All Chalk Reviews

1-23 of 23 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.
User Profile

Sr. Brittany

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2019

Great Online Lesson Planning Portal for Educators

Chalk has updated my method of lesson and unit planning, making my work more accessible and flexible.

PROS

Chalk makes it easy for me to plan my units and daily lessons, with the ability to shift them forward and backward, schedule days off, and save and reuse units between class years. I find it very helpful that I can open my plans on any smart device. Its moved me away from using paper plans or multiple Word documents to track my plans.

CONS

A feature that would be helpful would be the ability bulk export individual plans as group or individual PDFs, aside from that, the potential of this software is so great that as a teacher, I recommend it to my peers and as a department chair, require my teachers to use it for their plans.

Kimberly

Education Management, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

Lesson plan lifesaver

I switched from another lesson plan product to chalk and I'll never go back. Chalk has everything I need and makes my day to day use of the links, files, etc so easy to click and use throughout my day.

PROS

We started having to add our learning standards into our lesson plans a couple of years ago. I love that with just a click of a button I can easily find the standard I'm looking for. I also love that you can create a template and add it to your plans.

CONS

I do struggle with getting the standards to print when I have to print out my lesson plans.

Reasons for switching to Chalk

I was looking for something different.

Ajanai

Education Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2020

Chalk usage for teachers

Chalk has been really great for me in a teacher stand point .

PROS

I like how chalk organizes the semester and gives you different templates to chose from . It’s really neat how the use different colors for subject and let you add them to the time that the subject is taught.

CONS

None . I love the new updates . They only thing was maybe the overall learning how to use it. But once you do you are fine !

Anonymous

51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2020

Chalk Makes Lesson Planning Easy!

Chalk is user friendly and colorful so an easily bored teacher can spice up lesson planning. The bonus features such as grade tracking and attendance are helpful as well.

PROS

Chalk has some awesome features for teachers and administrators. The ability to do things like place videos and links in lesson plans is wonderful. Also, being able to share lesson plans with teams is so beneficial.

CONS

I wish that it was easier to save all lesson plans at the end of the school year in one quick move. Being able to download and upload them year to year would be great.

Angela

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2018

Storing, Sharing, and reusing lessons is a breeze.

PROS

Once I store a lesson here, it is there for future years, can be edited, and reused. Furthermore, as teachers on one team, we can enter our lessons here and share them, so that they are visible and can be used by all. This especially helps if you need to give a teacher access that works with small group pullouts, etc.

CONS

Within our district, there were several screens, and we would either forget to save before moving forward, or the information wouldn't take. We never could figure out why. This did make the entry feel cumbersome. Perhaps a one-screen versus tab option would be great, and instant saving every minute or so would be helpful to teachers.

Kim

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed January 2018

Once set-up, the lesson plans are easy to use!

It is easy-to-use, and makes lesson-planning much simpler!

PROS

I have only used the Lesson Planning software from Chalk.com, and I find it very beneficial and easy to use. The initial set-up took some time, but that is expected, as I entered my class times, quarters, etc. I use it daily, with the plans up on my computer, and the printed off version in my plan book. It is easy to customize and change. You can can easily make units, and upload other lessons and pictures to each plan. It makes lesson planning a lot easier! Next year, as I will be teaching the same grade-level, I should be able to transfer over a lot of lessons. :)

CONS

As I said, the initial set-up is time consuming, but the steps are easy-to-follow. Customer Service will aid you when you have difficulties.

Yvette

Education Management, 11-50 employees

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed June 2023

Good for documenting lesson plans with standards easily located.

I benefit from the trial version of lesson planning as it provides quick and simple means to locating appropriate standards. Other than this feature I find the rest of what is offered of no value to me. If I were to use it diligently I would be jumping to multiple websites to get what I need accomplished and I honestly have no interest in doing so. II get the feeling that Chalk is attempting to reinvent the wheel.

PROS

What I like is that if I choose to create a lesson plan I can find the appropriate learning standards with a pop-up list that allows me to select which I feel apply.

CONS

Honestly, this is just another tool that is out there...and there are many. I am using the trial version at the moment to explore it's functions but I find most of what is offered is already handled by my school's LMS and, hence, is superfluous. In addition, Google products do so much already that this is really not necessary unless your school decides to go fully onboard with it. It's curriculum and instruction appears to be geared towards online instruction. We do not do this. I am adverse to teaching math in this manner.d. When I clicked on this I was directed to Power Schools. My school will never go in this direction.

Jonathan

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Great Lesson Plan Book for Teachers!

This is a great tool to use as a teacher!

PROS

I love this program! I can easily see the weeks plans or even the whole month. I can set up the school year myself!

CONS

I would like it to be easier to share with a substitute for when I am out of the classroom.

Melissa

E-Learning, 5,001-10,000 employees

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2021

Great potential

PROS

I found this was a great tool for keeping track of marks as long as I stayed on top of inputting. It was easy to send rubrics or gradebook pages to students or parents.

