What are DesktopShipper users saying about the software?

Read what people like you have said about using DesktopShipper software through verified user reviews

User Review Highlights

4.62

45 Reviews

5
33
4
10
3
0
2
1
1
1
4.5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4.5

Customer Support

out of 5
4.5

Value for money

out of 5
4.5

Functionality

out of 5
  • icon"What I like most about this software is the software's ability to choose shipper and service upon scanning and weighing the order."
  • icon"I like the ease of use and integration into our marketplaces. It's great to have immediate support if it is needed."
  • icon"Aside from the fact that the software is just what we need, the customer support is amazing and we could not be happier."
  • icon"Too many quirks, i.e. there can't be commas in certain columns or there has to be data in certain places even if redundant. Error message will pop up but won't inform user of what the error is."
  • icon"The inability to bill clients at different rates. Although i think this is something that Desktop Shipper is working to make happen."
  • icon"Worse yet, the errors give no explanation as to why they're happening and/or how to prevent them. Support is pretty useless."

Jump to:

Browse all DesktopShipper Reviews

  • Have you used DesktopShipper and would like to share your experience with others?
  • Write a Review

Apply Filters:

X

User Industry

Company Size

Time Used

User Rating

ResetShow 45 Results
Filters

Showing 1 - 25 of 45 reviews

Brian

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Great Cloud Based Shipping Software

We are able to get more orders out the door because of the ease to batch print like shipments. We are currently shipping 5,000-10,000 orders daily through desktop shipper.

Pros

Pros: Ability to batch print 500+ orders relatively with ease, rate shop feature is excellent, the support team is great and very helpful with customizing certain features

Cons

The shipment search functions are a bit wonky and wish it was easier to use.

Reasons for choosing DesktopShipper

Their support team was always readily available to help out and customize our setup.

Matt

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Logistics and Supply Chain

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Long time user

Great customer service. Always fixed any issues wit tech support

Pros

flexibility, easy to use. Just switched the cloud version and this improved productivity

Cons

sometimes getting custom programming is a little slow

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

Needed a platform that made rate shopping easy

Anonymous

Company size: 2-10 employees

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
1

Ease-of-use

out of 5
1

Value for money

out of 5
1

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

July 2021

Inefficient, Terrible UI, Costly, Lots of Errors

DesktopShipper is a nightmare of a software experience. If you operate a business that involves shipping, do yourself a favor and stay far away from Desktopshipper. There are MUCH BETTER and CHEAPER alternatives out there like Shipstation, Shippo, Shipworks, easyship, and shippingeasy. Why do you see so many positive reviews from other users? My guess is that they've only used Desktopshipper and don't know how much cleaner, simpler, and more efficient other shipping software is when compared to Desktopshipper.

Pros

What I did I like most about this software? Saying goodbye to it.

Cons

- It's slow and inefficient! So many unnecessary steps and mouse clicks to ship. Even batch-printing, which is supposed to save time, is bogged down by an excessive number of steps. Desktopshipper is a time-suck and not built for high-volume sellers. -No ability to save preferences so you're always having to set certain things every time you refresh the page. This adds extra mouse clicks and inefficiency. -Can't adjust column width or column placement. Unless you're working on a 32" monitor, you're going to be scrolling left and right a lot. This introduces additional inefficiency in the shipping process. - The UI is awful. It looks like it was built in 2005 and hasn't been updated since. -Headers don't stay static, so you lose the action icons in the header any time you scroll down or right. More inefficiency! -Setup takes weeks and costs you $125/hour. You can't do anything yourself because the software is so convoluted. Setup took my company roughly 10 hours only to continue experiencing problems after setup. -Errors are abundant. Worse yet, the errors give no explanation as to why they're happening and/or how to prevent them. -Support is pretty useless. Most of our support calls would end in one of two ways: 1. Support has no idea what the error/problem is and needs to submit it to the development team, or 2. Support instructs you to submit a feature request because the software is lacking basic features. -Search function is broken

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

We switched so that we could test Pitney Bowes as our primary carrier. Pitney Bowes doesn't integrate with Shipstation so we had no choice but to also use a new shipping software. Long story short, Desktopshipper sucks and Pitney Bowes is even worse. Needless to say, we quickly went back to USPS/UPS and Shipstation.

Pete

Company size: 1,001-5,000 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
3

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

desktop shipper

Pros

ability to rate shop, ease of getting ahold of customer service

Cons

Terrible reporting. hard to get and data integrity is questionable

Response from DesktopShipper

Hello Pete, We are happy to hear you have had a mostly positive experience using DesktopShipper! We value your input and would love the opportunity to improve to meet your expectations with reporting. Please email us at support@desktopshipper.com with more information to determine how we can provide you with a solution. We value our customers' opinions and would like to thank you for bringing this to our attention. - DesktopShipper Support

Replied February 2022

chantal

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Finally a great software with great customer service

I was introduced to Desktopshipper as a recommendation from ActiveSeller and it has been the best suggestion. I look forward to growing my company and orders with them.

Pros

I love that DesktopShipper is only a phone call away and always feel like I am the priority

Cons

There are some things are not as easy to find as first, but once you know it is easy. and Desktopshipper is always there to help me remember.

Reasons for choosing DesktopShipper

It seemed like a good choice at the time.

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

Shipstation slowly kept increasing cost and taking away services like talking to a real person.

Adam

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Law Enforcement

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

July 2020

Desktop Shipper Cloud Shipping Software

Very good. We have used their software for a long time. It used to be a desktop application with a lot of local files, but their latest version is on the cloud. The cloud makes management very easy as we can access our records from any computer, instead of having to access the computer used to ship orders.

Pros

We use this software to generate shipping labels for our orders. With this software, all we have to do is scan a barcode on our packing slip, then all this customer information is pulled up. Then this software will allow us to easily compare rates from various carriers, select a rate and generate the shipping label in just a few clicks. The software will then log and save the tracking number, as well as update our OMS via API. This leads to almost no errors when it comes to shipping orders and saving tracking information. When we need support, it is always just a few clicks away. Support is generally able to solve issues very quickly. I will say, we don't really need support too often. After the setup & training period this software is very easy to use, and the best thing about it is that it just works.

Cons

We love this product. I do not have any dislikes currently. Some of our shippers do not like that orders are only loaded into DSK every 15 minutes, but that is really a minor issue.

Reasons for choosing DesktopShipper

We went with DesktopShipper because they had an existing relationship/integration with our OMS. We were not disappointed that we only had one choice, as it is great software.

Margaret

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Marketing and Advertising

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Best Shipping Management Software for Any Business

DesktopShipper is an incredible all around shipping solution! It works with almost every cart imaginable and can integrate with your order management system. If your business ships anything - you need Desktopshipper! We've been pursued by many order management and shipping software during the last 15+ years. We've switched/upgraded to different ecommerce carts and order management system during this time, but never had to move away from DesktopShipper. DesktopShipper is not just a service provider but a great partner! Their prices are beyond fair, and their value of service is top class! Whatever business rules you need, DesktopShipper can help set it up, and save you printing time. We are confident that we'll be partners with DesktopShipper for many more years to come! Thank you DesktopShipper!

Pros

- Versatile and scalable! Fast reliable label printing! - Intelligent business rules for shipping and workflow that you can think of! - Incredible price for the value of consistent and reliable service ! - World Class customer service support and attention. - Feature rich: Supports multiple carts, shipping carriers, inventory systems, order management systems, and marketplace channels that you can think of!

Cons

We've been using this software for over 10 years and have no complaints!

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

Business rules and batch printing was not supported.

jen

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Streamline shipping

Desktop Shipper support is quick to get back to us when we're having problems. They even extended their hours so when we need help in the morning, they're available to us.

Pros

I like Desktop Shipper that I can't narrow it down to just one thing that I like. With Desktop Shipper, we have the ability to ship all our orders, whether placed on our own website or on a marketplace. Desktop Shipper saves us time by automatically updating our orders with tracking numbers after they ship and by shipping FBA orders without going through Amazon to buy shipping. Desktop Shipper saves us money by comparing shipping prices of the different carriers we use to ship our products.

Cons

I wish Desktop Shipper could allow us to ship FBA orders for both our companies without upgrading to the Cloud.

dave

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Sporting Goods

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered
5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

June 2019

Game Changer for Our Company

DesktopShipper has enabled us to save money by knowing exactly how much a shipment will cost, and by immediately being able to see what is the cheapest shipping method based on the shipping rules we have implemented in the software. It makes shipping a very easy process for new employees. DesktopShipper has a team of wonderful staff that are willing to help us overcome any obstacles we face with shipping. Highly recommended.

