User Reviews Overview

Ratings Breakdown

5 stars

(33)

33

4 stars

(15)

15

3 stars

(2)

2

2 stars

(2)

2

1 stars

(0)

0

Feature Ratings

Ease-of-use

4.5 / 5

Value for Money

4.5 / 5

Customer Support

5.0 / 5

Functionality

4.5 / 5

Browse Sycamore School Reviews

Filter by:

Sort by:
 

Showing -49 - 0 of 52 results

February 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

February 2018

We've used Sycamore Education for six years. Great product!

Our old SI system was clunky and slow. Sycamore Education revolutionized our daily workload and processes. Highly recommended for private schools.

Pros

Ease of use. Customer support. Frequent updates/upgrades. Meets all IS needs for our private school.

Cons

Graphics, as well as look & feel could use an update. Wish this product would integrate with our online curriculum.

December 2020

Don from Marquette Manor Baptist Academy

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Very Intuitive Software to Use

Overall, Sycamore School has been a very positive change for our school. The cost of the product initially drew us in this direction. Had we known the quality of the product and ease of use, we would have changed even sooner than we did. We are so glad we changed 3 years ago!

Pros

Our school was able to implement the Sycamore system without a lot of support. The software is laid out in a way that is intuitive and logical. Most questions that we asked ourselves were easily discovered by our own team. Whenever we had questions that we could not find (rare), the tech support quickly resolved the matter for us. The transition for us was much easier than we thought it could be. The Sycamore software has also been simple for our clients (both students and teachers) to navigate. We used the software as our mail tool during our spring of 2020 change to remote learning. Parents had little trouble navigating around Sycamore to find the instruction and information for remote learning. We never anticipated using it that way, but it did a good job for us.

Cons

Sycamore has a few idiosyncracies that one has to get used to. Some listings require the user to go back to the beginning of the list after a choice has been made. Little things that I am sure will be refined over time.

Reasons for Choosing Sycamore School

The quality features and competitive pricing made Sycamore an obvious choice for us.

Reasons for Switching to Sycamore School

Frustration with the cumbersome nature of the product we were using.

Response from Sycamore Education

Replied December 2020

Thank you so much Don! We strive to be here for schools that need their data needs met at a reasonable cost. It's wonderful to see how your school has taken a dive to use our tools to make your transition to remote learning of 2020 more manageable. Thank you for giving a shout out to our wonderful support. They make such a difference for our Sycamore family.

September 2019

Dustin from Archdiocese of Louisville

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

2.0

Functionality

2.0

September 2019

Sycamore

Pros

There are very little pros, except that I easily reached a customer service rep when I needed help with an issue.

Cons

I did not like Sycamore as an LMS. I found its interface to be clunky, filled with unnecessary options, and difficult to navigate. For example, to this day, I still have no idea how to create an assignment so that a student can upload there work. Believe me, I tried to figure it out. Eventually I gave up and used another system. The grade book was another problematic feature. At the end of the semester, it does not show final grades computed with the final exam. You have to go into each individual student and look at there "grade report" to see the end computation. I do not recommend this system. There are much better LMS's available.

Response from Sycamore Leaf Solutions

Replied September 2019

Dustin, You mentioned in the Pros section of your review that customer service was easy to reach. That's great, as we hear this often. A phone call or a Teacher Chat would have cleared these issues up quickly. You would have received instructions on how to use the dropbox for student assignments and also directed to the Help section where there are specific instructions. Regarding your issue with final grades, this is a simple configuration issue. Schools definitely have the ability to see final grades computed with the final exam. Should you use Sycamore in the future, we will gladly help you with your classroom setup. We will also point you to our comprehensive help system with an extensive microlearning library to help you learn all the features of Sycamore at your own pace. We would also recommend that you check out our full integration with Google and Google Classroom it's a great addition to Sycamore School. We wish you well with your seminary classes! -SE

December 2020

Kenny from Tabernacle Christian School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Exceptional School Management System

We have had a great working relationship with Sycamore. They are always responsive and very knowledgeable in solving our problems. They are a great partner.

Pros

We really value the ease of use with Sycamore and the various needs that the system meets. The Sycamore team is always looking for ways to improve. They also are always looking for creative ways to manage the daily demands of running a school.

Cons

Overall we have been very satisfied with Sycamore and their team of developers. There is nothing that we like least about Sycamore.

Reasons for Choosing Sycamore School

Sycamore was the best value for the lowest price. It also met all of our needs.

Reasons for Switching to Sycamore School

PowerSchool was very complicated and not very user friendly. Plus it was very expensive. Now in all fairness it has been several years ago so I'm sure a lot has changed with their product.

Response from Sycamore Education

Replied December 2020

Thank you so much for your review Kenny. We value your school and your input! We love to help schools out there simplify their system needs.

December 2020

Marie from St. John the Baptist Catholic School

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Very Easy to Use

Pros

Very easy to use once you know how to use the software. The On-Boarding one-on-one contact was greatly appreciated during the start-up process. The Support Ticket team is very responsive. I enjoy the ease of the Online Help, the only troublesome part of that is not all of the features being presented (maybe the Online Help just needs to be updated?).

Cons

Have yet to be able to fully integrate our Google Classrooms with Sycamore, so the teachers aren't able to use that feature as they would like. Feels like some features could be simpler to get to.

Reasons for Choosing Sycamore School

We are a small private school. Budget wise, options were narrowed down to either Gradelink or Sycamore. Based on the webinars and presentations done by both companies to the staff, Sycamore won during a majority vote process by the staff.

Response from Sycamore Education

Replied December 2020

Thank you for the insight into your process Marie! We are so happy to have you all as part of our Sycamore family. Thank you for the shout out to our onboarding specialists. They work hard to ensure our newest members are comfortable and working well in the system. We'll make sure to pass along the praise.

December 2020

Debra from Kansai Christian School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2020

Bringing Sycamore to Japan

My experience has been truly outstanding!

Pros

I used Sycamore Education for years at a Christian school in Illinois. When I came to Japan last year, I realized that my new school was not using a school management system. I was very happy to have previous experience with Sycamore. As the principal, I was able to address the school board with our great need, and they approved the purchase of Sycamore. Our teachers are very happy to be able to post grades, our parents are happy to have direct access to their child's academic progress on a daily basis, and our office administrator is happy to be able to print report cards in minutes. I continue to be very pleased with the functionality of Sycamore as well as the outstanding customer support!

Cons

On occasion, a screen pops up notifying me there is an error. When I click on the drop down bar again, the error screen is gone. It's not a big issue, and hasn't slowed us down. This never occurred when I previously used the software.

Reasons for Choosing Sycamore School

I chose Sycamore School because I knew it was cost effective, user-friendly, and efficient.

Response from Sycamore Education

Replied December 2020

Thank you Debra for your continued loyalty! Customers and schools like you are a pleasure to help and work with. We are always here to help. Let us know if you need help with anything.

September 2017

Melodye from GDQ International Christian School

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Sycamore enabled us to get into the 21st century by using an online management system. We love it!

Pros

Communication has increased between parents and teachers as grades can be tracked and paper grades don't get lost. It also has provided accountability in that teachers are posting grades on a more timely basis. It allows consistency between grades and years. The system is very powerful; customer service is probably the most helpful that I have encountered. I love the ability to create transcripts and that these are kept on the system. It tracks attendance much better than we were doing previously. The medical logs have been helpful. Doing online admissions has taken us to a new level as well.

Cons

The system isn't as intuitive as I would like. Because I have worked with it several years, it's much easier now and people end up coming to me to figure out how to do specific things with it. I have been frustrated a bit b/c it doesn't allow for creative flexibility (for instance transcripts don't have a lot of space for extra activities) or for things that aren't the same in different countries. We have worked around a lot of the barriers, and Sycamore has been very helpful to put things on the list of potential fixes.

December 2019

User Profile Picture

Jan from Word of Restoration

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Religious Institutions

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2019

Good Product with Great Potential

Awesome software and features. It was the perfect fit for our start-up organization, and we're still using it.

Pros

The simplicity of the software package and the ease of implementation. Sycamore offers the software without nickel and diming for add-ons or necessary features. For a small and/or non-profit institution, it is an AWESOME option at a very reasonable cost.

Cons

Not much support in terms of online manuals/support. I function better as a self-directed learner, and the online manuals and videos that were available at the time I onboarded were not very helpful. On the other hand, the phone support was very helpful in assisting when I couldn't find the answer online.

Response from Sycamore Leaf Solutions

Replied December 2019

Hi Jan! Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us an honest review! We certainly aim to keep our pricing affordable for institutions like yours. We will use this thoughtful feedback to better ourselves in the future as we continue to ramp up and improve our product. Never hesitate to reach out with a question or concern. We'd love to be of help! Blessings to you! -Sycamore Education

December 2020

Kathleen from Tower Grove Christian Academy

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Using Sycamore Daily

The problems we have been able to solve mainly are having the ability to look up information at a few clicks of the computer. We have the ability to see many needs for our students and our faculty.

Pros

The features that are most useful to me are the attendance and ease of updating when students are tardy or leave early. Our daily health screening is something that has been helpful with our new guidelines.

Cons

ALL the Clicks to get to where we need to be.

Response from Sycamore Education

Replied December 2020

Thank you for your review Kathleen! We are so happy that the new COVID checklist is of benefit to schools like yours! Feedback from our schools is always welcome and we use that feedback to always try to improve our product. Hopefully you'll enjoy working in the pieces of Sycamore 3.0 as it comes out. Feel free to always reach out to support for help as well as offer us suggestions on how to improve.

December 2020

Shauna from Candies Creek Academy

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2020

Easy to Use

Overall, my experience with the program has been good. The customer service has always been great to help with any issues or questions that we may have, no matter how big or small.

Pros

Sycamore is a fairly easy school management system to navigate .

Cons

There have been some features and reports that would be nice to have that aren’t included as of yet.

Response from Sycamore Education

Replied December 2020

Thank you for your review Shauna! We are always excited to help schools keep track of and use their data efficiently. We also appreciate feedback from our front-line users to help improve the experience over time, so we also thank you for your requests for future enhancements to make our product progress along with the needs of our schools.

February 2019

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

February 2019

Comprehensive Edu Software

Overall we were happy with Sycamore. I highly recommend them for smaller schools and it may be the right fit for larger schools. I think they just need to evaluate what workflows are most important to them and understand the trade-offs of having a wider than deeper program.

Pros

First of all, they have excellent customer service. They really are doing their best to help schools succeed. They have great integrations with google, which for us was one of the primary deciding reasons for going with them. They now have a quality app and more features than most programs have for a fraction of the cost. They also have a REST API which is extremely helpful for expanding the potential of the software.

Cons

One of the hard parts about being an educational software is that it is hard to know when to stop developing different​ features and instead focus on making the features they do have into amazing experiences. IMO Sycamore has a broader instead of deeper development philosophy. This is good for small schools that need a comprehensive solution, but it can be frustrating for schools with more users that end up choosing multiple solutions because the overall experience and depth of usability are better. An example of this is how they have 3 different enrollment/admissions portals that they have tried to develop. Instead of making one amazing, they have tried multiple times. Their most recent one is promising, but still,​ isn't​ usable for schools who need all of the features available.

September 2017

Jon from Ephrata Mennonite School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Primary/Secondary Education

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Comprehensive School Information System

Centralized Student Records and Report Cards. Centralized Calendar and Attendance.

Pros

Moving from paper report cards a few years back to centralized report cards and student information through Sycamore has been an excellent transition. Their setup team worked to make it a smooth transition. We probably only use half of its functionality at this point but we saw immediate wins with a centralized calendar, documents and family data. The reporting functionality of the system is also very helpful. As we compared Sycamore to other SIS options, it became clear that it was one of the best values that we researched. The live US based tech support has been outstanding. Every staff person I have talked to knows the system well and has been extremely helpful. I highly recommend Sycamore.

Cons

The user interface can be difficult to navigate sometimes and find the exact feature you are looking for. It is an excellent School Information System (SIS) but we did realize that its functionality around lesson plans and curriculum is very basic.

August 2009

Lee Ann from North Rome Christian School

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2009

Administrator

1. I would love to see you all at the Mid-Atlantic Convention in Lancaster PA. 2. I had a new family comment that they were telling a group of people their child was coming to the school. Someone in the group, who does not have a child at our school and we are not sure how they even know about the school, spoke up and said "Well they have Sycamore and it is a wonderful program!". Someone is talking!

Pros

1, Very cost effective 2. You are purchasing all that the program has to offer. There are no additional fees for upgrades 3. Customer Service is awesome! Quick to respond, helpful and you can reach them by phone or PAN. 4. Very user friendly 5. HIGH HIGH rate of parent satisfaction with being able to access grades, teachers, one another, etc. All of them rave about the program! 6. Sycamore Leaf keeps us updated 7. Sycamore is always seeking to improve their program 8. PAN - we absolutely LOVE this feature. Our high school classrooms are in "learning cottages" aka trailers - and the teachers are separated. This feature allows all of us to feel so connected!

Cons

1, Not too many or serious... we did notice that if you make a change on the family or student information (you have the mother's name wrong ex.) then when you correct it, you cannot do it in just one area, you have to go into multiple areas. 2. We had some issues with the GPA configuration. I did not deal with it, but I know our high school conselor had numerous phone calls and PAN' s to get it figured out properly. For some reason we now have to do something different to get our proper grading. 3. Getting my parents over the learning curve of using the program. It is frustrating to hear them say " We seldom check Sycamore" and in our memos and everything else we keep saying HOW MUCH we put on Sycamore and to check it out. Word of mouth is helping this... I hear parents telling other parents that they really need to use it, or someone asking another how they knew about something and they will say "on Sycamore" .

September 2017

Sharon from Immanuel Lutheran School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Sycamore is a great solution for small and medium sized schools. It is very reliable.

