Alma Software

Find out more:

FrontRunners 

Find out more:

About Alma

Alma is a cloud-based school management solution catering to businesses of all sizes in the education industry. Core features assist users to manage school administration, generate custom reports, administer the enrollment and admissions process and track communications. Alma lets users track bus routes, broadcast emergency notifications and track the progress of courses. The solution provides attendance tracking and gradebook customization. Users can create student profiles, which can be accessed by parents and teachers to view student performance, attendance and teacher notes. Alma also allows schools to manage scheduled appointments and walk-ins. Alma enables users to design custom curriculums based on different competencies and automate the lessons mappi...
Close

Image 1 of 4

Admin dashboard

Alma User Reviews

OVERALL RATING

SECONDARY RATINGS

Ease-of-use

4.5

Value for money

4

Customer support

4.5

Functionality

4

Showing 1 - 5 of 263 reviews

E.

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

July 2021

Great Support!

User Profile

James

Verified reviewer

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

Glad we're using Alma

Pros

Unlike other SIS's, Alma actually looks and feels like it was made in the 2010's. The system is solid, and has essentially every feature a smaller school like ours would want (and many more that we don't need to use). The gradebook is excellent, and it's easy to transfer classes and students from year-to-year. Their customer service has been great (we accidentally deleted multiple report cards in different places the other day and they quickly and helpfully solved our issue by restoring to a backup), and they are continually adding features and improving the platform. And the cost has been at least 50% less than quotes we were getting from major competitors. Many reasons to switch to Alma.

Cons

The latest transcripts update was helpful - there are still a couple of features we'd like on the transcripts front, but that's mostly because our school has a unique curriculum. This is totally just a personal preference, but I'd also like to be able to search for classes in the search feature in addition to contacts.

Response from Alma

What incredible feedback, James! Thank you so much and we look forward building on all of your school's successes!

Replied August 2019

April

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Alma Software Review (SBG school)

Support has been very helpful, typically it seems we have questions that either haven't been asked before or are not implemented yet. Faculty/staff is able to access the reports tab which helps them track students and contacts quickly and has access to student records and class schedules.

Pros

Alma is easier than our former software and allows us to use our Standards Based Grading which is our priority. Parents were able to quickly learn how to use the system and the attendance feature is great. Students were also able to learn the system and although it doesn't have a comprehensive calendar with their schedules and our school activities, they were able to use the daily tab to track their classes.

Cons

The calendar is static and unable to be exported to phones/other calendars so we had to create an app for that. The reports are not as in-depth as needed and we aren't able to save our filters/criteria that we use often. They are still working on SBG reporting so many items we aren't able to track as we typically do through reports. The report card set up is limited for what we need in our report cards; we had to use every work-around to get a report card as we needed, but they do work now.

Reasons for choosing Alma

It has what we needed for Standard Based Grading both in assignments and report cards for tracking.

Reasons for switching to Alma

K-12 was trying to start Standards Based Grading but didn't meet our deadline.

Anonymous

Company size: 51-200 employees

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: GetApp

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
4

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

October 2021

Good if your users are not picky

Was the right move at the right time (web based - SAS)

Pros

Web based Fast Quick support Google SSO SAS

Cons

Email editor is TOO basic. Report writer is not flexible, cost per extra fields. Retrieve unenrolled student's data from previous years should be easier. Apply changes to multiple classes, schedules, etc should allow to select randomly or by criteria. Backup/Restore feature not available. Mixed Letter, Numbers and Standards based grades are not compatible. Transcripts reports must allow more flexible design.

Reasons for choosing Alma

Lower cost Technical support

Reasons for switching to Alma

Complete suite must be web based on the cloud

Katy

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
2

Customer support

out of 5
1

Functionality

out of 5

February 2018

The absolute worst year I've had as a professional school counselor.

none.

Pros

You can log in quickly. The people who have come in to assist with how horrific this year has been have been mostly humble and at least tried to help.

Cons

Absolutely impossible to have what we need at our hands as high school counselors. Everything is laborious or actually impossible to do. It has taken MONTHS to get even tiny bits of advances to make this usable. Transcripts, which are an essential piece for our kids, took 6 months to have functioning, and they're still inaccurate. Scheduling is months behind because the programming is inept for a school this size. It lacks confidentiality and privacy that's important for our students. Household units are not available, access to other buildings makes it impossible to know who has siblings and other people living in their home, which poses a safety issue when filing reports to CPS, report cards are still completely wrong and inaccurate. I could truly go on for an awfully long time, but I digress. At the end of the day, I think I can vouch for every person in my building when I say that this program was rolled out in a deplorable way, changes and improvements are slow and sometimes non-existent, and it's made me reconsider even working in this corporation due to how terrible this system is. A program in its infancy has been detrimental to every single stakeholder in this corporation, and I've been disappointed since the first day of training in August.

Response from Alma

We truly appreciate you taking the time to help us improve the Alma experience. Change can be difficult, and while most Alma users have had positive experiences, we are continuously improving because our mission of serving educators like you is our life work. Along those lines, we have the industry's leading response time to customer inquiries by a factor of 10. We love working with your corporation because of the positive impact it is having on its students -- and we know its an organization you can be proud to be a part of. Other similarly-sized districts in the Alma family currently enjoy the flexibility, security and power our platform provides - and we'd love to explore how we can bring you to that same opinion. Your account manager will reach out to set up a time to go over (and fix) any issues needing attention.

Replied February 2018

Popular Alma Comparisons