Pros

-Ability to rate shop all carriers -Easy integration into our order fulfillment software (StoneEdge) -Great customer support -Their team is willing to customize features for our needs -Ability to connect multiple databases for 3PL needs

Cons

-Could be a little bit faster retrieving rates

Eric

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

Great Solution!

Top notch. [SENSITIVE CONTENT] has been an amazing support for implementation and a huge reason for our success in launching with them.

Pros

Makes shipping extremely easy and fast. Have saved significant labor time on shipping, provided easier tracking, improved product accuracy in picking, and saved money on address corrections. It has been a game changer for our teams.

Cons

Haven't had any issues yet. Some of the back end setup has been confusing but that is because there are so many options for filtering/customization. Their team has been excellent in the setup and implementation and helped me solve any issues I had.

Response from DesktopShipper

Hi Eric, We are thrilled to have you as part of the DesktopShipper family! Thank you for sharing your kind words with us. It means the world to our entire team! Our priority is customer service and we are ecstatic that we met that mark! Kind folks like you make our job a pleasure. Glad to know there have been no major issues. If something ever does come up, you know who to call! - DesktopShipper Support

Replied February 2022

Cody

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

3

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

All-In-One Shipping Program

Everything just works with Desktop Shipper as long as you ship with standard ship services like USPS. If it's a more uncommon ship service like Donnelly, I'm very quick to call customer support to help fix it which they are always super helpful and energetic to help.

Pros

Being able to include every shipping account you ship with whether it be USPS, Donnelly, FedEx, UPS, DHL, etc Once you learn how the program works, it's all pretty self explanatory, pick a service code, enter dims and it automatically reads the weight off the scale plugged into the computer (and it only reads the weight when you tell it too, unlike UPS Worldship)

Cons

Changing prices on international shipments. Would be easier if it was like UPS Worldship where all the lines were editable from the get go instead of having to edit, save, repeat until all line items are changed

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

Our new ship service Donnelly was already integrated somewhat with Desktop Shipper so there wasn't as much setup as it would of been with OrderExpress. And OrderExpress is VERY much more basic and lacking then Desktop Shipper.

Daven

Company size: 501-1,000 employees

Industry: Non-Profit Organization Management

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
4

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Great software for increasing production

Increased productivity and tracking is definitely worth the cost.

Pros

The best feature of this software is the ability to ship items with one button click. After customizing the software to work with our database, we are now able to ship bulk BPM mailings easily. We have increased our productivity drastically.

Cons

The initial set up and implementation took some time and configuring the software on each new workstation does involve some time. The monthly cost per workstation is a bit high, but well worth it for the increase in production.

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

We wanted a product compatible with bulk BPM mailings.

dave

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Phenomenal

Pros

The software works as you would expect. It rate shops and gets you the best rates for shipping. Also integrates with inventory management software to confirm orders. Everythign about that is great. What separates Desktop shipper is their support. They answer every call quickly. Everyone on the staff is knowledgeable and they will customize the software to fit your needs. It must be a great place to work because there is no turn over on the staff.

Cons

There is nothing I would change about the software. It works as I need it to

Laura

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
4

Customer support

out of 5
3

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Good Program

Over all the experience is good.

Pros

The support for Desktop Shipper is great for simple fixes. The bigger issues take a while to get responses on. The functionality is good and large batches are a plus.

Cons

Some functionality changed without us being informed and it affected our system negatively.

Reasons for choosing DesktopShipper

DHL expedited max was able to work with Desktop Shipper

Jordan

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

World class company

All in one solution for all of our shipping needs and rules. We ship with multiple carriers and this takes all the hard work out of shipping. We scan an order and DesktopShipper chooses the cheapest option according to our rules.

Pros

The software has always been easy to integrate with any customization needed over the past 10+ years. Our business needs are constantly changing and DesktopShipper has always worked with us and helped us anyway that we asked.

Cons

I can not think of any negatives of the software . Updates are always automatic

Steve

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Internet

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Functional, Efficient - Great Company!