CONS

When you’re using D2L Brightspace or Google classroom, adding another tool like chalk just seems to be a waste of time. I am not going to input everything twice when it’s already in my Google Gradebook.

Anonymous

1,001-5,000 employees

Used more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2020

Amazing for teachers

Great for streamlining workflow for mundane teacher tasks at the start of a unit/semester.

PROS

Chalk (Planboard) is a fantastic resource for teachers. Digital planner is amazing, and even links to curriculum expectations.

CONS

I wish there were more options when printing. I do like to keep a hard copy, but the daily page view includes some stuff I wish I could remove.

Joseph

Education Management, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2023

Clean UI and Great Functionality

I live by this program and it really makes lesson planning a breeze. I don’t know what I’d do without it!

PROS

Love how easy it is to setup your schedule and develop lessons anywhere from mobile device, tablet, or computer and pickup from another device.

CONS

It had a few bugs in the Planbook program that can be frustrating. Formatting text isn’t amazing but it works.

Amy

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed November 2017

I love using Chalk.com. I use it to do my planning. It is linked to the Canadian curriculum.

PROS

I love that it is linked to the Ontario Curriculum. I use it to plan and keep track of which expectations I have covered.

CONS

I found it hard to get started. This year I am teaching SERR, found it a bit tricky to track the various levels I teach.

User Profile

John

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed June 2018

Great for lesson planning

PROS

I love the fact that the platform provides for the ability to store, modify, and reuse lessons year to year.

CONS

The collaboration piece isnt as intuitive at first as we'd hoped. It took some sitting down as a team to work through it. Now that we have its working well.

Jasmine

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed January 2019

Great free supplement for teachers

I find myself being more organized and having a better picture of how my lessons work for my students. Since all of my classes are displayed at once, I can see if my lessons conflict with each other or if I'm making a day for myself too busy and I can easily adjust my plans.

PROS

I love that I can make a scope and sequence for all 3-5 of my classes and have them lined up in one place everyday. It makes planning and organizing a million times easier.

CONS

The only thing I dont like about it is the initial set-up of my classes. Once you figure it out, it is very easy.

User Profile

Mindy

Verified reviewer

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2019

Lesson planning made easy

PROS

I am a very organized person. Anything that helps me to see what I need to do in an appealing visual way is worthwhile in my book. I like to see things quickly and clearly. Another thing I love about this product is that I can color code my classes. I like to be able to look for a color instead of a title. It makes quick set up between class periods even quicker.

CONS

There really isn't anything I dislike about this software. It is easy to use, and I haven't had any trouble with it.

Anonymous

11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed February 2020

Planboard

I have enjoyed using Chalk Planboard to plan out my weeks. It has been so much easier to keep my lesson plans organized.

PROS

I use the Planboard part of chalk and it is a lifesaver. All of my state ELA standards are already in there and I can easily copy or move lessons to another day.

CONS

I do not like that my state’s social studies standards on not on planboard. But that is it, it’s been great otherwise.

João

Education Management, 1,001-5,000 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed February 2020

Chalk | Helping you plan a better education

I was introduced to Chalk a few months ago, and it has really been great using it, the way it's presented makes it easy to understand the data about classes, and lessons in particular. It's a definite recommendation from me.

PROS

If you are an educator, Chalk is a great software to have, with tons of features that allow you to plan out your educational path in a friendlier and easier way, offering you the ability to map out your intended curriculum and helping you with the adjustments needed to improve your class's performance.

CONS

Chalk does not have any real downsides, it's purpose is to simply ease your work in education and it does a good job at that. Any needed assistance can be easily arranged with its great customer support.

Sara

Veterinary, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2020

Needs a better App

PROS

Overall, the site works well. Students’ grade can be found easily.

CONS

While the website works well, the app needs a lot of work. It is very confusing to use and difficult to see everything the is needed. I find it difficult to go back when looking at specific grades and specific classes while using the app.

User Profile

Joanne

Verified reviewer

Primary/Secondary Education, 11-50 employees

Used weekly for less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed March 2021

Chalkboard

I use this platform for my gradebook, after struggling to keep up with paper gradebooks for a semester. It has been a game-changer. The free version doesn't have as many features but still works fine for all I need. I am an independent user (my school does not use it as a whole) so if a school pays for a subscription there is even more you could do with it. I don't find the planning portion of much use but some folks may.

PROS

There are many things you can use this platform for, including grading, planning, and attendance. I mainly use it for the gradebook and it is very easy and helpful.

CONS

I wish you could share it to Google classroom without paying for premium, but I do understand that they need paying members.

Romelia

Verified reviewer

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed May 2018

A friendly lesson planner

It has helped me to plan the contents of my classes

PROS

An easy to use app, allows me to plan my classes, the interface is very friendly and entertaining. I use It daily

CONS

It bored me a bit that the initial set-up took a lot of time, but once that's over it's great and very simple to use

Zachary

Education Management, 51-200 employees

Used weekly for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY