All DesktopShipper Reviews

1-25 of 64 Reviews

Sort by

Reviews are by default sorted by Recommended to software buyers, driven by our proprietary algorithm reflecting the depth and quality of the review, recency of experience, and other factors. As a neutral reviews platform, the star rating of the review is not considered in the "Recommended" ranking, and there is currently no voting mechanism that would allow site visitors to influence the ranking.

Brian

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Great Cloud Based Shipping Software

We are able to get more orders out the door because of the ease to batch print like shipments. We are currently shipping 5,000-10,000 orders daily through desktop shipper.

PROS

Pros: Ability to batch print 500+ orders relatively with ease, rate shop feature is excellent, the support team is great and very helpful with customizing certain features

CONS

The shipment search functions are a bit wonky and wish it was easier to use.

Reason for choosing DesktopShipper

Their support team was always readily available to help out and customize our setup.

Matt

Logistics and Supply Chain, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed August 2019

Long time user

Great customer service. Always fixed any issues wit tech support

PROS

flexibility, easy to use. Just switched the cloud version and this improved productivity

CONS

sometimes getting custom programming is a little slow

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

Needed a platform that made rate shopping easy

Anonymous

2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 6 months

Review Source: GetApp
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

1

EASE OF USE

1

VALUE FOR MONEY

1

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

1

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed July 2021

Inefficient, Terrible UI, Costly, Lots of Errors

DesktopShipper is a nightmare of a software experience. If you operate a business that involves shipping, do yourself a favor and stay far away from Desktopshipper. There are MUCH BETTER and CHEAPER alternatives out there like Shipstation, Shippo, Shipworks, easyship, and shippingeasy. Why do you see so many positive reviews from other users? My guess is that they've only used Desktopshipper and don't know how much cleaner, simpler, and more efficient other shipping software is when compared to Desktopshipper.

PROS

What I did I like most about this software? Saying goodbye to it.

CONS

- It's slow and inefficient! So many unnecessary steps and mouse clicks to ship. Even batch-printing, which is supposed to save time, is bogged down by an excessive number of steps. Desktopshipper is a time-suck and not built for high-volume sellers. -No ability to save preferences so you're always having to set certain things every time you refresh the page. This adds extra mouse clicks and inefficiency. -Can't adjust column width or column placement. Unless you're working on a 32" monitor, you're going to be scrolling left and right a lot. This introduces additional inefficiency in the shipping process. - The UI is awful. It looks like it was built in 2005 and hasn't been updated since. -Headers don't stay static, so you lose the action icons in the header any time you scroll down or right. More inefficiency! -Setup takes weeks and costs you $125/hour. You can't do anything yourself because the software is so convoluted. Setup took my company roughly 10 hours only to continue experiencing problems after setup. -Errors are abundant. Worse yet, the errors give no explanation as to why they're happening and/or how to prevent them. -Support is pretty useless. Most of our support calls would end in one of two ways: 1. Support has no idea what the error/problem is and needs to submit it to the development team, or 2. Support instructs you to submit a feature request because the software is lacking basic features. -Search function is broken

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

We switched so that we could test Pitney Bowes as our primary carrier. Pitney Bowes doesn't integrate with Shipstation so we had no choice but to also use a new shipping software. Long story short, Desktopshipper sucks and Pitney Bowes is even worse. Needless to say, we quickly went back to USPS/UPS and Shipstation.

chantal

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 12 months

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Finally a great software with great customer service

I was introduced to Desktopshipper as a recommendation from ActiveSeller and it has been the best suggestion. I look forward to growing my company and orders with them.

PROS

I love that DesktopShipper is only a phone call away and always feel like I am the priority

CONS

There are some things are not as easy to find as first, but once you know it is easy. and Desktopshipper is always there to help me remember.

Reason for choosing DesktopShipper

It seemed like a good choice at the time.

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

Shipstation slowly kept increasing cost and taking away services like talking to a real person.

Adam

Law Enforcement, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This reviewer was invited by us to submit an honest review and offered a nominal incentive as a thank you.

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed July 2020

Desktop Shipper Cloud Shipping Software

Very good. We have used their software for a long time. It used to be a desktop application with a lot of local files, but their latest version is on the cloud. The cloud makes management very easy as we can access our records from any computer, instead of having to access the computer used to ship orders.

PROS

We use this software to generate shipping labels for our orders. With this software, all we have to do is scan a barcode on our packing slip, then all this customer information is pulled up. Then this software will allow us to easily compare rates from various carriers, select a rate and generate the shipping label in just a few clicks. The software will then log and save the tracking number, as well as update our OMS via API. This leads to almost no errors when it comes to shipping orders and saving tracking information. When we need support, it is always just a few clicks away. Support is generally able to solve issues very quickly. I will say, we don't really need support too often. After the setup & training period this software is very easy to use, and the best thing about it is that it just works.

CONS

We love this product. I do not have any dislikes currently. Some of our shippers do not like that orders are only loaded into DSK every 15 minutes, but that is really a minor issue.

Reason for choosing DesktopShipper

We went with DesktopShipper because they had an existing relationship/integration with our OMS. We were not disappointed that we only had one choice, as it is great software.

Margaret

Marketing and Advertising, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Best Shipping Management Software for Any Business

DesktopShipper is an incredible all around shipping solution! It works with almost every cart imaginable and can integrate with your order management system. If your business ships anything - you need Desktopshipper! We've been pursued by many order management and shipping software during the last 15+ years. We've switched/upgraded to different ecommerce carts and order management system during this time, but never had to move away from DesktopShipper. DesktopShipper is not just a service provider but a great partner! Their prices are beyond fair, and their value of service is top class! Whatever business rules you need, DesktopShipper can help set it up, and save you printing time. We are confident that we'll be partners with DesktopShipper for many more years to come! Thank you DesktopShipper!

PROS

- Versatile and scalable! Fast reliable label printing! - Intelligent business rules for shipping and workflow that you can think of! - Incredible price for the value of consistent and reliable service ! - World Class customer service support and attention. - Feature rich: Supports multiple carts, shipping carriers, inventory systems, order management systems, and marketplace channels that you can think of!

CONS

We've been using this software for over 10 years and have no complaints!

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

Business rules and batch printing was not supported.

Daven

Non-Profit Organization Management, 501-1,000 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Still on Legacy

Very positive overall experience. Over the past 8 years, we have shipped over 600,000 parcels using this software. For a large shipping operation I would highly recommend desktop shipper. If you are not going to customize the rate shopping feature and tie in with a digital scale this software is definitely overkill for you.

PROS

The rate shopping feature saves a lot of time and money. It is also a compact interface that is very easy to use. It is easy to get new employee up to speed, and ensures items are shipped with the correct postage class.

CONS

It connects to most scales instantly, but we had the misfortune of buying scales which were not as common, and it took some time to get the hardware working. But the Desktop Shipper staff was professional and able to get our scales working eventually.

Reason for choosing DesktopShipper

It offers customization of the rate shopping feature for bulk shipping.

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

Endicia did not offer rate shopping customization.

Vendor Response

Hi Daven, we greatly appreciate this detailed review of your positive experiences with DesktopShipper! We are so glad that DesktopShipper has proven to be a valuable asset for your business, and we hope to continue that relationship for the foreseeable future.

Replied September 2022

Richard

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Best Shipping Software, Hands Down! 10 Year User!

Our experience has been great. Like any software, issues pop up here and there. but they are great with communication and quick to fix it. I'd recommend them to anyone over their competitors!

PROS

We have been using Desktop Shipper for almost 10 years and there is a reason we are still with them. No one can print labels faster! We have shipped as many as 3000 packages with just 6 ship stations in a day - no other software could do that! Because of their auto rate shop feature, we are able to ship over 80% of our orders without even touching anything on the computer. You place the item and package on the scale, scan the packing slip barcode, and within 5 seconds the label is printed! BOOM.

CONS

nope

Vendor Response

Hi Richard, Thank you so much for this kind review! We certainly do appreciate your loyalty and look forward to working with you in the future. As always, if there is anything we can do for you, never hesitate to reach out!

Replied September 2022

Ranu

Information Services, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed May 2023

Awesome Software for shiping and managing orders

The experience is really nice, they have helped us in improving the shipment, labeling order managements.

PROS

The software is really helping our customers to ship huge amount of order everyday. So of them are shipping around 2000 orders everyday.Customers really love the feature where they can compare the rates and other things from multiple shipping vendors and really helpful in cost management.Cost is also very justifiable according to the services.Very helpful in printing labels.

CONS

The search functionality is bit annoying and improvement is required in it.

jen

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed August 2019

Streamline shipping

Desktop Shipper support is quick to get back to us when we're having problems. They even extended their hours so when we need help in the morning, they're available to us.

PROS

I like Desktop Shipper that I can't narrow it down to just one thing that I like. With Desktop Shipper, we have the ability to ship all our orders, whether placed on our own website or on a marketplace. Desktop Shipper saves us time by automatically updating our orders with tracking numbers after they ship and by shipping FBA orders without going through Amazon to buy shipping. Desktop Shipper saves us money by comparing shipping prices of the different carriers we use to ship our products.

CONS

I wish Desktop Shipper could allow us to ship FBA orders for both our companies without upgrading to the Cloud.

Cody

Retail, 2-10 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed October 2019

All-In-One Shipping Program

Everything just works with Desktop Shipper as long as you ship with standard ship services like USPS. If it's a more uncommon ship service like Donnelly, I'm very quick to call customer support to help fix it which they are always super helpful and energetic to help.

PROS

Being able to include every shipping account you ship with whether it be USPS, Donnelly, FedEx, UPS, DHL, etc Once you learn how the program works, it's all pretty self explanatory, pick a service code, enter dims and it automatically reads the weight off the scale plugged into the computer (and it only reads the weight when you tell it too, unlike UPS Worldship)

CONS

Changing prices on international shipments. Would be easier if it was like UPS Worldship where all the lines were editable from the get go instead of having to edit, save, repeat until all line items are changed

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

Our new ship service Donnelly was already integrated somewhat with Desktop Shipper so there wasn't as much setup as it would of been with OrderExpress. And OrderExpress is VERY much more basic and lacking then Desktop Shipper.

Jack

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

3

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Solid Software, Still Refining the Craft

Hard to argue using any other software for the breadth of use, and ability to customize.

PROS

Desktop shipper is a workhorse that let's you customize just about every aspect of the process

CONS

At time the software can be clunky and tough to use, but it isn't a big bells and whistles software.

Reasons for switching to DesktopShipper

Carrier Integration

Vendor Response

Thank you for your review, Jack! We are glad to see that you are enjoying your experience with DesktopShipper. We work hard to make DesktopShipper as easy to use as possible, and we appreciate your feedback as we continue to improve the software.

Replied September 2022

Sanjay

Retail, 201-500 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

4

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

4

FUNCTIONALITY

4

Reviewed September 2022

Desktop Shipper Importance

Desktop Shipper need to work on there weekend technical support.

PROS

Price is budget friendly and easy to use

CONS

Sometimes there is a problem in getting technical support. Weekend support is not easy to get if there is any issue.

Reason for choosing DesktopShipper

Price is budget friendly and easy to use

tim

Retail, 11-50 employees

Used daily for less than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

4

EASE OF USE

3

VALUE FOR MONEY

4

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

3

Reviewed September 2022

If only the search function worked better

I think it is a great product and if you fix the glitches in search and edit, it would be sublime.

PROS

what works, works very well. The flows back and forth to our POS system work very, very well.

CONS

Impossible to correct addresses. Constantly reverts back to the old address before it was fixed. Very bad search capability. Sometimes you have to refresh the browser several times just to find the shipment you are looking for. It will keep coming up blank until the 4th or 5th try. I find the search very glitchy and not user friendly.

Vendor Response

Hi Tim, thank you for your honest review. We apologize for any inconvenience. We are working hard to release our updated shipping app which should address these problems. If you need additional assistance, please email us at support@desktopshipper.com and we'd be happy to assist you further.

Replied September 2022

dave

Sporting Goods, 11-50 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed June 2019

Game Changer for Our Company

DesktopShipper has enabled us to save money by knowing exactly how much a shipment will cost, and by immediately being able to see what is the cheapest shipping method based on the shipping rules we have implemented in the software. It makes shipping a very easy process for new employees. DesktopShipper has a team of wonderful staff that are willing to help us overcome any obstacles we face with shipping. Highly recommended.

PROS

-Ability to rate shop all carriers -Easy integration into our order fulfillment software (StoneEdge) -Great customer support -Their team is willing to customize features for our needs -Ability to connect multiple databases for 3PL needs

CONS

-Could be a little bit faster retrieving rates

Anthony

Retail, 51-200 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra
This review was submitted organically. No incentive was offered

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5

Reviewed September 2022

Simplify your Shipping Vendors

PROS

Single pain of glass for all our shipping labels. Very open API and easy to integrate with. Very reliable.

CONS

There are different label formats (Images, ZPL, etc.) returned from shipping vendors. It would be nice if Desktop Shipper offered an option to standardize output.

Vendor Response

Hi Anthony, Thank you so much for your review! We're so glad to hear that you have been able to streamline your shipping process! As long as the label formats are supported by the carrier, we can set the preferred label format. If you have any more questions, we're here to help.

Replied September 2022

dave

Wholesale, 2-10 employees

Used daily for more than 2 years

Review Source: Capterra

OVERALL RATING:

5

EASE OF USE

5

VALUE FOR MONEY

5

CUSTOMER SUPPORT

5

FUNCTIONALITY

5