This database keeps all of our school management information secure and well-organized. There are fields for lots of information and the ability to add custom fields as well. There are features for organizing events, room use, cafeteria management, etc. It does allow teachers to record grades and the grades are then accessible by parents and report cards are easy to generate.

Pros

The support is fantastic. Trouble tickets are answered quickly and phone support is great. The database is securely hosted on-line so it can be accessed anywhere and there is no set-up for a new computer. The cafeteria feature works really well even with 24 teachers entering attendance / lunch orders at the same time. Easy to send batch emails and individual emails to parents.

Cons

We don't use the "pass-a-note" feature very much. Sometimes parents use it and it comes up on the teacher's screen when they log-on in the morning.

March 2020

Melissa from St. Henry Catholic School

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2020

Streamlines School Functions

Overall I like the product. My school has started using more of the functionality of the software and receiving announcements and other important information has been helpful.

Pros

I like the app for my phone. It streamlines my ability to quickly send attendance to our office. I also like the school directory so that I can easily pull up information for any school family.

Cons

Sending group emails (batch emails) isn't obvious to me. I wish the email portion seemed more like gmail or other email applications.

Reasons for Switching to Sycamore School

I believe they closed their doors.

Response from Sycamore Education

Replied March 2020

Thank you so much Melissa! We are so happy to see many schools like yours finding our system helpful for the tasks you encounter. We thank you for your feedback regarding your experience with batch email. We are always working to make ourselves better and make a better product for our Sycamore family.

September 2017

Kate from Christian International School of Prague

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Our school has used Sycamore for years, and each year we continue to utilize new elements in it.

centralized data and communication for our whole school on many diffeerent levels: administration and management, staff-wide, with families, with students, and with prospective families/students.

Pros

Sycamore keeps all our school data in one place so that the office, administration, and teachers can all share information. The more we learn to use it, the more helpful it is for us! I absolutely love the customer support. They respond quickly, kindly, and are always helpful. They are open to suggestions for change, and often we see those changes take place!

Cons

We sometimes call it "clickamore". There are often a lot of steps embedding in a process. That said, there are a lot of shortcuts that I keep learning about that make me like using Sycamore more and more!

September 2017

Paul from Faith Mennonite High School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

We have used Sycamore for about 5 years and are happy with the value for COI.

Pros

I am most happy with the ability to access grades and grading where and when ever I have internet access. I don't need to carry a gradebook or storage device with my grade spreadsheets, like years past. Being able to excuse students from assignments or customize who the assignment is assigned to is invaluable.

Cons

The interface is improving, but feels a day late the the UI/UX game. We started to use the library module when we first setup with Sycamore, but it needs work and features. The lesson planner for teachers should be scrapped and a connection made with Planbook.com. The Scamore planbook makes it hard to move lessons when things happen like fire drills or snow days.

May 2015

Kami from Roncalli Catholic High School

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2015

It's the customer service that takes this SIS over the top!

I have worked with sycamore as a parent, staff member, and super user (software administrator) over the last 7 years. What makes Sycamore work so well, is that it is constantly growing and making enhancements as the needs of it's users grow yet still keeping to the same "feel" and design so that students, parents and teachers don't have to re-learn the software every time there is an enhancement. The software itself is pretty comprehensive and has been easy to use. We have several schools in our district using the software as well, so as parents move from Elementary School to Middle to our High School, they have appreciated not having to learn a new platform, and those that come from outside our district have commented on how easy it was to make the transition. New teachers grasp on to it's layout very quickly. It's hard to really talk about cons, because anytime I have found a quirk or issue, Sycamore has been very receptive to those concerns and actively found a solution or came up with an enhancement. They are always growing the product. Which leads me to their support system and customer service. Most of the time I can find my answers in their Online manual or videos. When I need a bit more help, as a Sycamore Super User, can submit a support ticket any time of day and will get a response within the hour...very very rarely have I not connected with a live person when I have phoned, which I rarely have to do. The support staff is well educated in the software and the nicest people you will ever talk/chat with. As a teacher, you can chat anytime during the school day with a support tech, even just to ask a "where do I find" question...no question is too menial. Overall, you will never find an SIS that meets every schools needs or ways of doing things, so what becomes important is finding an SIS that does the job, is continually growing and advancing, and provides outstanding customer service. This is what Sycamore provides it's customers.

June 2019

Rob from St. Paul's

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

3.0

Functionality

4.0

June 2019

Sycamore

Overall, Sycamore has been a good experience for us, despite its flaws, and it has helped us manage our school.

Pros

Sycamore does a lot. It can do almost anything you would need a SIS to do, and it has the best google classroom integration of any SIS and LMS out there.

