us and our clients!!!

Pros

Most of it was easy to use. When tech support was needed they were awesome!

Cons

Prices of everything needed to keep up with technology and keep the program running smoothly and correctly kept getting more and more expensive. The mobile app was not user friendly either.

September 2018

Roberta from Relax Organic Salon

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

2 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

September 2018

Salon Review

Mostly good. Just very difficult to learn. Had the system 3 years and Ibknow I only though the tip of what it could do. Need to offer a hand ms on class to salons.

Pros

Customer support was great. Very supportive when I called.

Cons

Marketing options and confirmation options

July 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

July 2018

I used this software for work and it worked pretty well for us.

Pros

I liked how easy it was to use once you get used to using it. It definitely made running the salon easier.

Cons

I found it wasn't the most user friendly software they have available, I found myself needing a lot of help at first.

July 2018

Erin from Essentials Day Spa and Hair Salon

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2018

I used this software for the 10 years that owned my day spa and loved it!

Ease of running my day to day business as a salon and day spa.

Pros

My favorite part of the software would have to be the appointment book feature. The appointment book made it so easy to schedule appointments and had plenty of resources that helped us stay organized and not double book services.

Cons

My least favorite part of the software was probably the payroll feature. Although it kept track of everything as it should, it was not always kept up to date with current taxes and such.

July 2018

Felicia from Salon Services

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

3 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

July 2018

Used it for years at my old salon

Pros

This software was very easy to use and most of the time customer support was always on our side. There were a lot of options to use to run our business successfully.

Cons

too expensive. went independent for myself and wanted to use the same software but couldn't afford it.

June 2018

Brandy from Vela Massage Retreat

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

2 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

June 2018

Archaic platform and terrible customer service...

There are many better options out there that are more with the times.

Pros

When I first started with them in 2010 they were a bit more affordable than other options out there. Now there are many more options available.

Cons

Their platform looks like it is from the 80's, it feels very outdated. When I spoke with customer support about this they said they had been around for 25 years and had no intention of changing. when I needed customer support, even though I often needed it only because of issue that was because of the software, not me or my staff.

May 2018

Kathy from Peaceful Waters of Paonia Spa

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

May 2018

Terrible Customer Support

Don't waste your time or money, there are much better products out there. Big thumbs down on this program.

Pros

It has potential to be a powerful program, but the lack of training and customer support, along with the terribly written instructions rendered most of the application useless to me.

Cons

Difficult to use, difficult to learn, terrible customer support, very little training or assistance with set-up. Lots of reports, however, most of them are pretty useless. I had to re-enter my data into other programs to get the reports I wanted. Instead of saving me time it added more time to manage my business. Way overpriced for what you get. Customer service people were not very nice or helpful. Caused me a lot of stress.

March 2018

tal from Espace Carte Blanche

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1 of 5

Value for money

1 of 5

Customer support

1 of 5

Functionality

1 of 5

March 2018

slow ,too many clicks,not clear

NONE!

Cons

Nothing. This program needs an upgrade urgently.Dealing with customer service in the States....need i say more. Plus for Canadians its in US DOLLARS.

Response from Syntec Business Systems of Syntec Business Systems, Inc.

Replied March 2018

Tal, Perhaps you should check your facts before posting. The software is being constantly upgraded and if you are referring to the "look and feel" you have the ability to customize the appearance to look any way you want it to (something none of our competitors offer). While we do have offices in the USA, we have our customer support offices in Edmonton AB Canada and our sales office in Richmond VA. So, when you call for support you are talking to Canadians. Lastly, you have been billed your monthly subscription fees since Sept 2016 in Canadian funds not US Dollars as you claim. We appreciate that clients are free to have an opinion however yours is based on the fact that you told us yesterday that you were going bankrupt and told our staff member to go "eff herself." Please grow up and behave like an adult.

January 2018

Anonymous

Review Source: GetApp


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

January 2018

Best part of owning my salon. I have more time. Spot on reports and graphs. So fun!! Customer service is so patient with me. Love this software!

Pros

Always upgrading and easy to use. LOVE the reports. My accoutant has never seen anything so spot on.

Cons

Wish I could access more on my app besides booking appointments. Like seeing people who book online.

December 2017

Lindsay from Blue Duck Hair Salon

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

Has made a huge difference for the better for our salon!

Pros

I can think of so many pros!
Keeps the salon functioning and organized
Has made the salon more profitable
Love all the reports we can use for the salon and each individual stylist
Helps with loss prevention and ordering products
Has overall been the best decision for our salon a few years ago!

Response from Syntec Business Systems of Syntec Business Systems, Inc.

Replied January 2018

Thanks for the positive feedback, Lindsay!

December 2017

Ryan from Empire Salon

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

Amazing experience- the company really cares about you and stands for their product

Pros

Amazing experience from the start. Sales got me best fit and deal. Support helped set me up the first phone call I made on the equipment arrived. Every time we had questions they answer the call right away and they are very very knowledgeable. I also had two reports I needed to be tweaked to how I am managing my business and I actually had discussions with the President of the company who went completely above and beyond with his whole team to get the report modifications (a LOT of work too) ahead of the regular release schedule because they knew how much they impacted us. I recommend this as the definitive and premiere salon software to use. I could not imagine a better piece of software with a company ran by better people in the world. I feel like we got lucky by selecting Insight!

Response from Syntec Business Systems of Syntec Business Systems, Inc.

Replied December 2017

Thanks for sharing your experience, Ryan!

December 2017

Gretchen from Mane Street Salon

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2017

Our overall experience is good with Insight. I have nothing to compare to but really satisfied.