I have been very happy with DesktopShipper. The customer service has been top notch - they always solve our problems very quickly. This software is reliable, functional, efficient and works great for our business.

Pros

I like the rate shop feature. The ability to compare rates for all of our shipping carriers (and choose the cheapest option) has been a real game changer for our business.

Cons

I do not have any cons to add at this time.

Jose

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Information Technology and Services

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Great All Around

Overall, by far one of the best software packages out there! The Customer Support is ALWAYS the BEST! Any issues that we have ever had in the past, Desktop Shipper Support, has always been able to take care of. Truly know what they are doing!!

Pros

I enjoy the ease of use. Extremely easy to get around and download updates, add shipping methods. etc..

Cons

It is really hard to say, most of the issues come from other issues that cause DS to not do what it should to. The other is once in a while when a NEW update comes out, it sometimes has to be reconfigured. Not everything, just a couple of minor things.

JARRETT

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Seamless Product

Pros

Makes shipping easy and seamless by finding the most cost effective solution.

Cons

Since the introduction of the cloud the actual desktop shipper seems dated. But that is not a big deal.

Reasons for choosing DesktopShipper

Responsiveness, availability and knowledge of company and its staff. We are confident in their abilities and that they are always looking out for our best interests.

Travis

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Wholesale

Time used: Less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
3

Customer support

out of 5
4

Functionality

out of 5

February 2022

D&D Global review

Overall I am pleased. Like everything, there is always progress that could be made, but it has helped us grow more efficient in our shipping.

Pros

Compared to pacejet, Desktop shipping is faster to train people how to use. Also i allows for customizations beyond that of the previous software.

Cons

communication back and forth with netsuite can take some time to get the bugs worked out. It has been over a year, and we are still working on a few.

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

started off with a cost alone choice, but the benefits beyond cost were worth it.

Bill

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Automotive

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Desktop Shipper just works!

Pros

The software is very intuitive, nearly bulletproof, and on the rare occasion that there is an issue, their customer service is easy to get ahold of and knowledgeable.

Cons

Nothing I don't like, has been perfect for us.

Reasons for choosing DesktopShipper

Easily integrated with my system. Has been perfect for us.

Jody

Company size: 2-10 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Huge Time Saver

I've been using Desktop shipper for about 5 years now. It is easy to use and consistent. It does exactly what it says it does without interruption. It's easy to train new people to use the software, as well.

Pros

It's easy to use and gives me everything I need to streamline my shipping.

Cons

I can't think of any cons. It's a great product.

David

Company size: 201-500 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Simple to use, support is quickly available if needed

We have been using Desktop Shipper for over 6 years, and it has been reliable and consistent in ease of use.

Pros

I like the ease of use and integration into our marketplaces. It's great to have immediate support if it is needed.

Cons

Customs forms can be a challenge if marketplaces don't have the correct info.

Ron

Company size: 51-200 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: Less than 6 months

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Exactly what we were looking for!

Shout out to Customer service! The representative made implementation easy. Her patients with me and my questions is commendable. Her follow up kept me on track.

Pros

What I like most about this software is the software's ability to choose shipper and service upon scanning and weighing the order. Especially useful choosing DHL Global Mail Expedited vs. DHL Global Mail Expedited Plus shipping.

Cons

I've not found anything I dislike or like least about this software.

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

Desktop Shippers functionality.

Amiel

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

October 2019

Dektop Shipper mailing software

Pros

We use this software to ship all of our orders daily. It is pretty easy to use and integrates seamlessly with other shipping software such as UPS Worldship.

Cons

I have no complaints about the software as it does everything we need in order to be able to fulfill our orders.

David

Company size: 11-50 employees

Industry: Retail

Time used: More than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

5

Ease-of-use

out of 5
5

Value for money

out of 5
5

Customer support

out of 5
5

Functionality

out of 5

August 2019

Great solution when selling on multiple channels. Excellent support

We have been using Desktop for years with no issues.

Pros

Simple UI that integrates easily with our 3P inventory software. When I call they answer the phone, either help right away or call back shortly.

Cons

Its pretty straight forward software and it works great, so no cons

Showing 1 - 25 of 45 reviews
DesktopShipper

DesktopShipper

4.62/5 out of 45 reviews
PriceDemo