Cons

Sycamore can be tedious to navigate at times, and some of the design decisions are baffling. It is not easy to figure things out without training.

Response from Sycamore Leaf Solutions

Replied June 2019

Hello, Rob! Thanks for taking the time to give us an honest, positive review! We really appreciate it! Sycamore continues to listen to our customers and make enhancements based on feedback. We pride ourselves in our product and service, and our support team is readily available to assist. If you ever have any questions( even small ones!), we'd be more than happy to help! Sycamore Education

September 2017

Kris from Ozaukee Christian School

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Sycamore does what we need it to do. The customer service is really what keeps us here.

Grade/report card preparation is so much easier for our staff. We have a reliable method of communicating with our parents and staff. (We just need to get parents to log in more regularly!)

Pros

Easy to use for parents and staff; customer service is the BEST -- quick to respond , servant-minded and very competent.

Cons

There are a few quirks, like only uploading a single photo at a time (unlike something like Facebook where several can be done with a click). We had to go with a different accounting system (Quick Books Online) because we couldn't integrate it with Sycamore. Email is hard to manage at times.

September 2017

Edward from Jesuit Academy

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

I'm very happy with the fact that it's like a one stop shop. Has everything we need .

a lot of things in one place.

Pros

The ability to get and find information that usually had to be found in several locations. As an administrator for this software, I enjoy the ease of creating reports and being able to costomize them. Overall the amount of things you can do with this program is amazing.

Cons

There seems to be too many clicks to get to some things. We have a lot of students who don't always share the same last name as their parent so some times it's hard to connect the two when doing some things.

January 2010

Tony from Blue Ridge Christian School

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

January 2010

Sycamore Education - The Key to a Smooth Running School

We are extremely pleased with the quality of the product and the service received from Sycamore. Our transition to Sycamore was smooth and the customer support is clear and responsive. Using Sycamore has revolutionized communication throughout our school community. As an experienced school admnistrator and adjunct college professor, I am extremely pleased with Sycamore Education and am grateful for the opportunity to recommend it to others.

Pros

1. Looks and performs professionally for school employees and parents. 2. Provides an excellent platform for ongoing communication between the school and home. 3. Customer support is exceptional. They provide helpful, easy to understand assistance in a timely fashion. 4. Over other web-based programs we've used or reviewed, Sycamore stands out as the best value and highest quality for our money. 5. We've received comments from other schools regarding the professional appearance of our grade cards, transcripts, and other school communication. 6. The Pass-a-Note feature makes communication among the school community easy and quick. 7. We've never experienced any "down time"; Sycamore is always functioning quickly and properly.

Cons

1. The user manuals would be more beneficial if they guided the user step-by-step through each process, especially during initial setup. What the user manuals lack, the customer support makes up for!

December 2019

jessica from Atonement Lutheran

Company Size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Functionality

5.0

December 2019

All your school information in one place

Parents can pay their child's tuition, lunch account balance and any other fees that may be due without having to go in the office.

Pros

I have been using this software for over 4 years. I am able to pay my child's tuition, check their lunch account and pretty much anything their teacher posts that I need to know. Easy to navigate and keep track of yearly expenses.

Cons

I have had a few problems logging in but was able to get help easily. Other than that I haven't had any issues.

Response from Sycamore Leaf Solutions

Replied December 2019

Jessica, Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a thoughtful review! We appreciate and welcome your feedback. We are happy to serve parents like you. Never hesitate to reach out with questions or concerns. Blessings to you! -Sycamore Education

August 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

4.0

Functionality

4.0

August 2018

All-around system for schools

We used this at a small Christian school and it really helped us streamline our workflows!

Pros

I really liked how it integrated grading, communication, and attendance.

Cons

The multiple pop-up windows got annoying after a while. It would be good to integrate some sort of video instruction capabilities where teachers could post information for the students.

September 2017

Melissa from Immanuel Lutheran School, Seymour

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

September 2017

Sycamore is a fantastic school management program.

It is so much easier to exchange information between different offices within our school.

Pros

Customer service is AWESOME! They are quick to respond and often make upgrades to the system based on our suggestions.

Cons

There are few features like church attendance and basic checklists within the grade book that I would love to see them add.

March 2018

Glenda from Northern Hills Christian Academy

Company Size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

March 2018

I use this program for all of our schools grades, student information and accounting.

Pros

I love that it is easy to use and get around to keep my important information all in one place and to keep my accounting up to date.

Cons

That sometimes you have to ask for something to be changed because even as a super user I can not get things added or taken out.

September 2017

Nikki from Holy Family Catholic School

Time Used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

September 2017

Our school utilizes and loves Sycamore.

Pros

It is very user friendly for parents, teachers, students, and support staff. The app that has been created is wonderful.