Pros

We really love online booking. I also love that we are hosted and get all the tech support when we need it.

Cons

When there are glitches every now and then and things don't operate smoothly. We have had online booking appts. Not show up in our schedules. Has happened about three times.

Response from Syntec Business Systems of Syntec Business Systems, Inc.

Replied December 2017

Thanks for the review, Gretchen!

December 2017

Hannah from Hannah's Hair Studio

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

4 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2017

Have been using Insight for years, as a staff member and now a salon owner!

Pros

Easy to use and keeps track of all my book keeping and inventory. I like how I can segment all my products and services.

Cons

The cloud version sometimes has a black-out, which is annoying, but is very rare. Not a big fan of the phone/table app, as it doesn't allow easy touchscreen access

Response from Syntec Business Systems of Syntec Business Systems, Inc.

Replied December 2017

Thanks for the review, Hannah! As you mentioned, any outages are very rare. Our uptime is above 99.95% but we're working to improve on that further. In regards to the mobile apps, please contact our Support team (1-800-805-4532) so we can resolve any issues you may be having and to make any adjustments to improve the experience.

December 2017

Amy from Salon Tuscan

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

4 of 5

December 2017

I have had Insight for years now and love it!

Pros

I like the ease of use and that all of the stylists are able to book appointments from their phones!

Cons

I don't like how much it costs for text reminders to clients. We are a small salon with independent stylists.

Response from Syntec Business Systems of Syntec Business Systems, Inc.

Replied December 2017

Thanks for the feedback, Amy! As we offer true, two-way text messaging (not simply email-to-text), there is a cost for sending SMS. Depending on how many text messages you wish to send, our Insight Deluxe Cloud plan may be a good option as it includes a monthly SMS bundle.

December 2017

Eva from The Pearl Salon

Company Size: 1 employee

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

Love using Insight for my business. Keeps everything organized and makes my scheduling so easy.

Pros

I love that it keeps track of all my sales/purchasing, in essence, does my"books". So at tax time I can just print off a few pages and bring them to my accountant and done. Also love that I can put my client records in the system, and that it keeps track of client purchases so I can back and see what they've purchased when they've forgotten what kind of product they usually use.

Response from Syntec Business Systems of Syntec Business Systems, Inc.

Replied December 2017

Thanks for the review, Eva!

December 2017

Donald from Luxe Salon

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

December 2017

I've used this software for cleaning to see to ten years. Couldn't imagine running my business without it

Pros

It is so easy to navigate.I can keep windows open incase I get interrupted and can return to what I was working on.

Cons

I wish it would display ALL the future appointments a client has on the confirmation page. It would greatly help me to realize mistakes I've made on my schedule.

Response from Syntec Business Systems of Syntec Business Systems, Inc.

Replied December 2017

Thanks for the feedback, Donald! We're always looking to improve the user experience.

September 2017

crystal from Crystal's Spa and Salon

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

September 2017

Mixed Frustrated to the at times with how the online part works and then ok.

Pros

The support staff most of them are awesome. The can get to the bottom of things with in an hour most of the time.

Cons

To many screens to open and close to book appointment from start or to do any thing really .. Time is money.

Response from Syntec Business Systems of Syntec Business Systems, Inc.

Replied September 2017

Hi Crystal, thanks for your review. You shouldn't need to open and close multiple screens to book an appointment, however this may be due to your system settings. We would love to help make your process more efficient and to get your feedback if there is a way to make it better. Please give us a call (1-800-805-4532) when you have a moment.

August 2017

Kendra from The Hair Lounge

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

August 2017

User friendly and a helpful support system.

Ease of understanding how my salon is performing.

Pros

You can't "mess" anything up that cannot be corrected. It is easy to train staff and extremely user friendly just "surfing" through reports.

Cons

Not having an integrated electronic signature program for credit card processing. Keeping printed receipts is outdated.

Response from Syntec Business Systems of Syntec Business Systems, Inc.

Replied August 2017

Kendra, we actually do have an integrated electronic signature pad for credit cards but it isn't part of the Insight software...it is part of the cc machine you use with Insight. I see from your account that you don't yet have integrated payments with Insight so if you call our sales office at 1-888-919-5841 they can give you all the info you would need on getting a signature capture device for credit card processing that will fully integrate with Insight.

August 2017

Tristen from KAT salon and spa

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3 of 5

Value for money

4 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

3 of 5

August 2017

It works very good

Pros

I like that it pretty much has everything u need to run your salon/spa enjoy being able to do payroll on it

Cons

Not being able to put a master password on just something instead u have to use a password for everything . Would be nice to not get our staff to see everything but it's annoying to have our girls always type in a password. Wish it wasn't so much to add another computer on to it as well.

Response from Syntec Business Systems of Syntec Business Systems, Inc.

Replied August 2017

Thanks for the review, Tristen.

August 2017

Sherry from Carolina Curls Salon & Spa

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5 of 5

Value for money

5 of 5

Customer support

5 of 5

Functionality

5 of 5

August 2017

I been using insight at my spa now for several years and highly recommend it.

The professional assistance of maintaining my inventory that I have on hand and what needs to be purchased..also how has sold what and when.

Pros

I like that the support team is very helpful whenever I run into a problem. I also like that they offer many more functions than I use but have if I decide to expand.

Cons

That sometimes I don't have the time to load new products into the system and you have to do that. Also another thing I'm not crazy about is haveing so many steps at checking out a customer.. that should be shortened!

Response from Syntec Business Systems of Syntec Business Systems, Inc.

Replied August 2017

Thanks for the review, Sherry!