Cons

I wish there would be a way to hide features we do not utilize. Sycamore offers many features for schools to use.

November 2008

Jon from San Francisco Christian School

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2008

We have been very satisfied with the product and the support.

We have been very satisfied with the product and the support. It has met our expectations and beyond. We probably use only half of the features and are excited about the prospects of the implementing and expanding our school's effective using this product.

Pros

The conversion from our previous network-based program went flawlessly. We were up an running within a couple of weeks with the majority of the time just verifying data. Our main objective was to improve communication between school and home. Being a small school (<300 students), we were looking for the most inexpensive solution. We compared several of the competitors (e.g. Hunter's, RenWeb, Blackbaud, ACS, etc.) and found this to meet our needs. Our parents appreciate the built-in communication system between them and the school. The customer support is terrific. You can either phone or submit a support ticket online. They respond within 24 hours but most of time sooner.

Cons

The user interface is quirky at times. The button placements are not consistently located. It is a menu-driven interface as opposed to GUI though there is rumors of its soon release.

February 2011

Pattie from Clarksville Christian School, Inc.

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

February 2011

Excellent Customer Service/User Friendly

I would give them an excellent rating and would have no problem recommending Sycamore to any school looking for an online student management system.

Pros

I have been working in the education field for 25 years, 20 of them with the local public school system, and have used many different student management systems during that time. Being a small school, I worried when we implemented Sycamore Education because I knew that I was pretty much alone when it came to troubleshooting. No longer would I have an IT rep inhouse who could solve any problems I might have. I have been very happy with the customer service with Sycamore and the ease of use as well. I usually get an answer within 10 minutes any time I submit a ticket for technical help. They are also constantly adding upgrades to the program that are very helpful to the staff and the parents.

Cons

There have been very few things that our school personally wanted changed that were not feasible as other schools had not asked for the same changes. We have been able to work around them.

December 2018

Anonymous

Verified Reviewer

Company Size: 201-500 employees

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

3.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

4.0

December 2018

It’s a great teaching tool!

Pros

It’s very efficient for all my teaching needs!

Cons

There is really nothing I dislike about this software!

February 2011

Julie from Northland Christian

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

February 2011

Sycamore Fan

I would highly recommend Sycamore. Our school has benefited so much from using Sycamore and are pleased with the decision we made to use this software. For the price, ease of use and great tech support/upgrades, it would be difficult to find anything better.

Pros

Sycamore is priced right and very user friendly. A huge advantage to the system is the technical support. We find the support staff provides great assistance with easy questions as well as more complex solutions. We appreciate their willingness to see us through to the end when we have an issue (even when it's self created). The web-based system provides easy access from anywhere which is a great feature. The system is continually being updated with no expensive upgrade charges which is great for sticking to a budget. Communication with families and among staff is made easy with Sycamore as well.

Cons

Not as much database flexibility (adding fields/tracking) as we woud like.

March 2018

Hector from CRIS

Company Size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Education Management

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Value for money

5.0

Customer support

5.0

Functionality

5.0

March 2018

Super comprehensive school-management package

Great price for a FULL system to manage the entire K-12 spectrum, from facilities to student admissions...

Pros

Great Google integration (provisioning, email, calendar, classroom...). LOTS of features included in one package, no modules necessary. GREAT price!

Cons

No rotating-schedule ability. VERY obsolete user interface (think Windows 3.5). Other than those two factors, this could be one of the best school-management systems in the world!

November 2018

Ugochi from Center for anxiety relief and education, PLLC

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Mental Health Care

Time Used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Great tool for keeping track!

Pros

We use this at our child’s private school, it’s efficient for paying for her school lunches - eliminates the need to have her carry cash. All we do is add money via our PayPal account. We can also view her lunch menu from there and track her grades.

Cons

I wish there was an option to update account balances via our bank account. I guess at this time, PayPal is the only option. This is it a con but can be a potential inconvenience if PayPal is not working.

August 2010

Carmen from Lakeland Christian Academy

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

August 2010

After careful evaluation, we chose Sycamore for our school's needs

WITHOUT A DOUBT, Sycamore Education was the right solution for our school. We evaluated 2 other systems and we are so very glad we chose Sycamore.

Pros

-support is rarely needed, but EXCEPTIONAL in times of need. support ticket response time averages 10 minutes. (yes...10 minutes, not 10 hours!) Support staff is EXCEPTIONAL. -easy for teachers, parents, & students to use -has become our "go-to" method of communication with the school family -ALL IN ONE! No "module" ridiculousness -no servers to maintain! -teachers have access 24/7, on or off-campus -SE is always improving their product and making the experience more and more user-friendly

Cons

-pictures aren't easy to upload (in SE's defense, photo-sharing is not their expertise)

June 2010

Rick from St. John Vianney School

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

June 2010

Sycamore Review

I strongly recommend this to any school or school district. It is a fantastic resource for my school and my community.

Pros

Sycamore is an all encompassing administration software. It allows for great communication with teachers, students, staff, and parents. It includes just about all aspects of administering to a school. I am very pleased...

Cons

I would like to see one feature added to Sycamore. I would like to see an e-mail notification sent to parents as to when grades have been updated. I understand Sycamore's reasoning behind not doing that, however, in today's world, people need as many chances and excuses to log into Sycamore. I would like to see an e-mail stating that their students grades have been updated and a link to log onto sycamore.

September 2010

Nancee from Northern Michigan Christian School

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

September 2010

NMCS thinks Sycamore Education is AWESOME!

Our school would HIGHLY recommend sycamore education, we've used other systems and have NEVER had such an easy time converting over to a new system. Even though training is not available, you don't need it. Sycamore Education is so simple to use. Thanks Sycamore - NMCS LOVES Sycamore Education!

Pros

Ease of system Reports Tech support Quick response to personalized needs My Teachers LOVE IT! Has so much to offer beside attendance and grades

Cons

We have not had any issues with this system. Any changes we've needed have been addressed quickly.

Response from Sycamore Leaf Solutions

Replied September 2010

Clarification: Training videos and manuals are accessible within the system for all users. If more personal training is desired, administrator and teacher training sessions can be scheduled. This is done via webinar for a minimal fee. A proposal for on-site training can also be requested.

November 2010

Christy from Plaza Heights Christian Academy

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

November 2010

User friendly

I recommend Sycamore Education to any school who wishes to increase the daily communication between teachers and parents.

Pros

Sycamore Education is very easy to use. It makes communicating grades to parents so easy. A parent can log on at their leisure and check on grades for their student. The Pass-A-Note option is very handy, as well. I communicate hourly with parents and fellow faculty using Pass-A-Notes. I often print reports of students grades to go home, and in a few clicks can email that same report directly to parents!

Cons

It takes a little while to learn to navigate the ins and outs of everything. After a few quarters it becomes like second nature. I just KNOW where everything is.

October 2017

Zenab from Islamic Academy of Delaware

Time Used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

1.0

Value for money

4.0

Customer support

2.0

Functionality

4.0

October 2017

Difficult to maneuver but with many features.

Pros

You can do everything on this SIS program. It's very versatile. Logging on is simple and creating accounts is quick. It's a good communication tool.

Cons

It's so difficult to maneuver! You need to take many steps to complete one task. He parents do not usually log on because of the complicated user interface.

July 2015

Carol from St. Barbara School

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

July 2015

St. Barbara School appreciates the integration of gradebooks and family information.

Overall, Sycamore Education provides a quality product which allows St. Barbara School to use online support to keep our families current on student progress and family account information. Additionally, parents can keep their contact information up to date enabling ease of communication of events, fundraising, and schedules. Customer service is very helpful, knowledgeable. and supportive of enhancements. A recent upgrade to online enrollment facilitated registering new and returning families and helps the admissions office to track the status of our families in the registration process. The integration of different software into Sycamore Education has also saved the school money and enables our parents to go to one site for their school information needs.

October 2008

John from Bishop Machebeuf High School

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2008

As a Catholic High School with limited resources, we found Sycamore Education to have the most.

As a Catholic High School with limited resources, we found Sycamore Education to have the most bang for the buck. We did exhaustive research and evaluation of other products and Sycamore delivered the most features that met our needs. Our faculty, staff, and families have widely accepted Sycamore, praise its features, and it has quickly become the center of how we get things done at Bishop Machebeuf High School.

Pros

Web interface is speedy Training is easy and intuitive Implementation and customer support are exceptional Openness to innovation, enhancements

Cons

Master Scheduler isn't as robust as I would like to see it, but a new version is set to be released soon, which is a testament to the continual improvement of this product.

Response from Sycamore Leaf Solutions

Replied March 2010

Master Schedule interface was introduced in 2009.

March 2016

Meshell from CityGate University School

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

March 2016

Sycamore is a LifeSaver and Alicia is a Life Guard!

This being the first year of our school, we were doing EVERYTHING by hand. Sycamore Education gave us everything we need and more. We love the fact that the software is still growing and changing so we can add tweaks to make the functions just right for us. Alicia is the best thing that happened to us this year. She held our hand through the entire process, repeated things when we couldn't get it right and was always readily available when we called. She helped make our first year successful. Thank you, Alicia. Thank you Sycamore! (She needs a raise!)

Response from Sycamore Leaf Solutions

Replied March 2016

Meshell, Thank you for the kind words! We'll be sure to pass along your high praise for Alicia so that she (and the rest of the company) know how helpful she was. -Sycamore

June 2015

Lori from Millennium Academy

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

June 2015

Sycamore is an ever evolving tool that has become a very important information portal for school .

Sycamore has changed the way we take care of the day to day business at our school. It helps us track all of the documentation we need to manage our students and teachers. Sycamore is continually upgrading and adding features to make the program more user friendly. The only negative aspect has been parent participation. Many parents complain they can't get on, or they can't find information, etc. I know many of these are excuses but I wish there was some way to force interaction with the parent. One change I would love to see made would be to be able to respond to a pass a note through email, when it is received through email. This would avoid having to log on to respond to a parent.

December 2013

Dan from http://thephelpsschool.org

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

December 2013

Absolutely the Best!

Our school implemented Sycamore three years ago. Surprisingly, teachers and administrators embraced it without resistance. To have a user friendly student information system without the need to pay extra for additional modules is unprecedented. You name it and Sycamore has it We are a college preparatory high school and Sycamore has more than we need. Furthermore, students and parents have been nothing but complimentary. Between ease of use, efficient support and extensive usability, Sycamore is an easy choice. Add in the low cost in comparison to other student information systems, and it's a no brainer.

January 2010

Scott from Shakopee Area Catholic School

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

January 2010

Sycamore Education: Excellent Product, Excellent Service, Reasonable Price!

I highly recommend the site. It's functional, easy to use, VERY affordable and the people working there have been just phenomenal.

Pros

-Excellent customer service. Their contact person for us (Nancy) has been very receptive to our needs and is an outstanding communicator for Sycamore. -Incredibly fast response to support tickets. Almost instantaneous. -Flexible! They have been willing to work with us to modify to some specific needs we have. -Simple to use. Once you learn a few key areas, it's so easy.

Cons

-Needs an aesthetic facelift/tweak.

November 2018

Babatope from IT Crack Team Inc.

Company Size: 1 employee

Industry: Computer Software

Time Used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Value for money

5.0

Functionality

5.0

November 2018

Complete package

Pros

I love that all I require to get things done with my child's school is in one place - student info, lunch booking, payments etc.

Cons

None at this time. Everything needs is well integrated into one great app.

October 2010

Brian from Black Forest Academy

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

4.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2010

Sycamore Best Bang for your buck

Overall our School users are happy with Sycamore. I would recommend this product as a cost effective way to get your school up and running on cloud computing. There is no software to maintain and minimal start up costs.

Pros

- All in one System - Customer support is quite responsive - No software to upgrade, No servers to back up - Very feature rich - Cost effective all in one solution for Schools of all sizes

Cons

- Many reports are available and Dynamic reports are great but need the ability to save Dynamic report definitions.

December 2014

Chris from Calvary Academy

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

3.0

Customer support

3.0

December 2014

Warning School Admins - Their App is worthless - nothing is accurate / up to date

For the first half of this school year the app was just unstable (uh-oh message like other reviewers) but at least I could keep trying and eventually get info. For the last few weeks the grades listed for my children are inaccurate and the missing assignments are from last quarter. (Similar to other reviews.) The website is well done but the app is junk. Google play shows the last update was 8/23/13. I wonder if the schools purchasing the software, with the promise of a handy app for parents, know how bad the app is.

Response from Sycamore Leaf Solutions

Replied April 2015

Chris, Great news! We've updated our mobile app significantly for both iOS and Android devices so that you aren't seeing out-of-date information ever again. In addition, we've made things more streamlined and easy to use for your convenience. We're looking forward to your utilization of the new mobile app!

May 2014

Jennifer from Saint Andrew Academy

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

May 2014

Saint Andrew Academy, Louisville Kentucy Review of Sycamore

I have not experienced such fantastic pr and customer care before. You and your company have done a great job in developing your program from every level making the transition to the system just about seamless. Any problem we have had has been corrected, responded to, and met. We continue to find ways to maximize our use of the new system too, making the overall system itself very 21st century which is what I really like!

January 2014

Motherof2

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: GetApp


January 2014

I can't believe it!

I don't understand the low star rating and other review this program received. As a parent and teacher i love the user friendliness they provide. Excellent, quick support and they're always open to new ideas. They really have the schools best interest at heart. Not a bad thing i could say, we love Sycamore Education!

October 2014

Ruth from Kingwood Christian School

Time Used: Free Trial

Review Source: Capterra


Ease-of-use

5.0

Customer support

5.0

October 2014

Batch Email issues

Great service from Nick who went above and beyond the call of duty to help resolve the issue. The problem was on my end and not Sycamore. Thanks Nick!

Displaying 1 - 50 of 52 reviews